BR Meet - Bangalore

Sagrawal

Re: BR Meet - Bangalore

Post by Sagrawal »

Guys, please count me in too.. I shall wait for the venue and timing details ...

Very sorry guys, I have to regretfully bow out.

Duty calls. :evil:
Suppiah

Post by Suppiah »

Are last minute gate crashers allowed? I might be in Bangalore that day...also is there a ban on burqa's :D

*******Bangalore BR Meet*******

OK Guys,

After much suspense and drama, here are details for the BR Meet:

Date - 8th May
Time - 12pm to 4pm (this is duration of the booking of the hall)
Venue - Indian Gymkhana, Cox Town.

The directions to the venue are here:

1) http://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/T5 ... directlink - This will give you an orientation with respect to the location

2) http://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/C5 ... directlink - This is a bit more focussed and gives direction in relation to landmarks in the area

3) http://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/77 ... directlink - This one gives the details of the location and entrance details. Which ever direction you come from, head towards the flyover. However, please be advised that Tthe Gymkhana entrance is before you get onto the flyover.

4) This URL from wikimapia is centered on the venue. You can use it for reference.
http://wikimapia.org/#lat=12.9958601&lo ... =0&m=b&v=8

Now let us come to finances -

The per head contribution is INR 950/-. This is considering an attendance of only 15 people and big margin for contigency (and liquor :P ). If more people show up, I expect the actual expenditure per head to be around 700/- or even less.

Please transfer the money to the following account -

HSBC - 019 647 270 006
IFSC Code - 0400002

Mention your name, BR handle and purpose as "BR Meet" in the transfer comments section. In case of excess funds, the same will be sent to these accounts.

I know the time is short but the matter could not be helped. Some advances have already been furnished for space and food. Please be advised that the costing is on per plate basis - so we need numbers.

Please re-send me your final confirmations at rohitvats29atgmaildotcom. I'll reply to each one of you. My e-mail signature will have my contact number. Please call me in case of any queries.

Hope to see the crowd in strength.

rohitvats wrote:This is considering an attendance of only 15 people and big margin for contigency (and liquor :P ).
As part of the contingency planning can you also provide some guidance on the bus route numbers etc.? Drunken driving, crime under Sec 185 M.V Act 1988 ;).
jimmy_moh

Post by jimmy_moh »

till last month i was staying just 500 mtr from coxtown.... :cry:

any way am ready for the event...

have a blast... Could someone record the happenings in the event... The lectures, presentation, ityadi...

Guys,

I've 9+1 confirmation for the BR Meet and two fund transfers.

Request you to kindly confirm at the earliest. The main concern being the food component - the same has been tied up on per plate basis and with a minimum guarantee. The rest is variable and hence, of no concern.

So, unless I've the confirmation on the number at the earliest, I'll need to scale down the food component. Margin to accomodate more folks in case they show up at the meet will be low.

You can confirm your participation and carry the cash (as chances of money refelcting in the account by Saturday is low).
Suppiah wrote:Are last minute gate crashers allowed? I might be in Bangalore that day...also is there a ban on burqa's :D
Just come over, dude. And don't worry, a true blue BRFite cannot hide between behind a burqa... :P
prabhug

Post by prabhug »

Hi
Did you get my fund transfer from HSBC ? .Waiting for your reply email.

Cheers
Prabhu.G

prabhug wrote:Hi
Did you get my fund transfer from HSBC ? .Waiting for your reply email.

Cheers
Prabhu.G
Got it. Thanx.

Sachin wrote:
rohitvats wrote:This is considering an attendance of only 15 people and big margin for contigency (and liquor :P ).
As part of the contingency planning can you also provide some guidance on the bus route numbers etc.? Drunken driving, crime under Sec 185 M.V Act 1988 ;).
Sachin, you coming?

merlin wrote:8th May lunch works for me. For dinner I have another meet :((
Please confirm your participation

I regret to say, I cant make it. Gotta attend a naming ceremony of kid of SHQ's friend at the same time! Bombshell dropped too late to take evasive action!
Shivji I will call you regarding the book! I hope there is another BR meet before I leave B'lore.

I am comming bit late as I have meeting up to 2. Planing to escape and sneek in to our party. But I will be alone as my frind is held up in other place. So One person here that is me but bit late.

merlin wrote:8th May lunch works for me. For dinner I have another meet :((
Please confirm your participation
Mail sent with confirmation.
krishna_j

Post by krishna_j »

though dinner was preferable - have rescheduled - will be there as well

*********BR Meet Update************

We had a wonderful meet this afternoon. Good turn around.

Thanks to all of you who turned up.

Details coming up shortly.
jimmy_moh

Post by jimmy_moh »

just reached my room after the meet ,
the meet was awesome and got the opportunity to meet the sharukh of BR... :)

@Rohit
special thanks to rohit for conducting sucha wonderful event...
Sagrawal

Post by Sagrawal »

Awsome meet guys, Thanks to Rohit for conducting BR Bangalore meet.
chiru

Post by chiru »

shah rukh of BR was the star as usual :twisted: and rohith was a wonderful host :D ,dude thank you for everything ....this meet was more informal and many topics were breached ..there were no presentations and stuff

highlights apart from the discussion was we saw LCH FIRST FLIGHT VIDEO :mrgreen: .... that too on my first BR meet

prominent absentees were sachin ,nayak,kmehta ,bala etc .....

i still cant relate the faces to their name and their handles ..this is going to take many more BRF meets though....so keep them coming people and rohit thanks once again and one more thing please leave your friends phone number coz the place was perfect and i think 10 more people can be accommodated with ease

Special thanks to Rohit for arranging a marvelous meet. Not easy to arrange a meeting and the costing when you never know who's going to turn up and who can't make it. Didn't count but was over 20 people. I was initially skeptical about a lunch meet - but I now realise - there were 3 young jingos with an exam tomorrow who probably would not have been able to attend a geriatix booze up in the evening.

Was great meeting you all.

Great to hear!! if possible post pix of the meet. :mrgreen:
Also, best of luck to young mujahids having exams. 8)

Awww... Now i am all jealous of the guys who attend the meet up... It sucks not have attended such a good meet up... :(( :(( :(( ...
Coming back to reality, glad to hear that you guys had a blast... so what all were discussed and who's got all the dirt on what happened there??? Could someone please post photos, if not videos, of the event...
All the best to the young mujahids, facing the COMED K tomorrow....

:(( :(( :(( Got stuck in some work and only returned home at 6:30.
Anyway expecting to be be there for AI-11 meet.

The ultimate piece of gyan that I came away with after the BR meet is

"India is the only country in the world that wishes for a strong and prosperous enemy"

Yeah, the meet was great. Thanks Rohit for being a great host and doing all the running around. I had only met a few people before (out of the 20 plus people who attended) so its great knowing that it isn't just old foggies who frequent this place, plenty of young mujahids too.
manoba

Post by manoba »

We had an excellent afternoon together. Thanks to Rohit for arranging such a wonderful meet.

There were people from far far away lands :wink: like Hyderabad, who have come to Bangalore uniquely for BR meet and there are these very young students, all who made us really happy. I counted 19 heads. Willing to have such meets very often. :mrgreen:
krishna_j

Post by krishna_j »

Meet was a real blast - great to see so many turn up and also a few committed oldieregulars also abandon SHQ and turn up on a sat

also means we dont need to wait for AI for the next BLR meet - plenty of local jingos around and maybe a "few projects in the offing"

Thank you...Thank you...Thank you... (takes a bow) :D

Can we post pictures so that our neighbours can make "McDonald Employee of the month" posters out of em? :mrgreen:

Unfortunately I could not make it to the meet :(. There was a visit from the "brigade of the relatives", and so I was on escort duty. Good to hear that the Meet was a grand success. Thanks Rohit for organising the same :D.
manoba

Post by manoba »

Jagan wrote:Can we post pictures so that our neighbours can make "McDonald Employee of the month" posters out of em? :mrgreen:
Exactly. I asked about this to the mullah, who organized this meet. No reply yet. So, I took is as a NO.

krishna_j wrote: also means we dont need to wait for AI for the next BLR meet - plenty of local jingos around and maybe a "few projects in the offing"
Ok... Mind if i ask you to elaborate on the projects part...

Great meet. Good to know lot of fellow BR's.

One idea that has come up is the need to create presure groups on security related issues. At present I don't think we have any organisation worth mentioning on any security related issues. Does any one know some thing like that.
chiru

Post by chiru »

mullas which was that j-10 video you were talking about where the plane shakes after missile launch

My sincerest apologies to Rohit for giving a miss to the BRF meet. I had committed my attendance on the original date of May 2nd, but on the date of actual meet, I was out of station.

Next time hopefully I will get an opportunity of getting a tetanus shot from famous Hakeem Shiv and meet other esteemed members of the jirga.

any updates on the meet's photos and/or videos??
krishna_j

Post by krishna_j »

chiru wrote:mullas which was that j-10 video you were talking about where the plane shakes after missile launch
Shiv - this may support your "vibration" theory on the J-10/11- enjoy maadi

Chinese Military Won't Accept 'Made In China' Fighters
Manufacturing.Net - May 17, 2010

BEIJING (Kyodo) -- China's Air Force has refused to accept 16 J-11B fighters manufactured by a domestic aircraft maker due to technical problems, the Kanwa Defense Review magazine said in its June issue, quoting a Western intelligence source in Beijing.

China is believed to have developed the new fighter based on technology from the Russian fighter Sukhoi Su-27, sparking speculation that the maker, Shenyang Aircraft Corp., may have failed to employ Russian technology accurately.

Shenyang Aircraft, based in Liaoning Province, manufactured 16 J-11B fighters in 2009.

"When the Air Force was checking them up for delivery, J-11B had abnormal vibration after taking off," the magazine quoted the source as saying. "As a result, the Air Force refused to accept the aircraft."

A Chinese military source said the J-11B was not chosen for exhibition at the National Day military parade in October last year due to doubts over technical feature of the fighter, according to the magazine.

Source: Kanwa

of course any news from China hasto be digested with more than a pinch of ajinomoto :rotfl:

So even shaking of the AC can not be trusted ???

Honestly if we read any US and other publication on Chinese capabilities we will be very concerned. I do not know if they are over estimating Chi Panda or we are under estimating them.