Comments on Dance of the Flamingo-Story By Sanku

Re: Possible Indian Military Scenarios - XII

sanku sir... A great start so far... sure is a good read... you surely have my vote to carry on...

Bala Vignesh wrote:sanku sir... A great start so far... sure is a good read... you surely have my vote to carry on...
Thanks Bala, I hope the story is fun to more folks too.

Admins, I am reporting this own post of mine -- basically the question is, should I spin this into a new thread or stick with the same? Its strictly not military scenario as I see it so far?

And also it kind of gets in the way of other stories running here -- so your call please?
narmad

Post by narmad »

Sanku : Wonderful Start. Great Buildup. Keep up the good work. I promise, will not read any more of Robert Ludlum if you promise to keep posting here.

sanku ji, more power to you, I'm impressed ! also, if I may say it, the first paragraph sounds like waving a red rag for vina ! :mrgreen:

and did I mention that I much prefer your fiction-invention here rather than in the armoured vehicles thread ? :twisted:

but seriously, do carry on.

Rahul M wrote:sanku ji, more power to you, I'm impressed ! also, if I may say it, the first paragraph sounds like waving a red rag for vina ! :mrgreen:

and did I mention that I much prefer your fiction-invention here rather than in the armoured vehicles thread ? :twisted:

but seriously, do carry on.
Thanks Rahul M, biswas and Bala, as I said before, feedback is everything.

Meanwhile, Rahul, do you seriously think that the concept up there was swayambhu from my imagination and the views of some of the worthies of BRF did nothing to trigger a response? :P

I intend waving some more red flags, just wait and see :twisted: and this time since its "fiction-invention" the Mods wont be able to stop me either!!

Bwhaaaa bwhhaaaaaa.....
(more maniac laughter)

Was I checking the wrong threads? I am seeing the posts now onlee.

Great work there, Sanku! I feel like I visited Akash myself. Fantastic!!

Please, please, make sure you add at least one post a day. Thanks.

Dance of the Flamingo_Story by Sanku

Created a new thread for the story.

Re: Dance of the Flamingo_Story by Sanku

Sanku Maharaj, YOU GOT ME HOOKED :shock: Superb effort!!
Rupesh

Post by Rupesh »

Thanks Sanku saar..Great story..pleej don't keep us waiting :twisted:

Sanku ji, where were you hiding all these years! What a gripping narrative.
vsharma

Post by vsharma »

Sanku Sir,…. Simply amazing…..

Sanku excellent job!
Very good use of vocabulary. Keep it up.

Good call to run separate thread, Ramana. I agree with VikasRaina. You should have started writing long ago, Sanku!

Very good saar.... keep it up.

sanku ji, this is an earnest request, please take a voluntary break from participating in other threads on BR for the time being and concentrate on making the flamingos dance. I can well appreciate how the good sqn ldr was feeling at the time.

if you have some in buffer store, please be kind-hearted and indulge us once more tonight. :((
sunny_s

Post by sunny_s »

sanku ji simply WOW..add one more in yours fan following

Suspense is Killing...........
Waiting for the 28th to come........

Incredible writing Sanku............. Incredible !!!

Splendid Sankuji. You are great at weaving what seems to be a very intricate plot. Keep at it!!

What an intricate narration sankuji on the last post... Mind blowing...
Rupesh

Post by Rupesh »

It took some time for him to figure out what he was looking at, but when he did, it took his breath away.
.. Sanku Saar..moi imagination is going wild.

Excellent!

Mods, please restrict Sankuji to this thread only!!

PS: Can all the stories by BRFites be compiled into a set of stories book published by BR? Just a thought!

Post by Klaus »

Sanku ji, I think you have found a definite niche for yourself as a storyteller in BRF. It does not matter that the story is not military or does not follow precedents set by other eminent writers on this forum, we BRFites know a good story (and an excellent storyteller) when we see (or rather read) one!

Please proceed with the story.

I am getting uncomfortable with the "We" and "amorphous" . :mrgreen:

Good job Sanku - a welcome break from our Tom Clancy

The mallu folk here would notice a distinguished similarity with the great C. V. Raman Pillai. For the non-mallu folk who wonder, see an example in Google Books
I second the suggestion that Sanku be restricted in participation on other threads.

Come on folks, we can't restrict him from other threads(kills me to say this)... He might get the inspiration for a few more twists or surprises in the other threads... Lets just request him to devote more time to this one... That's all...

Like the petals of lotus........... slowly slowly the story is opening, reminds me of ludlums' bourne identity. Thanx Sanku, you have the most unique way of story telling.
bksahu

Post by bksahu »

Sankudada,

3 cheers to you!!!!!!!!!!
keep going!!!!!!!
Mr_Li

Post by Mr_Li »

Good Plot so far.

Here small gift for the author.

Flamingo species in India is the Greater Flamingo.

aspiring to follow the example of the fourth avatar of Vishnu. We live neither in dark nor in light, we neither act or remain inactive, we are neither present nor absent. We are neither insiders nor outsiders. Yet our vengeance, when visited, is terrible.
Oh... My.. God!!!

Simply superb Sanku-ji!

Thanks again Dileep and RamaY. Manish thank you for that allusion. It was very nice.

Meanwhile a honest feedback questions
1) If you have any elements that you would like to see, any elements feel free to post, I would like to weave it in, if I can.
2) If folks feel that the writing style is getting too obtuse and difficult to follow, please let me know, I want it to be a fun story too, to be read and enjoyed by as many folks as possible.
3) Did folks get the allusions to the events in slide show that colonel put up? Getting those would be fun IMVHO.

We can take any of these points in Nukkad too, if folks prefer it there.

Absolutely fabulous Dada. Dying for more.

:eek: :shock:

Post by Klaus »

Sanku ji, the sadist in me would like to see the word "amorphous" and the nature of the Narasimha avataar elaborated in the story thus:

1. A top secret torture chamber, which uses torture methods used by ancient and medieval Indic empires, you could even invent fictitious methods of torture using your own :twisted: mind (everybody has one chupa hua in some part of their psyche).
2. Would like a desi lady spy (Mata-Hari type) carrying out a seduction romp of a. a captured/to be converted TSPA/PLA/ISI operative/mole or b. within TSP/Cheena mil base or c. Both a and b.

3. Would love to see Indian and Israeli special forces joint training or operations. Would also like to see Goa turned into one big "The Farm" with anecdotes of drugs and other practices spreading amongst the Indian and Israeli military servicepersons (who are officially unofficial Shin-bet/Mossad and NIA/MI appointed).
4. Would like RAW and Mossad operatives carrying out an assasination similar to recent Dubai hotel room service for Mahmoud al-Mabhouh.

As with all other suggestions, you are free to take into account all/some/none of it and we will not hold it against you.

sanku, now here we have something I can't debate with you on.... :D :P ...great going...I just love the 3rd party references/innuendos/under stated unconversation...for me the real test is to place moiself as the protagonist and 'feel' the situation as it develops......and the story so far has kept me on my toes.....great going and god bless...

Sanku my biggest fantasy on BR is to see Tejas as part of a Scenario. Though you said it is mostly a spy story on lines of Dileep, still if you can weave in Tejas' MMR or Kali etc. in the story it would be SONE PE SUHAGA! Just like in Spy Story 2 Dileep had added Arihant as part of story. Thanks again for such a nice story! :)

Sanku wrote:Thanks again Dileep and RamaY. Manish thank you for that allusion. It was very nice.

Meanwhile a honest feedback questions
1) If you have any elements that you would like to see, any elements feel free to post, I would like to weave it in, if I can.
2) If folks feel that the writing style is getting too obtuse and difficult to follow, please let me know, I want it to be a fun story too, to be read and enjoyed by as many folks as possible.
3) Did folks get the allusions to the events in slide show that colonel put up? Getting those would be fun IMVHO.

We can take any of these points in Nukkad too, if folks prefer it there.
1). A tripartite joint ops between India, Russia and USA against Pak/china led by us... My personal wet dream...
2). The writing style is just perfect...
3). That's where i got all lost.. The first event was IPKF that i could understand, but got lost after that... A bit more explanation on that would be great...

Bala Vignesh wrote: 3). That's where i got all lost.. The first event was IPKF that i could understand, but got lost after that... A bit more explanation on that would be great...
If I am not mistaken there were allusions to:

Killing of Rajiv Gandhi, and then the execution of Prabhakaran
Revenge for killing of the BSF personnel by members of Bangladesh Rifles
Santhanam and Shakti 1/2
a_kumar

Post by a_kumar »

Excellent buildup...

Nice template to keep us restless readers happy. Thanks for one-post-a-day.

Sanku wrote:Tanaji, almost right, but not Rajiv Gandhi.... :twisted:
It took me couple of reads to make the connection 8). The real-kick comes when a story stimulates reader imagination :twisted: .

Keep it coming!!!