Two-G (2G) Spectrum Scam Tapes and follow-up

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
Manish Jain

Re: Two-G (2G) Spectrum Scam Tapes and follow-up

Post by Manish Jain »

Rahul Mehta wrote: As per throwing comments within legal limits, the so called honest ones have chosen to support corrupt ones left, right and center for promotions, fame etc. They are lesser criminals at best, and so wont appear in the list of top 1000 and so I dont want to waste my time on them. But there is no point in removing word "all" while comment-throwing just because these lesser criminals. War against corruption is a war, and war will have some collateral damage.
Rahul ji, you remind me of Rorschach. :) Whether its a compliment or not depends on side people take.
jiteshn

Post by jiteshn »

b.raman has come out in defence of barkha dutt. I knew this would be circulated by people in twitter and fb. So i looked at his traffic details.
Raman hit the nail perfectly. Search for "barkha dutt" on google.co.in and his blog entry "fixing barkha dutt" comes in the first page itself. Raman you rascal you. lol
ajit_tr

Post by ajit_tr »

Once a glamour stock, NDTV headed for sickness?
After it palms off its loss-making subsidiaries to foolish strategic investors, what can stop NDTV from becoming a sick company?

NDTV reported a net loss of Rs34.27 crore for September quarter this year, on an operational income of Rs65.65 crore. This is not surprise. After all, it had reported a net loss of Rs11.85 crore on an income of Rs71.66 crore in the corresponding quarter last year. Indeed, NDTV has been making losses ever since it got listed. What is also not surprising is the company's statement said that revenues were "buoyant" in October and "we expect to see a turnaround in the next two quarters." Investors have been fed with enough of such rosy scenarios before. The facts have always turned out to be otherwise. What is surprising is that the company is still operational.

I watched the "Barking mutt" on telly.She wasn't her usual cool and collected smiling assassin.She lost her cool most of the time and reminded me of the old saying,"the guilty flee when no man pursueth".Had she smiled and said that her conversations were all par for the course in today's media circus,scouting for info about current events,getting hot tips,etc.,"sourcing info" as legitimate,she could've passed the test.Admitting that she had made "mistake" was also fatal.It put her on the defensive right from the start.For a news anchor who was awarded the Padma Shrill,sorry...Shri,she could've spoken of her close ties to politicos of various hues as the reason for her success as a media major.

Mr.Ratan Tata's frantic run to the SC to ban further revelations of his cnversations is a sad affair.It will only spur the media circus into finding out what further juicy chit-chat is there to be savoured.Since this scandal is linked to the greatest ever looting of a nation in world history,we must ensure that the tapes are not sealed from the public.I trust that the court uphlds the right to information on a cae of supreme national interest as against the interests of a single individual,no matter what respect and standing Mr.Tata enjoys as the nation's foremost corporate czar.
Raja Ram

Post by Raja Ram »

Ratan Tata has gone to the SC to ensure that the tapes are siezed and taken out of public circulation - why? Only those who have something to hide should fear the tapes. Mr. Tata claims that he has nothing to hide.

Are the corporate houses that fund both politicos and journos scared that the nexus and mechanism will come out in open? It already has.

Mr. Shourie says now that there is no difference between BJP and Congress and yet was part of the administration and handled important issues. Mr. Shourie should also acknowledge the press and media have an undeserving image. Most of them are not straight. He has a reputation as one of the few who has competence and integrity. By trying to defend his tribe, he is not doing any favour to the profession nor to himself.

The BJP and the Congress we know are both political parties. They are not clean. But these two are the national parties that have served India well by and large. Notwithstanding all their corruption. It is impossible for these two parties to be clean. They at least are accountable and people do throw them out or vote them in.

The media is no better but it is not accountable. They have not served India's interest. At least not in the recent past.

shiv wrote:Ramam is saying that her critics from the media are equal bench odds - especially N.Ram. Pot calling kettle black. Surely it should give us some joy to see that name as being shown up for being the traitorous oiseaule he has been recognized to be?
Raman is right. Mediamen exposing mediamen is like Rajan gang killing someone in Dawood gang. It may be fun, and good for us. but that doesn make exposer any better than exposed. For all I know, IE\Hindu are 10-100 times bigger crooks and traitors than NDTV gang. Shekhar Gupta has been rightly nicknamed as Stinker Gupta, as he stinks terribly.

But all in all, all this expose only tell us what we know. Since newspapers were made, we all know that all news have been paid news. And we all know that all silence is paid silence. And we all know that all big journalists are shopkeepers only - with no ethics. No one ever had any faith in reporters' integrity. So this expose only tells us what we knew in depth.

Philip wrote:Had she smiled and said that her conversations were all par for the course in today's media circus,scouting for info about current events,getting hot tips,etc.,"sourcing info" as legitimate,she could've passed the test.Admitting that she had made "mistake" was also fatal.It put her on the defensive right from the start.
I doubt the above. BRFite would have descended on her like warriors from heaven on how she is hiding behind the veneer of a "journalist". There would have been several posts that would have said "She should accept her role, and move on". People get into trouble when they keep denying denying denying, keeping them in the limelight, and after a long time admit their role in illegal or unethical activities.

Borrowing N.Ram's words, she crossed the line, it is better for her that she accepted it. Because of her involvement, she has to be defensive. No other go. Going on the offensive would have lost support from her own journalistic fraternity.

Rahul Mehta wrote:
shiv wrote:Ramam is saying that her critics from the media are equal bench odds - especially N.Ram. Pot calling kettle black. Surely it should give us some joy to see that name as being shown up for being the traitorous oiseaule he has been recognized to be?
Raman is right. Mediamen exposing mediamen is like Rajan gang killing someone in Dawood gang. It may be fun, and good for us. but that doesn make exposer any better than exposed. For all I know, IE\Hindu are 10-100 times bigger crooks and traitors than NDTV gang. Shekhar Gupta has been rightly nicknamed as Stinker Gupta, as he stinks terribly.

But all in all, all this expose only tell us what we know. Since newspapers were made, we all know that all news have been paid news. And we all know that all silence is paid silence. And we all know that all big journalists are shopkeepers only - with no ethics. No one ever had any faith in reporters' integrity. So this expose only tells us what we knew in depth.
RM in India the real difficulty is always in admitting that the accuser is as dirty as the accused. If accuser is clean and accused dirty the problem would be solved in no time. This is also the reason why no political party can dominate. The voters who do not have to power to steal even 1 lakh - leave alone 1000 crores know that all netas are one and the same. They try one guy and find out that he is the same as the last guy. Party or no party. The really clever voters will join the looting by one party and make merry while they accuse the other party. Naturally they will then have to say that they are innocent but the other guy is guilty. But the reason why elections worry them so much is that the the voter who makes no money knows exactly that all are looters.

India consists of two types of people. Voters and looters. If you want to become big, become a looter or join a party of looters and accuse everyone else. Or else remain a voter and be called "commons" by Rahul Mehta.
ShivaS

Post by ShivaS »

No body is clean even Lord Krishna was not clean, but he still upheld the law (Dharma)

Gandhiji was not clean for that matter

so we have to take every one to the cleaners otherwise there will be many proxy rules like SOnia G

ShivaS wrote:No body is clean even Lord Krishna was not clean, but he still upheld the law (Dharma)

so we have to take every one to the cleaners otherwise there will be many proxy rules like SOnia G
The difference between dharma and plain greed are that in dharma the greed is for betterment of society but plain greed is for betterment of self. But I agree that even a party that wants to "clean up" India cannot become powerful without using the same tactics as Congress that has representatives of personal greed at every level from taluk to center.

HeadlinesToday showing & discussing Radia tapes right Now
DONT MISS IT . Prabhu chawla tape is the MOST SHOCKING!

What does it say? If you take the trouble to post the one liner, you can take the toruble to post the gist of it.

R^2 why did B Ramanji feel the need to write about Brakha Dutt and her accusers? Was it to defend the pseudo-secular icon? Or was it to take a pot shot at Chindu? Its not like he is clean himself with his known INC blinkers.
ShivaS

Post by ShivaS »

Now we know why India wil never retaliate against TSP or Panda because that will interrupt SCAMS A GLORE :mrgreen:

Philip wrote:I watched the "Barking mutt" on telly.She wasn't her usual cool and collected smiling assassin.She lost her cool most of the time and reminded me of the old saying,"the guilty flee when no man pursueth".Had she smiled and said that her conversations were all par for the course in today's media circus,scouting for info about current events,getting hot tips,etc.,"sourcing info" as legitimate,she could've passed the test.Admitting that she had made "mistake" was also fatal.It put her on the defensive right from the start.For a news anchor who was awarded the Padma Shrill,sorry...Shri,she could've spoken of her close ties to politicos of various hues as the reason for her success as a media major.

SNIP....
Man,

You have discribed in the best possible way.

Just finished the NDTV programme on the web as well. She came accross as loud and offensive. Was taking things too personaly. She should have tried to put distance between herself the woman and herself the stroy. She would have looked good.

BTW, lil sis also herd what she said about 8 minutes into the NDTV programme and said after this what ever Barkha says on this topic will carry no weight.

The words were

baskha to radia: tell me what should I say to them (Kongress).

^^Doesnt seem as bad as Vir but i might have missed it : http://blogs.wsj.com/indiarealtime/2010 ... hu-chawla/

AdityaM wrote:HeadlinesToday showing & discussing Radia tapes right Now
DONT MISS IT . Prabhu chawla tape is the MOST SHOCKING!

Isnt Prabhu associated with media today??

ramana wrote:What does it say? If you take the trouble to post the one liner, you can take the toruble to post the gist of it.
If i type here the gist, then i will miss the show! u can hear it online live
he speaks of chief justices verdict being purchased!
yes prabhu is the now sidelined editor of indiatoday. they did well to bring him on show

Prabhu gave his defence. His tapes are masala tapes...full of gossip like quality. he speaks of ambani wives! how mota bhai is playing the courts less effectively than the chotta bhai.
unlike burkha, he is not lobbying, but he does reveal a lot of dirt which he has failed to report in his magazine

NRam is rubbishing burkha & Vir. He suggests that they should be fired. (Vir took a somewhat of a moral high ground)
Raja Ram

Post by Raja Ram »

ramana,

Dont really know why Raman wrote that piece to try and make a case for Burkha. I am not aware of his political leanings. May be he too is aligned to the INC. Most civil servants who have served in congress administrations for a long time tend to be.

Or it could also be the fact that he was not involved in the NSAB but kept as an advisor during ABV regime. Anybody's guess really.

N.Ram's stance is interesting one. He is far from being unbiased, running "The Chindu"; is he calling a spade a spade because of his "journalistic integrity" or is he doing this to widen the fissures in the media. These fissure lines could be capitalized by business and politicians; and maybe even the country can benefit.
ShivaS

Post by ShivaS »

Yes India Today

Philip wrote:I watched the "Barking mutt" on telly.She wasn't her usual cool and collected smiling assassin.She lost her cool most of the time and reminded me of the old saying,"the guilty flee when no man pursueth".Had she smiled and said that her conversations were all par for the course in today's media circus,scouting for info about current events,getting hot tips,etc.,"sourcing info" as legitimate,she could've passed the test.Admitting that she had made "mistake" was also fatal.It put her on the defensive right from the start.For a news anchor who was awarded the Padma Shrill,sorry...Shri,she could've spoken of her close ties to politicos of various hues as the reason for her success as a media major.

Mr.Ratan Tata's frantic run to the SC to ban further revelations of his cnversations is a sad affair.It will only spur the media circus into finding out what further juicy chit-chat is there to be savoured.Since this scandal is linked to the greatest ever looting of a nation in world history,we must ensure that the tapes are not sealed from the public.I trust that the court uphlds the right to information on a cae of supreme national interest as against the interests of a single individual,no matter what respect and standing Mr.Tata enjoys as the nation's foremost corporate czar.
This is what Chomsky calls it as the manufactured consent and the cartel which control how the people view the govt and the globe. Media and the corporate and the key govt figures are connected to create an impression of a stable govt which is clean and taking care of the business.

Raja Ram wrote:
The BJP and the Congress we know are both political parties. They are not clean. But these two are the national parties that have served India well by and large. Notwithstanding all their corruption. It is impossible for these two parties to be clean. They at least are accountable and people do throw them out or vote them in.

The media is no better but it is not accountable. They have not served India's interest. At least not in the recent past.
How many years of Congress rule and how many years of BJP rule has created this mess.

Narendra Modi at the India Today State Of States Conclave

Question: "Agar aap pradhan mantri hote aur telecom scam hota to aap kya karte?" (What would you have done if you were the prime minister and the telecom scam happened on your watch?)

Modi: "Hota hi kyon?" (Why would it have happened in the first place?)
http://indiatoday.intoday.in/site/Story ... kouts.html

R^2 why did B Ramanji feel the need to write about Brakha Dutt and her accusers? Was it to defend the pseudo-secular icon? Or was it to take a pot shot at Chindu? Its not like he is clean himself with his known INC blinkers.
There is some connection of Barkha with some foreign entities. One of the thing I noticed after the Mumbai attack was that - US TV and radio reporters came to India and tried to interview her. It is there in the web.

They were asking her questions on the public opinion and public mood. It was about testing and probing Indian public opinion when such a s disaster is happening. She is the informer for the foreign channels and agencies about what is happening inside India.

Acharya san,
I guess you mean she gauges the reaction and intentions of inner circle of ruling elites and pass on the info to foreign entities . I find it strange that she also have good access to Paki Vulturous RAPES accross the border.

Prem wrote:Acharya san,
I guess you mean she gauges the reaction and intentions of inner circle of ruling elites and pass on the info to foreign entities . I find it strange that she also have good access to Paki Vulturous RAPES accross the border.
They have too much information and some could be real strategic and sensitive. Nobody knows.
Find out how she questions the ACM about IAF. These are done by somebody who wants to know more about weakness and details needed by rivals.

ShivaS wrote:No body is clean even Lord Krishna was not clean, but he still upheld the law (Dharma)

One small correction ShivaS garu! There are few people who claim themselves to be Mr/Ms clean and they need to come out admitting their guilt and role in this scam. At least Burkha dutt did not claim to be an honest person, she said she was a good journalist and would go any extent to get what she wanted (paraphrasing).

On the other hand there are people who made their glory on clean image -

1. Mr Clean PM - This gentleman became PM of India on his clean image, or at least he did not correct anyone in media or party when they alleged him to be Mr. Clean.

2. Mata Clean - Rajamata claims herself, her late husband and her even later party are sparkling clean. She has to come out to the public with her own stink first.

3. Beta Clean - This gentleman wants clean politics and clean governance. Perhaps he can come out clean admitting the guilt of his grandpa, grandma, father, mother, and whole khandan...

XXX. I can bring every other name including ABV, NaM etc., but we are talking about 2G spectrum scam.

GOI is entrusted to do this exact job and UPA II failed to that job. I don't see much discussion around it. Burkha dutt is a small fly in this game. A smart mind (that cross-checks the information with other sources) would find BD's loyalties, favoritism, journalistic character by watching just 2-3 programs of hers.

If we were to argue that "the accuser is as dirty as the accused" then we don't need any discussion on any topic. That is a nice tactic by guilty to dodge answering the immediate question.

The UPA govt is using MMS as a front-man for its corruption program. Don't know why opposition isn't making this point. And it is institutionalizing corruption by appointing tainted candidates like Naveen Chawla, PJ Thomas etc to high posts. Congress is known for this, nothing surprising about it. Not that other parties are clean. Just that the scale of corruption is much more in this UPA regime. The country paid 1.76 Lakh Crore for the UPA govt to survive!

^ +1

I will also add that MMS would resign from his PMship as he not only failed to avert such situation as a leader of the cabinet, but also sat for ~2yrs on a complaint from a 5-time Member of Parliament.

I hope for a day where a Govt comes to power where people like Raja are not ministers and the PM does not go about slapping their back in public after shielding him for 2 years and finally forced to resign.

i wonder why prannoy roy is still holding on to her. what makes her so indispensable? from whatever i have seen of her, she ofcourse has opinions on every subject under the sun. but that is all standard establishment type of opinions, nothing original or interesting even about them. she is no great arbiter of discussions either. nor is she a source of great knowledge on anything. she describes herself as a political correspondent, but beyond perhaps an understanding of the murkyness of day-to-day political haggling, i doubt she is a student of political history etc.

but she obviously has contacts. i suppose that is very valuable in news business. but even then i would be surprised if she is the only one with contacts or the info or the guests that she gets only she can get.

best scenario would have been if she had taken herself out. she has instead has taken the bull by the horns and is proactively trying to clear her name. it is to her credit that she takes her reputation seriously and has chosen to fight back. imho she has more character than her other colleague journalists who have just slithered away and hope to sweep all the muck under the carpet.

but i'm afraid the case looks very bad for her. she should make her case and then quit.

S, Jo dar gaya woh mar gaya!
In Delhi look slike its free for all as there is no governance. The law is selective, the politicians are mute, the sphinx is mute and the Courts are raging. The excuse is sub-judice and let the inaction take its course.

So she has to take the bull by its horns and deflect it.

didja notice. none of the leaked tapes contain anything about the the bahu rani or the pota. nor did anybody speak about them. somebody wanted to clean something up the garden and haul a whole lot of dirt. but was careful not to uproot the tree.

btw. has anybody on tv spoken to gopikrishnan of pioneer -the man who actually broke this case? the nuts and bolts of the scam?

2G spectrum applicants got 45 minutes to fulfill all requirements:

"Do you call it reasonable that within 45 minutes, bank guarantees and other documents were to be produced? Is this a reasonable way of functioning," the Bench said. "The government has to function predictably. If it is not predictable, then it is not reasonable," it added. "You give them 45 minutes. How do you think they will comply with all the requirements. How does a applicant know about a press release?" it asked.

When the solicitor general argued that the only redeeming thing in this entire episode was the participation of all the applicants at the allocation at the appointed time and none of them having any complaint, the Bench said, "Nothing can redeem this. It took DoT two months and eight days to issue a press release but it did not think of giving even a 24-hour deadline to meet the requirements."

Petitioner's counsel Prashant Bhushan pointed out that several applicants who had made request for spectrum allocation much before realtors like Unitech and unsung companies like Swan Telecom but they were relegated back in the queue on the ground of non-availability of spectrum.

Solicitor general Gopal Subramaniam clarified that everyone who applied were promised spectrum and some have not got it yet because of logistical reason arising from the defence forces taking time to vacate spectrum occupied by them. Bhushan immediately asked as to why those who applied later were not kept waiting for the vacation of the spectrum by armed forces.

shaardula wrote:didja notice. none of the leaked tapes contain anything about the the bahu rani or the pota. nor did anybody speak about them. somebody wanted to clean something up the garden and haul a whole lot of dirt. but was careful not to uproot the tree.
No there is at least one ref to Sonia (and rahul as well) in the Burqa Dutt tapes.

per a tweet from a journalist wrote:540 MPs group photo inside Parliament House, tomorrow. Usually Photo is taken at the end of 4th year. Why at 2nd year? are we in for polls.
Pranay

Post by Pranay »

http://indiatoday.intoday.in/site/Video ... mpact.html

The Radia Tapes discussion on Headlines Today...

Listening to Radia's conversation with Prabhu Chawla I was stuck by how the tone and tenor of her conversation was very different from her conversations with Barkha and Vir.

With Prabhu you can almost feel the way she's trying to butter him up in order to fish for information/insights which Prabhu can give her. To be frank prima faice I don't see Prabhu coming out badly from this conversation. The only thing I can say a good looking woman Radia massaged his ego and he got carried away. But folks close to power speak like that always, as if they have special insight on how things work.

On the other hand the way she talks with Vir and especially Barkha, is more direct business-like, the type of conversation you'd have with office colleagues working on the same project.

Sorry I think Barkha is not telling the whole truth when she is saying that she was just stringing Radia along. It was Raida who was stringing her along. And she was a willing accomplice.

I know we love to criticise Gora press outlets like BBC, CNN etc but take it from me, if anyone of their top journalists were involved in even a tenth of what Barkha has been proven to be in by these tapes then they'd have asked journalist to go. NDTV not only did not do that, it tried to browbeat Manu Joseph with the threat of a law suit. At least HT has discontinued Vir Counterpoint column.

I know Vishnu (Som) reads BRF, if he reads this I hope he reflects on this point.
Last edited by amit on 02 Dec 2010 07:48, edited 1 time in total.