Delhi Case Follow-up thread

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Delhi Case Follow-up thread

Something for the dilli billis to chew on.
Sushupti wrote:53% JNU women face sexual harassment, says study

http://epaper.dnaindia.com/story.aspx?i ... &ed_page=1

ramana wrote:Danger is not due to freedom of women. Its due to lack of punishment for the perpetrators.
Hmm! Did not get that from the article at all. If anything it says women lived in fear before the modern/freedom age as well. And that a lot of cruelty was women on women.

That said yes punishment is important but bigger problem revealed in Mumbai is lack of reporting of such violence. IIRC those thugs had done the same thing half a dozen times earlier and not one of the women involved reported the crime. Eventually the situation escalated. Same thing in Delhi, it was the first time those thugs had used a bus to commit rape. Yet not one of their victims complained or if they did were not taken seriously. What kind of system is this where the victims live in fear and the criminals strut about with even their mothers and relatives defending them. Sight unseen one of the Mumbai criminals mother said it must be the victims fault as she was wearing jeans, uncovered, strange area, must be loose morals, etc. Similar things in Delhi and the execrable behavior of the defense lawyer is still fresh turd.

----------------------------

Meanwhile this sort of nonsense does not help.
It is very likely that India rape cases are actually less than the west but the data is not reliable yet.

http://nationalreport.net/assam-rape-festival-india-begins-week/
The Assam Rape Festival In India Begins This Week (Satire)

Kanpur: Eve-teasers crush teenage girl under car
A 15-year-old girl was crushed under the wheels of a car driven by eve-teasers after they failed to drag her inside the vehicle, in Shiva Ji Nagar, Nazirabad in Kanpur on Sunday.

The Class 11 student suffered multiple fractures in her leg and was admitted to KMC hospital, where she narrated the incident to her family on gaining consciousness after an hour of admission.

One accused was identified as Mohammad Zafar, son of noted builder, Mohammad Shakeel. He fled from the scene along with his accomplice after the incident, leaving the car behind.

Police reluctantly registered an FIR on charges of stalking and assaulting the girl with intent to outrage her modesty. They, however, could not make any arrest.

The girl, who resides in Shastri Nagar, was returning on her bicycle from tuition classes in Lajpat Nagar when the miscreants intercepted her and tried to drag her inside their car. The girl fell on ground and raised an alarm.

However, before help could arrive, the eve-teasers crushed her under the wheels of their car and left her seriously injured. Later, passers-by took her to hospital

On getting information about the incident, the girl’s family members rushed to the hospital from where they called the police, but the cops reached only after three hours.

The girl also told her family that the miscreants had been stalking her since many days.
There are so many things wrong with what happened that I don't know where to begin.

India Supreme Court investigates ex-judge for sexual harassment
Sinha of CBI is not the Only one
India's top court has set up a panel to investigate a law graduate's allegation that she was sexually harassed by a recently retired Supreme Court judge."The committee will... find out the facts and prepare the report," Chief Justice P Sathasivam said, when announcing the panel of three judges. The graduate, Stella James, posted a blog last week describing how the judge assaulted her in a Delhi hotel room.She said it happened last December when she was an intern with the judge."We cannot take it lightly. As the head of the institution, I am also concerned about the allegation and anxious whether the statement is true or not," Chief Justice Sathasivam said in his order on Tuesday.The three-member committee is headed by senior Justice RM Lodha and includes Justices Ranjana P Desai and HL Dattu.
A BBC correspondent says the serious charges, levelled by the young lawyer against the unnamed judge, have shocked India, particularly as the incident reportedly took place at a time when the country was witnessing huge protests over the fatal gang rape of a student in Delhi. That case forced the Indian government to strengthen its sexual violence laws.
'"Last December was momentous for the feminist movement in the country - almost an entire population seemed to rise up spontaneously against the violence on women, and the injustices of a seemingly apathetic government," Ms James wrote in her blog on 6 November for Journal of Indian Law and Society.
She went on to say that as an intern she dodged the protest barricades during that winter vacation in her final year at university to work for a "highly reputed, recently retired Supreme Court judge"."For my supposed diligence, I was rewarded with sexual assault (not physically injurious, but nevertheless violating) from a man old enough to be my grandfather. I won't go into the gory details, but suffice it to say that long after I'd left the room, the memory remained, in fact, still remains, with me." On why she went public with the incident several months after it occurred, Ms James, now a lawyer with a non-governmental organisation, wrote that although she "bore, and still bear, no real ill-will towards the man, and had no desire to put his life's work and reputation in question", she felt "a responsibility to ensure that other young girls were not put in a similar situation".

Interesting the assault victim's name is being self revealed and broadcast by press but the accused is protected by their Honors!!!!

I wonder if rape was always a problem in India and not reported, or have men gone bad in that respect and it is being reported and publicized?

Difficult question to answer. But I have a theory, which may or may not be pure BS.

I feel that Men in this country or at least the ones I have a daily interaction with are born with a sense of entitlement. Along with a resentment of women. This is a bunch which suggested that the Delhi victim was to responsible for the fate she suffered. This is bunch that feels that a woman is best suited to a role of a baby making and nurturing factory.

The other thing that they feel is that women are taking up their jobs in the office environment and taking a man's job. Which is making it hard for men to do their jobs, leading to frustration.

Also, in the inner city environments you see daily instances of eve teasing and molestation of a single female. This is a by product of social apathy. Add to that single young male taken out of his village in jobs where he is barely treated as a human being in the unorganized sector. Leading to resentment and frustration, which is capitalized by some one who is able to lead those men. With the most obvious results.

Another thing that we seem to be missing is the improved reporting of the crime. As the social stigma attached with the crime has reduced. More and more victims are comming forward and reporting the crime.

KJoishy wrote:I wonder if rape was always a problem in India and not reported, or have men gone bad in that respect and it is being reported and publicized?
This is truly the case.

Reporting rape has now increased.

the older man younger girl alone in hotel room problem is very common, and not just in india
the more powerful get away with it

A year on, the mother of the poor woman speaks - http://fridaymagazine.ae/features/the-b ... -1.1258017

KJoishy wrote:I wonder if rape was always a problem in India and not reported, or have men gone bad in that respect and it is being reported and publicized?
I feel its both

>Reporting has increased.
>Violent Sexual tendencies and opportunities to pursue those criminal intentions are on a rise in the Society.

16-yr-old gang-raped, dumped at parking lot in heart of Delhi

There is something wrong with Delhites and Delhi Police.
A 16-year-old girl was allegedly gang-raped by four to five unidentified men and dumped at a parking lot in Connaught Place in the heart of the national capital, police said on Wednesday.

Even as there have been discrepancies in the girl’s statement about the place of occurrence of the alleged crime, a case under section 376G (gang-rape) and protection of children from sexual offences (POCSO) act has been registered at the Barakhamba Road police station against unknown persons.

A senior police officer said the girl refused to undergo a medical examination.

On Sunday night the girl walked into the Connaught Place police station in a tattered condition and told the police she had been raped by four to five persons. A local NGO that assists police in crime against women cases was called to counsel the girl.

“During counseling, the girl told the NGO members that she had arrived in the city on a Delhi-Gorakhpur train after having a fight with her father and step-mother,” a police officer said on the condition of anonymity.

“She told them she arrived at New Delhi railway station in the morning and walked to Bangla Sahab Gurudwara. After eating food at the gurudwara, she roamed around in Connaught Place area till evening,” he added.
arindam

Post by arindam »

Everything's wrong with Delhi Police.

Two other rape cases on Dec 16 that were never reported
Almost three hours after the Delhi Police got to know of the brutal assault on the 16/12 gang rape case victim and her male friend, they were also informed of another gang rape of a woman in a moving bus in South West Delhi.

While the four culprits in the first case have been awarded death penalty, not even an FIR was registered in the second one. Here too the men who raped her threw her out of a moving bus.

The police neither got her medically examined nor did they trace the culprits and the vehicle involved.

Not just this, the police did not register any FIR in another incident of rape of a six-year-old girl in Kusumpur Pahari area the same day.

This was despite the fact that two calls were made to the police at 6.39 pm and 11.51 pm on December 16, 2012 from two different mobile phone numbers on rape of a five-six years girl. The calls were mentioned in Daily Dairy Report as 39A and 59B at Police Station Vasant Kunj North.

These startling revelations are part of the report of Justice Usha Mehra Commission that inquired into the lapses of the Delhi Police to fix responsibility of the Delhi gang rape. The Commission submitted its report to the UPA Government on February 22, 2013.

“This shows that Delhi police is in the habit of suppressing rape cases which are reported from the lower strata of the society and not worth investigation justifying the perception of public at large,” Justice Usha Mehra said in her report.

The first incident was reported in Wireless Logbook of South West Control Room and Dairy register at around 1.15 am on the intervening night of December 16-17 wherein it was mentioned that two-three men had beaten up and raped a woman in the bus and thrown her out after snatching her bag.

“This entry can be seen at Serial No. 83 dated December 17, 2012…it was kept for verification on the ground that they were unable to contact the husband. She was neither medically examined nor the vehicle was traced and the culprits identified and arrested,” the commission said in its report.

The second incident relating to child rape was reported to the South District Control Room at 6.39 pm and DD report no. 39A was entrusted to sub-inspector Mahesh Bhargava.

When no response was received by the caller of the incident from the police, another call was made to the police control room, which was passed to Police Station Vasant Kunj at 11.49 pm. This was recorded as DD no 59B.

In this report, the incident was described as a rape of 5-6 years old girl near the shop of a particular person in Kusum Pur Pahari. This report was too also entrusted to SI Bhargava.

The next day, SI Bhargava recorded his arrival entry in the Police Station Vasant Kunj North at about 5.45 pm as DD report 53B.

In this DD report he did not say a word as to what he did with the two reports entrusted to him regarding rape of girl child in Kusumpur Pahari when the address of the house with the nearby shop was mentioned along with the mobile number of two callers.

The Commission mentioned that in his deposition, Bhargava took completely “false stand” that these two reports of alleged rape of girl child pertained to the incident of sodomy.

“Commission has failed to understand that when report of sodomy was recorded as separate incident in DD report 35A and report 39A and other recorded as DD report 59B, how these report could have been of the same incident,” the Justice Mehra report said.

“No such record in the shape of statement of caller nor any witness has been placed on record to justify the stand of SI Mahesh Kumar that these incidents pertained to one incident only,” it said.

However, when HT dialed one of the complainants of the child rape incident, he said it was a case of sodomy and the culprit, who was arrested by the police, is currently on bail.

Today is the day of Waking up against crime against women. Let us remember the Brave Girl Jyoti Singh Pandey whose sacrifice resulted in Mass awakening and changes in Laws. The Society is yet to change its attitude as witnessed by rise in crime against women and high profile cases. Changes in Laws is not as per our wishes and perhaps some more stringent provisions are required. Laws are yet to be amended to make persons within 16-18 years of age responsible for their crimes. this loophole is yet to be closed.

Let us remember this day as Jyoti Day/Nirbhaya Day/Women Empowerment Day. I ask the Govt to eract a memorial in the memory of all such victims of crime against women.
member_22872

Post by member_22872 »

I personally feel, erecting memorials is nothing, zilch. It is more beneficial, if rapes etc are prevented more proactively and are almost made the thing of the past. That would be tribute to victims than a memorial. Memorials and statues are good only for birds to sit and take a dump. Without fixing the problem, you will end up having streets littered with memorials.

its not only the capital, its every where
"Why are they (media) reminding me of that incident again and again? I want to forget that night," the youth, who is now 18 and fears that he will be killed once he is out of the correction home, told officials who interact with him
he wants to forget it ???
"He denies his involvement in the crime and expresses concern for his parents who he claims are very poor," officials said.

"He is showing positive change," counsellors who spend time with him said. He has learnt tailoring and has enrolled in cooking and guitar classes.

One of the officials even termed him as "one of the good boys in the home."
:shock:

seriously whats wrong with us ???

venug wrote:I personally feel, erecting memorials is nothing, zilch. It is more beneficial, if rapes etc are prevented more proactively and are almost made the thing of the past. That would be tribute to victims than a memorial. Memorials and statues are good only for birds to sit and take a dump. Without fixing the problem, you will end up having streets littered with memorials.
Well . it is like creating long lasting memories lest people forget. I am yet to see a society where there is no rape despite proactively working for its prevention. If India is reminded every year of this horror by designating a Day and Memorial in an institutionalised way it will give impetus to changing the attitude of the society at large.And that is why special days are declared and memorials are erected world wide despite few having contrary opinion which may matter zilch to others.
member_22872

Post by member_22872 »

chaanakya ji, I understand what you are proposing, but pray tell me, how many times do we pay attention or pay our respects to the statues of freedom fighters standing on a busy chowk? with our busy lives we dont pay attention, and why remember them only on occasions once ever year? to what purpose? such reverence is very passive, serves no purpose may be to shed a tear or two, but then the problem remains, may be to shed more tears another day for another victim. Rather, let us, as a society never let it happen to any other girl. It sounds utopian proposition, but if we aim high we can atleast can go somewhere than passive reverence and remembrance.

Sad.

http://online.wsj.com/article/SB1000142 ... html?dsk=y
Indian policewoman Preeti Dhaka committed suicide, allegedly provoked by abuse from her husband. Her situation suggests many women are reluctant to ask for help despite India's push to reduce domestic and sexual violence
On Dec. 31, she wrote the note her sister found, which was viewed by The Wall Street Journal. She wrote that after the wedding, Mr. Mund had told her: "If you were not in the world I wouldn't be sad at all. Why can't you take a step like that so that I can be free of you and marry again?" She wrote that his sister had also asked her for more dowry and that his mother was turning Mr. Mund against her.
Ms. Dhaka's family gave her note to the police. A police official familiar with the death investigation says experts determined the handwriting is hers.

In a format reading like a legal affidavit, she began: "I Preeti Kumari Dhaka…in full cognizance, write…" She went on that Mr. Mund pressed to get a car and house from her family, saying: "If you won't give me all this, then I will shame you and I'll make it so you won't be able to show your face anywhere and I'll kill your family."

She wrote that he used trips they took together before marriage to threaten to discredit her. "I was afraid my mother and I would be shamed in front of the whole community so I couldn't do anything," she wrote.

venug wrote:chaanakya ji, I understand what you are proposing, but pray tell me, how many times do we pay attention or pay our respects to the statues of freedom fighters standing on a busy chowk? with our busy lives we dont pay attention, and why remember them only on occasions once ever year? to what purpose? such reverence is very passive, serves no purpose may be to shed a tear or two, but then the problem remains, may be to shed more tears another day for another victim. Rather, let us, as a society never let it happen to any other girl. It sounds utopian proposition, but if we aim high we can atleast can go somewhere than passive reverence and remembrance.
Well I do as many times as I see them. People ,who forget history , repeat it.

A reminder folks. Pls act to get the juvenile hanged. We must NOT let him walk away
member_22872

Post by member_22872 »

I wont doubt desh bakht in you. Repeat what? Rape? After 66 years of independence, women still dont have the freedom to walk at night in many cities in India, mainly in Delhi. In these 66 years so many women got raped and even died. Say for argument sake, if we had constructed statues for the unfortunate victims since independence, the problem would have got solved today? And how much money would you spend on each such statue? And to what end? Pay your respects? You will construct another statue for another victim next time and pay respects? What use are crocodile tears when the problem remains and we only are good at remembering victims.

Rahul Mehta wrote:A reminder folks. Pls act to get the juvenile hanged. We must NOT let him walk away
RM, Don't incite murder.

If I assume you mean legally, at least mention that the law under which you might accomplish this.

I spent some time in late late 90's Delhi, and we went out in mixed company even at night. Did not see much of the stuff being talked about. Our move zone was the entire stretch along the south, east and north - starting from mehrauli. From mid 2000's began to see a drastic change. We nearly disposed off a "stalker", and that quietened a certain road for some time. Maybe citizen's "voluntary" action will go a long way. That is my experience at least. Don't wait for the "police" - they will delay, fudge, and seek higher-ups blessings before moving. Make it natural and inevitable. Accidents always happen - just like perhaps what will be attempted and successfully shown in the girl crushed case.

My parents tell me that in the larger cities of WB and Bihar and what was then part of MP, and Orissa - women could go out at night safely. It went to the drains once the Naxal's started to be tackled by the Kongshals, and congrez wonderkids like SSRay and co. Their chelas used their hand skills too on women - and a general degradation and devaluation of women started off.

The police were a large part of the process too. Under the congresi benevolence the officers began to indulge more freely in their sadistic tastes, especially sexual perversion and degradation on women - something already encouraged by the Brits in the last days of the Raj. [stripping women interogatees in the presence of male officers, hanging by wrists while naked, whipping, or inserting batons, chilli powder, live rats, and rape by convicts and jail inmates was the sort of thing I came across in my story collections from the experiences at the hands of the wonderfully noble BIA during 42].

But the 65-75 period saw a total downhill slide. The finesse and hyperfine subtelities of torture-rape [think of the woman being forced to count out loud the thrusts] used by the security forces, are so graphic that the women could not have imagined them. Some of the guys involved boasted the same under alchohol - so it was a confirmation for me. My ideas of what the uniforms can mean and what they can do - were formed in direct visceral touch from that formative period of my life. Hence my conviction that the continuity with the British state - unless overturned, personnel, and a new state administration built up from scratch by rejecting all who have served with the older continuity system - this slide will never stop.

The state deliberately used this sort of assault on women culture as a weapon of war to crush dissent, and it legitimized violence and rape and humiliation of women as a culture. Just as the older sultanate/mughal power centres show a greater non-chalance towards rape and sex-slavery.

Most common folks of my childhood, and teenage years - more so in the rural wild spaces - were against rape, and it was not a common phenomena. The rare cases that happened, the culprit would almost surely disappear for ever.

Bji, Do you recall the shameful episode of the mass rapes at Rabindra stadium to discredit the CPM govt? The leaders of the Congress at that time were Priya Ranajan Das Munshi and another turd. Kolkata went down hill after that.

SS Ray who wraps himself in an effiminate shawl was at Delhi and later became the CM.
member_22872

Post by member_22872 »

I remember two episodes that are still in my memory :

1.When I was a kid, my neighbor tried to molest another kid in the neighborhood when she came to play with his kids. The whole colony was at his door ready to tear him apart, the shouts and commotion, I cannot forget.
2. My friend's sister was tormented by local thugs when ever she tried to board the bus and her father was beaten when he tried to prevent them.

And both the episodes happened in broad daylight.

I really feel sad for Indian women.

They get raped in Delhi, Goa and New York.

And idiot cretins including some members justify these crimes coming up with stupid reasons from a Macaulayised education and misplaced sense of loyalty to co-religionists.

venug wrote:
I wont doubt desh bakht in you. Repeat what? Rape? After 66 years of independence, women still dont have the freedom to walk at night in many cities in India, mainly in Delhi. In these 66 years so many women got raped and even died. Say for argument sake, if we had constructed statues for the unfortunate victims since independence, the problem would have got solved today? And how much money would you spend on each such statue? And to what end? Pay your respects? You will construct another statue for another victim next time and pay respects? What use are crocodile tears when the problem remains and we only are good at remembering victims.
Repeat History , if you know the well know quote.
Anyway that is not what I would call Deshbhakta, but a genuine respect for people which contributed unlike many who crib. I do the same for people from other countries as well if their statues are there .i.e pay respect to their contribution and remember. It too one heinous rape to raise/awakening to result in changes in laws. She deserves that much. A nd unless male members change their attitude towards women, crime against women would not stop not in India and not in US or any other country. And if one person, you yourself change the attitude and encourage others to change , things will surely change.

IIT-Madras suspends professor after student alleges sexual harassment
CHENNAI: The board of governors of IIT-Madras has suspended a professor on charges of sexually harassing a research scholar who accompanied him on an academic tour of Europe in September. The suspension followed a probe by the complaints committee against sexual harassment of the institute which said B Ramamoorthy, a professor of mechanical engineering, behaved in "an improper manner, displaying what may be referred to as mala fide intentions towards a student who trusted him".

The research scholar had complained that the professor, with whom she had gone to Poland for a science conference in September this year, asked her to sleep in his hotel room. The student alleged she left the hotel after the professor tried to force himself on her at night.

Sources said the IIT-M governing body decided to suspend the professor based on recommendations of the inquiry report submitted two months ago. She had been through "severe depression and weight loss" in the weeks following the incident, according to statements of her friends, as recorded by the inquiry committee.

It found that the professor told the student to stay in his room and that she accepted it with the knowledge of her mother and a friend, since she didn't find anything wrong in sharing a room in a city in Southern Poland. The professor told the inquiry committee that he suggested her to stay with him considering her safety, and because she did not have enough money to pay for a room, said a source close to the panel. However, the inquiry found that after she left the room, he did not call her or try to find about her whereabouts to know if she was safe.

Ramamoorthi was not available for comment.

IIT-M director Bhaskar Ramamurthy and registrar VG Bhooma refused to reply to queries from TOI. A statement from the registrar's office said: "As per section 16 of the Sexual Harassment of Women at Workplace (Prevention, Prohibition and Redressal) Act, 2013, details regarding complaint of sexual harassment, if any, cannot be disclosed. In the light of the above, IIT-Madras is not in a position to give any details of complaints of sexual harassment received by us, whether past or present."

It said any complaint received is immediately forwarded to the complaints committee against sexual harassment which independently inquires into them.

Meanwhile...

The entire system including society once again conspired against the poor victim.
Incredibly one of the accused is again miraculously a juvenile. Any bets on the latest juvenile being the prime accused.

Juvenile law must be reformed.

Also wondering if the cruelly low female sex ratio has has something to do with this pattern of atrocity.

http://www.usatoday.com/story/news/worl ... s/4296417/
Six Indian men face murder charges after a 16-year-old Indian girl they are accused of gang raping twice in October died Tuesday, a week after she said two suspects had set her on fire, according to police and news reports.

An autopsy revealed the girl was pregnant, the Hindustan Times reported. DNA tests are being conducted to determine if one of the suspects was responsible.
The girl told West Bengal police the suspects first raped her Oct. 25 in Madhyamgram, outside Kolkata, and then again the next night on her way home after filing a complaint at the local the police station. One suspect is 17 years old, the Indian Express reported.

http://www.foxnews.com/world/2014/01/12 ... for-women/
India makes first gun designed for women
An Indian gun manufacturer has made its first gun intended to help women defend themselves against rape.According to The Times of India, the Indian Ordnance Factory (IOF) has manufactured Nirbheek, a .32 bore lightweight revolver. The gun is India's first firearm designed for women.It is the factory’s first handgun made of titanium alloy and weighs 500 grams.The gun was released on Jan. 6, and is named in tribute to Nirbhaya, the pseudonym of the 23-year-old victim of a 2012 brutal gang rape in Delhi, the paper reported.The Nirbheek is priced at 122, 360 rupees, or about $2,000, and the factory, which is based in Kanpur, has already received about 20 orders. Eighty more people have inquired about the new firearm."At least 80 percent of bookings are from women licensees," says Abdul Hameed, general manager of IOF.The gun is being described by firearms experts as a hybrid of Webley & Scott and Smith & Wesson, for its simple mechanism and light frame. It is the smallest revolver made in India and is made to easily fit a purse or a small handbag.

Tehelka case: Goa police may file chargesheet by January end
PANAJI: Goa police are expected to sum up their investigations in the sexual assault case allegedly involving Tehelka founder editor Tarun Tejpal and file a chargesheet by this month end, an official said here on Sunday.

"The investigations in the case are almost in the final stage," the senior crime branch official said.

"We are waiting for the forensic report of the gadgets seized from Tejpal. The chargesheet would be filed by this month end," he said.

The crime branch during its investigation had seized gadgets like mobile, laptop of Tejpal which were used to communicate, after the alleged offence took place.

Tejpal’s bail plea: Act ‘consensual’ since colleague a ‘modern woman
Disposing a bail application filed by Tehelka founder Tarun Tejpal, arrested on the charge of sexually assaulting a junior colleague, a Goa sessions court has rejected the defence argument that the alleged act was consensual and not criminal since the victim was a “liberated, emancipated modern woman”.
:shock:
In a 21-page order on January 15, sessions court judge Anuja Prabhudesai said the “victim’s statement is genuine”. “The persona of the victim and her social strata are not relevant to decide the (bail application). Similarly, the fact that she is liberated, emancipated modern woman who demanded (a) written apology rather than suffering in silence are no grounds to believe that she was not traumatised or that the act was consensual or could be consensual. Even on merit, the character of the victim or the past conduct… or the alleged aftermath on the stormy evening would not be relevant for deciding the issue of consent,” the order stated.

I guess TT is an antediluvian pre-modern rapist who thought she was available meat!!!

Come on ramana sir, she was asking for it. I mean she stayed out late, drank liquor, was edumacated, had boyfriends too probably, and who knows maybe even wore sleeveless shirts and jeans. I mean isn't that like a clarion call to be "finger-tipped"? Who cares that she was his own daughter's age and friend. Surely a modern woman is asking for it, just like how white woman are easy and always looking for someone to have sex with.

Calling them neanderthals is an insult to neanderthals frankly.

Edit: after sage advice by ramana sir, all that was sarcastic and not meant to be taken literally even if there are many who will so put the same nonsense and be one hundred per cent stood and hold those beliefs.
Last edited by Prasad on 20 Jan 2014 08:07, edited 1 time in total.

Prasad, Put an emoticon or some one will mistake you and go on tirade.

Delhi high court upholds death penalty for 4 convicts in December 16 gang-rape case

About six months after a Delhi fast-track court awarded the death penalty to four convicts in the December 16 gang rape-cum-murder of a paramedic student, the Delhi high court on Thursday upheld the sentence.

Their lawyer said he would appeal in the Supreme Court against the death sentence awarded to Vinay Sharma, Pawan Gupta, Akshay Thakur and Mukesh Singh.

chaanakya wrote:Delhi high court upholds death penalty for 4 convicts in December 16 gang-rape case

About six months after a Delhi fast-track court awarded the death penalty to four convicts in the December 16 gang rape-cum-murder of a paramedic student, the Delhi high court on Thursday upheld the sentence.

Their lawyer said he would appeal in the Supreme Court against the death sentence awarded to Vinay Sharma, Pawan Gupta, Akshay Thakur and Mukesh Singh.
I heard the defence lawyer arguing that the court did not take into consideration the fact that the girl's bladder was not injured so the whole verdict was suspicious.

However, as a person who knows some of this stuff I feel constrained to point out to any non-doctor, non-surgeon friends that the lawyer is talking through his hat. I will illustrate with an image.

In the image below a woman is shown cut right though the middle. She is facing left, so the bladder and pee passage ("urethra") are in front, on the left. Behind that, in order, going to the right are the vagina and behind that is the rectum or shit passage sitting just in front of the spine bone ("sacrum") on the far right.

Note that the vagina is a passage that goes towards the back as it goes up. It does not go straight up and in. If it did sex would be impossible. Right at the top of the vagina sits the uterus which actually sits at an angle so that the top of the uterus points forward.

What this means in practise is that when a penis or an iron rod (was used by the rapists of poor Nirbhaya) is inserted in the vagina it slides in backwards until the tip lies well away from the bladder which is in front. When forced further the rod simply tears through the top of the vaginal vault and enters the rectum, making shit leak out leading to massive damage and life threatening infection, which is what Nirbhaya had. Intestines can also poke out through such a hole, which is also what she had. sorry to be graphic but the defence lawyer is spouting his ignorant stuff on TV. He is wrong.

Last edited by shiv on 13 Mar 2014 22:33, edited 1 time in total.

Jhujar wrote:http://www.foxnews.com/world/2014/01/12 ... for-women/
India makes first gun designed for women
An Indian gun manufacturer has made its first gun intended to help women defend themselves against rape.According to The Times of India, the Indian Ordnance Factory (IOF) has manufactured Nirbheek, a .32 bore lightweight revolver. The gun is India's first firearm designed for women.It is the factory’s first handgun made of titanium alloy and weighs 500 grams.The gun was released on Jan. 6, and is named in tribute to Nirbhaya, the pseudonym of the 23-year-old victim of a 2012 brutal gang rape in Delhi, the paper reported.The Nirbheek is priced at 122, 360 rupees, or about $2,000, and the factory, which is based in Kanpur, has already received about 20 orders. Eighty more people have inquired about the new firearm."At least 80 percent of bookings are from women licensees," says Abdul Hameed, general manager of IOF.The gun is being described by firearms experts as a hybrid of Webley & Scott and Smith & Wesson, for its simple mechanism and light frame. It is the smallest revolver made in India and is made to easily fit a purse or a small handbag.

No suitable weapon for the Indian Armed forces but something for women??

I heard the defence lawyer arguing that the court did not take into considerartion the fact that the girl's bladder was not injured so the whole verdict was suspicious.

Thanks Shiv garu for illustrating that

I shudder to even think of what was done to Jyoti. I hope they are hanged before this year ends.

chaanakya wrote:
I heard the defence lawyer arguing that the court did not take into considerartion the fact that the girl's bladder was not injured so the whole verdict was suspicious.

Thanks Shiv garu for illustrating that

I shudder to even think of what was done to Jyoti. I hope they are hanged before this year ends.
I would prefer them to be tortured to death, but I'll settle for hanging. I specifically don't want media in future - esp foreign saying things like how justice was subverted - using the defence lawyers argument. He may be doing his job, but I am doing mine.