India-Russia: News & Analysis

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India-Russia: News & Analysis

the thugs' Olympics tean got banned from the Olympics at Rio by the master of puppets Olympic officials........ :eek:

End of passion play, crumbling away
I’m your source of self-destruction
Veins that pump with fear, sucking darkest clear
Leading on your death’s construction
Taste me you will see
More is all you need
You’re dedicated to
How I’m killing you

Come crawling faster
Obey your master
Your life burns faster
Obey your master
Master

Master of puppets I’m pulling your strings
Twisting your mind and smashing your dreams
Blinded by me, you can’t see a thing
Just call my name, ‘cause I’ll hear you scream
Master
Master
Just call my name, ‘cause I’ll hear you scream
Master
Master

courtesy of Metallica

The BALCO scandal is a scandal involving the use of banned, performance-enhancing substances by professional athletes. The Bay Area Laboratory Co-operative (BALCO) was a San Francisco Bay Area business which supplied anabolic steroids to professional athletes. The incident surrounds a 2002 US Federal government investigation of the laboratory.

Arnold created a wide range of substances, that when used in a cycle could go relatively undetected by drug testing, even on the Olympic level. Five different types of drugs along with mineral supplements were used to achieve optimum results.

Balco chief is now world reknowned spokesperson for doping. :rotfl:

http://www.usatoday.com/story/sports/20 ... /75504308/
BALCO founder Victor Conte said Russia’s track and field federation should receive the same punishment given to Olympic athletes caught doping for the first time: a four-year ban.

“Anything less would be a slap on the wrist,” Conte told USA TODAY Sports. “They’d just be back to doing business as usual. These guys are corrupt, bad people.”

An 11-month investigation that was made public on Monday detailed what amounted to state-sanctioned doping by Russia. Russian track officials, coaches and doctors conspired to skirt performance-enhancing drug regulations, including having more than 1,400 samples destroyed.

Former World Anti-Doping Agency chief Dick Pound, who led the independent commission’s investigation, called for the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) to suspend Russia through 2016. That would mean no Russian track and field athletes could compete in the 2016 Summer Olympics in Rio

US establishment seems to be itching for a fight. It is creating all these Gulf of Tonkin incidents to boltser and herd its cattle, err citizens. The hysteria seems to synchronize with the moves with the HC-DT fight.

Lets not forget how the US which did not like a person who was the IMF chief who was the front runner for French Presidency was eliminated through trumped up charges in 2011. After that how the socialist party won are case records of how US performs its coups.

It will interesting to map the war mongering in US to whether HC is leading in the US race. India needs to take that into account.

It is just another means for the 'wars for israel' lobby to show their power. They cannot fight in person, because they will be hiding under their beds. They make others fight.

Putin on India-Russia Relations at SPIEF 16

http://tass.ru/en/politics/883275

Russia-India relations

Russia and India should develop bilateral relations, as the current level of mutual trade turnover does not meet the existing potential, Vladimir Putin said.

Putin called the two countries’ relations “confidential.” “All political forces here, and, as I feel, all political forces in India speak for development of Russian-Indian relations,” he said.

The Russian leader called the trade turnover level “too small yet” and not corresponding to the existing potential. “It is good that we help India develop a civilian nuclear program, but it’s not enough. We need to diversify our relations,” Putin said, calling to boost mutual investment.

Commenting on nuclear cooperation, the Russian president underscored that Russia interacts with India in that sphere within the framework of international law.

“But we believe that such a country as India, with such a huge population and great economic problems, facing energy challenges and the challenges of ensuring its national security, of course can’t be brought into line with all other countries. We need to act within the framework of international law, but seek opportunities for ensuring Indian interests,” Putin said.

Answering the question on his attitude toward rapprochement of India and the United States, Putin called it “a natural process.”
Hitesh

Post by Hitesh »

The reason why trade is so small between India and Russia is because Russia doesn't follow the terms of the contract or obey its contractual obligations or the law itself. Rule of law is very crucial to burgeoning trade otherwise there is no trust especially when you have billions of dollars worth of investment that you have to justify to shareholders.

How much do u know about Russia saar. From your comment looks like nothing beyond the name. Russian people, their culture, history and India-russia history if u bother to study it in detail u would not come up with a comment like u just did. Russia has given us and helped in technologies no other country had and will in the forseable future. Do not loose the forest for the trees saar. Every country has some issues including our own but we should keep the bigger picture in mind and not harp on a few bad experiences like viki.

Talking about contracts and the like certain other countries do things a lot worse except u do not seem to notice. Countries has come to India to do business and the ba*ards took over the entire country for centuries and their descendants go to whichever country they feel like is not doing their bidding and destroy it( it is not in the contract but what the hell I have the bigger gun ), that is a lot worse than not following some contract.
member_23370

Post by member_23370 »

One reason trade is low is because chamcha nehru did not let IA kick porkis out of PoK in 47'. We need it back soon and have direct connectivity with central asia and Russia.
Hitesh

Post by Hitesh »

Snahata,

Say all you want and rant all you want, but the proof is in the pudding itself. Look at the trade stats. After all, trade with China is way much bigger than with Russia even though Russia is an all time all weather ally of India. Having a common border has nothing to do with it when we trade a lot more with distant countries poorer than Russia.

A good friend of mine tried to set up a business relationship with some Russian companies and after a while, he suddenly closed up shop and wrote off the entire investment and swore never to do business in Russia again despite ample business opportunities. There's a mafia mentality in Russia nowadays and it is very hard to do business unless you have some form of security backing you up and that may not be enough or too costly to justify the time and efforts. My friend says even though China is an quasi-enemy of India, he would rather do business with Chinese than do business with Russians. He says it is easier to do business in China than in Russia. He says that he trusts Chinese businessmen more to uphold their end of the bargain than the Russians. He knows about the poker face and how Chinese people try to get the better of the benefit but at least the Chinese understood that once you agree to a deal, you make the deal happen. Trade facts generally back up this sentiment. Despite 25 years of post communist rule and making more advanced products than China that meet India's needs, Russia's trade with India is vastly less than China.

He doesn't trade a lot with Chinese companies. He prefers to trade with European or North American companies since their products are much more superior than the Chinese products but they are more expensive and very hard to get credit. He thought that he could get a better product with Russian companies but at a lower price than the Americans or Europeans but the process of getting that product was very difficult despite paying a lot of upfront costs.

Unless there is great need to do business in Russia like for example, oil trade and it is in the form of state enterprises, Russia will not see much trade with India in terms of private sector trade.

It is a pity and shame. There is so much potential to be had I have great admiration and appreciations for the Russians for all the help they gave to India during the Cold War and post Cold War but they really need to change their ways internally and how they do business and they are letting that valuable goodwill go to waste. The Russians need to learn how to manage and control their greed. It is not just the western world perception or bias but actual experience. Go to Russia and try to set up a business relationship and see what happens. You will see what my friend went through.

I have some friends who started a small start-up in India and went through harrowing times with local authorities, Shiv sena and their goons and ultimately had to close his business because it was the better option to do inspite of profits being made but the stress to deal with them was not worth but just because he failed does not mean every one who starts a new business fails , there are always these odd case of bad experience

If your friends feels China is a better place to do business then he should do business where he thinks it's better for him

do not put one friend,s experience and blame the whole country. U think it is easy doing business in India , coming from a business family I should know, especially for a foreigner. some of what u say is true but u have to be patient. Russians had communism for several generations and are not used to doing business and they may come out as a bit rough sometime but u have to go beyond that and get to know them better.One of India,s biggest business house is doing business in Russia for decades and they seem to be doing alright ( I asked them )so I do not know about your friend saar.Like I said every country has it,s issues u have to go beyond that but I agree with u there is a mafia like mentality and crookery sometime and u have to careful.BUt they are good people and a great culture. With time they will learn to do business better.

India's ONGC to Invest $5 Bln in Russia Projects in 2016 - Official

http://sputniknews.com/business/2016061 ... s-oil.html

Indian oil firm buys 23.9 % stake in Rosneft oil field for $2.1 billion

India’s Oil and Natural Gas Corporation (ONGC) has signed an agreement to buy a 23.9 percent stake in Vankor oil field from Russia’s Rosneft company for about $2.1 billion.

“With the closure of the Vankor deal, IOC’s equity oil portfolio will go up by 1.6 million tons per annum,” the Indian company said.

The Vankor field in East Siberia is Russia’s second largest by production, with estimated reserves of 520 million metric tons of oil.

Hitesh wrote:The reason why trade is so small between India and Russia is because Russia doesn't follow the terms of the contract or obey its contractual obligations or the law itself. Rule of law is very crucial to burgeoning trade otherwise there is no trust especially when you have billions of dollars worth of investment that you have to justify to shareholders.
This you see as solely russian problem because our media since the time clinton put pressure on PM vajpayee during sanctions to open media for foreign investment.

They don't advertise that how when hawk trainer was bought from UK they too were sending second hand used old parts in the beginning and after much complaining fighting this issue was corrected, but since its western dhokadhadi the media didn't do any big rona dhona on it.

When C-17 were bought so fast by mms-antony from US, all the media was saying that boeing is going to install state of art wind tunnel testing site in Bharat as offset policy.

Now the americans have cheated but there is not even a whimper in mediapimps, only one brave honest journalist Sh. Saurav Jha is reporting on this:
http://www.news18.com/blogs/india/saura ... 76923.html

Their attempt to discharge offset obligations through transfers in 'kind' of simulators and supersonic wind tunnels has not gone down well with some sections in Indian industry. Even the trisonic wind tunnel, that DRDO is receiving as part of offsets for the C-17 deal, is actually a decades old American wind tunnel which is being stripped and sent to India with all the moving parts being replaced with new ones.
In fact many parts were so rotten that they had to be sent back and boeing asked to replace them. But pranav roy, cnn-ibn or christian priest rupert murdoch's star news now called ABP News isn't going to report on it. That is american hold on our media.

Russian President Vladimir Putin reveals to India Today he is positive of finding a solution to India's entry into NSG and has been in touch with China about it

http://indiatoday.intoday.in/story/worl ... 95321.html

Those who argued Russia was exempt from the laws of economics given oil prices and devaluation are in for a shock:

Government won't balance its budget before 2018, survey shows
Crash in oil prices puts pressure on Russia's public finances

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/ ... es-defense

They are selling part of the crown jewels to make up the slack.

their private companies have taken lots of foreign debts which is causing all the unbalancing. As usual these private companies are headed by dodgy people and have dodgy interests as is the case with everything that is in private hands in Russia.

habal wrote:their private companies have taken lots of foreign debts which is causing all the unbalancing. As usual these private companies are headed by dodgy people and have dodgy interests as is the case with everything that is in private hands in Russia.
Exactly and those debts are in Euros while revenues are in Rubles.

Cosmo_R wrote:
habal wrote:their private companies have taken lots of foreign debts which is causing all the unbalancing. As usual these private companies are headed by dodgy people and have dodgy interests as is the case with everything that is in private hands in Russia.
Exactly and those debts are in Euros while revenues are in Rubles.
Not really , most the big time private debtors have revenue in Euro/USD as they are major exporter , they pay in the same currency they buy their debt as very low interest rates

Russia, the Western Media, and the Credit Crunch that Wasn’t

http://theduran.com/russia-western-medi ... nch-wasnt/

Rosneft Chief on recent India Deal

http://tass.ru/pmef-2016/article/3388556

On the purchase of a stake in Essar Oil Refinery

"Rosneft" expects that the completion of the deal to buy 49% stake in Essar Oil refinery in India will be held by October. "We have the main documents signed, go through various procedures, bilateral, obtain the necessary permits and are working to complete the deal here. (In the completion of the transaction - Ed.). Is not only up to us to think that by October about complete.", - He said, Sechin.

The head of "Rosneft" did not mention the amount of the transaction to complete the signing of documents.

"In general, we are talking not only about 49% of the refinery, we have included in the transaction perimeter of the second phase of the plant, it all requires a little clarification. In general, all major decisions were held, including on the issue of evaluation. Just have additional assets that we have included ", - he said.
In July 2015, "Rosneft" and the shareholders of Essar signed the basic conditions for entering the Russian company in the authorized capital of Essar Oil refinery in the city of Vadinar with a share of up to 49%.

"Rosneft" and Essar Oil have also signed a long-term contract for the supply of crude oil to India. The contract includes the supply of a total of 100 million tons of oil for 10 years. It was noted that "Rosneft" will start oil supplies to the refinery Essar refinery after entering the capital. Refinery capacity is currently 20 million tons per year. The parties intend to increase the capacity of the plant, bringing the annual volume of oil refining to the level of 45 million tonnes by 2020.

The transaction perimeter includes also retail network of 1.6 thousand. Gas station on the territory of India. The party plans to bring the total number of petrol stations up to 5 thousand. For the next two years.

Essar Oil - a division of diversified Essar Group, owns the second largest private oil refinery in the city of Vadinar India.

The deal with a consortium of Indian companies

The amount of the transaction with a consortium of Indian companies - Oil India, Indian Oil and Bharat Petro Resources - for the sale of 23.9% stake in "Vankorneft" is more than $ 2 billion.

"It is true (value of more than $ 2 billion - ed.). Indeed so However, we managed to convince partners that the fundamental value of the mining project does not depend on the current situation, and even improve the original proposal What I would like to thank... our partners who trust us and who understand the value of our resource base, and now have the opportunity to participate in our work ", - said Sechin.

According to him, the Indian partners are convinced that "all this work will be aimed at including in the energy security of India."

"The fact that the Indian partners are increasing their share in the capital of" Vankorneft "allows, in turn, we have to take a decision on the development of East Siberian cluster We will develop oil production in this region and to organize new projects." - Said Sechin.

"Rosneft" and a consortium of Indian companies - Oil India, Indian Oil and Bharat Petro Resources - within past St.Petersburg International Economic Forum signed a purchase contract - the sale of 23.9% shares of "Vankorneft 'and shareholders' agreement.

After closing, the consortium will join the board of directors "Vankorneft". At the same time, "Rosneft" will retain a majority stake in the project, the majority of the board of directors, control over the operations, as well as complete control over common infrastructure cluster (including pipeline Vankor - Purpe).

Vankor field is located in the north of Eastern Siberia in Turukhansk district of the Krasnoyarsk Territory, 142 km from the town of Igarka. 2P reserves of hydrocarbons in accordance with PRMS classification at January 1, 2016 amount to 265 million tons of oil and condensate and 88 billion cubic meters. m. gas.

In 2015, at the Vankor field produced 22 million tons of oil and 8.71 billion. Cubic meters of gas.

Russian Ambassador: Russia remains the leading partner of India in the field of military-technical cooperation

http://ria.ru/interview/20160628/1453605706.html

Russia remains the leading partner of India in the field of military-technical cooperation, in spite of "some leeway" in New Delhi in the direction of Washington. A sounding the last message time that the Russian press on the arms market in India, are a bluff and an injection of information. In an interview with the special correspondent of RIA Novosti Tatyana Kalmykova he told Russian Ambassador to India Alexander Kadakin.

- Next year will anniversary - the 70th anniversary of the establishment of diplomatic relations between our countries. How do you assess the current level of political cooperation between Russia and India? Is there room to grow? What measures are planned in connection with the auspicious occasion?

- Of course, this will be widely celebrated solid date and in Russia, and India. Preparing to take place in New Delhi and in major Indian cities, a series of joint events - seminars, conferences, exhibitions and various cultural events, including film festivals and concerts. The plans - edition commemorative album, reflecting the major milestones rich history of relations between our countries.

70th anniversary - this is certainly a special occasion to reflect on what was the impetus to the historic step of establishing diplomatic relations between the two countries in April 1947 - even before the liberation of India from colonial oppression. In my view, the key factor was the centuries of mutual attraction of our countries and peoples to each other. "It reaches the heart of India's vast Russia Pulls great Indian magnet Russian heart." - So poetically about this unique phenomenon, wrote an outstanding Russian artist and philosopher Nicholas Roerich. I remind both his deep determination: "India - not a foreign land, and the sister of Russia."

As in the old days, for seventy years passed way spiritual, cultural attraction serves as the core of the Russian-Indian understanding, defining a critical, inseparable triad of our friendship and cooperation - mutual respect, mutual trust, mutual benefit. We are proud to state that for this long period, no internal socio-political upheavals and tragedies, or tectonic shifts in the global arena could not shake the foundations of the Russian-Indian friendship, has become deeply rooted folk tradition, or blur the national consensus that has emerged in both countries. That's why our relationship is a model that has no analogues in the world diplomatic history and practice of XX and XXI centuries, and naturally characterized today as a particularly privileged strategic partnership.

This is confirmed both by the level of political interaction in the international arena, as well as the scale of ongoing joint affairs - whether it's the most powerful of operating in India "Kudankulam" nuclear power plant, the second unit which must these days to start feeding electricity into the national grid, or the development and production of the world's best supersonic cruise missile "Brahmos", the latest modification that has recently successfully completed the first flight test in a future shock weapons Su-30MKI. I emphasize that today no other country in the world is not divided so generously with anyone its most advanced developments, such as Russia. It is an undeniable and indisputable fact. And all deceitful figures that Russia allegedly pushed on the arms market - it is a pure bluff and unscrupulous competitors failed stuffing information.

Among the important trends of the last period marked by high intensity of contacts in the oil and gas sector. In Russia active Indian company ONGC Videsh Ltd. - Implemented the project "Sakhalin-1" and a plan to develop oil fields in the Tomsk region, along with other Indian partners are preparing for increased participation in the development of the Vankor field in cooperation with PJSC "NC" Rosneft "and increase their share in the project to 49.9 %. The parties also signed an agreement of purchase and sale of 29.9% stake in OOO "TAAs-Yuryakh Oil and Gas". in turn, "Rosneft" has reached an agreement on the terms and structure of the transaction by entering into equity Essar Oil Limited Indian company.

Come mutually beneficial contacts and in other areas. In particular, a mechanism that allows to switch to the use of national currencies in mutual settlements. Boost the creation of a reliable and efficient infrastructure of the international transport corridor "North-South", which will significantly reduce the time of delivery of the goods and the cost of transportation between Russia and India. We discuss the creation of a free trade area between the EAEC and India. We are working on updating the Russian-Indian agreement on the protection and the promotion of mutual investments. All these steps will create an entirely new environment for building fruitful cooperation, not only bilaterally but also in the regional dimension. We should also mention progress in inter-regional cooperation, including regular business missions of Russian regions in the largest cities in India.

Of course, this is no time to rest on our laurels achieved in seven decades. The potential of the Russian-Indian trade and economic, scientific-technical and cultural cooperation is not disclosed in full. There are plenty of opportunities to its substantial capacity and diversification. The interests of both countries - and it's President Vladimir Putin and Prime Minister Narendra Modi affirmed during a meeting June 24, 2016 "on the margins" of the SCO summit in Tashkent - orient us to the fact that boldly develop existing and new product lines, mechanisms of innovative communication and investment opportunities, forward-looking, including projects with the active involvement of the private sector, the expansion of direct contacts between Russian and Indian regions.

Speaking about the upcoming anniversary, it is appropriate to recall the good word of diplomats, the continuity of which the works we strive in every way to preserve and multiply. Our colleagues have made an invaluable contribution to the formation of guidelines, consolidation of Russian-Indian cooperation, which has become a powerful factor and an effective instrument of international policy. Of particular note is the Treaty of Peace, Friendship and Cooperation in 1971, the 45th anniversary of which we will celebrate together on 9 August. In this series, and the Declaration on nuclear-free and non-violent world of 1986, as well as the fundamental Delhi Declaration on strategic partnership in 2000, signed in the first year of my previous tenure as ambassador. These documents have created unprecedented precedents in world diplomacy, broke new construction principles of international relations, an effective response to modern challenges and threats. Experience helps us to fruitful cooperation in multilateral formats, work on the construction of a more balanced and just world order.

- During the recent visit of the Indian Prime Minister Modi in the US makes a loud statement about the friendship between the two countries, Obama has expressed support for India's entry into the Nuclear Suppliers Group. In addition, the US president has promised to increase Washington's cooperation with India in the field of military-technical cooperation to the status of primary defense partner. Whether this trend will affect Russian-Indian relations? Are there any concerns that the US displace Russia from India, or should we not be afraid?

- Indeed, in recent years we have seen a fairly rapid development of Indo-US relations. There are many areas where the interests of the two countries coincide. India - a rising world power with dynamic economic growth (and, to date, the world's highest figure of 7.6%), growing demand and enormous human resources - no doubt very attractive to many countries that have every reason to stare at it as a "rich bride." In turn, the Modi government facing large-scale practical problems associated with the provision of accelerated modernization of the country, largely explains the interest of New Delhi to foreign investment and advanced technologies, including in terms of increasing its own defense capabilities. This, of course, leads to increased competition for the Indian market. Active overseas partners in the Indian direction is motivated by a desire not only to seize a tidbit of this big cake, but also to try to enlist the participation of India in the implementation of far-reaching their own strategic plans in the region.

It sounded loud and promises, including the appropriation of India's status as a global partner in the field of defense. But, as they say in Russia, promise - does not mean to marry. Anyway, the first attempt to make a move in the indicated direction gave reason to doubt the possibility of rapid implementation of high promises: the Senate has not approved an amendment to the legislation that would allow India to revise the terms of the latest technology.

From all other countries we, Russia, are different in one, but fundamentally important aspect - honesty and sincerity. In our affairs is not a double bottom. Russia has always been, is and will be sincerely interested in strengthening power, global position and prestige of India as a powerful, independent and friendly state. It is this we want to see India. This clearly shows the entire history of Russian-Indian relations. In the changing world of attractive bride, of course, worthy of myself to choose their partners. But when Indian friends ask me, whether in Moscow in this respect concerns, I try to reassure them that Russia is not jealous of her sister India to those who it woos, but warns against excessive credulity that potential "suitors" or newfound partners not deceived inflated hopes and expectations.

To speak of the fact that a drift toward US threatens historically friendly and trusting relationship between Russia and India, it would be, to put it mildly, an exaggeration. Russia has been and remains the leading partner of India in key sectors such as the peaceful atom and the military-technical cooperation. On the whole, the immutable principles of a balanced New Delhi's foreign policy are not intended to deepen relations with one player at the expense of another. This was in relation to Russia repeatedly stated Indian leaders, both former and current. This, incidentally, applies to the participation of New Delhi in the activities of multilateral mechanisms, and to regional crises.

As for the support of New Delhi on the world stage, in particular, to join the NSG, it is not only the US but Russia and many other countries believe that adherence to this regime of India as a responsible power with an impeccable reputation in the NPT, has developed a national export control system, will contribute to strengthening the global non-proliferation efforts.

- In the short term expected official entry of India into the SCO as a full member. What India can contribute to the interaction of the SCO? How can this help the development of Russian-Indian relations?

- The entry of India into the SCO - a very important event. At the summit in Tashkent signed a memorandum on the obligations of India and Pakistan as a new full member of the organization. Now you need to go through a number of procedures, including the accession of both countries to the regulatory framework of the SCO to the next Summit of Heads of State in 2017, this process was completed in Astana.

Again emphasize that India has a solid economic potential and growing global and regional influence. Her interests fully coincide with the goals of the organization to ensure stability in the Eurasian space, the development of cooperation in the fight against new threats, primarily emanating from the territory of Afghanistan, the expansion of contacts in the interbank and investment cooperation, deepening of interconnectivity. As stated in Tashkent Prime Minister Modi, New Delhi is ready to contribute to countering the challenges facing our common region, and reducing barriers to the movement of goods, services, capital and people. In this context, a very promising is the prospect of combining the integration of efforts between the SCO and ASEAN EAEC.

And, of course, in this context, we expect to build a Russian-Indian regional cooperation not only in the mentioned areas, but also on the functioning of ITC "North-South", to promote the restoration of peace and development of Afghanistan and many other issues.

- Do you think that the entry of India and Pakistan to the SCO will help resolve bilateral disputes in these countries and will contribute to the normalization of relations?

- SCO is not engaged in the settlement of bilateral disputes. Moreover, one of the conditions for the organization of India and Pakistan was that they should not make available between the contentious issues on the agenda of the association. Partners in New Delhi and Islamabad, despite the unresolved problems of the border, and other advanced topics in their relationship, accept this condition. At this stage, they are working to normalize relations, including the harmonization of the launch of the Comprehensive Dialogue, on the basis of their experience and documented principles of non-interference.

At the same time we hope that the joint work of the SCO India and Pakistan will create favorable conditions for the expansion of contacts and building trust between them.

- How do you assess the cooperation between India and Russia in the fight against international terrorism? Are there any plans to strengthen and expand cooperation in this area? Is interest in the Indian parties to exercise?

- In the fight against terrorism, India - one of our key partners. We work closely with each other and, in the framework of relevant multilateral mechanisms. There is cooperation between special services and law enforcement agencies, bilateral working group on the fight against terrorism, the exchange is carried out interagency delegations at various levels.

I would like to emphasize the closeness of the approaches of Russia and India, who have experienced the full seriousness and grave consequences of cross-border terrorism, to combat this "plague of the XXI century" at the international level. We strongly support the strengthening of the relevant collective efforts with the central role of the UN and its mechanisms and resolutions, including the suppression of the financing of terrorism, the activities of foreign terrorists-militants, spread the ideology of extremism, as well as cybercrime. We believe that this fight should not be linked with religion, and requires a comprehensive approach, including combating drug trafficking, arms trafficking and money laundering.

In this context, we are united in their rejection of the practice of "double standards" in the settlement of acute regional problems, including Afghanistan, the Syrian, Yemeni crises, as well as the fight against banned in Russia "Islamic state." Respect for the sovereignty, territorial integrity and non-interference in the internal affairs of States are fundamental principles of the foreign policy of India. In this we are absolutely in agreement.

Russia supports India's initiative to promote the UN Comprehensive Convention on International Terrorism, the central focus of which is on the inadmissibility of state sponsorship of terrorism and terrorists refuge.

Russia and India are close and in the approaches to the issues of strengthening the existing international drug control system in the framework of the UN, especially the Commission on Narcotic Drugs and UNODC, strengthening international information security by developing a universal international instrument under the auspices of the UN, as well as the FATF line and other relevant mechanisms.

- Whether in the near future is expected to exchange visits of delegations from Moscow and New Delhi? Planned there any high-level meeting?

- One of the characteristic features of Russian-Indian relations is a regular and very dense political dialogue, especially in the framework formed by the interaction mechanisms at various levels, from the leaders to the regions.

The main event, of course, President Putin will participate in the BRICS summit on October 15-16 in the state of Goa, which is also held on the eve of the annual bilateral summit. In September it will be a meeting of the intergovernmental commission, which co-chaired by the deputy head of the Russian Government Dmitry Rogozin and Indian Foreign Minister Sushma Swaraj. In preparation for these activities already carried out numerous meetings and contacts in various fields.

Of great importance, as already noted, we had talks Putin and Modi in the framework of the SCO summit in Tashkent, in the course of which our leaders "compared notes" on a wide range of issues of bilateral and multilateral issues, and outlined plans for the future.

As a result - the second half of the year, promises us a very important event in Russian-Indian cooperation. It aimed to ensure that they are brought very tangible results.
chandrabhan

Post by chandrabhan »

Most touching part of my Moscow visit was when an elderly gent walked upto me at Europe square/mall. He enquired about my nationality & when i said India, he laughed. "long live the mother to humanity, great Indian civilisation", his exact words. Must be around 55-60, retired armed forces officer.
Another instance was when I was having lunch at Crown plaza & a man in suit left his table to thank "Indian people & government for keeping the Sukhoi factory alive during tough times..".
It was very touching gesture as most of the people from his table got up & smiled/waved.
Last edited by chandrabhan on 15 Aug 2016 15:11, edited 1 time in total.
chandrabhan

Post by chandrabhan »

I understood many things..
1. In general, there is a broad consensus amongst Russians for good relations with India
2. Most I spoke, were not very positive about China & few even were convicted of a war with China (Sooner than US/Europe) over Siberia. Few of them called China a greedy state.
3. Russian economy is not as bad as being projected by western publications.
4. There is all around construction going on in moscow
5. Putin is going nowhere & most are not contemptuous of Europe but ridicule US
6. There is a deep appreciation of Modi in parliamentarians of Russia, met 2 of them.

The history of being raided/attacked so may times by Europeans/tatars/Golden hordes is ingrained. Saw a newly married couple at war cemetery & many at Tzar's gardens.. amazingly beautiful train stations.

chandrabhan wrote:Most touching part of my Moscow visit was when an elderly gent walked upto me at Europe square/mall. He enquired about my nationality & when i said India, he laughed. "long live the mother to humanity, great Indian civilisation", his exact words. Must be around 55-60, retired armed forces officer.
Another instance was when I was having lunch at Crown plaza & a man in suit left his table to thank "Indian people & government for keeping the Sukhoi factory alive during tough times..".
It was very touching gesture as most of the people from his table got up & smiled/waved.
The sanction and low oil prices are hitting Russia very hard. India has created goodwill by ordering from Russia during these times.
Bheeshma

Post by Bheeshma »

Just shows how badly that chamcha nehru screwed up by not allowing Gen Thimaya 48 more hours to take back PoK. Hopefully Modi rectifies this problem. PoK must be taken back to connect with central asia and europe.

Kargil was the best time to do that, not sure the exact reason for not cross the LoC. Added advantage of taking back PoK is that people from there would hopefully tell Kashmiris what it is like to live under pakis.

Russia Supplied India With $65Bln Worth of Military Vehicles Since 1960

Read more: https://sputniknews.com/military/201609 ... ation.html

Russian Countermeasures against New Missile Technologies

Time to have a new thread called "Russia-Porki love affair" ?

http://swarajyamag.com/world/russia-and ... -new-delhi
Russia And Pakistan Plan Joint Military Exercise. Is Moscow Drifting Away From New Delhi?

| Swarajya Staff - September 13, 2016, 12:59 pm |

Russia’s joint naval exercise with China in the South China Sea and a go-ahead for the first-ever joint military exercise with Pakistan later this year marks an apparent shift in Moscow’s outlook towards the region.

Around 200 military personnel from Russia and Pakistan are set to take part in the joint military exercises, The Express Tribune has quoted a senior Pakistani official as saying. Though far from unusual, these developments are significant in view of India’s increasing defence cooperation with the United States.

Though talked about in recent times, a shift in Russia’s standpoint is most visible and now reinforced by increasing high-level interactions between Moscow and Islamabad. Over the last 15 months, the chiefs of Pakistan’s Army, Navy and Air Force have travelled to Russia, signalling the growing defence ties between the two countries.

This surge in engagement comes at a time when Islamabad’s relations with Washington have deteriorated following latter’s refusal to finance Pakistan’s purchase of F-16s warplanes. In view of the improving relations, reports suggest, Islamabad might be interested in buying advance Russian warplanes. In 2015, the two countries inked a major defence deal for the sale of four Mi-35 ‘Hind-E’ attack helicopters to Pakistan.

While Russia’s engagement with China does not mark a major shift in Moscow’s policy, the fact that the two are engaging in the South China Sea – an area where India’s stand is seen more aligned to that of the United States – is important to note.

With New Delhi and Washington engaging in Afghanistan and the Indo-Pacific and finding more in common in areas of shared interest, other players in the region – Beijing, Islamabad and Moscow – are sure to look for issues to engage in.

Amidst the apparent strategic shift and realignment in the region, New Delhi should hold its policy of strategic autonomy to manage the blowbacks of its engagement with the United States, thereby maintaining the strategic balance of power in Asia.
Hitesh

Post by Hitesh »

I wouldn't worry too much about it. There is no strategic gain for Russia. Pakistan can't pay and is a beggar. If Russia goes with Pakistan, it loses India in a big way. Russia is just trying to scare and intimidate India into a Russia only relationship. India needs to stay firm and tell Russia to go ahead and be stupid and lose a lot of money in the process.

Russia has an advantage in keeping Pakistan around:

It keeps India confined to the subcontinent. P5 members don't want a UNSC expansion despite their public utterances supporting it.

It keeps India's attention off their strategic ally China which is a force multiplier for them against US deployments in the East.

It keeps India reliant on their MIC.

It keeps India and China from joining hands. Once Pakistan is finished, China will have to grudgingly cooperate w/ India rather than isolate it. We share very deep cultural links. India could be a bridge between SK, Taiwan, Japan, and the Chinese.
Hitesh

Post by Hitesh »

Sure but can Russia pull it off? Can it afford to lose another friend?

Hitesh wrote:Sure but can Russia pull it off? Can it afford to lose another friend?
It's not a question of losing a friend.

It's simply a gradual downgrade in relationship.

They still need us to keep the Chinese on a leash.

It's a balance.

We have our interests and they have theirs.
Hitesh

Post by Hitesh »

And Russia is slowly losing clout. Its economy is still in the doldrums and they have not been able to move away from oil and refinery industry as the mainstay of Russian economy. Its demographics doesn't look too good.

Hitesh wrote:And Russia is slowly losing clout. Its economy is still in the doldrums and they have not been able to move away from oil and refinery industry as the mainstay of Russian economy. Its demographics doesn't look too good.
They'll survive.

But what you say is true.

They are very self reliant though. This is a huge advantage they have.

In that sense, they can't really ditch us. They know what will happen to China's far east if Afghanistan takes over backed by USA.

Right now everything they are doing is devoted to preserving China. Just look at their 3 overlapping long range radar deployments to their southern flank.

They will be scanning our sky in a big way and watching for US deployments on the Indian subcontinent and their air assets out of Deigo Garcia.

Our future lies w/ Iran, Afghanistan, SE Asia, USA and Japan.

I still can't believe how stupid the Chinese are though.

Indian team for Russia in hunt for submarine

http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/i ... 104537.ece

India-Russia bond: Pacts for two more nuclear reactors likely

http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/art ... 322485.cms

India, Russia explore ways to boost trade, investment ties

http://www.business-standard.com/articl ... 155_1.html

http://zeenews.india.com/news/india/ind ... 30187.html

India need not worry about Russia-Pak military drills: Moscow
Last Updated: Friday, September 16, 2016 - 23:59
Moscow: India need not worry about the planned Russia-Pakistan joint military exercises as these drills will not be carried out in disputed areas, a senior Russian diplomat said on Friday.
Russia thinks India should not be concerned about upcoming Russia-Pakistan joint military exercises, the Russian Foreign Ministry's director of the Second Asian Department Zamir Kabulov said.
The joint military exercises, dubbed as 'Friendship-2016', are tactical drills which will be held from September 24 to October 7 in the Army High Altitude School in northern Pakistan's Rattu and at a special forces training center in Cherat area.
The exercises aim to strengthen and develop cooperation between the two former Cold War rivals' armed forces.
"We were informed by the Russian Defense Ministry that these exercises will not be carried out in (disputed) areas, and a place was chosen that has nothing to do with this. Hence there is no reason for India to worry about it," Kabulov was quoted as saying Russia's state-run Sputnik news agency.
Kabulov said Moscow had informed New Delhi of the regions where the exercises with Pakistan were planned to take place.
Around 200 military personnel from the two sides would take part in the joint military exercises.....
Guatam