India-US Relations : News and Discussion- II

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
member_29325

Re: India-US Relations : News and Discussion- II

Post by member_29325 »

UlanBatori wrote:The title of the video was "US drone used in terr..ist attack". :mrgreen:
Didn't show what payload it dropped, to blow up that powerfully. I know bird poo has nitrate, but is it that powerful?

Some advertising!
Of course, depends on the bird's diet -- a steady diet of Nitrogen-rich TNT should create explosive poo. :)

This looks like mortar fire unrelated to the nonexistent bird.

A couple of other weirdness: (0) the woman turns in the opposite direction of the bird on hearing something out of the ordinary, and in the direction of where the bomb probably originate (and starts walking faster) -- she obviously recognized that noise from before (1) some one called gabriel martin (apparently some caucasian american) chooses to record something from a Tamil TV station called Thanthi TV of all places (2) the video claims that these drones are to surveil a target, not drop poo bombs on targets -- your average pigeon can do that far more accurately with proper training.

how birds see the world

vayu tuvan wrote:KLNMurty: (With all due respect to you) You, sire, are underestimating the technologies involved in drone development and overestimating BRF members capabilities (no disrespect to the stalwarts like Mangolian and several others). Sure it doesn't take 50 years but to pull it off in under 5 years is a tough task. Just to find the talent and build the team mid-levels itself is going to eat up 2 years - at least.
No problem, I wasn't actually estimating the time it would take, since I don't have the expertise, but I wanted to call BS on the self-flagellation.

I would still guess that with a good mix of buy-vs-build, and given the tons of COTS products available, we could still put a decent size killer drone fleet in the sky, in under 5 years. I don't want to underestimate anything but this is not the Manhattan Project, I wouldn't think there is much research involved.

[I see that Mongolian has essentially backed me up; good enough for me to declare victory in this debate-let and conclude that it is just stupidity and ignorance at the top that keeps us from having deadly drones flying all over, and not this we-are-like-this-oneee-boohoo rubbish.]

vayu tuvan wrote:
ThiruV wrote:...because Tamil does not have the "sh" sound (originally, it was introduced only a few decades ago and is not widely used).
I know. :mrgreen: What next? Tamizh is not the start and end of all things Indic, if I may say so. "Thiru" is Sri or rather shree, hain?
ThiruV is right--Ashok is actually a wrong/bad transliteration. The 's' used here is not the devanagari aspirate as in ushas (dawn), it is the middle or flat s (the curly s in telugu alphabet) used for Santi or Sri. It is sometimes transliterated as s with a dot underneath. In norther indian speech it often gets softened to the plain s (lame s in telugu alphabet), so aSok can become asok. The aspirated transliteration, writing ashok or shri is just incorrect, it is there because latin charset is lacking in the representation for a standard sound in Indic languages.

ramana wrote:AFAIK, Once a chair is setup the donor has no role in it. That's the condition for acceptance of the donation. The Uty might inform the donor family and most likely the appointee is aligned with donor objectives but no recourse.
All these chairs are in South Asia studies departments. The rot is there.

RMji is unhappy that our own are funding these for petty fame.
ramana, we need an Indian classics chair akin to greekand Roman Classics chairs for studying epics, dharmasastras, sangam era literature etc all on their own terms.

we need an Indian classics chair akin to greekand Roman Classics chairs for studying epics, dharmasastras, sangam era literature etc all on their own terms
There are enough such efforts in the West. Just that they do not study any of the Indian scriptures or even Sanskrit the way it is meant to be. One can see the diff between them and their Indian counterparts. Apples and oranges. Have been o this trip for some 3 decades. The West just does not get it and I do not see them getting it. And, those who get it move to India and become a Swami - which essentially removes one person from the West who could have help "build".

vayu tuvan wrote: I know. :mrgreen: What next? Tamizh is not the start and end of all things Indic, if I may say so. "Thiru" is Sri or rather shree, hain?
ThiruV is right--Ashok is actually a wrong/bad transliteration. The 's' used here is not the devanagari aspirate as in ushas (dawn), it is the middle or flat s (the curly s in telugu alphabet) used for Santi or Sri. It is sometimes transliterated as s with a dot underneath. In norther indian speech it often gets softened to the plain s (lame s in telugu alphabet), so aSok can become asok. The aspirated transliteration, writing ashok or shri is just incorrect, it is there because latin charset is lacking in the representation for a standard sound in Indic languages.

Telugu and Devnagari have the same 'Sh' sounds. The sa, sh, Sha. The emphasis on which sound for a particular word might vary across desi regions.
See this chart https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brahmic_scripts

yayavar: It is related to where you place your tongue - even for these three sa's.

UlanBatori wrote:M.....birth occurs at concepcion, ....:
If you mean life vs birth and when it begins, then I would argue that it begins when the kids leave home.
Manny

Post by Manny »

Here’s the refugee video liberals do NOT want you to see

http://www.allenbwest.com/2015/11/heres ... ou-to-see/

Here we go. Enjoy the ride.

Are Boeing and India About to Open the Door on a Possible F/A-18 Super Hornet Deal?
U.S. aircraft manufacturer Boeing is in talks with the Indian government to manufacture its F/A-18 Super Hornet fighters in India, according to comments by the company’s chief executive officer, Dennis Muilenberg. Muilenberg, who is visiting India for the first time, said that Boeing is in “conversation” with India to manufacture the F/A-18, a multirole fighter, in India. Muilenberg’s remarks come after Boeing’s chairman, James McNerney, said in October that the company would be happy to manufacture the F/A-18 in India provided the Indian Air Force would express interest in purchasing and operating the jets.

“We are taking a hard look at the opportunity for the F18 fighter jet as an area where we can build industrial capacity, supply chain partnerships, technical depth, design and manufacturing capability in India, providing an operational capability that is useful for Indian defence forces,” Muilenberg said in New Delhi earlier this week. ”Make in India is an enabler aligned with that strategy,” he added, referencing the Indian government’s program to encourage indigenous manufacturing.

The F/A-18 was considered as part of India’s now-dead medium multi-role combat aircraft (MMRCA) tender, losing out to France’s Dassault Aviation’s Rafale fighter. Having left the MMRCA tender behind officially, New Delhi has chosen to still stick with the Rafale, opting to conclude the deal through a government-to-government deal with no domestic manufacturing component. (Instead, talks on the Rafale deal are hung up on the issue of offset spending clauses, which would require France to reinvest part of the revenue from the deal in India.) The final deal is for 36 fighters—far short of the 126 envisaged under the MMRCA.

That comments from Boeing regarding the possibility of F/A-18 manufacturing in India are occurring now is not entirely surprising. The U.S. firm could see an opportunity with the still held-up Rafale deal. In fact, the offer to manufacture the F/A-18 in India addresses one of the main lost attractions of the MMRCA procurement program—a domestic manufacturing component with technology transfer.

“Our intent here is to build an industrial framework for the long run that builds on the aerospace investments being made not only by programme, but also by long-term industrial capacity that is globally competitive,” Muilenberg noted in India, clearly marketing his comments to those in India who would love to see a major firm like Boeing invest in India’s homegrown manufacturing sector.

The F/A-18 could be attractive to India for a variety of reasons. Notably, New Delhi is modernizing its carriers and working on its next-generation 65,000 ton Vikrant-class aircraft carrier. India and the United States have a working group on carrier cooperation, and it’s possible that India’s second indigenous aircraft carrier could implement General Electric's {General Atomics'} Electromagnetic Aircraft Launch System (EMALS) with a Catapult-Assisted Take-Off But Arrested Recovery (CATOBAR) launch system for its air wing. If Boeing is serious about talking to India about the F/A-18, that may give U.S.-India cooperation on carrier technology a boost, making the adoption of EMALS CATOBAR system more likely.

There’s a lot to consider with these comments from Boeing’s chief executive. As the MMRCA saga and ongoing talks over the Rafale deal attest, India has faced its share of difficulties in procuring a fourth-generation multi-role fighter. The conclusion of the Rafale deal, which is very likely, will make an F/A-18 acquisition unlikely given the complicated logistics and high maintenance costs for the IAF in managing a fighter fleet consisting of a hodge podge of Russia, French, and U.S. jets.

Muilenburg’s remarks open an interesting door for India. The IAF continues to run a fighter shortage that won’t be solved by the conclusion and delivery of 36 Rafales. The F/A-18 prospect has its problems, but it’s far from an unthinkable option at this point. As always, however, the devil will be in the details. If Boeing and New Delhi open the door to official talks and start discussing an order, history tells us that it could be years before Indian pilots are flying U.S. fighters.
IF EMALS is opted for, the fully expect the E-2D and the V22.

^^ Does this mean the evaluations done as part of the MMRCA have no meaning? IIRC, the F/A-18 had trouble meeting the specs at Leh, what has changed that we should consider buying it? I am assuming here that the Americans want to establish a plant in India not to just supply the Navy's need, but for the Air Force too. Otherwise, it doesn't make sense from an economy-of-scale standpoint. And it was the Air Force that ruled it out during MMRCA. Hard for GoI to overrule that and go for such a purchase.

Has GoI said anything so far? Don't remember seeing anything from the Indian side on this. Based on what I know so far, this seems to be a marketing play from Boeing/US taking advantage of the Rafale talks going nowhere. Let's see where it goes.

vayu tuvan wrote:yayavar: It is related to where you place your tongue - even for these three sa's.
most people know it I am sure. The consonants are five groups of five per group plus 18 vowels plus some making 43. In Telugu another 13 consonants come after the five groups making total number of letters 56.

U.S. says making progress in aircraft carrier collaboration with India
India and the United States are making progress in talks on the joint development of an aircraft carrier for India, the top U.S. navy admiral said on Wednesday, potentially the biggest military collaboration between them.

The two countries agreed to work together on aircraft carrier technology as well as jet engines during U.S. President Barack Obama's visit to India last year in a strengthening of ties to balance China's expanding military power in the region.

The visiting chief of U.S. Naval Operations, John Richardson, said the two sides had held talks on a range of issues relating to the next generation Indian carrier from its design to construction.

A high-level U.S.-India joint working group is due to meet in New Delhi later this month, part of a series of meetings aimed at establishing broader cooperation on the design, development and production of the proposed Indian carrier.

"We are making very good progress, I am very pleased with the progress to date and optimistic we can do more in the future. That's on a very solid track," Richardson told reporters in New Delhi.

India inducted an old aircraft carrier from Russia in 2014 while an ageing British vessel is set to retire this year. It is building an indigenous carrier that is expected to enter service in 2018-2019.

But the navy also plans a third, its biggest carrier yet, for which it has sought U.S. assistance, especially state-of-the-art technology to launch aircraft.

Richardson said the electromagnetic launch technology that enabled a navy to fly heavier planes from a carrier was part of the discussions with India.

"All of those things are on the table, there are possibilities, its a matter of pacing, it's very new technology for us," he said.

China has one aircraft carrier and announced last month it is building another. The Pentagon said in a report last year that China could build multiple aircraft carriers over the next 15 years.

India's navy, which has long considered the Indian Ocean its area of influence, has been unnerved by Chinese naval forays in the region and its efforts to build port infrastructure in countries stretching from Pakistan to Djibouti on the African coast.

After years of neglect, the Indian government has approved the navy's plans for a dozen new submarines, six of them nuclear-powered. More than 40 warships are under construction

NRao wrote:IF EMALS is opted for, the fully expect the E-2D and the V22.
E-2Ds yes. V-22s will probably be on the list even if a STOBAR configuration is opted for. Hopefully, Boeing will commit to a AEW&C variant of the V-22, since the Ka-31s will always continue to have limitations in the terms of range and altitude. Maybe if they could get the USMC onboard (the RN having already signed onto the Merlin Mk2-based 'Crowsnest').

arshyam wrote:Has GoI said anything so far? Don't remember seeing anything from the Indian side on this. Based on what I know so far, this seems to be a marketing play from Boeing/US taking advantage of the Rafale talks going nowhere. Let's see where it goes.
They don't have much of a chance. Maybe... if they offered very generous terms on a lock-stock-and-barrel transfer of the existing St. Louis assembly line to India (though given that they've got USN orders to fulfil that's highly unlikely).

No skin off our nose in any case. Just strengthens our position in the Rafale negotiations.

Viv S wrote:Just strengthens our position in the Rafale negotiations.
Good point, that.

This seems more like what Boeing would like, but highly unlikely. As it is logistics for the IAF are a mess with low availability rates on all platforms. Best is to phase out every combat aircraft with the exception of the Su-30 and LCA Tejas Mk1, Mk2, and possibly Mk3.

While I tend to agree that the F-18 has no play in India, I disagree on the value a US player would bring to India in general and to the armed services in particular. While I admire the MKI and love the LCA, neither will make India a aerospace hub that Parrikar has claimed. Whatever happens, for India to become a aerospace "hub" (still trying o figure out what that means in Indian context), India will need the US - no two ways about it. You ain't going anywhere without a excellent SC. As a FYI, MKI is expected to have a support system by 2016 end!!!!!!!! Cart before the horse. Also, trying to fix a problem when the problem should never have existed. The LCA will face similar, but hopefully to a lesser extent.

http://in.reuters.com/article/southchin ... NKCN0VJ09Q
Exclusive: U.S. and India consider joint patrols in South China Sea - U.S. official
The United States and India have held talks about conducting joint naval patrols that a U.S. defence official said could include the disputed South China Sea, a move that would likely anger Beijing, which claims most of the waterway.Washington wants its regional allies and other Asian nations to take a more united stance against China over the South China Sea, where tensions have spiked in the wake of Beijing's construction of seven man-made islands in the Spratly archipelago.
India and the United States have ramped up military ties in recent years, holding naval exercises in the Indian Ocean that last year involved the Japanese navy.But the Indian navy has never carried out joint patrols with another country and a naval spokesman told Reuters there was no change in the government's policy of only joining an international military effort under the United Nations flag.
He pointed to India's refusal to be part of anti-piracy missions involving dozens of countries in the Gulf of Aden and instead carrying out its own operations there since 2008.

The U.S. defence official said the two sides had discussed joint patrols, adding that both were hopeful of launching them within the year. The patrols would likely be in the Indian Ocean where the Indian navy is a major player as well as the South China Sea, the official told Reuters in New Delhi on condition of anonymity.The official gave no details on the scale of the proposed patrols.There was no immediate comment from China, which is on a week-long holiday for Chinese New Year.Neither India nor the United States has claims to the South China Sea, but both said they backed freedom of navigation and overflight in the waterway when U.S. President Barack Obama visited New Delhi in January 2015.Obama and Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi also agreed at the time to "identify specific areas for expanding maritime cooperation".More than $5 trillion in world trade moves through the South China Sea each year. Vietnam, Malaysia, Brunei, the Philippines and Taiwan also claim parts of the waterway.In December, the issue of joint patrols came up when Indian Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar visited the U.S. Pacific Command in Hawaii, an Indian government source said."It was a broad discussion, it was about the potential for joint patrols," said the source, who declined to be identified because of the sensitivity of the matter.India has a long-running land border dispute with China and has been careful not to antagonise its more powerful neighbour, instead focusing on building economic ties.But it has stepped up its naval presence far beyond the Indian Ocean, deploying a ship to the South China Sea almost constantly, an Indian navy commander said, noting this wasn't the practice a few years ago.The commander added that the largest number of Indian naval ship visits in the South China Sea region was to Vietnam, a country rapidly building military muscle for potential conflict with China over the waterway.Still, the idea of joining the United States in patrols in the region was a long shot, the officer added.

China will respond through Pakistan.

So will America.

And maybe even India, but Indians are of the opinion that they themselves don't have the balls.

RoyG wrote:China will respond through Pakistan.
China has already played its cards, nothing new they can bring in trying to undermine Indian security via Pakistan. It is time for India to slowly play and reveal her cards. VIJAY Patrol will keep Chinese Toll and Troll under control.

VIJAY= Vietnam India Japan Australia Yanky

Turn India into a carrier power? Ye Gods! Anyway,not to worry,Good old Donald Duck...oooops! Trump,has just vowed to make America so strong ,strongest ever...Under Pres. Trump,the US will probably have twice as many CVs as it does now. However,if Pres. Sanders arrives into the White House,head for the mountains.He no want Massa Sam to be the world's policeman,no siree,Pres. Sanders ain't going to put America's boys in a "perpetual war".

The IN should start thinking for itself,not get inveigled into a "limb" of a firang power that is weary of war. A fleet of 4 doz N-subs and conventional AIP subs will do admirably in keeping the PLAN at bay. Carriers are far easier targets. Patrolling the Indo-China Sea along with the USN is asking for trouble. We are not the US's mil allies. Let's not bite off more than we can chew. What will we do if the PLAN view us ,a weaker nation militarily to China as a juicy target? They would think a thousand times before attacking a USN warship,but an Indian one? I doubt any Indian govt would risk an Indian warship and the lives of hundreds of officers and sailors in such a manner.In fact an Indian flotilla would be less likekly to be attacked if it were on its own in the ICS.

Trump dada may be better for us than grand paa Sanders. Grand paa may be bad thing for India but HC is anti-Indian to the core. Full of paki dramas and Chipanda fundings. I do not trust her a bit. US SD was most anti-Indian under her watch.

Yagnasri wrote:Trump dada may be better for us than grand paa Sanders. Grand paa may be bad thing for India but HC is anti-Indian to the core. Full of paki dramas and Chipanda fundings. I do not trust her a bit. US SD was most anti-Indian under her watch.
I wouldn't trust either of them, they are all "anti-India" albeit of varying degrees. It would be naive to view any of them as being more "favourable" to us than the next.

India has a difficult situation. Certainly, the Chinese are our No. 1 enemy and we do need support to tackle them. The Americans are making use of our plight. At the same time, they continue to prop up the Pakistanis too so that we do not grow too big for our boots. The Americans have learnt a hard lesson from a similar strategy they worked out with China in the 70s to cause the downfall of the USSR. We have to drive a hard bargain with the Americans and the Japanese. Our support cannot come easily.

^^ At its core, US is a Euro-centric white Christian civilization with very little in common with Hindu civilization; and a cursory study of US foreign policy will reveal that its dealing with non western civilization are business like. Thus, whoever is the next president, at strategic level, nothing will change, for e.g., India TSP equal equal, so one must view which candidate is better for India in terms of his/her policies that would be less harmful to India. For e.g., outsourcing and other trade-related issues. On this count, Sanders dude will be a disaster (although I doubt he is electable). I would go with Hilary as she is somewhat of a status quo candidate.

One can be part of the audience and keep analyzing (sitting in the audience) or get up on he stage and be part of the drama.

Indians, knowing so much, have opted to be part of the prior. That, along with Indians stopping Indians within India, needs to change.

India is no small nation to take dictation from any other nation.

But, I do support Trump's claim of getting jobs back into the US.

Cough, cough. Hope you folks didn't miss this part.
Jhujar wrote:http://in.reuters.com/article/southchin ... NKCN0VJ09Q
Exclusive: U.S. and India consider joint patrols in South China Sea - U.S. official
The U.S. defence official said the two sides had discussed joint patrols, adding that both were hopeful of launching them within the year. The patrols would likely be in the Indian Ocean where the Indian navy is a major player as well as the South China Sea, the official told Reuters in New Delhi on condition of anonymity.
Based on this, it's nothing but a nice ply for khan to loiter around our home waters, with our own permission. So they continue to permanently sit here. Ultimately, only the pakis will benefit, as such a khan presence will also ensure we don't grow beyond our boots. I would be wary of signing some 'deal' for the IOR - our long term strategy should be to dislodge the Americans from Diego Garcia.

We do not need much from Khan, who anyway is not going to give us anything critical. So why bother? Just use them for the time being and try to stand on our legs. We can not be there Munna.

I am not a US resident. But Trump may be an idiot. But he, Sanders and other like that needed to US political system which I feel are not allowing voice to ordinary people. Online we hear nothing about serious financial and other problems of ordinary American people. It is as if no one has any problems in the US. Clearly that is not the case. All kinds of political correctness of the establishment leaders and others are going to end up damaging ordinary people of US only.

There is no plan on site to reduce the deficit from anyone. No one even discussing other economic issues facing everyday people. It is like all the candidates are like Pappu of India.

For Indians he may be the lesser evil than Paki HC.

Yagnasri wrote:There is no plan on site to reduce the deficit from anyone. No one even discussing other economic issues facing everyday people. It is like all the candidates are like Pappu of India.
Saar, as Prof Vaidyanathan of IIM-B says, America is too big to fail, and the world will continue to finance them for that reason. And they know it. So why bother with deficits and such boring stuff?

>>Based on this, it's nothing but a nice ply for khan to loiter around our home waters, with our own permission.

They don't loiter in our territorial waters without our permission. Other than that, they are loitering at will without our permission. We are in no position to impose our will outside our territorial waters at present against the US.

^^ Agreed about 'outside our territorial waters', but this seems to include within our waters. Just pointing that out.

And long term, Diego and thereabouts are our territorial waters :mrgreen:
member_29058

Post by member_29058 »

CRamS wrote:^^ At its core, US is a Euro-centric white Christian civilization with very little in common with Hindu civilization; and a cursory study of US foreign policy will reveal that its dealing with non western civilization are business like. Thus, whoever is the next president, at strategic level, nothing will change, for e.g., India TSP equal equal, so one must view which candidate is better for India in terms of his/her policies that would be less harmful to India. For e.g., outsourcing and other trade-related issues. On this count, Sanders dude will be a disaster (although I doubt he is electable). I would go with Hilary as she is somewhat of a status quo candidate.
Hillary with her closest advisor/pal/associate/rumored lover Huma Abedin is the most dangerous for India and Paki/Saudi Wahabis will now have a direct plant in American WH

http://www.vanityfair.com/news/2016/01/ ... on-adviser
oever wants to curry favor with Hillary has to go through Abedin, as thousands of recently released e-mails make abundantly clear. For the quotidian matters of the schedule, she speaks for Hillary, and people adept at getting access to Hillary know it. “Everybody fights to be at the center,” the former adviser says, “and Huma controls a lot of that dynamic.”

“I’m not sure Hillary could walk out the door without Huma,” Clinton adviser Mandy Grunwald told Vogue’s Rebecca Johnson eight years ago. “She’s a little like Radar on *M*A*S*H. If the air-conditioning is too cold, Huma is there with the shawl. She’s always thinking three steps ahead of Hillary.” It’s still true today. Nothing Hillary-related is too big or too small for Abedin’s purview.
edin was born in Kalamazoo, Michigan. Her mother, Saleha Mahmood Abedin, is Pakistani; her late father, Syed Zainul Abedin, was Indian. Both were intellectuals. When Abedin was two years old, the family moved to Jidda, Saudi Arabia, where, with the backing of Abdullah Omar Nasseef, then the president of King Abdulaziz University, her father founded the Institute of Muslim Minority Affairs, a think tank, and became the first editor of its Journal of Muslim Minority Affairs, which stated its mission as “shedding light” on minority Muslim communities around the world in the hope of “securing the legitimate rights of these communities.”

After Syed died, in 1993, his wife succeeded him as director of the institute and editor of the Journal, positions she still holds. She has also been active in the International Islamic Council for Da’wa and Relief, which is now headed by Nasseef and was banned in Israel on account of its ties to the Union of Good, a pro-Hamas fund-raising network, run by Yusuf al-Qaradawi.

Google Abdullah Omar Nasseef, the man who set up the Abedins in Jidda, and a host of right-wing screeds pop up. Though he is a high-ranking insider in the Saudi government and sits on the king’s Shura Council, there are claims that Nasseef once had ties to Osama bin Laden and al-Qaeda—a charge that he has denied through a spokesman—and that he remains a “major” figure in the Muslim Brotherhood. In his early years as the patron of the Abedins’ journal, Nasseef was the secretary-general of the Muslim World League, which Andrew McCarthy, the former assistant U.S. attorney who prosecuted the “Blind Sheik,” Omar Abdel Rahman, in the wake of the 1993 World Trade Center bombing, claims “has long been the Muslim Brotherhood’s principal vehicle for the international propagation of Islamic supremacist ideology.”
ter the scandal broke, Clintonworld seemed to go into overdrive to help Huma financially. A key first step was finding the family a new place to live. Soon after he resigned from Congress, Weiner sold his Forest Hills condominium for $430,000. Then Abedin sold her Washington condominium, for $620,000, at a loss of $29,000. Thanks to the generosity of Jack Rosen, a longtime Clinton supporter and New York developer, the couple moved into a sunlit, 12th-floor, 2,120-square-foot, four-bedroom apartment in one of Rosen’s buildings, at 254 Park Avenue South. The monthly rent has been estimated to have been at least $12,000. (In an interview, Rosen says the apartment was made available to the couple in part because of his relationship with the Clintons and they paid a market rental rate.) How Weiner and Abedin could afford the rent had the press wondering, although Weiner had started a consulting firm, Woolf Weiner Associates. The couple reported a combined income of $496,000 for 2012. (While Woolf Weiner remains a corporate entity, last July Weiner joined MWW, a public-relations firm. Two months later he was gone. “I was either not consulted or ignored on every part of this excellent summer adventure,” he tweeted.)

The next step was to sign off on Abedin’s 2012 request to become a “special government employee,” or S.G.E., at the State Department. This would allow her to continue to get paid while working from home, in New York City, as a consultant with expertise that no other person could supply on a “myriad of policy, administrative and logistical issues,” according to her application for S.G.E. status. At the same time she could care for her new baby son, Jordan, born on December 21, 2011. She became an S.G.E. in early June 2012 and was paid $62.06 per hour.

By then, Abedin was also acting as a consultant to Teneo Holdings, a global strategic-consulting and investment-banking firm co-founded by her old friend Douglas Band, who did the same thing for Bill Clinton that she did for Hillary. For the seven months she worked at Teneo, she was paid $105,000.

In addition to the State Department and Teneo jobs, Huma was hired as a consultant to the William J. Clinton Foundation to help plan for Hillary’s “post-State philanthropic activities,” and as a personal employee of Hillary’s.
http://www.breitbart.com/big-government ... ca-to-see/
The mainstream media has done nothing to serious vet the connection between the Clinton and Saudi Arabia, and the key role Huma Abedin plays in the life and work of Hillary Clinton are one core link. Abedin not only lived in Saudi Arabia from the time she was two years old, but her mother currently lives in Saudi Arabia and runs the Journal for Muslim Minority Affairs as well as being a dean at a woman’s college there.

Further tying the Clintons to the Saudis is big money. CNN reported in 2008 that “donations to the William J. Clinton Foundation include amounts of $10 million to $25 million from the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia.” Vanity Fair points out Huma’s ties there after Clinton left her role as Secretary of State:

In addition to the State Department and Teneo jobs, Huma was hired as a consultant to the William J. Clinton Foundation to help plan for Hillary’s “post-State philanthropic activities,” and as a personal employee of Hillary’s.

The Saudis have denied the accusation they’ve funded terrorism and also say they complied with U.S. orders, telling ABC “that after the Sept. 11 attacks, the country took prompt action and “required Saudi banks to identify and freeze all assets relating to terrorist suspects and entities per the list issued by the United States government.”

One of the organizations specifically singled out for funding terrorism was founded
http://www.vanityfair.com/news/2015/10/ ... uma-abedin

http://dailycaller.com/2015/11/23/okeef ... ees-video/

Iowa and New Hampshire have spoken to both parties.
Common themes are Establishment is not getting support from the voters in both parties.

Democrats: Hillary Clinton. In Iowa won by coin tosses. NH creamed. Sanders getting surprise support from even' women' vote. Madeline Albright type Establishment eat crow.

Republicans: Rubio, Bush. Kasich managed to get support but he is less than these two. If you total Trump, Cruz its more than the establishment.
Polls did get it right.

NH results explained : NPR

Look at the right sidebar also.

Experts unable or unwilling to point the finger at whats happening.

I think its angst at loss of position.

Last 16 years wiped out middle class. Only 1% grew with scams. Obama never punished the 2007 crash creators except for token desis. When it came to real crooks courts said evidence is inadmissible!!!!
Meantime middle class got merged with poor class. And poisoned waters piped to them like in Flint Michigan.

All this is showing as anger at the Establishment.

Two more states: Nevada caucus and South Carolina.

Experts hinting results could be different due to religious (fundoos and less liberal) and ethnic back grounds(blacks & Hispanics) of the two states.

JE Menon wrote:>>Based on this, it's nothing but a nice ply for khan to loiter around our home waters, with our own permission.

They don't loiter in our territorial waters without our permission. Other than that, they are loitering at will without our permission. We are in no position to impose our will outside our territorial waters at present against the US.
Exactly.
sooraj

Post by sooraj »

After coin toss, now its superdelegates

Thanks To Superdelegates, Hillary Clinton Still Wins After Getting Crushed In New Hampshire
Sanders had won 13 delegates with his 20-point victory on Tuesday and is expected to raise that total to 15 by the time all of the votes are counted.

Two of the state’s 24 delegates are currently unpledged but will likely be awarded to Sanders once the results are finalized.

Clinton won nine delegates in the primary but came into the contest with the support of six superdelegates, who are state party insiders given the freedom to support any candidate they choose.

Superdelegate support is fluid, though, so some of those delegates now backing Clinton could switch to Sanders before the Democratic National Convention in late July.

But as it stands, the superdelegate support gives Clinton a total of 15 New Hampshire delegates.

According to the Associated Press’ delegate count, Hillary Clinton leads Bernie Sanders 394-44. Clinton has roughly 360 superdelegates to 8 for Bernie Sanders. Clinton already has 16.5% of the delegates needed to win the nomination.

Contrary to what some progressive groups who are supporting Sen Sanders are suggesting in their emails to supporters, superdelegates aren’t a trick to take the nomination away from Bernie Sanders. Superdelegates have been around since the 1984 election. They represent 20% of the total delegate pool. Clinton’s domination of the superdelegates means that winning the popular vote, or a majority of delegates won’t be enough for Bernie Sanders to win the Democratic nomination.

If Sanders were to win the nomination without winning a large percentage of superdelegates, he would need to defeat Clinton by 60-40 delegate margin in the remaining states. Winning won’t be good enough. Sanders is going to need to win big.

Bernie Sanders won New Hampshire by 22 points and gained nothing on Hillary Clinton in the delegate count.

Even when Hillary Clinton loses, she still manages to find a way to win.

which means the democrats ain't really democratic.