The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
joygoswami

Re: Bakistan: Emirate of New-clear Inquilabi States-Bojitiv

Post by joygoswami »

Bhat ijj wrang bith da hair of jaleebi !!?? :eek:

^^^ You know warnings are needed for boasting jalebi bichhars?

Also, who will bakistan lose to -- zimbabwe or UAE?

Yogi_G wrote:chinese friendjinns are very deeper than pole masha allah.

Chinese biladels named year as year of GOAT!!! supanallah!!
the deeper than rectum sweeter than jalebi friendship suarly knows no bounds?!?!
RCase

Post by RCase »

Shreeman wrote:^^^ You know warnings are needed for boasting jalebi bichhars?

Also, who will bakistan lose to -- zimbabwe or UAE?
UAE ij home field. Hence Bakistan cannot lose either way!
RCase

Post by RCase »

Ab Bakistan ka kiya hoga? Na bijli, na paani, na television!

Supanallah! Television mukht Bakistan! Creeping along to the seventh century. :rotfl:

Sharjah hai naa? Doobai make bakis improve records with hat-tricks and wins and other baki records.
RCase

Post by RCase »

To celeprate Cheen biladel's year of goat, Bakistanese will eat only grass and give up goat biryani for the year.

Queschun: Will the Baki mards also give up goat efffing?

Bhat ij common petween bakistan and londonistan ?
Poth are no. 1 from pelow in their resbective groups.
Take this joo koofars. Now the queen of londonistan must send 72 prit hooris to my cave comblex.

I feel this fits in here better:
C Christine Fair wrote: IPOL 376-01
Pakistan: Caught Between the Masjid, the Military and Militants Fall 2013
Professor: C. Christine Fair, Ph.D.
Background to Pakistan and this Course
Pakistan has been unrelenting – yet consistently unsuccessful – in its efforts to take control of Indian- administered Kashmir. Pakistan initiated three wars over Kashmir (in 1947-48, 1965, and 1999) and, in an effort to coerce India to make some concession on the disposition of the region, it has supported an array of Islamist militant proxies which operate in Kashmir and throughout India. Motivated by a neuralgic fear of India, since the 1960s Pakistan has employed Islamist proxies in Afghanistan in an attempt to limit India’s political influence and physical presence there.
Despite Pakistan’s failure to make even modest progress towards attaining Kashmir, in recent decades Pakistan’s revisionist goals have actually broadened in scope. Since the early 1970s, Pakistan has sought to resist, if not outright retard, India’s inevitable, if uneven, ascendance, both in the region and beyond. Despite the fact that India decisively defeated Pakistan in the 1971 war, with half of Pakistan’s territory and population lost when East Pakistan became Bangladesh, Pakistan continues to view itself as India’s peer competitor and demands that it be treated as such by the United States and others.
Having failed to win any of its wars with India or to marshal the diplomatic or political resources to change the status quo, Pakistan has pursued a nuclear capability since the 1970s. The Pakistani nuclear program and Pakistan’s notorious history of proliferating to other states (epitomized by Abdul Qadeer Khan’s nuclear black-marketeering), has long been a source of discomfort for the United States and other international actors. As Pakistan’s nuclear weapons program advanced from an incipient capability towards a covert nuclear program, and finally into an overt nuclear deterrent, Pakistan has become increasingly confident in its use of Islamist militancy as a tool of foreign policy. Its nuclear deterrent raises the cost of any Indian punitive campaign in retaliation against an attack emanating from Pakistan linked militants and thus diminishes the chance of a conventional conflict. Pakistan’s rapidly expanding nuclear arsenal—which includes tactical nuclear weapons—also ensures that the United States and other international actors will intervene as early as possible in any future conflict with India. Pakistan’s possession of nuclear weapons, along with international fears of further proliferation (whether accidental or deliberate) provide it with virtual impunity in its use of jihadi proxies while at the same time ensuring that the international community is unlikely to leave Pakistan to its own dangerous devices.
Given the army’s long domination of the state – and the army’s long association with Islamist militancy and nuclear proliferation – policy discourse on Pakistan is obsessed with the possibility that the army will split under the strain of Islamism. Policy makers and analysts have long worried about
the purported Islamization of the Pakistan Army, fearing that some Pakistani military personnel may support Islamist terrorism in the region and beyond. Others frequently link this supposed greater Islamization with deepening anti-Americanism within the army. Since the army will remain Pakistan’s center of gravity for the policy-relevant future, it continues to receive the bulk of attention.
This course aims to provide a deep dive into Pakistan’s origins. During this semester, we will first study the conditions that gave rise to the state in the first instance, including the important role of communal and identity politics. We will then explore the processes of partition and its legacy for Pakistan. We will seek to understand how and why Pakistan descended into authoritarianism whereas India developed into a (sometimes problematic but nonetheless robust) democracy. We will also seek to understand the origins of the Pakistan army’s strategic goals and the tools with which it has sought to pursue those goals. Finally, we will explore the fraught relations between Pakistan and the United States.
Course Learning Goals
 Understand the conditions that gave rise to Pakistan as the British departed South Asia.
 Develop an appreciation of the enduring influence of the Partition of the sub-continent and its
consequences.
 Compare and contrast various competing accounts for the rise of authoritarianism in Pakistan
and the chronic weaknesses of its democratic institutions.
 Become acquainted with Pakistan’s security perceptions and the objectives and the tools it has
developed to secure them.
 Grasp the role of Islam in the state since 1947.
 Garner insights into the myriad Islamist groups—including militant groups—the state has
developed since 1947.
 Review the fraught history of US-Pakistan relations.
This is not a course on “current events.” If you expect that we will devote considerable time to what is in the newspaper, this is not the course for you. The course aims to enable you to understand the current events in the region. You are welcome to raise events that arise that are salient to the topics under study in a given week as well as events that are momentous for the region that do not particularly relate to the topics of the week. These will be rare and must indeed be momentous rather than quotidian events that characterize the region.
This is not a lecture-style course; rather, it is a seminar. I expect all students to come prepared and engage in a class that is structured around questions and answers to illuminate key aspects of the course. While I will end the course discussion with key takeaways, you are expected to fully contribute.
Assessing Learning
To assess students’ progress in meeting this course’s learning objectives, students will take two quizzes, described below. Students will also write a final analytical paper on a topic to be determined at a later date.
Quizzes: There will be two quizzes that will be comprised of short answer and essay questions. These exams will be “take home,” open book, and open-net BUT time-limited. They will be administered via Blackboard. Collaboration is expressly forbidden and will be treated as an honor code violation. Quizzes that are submitted late will receive a failing grade. Because glitches do happen, save the confirmation email you will receive when the quiz is submitted. Always include yourself on the CC line as evidence. The onus will be on you to provide evidence of timely submission.
Final Paper: Students will submit a 15-page final paper for this course. I expect you to rely upon course readings rather than conduct extensive research outside of the scope of the course.
Procedures for Submitting Final Paper
o All students must ensure that their name and email appears on all materials submitted for review.
o ALL documents must be submitted in Word — not PDF — as I use the “Track Changes” function for feedback. Also, ensure that pages are numbered.
o ALL documents should be double spaced, 12-pt font, with one inch margins.
o Failure to adhere to the maximum page length and parameters will be penalized by a one-third letter grade deduction. For example, an A paper will become A-. This is to ensure that everyone has the same space within which they can make an effective
argument (See paper writing guidelines in Appendix B).
Policy on Lateness: Late papers will be subject to grade diminution, unless there is an extraordinary circumstance (e.g. illness). Papers will lose one full letter grade for each day late. Thus after one day delay, an A paper becomes a B paper. After two days, it becomes a C paper.
Class Participation and Commentary: Students are expected to participate actively in class discussions. Class participation includes completing assigned readings, attending all classes (unless a student is ill or has some other emergency), and contributing to class discussion.
I strongly encourage you to take notes on the readings to facilitate recall and discussion during class. Please note the main argument of the readings, the empirical bases for their argument, specific important details, and whether you agree or disagree with the theses advanced.
Final course grades
You will receive grades commensurate with the quality of the work irrespective of the performance of others in the class. (That is: this course is not graded on a curve.) For a sample of grading criteria, please see Appendix A.
10%: For class participation, which is defined by attendance (5%) and completing readings and contributing to class discussions (5%).
20%: First quiz. 20%: Second quiz
50%: Final paper
Policy on Grade Disputes: I make every effort to be fair, but grading of products for this course is ultimately subjective. If you believe that I was unfair in my assessment, you must request a reconsideration of your grade within 48 hours of receiving your grade. However, be aware that while I may have mistakenly assessed your paper downward by overlooking some critical virtue(s), I may also have missed serious flaws upon first review and unfairly assessed it upward. My re-grade of your paper will reflect the results of this review, be it positive, negative, or neutral. Make your case wisely.
Required Books
 Stephen P. Cohen, The Idea of Pakistan (Washington D.C.: Brookings, 2004).
 Husain Haqqani, Pakistan: Between Mosque and Military (Washington, D.C.: Carnegie,
2005).
 Ayesha Jalal. The State of Martial Rule: The Origins of Pakistan’s Political Economy of
Defense (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1990).
 Yasmin Khan. The Great Partition: The Making of India and Pakistan (New Haven: Yale
University Press, 2007).
 Dennis Kux. The United States and Pakistan: 1947-2000 (Washington D.C.: Woodrow Wilson
Press, 2001).
 Bruce Riedel. Deadly Embrace: Pakistan, America, and the Future of the Global Jihad
(Washington D.C.: Brookings Institution Press, 2012).
 Ian Talbot. Pakistan: A Modern History (New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2010).
Notes
If you have a documented physical or learning disability, I will be glad to make appropriate accommodations. Please contact me by so that we can discuss these arrangements.
If you anticipate any conflicts between this schedule and your religious obligations, please inform me so that we can make alternate arrangements.
Academic honesty
Please be certain that you understand Georgetown’s policy on academic honesty. The relevant section of the Graduate Bulletin is at:
http://gervaseprograms.georgetown.edu/h ... 53516.html. Note the Standards of Conduct available at:
http://gervaseprograms.georgetown.edu/h ... 53519.html.
According to the Standards of Conduct noted above, Plagiarism is defined as 4

“Plagiarism, in any of its forms, and whether intentional or unintentional, violates standards of academic integrity. Plagiarism is the act of passing off as one’s own the ideas or writings of another (see "What is Plagiarism?"). While different academic disciplines have different modes for attributing credit, all recognize and value the contributions of individuals to the general corpus of knowledge and expertise. Students are responsible for educating themselves as to the proper mode of attributing credit in any course or field. Faculty may use various methods to assess the originality of students' work. For example, faculty may submit a student's work to electronic search engines, including Turnitin.com, a service to which the Honor Council and the Provost subscribe. Note that plagiarism can be said to have occurred without any affirmative showing that a student’s use of another’s work was intentional.”
Course Outline Class 1 (Wed. Aug. 28): The Raj and the Demand for Pakistan
Thomas Metcalf, Imperial Connections: India in the Indian Ocean Arena (Berkeley and Los Angeles: U. of California Press, 2007), pp. 1-15 (Introduction).
Stanley Wolpert, A New History of India (New York: OUP, 1994): 187-350.
R.J. Moore, “Jinnah and the Pakistan Demand,” Modern Asian Studies, Vol. 17, No. 4 (1983): 529-
Ian Talbot, Pakistan: A Modern History, Chapter 1-4 (pp. 1-94).
Ayesha Jalal, The State of Martial Rule: The Origins of Pakistan’s Political Economy of Defence (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1990): pp.9-24.
Class 2 (Mon. Sept. 9): Cracking the Raj - Partition & Portents of Conflict
Rabia Umar Ali, Empire in Retreat: The Story of India’s Partition (Karachi: OUP, 2012):1-148. Yasmin Khan, The Great Partition: The Making of India and Pakistan, pp. 1-128, 205-210.
Shereen Ilahi, “The Radcliffe Boundary Commission and the Fate of Kashmir,” India Review Vol. 2, No. 1 (2003): 77-102.
Ayesha Jalal, The State of Martial Rule, pp. 25-44.
Indian Independence Act of 1947, original text available at
http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/194 ... 030_en.pdf.
Class 3 (Mon. Sept. 16): Pakistan - Born an Insecure State
Husain Haqqani, Pakistan: Between Mosque and Military (Washington D.C.: CEIP, 2005): pp. 1-50. Ayesha Jalal, The State of Martial Rule, pp. 49-135.
Ian Talbot. Pakistan. Chapter 4, pp. 95-124.
Hasan-Askari Rizvi, Military, State and Society in Pakistan (New York: Palgrave, 2000): pp. 1-56
Class 4 (Mon. Sept. 23): Pakistan’s Ill-fated Democracy
Ian Talbot, Pakistan. Chapters 5-7, pp. 125-214.
Ayesha Jalal, The State of Martial Rule, pp. 136-276.
Christophe Jaffrelot, “India and Pakistan: Interpreting the Divergence of Two Political Trajectories,” Cambridge Review of International Affairs, Vol. 15, No. 2 (July 2002): pp. 251-267.
Hasan-Askari Rizvi, Military, State and Society in Pakistan (New York: Palgrave, 2000): 57-120. Class 5 (Mon. Sept. 30): Kashmir Background and Wars: Enduring Rivalry?
T.V. Paul, “Causes of the India-Pakistan Enduring Rivalry,” in T.V. Paul Ed. The India-Pakistan Conflict (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2005), pp. 3-24.
Vali Nasr, “National Identities and the India-Pakistan Conflict,” in T.V. Paul, ed., The India-Pakistan Conflict: An Enduring Rivalry (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2005), pp. 178-201.
Sumit Ganguly, Conflict Unending: India-Pakistan Tensions Since 1947, pp. 15-50.
Shuja Nawaz, “The First Kashmir War Revisited,” India Review, Vol. 7, No. 2, Pages 115 -154,
(2008).
Sumantra Bose, Kashmir: Roots of Conflict, Paths to Peace (Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 2003): 14-101.
Class 6 (Mon. Oct. 7): Breaking Pakistan
Sumit Ganguly, Conflict Unending: India-Pakistan Tensions Since 1947, pp. 51-78
Husain Haqqani, Pakistan: Between Mosque and Military, pp. 57-129.
Owen Bennett Jones, Eye of the Storm (New Haven: Yale University Press, 2002), pp. 146-186.
Christophe Jaffrelot, “East Bengal: Between Islam and Regional Identity,” in Christophe Jaffrelot Ed. A History of Pakistan and Its Origins, (London: Anthem, 2002): pp. 39-60.
Hasan-Askari Rizvi, Military, State and Society in Pakistan (New York: Palgrave, 2000): 121-141. The First Quiz is Due on Oct. 7 at 5 pm.
Class 7 (Oct. 21): The Rise of Zia and the Increasing Role of Islam in the Army
Ian Talbot, Pakistan, Chapters 8 and 9, pp. 215-283. 6
Owen Bennett Jones, Pakistan: Eye of the Storm (New Haven: Yale University Press, 2002): 250-280. Farzana Shaikh, Making Sense of Pakistan (London: Hurst, 2009): pp. 81-15; 147-179.
Hasan-Askari Rizvi, Military, State and Society in Pakistan, pp. 165-188.
Ayesha Jalal, The State of Martial Law, pp. 277-328.
Husain Haqqani, Pakistan, pp.131-157.
Class 8 (Oct. 28): The Soviet Jihad and the Birth of the Taliban
Husain Haqqani, Pakistan: Between Mosque and Military, pp.159-197.
Rizwan Hussain, Pakistan and the Emergence of Islamic Militancy in Afghanistan (Burlington: Ashgate, 2005), pp. 93-164; 165-238.
Barnett Rubin, Fragmentation of Afghanistan (New Haven: Yale University Press,1992): 178-280. Robert D. Crews and Amin Tarzi, “Introduction,” in Robert D. Crews and Amin Tarzi Eds. The
Taliban and the Crisis of Afghanistan (Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 2008): pp. 1-59. Abdulkader Sinno, “Explaining the Taliban’s Ability to Mobilize the Pashtuns,” in Crews and Tarzi
Ed., pp. 59-89.
Naematollah Nojumi, “The Rise and Fall of the Taliban,” in Crews and Tarzi Ed., pp. 9.-117.
Class 9 (Mon. Nov. 4): Islamization of Pakistan and its Impacts
Anatol Lieven, Pakistan: A Hard Country (London: Penguin, 2011), pp. 3-40 (Chapter 1). Mariam Abou Zahab, “The Regional Dimension of Sectarian Conflicts in Pakistan,” in Christophe
Jaffrelot Ed. Pakistan: Nationalism Without a Nation? (London: Zed, 2002), pp.115-128.
S. V. R. Nasr, “The Rise of Sunni Militancy in Pakistan: The Changing Role of Islamism and the
Ulama in Society and Politics,” Modern Asian Studies, Vol. 34, No. 1, pp. 139-180 (2000).
Mariam Abou Zahab and Olivier Roy, Islamist Networks: The Afghan-Pakistan Connection (London:
Hurst, 2002): pp.12-82.
Class 10 (Mon. Nov. 11): Nuclearization of South Asia
Samina Ahmed, “Pakistan's Nuclear Weapons Program: Turning Points and Nuclear Choices,” International Security, Vol. 23, No. 4, pp. 178-204 (1999).
Sumit Ganguly, “Nuclear Stability in South Asia,” International Security (Fall 2008), Vol. 33, No. 2: 45–70.
Sumit Ganguly, Conflict Unending: India-Pakistan Tensions Since 1947, pp. 101-145. 7
S. Paul Kapur, Dangerous Deterrent: Nuclear Weapons Proliferation and Conflict in South Asia. Pp. 1-140.
Praveen Swami, India, Pakistan and the Secret Jihad (London: Routledge, 2007). pp. 172-205; 236- 239.
Timothy Hoyt, “Kargil: The Nuclear Dimension,” in Peter R. Lavoy Ed. Asymetric Warfare in South Asia (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press,2009): 146-170
Class 11 (Mon. Nov. 18): Pakistan and the GWOT
C. Christine Fair and Seth G. Jones, “Pakistan’s War Within,” Survival, Vol. 51, No. 5 (2009). Ashley J. Tellis, Pakistan and the War on Terror: Conflicted Goals, Compromised Performance
(Washington D.C.: CEIP, January 2008).
Bruce Riedel, Deadly Embrace: Pakistan, America, and the Future of Global Jihad (Washington: Brookings Institution, 2012).
Ayesha Siddiqa, “Pakistan’s Counterterrorism Strategy: Separating Friends from Enemies,” The Washington Quarterly, Vol.34, No.1 (2011): pp. 149-162
Paul Staniland, “Caught in the Muddle: America’s Pakistan Strategy,” The Washington Quarterly Vol.34, No.1 (2011): pp. 133-148.
C. Christine Fair, “The Militant Challenge in Pakistan,” Asia Policy, Vol. 11 (January 2011): pp. 105- 137.
Seth G. Jones, “Pakistan’s Dangerous Game,” Survival, Vol. 49, No. 1, March 2007, pp. 15–32. Class 12 (Mon. Nov. 25): Civil Military Relations in the Ideological State
Talbot, Pakistan, Chapter 10-12, pp.327-440.
Haqqani, Pakistan, pp. 199-311
Cohen, The Idea of Pakistan, pp. 97-160
Class 13 (Mon. Dec. 2): US-Pakistan Relations
Dennis Kux, The United States and Pakistan, pp. 1-115, 147-320. The Second Quiz is due on Dec. 6 at 5 pm.
Final Papers Due at 5 pm on December 11, 2013.
Paper Topics:
I suggest several topics below. You can either use one of these topics, or select a topic on your own. If you chose this option, I suggest that you discuss your topic with me. You can always submit papers earlier than the noted deadline if that suits your schedule.
As there are usually no right or wrong answers, papers will be judged on the soundness of the argument, robustness of data mobilized to support the argument, and the suitability of the methodology of analysis employed. Remember: all papers must present evidence for the argument.
Suggested Topics – these will be updated and expanded on the basis of class discussion before the final exam:
- Identify key inheritances from the Raj which you believe influenced Pakistani state behavior, and explain how these imperial legacies did so.
- Explain the failure of the Muslim League to transform from an “independence movement” into a political party. Compare with the Indian National Congress.
- Explain Pakistan’s descent into autocracy. Are comparisons to India’s democratic development fair? Why or why not?
- How did partition influence the army’s thinking about India?
- Is Kashmir the cause or symptom of the Indo-Pakistan Security competition?
- Why has the Pakistan Army become a driver in Pakistani governance while the Indian army has
remained subject to civilian control and on the periphery of power in India?
- What prospects exist for U.S. transformative policies towards Pakistan to fructify?
- Can India meaningfully and positively influence Pakistani strategic perceptions and decision-
making?
- Under what conditions, if any, can Pakistan accept Afghanistan as a neighbor rather than a
client and abandon its long-standing use of Islamist and/or militant actors to prosecute its
interests in Afghanistan?
- How will the rise of India affect Pakistan’s strategic calculus and policy? How will the rise of
India influence future Pakistani behavior in the region? Will Pakistan acquiesce to an ever more dominant India and seek some sort of accommodation, or will it become ever more recalcitrant, relying upon unconventional means to achieve its objectives? Are there other options that Pakistan may develop to counter a rising India?
- What role does the Pakistan Army play in shaping the ideology of Pakistan, and with what consequences?
Appendix A: Sample Explanation of Grading Criteria
Grade GPA A 4.0
A- 3.67
B+ 3.33
B 3.0
B- 2.67
C+ 2.33
C 2.0
F 0.0
Brilliant and original work; nearly publishable. Commendably clear and thoroughly analytical; comprehensively supported by, and systematically substantiated with, voluminous empirical evidence.
Excellent work; powerful analysis with distinctive, well- structured argument; critical and full awareness of the literature alongside masterful use of empirical evidence to support and substantiate the arguments presented.
Very good; fine analysis with a coherent argument, most
of the most important points are developed in a structured discussion; well-substantiated with clear and firm command of supporting empirical evidence.
Good; sound analytical skill shown from identification and
understanding of the core intellectual problem accompanied
by a clear discussion of the subject substantiated with some (albeit, perhaps insufficient) empirical evidence.
Satisfactory; basic analytical skills apparent from
identification of the intellectual problem and an insufficiently
developed discussion of it. Poorly structured with inadequate empirical evidence provided.
Average; little analysis and an insufficiently developed argument. Some, albeit cursory knowledge of the main intellectual problem; some key empirical points may have been identified and touched on, basic, but are anemically developed. No detailed familiarity with the literature evident.
Below average. weak analysis and an incoherent argument, bare evidence of ability to identify intellectual problem, little use of empirical evidence and minimal knowledge of literature.
Totally unsatisfactory, absence of argument, analysis; and little if any reference to, much less knowledge of, the literature
Appendix B: Paper Guidance:
Your papers must have a cover sheet with your full name, your e-mail address, and title of your paper. It must be e-mailed to me by the stated time frame or suffer penalties noted above. I will return all comments to you electronically with your comments and grades.
Paper structure:
In most cases I am not looking for one ‘right answer.’ Rather, I want you to properly frame an argument, mobilize data in support of your argument, and cogently exposit your answer within the stated length of the paper. Papers are not editorials. All arguments must be buttressed by data and reliance upon peer-reviewed scholarly materials.
Each paper should have a brief introduction (consisting of perhaps 2 paragraphs). The first paragraph of the introduction should state 1) what your question is; 2) why your question is important; 3) what sources you will use to answer it; 4) and a brief statement describing your argument (e.g. “Ultimately, this paper concludes that...”)
The concluding paragraph of your introduction should provide a roadmap wherein you describe BRIEFLY the structure of your paper. For example, “My argument is advanced through X sections. In the first section, I recount...In the second section, I examine...In the final concluding section, I summarize my findings and put forth a series of implications.”
Each paper should have a final concluding section in which you BRIEFLY summarize the conclusions you have reached. Most importantly, in this section you should put forward some implications that are appropriate to your topic and your findings. Some papers will have import for a country’s domestic or external policies, regional security, international security, bilateral relations, and so forth. These implications SHOULD DERIVE from your analysis. They should not be a recount of every possible good idea you may have on a subject.
Each paper must introduce each section with appropriate section heads. (Microsoft Word has a format feature for first level, second level and third level headers.) This should be used judiciously, and not in excess. For your papers, you are likely to only use headers to introduce each section with possible use of headers if there are sub-sections. These are not decorations; rather, they are meant to help orient the reader to the structure of the paper and your argument and should follow exactly the roadmap in your introduction.
NEVER, EVER use the passive voice (e.g. “Militancy is used in Pakistan for a range of goals.”) Why? The passive voice allows you to be lazy and imprecise. WHO is using these militants? If you can’t identify an “agent” then you have not adequately addressed the issue in question. In general, authors who use the passive voice obfuscate the very issue they seek to clarify. Don’t do it.
Claims of fact must be buttressed by citation of relevant secondary scholarly sources or primary data. Err on the side of caution.
Finally, each paper should be answerable with recourse only to the prescribed readings in this course. I do not expect you to regurgitate what the authors have argued. Most of our readings present alternative views of the same subject. Therefore, I want you to mobilize authors’ work critically rather than by rote. You may want to answer your question by presenting alternative arguments and proffering your own data-driven exposition of whose argument makes the most sense.
Papers must use appropriate citations and comply with Georgetown’s honor code. Below is a suggested method of citation. You may use others if you choose, provided that you use complete citations (for the first occurrence) and cite them consistently.
Citation Methods
(Taken from the guidance provided by International Security, http://belfercenter.ksg.harvard.edu/pro ... &parent_id =46)
See The Chicago Manual of Style (http://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/home.html) for less common citation forms.
 For citations after the first full citation, do not use op. cit.; instead, use the author’s name and a short form of the title, in the following format:
1. Albertini, War of 1914, pp. 180, 183.
2. Kaplan, “LeMay.”
3. Posen, “Measuring the Conventional Balance,” p. 70 n. 30.
4. Ibid., p. 72 [only where the immediately preceding note contains only the relevant reference].
 State or country name should follow the place of publication if ambiguous (Cambridge, : Ballinger) or not widely known (Englewood Cliffs, N.J., but New York: Knopf).
 Use standard abbreviation (Calif., Washington, D.C.), rather than USPS style (CA, MA).
 Anglicize foreign place names, but retain the standard English version of publisher’s name
(Moscow: Gospoltizdat, 1949).
 Avoid extracts, tables, and paragraphing in notes.
Notes Format
These examples demonstrate the basic note format; when in doubt, check The Chicago Manual of Style and provide all bibliographic information in a format that most closely resembles the following. Present notes as double-spaced endnotes.
Periodicals and Dailies
 Observe order and punctuation of elements.
 Include full author name and title.
 Give volume number, issue number and date, per publication’s numbering and dating system.
 Note omission of usual comma after article title ending in question mark or exclamation point.
Barry R. Posen, “Measuring the European Conventional Balance: Coping with Complexity in Threat Assessment,” International Security, Vol. 10, No. 3 (Winter 1984/85), p. 74.
Selig S. Harrison, “A Breakthrough in Afghanistan?” Foreign Policy, No. 51 (Summer 1983), p. 23. Gerard C. Smith, “Time is Running Out,” Newsweek, January 31, 1983, p. 8.
 For popular periodicals and dailies carrying no volume or issue numbers, note that parentheses are not needed around the date.
 Authors and page numbers should be included where available.
 Punctuation of titles should be copied exactly rather than conformed to IS style.
Books, Manuscripts:
Books:
 Note order of items.
 Note placement of punctuation.
 Use the author’s full name.
 Provide full page number, that is, pp. 163-167, not “163-7”:
John J. Mearsheimer, Conventional Deterrence (Ithaca, N.Y.: Cornell University Press, 1983), pp. 163-164.
Article or chapter in edited volume; note use of book’s full title and subtitle:
Edward N. Luttwak, “The Operational Level of War,” in Steven E. Miller, ed., Conventional Forces and American Defense Policy: An International Security Reader (Princeton, N.J.: Princeton University Press, 1986), pp. 211-229.
Volume in a series; use chapter where appropriate:
Stephen E. Ambrose, Eisenhower, Vol. II: The President (New York: Simon and Schuster, 1985),
Ch.7.
Annual; note the introduction and use of acronym:
International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS), The Military Balance, 1987-88 (London: IISS, 1987).
Translated and edited version; multivolume work:
Luigi Albertini, The Origins of the War of 1914, 3 vols., trans. and ed., Isabella M. Massey (London:
Oxford University Press, 1952), p. 171.
Reprint/Revised/Enlarged edition: note “Dell” stands alone without “Books,” but full name of a university press is given:
Bernard Brodie and Fawn M. Brodie, From Crossbow to H-Bomb (New York: Dell, 1962; rev. and enl. Ed., Bloomington, Indiana University Press, 1973).
Paper in a series: Note the use of IISS acronym which has been introduced in an earlier note; “Summer 1983” per publisher’s dating system:
Desmond Ball, Targeting for Strategic Deterrence, Adelphi Paper No. 185 (London: IISS, Summer 1983), p. 1.
Unpublished paper or dissertation:
Alexander L. George, “Case Studies and Theory Development,” paper presented at the Second Annual Symposium on Information Processing in Organizations, Carnegie-Mellon University, October 15-16, 1982, p. 2.
Stephen W. Van Evera, “Causes of War” (Ph.D. dissertation, University of California, Berkeley, 1984), p. 1.
Government report; subsequent citations may use U.S. GPO abbreviation:
Secretary of Defense Caspar Weinberger, Annual Report to the Congress, Fiscal Year 1984
(Washington, D.C.: U.S. Government Printing Office [U.S. GPO], p. 127. Congressional reports; for testimony, list individual first:
Senate Committee on Foreign Relations, The Mutual Security Act of 1956, 84th Cong., 2nd sess., 1956, S. Rept. 2273, p. 20.
Archival Material
Give the title of the cited item first and supply all the bibliographical dates necessary to permit identification and location of the source.
 Use consistent format throughout.
 Where there are repeated references to particular archives, introduce a short form for similar
references in subsequent notes.
Leven C. Allen to Joint Chiefs of Staff, May 26, 1950, and memorandum for the Secretary of Defense, n.d., CCS 383.21 Korea (3-19-45), sec. 21, Records of the United States Joint Chiefs of Staff, Record Group 218, National Archives.

RCase

Post by RCase »

http://tribune.com.pk/story/843430/face ... ched-soon/

Halal Facebook: Muslimface to be launched from Bakistan.

Bhy doej mujlimface look like mujlim preasts and nibbles? :rotfl:

Doej takenowlogy of mulsimface take into consideration following shariah compliance:

1. Will wimmens be automatically in purka?
2. What habbens when wimmens get frand request from namehram mens?
3. Will bosts with songs be filtered to avoid haram?
4. Will Ahmediyas and Shias be permitted to join muslimface?
5. Will the system be down 5 taimes a day to ensure piety?
5. What if kufar try to become members?
6. What happens if abduls upload animal husbandry bideos?
7. Will tasveers be allowed?
8. What kind of halal games will be permitted?

If only they knew pork is an essential part of the process of preparing silicon chips, and silicone muslim faces.

RCase wrote:http://tribune.com.pk/story/843430/face ... ched-soon/

Doej takenowlogy of mulsimface take into consideration following shariah compliance:

Ya Arraahhhhhh! This is haraaam. All we need is a BOOK, we dont need no FACE. Drawing Face is haraaam, and that is why FaceBook is banned. These youngsters should be cuttled ASAP.....

RCase wrote:http://tribune.com.pk/story/843430/face ... ched-soon/

Ijlamically speaking mards must have only peard, no moustache. Bill haraam photoshop pee abblied to mard bicchars to edit out mouchhi phrom upar lip?

Bill Lungi check pee necessary to join thij group?

How about wimmens? Bill one habe to breast feed a mard to become phriends?

Bill there pee "unlike" putton to kelik or "talaq" putton? Bill it require teen time prejjing?

So many kweschuns.
member_28640

Post by member_28640 »

Evil Kuffr bania haj the shortest cow, bhat why guinejj record for them hainji? Be hab tall fair tight cow that gibb only poor white milk, bhy no guinejj record bhor us... Ijj this some YYY canspiracy..
Ebil baniya cow

shiv wrote:How about wimmens? Bill one habe to breast feed a mard to become phriends?
Seenear mauler, joo hab anshwered RCaseddin's qoschan about bhy breasht-nibble theme ij ujed phor new phorum.

:(( :((

Eij muslimface have two non-haraam baki bums on face as biety broof as per the pook?

What will come out of bakistani face pook?

Curious on the on-line,
with-a-face-pook-ullah
Tuvaluan

Post by Tuvaluan »

Bill there be "report haram activitiej" putton on mujlimphace? Bhat is punishment for wimmen potographing bith no purka or jowing ankles? Can't wait to be jining mujlimphace. Time to shave mustache and get reddy.
vanand

Post by vanand »

ij it right to have kuffar language in mujlimphace and how cum I read, right to left?
vanand

Post by vanand »

look hear why mard from turkiss lund are wearing harram drejjes, while our rakkit mard wear burga

http://www.dawn.com/news/1165847/turkis ... ing-skirts

vanand wrote:ij it right to have kuffar language in mujlimphace and how cum I read, right to left?
Iph you see vidio oph mull dance in reverse, will it not make sense? You not need 4 witnesses then to read correct.

Iph you read kuffar language in mujjlimfece in correct reverse way, you will know true meaning of bakistan. It eij implicit and only more green will understand it in correct ulta way.

Checking correct direction of wire terminals,
anode-within-cathode-ullah
RCase

Post by RCase »

Bhy ij mujrimface bleeding blue, instead of halal green?

Here are some modifications for mujrimface:
- Like and Unlike buttons will be replaced with 'Mashallah' and 'Munafiq'
- Unfriend will be replaced with 'Wajab-ul-qatl'.
- Find Friends will be 'Find True Muslims'
- Messages and comments will automatically have BURUR and Inshallah appended.
- You can post bichars on the wall-to-wall of ugliness.
- Emoticons for AoA, Jazzakallah, Mashallah, Munafiq, Murtad, RagePoy, Soosai Vest, Bum Plast, AK47, Atim Bum, SunRoof Lever, Vacuum Eggsplosion, Pindi Chana Plast, Raakit Mard etc. will be standard.
- Password challenge will require you to quote the sura from the pook.

Brand ambassadors for mujrimface will be Lauda Khan and the Kendo Sistas.

AoA

Marshallw, Bakistani bolis ij the graatest

Bhaat are the four-fatherj doing hain ji?

Exbloring over rat meats and horse meats and mixture of both with other meats:

Eij eating TFTA rat meat more halaal than SDRE Hindoo rat meat? What is prize in heaven for it?

Eij eating TFTA dog meat more haraam than brown Hindoo dog meat? What is punishment in hell for it?

Plij to reply,
eat-meat-for-heaven-ullah

vdutta

Post by vdutta »

One of those days when you hate to get out of the bed but you have to go for early morning bombing.

Pathan love

So this has been occurring to me for a while, but sharm sharm, it is difficult to ask in a family phorum. Yet, ..

How do they avoid plasbhemy comblaints against all and sundry named Hamid? I mean it is a common name, and punjabi isnt the best language for islam. So Al hamid would surely be in trouble as a teenager, teenagers being the same everywhere.

Even otherwise, all one has to do is accuse someone of mentioning hamid's privates -- not difficult to do, even if the speaker later tries to disown all talk of hamids benis and claims they didnt even use the greeting. Once wajib, always kattle.

So why dont we hear more (or any) of it?

Chinese President may not attend Pakistan Day parade: Sartaj Aziz
Advisor to Prime Minister on Foreign Affairs and National Security Sartaj Aziz on Friday revealed that Chinese President Xi Jinping is currently not scheduled to attend the Pakistan Day parade on March 23, Express News reported.

Talking to media in Islamabad, the advisor said that while the Chinese president may not visit on March 23, he will be visiting Pakistan soon.

Earlier, there were some reports that President Xi may visit Pakistan in March to attend the joint military parade on Pakistan Day.
:
:
:
:

That ij pecauje Bakistan told chaans prejident that there will pe phlying diplay py Suar Mushak and JF17 bandar taiyyara.

Chaans prejident then said, he will come at a later date (when thundaar-bundaar ij naat phlying around)

Naw all that we need to do ij to waath phor bhideo oph two thundaar bundaar hawai jahajs escorting chaans prejident's taiyyara once it enters Pindi airspace...

Pak cheeni dosti, tarrel than the ocean, deepel than the himalayas, smelling like pindi chana gas ...

salam