Re: US strike options on TSP

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Understanding the US-2

(Duplicating in the interest of Understanding the US):

The continuation of the story

[2a] Protective Orders: Your mouth will be sealed until the case ends. This could be another three years. By which time, no one will care.

[3] Survive motions to dismiss: Unlike when you are being persecuted, there is no evidence attached to motions to dismiss. Most fancy lawyers will rely on fancy case law that neither your lawyer nor you will understand. It is what is called a "technicality", and depending upon the friendliness of the court to your opponents, your fight will just end right here.

[4] Discovery is Open: If your complaint survives and gets to this point, get ready to be poor. You have to a) ask for relevant documents, b) ask questions of your opponents. They will do the same to you. This is a flood of documents. Mostly irrelevant documents. There is no way of knowing what has been hidden. Even if you know a document exists and you get a motion to compel, you will not get the documents you want. Questions asked of you will be about your character and health and family even if you are suing about hot coffee burning you. You will provide what you have, they will not. Your lawyer will get tired of taking your money and decide to move on.

[5] Depositions: Now your lawyer gets to charge you really large sums. Any people your lawyer selects and your opponents select, have to sit in a room and answer questions. Most of the testimony will not be used. In fact, none will be used from the vast majority. But the lawyers will insist on interviewing for a whole day. This is under an "oath". But if you say "I don't recall precisely" first, then you can lie your heart out. Or you can say "I didn't come prepared for this" and then proceed to lie your heart out. Unless you have a trust fund, you will be really poor by now.

[6] Pay the judge's friends: At this point the judge will appoint a former judge or another friend as a person you must talk to. They will charge by the hour. Depending upon how strong your case is, you will be forced to undergo this torture and pay for it. You could be a continent away and will be forced to attend in person. Your opponents will not have any intention of actually settling the matter. And if they have say, stolen your car, no intention of returning it. The whole idea is to see how much more money you have left.

[7] Summary judgement: At this point, both your lawyer and opponents' lawyer will file paperwork asking for a judge's decision before a trial. This is another way of spending more money. In all cases, the judge will deny one or two claims of each side, and unless you have really upset the judge, the case can go to trial.

[8] Scheduling Delays: At this point the burdened court system (1% of cases go to trial!) will say they can not find a court date or judge for you and force you through more mediation meetings. They will tell you "now is the most leverage you have", and "the court can not give you what you can get now". In other cases, they (your opponents) will just work out a deal with your lawyer. He gets what he wants afterward, even if you win the trial, you will only lose. In the mean time, the lawyers will make a list of documents they will use during the trial.

[9] Trial Procedure: If you actually get to here, be prepared to spend your provident fund. The first step is getting a jury selected. A crowd of local residents has been forced to show up. the judge will throw out anyone remotely qualified to understand the matter. Then, the lawyers will object to any educated persons left. In the end, you 5-6 elderly mostly uneducated individuals will be forced to sit through a week of legal wrangling. And another 2-3 people will join them as "alternates". You can rest assured that if you were worrying about a matter worth crores, no one in this group would have ever seen or dreamed of that amount. These individuals will be further instructed to decide only a few limited things. This is entirely based on the whims of the judge. For example, The jury may decide guilty/not-guilty, and the lawyers will decide what monetary amounts are to be associated with it. The jury does not get to decide the money. In short, even this worst case scenario, it is a powerless group, forced to sit through a week or more of obscure arguments, bored to death, and wanting to go home. If there is a weekend in the middle, you can be sure they will remember nothing on Monday.

[10] Trial: You will sit quietly, except when called as a witness to the stand. Your lawyer and their lawyer will call people to the stand and ask them question. The jury will try to stay awake. The judge will exclaim "you must be wondering how we can find the time to take these cases!". You will be poorer still.

[11]. Outcome: When both lawyers run out of arguments, they rest. The judge asks the jury to deliberate. They basically want to sign a piece of paper ("the judgement sheet") get paid and go home. The judge at this point will tell you "you have not suffered", even if you are missing a leg now, and tell you they are not inclined to award any damages. The law does not provide for attorney's fees. So even if the jury provides a guilty verdict on all counts, you will get nothing. Your lawyer will want your first-born in lieu of even more time he has spent.

[13]. Consequences: The outcome is immaterial. Unless you are a young white women, no one will care. The judge will write the minimal in the record so no one can know what the case was about unless they were a lawyer. The rest of the documents will be sealed or "held in judges chambers". You will be needed to shred anything you have received. Your opponents will laugh at you regardless of the judgement. Matters will remain as they were before the trial, even if you won.

And this is why, not only should you be afraid of the US cops, you should never dare to try the legal system. And this is the "kinder" civil procedure. In the other (criminal), you are already guilty by being black, before any procedure.

Now as Obelix once said:
Obelix wrote: अब मैं समझा, उसका हाथ अब खाली है।
We can continue with the story. The time has come.

Hillary Clinton: Book explains America can still lead

http://onpolitics.usatoday.com/2014/05/ ... hors-note/
She called the United States “the indispensable nation” and dismisses talk of America’s decline. “My faith in our future has never been greater,” Clinton wrote, according to ABC News. “While there are few problems in today’s world that the United States can solve alone, there are even fewer that can be solved without the United States.”

From a comment on the Ukranian crisis;
The son of U.S. Vice President Biden - Robert Hunter recently joined to the Board of Directors of the largest private gas producer in Ukraine 'Burisma Holdings', registered in Cyprus. Holdings has a resolution of mining in the Dnieper- Donets Basin. In April, in the management of this company Devon Archer - a family friend of Secretary of the US was invilved. Devon Archer divided the university years with Kerry stepson dorm room, and during the presidential race in the U.S. in 2004 became a senior advisor to John Kerry.

The Board of Directors Burisma Holdings also includes ex-Minister of Ukraine Mykola Zlochevskiy and former Polish President Aleksander Kwasniewski (recall that in Ukraine there are Polish mercenaries ) .

U.S. officials and their immediate family members have a keen interest in all countries where the invading American occupation forces since the time of the wars against Yugoslavia and Iraq . For example, Kerry predecessor Madeleine Albright has business in " independent Kosovo ". In turn, the predecessor of Biden - Richard Cheney and his family, as well as another former U.S. Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice suck the energy resources from Iraq.
Crony capitalism at work Yanqui style!

CNN Breaking News ‏@cnnbrk 29m

Obama: "It’s time to turn the page" on era in which U.S. dedicated much of foreign policy to Iraq and Afghanistan. http://cnn.it/1jqnx3t

Fox News ‏@FoxNews 4h

State Dept. apologizes for promoting Muslim cleric who backed killing of US soldiers http://fxn.ws/1kIMvQ9 via @foxnewspolitics
It is still ok to promote Muslim clerics who back killing folks other than Americans.

From this story found by the good doctor previously here:
At the end of a jury trial in case number 24C12006249, Circuit Court for Baltimore City, with Judge Althea Handy presiding, a jury determined on April 23, 2014 that Johns Hopkins trespassed on my property (my webpage included), retaliated for filing plagiarism complaints, and withheld salary and accrued benefits. The jury awarded back pay, withheld benefits, and damages. The money judgment has been paid, not appealed, and is now final.

This is the third result in this litigation series, and 2:12-cv-06870-KSH-CLW remains on the docket in New Jersey. Matters related to recently discovered stolen manuscript have yet to be prosecuted. Similarly, matters related to withheld pay and benefits found in documents discovered using Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) requests have also not been prosecuted yet.

Shreeman wrote:From this story found by the good doctor previously here:
At the end of a jury trial in case number 24C12006249, Circuit Court for Baltimore City, with Judge Althea Handy presiding, a jury determined on April 23, 2014 that Johns Hopkins trespassed on my property (my webpage included), retaliated for filing plagiarism complaints, and withheld salary and accrued benefits. The jury awarded back pay, withheld benefits, and damages. The money judgment has been paid, not appealed, and is now final.

This is the third result in this litigation series, and 2:12-cv-06870-KSH-CLW remains on the docket in New Jersey. Matters related to recently discovered stolen manuscript have yet to be prosecuted. Similarly, matters related to withheld pay and benefits found in documents discovered using Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) requests have also not been prosecuted yet.
Shreeman, Thanks,ramana

ramana,

Fingers are real itchy for writing the remaining part of my story too. Hopefully can start typing tomorrow. Just procrastiination last couple days despite the opportunity.

thanks,

shreemann etc.

One needs to understand this.
http://www.theatlantic.com/features/arc ... ns/361631/

In 1905-06, the American William Jennings Bryan visited India and after an examination of British rule there, wrote that it was a system of legalized pillage. (His writings were censored by the British, so we don't hear much about it). But what was going on in the American State of Mississipi?

From the above link:
It was in these early years that Ross began to understand himself as an American—he did not live under the blind decree of justice, but under the heel of a regime that elevated armed robbery to a governing principle. He thought about fighting. “Just be quiet,” his father told him. “Because they’ll come and kill us all.”
...the FHA {Federal Housing Authority} adopted a racial policy that could well have been culled from the Nuremberg laws {the Nazi laws for Jews}

Unemployment 6.8%. Among college graduates 35%.

ramana wrote:Unemployment 6.8%. Among college graduates 35%.
Ramana,

There is a lot of pakistani statistics being computed. Economists will pull them out of thin air.

On the ground things are better (housing is back, for example, incomplete projects from 2008 have people living in them, rents are soaring again) than 2008, but these numbers are not for comparable jpbs, dont include long term unemployed who are no longer looking for jobs and so on. There is a fundamental remaking off whatt a job stood for.

ps -- zero hour contracts etc on the other side of the pond.

shreeman etc

Things are definitely not better for college grads. Even in the sciences and engineering, kids are going years without a job in their field, forced to do part time retail jobs. One striking thing I've noticed: the big defense companies increasingly hire relatives of employees. This is a persistent pattern in at least 3 well reputed NJ colleges that I have noticed. And this applies to other non - defense corporations as well. If you have a relative already working there who is willing to vouch for you, the odds are definitely stacked in your favor. Have seen numerous cases like this in the past 2 years.

Even better candidates get ignored if you have someone on the inside who can vouch. I'm not sure how widespread this trend is, but have definitely noticed quite a few cases.

It is a disturbing trend.

Shreeman, The stats are from a Democrat candidate for Congress running in a Democrat seat!
And UChicago+Yale Law school background.

ramana, is that statement on college grad unemployment somewhere on the web, or did you hear it privately?

ramana,

i was questioning the 6.8%. its methodology is suspect and often admitted if questioned. long term unenployed, part-time jobs alone make up unacceptably large numbers. stagnant median salaries and disappearing benefits.

shreeman eetc

Nandu wrote:ramana, is that statement on college grad unemployment somewhere on the web, or did you hear it privately?
nandu,

GOP types will even quote higher numbers. My hypothesis is useless education rather than economic conditions,

http://www.theatlantic.com/business/arc ... ws/277325/

shreeeman etc

This is quite recent. If this is how she behaves in Public, what she will teach her kids in private ? Seems like a "white trash" to me.

X-Poste by A_Gupta

http://uudb.org/articles/jabezsunderland.html
The Brahmo Samaj, a Calcutta-based Hindu religious and social reform movement, was founded in 1828 by Rammohun Roy. It had been from its inception closely aligned with British and American Unitarians. In 1895 Sunderland was traveling in Europe and the Middle East. The British and Foreign Unitarian Association recruited him to continue on to India to negotiate a settlement among three factions of the Brahmo Samaj. He not only reunited the factions; he revitalized the movement. He did not set up a Unitarian mission to compete with Brahmo Samaj, but rather arranged that British and American Unitarians should send financial support, books and missionaries to assist with its growth and development. Young Indians were to be educated at Manchester College (Unitarian) in Britain.

Sunderland's broad conception of Christianity, misunderstood by colleagues whose beliefs were nearly identical with his own during the Western Unitarian controversy, was put to good use as he sought common ground between diverse cultures in India. He wrote, "Our faith is the same, our ideals are the same, our spirit is the same. Our names differ. But in what we are endeavouring to be and do we are one. Even in the matter of the spiritual leadership of Christ, I find, somewhat to my surprise, that there is practically no difference. . . . I find that most of them hold as strongly as we do, that he is the greatest of the world's prophets and religious teachers."

Early in 1896 Sunderland made an arduous trip—carried in a basket or climbing over cliff terrain—to a recently organized indigenous Unitarian church in the Khasi Hills of Northeast India. He had since 1887 corresponded with Hajom Kissor Singh, the Khasi Unitarian church founder, and had reported on the progress of the Khasi church in the Unitarian. The first "European" to visit, he initiated the practice of sending Unitarian missionaries to the Khasis, who named their school after him. Khasi Unitarians, honor him as one of the most important figures in their history.

On his first visit to India Sunderland met intellectual and political as well as religious leaders. Among these were Pundita Ramabai, Justice Mahadev Govind Ranade, and Bengali nationalist Surrendra Nath Banerji. He was the first American to attend an annual meeting of the Indian National Congress. When he applied his values of freedom and human equality to the Indian situation, he was frustrated both by the traditional caste system and by British imperial rule.

After an unsuccessful pastorate in Oakland, California, 1898-99, Sunderland spent a year in London, England, 1900-01. He then served in Toronto, Ontario, 1901-07; Hartford, Connecticut, 1907-11; and Ottawa, Ontario, 1912-13. In these years he lectured on Indian religions and Western missions to the subcontinent. His tract, Christian Missions in India, c.1896, was critical of both Christian and general Western influence upon Indian culture. The missionary activity he supported rose above sectarianism.

Sunderland's broad church theistic theology took form around the idea of evolution. In The Spark in the Clod, 1902, he argued that the theory of evolution does not undermine religion, but strengthens it. He found evolution "profoundly theistic," making "the universe full of God, as no other theory known to man does, certainly far more than the Genesis theory itself does." God, instead of being remote and withdrawn, "an absentee God," is "a creator within . . . in all things from atom to sun."

Evil Sunderland saw as a consequence of incompleteness in our evolutionary development. "No, it is not a fallen world that we are in, but a rising one." He held Christianity to be a work in progress, being purified through evolution. Its purpose is to "enable men to become workers with God," co-creators in an evolving faith. He believed humanity would not be extinguished after its brief day, but share in a deserved immortality. He believed the human species, as creatures who can understand justice and righteousness, to be fulfilling God's evolutionary program. Were God to destroy humanity, "the rationality of the universe breaks down."

In 1908 the Atlantic magazine carried Sunderland's article "The New Nationalism in India," an indictment of British rule in India. He described Britain as an oppressive drain on the wealth of India, as crushing a potentially competent civilization and holding its people in a condition of starvation and illiteracy. He asked, "Are there peoples whom it is just to rule without their consent? Is justice one thing in England and Canada and another in India?"

Ministering in Hartford, Sunderland helped found the India House in New York City, a residence for Indian students studying in the United States. He served as vice-president of the Society for the Advancement of India.

In 1913 the AUA appointed Sunderland Billings lecturer to travel in Japan, China, and India. In The Mission of the Unitarian Faith, 1913, he argued "the liberal faith by its very nature is calculated for humanity as a whole." Unlike other Christians who had gone to proselytize in the East, "we go not to destroy such venerable historical religions such as Buddhism, Hinduism, Confuscianism, or even Mohammedism, but to assist such of their followers to improve them, to purify them, to reform them, to let shine upon them the light of modern knowledge, and thus purge away their superstitions and their lower elements, and lift them up to the level of their own best teachings."

During his second stay in India, 1913-14, Sunderland began to reconsider the paternalism inherent in his Mission tract. He developed a close friendship with Ramanada Chatterjee, editor of the Modern Review, a journal to which Sunderland contributed articles on inter-religious understanding and on such historically important American figures as Abraham Lincoln, Thomas Jefferson, Ralph Waldo Emerson, and William Ellery Channing.

In 1914 Sunderland settled in New York City and took on a part-time post at a small church in Poughkeepsie, New York to which he commuted by train. His interest in India was now more political than religious. In 1918 he became vice-president of the Home Rule League of America, an organization promoting Indian self-rule. He contributed 15 articles to the League's radical journal, Young India, 1918-20, and edited it for a year. He worked closely with Lala Lajpat Rai, leader of the Arya Samaj, another Hindu reform movement. With Scott Nearing, Norman Thomas and Oswald Garrison Villard, publisher of the Nation, he promoted internationalism, the League of Nations, and opposition to British rule in India.

Sunderland collected many of his articles and essays in the book, India in Bondage, 1929, which was suppressed by the government of India. Time magazine praised Sunderland's outspoken, if extreme, criticism of British rule. Chatterjee, Mohandas Gandhi and Rabindranath Tagore sent him letters of gratitude.

Sunderland retired in 1928 and moved back to Ann Arbor. He died there at the age of 94, following an accident. His memorial service at the Community Church of New York was an international and interfaith event. Haridas Mazumdar, who presided, spoke of Sunderland as a Maharishi upon whom all Indians could look with pride and awe.

Cardinal Rules
----------------

Rule 1: When America gives it, it is (military) aid, see peace drive, peace gate, and so on. For everyone else it is (weapons of mass destruction) proliferation.

weapons of Mass destruction is right terminology for its also destroys RC Mass as Baptists take over.

US is the new Rome for Evanjihadi Baptists.

Apologies if already posted:

Hillary Rodham Clinton: By the Book
...the Bible was and remains the biggest influence on my thinking. I was raised reading it, memorizing passages from it and being guided by it. I still find it a source of wisdom, comfort and encouragement.

It is becoming obvious that she wants to give another shot at presidency and potentially even before Obama's the full second term is complete. Funnily she even tried to play aam aadmi saying they were broke :rotfl: (even with few million in net assets) and fox revealing that chelsia (billary's daughter) gets $600K in comp for occasional work(BJs?) at CNBC. And now how good Samaritan she is...whatever happened to her being a lesbo?

you got to give these fkers...lying is their competitive advantage and that alone can be identified as their civilizational hallmark.

Agnimitra wrote:Apologies if already posted:

Hillary Rodham Clinton: By the Book
...the Bible was and remains the biggest influence on my thinking. I was raised reading it, memorizing passages from it and being guided by it. I still find it a source of wisdom, comfort and encouragement.
To get elected in the almost all of the US, you have to be "More Christian than the Christians". So much for sekooolarism and tolerance of the US. Only in isolated pockets can a non-xtian dream of getting elected in the US.

America appears once again to be on the brink of a war. This time the war is likely to be in Syria and/or in Iraq. If we jump into one or both of these wars, they will join, by my count since our independence, about 200 significant military operations (not all of which were legally "wars") as well as countless "proactive" interventions, regime-change undertakings, covert action schemes and search-and-destroy missions. In addition the United States has provided weapons, training and funding for a variety of non-American military and quasi-military forces throughout the world. Within recent months we have added five new African countries. History and contemporary events show that we Americans are a warring people.

So we should ask: what have we learned about ourselves, our adversaries and the process in which we have engaged?

The short answer appears to be "very little."

As both a historian and a former policy planner for the American government, I will very briefly here (as I have mentioned in a previous essay, I am in the final stages of a book to be called A Warring People, on these issues), illustrate what I mean by "very little."

I begin with us, the American people. There is overwhelming historical evidence that war is popular with us. Politicians from our earliest days as a republic, indeed even before when we were British colonies, could nearly always count on gaining popularity by demonstrating our valor. Few successful politicians were pacifists.

Even supposed pacifists found reasons to engage in the use of force. Take the man most often cited as a peacemaker or at least a peaceseeker, Woodrow Wilson. He promised to "keep us out of war," by which he meant keeping us out of big, expensive European war. Before becoming president, however, he approved the American conquest of Cuba and the Philippines and described himself as an imperialist; then, as president, he occupied Haiti, sent the Marines into the Dominican Republic and ordered the Cavalry into Mexico. In 1918, he also put American troops into Russia. Not only sending soldiers: his administration carried out naval blockades, economic sanctions, covert operations -- one of which, allegedly, involved an assassination attempt on a foreign leader -- and furnished large-scale arms supplies to insurgents in on-going wars.

The purpose, and explanation, of our wars varied. I think most of us would agree that our Revolution, the First World War and the Second World War were completely justified. Probably Korea was also. The United States had no choice on the Civil war or, perhaps, on the War of 1812. Many, particularly those against the Native Americans would today be classified as war crimes. It is the middle range that seem to me to be the most important to understand. I see them like this.

Some military ventures were really misadventures in the sense that they were based on misunderstandings or deliberate misinformation. I think that most students of history would put the Spanish-American, Vietnamese, Iraqi and a few other conflicts in this category. Our government lied to us -- the Spaniards did not blow up the Maine; the Gulf of Tonkin was not a dastardly attack on our innocent ships and Iraq was not about to attack us with a nuclear weapon, which it did not have.

But we citizens listened uncritically. We did not demand the facts. It is hard to avoid the charge that we were either complicit, lazy or ignorant. We did not hold our government to account.

Several war and other forms of intervention were for supposed local or regional requirements of the Cold War. We knowingly told one another that the "domino theory" was reality: so a hint of Communist subversion or even criticism of us sent us racing off to protect almost any form of political association that pretended to be on our side. And we believed or feared that even countries that had little or no connections with one another would topple at the touch -- or even before their neighbors appeared to be in trouble. Therefore, regardless of their domestic political style, monarchy, dictatorship. democracy., it mattered not, they had to be protected. Our protection often included threats of invasion, actual intervention, paramilitary operations, subversion and/or bribery, justified by our proclaimed intent to keep them free. Or at least free from Soviet control. Included among them were Guatemala, Nicaragua, Brazil, Chile, Italy, Greece, Syria, Lebanon, Iran, Indonesia, Vietnam and various African countries.

Some interventions were for acquisition of their resources or protection of our economic assets. Guatemala, Chile, Iraq, Iran and Indonesia come to mind.

Few, if any, were to establish the basis of peace or even to bring about ceasefires. Those tasks we usually left to the United Nations or regional associations.

The costs have been high. Just counting recent interventions, they have cost us well over a hundred thousand casualties and some multiple of that in wounded; they have cost "the others" -- both our enemies and our friends -- large multiples of those numbers. The monetary cost is perhaps beyond counting both to them and to us. Figures range upward from $10 trillion.

The rate of success of these aspects of our foreign policy, even in the Nineteenth century, was low. Failure to accomplish the desired or professed outcome is shown by the fact that within a few years of the American intervention, the condition that had led to the intervention recurred. The rate of failure has dramatically increased in recent years. This is because we are operating in a world that is increasingly politically sensitive. Today even poor, weak, uneducated and corrupt nations become focused by the actions of foreigners. Whereas before, a few members of the native elite made the decisions, today we face "fronts." parties, tribes and independent opinion leaders. So the "window of opportunity" for foreign intervention, once at least occasionally partly open, is now often shut.

I will briefly focus on five aspects of this transformation:

First, nationalism has been and remains the predominant way of political thought of most of the world's people. Its power has long been strong (even when we called it by other names) but it began to be amplified and focused by Communism in the late Nineteenth century. Today, nationalism in Africa, much of Asia and parts of Europe is increasingly magnified by the rebirth of Islam in the salafiyah movement.

Attempts to crush these nationalist-ideological-religious-cultural movements militarily have generally failed. Even when, or indeed especially when, foreigners arrive on the scene, natives put aside their mutual hostilities to unite against them. We saw this particularly vividly and painfully in Somalia. The Russians saw it in Çeçnaya and the Chinese, among the Uyghur peoples of Xinjiang (former Chinese Turkistan).

Second, outside intervention has usually weakened moderate or conservative forces or tendencies within each movement. Those espousing the most extreme positions are less likely to be suborned or defeated than the moderates. Thus particularly in a protracted hostilities, are more likely to take charge than their rivals. We have seen this tendency in each of the guerrilla wars in which we got involved; for the situation today, look at the insurgent movements in Syria and Iraq. (For my analysis of the philosophy and strategy of the Muslim extremists, see my essay "Sayyid Qutub's Fundamentalism and Abu Bakr Naji's Jihadism" on my website, http://www.williampolk.com/.)

What is true of the movements is even more evident in the effects on civic institutions and practices within an embattled society. In times of acute national danger, the "center" does not hold. Centrists get caught between the insurgents and the regimes. Insurgents have to destroy their relationship to society and government if they are to "win." Thus, in Vietnam for example, doctors and teachers, who interfaced between government and the general population were prime targets for the Vietminh in the 1950s.

And, as the leaders of governments against whom the insurgents are fighting become more desperate, they suppress those of their perceived rivals or critics they can reach. By default, these people are civilians who are active in the political parties, the media and the judiciary . And, as their hold on power erodes and "victory" becomes less likely, regimes also seek to create for themselves safe havens by stealing money and sending it abroad. Thus, the institutions of government are weakened and the range of enemies widens. We have witnessed these two aspects of "corruption" -- both political and economic -- in a number of countries. Recent examples are Vietnam and Afghanistan.

In Vietnam at least by 1962 the senior members of the regime had essentially given up the fight. Even then they were preparing to bolt the country. And the army commanders were focused on earning money that they sold the bullets and guns we gave them to the Vietminh. In Afghanistan, the regime's involvement in the drug trade, its draining of the national treasury into foreign private bank accounts (as even Mr. Karzai admitted) and in "pickpocketing" hundreds of millions of dollars from aid projects is well documented. (http://www.sigar.mil/pdf/inspections/SIGAR-14-62-IP.pdf., the monthly reports of the American Special Inspector General for Afghan Reconstruction.)

Third, our institutional memory of programs, events and trends is shallow. I suggest that it usually is no longer than a decade. Thus, we repeat policies even when the record clearly shows that they did not work when previously tried. And we address each challenge as though it is unprecedented. We forget the American folk saying that when you find yourself in a hole, the best course of action is to stop digging. it isn't only that our government (and the thousands of "experts," tacticians and strategists it hires) do not "remember" but also that they have at hand only one convenient tool -- the shovel. What did we learn from Vietnam? Get a bigger, sharper shovel.

Fourth, despite or perhaps in part because of our immigrant origins, we are a profoundly insular people. Few of us have much appreciation of non-American cultures and even less fellow feeling for them. Within a generation or so, few immigrants can even speak the language of their grand parents. Many of us are ashamed of our ethnic origins.

Thus, for example, at the end of the Second World War, despite many of us being of German or Italian or Japanese cultural background, we were markedly deficient in people who could help implement our policies in those countries. We literally threw away the language and culture of grandparents. A few years later, when I began to study Arabic, there were said to be only five Americans not of Arab origin who knew the language. Beyond language, grasp of the broader range of culture petered off to near zero. Today, after the expenditure of significant government subsidies to universities (in the National Defense Education Act) to teach "strategic" languages, the situation should be better. But, while we now know much more, I doubt that we understand other peoples much better.

If this is true of language, it is more true of more complex aspects of cultural heritage. Take Somalia as an example. Somalia was not, as the media put it, a "failed state;" it was and is a "non-state." That is, the Somalis do not base their effective identify on being as members of a nation state. Like almost everyone in the world did before recent centuries, they thought of themselves as members of clans, tribes, ethnic or religious assemblies or territories. It is we, not they, who have redefined political identity. We forget that the nation-state is a concept that was born in Europe only a few centuries ago and became accepted only late in the Nineteenth century in Germany and Italy. For the Somalis, it is still an alien construct. So, not surprisingly, our attempt to force them or entice them to shape up and act within our definition of statehood has not worked. And Somalia is not alone. And not only in Africa. Former Yugoslavia is a prime example: to be 'balkanized' has entered our language. And, if we peek under the flags of Indonesia, Burma, Pakistan, Afghanistan, Iraq, the Congo, Mali, the Sudan and other nation-states we find powerful forces of separate ethnic nationalisms.

The effects of relations among many of the peoples of Asia and Africa and some of the Latin Americans have created new political and social configurations and imbalances within and among them. With European and American help the governments with which we deal have acquired more effective tools of repression. They can usually defeat the challenges of traditional groups. But, not always. Where they do not acquire legitimacy in the eyes of significant groups -- "nations" -- states risk debilitating, long-term struggles. These struggles are, in part, the result of the long years of imperial rule and colonial settlement. Since Roman times, foreign rulers have sought to cut expenses by governing through local proxies. Thus, the British turned over to the Copts the unpopular task of colleting Egyptian taxes and to the Assyrians the assignment of controlling the Iraqi Sunnis. The echo of these years is what we observe in much of the "Third World" today. Ethnic, religious and economic jealousies abound and the wounds of imperialism and colonialism have rarely completely healed. We may not be sensitive to them, but to natives they may remain painful. Americans may be the "new boys on the block," but these memories have often been transferred to us.

Finally, fifth, as the preeminent nation-state America has a vast reach. There is practically no area of the world in which we do not have one sort of interest or another. We have over a thousand military bases in more than a hundred countries; we trade, buy and sell, manufacture or give away goods and money all over Latin America, Africa, Asia and Europe. We train, equip and subsidize dozens of armies and even more paramilitary or "Special" forces. This diversity is, obviously, a source of strength and richness, but, less obviously, it generates conflicts between what we wish to accomplish in one country and what we think we need to accomplish in another. At the very least, handling or balancing our diverse aims within acceptable means and at a reasonable cost is a challenge.

It is a challenge that we seem less and less able to meet.

Take Iraq as an example. As a corollary of our hostility to Saddam Husain, we essentially turned Iraq over to his enemies, the Iraqi Shia Muslim. (I deal with this in my Understanding Iraq, New York: HarperCollins, 2005, 171 ff.) There was some justification for this policy. The Shia community has long been Iraq's majority and because they were Saddam's enemies, some "experts" naively thought they would become our friends. But immediately two negative aspects of our policy became evident: non-specialists: first, the Shiis took vengeance on the Sunni Muslim community and so threw the country into a vicious civil war . What we called pacification amounted to ethnic cleansing. And, second, the Shia Iraqi leaders (the marjiaah) made common cause with coreligionist Iranians with whom we were nearly at war all during the second Bush administration. Had war with Iran eventuated, our troops in Iraq would have been more hostages than occupiers. At several points, we had the opportunity to form a more coherent, moral and safer policy. I don't see evidence that our government or our occupation civil and military authorities even grasped the problem; certainly they did not find ways to work toward a solution. Whatever else may be said about it, our policy was dysfunctional.

I deserve to be challenged on this statement: I am measuring (with perhaps now somewhat weakened hindsight) recent failures against what we tried to do in the Policy Planning Council in the early 1960s. If our objective is, as we identify it, to make the world at least safe, even if not safe for democracy, we are much worse off today than we were then. We policy planners surely then made many significant mistakes (and were often not heeded), but I would argue that we worked within a more coherent framework than our government does today. Increasingly, it seems to me that we are in a mode of leaping from one crisis to the next without having understood the first or anticipating the second. I see no strategic concept; only tactical jumps and jabs.

So what to do?

At the time of the writing of the American Constitution, one of our Founding Fathers, Gouverneur Morris, remarked that part of the task he and others of the authors put it, was “to save the people from their most dangerous enemy, themselves.” Translated to our times, this is to guard against our being "gun slingers." All the delegates were frightened by militarism and sought to do the absolute minimum required to protect the country from attack. They refused the government permission to engage in armed actions against foreigners except in defense. I believe they would have been horrified, if they could have conceived it, by the national security state we have become. They certainly did not look to the military to solve problems of policy. They would have agreed, I feel sure, that very few of the problem we face in the world today could be solved by military means So, even when we decide to employ military means, we need to consider not only the immediate but the long-term effects of our actions. We have, at least, the experience and the intellectual tools to do so. So why have we not?

We have been frequently misled by the success of our postwar policies toward both Germany and Japan. We successfully helped those two countries to embark upon a new era. And, during the employment of the Truman Doctrine in Greece, the civil war there ended. There were special reasons for all three being exceptions. Perhaps consequent to those successes, when we decided to destroy the regimes of Saddam Husain and Muammar Qaddafi, we gave little thought of what would follow. We more or less just assumed that things would get better. They did not. The societies imploded. Had we similarly gone into Iran, the results would have been a moral, legal and economic disaster. Now we know -- or should know -- that unless the risk is justified, as our Constitution demands it be by an imminent armed attack on the United States, we should not make proactive war on foreign nations. We have sworn not to do so in the treaty by which we joined the United Nations . In short, we need to be law abiding, and we should look before we leap.

Our ability to do any of these things will depend on several decisions.

The first is to be realistic: there is no switch we can flip to change our capacities. To look for quick and easy solutions is part of the problem, not part of the solution.

The second is a matter of will and the costs and penalties that attach to it. We would be more careful in foreign adventures if we had to pay for them in both blood and treasure as they occurred. That is, "in real time." We now avoid this by borrowing money abroad and by inducing or bribing vulnerable members of our society and foreigners to fight for us.. All our young men and women should know that they will be obliged to serve if we get into war, and we should not be able to defer to future generations the costs of our ventures. We should agree to pay for them through immediate taxes rather than foreign loans.

The third is to demand accountability. Our government should be legally obligated to tell us the truth. If it does not, the responsible officials should be prosecuted in our courts and, if they violate our treaties or international law, they should have to come before the World Court of Justice. We now let them off scot-free. The only "culprits" are those who carry out their orders.

Fourth, in the longer term, the only answer to the desire for better policy is better public education. For a democracy to function, its citizens must be engaged. They cannot be usefully engaged if they are not informed. Yet few Americans know even our own laws on our role in world affairs. Probably even fewer know the history of our actions abroad -- that is, what we have done in the past with what results and at what cost.

And as a people we are woefully ignorant about other peoples and countries. Polls indicate that few Americans even know the locations of other nations. The saying that God created war to teach American geography is sacrilegious. If this was God's purpose, He failed. And beyond geography, concerning other people's politics, cultures and traditions, there is a nearly blank page. Isn't it time we picked up the attempt made by such men as Sumner Wells (with his An Intelligent American's Guide to the Peace and his American Foreign Policy Library), Robert Hutchins, James Conant and others (with the General Education programs in colleges and universities) and various other failed efforts to make us a part of humanity?

On the surface, at least, resurrecting these programs is just a matter of (a small amount of) money. But results won't come overnight. Our education system is stogy, our teachers are poorly trained and poorly paid, and we, the consumers, are distracted by quicker, easier gratifications than learning about world affairs. I had hoped that we would learn from the "real schools" of Vietnam and other failures, but we did not. The snippets of information which pass over our heads each day do not and cannot make a coherent pattern. Absent a matrix into which to place "news," it is meaningless. I have suggested in a previous essay that we are in a situation like a computer without a program. We get the noise, but without a means to "read" it, it is just gibberish.

Our biggest challenge therefore comes down to us: unless or until we find a better system of teaching, of becoming aware that we need to learn and a desire to acquire the tools of citizenship, we cannot hope to move toward a safer, more enriching future.

This is a long-term task.

We had better get started.

William R. Polk

June 12, 2014
From http://turcopolier.typepad.com/sic_semp ... -polk.html

When something like this happens in India, we get thundering editorials from the New York Times.
http://www.nytimes.com/2014/06/18/arts/ ... offer.html
The Metropolitan Opera announced on Tuesday that it was canceling plans to simulcast John Adams’s “The Death of Klinghoffer” this fall to cinemas around the world, drawing praise from some Jewish groups who object to the opera, but laments from the work’s fans and a warning from its composer that the decision promotes “intolerance.”

The opera, considered one of Mr. Adams’s masterpieces, depicts the 1985 hijacking of the cruise ship Achille Lauro by members of the Palestine Liberation Front, and the killing of a disabled Jewish American passenger, Leon Klinghoffer. The work, which sought to give voice to Palestinians and Israelis, and hijackers as well as victims, has attracted controversy since its 1991 premiere. Some Jewish groups have questioned the Met’s plans to present it.

The Met decided to cancel its planned Nov. 15 Live in HD transmission of “Klinghoffer” to movie theaters and a radio broadcast after discussions with the Anti-Defamation League. The league praised the Met’s decision, saying that “while the opera itself is not anti-Semitic, there is a concern the opera could be used in foreign countries to stir up anti-Israel sentiments or as a vehicle to promote anti-Semitism.”

Baby Boomers account of the foreign policy and war policy

The Most Destructive Presidencies in U.S. History: George W. Bush and Barack H. Obama

The Most Destructive Presidencies in American History, Part 2: The Fatal Incoherence of the Bush/Obama Foreign Policy

June 18, 2014

The tragic reality is the Bush II/Obama administrations have made the world a far more dangerous place.

A great many rationales have been floated for the most destructive foreign policy in American history, i.e. the fatally incoherent policies of the Bush II/Obama presidencies.

These rationales come in several flavors:

1. The official administration (public relations) rationales

2. The not-so-secret rationales of Empire and realpolitik

3. Conspiracy-type rationales proposed by outsiders

The official rationale has two basic variations:

1. The (now repudiated) Neoconservative agenda of remaking the world in our image (i.e. neoliberal democracy) with military force and nation-building.

2. The longstanding policy of hemming in hostile ideologies and empires with alliances, mutually beneficial trade arrangements and the threat of overwhelming military response to any over-reach by hostile nation-states and/or alliances.

The unspoken goal of maintaining U.S. military, diplomatic, economic and cultural dominance is the not-so-secret rationale of Global Empire. From the point of view of realpolitik, the official rationales serve as the PR facades of Empire.

Realpolitik is the unspoken underbelly of both official rationales: the essence of realpolitik is the ends justify the means: if we have to kiss up to psychopathic dictators, kleptocrats, brutal juntas, extremist groups, unsavory guns-for-hire and even regimes that are visibly hostile to American values and dominance to reach operational goals (for example kill the bad guys), so be it: we will do anything necessary to further our short-term operational goals.

The problem with this kind of short-term thinking in an incoherent strategy is that it only serves expediency: without a coherent strategy based on core values and deeply informed, clearly defined national interests based on those values, expediency inevitably leads to blowback.

In incoherent policies such as those pursued by Bush II/Obama, expedient operations lead to failures that trigger more secrecy and expediency, and there is no end to the failure born of expediency and avoidance of accountability.

Examples of conspiracy-type rationales include One-World agendas fostered by elite groups such as Bilderburg. I find these much less persuasive than good old Empire (i.e. global dominance), because we have to remember that the leadership has to have a narrative that "sells" the tens of thousands of people who are the operational core of the Empire an idealistic and idealized rationale for their sacrifice of morals, values and often their lives.

Serving an Elite agenda isn't persuasive, and neither is neocon nation-building. What sells is "fighting the enemy before they bring the battle to our Homeland" and the broad service of American Interests, i.e. #2 above: the fostering of democracy and Neoliberal Capitalism with soft power (alliances, trade, loans, etc.) and striking devastating blows to potential enemies before they can organize a strike against us.

The fundamental incoherence arises from the conflicting narratives and goals of these rationales. Precisely how can we serve American Interests by trashing the values we espouse and supporting the very psychopaths, juntas and extremists who foment the sort of instability that threaten American Interests?

If the Master Narrative of U.S. foreign policy is the ends justify the means, then clearly we have chosen our means very poorly.

This raises the larger question of whether a foreign policy that requires actively undermining our values and purported goals of democracy, open markets, stability and prosperity for all can possibly achieve its goal of maintaining Imperial dominance. If the victims of our realpolitik policies and those we have tasked with implementing them both lose faith in the American Project, then it is operationally impossible to win hearts and minds with more drone strikes, more laser-guided bombs and more alliances with the dregs of humanity.

Simplistic ideologies such as Neoconservatism fail in the complex environment of the real world. We might profitably recall that the 1960s equivalent of Neoconservatism was the "domino theory" that held that all small nation-states in a region were prone to "falling like dominoes" to Communist insurgencies, regardless of their history, culture, society, economy and form of government.

In other words, the stubborn ignorance of U.S. foreign policy based on ideological simplicities is near-infinite.

The second source of incoherence is the legalistic mindset that everything can be finessed with more words and policy refinements. This legalistic approach--so clearly the dominant mindset of the Obama administration--is one manifestation of American Exceptionalism: that not only can we remake the world in our astonishingly parochial image, but that we can control the world like we control the power structure at home: by finessing problems with legalistic subtleties ("it depends on the definition of is") and threatening overwhelming violence (just lace demonstrators with pepper spray and threaten whistleblowers with life in prison) to make the problem go away.

That this legalistic mindset guarantees failure in the real world is lost on those devoted to legalizing all of their extra-legal policies--if not in principle then in name.

Legalizing secrecy, ignorance and killing does not make magically transform these abuses of power into a successful policy. This may well summarize the Bush II/Obama administrations in history.

The vast ignorance at the heart of the Bush II/Obama foreign policy is breath-taking. We can argue about the ignorance of these two destructive presidents, but I see little to contest the ignorance of the policies and the institutions that make the operational decisions.

There are smart, well-informed and globally experienced people in the U.S. government, but they are ignored, dismissed or marginalized precisely because their knowledge threatens the incoherent mess that passes for foreign policy in these catastrophically inept presidencies.

The defining characteristic of the Bush II/Obama administrations is the reliance on secrecy--not to protect "national security" but to avoid accountability. If the operation is secret, its failure can be safely buried. This is the reason why everything is classified in the Bush II/Obama administrations: transparency and public knowledge are anathema because they enable scrutiny and analysis and eventually, accountability.

Secrecy is all about avoiding accountability. "National security" is the facade.

Secrecy is the refuge of every dictatorship, totalitarian regime and fascist junta on the planet. We need only look at the savage response of the Obama administration to whistleblowers who have risked their careers and livelihoods, not to mention their freedom, to expose the most egregious violations of the Constitution and American values to see just how dependent the Obama administration is on secrecy to avoid accountability.

Bush II was no better: using proxies (private contractors, local militia, etc.) has a long history in the U.S. Imperial Project as a way of avoiding accountability and scrutiny, but the Bush II/Obama foreign policy is totally dependent on proxies of one kind or another (consider the explosive rise in the use of killer drones, Obama's favored proxy).

The real world is not as forgiving as a bought-and-paid-for media; blowback takes many forms. The incoherence of the Bush II/Obama administrations is not only reaping horrendous harvests in the playgrounds of their Imperial ambitions, it is eroding the American public's trust in their government and the institutions that claim to protect them in a dangerous world.

The tragic reality is the Bush II/Obama administrations have made the world a far more dangerous place. That is blowback writ large.

None of this is new; it's all well-documented in the public record. The list of books written about the destructive consequences of the Bush II/Obama foreign policies is long; here is a short list of worthy titles to explore:

The Family Jewels: The CIA, Secrecy, and Presidential Power

The Way of the Knife: The CIA, a Secret Army, and a War at the Ends of the Earth

The Occupation of Iraq: Winning the War, Losing the Peace

Nemesis: The Last Days of the American Republic

Fiasco: The American Military Adventure in Iraq

Hubris: The Inside Story of Spin, Scandal, and the Selling of the Iraq War

Imperial Life in the Emerald City: Inside Iraq's Green Zone

Licensed to Kill: Hired Guns in the War on Terror

The Looming Tower: Al-Qaeda and the Road to 9/11

Imperial Hubris: Why the West Is Losing the War on Terror

State of Denial: Bush at War, Part III

Ghost Wars: The Secret History of the CIA, Afghanistan, and Bin Laden, from the Soviet Invasion to September 10, 2001

See No Evil: The True Story of a Ground Soldier in the CIA's War on Terrorism

Mass immigrant graves uncovered in Texas cemetery
Anthropologists Lori Baker and Krista Latham and their students unearthed remains in trash bags, shopping bags, body bags or without a container at all, according to the Corpus Christi Caller Times. In one burial, bones of three bodies were inside one body bag. In another, at least five people in body bags and smaller plastic bags were piled on top of each other.

Gerard wrote:Mass immigrant graves uncovered in Texas cemetery
Anthropologists Lori Baker and Krista Latham and their students unearthed remains in trash bags, shopping bags, body bags or without a container at all, according to the Corpus Christi Caller Times. In one burial, bones of three bodies were inside one body bag. In another, at least five people in body bags and smaller plastic bags were piled on top of each other.
Well no one is going to invite experts to find out details here. But there will be people who will send experts to Gujarat state to find mass graves.

So what is the meaning of finding out such graves, or for that matter even mass graves such one in UK where remains of 800 little kids were found. Obviously there is no riot going on there, now is it? People who write articles and propaganda are silent now.

This should really go into the Positive neuj thread, but I think its important enough in the context of cultural digestion and so its here (thanks to Rajiv Malhotra for that term):

'Columbusing': When White People Think They Discovered Something They Didn't

It's Really Hard to Be a Good Guy With a Gun

An analysis on what went wrong when a "good guy with a gun" tried to stop a mass murdering member of the Cliven Bundy gang who was shooting up a mall in Las Vegas.

http://www.sfgate.com/news/politics/art ... 584606.php

read the comment and see how the social setup will change in the country

svinayak wrote:http://www.sfgate.com/news/politics/art ... 584606.php

read the comment and see how the social setup will change in the country

There was a Hollywood movie in 2011 called "The Campaign". Looks like this Senate race had elements of that fictitious movie.

A tweet by ian bremmer ‏@ianbremmer · Jun 20 - US Foreign Policy, The Old Days