India-Australia News and Discussion

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India-Australia News and Discussion

Australia still hasn't come out of the Caroe bokwas about 'seven circles of power' and still is anti-India due to misperception.
So until they repudiate the Caroe nonsense the above is anon-starter.

Assuie General Cawthorne founded ISI in TSP.

Australia to sell uranium to India for 'peaceful' power generation
http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/foreign/03 ... generation
SYDNEY – Australian Prime Minister Tony Abbott said on Wednesday that he hoped to sign a deal this week to sell uranium to India for peaceful power generation, but halted uranium exports to Russia over Moscow's role in Ukraine.Work on an India-Australia agreement has been underway since Australia, which has 40 per cent of the world's known uranium reserves, lifted a long-standing ban on selling uranium to energy-starved India in 2012. Nuclear-armed India and Australia have been working on a ‘safeguards’ agreement since then to ensure any uranium exports from Australia are used purely for peaceful purposes.“I am hoping to sign a nuclear cooperation agreement that will enable uranium sales by Australia to India,” Abbott told parliament in Canberra. India faces chronic shortages of electricity, and a quarter of its billion-plus population has no little or no access to power. Two thirds of India's power supplies come from burning coal, and it is keen to shift the balance towards nuclear over the next few years.
"The negotiations and work that's gone on between authorities in India and Australia have gone on for some years to develop a bilateral nuclear cooperation agreement which meets the international requirements and we are satisfied, our officials are satisfied, that all the requirements have been met,” Robb told ABC radio.Australia's decision to overturn it long-standing ban on uranium sales to India followed a US agreement to support the ‘civil’ nuclear programme in India. India's status as a nuclear power features highly among Prime Minister Narendra Modi's priorities. India operates 20 mostly small reactors at six sites with a capacity of 4,780 megawatts or two per cent of its total power capacity, according to the Nuclear Power Corporation of India Limited.The government hopes to increase its nuclear capacity to 63,000 megawatts by 2032 by adding nearly 30 reactors at an estimated cost of $85 billion. Aus. Abbott is visiting India and Malaysia as he seeks to deepen trade and personal ties in Asia ahead of the Group of 20 Leaders Summit scheduled to take place in Brisbane in November.

Australia to power India's energy market as Tony Abbott settles terms for uranium trad
Australian uranium - for use in India's nuclear reactors - could begin flowing to India within a year or even less after the two governments settled terms for the controversial trade stipulating its peaceful use as an energy source and its safe handling.
Bringing India into Australia's nuclear family
The tangible - yet officially unconfirmed - mission here is commercial - to sign an inter-country safe-guards agreement removing the last impediments to Australian uranium sales to India. Insiders say it could also to facilitate direct Indian investment in what might otherwise be marginal uranium mines in Australia.
kancha

Post by kancha »

Brig Gurmeet Kanwal on Twitter

@gurmeetkanwal
So, Australia will sell Uranium to India! After Pokhran nuclear tests May 1998, Australia expelled Indian DA n officers on trg courses. 1/2

@gurmeetkanwal
Yrs ago I told Aus MPs n b'crats questioning our non-prolif record, "Aus will sell Uranium 2 Ind on bended knees." Der aaye, durust aaye 2/2

Tony Abott seems to be a strong cheerleader for India-Aus relationship.

He also delivers some strong Jhapads to Karan Thapar for irrelevant questions.
SanjayC

Post by SanjayC »

^^ This Thapar idiot will either ask irrelevant questions to a foreign guest about other countries, or bring up the 2002 riots in Gujarat and encourage him to comment on an internal matter of India. Truly a scum. The Aroon Poorie dude needs some hard lessons for hiring the commie / lefty scum of Indian media like Thapar and Shekhar Gupta.
Ashokk

Post by Ashokk »

Indians in South Australia barred from Anzac Day parade
NEW DELHI: Gallipoli was the original Normandy. Early morning on April 25, 1915, the Anzacs (Australia and New Zealand Army Corps) landed at Gallipoli in vessels that "moved like giant snakes in the water". With them landed the 7th Mountain Artillery Brigade of the Indian Army. The Indians provided suppressing fire as the Aussies and Kiwis engaged the Turks, thus drawing the enemy's fire upon themselves.

Hundreds of stories of camaraderie between the Indians and the Anzacs were recorded during the campaign. The Australians, perceived to be the most racist among white troops of the Great War, had only respect and admiration for the Indian soldiers. But a hundred years on, many Australians seem to have forgotten that Indians fought side by side with their ancestors.

Recently, the Australian media reported an act of "gross injustice" done to Indians in South Australia. An organization of retired Indian servicemen now settled in Australia had asked for permission to march on Anzac Day. They were refused on the grounds that the march is only for the Anzacs and those foreign veterans who fought with them as allies. This immediately sparked outrage among historians, academics and others, both Indian and Australian.

Australian military historian Professor Peter Stanley was among the first to tweet his outrage: "The RSL in S Aus is banning ex-Indian officers from marching on Anzac Day. Outrageous! Don't they know Indians landed at Anzac on 25 April?"
Military historian Squadron Leader Rana TS Chhina (Retd) of the Centre for Armed Forces Historical Research called it a "sad" thing. "We can castigate them (Australians), but we also need to look at what we Indians have been doing to remember our veterans of the Great War. Certainly, it's not enough. And when we aren't doing enough for our own people, we cannot point fingers at others for not doing something for us. We can't forever expect others to dig out our lost history for us," he told TOI.

Rana Chhina also said that India has a lot to learn from Australia. "You have to compliment the Australians for using their WWI and WWII experience for nation building. 'Anzac' became a cause behind which the entire country united. And till today, they remember it with pride. That's how a nation grows strong," he said.

Nevertheless, the Australians are accused of hijacking the whole Gallipoli campaign of the First World War even though there were more British and French who fought and died there. New research suggests that about 15,000 Indians were there, too, of who 7,000 were killed or wounded. Apart from those in the artillery, India sent the 29th Indian Infantry Brigade (detached from the 10th Indian Division), the Indian Mule Corps and medical units.

It were the Indian mule drivers who kept the Anzacs well-fed and well-equipped to fight the enemy, not Australians or New Zealanders or anybody else for that matter. Over 200 mule drivers and 800 animals died in the process. While the Indian contribution goes as a footnote to the British war effort, the mention of the role of Indian non-combatants is almost non-existent.

Many people TOI spoke to on this issue felt the usual Indian cultural and political lobbying doesn't happen when it comes to the world wars and the Indian role. Author Vedica Kant lamented the government of India's poor show in this by tweeting, "GOI doesn't engage on anything WWI related unfortunately."

^^ I am not surprised at the actions of the white-poaki $hits, they are doing the white man's burden while beggin for investments in their otherwise defunct uranium mines.

In addition I am not surprised at the self-flagellating Indians trying to do a White-Pawki == Indians onlee, even if they are making a legitimate point.
ashokk wrote:Military historian Squadron Leader Rana TS Chhina (Retd) of the Centre for Armed Forces Historical Research called it a "sad" thing. "We can castigate them (Australians), but we also need to look at what we Indians have been doing to remember our veterans of the Great War. Certainly, it's not enough. And when we aren't doing enough for our own people, we cannot point fingers at others for not doing something for us. We can't forever expect others to dig out our lost history for us," he told TOI.
member_28638

Post by member_28638 »

ashokk wrote:
Rana Chhina also said that India has a lot to learn from Australia. "You have to compliment the Australians for using their WWI and WWII experience for nation building. 'Anzac' became a cause behind which the entire country united. And till today, they remember it with pride. That's how a nation grows strong," he said.
Very good advice for India.

Gallipoli was an Australian slaughter caused by Winston Churchill in his desire to open a front against Turkey.

This betrayal of being used as cannon fodder by Brishit leaders led the Aussies to move out and seek USA as a new friend.

Can't find a better thread so posting here:

There have been coordinated anti-terror raids in multiple Sydney and Queensland suburbs from early AM to preempt Lee Rigby type violence.

Live feed as it unfolds below:

http://www.smh.com.au/national/live-ant ... 3fzkq.html

Rejoice, oh ye of little faith...

ramana wrote:Gallipoli was an Australian slaughter caused by Winston Churchill in his desire to open a front against Turkey.
This betrayal of being used as cannon fodder by Brishit leaders led the Aussies to move out and seek USA as a new friend.
Sirji,
Gallipoli happened around 1915-16, (i.e WWI). Yes, Churchill was responsible. He also tried something similar in WWII, but Gen Eisenhower did not allow that. Australia did not forsake the British at that time. They were with them completely during the WWII. After 1945, they even allowed UK to test/explode an atomic bomb in their territory, if I remember correctly, declaring that nobody lived there. They conveniently forgot the aboriginals living there. They allowed British nationals to settle there all this time. They only sought USA as a friend with the decline of the Empire. The current idea that Australia was exploited by the British is more recent in origin.
By the way Gallipoli had British Indian soldiers fighting, and many perished there:

http://roadstothegreatwar-ww1.blogspot. ... ipoli.html

Gautam, Please google on this link:

https://www.google.com/?gws_rd=ssl#q=ga ... n+identity

ramana wrote:Gautam, Please google on this link:
https://www.google.com/?gws_rd=ssl#q=ga ... n+identity
Yes. Thanks. There was a film called Gallipoli, did you see it?
http://www.amazon.com/Gallipoli-Mel-Gib ... lipoli+dvd
I saw it back in a film festival in Berlin.
Haresh

Post by Haresh »

Out in the Bush, Abbott attacks Britain's Aboriginal sins

Note the comments.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldne ... -sins.html

http://www.theguardian.com/australia-ne ... se-victims

Christian group says it cannot afford to compensate Retta Dixon abuse victims
Australian Indigenous Ministries says its missionary work is more ‘constructive’ than compensating Indigenous people abused at the home it ran

Ashokk

Post by Ashokk »

Australian couple abandoned surrogate Indian baby because of gender
Canberra: An Australian judge said on Thursday that two years ago a couple rejected a child born to an Indian surrogate mother because of the baby's gender, but took home its twin sibling. The twins were a brother and sister.
Australian Family Court Chief Justice Diana Bryant said in a statement that she was told by Australian embassy officials in New Delhi that the couple's decision to leave the baby they paid an Indian surrogate to deliver was based on its gender. Bryant did not know what gender the parents wanted.
"It is believed that they only wanted one child as they already had one and wanted one of a different gender," the judge said.
The Australian High Commission in New Delhi delayed giving the Australian parents a visa for the wanted child while they tried to persuade them to take both children, Bryant said.
A person claiming to be a friend later took the unwanted baby. But embassy officials doubted the person was a friend and suspected money had changed hands, the judge said.
Australia's Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade said the High Commission's role had been limited to assessing the parents' application for citizenship and a passport for the chosen twin.
"As the parents decided to apply for citizenship for only one child and consequently the other child was not granted Australian citizenship, India became responsible for the welfare of the other child and adoption arrangements became a matter for its legal system," the department said in a statement.
Hitesh

Post by Hitesh »

ashokk, be careful about jumping to conclusions.

The Australian couple may be Indian in origin that became Australian citizens.
Haresh

Post by Haresh »

I've got a few relations in Aus and NZ.
The Aus one's say that with some of the goras it will always be there. However they also say that generally speaking they have no problems.
The guy in the video seems to be a bit mentally disturbed. He seems to have OCD.
Out of all the australians I have worked with only one was racist and his fellow Oz's put him in his place.
I think there will always be a class of Bogan who will always have this attitude.

The Independent ‏@Independent 2m2 minutes ago

Racist rant against guard on train in Australia condemned by PM Tony Abbott http://ind.pn/1tUNhKV

Overall how are these Australians. Specifically I'm asking those who are living there.

Just about every news clip I encounter on Australia appears to be a load of bad stuff happening to Indians there and it might be skewing my opinion.

Hitarth Maru ‏@Hitarth1987 57m57 minutes ago

PM Narendra Modi to be the first Indian Prime Minister to address the federal parliament of Australia http://www.theaustralian.com.au/nationa ... 7089419028
member_28797

Post by member_28797 »

Neshant wrote:Overall how are these Australians. Specifically I'm asking those who are living there.

Just about every news clip I encounter on Australia appears to be a load of bad stuff happening to Indians there and it might be skewing my opinion.
It's a country filled with idiotic rednecks and good people. But it seems hate crime against Indians is pretty high there. I think briturdistaan comes a close second. Ofcourse we have our own apologists here who would go out of their way to defend the racism and shift the blame. But many of the thought process of these racists scums doesn't really has any basis, other than just pure hatred.
Some gungadins don't get that for some reason and justify it by blaming the victims themselves :x

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 129977.cms
NEW DELHI: About $10 billion in investment by Australian companies is waiting for approval by the Indian government. Hoping for faster approvals from India, Australian high commissioner Patrick Suckling said his country had high hopes from the forthcoming visit of PM Narendra Modi.

The Australian envoy said he expected the administrative arrangements to the India-Australia nuclear deal to be completed by the first half of 2015 which would pave the way for India to import uranium from Australia. "Sometime within the first half of next year I would imagine... The objective is to do as fast as possible and that is what we are doing. When that will be concluded, that will be the basis for commercial business between Australian entities and Indian entities wanting to import uranium to India. So, that is progressing very very well. Our prime minister is strongly committed to that agreement," Suckling said.
Modi will also address the Australian parliament. "This is historic visit for us... it will be first address to the joint session of parliament by an Indian leader ever. That will come a day after Chinese President Xi Jinping's address to the Australian parliament. So that will in itself be fascinating," Suckling said
vish_mulay

Post by vish_mulay »

After living in Sydney for 7 years, I have some observations.
1) Australia has racism problem but it is not as bad as reported in media. I will say it is similar to the dot busting gangs days in NJ and getting better as it did in US.
2) More than white, it's the middle eastern Lebaneas population which has problems with dark skin folks from Asia.
3) When approached, police are extremely helpful and do take race related issues very seriously. I was abused on train and was called curry which I reported to police on train. The middle eastern fella was cuffed and booked just on my testimony and no other witnesses. He had to pay fine and apologize in person to me at police station.
4) Problem with Indian diaspora as per informal chat with police is that they do not come forward to the police.
5) Sydney has huge refugee problem. Lots of middle east, North Africa and Tamil from SL young people with no work roam around the street and have made certain suburbs some what not welcoming after late hrs.
I find Sydney much better place to raise family than NYC and souther CA. I lived in USA for 9 years and had great time but when it comes to primary education, weather, school safety, I found Sydney a better place. Down side, cost of living is astronomical and higher education is not that good.
manju

Post by manju »

RajeshA wrote:Klaus ji,

You are perfectly right, that we need more interaction with the native Australians (and Americans, etc.) without any European interlocutors.

Perhaps one could entice Indian Australians into taking up Study of Indigenous Languages and Linguistics in Australia. I wonder if there are any scholarships available for students applying for these courses! In any case, this needs to be encouraged among the Indian Australian community.

It would indeed be great if some Indian Australian could do some comparative linguistics there between say Tamil and Aboriginal Languages, as say a professional challenge!
This must have been already discussed. Why cant the same happen in USA, Canada, etc. NRI are much more stronger and the natives are also called as INDIANS... (American Indians)

http://www.rediff.com/news/report/pm-mo ... 141114.htm
PM Modi Down Under: First stop G20 summit
November 14, 2014 09:16 IST
Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Friday arrived in Australia on the second leg of his three-nation tour during which he will attend the annual G20 summit and hold bilateral talks with his Australian counterpart Tony Abbott.
Modi reached Brisbane after attending the ASEAN-India summit and the East Asia Summit on November 12-13 in the Myanmarese capital Nay Pyi Taw.
The PM is on a 10-day visit of Myanmar, Australia and Fiji to attend key multilateral summits and undertake bilateral meetings.
Before his departure from India, Modi had said the importance of global cooperation against black money will be a “key issue” he will highlight at the G20 summit.
“A key issue for me would be to highlight the importance of international cooperation against black money,” Modi had said in a pre-departure statement.
As India attempts to unearth black money stashed abroad, Modi is expected to renew the country’s commitment to a global response to deal with cross border tax avoidance and evasion.
At the annual summit of the Group of 20 of the world’s biggest developed and emerging economies, Modi had said he intends to discuss how it can accelerate creation of next generation infrastructure, which also includes digital infrastructure, and ensure access to clean and affordable energy.
During his visit, Modi will also hold talks with Prime Minister Abbott in Canberra after the G20 summit.
Modi is the first Indian Prime Minister to visit Australia in 28 years since Rajiv Gandhi in 1986. “While we have much in common with Australia, our political, strategic and economic relations have been below potential.”......

PM Abbott gave PM Modi a warm welcome: 'ullo Bruce!. Agency report.

thanks Vish

agree

I lived for 4 - 6 years in Oz (sydney) in the 90s and agree with you.
2 odd incidents of racism in my time (one by aboriginals at Redfern who called me curry eater :( )

A white nut told me I could not sit next to him on the bus. I complained to the bus driver who locked the doors and threatened to wait till the cops came to take the complaint

the guy then decided to get down left in a huff - booed off by others

Racism seems magnified because of the high concentration in a few cities
during my times living cost was a tad better - now its horrendous
KLP Dubey

Post by KLP Dubey »

Surya wrote:thanks Vish

agree

I lived for 4 - 6 years in Oz (sydney) in the 90s and agree with you.
2 odd incidents of racism in my time (one by aboriginals at Redfern who called me curry eater :( )

A white nut told me I could not sit next to him on the bus. I complained to the bus driver who locked the doors and threatened to wait till the cops came to take the complaint

the guy then decided to get down left in a huff - booed off by others

Racism seems magnified because of the high concentration in a few cities
during my times living cost was a tad better - now its horrendous
Overall a third-rate country with small pockets of civilization. No history or culture to speak of. I would say the average IQ is lower than that of rednecks in USA. Overall mental attitude is cheap and petty. Everything is exorbitantly priced, and there is nothing much to do except visit a beach or see kangaroos. There is little to speak of in terms of economy other than mining and minerals. I'd say we should exploit Australian natural resources but there is nothing much else there to be enthusiastic about. Hauling your azz all the way there is only worth the trouble if someone else is paying for your trip/visit.
vish_mulay

Post by vish_mulay »

KPL have you ever lived in or visited Australia to make such statement? I find it too shallow and without merit. I have lived in 4 different continents to realise each country has unique advantages and problems. No country is immune to it including Ma Bharati. I find your statement as offensive as others who mock India and belittle its great Hindu civilization. JM2C.
PS I am doing my dharmic duty to reclaim the land of our ancestors by reproducing in this ancient land.

A link about Coal price fluctuation since last few years. Read comments too if you like. Seems we have learnt a valuable lesson after Indonesia increased coal prices. The global coal prices seem to have crashed, apparently. See this chart link, for "Coal, Australian thermal coal" - probably the only entry from Australia. See this chart link too, or this link (from south Africa). Seems 2007-8 was a huge price escalation (another big one at around 2010-2012); and many countries would have reaped huge profits.

Since Asurtalia is going to be the future home of Dozen crores Indians, it should be explored every possible way from Uttar to Dakkhan Paksha etc.

vishvak wrote:A link about Coal price fluctuation since last few years. Read comments too if you like. Seems we have learnt a valuable lesson after Indonesia increased coal prices. The global coal prices seem to have crashed, apparently. See this chart link, for "Coal, Australian thermal coal" - probably the only entry from Australia. See this chart link too, or this link (from south Africa). Seems 2007-8 was a huge price escalation (another big one at around 2010-2012); and many countries would have reaped huge profits.

What is interesting to me is that it justifies our need to increase the capability to inflict pain if needed. Reason being, white Bakees in Australia can squeeze our balls by controlling our energy supply. Once we are dependent on them, we will have no alternative but to develop enough teeth to be able to threaten them with one thing or the other. Need not be military, but it has to be painful nevertheless.

Modi draws anthropological link with Australia, gifts tribal paintings to Abbott - Sachin Parashar, ToI

I like this projection of soft power.
Prime Minister Narendra Modi has shown that he can go the extra mile to charm his foreign hosts, his Australia visit being the latest case in point. During his meeting with his counterpart Tony Abbott earlier this week, Modi sought to bring under focus India's anthropological link with Australia when he gifted Abbott paintings by India's Warli tribe who are considered 'Australoid' in origin.

The indigenous Warli tribe based in coastal areas of Maharashtra and Gujarat played an important role in Modi's Australia outreach as the PM gifted a couple of paintings made by Warli women to Abbott.

The term Australoid is said to denote a broad racial classification representing people across continents, including the Australian aborigines. It could also represent communities in Malay peninsula, southeast Asia and a handful of tribes in the Indian subcontinent. Sources said the gifts were meant to underline the common anthropological thread to indigenous communities in both the countries. Modi had started his speech in Sydney's Allphones Arena by acknowledging "the tradition of this land" and by paying respect to "original owners of the land of Sydney, the aborigines and their descendants".

That Modi's gift diplomacy is well thought out was first evident when he gifted Rogan paintings by a Gujarat-based Muslim family to Obama in September this year.

Modi returned from his three-country visit, including to Australia, on Thursday. This was the first visit to Australia by an Indian PM after Rajiv Gandhi in 1986.

The Warlis are said to be worshippers of nature with their own animistic beliefs and customs. They are said to have gradually converted to Hinduism. According to the website, warli.in, Warli paintings were mainly done by the women folk, the most important aspect of the paintings being that these do not depict mythological characters or images of deities, but social life.

After he became PM, Modi himself received Warli paintings from the Dang district authorities in Gujarat who wanted to popularise this ancient art form. Modi also gifted to Abbott a Gond painting by well known artist Rajendra Shyam.

Modi was welcomed in his Sydney hotel by a group of aboriginal dancers. He was also gifted a boomerang, a weapon used for hunting by indigenous Australians.