Internal Security Watch

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Internal Security Watch

^ Ramanaji, remember the KS article which warned the Goras about the upcoming Agoras amidst them?

IB confirming Mahmood is in Indian custody and is being interrogated. :D Word on the street is that IB used a relative of his to visit him in KSA a few times and gather intel. IB has good relations with our counterparts in KSA and Director IB visited Riyadh last year. So with the help of our counterparts we have got a good result.

Now lets not cock this up like we cocked up the Abu Dhabi extradited IM Bhatkal guy on Pune blast case.

Deported engineer from Saudi may be IM man
Faseeh Mahmood, an engineer from Dammam in Saudi Arabia, was brought to India on terror charges a couple of days ago. While his arrest is officially pending confirmation, sources say that this man, who hails from Darbhanga in Bihar, is being questioned in connection with certain terror incidents undertaken by the Indian Mujahideen [ Images ] in the country.

Mahmood was arrested in Saudi Arabia and deported to India. A day after his deportation, his wife too was moved to India.

Mahmood's name is said to have sprung up during the interrogation of Kafeel Akthar who is currently in custody of the Bengaluru [ Images ] police for his alleged role in the Chinnaswamy stadium blasts in April, 2010.

The arrest of Akhtar in Bihar recently came in the spotlight after Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar protested vehemently against the 'unlawful arrest' undertaken by the Karnataka [ Images ] police.

Meanwhile, police and intelligence officials consider Mahmood's arrest to be an important breakthrough. Although none of the agencies would like to come to any definitive conclusion regarding Mahmood, police sources say that they would continue to look for more leads in this case.

However, what some officials say that this arrest does prove that the IM still relies heavily on its Gulf network to carry out terror operations. The questioning of many IM operatives specific to the Chinnaswamy stadium blasts have told the police that all its funding came through a network in the Gulf.

Money continues to be wired in through networks such as hawala and the operatives do use it for their operations. In the recent few cases it has been found that the money was sent in from the Gulf and wired to an operator in Delhi [ Images ] who in turn passed on the money to top IM operative Yasin Bhatkal. The hawala operative was paid Rs 1.50 lakh for this operation, sources say.

A lot appears to be emerging from the investigations into the stadium blasts. It has had its roots not only in Bihar but has been linked to modules also based in Saudi Arabia.

Akthar's interrogation has led the police to some operatives who had provided the logistic details for the blasts.

The police will now try and ascertain what link Akthar had with Mahmood. It is being said both hailed from the same place in Bihar. Another link which the agencies are trying to look into is whether Mahmood had any link with Yasin Bhatkal. It is said that Mahmood pursued his higher studies from a college in Bhatkal, a coastal town in Karnataka.

His family has, however, reacted sharply to the arrest and swears that he has no links with any terror group.
nawabs

Post by nawabs »

Can India and Pakistan swap lands to fulfill religious aspirations of Sikhs?

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 269501.cms
Member Parliament from Gurdaspur Partap Singh Bajwa has floated the idea of swapping uninhabited land across river Ravi in Gurdaspur district with Gurdwara Kartarpur Sahib situated in Narowal district of Pakistan.

"This seems to be the only plausible solution enabling Sikh devotees to pay hassle free obeisance at Gurdwara Kartarpur Sahib which is part of daily prayer of Sikhs" said Bajwa.

What about Nanakana Sahib? Also if the gurdwara is on West Bank of the Ravi how does he expect to defend it?

IB confirming Mahmood is in Indian custody and is being interrogated. :D Word on the street is that IB used a relative of his to visit him in KSA a few times and gather intel. IB has good relations with our counterparts in KSA and Director IB visited Riyadh last year. So with the help of our counterparts we have got a good result.
Shouldnt RAW be doing all the heavy lifting and using its operatives in the Gulf to track all these guys?

Shouldn't RAW be having relations with Saudi intel? Why are we exposing a internal intel agency like IB to Saudis ( who will promptly report everything to their munna, TSP)?

sum wrote:Shouldn't RAW be having relations with Saudi intel? Why are we exposing a internal intel agency like IB to Saudis ( who will promptly report everything to their munna, TSP)?
I am at least happy that IB is doing some thing excellent and RAW is not throwing the spanners to halt the good work. We always blame the agencies for the turf-wars but at least here we see things not going that way.

^^That is true Sachin-sir but my doubt was because RAW is supposed to be the nodal agency for any foreign agency liason. Are we making case by case exemptions and allowing foreign agencies to directly access/interact with NTRO/IB/MI folks?

It would have been a case of DIB dealing directly with high level officials. And by the way, the gulf helped us crack the ISI hand in Bangalore blasts amongst other (without them we would have been groping in the dark) and provided intel that actually implicated ISI. Things have changed.

And even historically, Gulf is a neutral zone and allowed India to do intel related things (won't talk about specifics) but at the same time allowed D co to run their biz. But no one hears of all that. Do you think the agents we run in various countries - we promise them a new life in India??

We should be pleased that Gulf is cooperating on terror

Govt to 'tag' ammonium nitrate bags

New Delhi, May 20, 2012
To prevent the usage of ammonium nitrate in making IEDs, the home ministry is working on tagging the industrially manufactured fertiliser with inert chemicals, so the source can be traced if the compound is used in future bomb blasts. A favourite of the Indian Mujahideen, ammonium nitrate
has been used in a majority of the terror blasts in India since 2005, claiming nearly 500 victims. It was last used in the July 13, 2011 serial blasts in Mumbai.

In a high-level meeting last week, chaired by home secretary RK Singh, a number of decisions were taken in principle to control the use of commercial explosives and triggers in terror attacks by jihadist groups and Maoists rebels. The meeting was attended by representatives of the Department of Industrial Policy and Promotion (DIPP), National Investigation Agency (NIA) and the Intelligence Bureau.

It was decided in the meeting that stocks of ammonium nitrate manufacturers would be checked monthly by area district magistrates or superintendents of police to ensure that there is no pilferage of the chemical , or diversion during transportation. It was agreed that the manufacturing company would be held accountable under the Indian Explosive Act if such incidents take place. As it is 45% pure, ammonium nitrate is deemed as an explosive under the Act.

DIPP sources said while there was a suggestion that ammonium nitrate bags be tagged so they could be traced to the original manufacturer, Singh was in favour of introducing an inert chemical of different strength or colour into each bag of ammonium nitrate. This would not only deter terrorists but also help in police investigations.

The other decision was to explore the possibility of increasing the timing of commercially available triggers to give paramilitary forces a fighting chance against IEDs in areas infested by Left Wing Extremists.

Why not add ammonium sulphate which is hygroscopic and wont let it explode and same time adds to the fertilizer effectiveness?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hygroscopic
nawabs

Post by nawabs »

Ford to spend $250,000 on seven Tamil Nadu villages

http://in.news.yahoo.com/ford-spend-250 ... nance.html
Global automotive giant Ford Motor Company will spend $250,000 on the education, safety, environment and health and welfare of the seven village communities around its plant near here, a top company official said Tuesday.

"We have got a grant of $250,000 from Ford Motor Company Fund managing the initiative Operation Goodwill in partnership with its international grant maker, the Global Giving Foundation. In the first phase, we will be spending $125,000 on the four ares of our focus through three non-governmental organisations (NGO)," Michael Boneham, the company's president and managing director, told reporters here.

Ford has a plant at Maraimalainagar, around 50 km from here. The move is part of the company's corporate social responsibility (CSR) initiative.

According to Boneham, the company will run the programme with the assistance of Global Giving, local NGOs, volunteers and employees of Ford India and Ford Global Business Services.

He said Ford's subsidiaries in India - Ford India and Ford Global Business Services - have been carrying out CSR activities through their employees all these years and as the grant is received for the first time it was decided to rope in NGOs who are focussed on these areas.

He said the three NGOs will have to complete their projects within a year and there are strict monitoring mechanisms.

"We will make a separate announcement as to the remaining amount of the grant," he said.

According to him, the grant under the Operation Goodwill programme of Ford Motor Company Fund is one time as of now.

The three NGOs that will be executing the projects on behalf of Ford are Aid India, Society for Technology and Advancement for Rural Action (TARA) and Society for Poor Peoples Development (SPPD).

One of the projects under the grant includes setting up 20 after-school tutoring centres near Ford's factory to coach government school students.The project will be executed by Aid India.

"The objective is to ensure that every child achieves basic outcomes in language, maths, English and science and gets prepared to face the world with confidence. We will train teachers who will train the students," Balaji Sampath, secretary of Aid India, said.

"We are going to reach out to 14 schools in seven villages where we will be providing access to safe drinking water, sanitation facilities through installation of 14 water filters and 14 toilets for the girl students. The average student population per school is around 700 and we hope to benefit around 3,000 girl students through our toilets," Meghna Das, manager, environmental programme, TARA, said.

She said a need assessment will have to be done during the first six months and the project execution - building of toilets and others - would take another six months.

On its part, SPPD would train women in the age group 18-45 in the seven villages in tailoring so that they can get good jobs in garment units or they can become entrepreneurs, said its secretary J.Raju.

Two quick points:

1. Need some published info (if there is any) about maovadis' known offensive and defensive tactics
when engaged in operations.

2. (This should go to BD thread though)....BNP has approached Bharat to help it defeat AL in the next
election. It is dangling more BD gas and port facilities to us.

http://crackberry.com/police-india-carr ... martphones
Police in India to carry BlackBerry smartphones
We've written a few posts in the past about UK Police Forces taking up the BlackBerry solution in order to aid them in getting more Police Officers out on the streets policing instead of constantly being in the Police Stations filing paper work. One Police Force had even added the a fingerprint scanner attachment to their BlackBerry devices to be able to ID perps they've stopped on the streets a lot faster. It seems that India is following suit in the city of Bangalore, where the police computer wing of Karnataka state police put up the proposal. It differs to the UK in that this BlackBerry solution is for the traffic police in order to help them produce on the spot fines for violating motorists. There are currently 750 police officers in the traffic wing of Bangalore city police who have been issued with BlackBerry devices. They have also been provided with Bluetooth enabled printers so that documents can be printed on the spot. It is said that the implementation of this BlackBerry solution will also add another 250 police officers to aid in manning the traffic in the busy city. News like this is just another testament to how reliable the BlackBerry solution is in providing people with the tools they need to carry out tasks without being tied to the desk.

And the company monitors everything!

one rule is take out the battery out of your BB when you need to go to secure areas.

and leave them both outside.

Fools.

http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/NEWS/news ... wsid=18679 The task force is a follow-up action of the government to a similar first-ever focused exercise carried out under strategic affairs expert, the late K. Subramanyam.
ramana. any dots connecting from your brain cache what would be the changes envisaged?

The task force under Naresh Chandra had former Intelligence Bureau chief P.C. Haldar, former Research and Analysis Wing chief K.C. Verma, former National Investigation Agency chief Radha Vinod Raju, former Indian Navy chief Admiral Arun Prakash, former Indian Air Force chief Air Chief Marshal S. Krishnaswamy, and former Director General of Military Operations lt. Gen. V.R. Raghavan, apart from bureaucrats Brajeshwar Singh and Vinod K. Duggal as members.

Other members of the task force were National Council of Applied Economic Research director Suman K. Berry, former diplomat and high commissioner to Pakistan G. Parthasarathy, former Atomic Energy Commission chairman Anil Kakodkar, former Mumbai Police commissioner D. Sivanandan, and journalist Manoj Joshi.

User -- if you wanna remain ignorant then scroll down and use the links provided,
ELSE READ ON)

FOR ALL THOSE WHO MISSED IT HERE WE GO AGAIN :D XD Anonymous REVENGE / WE OWN YOU
Told you not to mess with free speech and lesser with Anonymous
Government of India, you know what you did wrong. you caused out twitter account to be blocked now we will show you what anonymous is capable of doing.
----------------------------------------------
We give you 24Hours at maximum to give our twitter account back and apologize
Give @OpIndia_Revenge BACK
-----------------------------------------------
IF NOT
We will unleash hell and shiver on you
Greeting government of India, you were bad really bad. One of the worst governments the world has. Yet we tried our best not to go too tough on you, and then you decided to cross over us, bad guys bad idea.
We tried to do a slow, non violent protest and government decided to cover out mouths we will not sit idle while our freedom is take away. We will continue our non-violent protest and guess what you will never beat us, ever.
When we started to speak truth, the government of India forced our online twitter account @Opindia_revenge to be suspended.
Dear People
People We for 1 entire week attacked government websites, run by your money and no one in your government cared, then we decided to hit the Rich guys in the entertainment and IPL and Reliance and your government sprang into action. Shame on this government. It is time you people realized that this government don't care about you. If we had attacked what belong to you they wont have minded. But if at all the smallest scratch appears on the rich and elite they are up and ready to act. Time you throw away these puppets of the rich and replace it with a new system that respect the constitution.Here is a list of all sites block by the governement and reliances Injustice !!
Opposition
Don't get ready to jump up and down and make a big show, because we know you are worse that what the word worse can explain. You and the ruling parties share profits in every corruption and then play a drama to fool the people. People realize that they are nothing but the ruling party itself just making mockery of every system that is in place and the people who voted them to power. you guys have no right to act as saviors of people.
MEDIA
You are meant to be the 4th estate of democracy. The supporters and guardians of people and their rights but you have failed and we don't tolerate the kind of actions you are taking now. plotting with the government that is trying to abuse its own people and help corporations steal and befit from the weakness of your people. Media you cover us or not we will do what it takes to fight for peoples rights something you guys are scared to shit to attempt. If you can then show us you are not advertisement sucking leaches and tools of the government to enslave the people. We may have expected the US media to behave this way but not you guys who talked about not being influenced by anyone. EXPECT US

We are Anonymous
We are a Legion
We do not forgive
We do not forget
Expect Us.. You should have.

This is brought to you by => #OpIndia #AnonymousINDIA #TeamVoid
Twitter => @OpIndia_back
Dear Reliance users if you wanted to visit a site but could not :P Please use the following links .. If the site is not here please wait for you "Awesome" ISP to fix this "technical" Issue :D

Facebook

Google

Gmail

Yahoo

twitter
Or Go ahead and use this
TOR(also useful for "blocked" sites
@admin you tried your best to keep us away (even got outside help) but you close a door and we will find 10 more !!
Now the people directing Anonymous want something from India.

The redirects to this message are coming from popular sites like facebook,Yahoo etc when accessed from India.
member_19686

Post by member_19686 »

Was summarized by a poster on facebook:

The incident is where a soldier working in AMC-Pune was on a vacation to Kerala, Calicut, Nadhapuram precisely. This chap was surrounded by a bunch of radical Islamists of NDF (a group funded and supported by Muslim League in Kerala) and was beaten up mercilessly. During the scuffle, he did mention that he was a soldier. When they heard that, they got more aggressive with people in the group calling out that "You kill our brothers in Kashmir we won't leave you" and this and that. He was beaten up and later thrown outside that village limit in the drainage. Police did an Enquiry, in which it emerged that the accused had already left the country and were in Middle-East. The incident was covered by ASIANET. I watched this program almost 2 years ago and I have been trying to trace this news for years, now I found it accidently. Sad part is the case is still not closed and the poor soldier still hasn't recovered. And this is the status of a military man. Just imagine about other people.... !!!

^^shocking!!

I can see civil war, if gov/public administration do not take preventive steps. proactive approach is required and the need of the hour. but then gullibility can never be overtaken.

^^^Its not gullibility. It is deliberate and a calculated risk. A cost-benefit analysis has been made that says, that the inner core of ruling network coteries and related biz interests will be more than compensated for by cuts from external financial inflows and safe-passage guarantees. In return the wider society has to be given up to flow-connected theologies.

The coercive forces are interspersed with controlling eyes and ears who are themselves so much so on the dark sides personally - that they will always remain bound to blackmail by ruling interests. Hence no civil war.

well you can take away the civil war out of reality.. but it would remain in the minds of the meek and victims. like you said, when the dark sides always wins and ruling.. just shows the perfect preconditions to begin., but then when aams join up, realize and see similar mindsets of meek and victimized plan.. nothing stopping a revolution to happen, especially in a state where they are near 100% educated and appreciate different forms of governance.

all it takes is few joins, and acceptance that things have gone beyond normal value system., and the fear of the dark side taking over the country can never be given into, is in itself succumbing acts portraying gullible aspects.

but then, such cases normally, there is a heightened attention given by the gov. now, we shall see how true is the case, and what is real here soon. of course, i hope the criminals and dark side forces are torched, and peace return to the victim families.

SaiK wrote:well you can take away the civil war out of reality.. but it would remain in the minds of the meek and victims. like you said, when the dark sides always wins and ruling.. just shows the perfect preconditions to begin., but then when aams join up, realize and see similar mindsets of meek and victimized plan.. nothing stopping a revolution to happen, especially in a state where they are near 100% educated and appreciate different forms of governance.

all it takes is few joins, and acceptance that things have gone beyond normal value system., and the fear of the dark side taking over the country can never be given into, is in itself succumbing acts portraying gullible aspects.

but then, such cases normally, there is a heightened attention given by the gov. now, we shall see how true is the case, and what is real here soon. of course, i hope the criminals and dark side forces are torched, and peace return to the victim families.
Nothing will happen. Any step taken would be a violation of minority rights, an attack on Indian secularism, and most dangerously a wind in the sails of saffron/rightwing/fascists. Absolutely nothing that can be claimed by anyone from the theology as being an "attack" - can be done. Moreover, the army is seen to be needing to be taught a lesson. Purohit was the start. More a warning for any future innovative political thought growing there that challenges the entrenched criminal-political-biz networks. So do not expect any action from the two pressure points - rashtryia admin and army [in this case for example], that could stop these phenomena.

brihaspati wrote:[. Moreover, the army is seen to be needing to be taught a lesson. Purohit was the start. More a warning for any future innovative political thought growing there that challenges the entrenched criminal-political-biz networks. So do not expect any action from the two pressure points - rashtryia admin and army [in this case for example], that could stop these phenomena.
How much is VKS issue with GOI related to this policy?

This chap was surrounded by a bunch of radical Islamists of NDF (a group funded and supported by Muslim League in Kerala) and was beaten up mercilessly. During the scuffle, he did mention that he was a soldier. When they heard that, they got more aggressive with people in the group calling out that "You kill our brothers in Kashmir we won't leave you" and this and that.
Well, the slogans and posters of "We will turn Kerala into another Kashmir" were present in N.Kerala in 1989-90 itself ( much before the vaunted 1992 Babri Masjid issue which seems to be the root cause for everything in Desh as per secular junta)...So, nothing surprising there.

As i have been saying on multiple occasions, feel sad that even S.Karnataka ( my home town) will be engulfed by the Islamist spillover when the Domino finally topples in N.Kerala ( which even by a cursory drive through that region should give a indication fo the grim reality there)

sum wrote:. . . feel sad that even S.Karnataka ( my home town) will be engulfed by the Islamist spillover . . .
Add to that certain pockets in western and southern Tamilnadu.

Jhujar wrote:
brihaspati wrote:[. Moreover, the army is seen to be needing to be taught a lesson. Purohit was the start. More a warning for any future innovative political thought growing there that challenges the entrenched criminal-political-biz networks. So do not expect any action from the two pressure points - rashtryia admin and army [in this case for example], that could stop these phenomena.
How much is VKS issue with GOI related to this policy?
Its more panic reaction and flexing muscle in fear from GOI side. But it is part of the general attitude. They are increasingly getting uneasy over the prospect of losing control over an army that starts thinking along cultural terms prompted by shenanigans of the ruling regimes. They have imagined prospect of such loss of control at the foundation stage when they quickly betrayed the navy/AF, during swarnamandir action, and more recently.

Surasena wrote:The incident is where a soldier working in AMC-Pune was on a vacation to Kerala, Calicut, Nadhapuram precisely. This chap was surrounded by a bunch of radical Islamists of NDF (a group funded and supported by Muslim League in Kerala) and was beaten up mercilessly
Nadhapuram a place which is a border of Kozhikode Rural and Kannur Dt. have been a communal hot-bed for quite some time. Generally the fights were between commies and the NDF (whose cadres were the more radicalised variety and moved out of Muslim League). So much so that, this place now have a permenant AR police camp. NDF is once again in the watch list as they had organised a military parade during the rally on Prophet's birthday. The NDF rascals wore military uniforms, and the drill had an uncanny resemblance to that of a very friendly neighbouring country ;).

Maoists treated me well, says freed Italian hostage

----------

Foreigner are meeting the naxels and makeing relations
Looks like they are being briefed for a big offensive in the future

Saudi to deport stadium blast accused next week
As a sign of growing cooperation on terrorism, Saudi Arabia is slated to deport Chinnaswamy stadium blast accused Fasih Mehmood to India next week on the basis of an Interpol red corner notice. Mehmood, 29, an engineer, was arrested by Saudi Arabia police from Jubail on May 13.

Government
sources said the process for deportation of Mehmood — a key aide of Indian Mujahideen terrorist Riyaz Bhatkal — was started by Karnataka police on May 25 and a non-bailable warrant was obtained for the accused. The Karnataka police has now asked the CBI to move the Interpol for a red corner notice on the basis of the warrant.

“The process has been initiated and Mehmood is expected to be deported to India next week,” said a senior official.

Resident of Barsmela village of Bihar’s Darbhanga district, Mehmood came in touch with IM founders Riyaz and Iqbal while studying at Anjuman Engineering College, Bhatkal, during 2000-2004.

Mehmood went to work in Saudi Arabia in 2007 and visited India five times.

Mehmood is believed to have sheltered key IM operative Yasin Bhatkal while he was on the run after the 2008 Batla House encounter. He also helped Yasin set up an IM module in north Bihar.

Mehmood’s name cropped up during interrogation of Kafeel Akhtar, an IM operative, who was arrested from Bihar last November. Kafeel said Mehmood and Yasin were involved in the Chinnaswamy stadium blast.

The intelligence agencies then located Mehmood in Saudi Arabia and informed the authorities there, who detained him.

While Mehmood’s wife had written to Home Minister P Chidambaram this month fearing that her husband was being illegally detained in India, the fact is that Saudi authorities are waiting for a red corner notice to deport him to India.
Gaurav_S

Post by Gaurav_S »

Series of radars along Gujarat coast to strengthen Coast Guard's realm

Not sure how authorities are going to be able to distinguish between rogue trawler and innocent trawler. Probably going to work in sync with coastal police stations.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/city ... 702697.cms

all it takes for a paki is to just buy a normal ticket via Air India!

SaiK wrote:http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/city ... 702697.cms

all it takes for a paki is to just buy a normal ticket via Air India!
Boss why is Air parasite being clubbed for a mistake by Gulf Air Ticket? Damn cant the staff at Air India Express and the Passenger distinguish between a Gulf AIr Boarding Pass and an Air India Express Boarding pass, and given the season and low cost pricing of Air India Express(meant for Indian Labourers) the flight would have been full, so how did he get a seat , surely that must have clashed with someone on board???????

Gaurav_S wrote:Series of radars along Gujarat coast to strengthen Coast Guard's realm

Not sure how authorities are going to be able to distinguish between rogue trawler and innocent trawler. Probably going to work in sync with coastal police stations.
Perhapse, they will make it mandatory for all the boats to have a transponder. Telling the radar station of the home port of the boat.
Gaurav_S

Post by Gaurav_S »

Ahmedabad Police acquires new gadget for Rath Yatra security

Hopefully this vehicle is used properly and not just during Rath Yatra in the city. The best bet would be of getting some properly trained personnel to take this vehicle to parking lots at airport, railway station, hospital. This can be unscheduled so no one can guess it where this vehicle will be at given time. Hopefully more sense prevails with Ahmedabad police commissioner. When it comes to training we are worst then any other country.

Edit: BTW this is from company called Mistral.

http://www.mistralsolutions.com/

First Teesta, now Mamata objects to enclaves pact: Fear Bangla influx

The Indo-Bangla Land Boundary Agreement, the signature achievement of Prime Minister Manmohan Singh’s visit to Dhaka last year, has run into fresh trouble with West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee having second thoughts on her government’s consent to the settlement package.

This has put the Centre in a bind because parliamentary ratification of the agreement will be extremely difficult without the political go-ahead of Trinamool Congress, a constituent of the UPA government. The BJP had passed a strong resolution last September, warning the Centre against moving on this agreement without “taking the sentiments of the states into account”.

New Delhi has already cut a sorry figure in Dhaka with Banerjee withdrawing her government’s consent to the Teesta river water sharing agreement on the eve of the PM’s visit. India had to pull out after having principally agreed to the text of the document. If this agreement too fails to go through, sources said, the PM’s “historic visit” will end up in a disaster, drawing a blank on all key deliverables.

Banerjee’s immediate problem is with the Centre’s claim that the exchange of enclaves will not lead to mass displacement of population because a joint census revealed that most people want to stay where they are. Indian estimates are that not more than 700 people will cross over from Bangladesh to India. She has contested this claim, saying her information is that “thousands” are likely to cross into West Bengal once India offers to accept those staying in Indian enclaves.

Sources said the Centre has decided to send a team of officials from Home and External Affairs ministries to hold discussions with West Bengal on the influx fears.

The other question Banerjee has raised is that of compensation for these people. The Centre agreed on a monetary package and the details are still in the works. But she has conveyed that the state government must have final say in the package as it should not spark demands elsewhere in the state.

These doubts have put an abrupt halt to the government’s efforts to table the agreement in Parliament for ratification. The Centre does have written consents from all state governments, West Bengal included, on the parameters for the boundary settlement but that may not be enough to carry the day in Parliament.

Moreover, the MEA has maintained that Constitutional Amendment under Article 368 will be required for ratification. This would mean passage by simple majority of at least “two-thirds of the members present and voting”. There are also demands that the amendment be ratified by legislatures of the states whose boundaries stand affected.

^^Nothing to see here, move on people!! Was a "secular" riot onlee and so can be ignored.

Only if even a hair of any minority falls in a "communal, fascist" ruled state can it make the headlines and calls for "ethical responsibility of CM and so should step down" make the rounds.

Just wondering, can the US, if it wanted to, engineer a revolution in India like the coloured revolutions in Eastern Europe and the ones in Egypt, Libya and the current Syrian one? With a patriotic and civilian loyal army like ours I am sure they wont but wanted to know other's thoughts.
Rangudu

Post by Rangudu »

Why would the US need a revolution in India? If it wants certain outcomes, the current set up can (and some will say has already been) be easily manipulated to achieve them.

Rangudu wrote:Why would the US need a revolution in India? If it wants certain outcomes, the current set up can (and some will say has already been) be easily manipulated to achieve them.
Assuming they do, its a hypothetical question.