Attention non-members and lurkers !

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Attn: Recently Registered Members (Read Updated First Post)

No, it is disabled for all users, except moderators/admins.
Murali_K

Post by Murali_K »

Hi Rahul,

Is it possible for me to change my user ID ?

What do you want it to be?
RameshC

Post by RameshC »

Hey all, newbie from EU...nice to be here.
Last edited by archan on 20 Sep 2009 12:49, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: User ID changed from CREAM to RameshC in accordance with forum guidelines. If you don't like it, write to us.
RameshC

Post by RameshC »

dont change my user name wihtout asking me...mods what is this...give me a cooler name...no offense to any rameshs here...whats wrong with cream...???give me a new name whoever changed my name...this is not right..
RameshC

Post by RameshC »

and whats up with the forum guidelines...well if you didnt like my name u should have said so while i was registering...i want my name back...or atleast the right to choose...
RameshC

Post by RameshC »

and what your problem with i calling my self cream..its just cream...you can call yourself yoghurt or dahi or ghee if u want i have no problem with that...i want my name back now....
RameshC

Post by RameshC »

mods are you all sleeping...my name back now or right to choose.

I fully support Cream, please give him the right to call himself what he likes

vaman wrote:I fully support Cream, please give him the right to call himself what he likes
Pottu vaman, is that a soosai vest you are wearing ?

Anujan wrote:
vaman wrote:I fully support Cream, please give him the right to call himself what he likes
Pottu vaman, is that a soosai vest you are wearing ?
No, I am just saying that there must be a strong reason for some one to demand that he be allowed to call himself cream, I am all for democracy and peaceful co existence

vaman wrote:No, I am just saying that there must be a strong reason for some one to demand that he be allowed to call himself cream, I am all for democracy and peaceful co existence
Oh okay. Now I understand. Ofcourse his right to free speech has been violated ! How can he be censored and suppressed ?

le-educashion camps for the lot of you ! :twisted:

dear rameshc/ex-cream, kindly read our username policy in the forum guidelines at top.
I'll quote the relevant part just in case.
Forum members are required to register with a displayed name or username that should appear like a common human name and which does NOT feature a call sign, an abbreviation, names with numbers, ALL CAPS, or names that may carry a message or meaning that may be interpreted as inappropriate.
you can request a human sounding username of your choice. if you want a 'cool' username that is not human sounding I'm afraid we can't help you there.
regards.

p.s. archan, why did you choose ramesh sippy ? just curious.

RameshC wrote:i want my name back now....
nahi milega!

Rahul M wrote: p.s. archan, why did you choose ramesh sippy ? just curious.
man its hard... I am not as gifted as you.... you renamed a guy who registered with a username hahahehehuhu (or something like that) to 'hasmukh'. Now that was one helluva job. Now I scratched my beard for long to try and come up with something that goes along with his beloved CREAM (he also had it in full caps, mind you) and something that would not get close to CRamS to avoid any confusion in future.
I tried.... I tried...

I got a lose connection, C Ramesh. I did a C_Ramesh first, then I thought he will have to type the _ every time he logs in, which might not be desirable to him. So I went along with my usual practice of putting the first name and then an initial for a last name.
Now you connected it with Ramesh Sippy!
I did leave him a note saying that he still has a right to choose his username as long as it is within the guidelines and not already taken. It is up to him to find a cooler looking human sounding badass name.
After thinking so much for them, we get treated like traitors :cry:

I would have renamed him Vasleen if I were you

vaman wrote:I would have renamed him Vasleen if I were you
Mods, how about VasuLin instead of CREAM? I miss my token sugar cube at BRF.

There should be a policy to name biradhers and biladhels.

For eg, all biradhers should have the prefix Biradher and likewise for tarrel fliends.

I think we should downhill ski from here otherwise we might have a prefix 'shaheed' next to our username
AmitS

Post by AmitS »

Hi,

I registered about 6 months ago and didnt post for a few weeks and my account probably got deleted. I then had to create a different account here. I also sent an email to webmaster to reply back, since I couldn't re-register with the old email address. Can someone help?

AmitS wrote:Hi,

I registered about 6 months ago and didnt post for a few weeks and my account probably got deleted. I then had to create a different account here. I also sent an email to webmaster to reply back, since I couldn't re-register with the old email address. Can someone help?
Well, you are here.

So, what is your complaint?

Gagan wrote:There should be a policy to name biradhers and biladhels.

For eg, all biradhers should have the prefix Biradher and likewise for tarrel fliends.
There are a lot of complaints on Pinglish being used on this forum.

We are trying to lower this silly habit, which some feel is real 'cool'!

Those who have complained, feel that those who use Pinglish are merely language deficit! Fortunately, they have been good enough not to state that they (the Pinglish ones) are illiterate!

One wonders if that is true!

I am of the opinion that illiterate or otherwise, versatile with the English language or not, we must not curb people from participating in the language that they are most versatile in, be it English or Hinglish or Pinglish, but surely not gibberish!

what was your account username ?

archan wrote:
Rahul M wrote: p.s. archan, why did you choose ramesh sippy ? just curious.
man its hard... I am not as gifted as you.... you renamed a guy who registered with a username hahahehehuhu (or something like that) to 'hasmukh'. Now that was one helluva job. Now I scratched my beard for long to try and come up with something that goes along with his beloved CREAM (he also had it in full caps, mind you) and something that would not get close to CRamS to avoid any confusion in future.
I tried.... I tried...

I got a lose connection, C Ramesh. I did a C_Ramesh first, then I thought he will have to type the _ every time he logs in, which might not be desirable to him. So I went along with my usual practice of putting the first name and then an initial for a last name.
Now you connected it with Ramesh Sippy!
I did leave him a note saying that he still has a right to choose his username as long as it is within the guidelines and not already taken. It is up to him to find a cooler looking human sounding badass name.
After thinking so much for them, we get treated like traitors :cry:
fascinating, the thought that goes in for a simple re-naming. :mrgreen: nothing compared to that for more serious stuff though. and people think mods have it easy ! :((
AmitS

Post by AmitS »

RayC wrote:

Well, you are here.

So, what is your complaint?
:-? Well, I want my old account back, Ray Sir. :mrgreen:

what was your account username ?
It was AMS when I first created it. Some mod changed it to AmitSingh, I believe. My email address is amitsingh (AT) me (DOT) com

There is no record of a user named AmitSingh or AMS. How long ago was this? If you really want to be renamed as AmitSingh, I can do that. If you want your email address in your profile changed, that can also be done.

archan, amitsingh is there. search with "amit*"

@ amitS do you want that ID to be reactivated ? it's still there, probably you just forgot the password. tell me which one you want, I'll delete the other.
AmitS

Post by AmitS »

Yes Rahul. I'd like the old ID activated (AmitSingh/AMS). You can delete the new one.

I tried resetting the password, with my username and email address but I got a message saying ID not found.

Thanks for your help.

amit, shoot me an email so that I have an email ID where I can send the account details.
my email's in my account profile's signature.
Amit Singh

Post by Amit Singh »

I'm back. 8) Thanks Rahul.
AnimeshP

Post by AnimeshP »

Hi Mods
Can you please change my username to AnimeshP ?

Done.

Re: Attention non-members and lurkers !

This is a great one and very helpful brothers. I lost the id and password years back and now got it. you can expect me boring you regularly.

Would this Theodore Dalrymple essay count as discussing religion? and thus violate BRF guidelines?
When Islam Breaks Down
Drevin

Post by Drevin »

Need to send an email to a forum moderator. Can anyone of the mods gimme an email-id for the same :?:
Rishi

Post by Rishi »

Drevin wrote:Need to send an email to a forum moderator. Can anyone of the mods gimme an email-id for the same :?:
gentleman.cadet AT gmale
Drevin

Post by Drevin »

have sent u mail. plz confirm if u have received my email.

@ Mods : I'd lost the password to the ID from which i'm currently posting.

Hence a couple of years back, i'd signed up with a new ID : nirav_j
Link : http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/member ... le&u=11488

However since i have restored my original ID, i'd like to bring it to the notice of the mods, so that you could de activate : nirav_j
An IP check could confirm that both are mine ..

And if possible, can you change my User name from : 'nirav j' to 'nirav'

Done,
Rahul.

That was quick. :)

Back to lurking.
santoshriyer

Post by santoshriyer »

Dear Sir's [ Mods]

I have a request: Is it possible to keep the strategic issues thread availble only to members. I feel that there is a lot of good research done over here. We wouldn't want people from our neighbouring countries to have a glimpse of it. Just a thought.

Santosh