Re: Indian Missile Technology Discussion

Bhaskar wrote:Apologies if posted already

Junk weapons in defence fleet
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/vide ... 835093.cms
:D Thanks for posting - I just missed the item on live news

The report disses the Harpy, Popeye and Sea Eagle, apart from an unspecified Russian ARM and some Indian stuff.

The report actually makes me elated - I am happy to see people being open to recognizing and stating faults.

Avinash R wrote:Hardest nano-plastic is also lightest
Wednesday 29 July 2009
New Delhi, DH News Service: The world's hardest plastic nano-composite material that can be used in missiles and aeroplanes has been discovered by a team of five Bangalore researchers headed by CNR Rao, scientific advisor to the Prime Minister.
The team comprises researchers from Indian Institute of Science and Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research. The original idea came from Rao – an eminent scientist and founding president of the JNCASR.

Though Rao was not available for comment, Upadrasta Rammurthy, a professor of material engineering at IISc and one of the team members told Deccan Herald that despite its hardness the material is extremely light-weight.

“It can be used in missile and aerospace engineering. However, we have not yet looked into the application side,” he said. ...
It could be gold if CNR Rao is involved, the man is a recognized giant and a subject matter authority in nanotech field world over.
AmitR

Post by AmitR »

Deleted
Last edited by Suraj on 30 Jul 2009 09:56, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: No politics please. Thanks.

shiv Bhaskar wrote:
Apologies if posted already

Thanks for posting - I just missed the item on live news

The report disses the Harpy, Popeye and Sea Eagle, apart from an unspecified Russian ARM and some Indian stuff.

The report actually makes me elated - I am happy to see people being open to recognizing and stating faults.
Shiv, the article seems to be a bit porly researched i.e.. Harpy missile not UAV. It dishes all weapons from all countries including India. Stufflike no compents for sea eagle, i Think everbody knows we are phasing these out. etc and yadda, yadda ........ and so on.

and this was the reporter who in the Vizag , sub converted museam and pretending it was the ATV. :)

The only aim of the article is that we need weapons, we should buy from Khan inspite of strings conditions, inspections etc... no matter what
JaiS

Post by JaiS »

BrahMos Block-II Land Attack version ready for induction after test firing news

Jaisalmer: The Block-II version of the BrahMos land attack cruise missile successfully completed its fourth and final test firing on Wednesday and has now been declared ready for induction. In a test firing at the Pokhran test range in Rajasthan, the missile went on to score a "bull's eye" hit on a target 25km away on Wednesday.

"With this launch, the requirement of Army for the land attack version with Block-II advanced seeker software with target discriminating capabilities has been fully met and this version is ready for induction," defence sources said.

The Army has already inducted the earlier land attack version of the BrahMos, with the first battery entering service in June 2007. Each battery is equipped with four mobile launchers mounted on a heavy 12x12 Tatra transporters.

Aditya_V wrote:
shiv Bhaskar wrote:
Apologies if posted already

Thanks for posting - I just missed the item on live news

Shiv, the article seems to be a bit porly researched i.e.. Harpy missile not UAV. It dishes all weapons from all countries including India. Stufflike no compents for sea eagle, i Think everbody knows we are phasing these out. etc and yadda, yadda ........ and so on.

and this was the reporter who in the Vizag , sub converted museam and pretending it was the ATV. :)

The only aim of the article is that we need weapons, we should buy from Khan inspite of strings conditions, inspections etc... no matter what
No - I'm not saying the report is right - but I see two separate issues coming out of any media report.
One is what the people who need to know, know about the real state of affairs.

The second is what the aam junta and DDM read from the report. Most reports that I have seen over the last decade and a half are squarely aimed at dissing anything Indian, an act that automatically gets Indians saying "Look at the Israelis - such a small nation - just see their mijjiles" or "Why not buy American XYZ that we know work well - proven against NoKo and Vietnam"

For a change this news item is undiscriminating and disses Israeli, British, Russian and Indian ("Sitaphal" cluster bombs :eek: presumably with some imported content)

Shiv-> I totally agree with you but we know how it works, half of it works on Lifafa, T-90 with problems is inducted but Arjun is not. A well funded Phalcon is delayed but for years the heavily underfunded LCA is expected to produce results. Why cant we commit atleast 5000cr to LCA programmme per year, if this was done since 2000, we probably would have the LCA by now.

People just struggle to understand how tough its for DRDO to develop weapons while dealing with the Indian beaucracy, any component purchase requires 1000 approvals and some stuff like computer chips, they just cant upgrade based on developments. Further, each person in DRDO has sacrificed a more lucrative career in the PVt sector, abroad to be there. And yes, I am sure they have to put up with relatives braging about thier children being sucessful in doing MS in US,UK,OZ and Canada while they are failures at DRDO.
Kailash

Post by Kailash »

Katare wrote:Avinash R wrote:
Hardest nano-plastic is also lightest
Something similar done by Unkil few years earlier Dont know how they compare....
Katare wrote:“It can be used in missile and aerospace engineering. However, we have not yet looked into the application side,” he said. ...
Believe there is more urgency than what is shown by that statement.

Bhaskar wrote:Apologies if posted already

Is there a transcript or only visual?

Post by Sanjay »

The interesting thing about the report is that none of those flaws seem to be beyond remedy. There is always a lag between fault discovery and rectification. The Sea Eagles need to be re-lifed. It will be an expensive process though.
SanjibGhosh

Post by SanjibGhosh »

http://indiatoday.intoday.in/index.php? ... ectionid=4

Army says yes to 'world-class' missile

But now, the Army has told the DRDO that "we are considering induction" (of the Akash missile system). C.K. Prahlada, chief controller at the DRDO, said: "We are grateful to the Army for this decision. In fact, Akash was developed keeping the Army in mind. I have assured them a world-class missile." The DRDO has said they'd deliver the missiles within two years from the date of the order.
vasu_ray

Post by vasu_ray »

on the concealment of missiles, submerged pontoon based missile launching capability that DRDO demonstrated will enable us to put them in lakes, there are so many of them, even close to the chinese border

they might be doing the same

if TSP ever emulates the underwater launch, their dams can be targeted with the excuse of missiles being concealed in the dam backwaters, Indus water treaty notwithstanding
jaladipc

Post by jaladipc »

Panwallah samachar:

Yindoo bhai and behano ne Ek Cruise missile to test kiya.Its is ranged at 1200km with a payload capability of over half tonne.
panwallah ne muje poocha ke the turbofan was a join development with a phoreign chai corner.And the panwallahs own turbofan is nearing the completion. and will be placed inside the pan during the production phase.since it had higher trust and is light weight. which means more payload/long range.
Not taking chance to name the pan. :(

and the same panwallah says that the same pan can be dipped into water with an extra leaf.and is confident of throwing the content inside to a distance of over 1500km with no major modifications.they will be dipping the pan into water in a year time. :)

jaladipc wrote:Panwallah samachar:
and the same panwallah says that the same pan can be dipped into water with an extra leaf.and is confident of throwing the content inside to a distance of over 1500km with no major modifications.they will be dipping the pan into water in a year time. :)
Aapke munh main ghee shakkar!! :twisted:

Phoren turbo-pankha transfer allowed hai?
munna wrote: Aapke munh main ghee shakkar!! :twisted:
Double that :mrgreen:
rakall

Post by rakall »

munna wrote:
Aapke munh main ghee shakkar!! :twisted:
Bloody Yindoos doing too many things secretly..

What was the codename of this project? Projectile testing facility?
sombhat

Post by sombhat »

Yindoo bhai and behano ne Ek Cruise missile to test kiya.Its is ranged at 1200km with a payload capability of over half tonne.
panwallah ne muje poocha ke the turbofan was a join development with a phoreign chai corner.
Is the panwallah going to give this news to the kagaz walla and the TV walla sometime soon, so that the jingos heart can beat faster?

520 zarda + additional chuna should make the watery paan more powerful imo.
Drevin

Post by Drevin »

Is the panwallah going to give this news to the kagaz walla and the TV walla sometime soon, so that the jingos heart can beat faster?
I doubt it. This paan is too sweet for da public yindoos. :mrgreen: They may start showing diabetic symptoms.

We at br are robust folk so jaladji doesn't mind. :mrgreen:
pkudva

Post by pkudva »

Brahmos-2 project approved and it has been formally disclosed.Good going GOI.

rakall wrote: ...

Solar Eclipse Tracking Project :P
mandrake

Post by mandrake »

PratikDas wrote:
rakall wrote: ...

Solar Eclipse Tracking Project :P
All these tests of Prithvi and Prithvi and Prithvi says how much we have love for our mother earth. :mrgreen:

I remember asking a gentleman from Wheeler Island, what is that they keep on testing, his reply was, who are you? where are you from? Turned back and went away. :shock: :((
Drevin

Post by Drevin »

smarty. Your timing was perfecto. shows self-respect. (I bet that m!@#$ expected you to say Prithvi.) :wink:

Dhoodhwalla news, dont know what to make of it

Very preliminary discussion for new massive effort on survey, mapping, sensing, guidance and seeking is being discussed. Will involve multi-spectral and multi-sensor mapping and survey of land and sea, several different techniques for guidance including RLG/Star sensors etc and several different type of seeking, IR/Radio etc etc. Likely to have allocation for effort part (doing it), manufacture part (making it), procurement part (buying it) and research part.

It may not be completely "closed" (without direct foreign partner involvement) like IGMDP, foreign collaboration is likely to be taken when necessary. However manufacture being local and ToT is also being discussed.

May not be a centralized effort, might be spread across several agencies, civilian agencies and even private sector (however under the same "umbrella", with a single mandate). Products might be used by govt agencies and maybe even sold and licensed also (like maps).

Might involve heavy academic participation and private sector participation. Even discussions of setting up high tech parks along the lines of IT parks with tax benefit etc.

Decision to be made by the end of this FY.

Are we just now talking of funds? I would have expected a model to fly this year. Shouldnt the terrain maps already be available, given that the IRS and the ResourceSats have been flying for over a decade?

Might be related to this?

Old Thread

See my secret
Once a minister mentioned the name of the future missile Sagarika, which will nuclear-arm the submarine. The authorities promptly changed its name, so that next time someone asked about Sagarika, they could say “no such missile or programme exists”.
So that tells us something about the Sagarika, K-15, Agni-3 SL and the K-xx. It also tells us something about the ATV being called the arihant as opposed to the INS Sagarika.
babbupandey

Post by babbupandey »

yindoo bhai and behano ne Ek Cruise missile to test kiya.Its is ranged at 1200km with a payload capability of over half tonne.
jaladipc, thanks for the great news. If I really knew where you live I would have come personally to offer you sweets.
Any idea of at what it's speed is going to be like?
vavinash

Post by vavinash »

So is this nirbhay?
babbupandey

Post by babbupandey »

It could be nirbhay, abhay or samharak - who cares.
If the panwallas news is correct then we have a cruise that can inundate enemy air defence. I am happy! :D

If its Nirbhay that the panwallah is talking about, it should have a high subsonic speed.
narayana

Post by narayana »

First Impression: BrahMos-A from Tu-142 & MiG-31

Pics of mig-31 carrying Brahmos,if MIG 31 can do it,can upgraded mig 29 do the same?.

Thanks Gurulog

Not necessarily. As compared to Mig-29, Mig-31 is a different beast altogether.

the foxbat is a much larger bird than the fulcrum, its empty weight is almost as much as the fulcrum's max T/O weight. keep in mind that the mig-25 is about as large as the su-30 and somewhat heavier. the mig-29 is puny by comparison. if you ever get to watch the two side by side you'll know what I mean.

also, the foxbats/foxhounds were designed from start to carry the pretty heavy acrid AA missiles, they can presumably carry a single brahmos with some restructuring.

The Brahmos on Mig-31 is interesting , that would be a proposed modernization for multirole Mig-31BM for RussiAF and Mig-31E for export

They replaced the 6 R-37 with a single Brahmos , which means 4 AAM and one Brahmos.

a Mig-31 is a difficult beast to intercept. and has a long range. in anti-shipping role, it could fly upto 70,000ft, release missile and turn away safely without much chance of catching it.
vavinash

Post by vavinash »

Can the Mig-31 carry a 2.5 tonne brahmos to 70 k height? Also one missile per ac is too low a payload.

^ Not too likely that Mig-31 can fly at such speeds and high altitude carrying one, as for the load even the Su-30 can carry only 1 Brahmos.

I guess with a smaller load (1 brahmos and 2 R-77 say) foxhounds can reach closer to that 70k feet mark. the combination will be very ummm.... interesting against long range SAM systems.

especially if there are other aircrafts in the escort package carrying ARMs like kh-31.

Brahmos is a ramjet which places limitations on its operational altitude IIRC they are most effective around ~40,000 ft any higher and their range degrades.