Indian Interests

Re: Indian Interests

B ji, I still think there were various protocols and contexts within India wherein exposure in one was ok whereas in another was not.
johneeG wrote:FWIW, I doubt the that 'dharmic' society was 'liberal' about feminine. I am thinking that it was more 'liberal' than the Islamic culture(not arabic pagan, but Islamic) and catholic, but 'conservative' compared to the 'modern' society.

Also, the portrayals of foreigners(particularly the hostile ones) are not reliable or credible, in any time period, unless they are corroborated by the local sources. So, I would not put too much validity into some arabian saying Indian women roamed semi-naked. According to some ancient greek 'writers', Indians ate their dead, while the greek cremated them! Is it believable?! To me, its not. Those foreigners had incentive in portraying Indian culture in 'bad' light...depending on what is seen as 'bad' in their times. So, one should not repose much trust in those portrayals.
Very true. E.g., Amir Khusrow wrote that the idol-worshiping Hindu women traditionally rub their vaginas on shiv-lings which they worship to get a good husband. Its well known that women worship Lord Shiva to find a good husband, but I've never heard of any such ridiculous ritual. These perverted rascals like to project their weirdest fantasies on the 'other'.

Or alternatively they may take things out of context of consciousness. For instance, they say how immoral pagan Arab society was because sometimes women devotees would circumambulate the Ka'aba topless. Well, I think it would be like saying that Hindu women are immoral because at the pilgrimage to Gangotri, some women immerse themselves topless in the ice cold waters.

I do believe that there were strong Vedic traditions of modesty and also separation of sexes in some situations. Nevertheless, women were active participants in many areas of life that most Indian women even today are not part of, including martial arts, etc. Womanhood was also considered the foundation of Dharma.

Rigveda 6.75.15: O brave woman, for the criminals, you are an arrow full of poison. For defense of the society, you have donned an armor. You have tremendous valor. We humbly bow to your selfless glory!

Rigveda 10.159.3: My son has destroyed all enemies. My daughter is full of brilliance. My husband is famed. And I am a winner.

Rigveda 10.159.4: My husband has performed exemplary acts of selflessness. I have also conducted similar selfless acts of bravery. Since I am completely selfless and powerful, I have no enemies.

Yajurveda 5.10: O woman, you are a lioness. Destroy the enemies of ignorance, immaturity, negativity and savagery for welfare of all. O woman, you are a lioness.

Yajurveda 17.45: O brave woman, obtain training in martial arts and warfare. Unleash your potential and destroy the enemies. Capture them and do not have mercy on those who spread hatred and vices in society. Imprison them.

Dozens of references here:
http://agniveer.com/woman-hallmark-of-true-valor/
http://agniveer.com/woman-sunrise/

Coded sexual mores differed depending on varNa. For instance, a kshatriya was supposed to always be ready to satisfy the desire of any woman upon request, and there were protocols for a woman to approach a kshatriya to fulfill such a desire, or to signal that she is approachable by walking unchaperoned in certain public spaces. But the same transactional modality is not typical of other varNas. The cardinal value of Loyalty, of Heroism, and of Devotional Service would characterize the 3 basic types of sexual morality in Indic culture. Each section had its other concomitant responsibilities and sacrifices to make.

So I don't think its possible to stereotype Indic culture as libertine or prudish by rather immature "modern" Western yardsticks or Christian-Islamic law that have no holistic philosophical context whatsoever. Indic protocols covered the spectrum of all human types and dovetailed them to serving a central progressive goal.

IANS, the India Abroad News Service, instead of serving as an eye for India serves as a channel for framing Indian views for America.

>>Amir Khusrow wrote that the idol-worshiping Hindu women traditionally rub their vaginas on shiv-lings which they worship to get a good husband. Its well known that women worship Lord Shiva to find a good husband, but I've never heard of any such ridiculous ritual. These perverted rascals like to project their weirdest fantasies on the 'other

Absolutely, and its not just them... Same kind of twisted crap for doniger and there's another Brit beaatch who does something similar!!! This is not to say I would have a problem or my "hinduness" would be any less were it true. What is contemptible is the fabrication and falsification with intent to malign within their own societies, leaving little room for a dispassionate inquiry...

Delhi gang-rape: Indian PM Manmohan Singh's 'Theek Hai'
#TheekHai Is Manmohan Singh just a piece of furniture? Maybe, but he is of good quality. Teak Hai,” tweeted Ramesh Srivats (@rameshsrivats)
Delhi rape: PM’s ‘theek hai’ triggers controversy

I don't know whether to cry or laugh ... has India lost its humanity, emotions?

Carl ji,
the rubbing idea came from practices widespread in pre-islamic Arabia. Since thsi would be widely known among the Muslim scholars/literates in their own "classics", its natural for Khusrow to think so. Their iconic stone was a centre of prehistoric cults. There was a concept of meteorites being seen as divine "semen" [perhaps the fiery entry and might even be a long social memory of some of these extraterrestrial stuff bringing organic/bacterial material - pan-spermia]. This was spread throughout the ME and north Africa. Hence it would make sense for the women to use it symbolically for fertility.

The Indian shakti-peethas might have a similar root.

The thing to note is that - when we feel bad about such things being wriiten about our past culture, we are actually feeling bad because of their values - foreign cultutral values. Whether, the practice was actually there or not - is another issue. Even if our women went naked or rubbed etc, its none of their business. We do not have to feel guilty or ashamed on the mere prospect of such things being possible as suggested.

Lost the moral compass to quote the right loss.

Is B.Raman a christian convert ?

His tweets
My 11 yrs of close interaction with Christianity made me a humble person.
From 51 to 55, used to attend Church services in Loyola, Chennai, my alma mater.Even now, go to its church sometimes & meditate
From 75 to 79, never missed midnight X'Mas services in Notre Dam de Paris.After the services will walk back home in heavy snow
Merry Christmas.A family festival

B ji, that's fascinating.

ramana ji, :)

harbans wrote:Post 2:
SaiK ji, i referred to death/ castration/ Lyngchi etc as just a template of solutions offered by BJP/ Hindutva and Islamist types as immediate solutions as panacea. They are not. Pale do saale Ram SIngh ko. Kya hoga aage? What next? Timur and the Ghazi's wjo invaded Delhi and Meerut impaled lakhs of people at a go. Spears through the anus. Most of you here have not read on execution methods in the past. Shoving an iron rod through an888s or vag999ina was very dominant in Islamic victories. That is what happened on the bus a few days ago. Now think why i mention Dharma is important, Why Dharma must be identifies as value based primarily. This issue is no more a vengeance thing Sai Ji, it is cultural. We have to identify the root cause without hesitation. Even if it means losing. The Truth in these matters depicts itself above any retention of geographical territory or economic benefit. This is about values, character. If we have lost that in some part of India,,it is not ours. That part of India does not belong..we have to reclaim it as aggressively as we will fight the Paki in battle.
You need to give concrete examples than that and bring the fate of the US ambassador to Libya in the Benghazi attack which was similar.

Need to shame the Delhi public that their descent to barbarism is a result of their long Islamic rule. The price of Prithviraj's defeat at Terrain.

The Indian press did a great disservice by covering up what happened to the brave rape victim. It was initially covered up and slowly revealed only by the medics statements. This helped control the outrage.

Rony wrote:Is B.Raman a christian convert ?

His tweets
My 11 yrs of close interaction with Christianity made me a humble person.
From 51 to 55, used to attend Church services in Loyola, Chennai, my alma mater.Even now, go to its church sometimes & meditate
From 75 to 79, never missed midnight X'Mas services in Notre Dam de Paris.After the services will walk back home in heavy snow
Merry Christmas.A family festival
Is meditation allowed in X-nity? or is it considered 'satanic'?

allowed - meant to do it in God's name

shyamd wrote:allowed - meant to do it in God's name
In all versions of X-nity? Also, which 'god'? jehovah? or jesus? or ghost? or something else?

My cursory google search indicated that there is supposedly a quote in 'Bible'(NT? or something else) about 'meditating on god'. Yet, it seems most people associate meditation with eastern religions. Yoga has been declared as 'satanic' by the X-ian zealots and meditation(dhyana) is part of ashtanga yoga.

Maybe meditation in eastern religion is not the same as 'meditation' that is being prescribed in X-nity. Only the name is similar, actual technique may be different.

WIth laws like this our legal system is near collapse. Woman is involved in 200 cheque bounce cases and cops get the rap.

DGP told to instruct cops against detaining women after sunset: Bombay HC

Xposting Rohit Vats' excellent analysis on segregation from Nukkad:
But for the seriousness of the matter at hand, all this micro-analysis about the northern belt is quite hilarious.

The whole belt from Bihar to Rajasthan is fvcked up when it comes to treatment of women. As for this MC/BC culture, well, it is prevalent and part of lifestyle in one form or the other...what is considered as common language in western UP would shock the life out of people in cities. I've had the privilege to travel across the country with Father (ex-army) and have seen many cultures upfront and close. Plus, post after having started working, I have worked in Mumbai, Hyderabad, Bangalore and Gurgaon. I did my schooling from Guwahati and college from Bareilly. So, I know what I'm talking about.

During my college days in Bareilly, I saw a unique phenomenon - complete segregation of sexes even at graduation level. To the extent that girls had a different common room from boys and inter-mingling of sexes was actively discouraged - your college ID could be confiscated if you were found in a group of girls+boys or talking individually to a girl. Girls were not allowed to wear jeans - at one in point, even boys were restricted from wearing 'tight' jeans.On Valentine Day, your bag/purse was liable to be searched at the college gates lest you be carrying a card or something.

Boys would pass comments at girls from the sideline but none dared to talk to a lady. All these supermen were tongue tied when they were in-front of girls. There were many a fights between two rival group of suitors over a girl w/o the girl even knowing about any of them. I also observed another thing - guys often refrained from passing comments on girls where one or more girl was known to them.

I had tried to understand this phenomenon then as well and realized that the reason is more basic - segregation of sexes from early childhood and dominant nature of male child. I will explain both things separately.

Anyone who has lived in western UP (or, UP in general) will realize that most of the government schools till +2 are separate for boys and girls. What this means that till the time boys reach degree college, they have not had the opportunity to interact with girls - there is utter lack of familiarity with opposite sex.

Add to above the dynamics of male child in our society - 9 out of 10 times, parents will not scold their male child and treat him as prince. The two fold reasons IMO are the concept of lineage being carried forward by the male child and dowry. The male child is brought up in a manner where the male sex is supreme and his wishes come first and foremost. More often than not, he has very scant regard for the female of the human species.

When you add the above two conditions while growing up, you have a youth who knows diddlysquat about opposite sex as a person but considers himself as more superior. Therefore, any act of independence from a girl (like turning down the advances of a wannabe majnu) hits at the ego of the youth - and it soon becomes a case of how to dominate the other sex.

To a large section of youth population who as grown seeing women as submissive and his authority being some sort of divine right, this confrontation with new realities of life where women have a voice and exercise authority and independence, leads to confusion and associated aggressive behavior. When he sees women matching him in all spheres of daily life (bread winner and all that) - only recourse left for him to exert his status as the dominant of the sexes is physical power.

Societies where treatment of women is better from ground up and where there is no segregation of sexes (more familiarity) from childhood stage, do better overall in terms of treatment of girls. From my experience, this is where a place like Bangalore and Mumbai score over Delhi or Gurgaon. Rape is not the only statistic of safety - it is the general level of comfort that a woman feels in this city which matters. And Gurgaon is more unsafe than Delhi - the prime reason being that this is not a city in a true sense.

Cities like Delhi/Mumbai/Bangalore are old cities which consist of cultures and sub-cultures which have intermingled over the years - both the elite and the holoi poloi come from the same society. A place like Gurgaon is an artificial construct - where most of the population residing in the apartments are from outside. And they are surrounded by villages. So, you have the typical village culture and outlook meet the modern lifestyle. And this leads to friction - because people have sold land and come into money. They can move into same establishments with their money as the blue-collar workforce but lack the etiquette (for lack of better word) due to upbringing in a particular setting and you have issues. Go to a five star disc even in Delhi and compare the same with Mumbai and Bangalore -the difference is obvious.

And there is an issue of this culture of entitlement amongst men, and tendency to resort to force of arms at drop of a hat, in Gurgaon, Delhi, Haryana and Western UP. It does not matter if they are Jats/Gujjars/Rajputs or others.
Last edited by harbans on 25 Dec 2012 13:49, edited 1 time in total.

Thanks for reposting that ... Hadn't seen it earlier.

ramana wrote:Bji

The big picture is that the psec formulation has failed along with many global movements. India is doing course correction. Will take time to see it for what it is.
Ramana ji, could you please explain a bit more. I didn't understand this.

johneeG wrote:
Meditation is absolute no no there. That is seen as anti-prayer or doubting the book/messiah.

My tweet:

'JLN promised India 'tryst with destiny". UPA in its two terms has disrupted the destiny with its 8% growth for the 3% and lathis for rest.

ramana wrote:My tweet:

'JLN promised India 'tryst with destiny". UPA in its two terms has disrupted the destiny with its 8% growth for the 3% and lathis for rest.
Disagree.

UPA2 ensured that India is brought back to the destiny of India as JLN envisioned by achieving JLN rate of growth.

Manish_Sharma wrote:
johneeG wrote:
Meditation is absolute no no there. That is seen as anti-prayer or doubting the book/messiah.
Not true. Orthodox forms of Christianity have strong traditions of meditation and mysticism continuing from 'pagan' times. See Hesychasm, etc. Ignatian spirituality and other forms of mainstream Christian/Catholic practice do include meditation.

Carl, by and large the Catholic church and its schisms don't recognize meditation.

ramana ji, I think it depends on what is meant by 'meditation'. E.g., some Hindu schools believe that some kinds of Buddhist meditation are demonic. They insist that Aum or other Vedic mantra must be part of meditation for it to be acceptable to us, since shabda is so important and can make all the difference between daivi and asuri. Seems to be a similar case with Xians and Islamics. They tell their followers that 'yoga & meditation' is demonic because it involves satanic stuff like Aum and Vedic mantras. But they have their own versions of meditation, prayer, internal dialog, etc.

In medieval Catholicism and monastic life, what we call meditation was an important element.

Using the word meditation loosely in all contexts can be misleading. Greek "meditation" was different from Roman Christian "meditation" and that in turn was different from post-Roman Catholic "meditation", which in turn was different from medieval Christian "meditation" in all the sects.

But as far as Church history survives from the Constantinian reconstruction - Church "meditation" is entirely different from Indian non-Christian "meditation". The clear cut demand is that Yeshu must be the focus, object, start and end-all of any such session - and note also clearly that Yeshu is a representation or part [depending on the sect] but not the "word". Any other deviation is demonic. One can look up the ecclesiatsical prescriptions on this - shared more or less by the entire spectrum, from Orthodox to Anglicans.

Using the word meditation loosely in all contexts can be misleading. Greek "meditation" was different from Roman Christian "meditation" and that in turn was different from post-Roman Catholic "meditation", which in turn was different from medieval Christian "meditation" in all the sects.

That is very interesting. Can you expond on the differences?

I dont know much but a few years back I had read/heard somewhere that the western meditation is Dharana at the top, while Indic one is Samadhi at the apex and before that is Dhyaan and Dharana is one step below Dhyaan. This was about Ashtaang yog. Wish some better educated member throw a light. Brihaspati ji perhaps but others are also requested.

When I read BD I realised how a political system like various sects of Abrahmics would necessarily have to stop at Dharana. Even this much is a progress actually from their POV (witness the huge muslim populations where even Dharana is not possible).

What I have observed is that most people are stuck at Dharana and below that. Personally I am also stuck at Dharana and below that. And that took me years. And that could be the reason why this kind of meditation finds currency with Abrahmic establishments.

For christian church meditation has two meanings:

1.) Meditation = Contemplation (Meditate of Jesus)

2.) Meditation = Eastern practices Zen, Tao, Dhyana , vipassana etc. [In this way its a strict no no]

Broadly above is how I understand it, but the bloody thing can get pretty esoteric so hard eventually to separate in the reality of actual practice. As mainstream articulated doctrine above fits.

It indeed is esoteric and not easily discernible ergo the need for a Guru.

What I have come to believe that such enlightened people would have been present amongst Abrahmics too. Rajiv Malhotra ji in BD tells us that there were good number of 'mystics' at various times in Christian history but they all lost out to the orgainsed propaganda/church but here is where India is different and can afford to remain different. Our Sadhus/Rishis/Munis are top of the heap in Indic society. Secular schooled people have tried too hard to gain acceptance and respect at par and above Rishi/Rishikas but without much success.

In such a situation the kinds of societies and their espousal of respective 'Interests' stand in contrast to each other.

I am reading some interviews of Nirmal Verma. He was a communist in 1940s and 1950s. He was disillusioned with them and quit their party in late 1950s. In his later years, he was anti p-sec, anti Congress, pro-Tibet and anti reservations. Some of his books are available in English.

The historicity of Jesus is vital for a Christian's own conviction with respect to his faith and for propagation of their faith. Look at the length to which Walter Russel Mead goes to prove that Jesus was a historical figure and that he was not a invented figure.. The evidence in my opinion is scant and thats what the beleiving christians fear the most.

Rony wrote:The historicity of Jesus is vital for a Christian's own conviction with respect to his faith and for propagation of their faith. Look at the length to which Walter Russel Mead goes to prove that Jesus was a historical figure and that he was not a invented figure.. The evidence in my opinion is scant and thats what the beleiving christians fear the most.
Why do Strategists like Russel Mead need to defend the historicity of Jesus.
Why is religion being taken to the foreign policy of US. This trend is based on the world view of the conservatives.

For US the religion Christianity is still a imported religion since all the religious history of Christianity is in Europe and they are just one of the countries outside the European continent. But US wants to see itself as propagator of Christian values worldwide but does not have control over the Christian narrative and its historical advantage
For Americans this paradox is a huge disadvantage

Acharya wrote:But US wants to see itself as propagator of Christian values worldwide but does not have control over the Christian narrative and its historical advantage
Who does?

Good Question

Manish_Sharma wrote:For christian church meditation has two meanings:
2.) Meditation = Eastern practices Zen, Tao, Dhyana , vipassana etc. [In this way its a strict no no]
Patanjali's Yoga Sutra discusses meditation and objects of meditation in detail. By that defination to meditate on Christ or on his heart or on any holy person or object would be accepted as part of the eight limbed Yoga. The sutras also say that the meditation itself is important and not the object of meditation.
Christianity, at least as practiced today, is different, to say the least. Let me give you an example:
http://www.spiegel.de/international/ger ... 74316.html

Reuters Blog on Shivendra Singh, Advocate Allahabad HIgh Court.
Many Indians reacted with horror and anger to these Tweets from @shivendraINDIA, who calls himself an assistant review officer in the Allahabad High Court (he is listed here with 342 others):

@saritatanwar why that gal was enjoying with her boyfriend? is it indian culture?
girl,who was raped in delhi, shud not have followed western culture
@maheepkapoor. sorry but I think that delhi gals r too modern so that delhi is becoming rape capital

..and...

More mysterious to me is the reaction of @shivendraINDIA to this woman. Consider his tweets to an account in the name of Canadian ex-***** actress Sunny Leone (who is of Indian origin):

@SunnyLeone – hi, i m ur big fan n i m eager to meet with u. when r u visiting to india? plz do reply.
@SunnyLeone – what an awesome body u got! u r really a most attractive ***** star in the industry.i m ur big fan
@SunnyLeone – where r u? i m waiting for ur reply, ur reply will be a pleasure movement for me

...and...

I’m sure.

(PS: an interaction with the bikini-clad Poonam Pandey takes a different turn…

“ur family does not object u for ur obscene appearenc?”

And when Pandey tweets: “I’m not really funny, I just earn my followers the old fashioned way: hand jobs,” Shivendra responds: @ipoonampandey hand job means?)

She deserved it is not a Good Argument

g.sarkar wrote:
Manish_Sharma wrote:For christian church meditation has two meanings:
Patanjali's Yoga Sutra discusses meditation and objects of meditation in detail. By that defination to meditate on Christ or on his heart or on any holy person or object would be accepted as part of the eight limbed Yoga. The sutras also say that the meditation itself is important and not the object of meditation.
Christianity, at least as practiced today, is different, to say the least. Let me give you an example:
http://www.spiegel.de/international/ger ... 74316.html
First, one has to assume that christ(jesus? or someone else) is holy(according to Patanjali).

Ashtanga Yoga:
What are the Eight Limbs of Yoga?:
According to the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali, one of the ancient texts that is often cited as a source for the philosophy behind yoga, there are eight “limbs” (Ashtanga in Sanskrit) of yoga. Each limb relates to an aspect of achieving a healthy and fulfilling life, and each builds upon the one before it. You may be surprised to hear that only one of the limbs involves the performance of yoga postures.
1. Yama:
Five ethical guidelines regarding moral behavior towards others. The list of the yamas are as follows:
Ahimsa: Nonviolence towards other. Often cited as an argument for choosing a vegetarian diet. (Vegetarian diet for ahimsa is a jain argument. In yoga, Vegetarian diet is emphasized for its sattvic-ness.)
Satya: Truthfulness
Asteya: Not stealing
Brahmacharya: Chastity. Whether this means celibacy or simply controlling one's sexual impulses is open to interpretation. (It is not open to interpretation. There are specific definitions of Brahmacharya for before and after marriage. Before marriage, Brahmacharya means complete celibacy. After marriage, indulging in sex with one's wife at prescribed times only is called brahmacharya.)
Aparigraha: Not coveting

2. Niyama:
Five ethical guidelines regarding moral behavior towards oneself. The list of the niyamas are:
Saucha: Cleanliness
Santosa: Contentment with oneself
Tapas: Sustained practice (Strictly speaking, tapas is an idea cannot be translated into english)
Svadhyaya: Self study(self-study of what? What did Patanjali mean by svadhyaya? He meant svadhyaya of shastras, the Hindu ones, not just any ideology).
Isvara pranidhana: Surrender to a higher power(Who is Isvara according to Patanjali? Would jealousy jehovah or his so-called son jesus qualify as Isvara according to Patanjali? If not, how can one say that Patanjali Yoga sutra allows contemplation/meditation on anything, even 'christ'?!)
3. Asana:
Practice of yoga postures, although it should be noted that in the time of Patanjali the word asana meant seat. The advent of modern yoga postures happened much later.
4. Pranayama:
Practice of breathing exercises.
5. Pratyahara:
Withdrawal of the senses, meaning that the exterior world is not a distraction from the interior world within oneself.
6. Dharana:
Concentration, meaning the ability to focus on something uninterrupted by external or internal distractions.
7. Dhyana:
Meditation. Building upon Dharana, the concentration is no longer focused on a single thing but is all encompassing.
8. Samadhi:

Bliss. Building upon Dhyana, the transcendence of the self through meditation. The merging of the self with the universe. Sometimes translated as enlightenment.

Sources:

Light on Life, B.K.S. Iyengar, 2005.

Yoga: The Iyengar Way, Mira Silva and Shyam Mehta, 1990.
Right now, it is a politically incorrect argument that will attract brickbats from all and sundry. Moreover, there is a vociferous 'feminist' and 'liberal' lobby with powerful links. People go with the flow...so, yes, it is an unpopular argument, atleast in public posturing.

Johnee G i didn't quite get you here. From what i read you say "She deserved it" argument is right now non PC, and argument against it is led by liberals and feminists. Rest all are being led?

johneeG wrote: First, one has to assume that christ(jesus? or someone else) is holy(according to Patanjali).
No not really. Patanjali tells us that the meditation is more important than the object of meditation.
PS Sirji, Pranayama is more than breathing excercise.
Let me try once more. There are many translations of Patanjali’s Yoga Sutra available in the market. I am using that of Swami Vivekananda (just my biased opinion). He has translated the Yoga Sutras at the end of his book “Raja Yoga”. Please refer to sutra number 39, which Swamiji translates as “Or on meditation on anything that appeals to one as good.” This sutra comes after others that suggest what to meditate on. Finally Patanjali says that one can meditate on any thing that we consider good. For it is the meditation that is important and will lead us to further into sadhana. So, when a Hindu meditates on Krishna, a Buddhist on Buddha, a Sikh on Guru Nanak, or a Christian on Christ, because they find these objects to be good or because they appeal to them, according to Patanjali, they are all doing Yoga.

Views from the Right
Modi all the way

Both Sangh Parivar mouthpieces, the Organiser and Panchjanya, sing paeans to Narendra Modi for his third consecutive assembly election victory in Gujarat. The cover story in the Organiser describes Modi as an “invincible, unstoppable, incorruptible” person, who has “rewritten the script” of political success and established that good economics can be good politics.

Describing him as “the most popular leader in the country”, the cover story seeks to underscore that Modi could be “the man India awaits to take India to the pinnacle of glory” because his victory is a “prelude” to the change in direction and condition of Indian politics.

The editorial in Organiser commends Modi’s victory, saying his “hat-trick should silence critics”. The editorial in Panchjanya describes Modi’s victory as that of the nationalist politics espoused by the BJP.

Aware of Modi’s baggage with the minority community, the cover story in Organiser claims that Modi won a quarter of Muslim votes “equal to what Nitish Kumar got in Bihar”. The editorial in Panchjanya also highlights BJP candidates’ victories in Muslim-dominated constituencies to emphasise Modi’s rising acceptability in the community.

The BJP’s defeat in Himachal Pradesh, however, has failed to attract introspection, barring the admission of factionalism within the saffron ranks. The Organiser, in fact, appeared to blame the voter, lamenting that “corruption and rising prices matter little” in Himachal, which is known as the Valley of Gods. Panchjanya has sought to brush the defeat under the carpet saying Himachal is on its way to becoming Kerala, where incumbents are not re-elected in assembly polls.

Rehman stunt

Pakistan Interior Minister Rehman Malik’s remarks have not gone down well with the Sangh Parivar. An article in the Organiser says that while the visit was aimed to operationalise new confidence-building measures it “did exactly the opposite — created more mistrust in India about Pakistan’s intentions”. The article says Malik’s “tirade” against India exposed Pakistani insensitivity towards issues of importance for India and reminded one of Pervez Musharraf’s provocative remarks during the 2001 Agra Summit.

The Organiser has taken strong objection to the government not snubbing Malik during his visit and asks as to what prompted it to initiate a dialogue with the “rogue state” when Pakistan has demonstrated no sincerity in delivering on India’s minimum demands related to 26/11.

Panchjanya has also carried a full-page article criticising the government for Malik’s “tirade” against India and suggests the country should not engage with Pakistan unless it sheds its “nefarious” designs on India.

Delhi fury

Panchjanya has given prominent display to the protests in the capital that erupted after the rape of a young woman in Delhi. The article claims that the alleged “jungle raaj” in Delhi has “boiled” national sentiments against crimes against women. The article highlights the demand for capital punishment to rapists, but it has left the issue to Parliament. Pending that, the article suggests rapists should not be pardoned and rejects the arguments of human rights activists that capital punishment should be done away with altogether.

Compiled by Ravish Tiwari