Indian Sports and Entertainment Industry
Re: Indian Sports and Entertainment Industry
And now will raise his atp ranking by 12 places
Bow to Somdev, match is running right now and the first set nadal won 7-5. So he lost just one point, all in all tough draw all wishes with him
- Location: Committee for the Promotion of Vice and the Prevention of Virtue
4-4 in the second set..
he is really great yaar to survive a powerhouse like nadal into the second set
- Location: Committee for the Promotion of Vice and the Prevention of Virtue
Match over. 7-5,6-4 to Nadal 
That was a lot closer than the score indicates.

Indeed hope he gets better, i think he belongs to the sub-30 ranking category after his dispay with baghdatis and nadal
Eye on Olympics 2016, international archer turns to Gujarat
Go! Go!VADODARA: If India wins medals in archery in 2016 Olympics, names of few Gujaratis may well figure in the list of winners. International archer Sanand Mitra has decided to promote archery in the state with 2016 Olympics in his sight. Mitra wants to field maximum number of quality archers in Olympics and bring back bag full of medals. He has already started holding camps at schools in the city and is in talks with some clubs to promote the game.
And, the young talent he discovered in the schools has increased his conviction of holding more camps in other cities.
"I am just trying to breed good archers who can go on to participate and win in international archery contests. I believe that every person can become a good archer if he develops necessary focus and willpower. There is enormous talent in Gujarat as far as sport is concerned. We just need to tap it," Mitra told TOI.
Mitra organised an archery camp in Navrachna International School on Tuesday wherein he discovered about seven talented archers who will now be nurtured further. A training camp was also held at technology faculty of M S University.
"I have already approached a couple of private clubs in the city and will approach some schools for tie-up. But, we will tie-up only with select few schools and institutes that are serious about the sport," said Mitra, who won gold medal twice in national archery contest. Mitra had a dream debut in the national archery circuit in 2005 after practicing for just 27 days. And he won highest number of medals for his state Chhattisgarh. He left competitive archery in 2007.
The archery equipments of international quality are very costly and very few can afford to buy them. The Vayam Group run by Mitra provides archery training on quality equipments for nominal prices.
"My sole aim is to produce Olympic winners and I intend to reach out to 500 schools in next few years. After Vadodara, I will hold camps in Ahmedabad, Bharuch and Surat," he said.
- BR Mainsite Crew
near vadodara, there is a tribal belt where archery is still practised.
Saina has entered the finals of Swiss open Grand Prix

I dont know if i am jinxed or something any match that i wait with anticipation like the Somdev-Nadal one I end up seeing my favourite lose the match. Saina hopefully breaks this
http://www.telegraphindia.com/1110325/j ... 759917.jsp
On the tennis youngistan brigade.
Meanwhile, for some of the losers like me who are still watching hickey matters with no hiccups, Harendrabhai is coach now. Apparently bhaiji got the backing of SAI and HI while the sports ministry and governmental observers were confused as to how he could get the backing etc etc. Long story short, bhaiji now is in-charge. Thankfully, no furrin losers in the heap, and I can only say, thank goodness for small happinesses. Elsewhere, on the field, I see some "where are they now?"'s in the 45 long probable list. Some of whom (sadly, I note) include: Diwakar Ram, Amit Prabhakar, Danish Mujtaba, Roshan Minz. Since bhaiji was a part of the set-up under brasa, and these very same fellows had been dunked out of town, and bhaiji himself has brought back these folks in the first sitting, one can safely conclude that these remarkables became unavailable due to the spanish connection. In any case, on top of all this, MSYA has come up with a tentative list of furrin tours preceding the OG qualifiers in India. First off, will be Sultan Azlan Shah in May. There are a couple of tournaments in Oz scheduled, and CT in India in November. But then there are no Euro tours, no high al tours like we saw with Argentina, no spanish vacation-cum-tours (ack thoo) like we saw with brasa. Anyway, losers shall continue later...
On the tennis youngistan brigade.
Meanwhile, for some of the losers like me who are still watching hickey matters with no hiccups, Harendrabhai is coach now. Apparently bhaiji got the backing of SAI and HI while the sports ministry and governmental observers were confused as to how he could get the backing etc etc. Long story short, bhaiji now is in-charge. Thankfully, no furrin losers in the heap, and I can only say, thank goodness for small happinesses. Elsewhere, on the field, I see some "where are they now?"'s in the 45 long probable list. Some of whom (sadly, I note) include: Diwakar Ram, Amit Prabhakar, Danish Mujtaba, Roshan Minz. Since bhaiji was a part of the set-up under brasa, and these very same fellows had been dunked out of town, and bhaiji himself has brought back these folks in the first sitting, one can safely conclude that these remarkables became unavailable due to the spanish connection. In any case, on top of all this, MSYA has come up with a tentative list of furrin tours preceding the OG qualifiers in India. First off, will be Sultan Azlan Shah in May. There are a couple of tournaments in Oz scheduled, and CT in India in November. But then there are no Euro tours, no high al tours like we saw with Argentina, no spanish vacation-cum-tours (ack thoo) like we saw with brasa. Anyway, losers shall continue later...
In the meanwhile Saina has become world no 3 once again, and Somdev continues to impress through his ever improving performance. This time, it was Milos Raonic (world no 34) who was at his receiving end.
Details can be read here:
http://articles.timesofindia.indiatimes ... los-raonic
Details can be read here:
http://articles.timesofindia.indiatimes ... los-raonic
India Wins!!!!!!
Any news how many TV sets have been smashed on the other side of the border?........
Cricket: India's influence must be managed, says Malcolm Speed
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/new ... 833162.cms

guys, enjoy the cricket with the rest of BRFites. http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... start=6440
An Indian company, STAG, seems to be quite big in the world of table tennis. They have been major, if not the chief, sponsors of international tournaments, including the one going on in Mississauga, Ontario this coming weekend. I went to the venue, and all the club's tables have been replaced by STAG tables and balls for the big tournament this Fri, Sat and Sunday.
The 'true & obvious' part was this -Marten wrote:No chaddis onlee saar. Ever since Lt Gen Singha issued orders.Chandragupta wrote:How did I 'denigrate the sport of cricket' by stating what is true & obvious? We had a gentleman calling Cricket the biggest sport on earth, I merely corrected him, no need to get your chaddis in a twist please. If we have to compare Cricket, then Baseball, Rugby, American Football, even Basketball are all good, but please leave Football out of it, unless you want to use some Lahori Logic.
PS - Someone please direct me to the Sports threat, can't find it onlee.
What is so true and obvious? This?Since when do you decide what should be true and obvious for me or anyone else? Point is both you and the gent have a right to an opinion, but one of those opinions is off-topic. And if he thinks it is the greatest sport, why are YOUR chaddis in a knot?Viewership cannot and should not be a criteria to decide the 'biggest' sport.![]()
I made a simple point - Football is followed by more countries, but cricket is followed by more people (and there doesn't have to be mutual-exclusivity). Choose your criterion and your words, but don't impose them on me. For instance, you could choose to leave out words like "Lahori Logic" because they're completely nonsensical in this context. Unless you absolutely insist on using these in any context...
btw, wtf should I be comparing any other sport on the CRICKET dhaga? My last post on this topic.
Now, somebody could come & tell me that I am wrong and cricket is also played in Canada, US, Spain, Germany and elsewhere, but the fact is that it is 99.9% the desis there who are playing this sport and there is no national interest in Cricket in more than a dozen countries. What is so wrong with me saying this?Less than a dozen countries play cricket compared to hundreds when it comes to football.
As far as calling a sport 'the biggest' on the basis of viewership alone, I do not share that opinion, you or anyone else may (and contrary to what you think, I don't really have a problem with that). In my eyes, the biggest sport is one which is played in every nook & corner of the globe, ignites passions across the world & is extremely competitive. Cricket does not fit that description.
I am as proud as anyone else of our victory but I just think that people should not think that winning the CWC is the biggest thing in world sport. We should focus on other sports also & on the conditions of the players who play these sports for India who do not get to stay in 5 star hotels like our beloved Cricketers but hostels & get stale bread pakoras for a diet. So it would help if people stop believing that winning the CWC means they have conquered the biggest prize in the biggest sport in the world & now there is no bigger achievement. I am sorry if it looks like a rant and my apologies if my previous post came off as rude.
Cheers
But it is a rant!
No worries though, its a rant heard often.
BTW, did you guys know that Leander Paes and Mahesh Bhupathi are again the World Number 1 Mens Doubles pair? I bet it got lost in the CWC coverage!
No worries though, its a rant heard often.

BTW, did you guys know that Leander Paes and Mahesh Bhupathi are again the World Number 1 Mens Doubles pair? I bet it got lost in the CWC coverage!
Is it this firm by any chance?Varoon Shekhar wrote:An Indian company, STAG, seems to be quite big in the world of table tennis. They have been major, if not the chief, sponsors of international tournaments, including the one going on in Mississauga, Ontario this coming weekend. I went to the venue, and all the club's tables have been replaced by STAG tables and balls for the big tournament this Fri, Sat and Sunday.
http://www.stag.in/milon/press/India's-most-premium.pdf
If the world was one country then the most popular sport of the earth would be Cricket, no? Yea, the title 'Sport of The Earth' would have gone to Football, just like national sport of England is Cricket. haha 

Nice to know that you share similar views, Marten ji.Marten wrote:CG, I completely agree with your sentiment about us not promoting any other sport at this scale. btw, your post was not rude or a rant - it was your point of view, and I respect it!Chandragupta wrote: Now, somebody could come & tell me that I am wrong and cricket is also played in Canada, US, Spain, Germany and elsewhere, but the fact is that it is 99.9% the desis there who are playing this sport and there is no national interest in Cricket in more than a dozen countries. What is so wrong with me saying this?
As far as calling a sport 'the biggest' on the basis of viewership alone, I do not share that opinion, you or anyone else may (and contrary to what you think, I don't really have a problem with that). In my eyes, the biggest sport is one which is played in every nook & corner of the globe, ignites passions across the world & is extremely competitive. Cricket does not fit that description.
I am as proud as anyone else of our victory but I just think that people should not think that winning the CWC is the biggest thing in world sport. We should focus on other sports also & on the conditions of the players who play these sports for India who do not get to stay in 5 star hotels like our beloved Cricketers but hostels & get stale bread pakoras for a diet. So it would help if people stop believing that winning the CWC means they have conquered the biggest prize in the biggest sport in the world & now there is no bigger achievement. I am sorry if it looks like a rant and my apologies if my previous post came off as rude.
Cheers
About coverage etc. - that is one criterion; others may prefer something different. Golf lovers will talk about the highest purses, while Tennis lovers will talk about their skills etc, while football lovers will talk of the passion etc. Every sport excites a particular fan base, and it just so happens that India has cultivated such a base only for one sport.
Because 50 countries the size of Goa play a game doesn't make the game more special to the others who do not play (and just because 12 countries play the game doesn't make it special to the ones that do not play). If we promote the game in Africa and South America, there will be rich dividends (for cricketers, i.e.).
About promoting other sports - It is purely our fault - the Govt. has had several opportunities to clean up sports administration and thereby bring up the sport, but real change has never come about. I have stayed in SAI hostels and eaten cockroach (made by, made for, eaten by, etc.) food and know how it feels when a grant for a shoe is not approved (forget about stay or laundry.
Thing is let cricket bring more money to the big stage, and help divert some of that into building better infrastructure etc. "Multi-purpose" stadiums could help bring in more money for better infrastructure and facilities. Advertising revenues in coverage of football, hockey and badminton will not rise until we have some major success against a country like Pacquis or Australia! See our viewership of Tennis. The market is limited in India.
Very few have access to any real sports. Cricket costs 200 rs. including ball, bat and stumps. Football should have been more popular owing to the lower cost of the game, but it is not! Why? Rural India in fact should have taken more to Football and Hockey owing to the physical prowess required. We are probably not a very athletic people, and watching lower impact games is easier to take to. (<-- all of this is of course speculative thinking on my part; forgive my assumptions).
We need to make sure every school in a rural district has a natural pond OR a playground where field sports like running, football, hockey are better promoted. Unless the next generation is tuned into the culture of wanting to be seen as fit by playing a particular sport... we might not see a US or China-like spurt across the board.
Why not provide for local district tournaments with decent cash amounts to the winning schools? Perhaps even larger grants to schools with sporting successes. We have no concept of a center of sporting excellence - setting up an NSG center is easier than setting up a regional hub with empaneled coaches, training facilities, medical staff, etc. Annual camps are simply horrible because there is no accountability at this point. Sometime soon...
Forgive my rambling, and the length of this post.
I am not so sure that money from Cricket can be easily channeled into building infrastructure for other sports. For one, there is the corrupt & greedy BCCI and then there is lack of will at the Government level. It is not that we do not have the infrastructure right now, so many facilities were built for CWG and before that for the Asian Games, but the maintenance of these facilities has been lacking. In some of these CWG stadiums, our own athletes are not allowed to practice and I know this first hand, they have sealed off the machines/practice areas for the Sports Ministry to tell them what to do with the stuff. The poor athletes will keep on shuttling between the SAI offices and before they know it, the next event will have arrived.
The DDA had started a truly wonderful football program in around 2002-03 (which was a part of a National level program kickstarted with the help of FIFA) where they ran training camps round the year. My younger brother was a part of this program. They even provided monthly grants of around Rs.1500-1800, nothing too big but a good amount for a kid coming from slums. But there was no long term planning, the moment kids reached 17, they were no longer eligible for training under the program & had to search for options on their own. Now some of them go on to play some local division (Delhi division, semi professional), a very few were lucky enough to be picked up by professional Indian football clubs in Bengal & elsewhere, and the rest just go to waste. I have seen the training & the kids play and believe me, the statement that 'Indians are not athletic/strong enough' is loads of gobar. There was some real talent in there & I wish they could be taken to a regional/national camp & trained further but when it comes to choosing State teams & national camps, politics is rampant, my own brother along with several other players was left out in favor of fat asses bred by Guborment officials. I wonder if Cricket has moved on & has been able to weed out such politics.
It is good that we now have private corporations & the Indian Army entering the sports scene in India with training & providing equipment but unless the Government starts giving a shit, nothing will change. They need to draft a long term plan, wipe out politics from sport & ensure only the talented receive the scarce resources. We have the facilities, we have lots & lots of talent, we only lack the will at the highest level to actually move their asses & do something. The irony is that for the non-cricketing sportsmen in India who have been for long ill treated by the Government, the only way to attract people, sponsors & promoters to their sports and end their misery is to actually achieve some success. How about that.
Yes Klaus, that is the one. Low profile, but pretty good quality. The TT tournament in Mississauga, just west of Toronto, was very successful, and the STAG tables looked nice!
mrca dhaaga may get an ib4tl, but not this...
And, HI is negotiating with phf for a bilateral home and away series. So there you go, you will see a hickey precursor before bcci sends its team to paki land... wonderful, i have closure and shall shut down my "mi mumbaikar hoon" message i chug along with.
Meanwhile on the hickey front, Arjun Halappa is capitan, Tushar Khandker is injured and will miss azlan, Sandeep Singh and Sardara Singh have been axed from the team due to disciplinary reasons (they apparently went to play the belgian league without hickey india approval) with pargat singh-led committee to suggest measures on what to do now. The belgian league runs thro may 30 and azlan starts may 5, so i have no idea what these guys were thinking when they left for belgium. Who is to blame for keeping hickey affairs in India stale: HI or Sandeep/Sardara? Knowing the answer to that question, I shall suggest one measure to the pargat singh-led committee: suck your thumb.The International Weightlifting Federation (IWF) has handed a two-year suspension to two Indian lifters — Sukhen Dey and Anup Deo Toppo — for testing positive for banned drugs at the IWF Continental Clubs GP in Penang last December.
And, HI is negotiating with phf for a bilateral home and away series. So there you go, you will see a hickey precursor before bcci sends its team to paki land... wonderful, i have closure and shall shut down my "mi mumbaikar hoon" message i chug along with.
Anand has a kid, named as Akhil. Meanwhile, Sasikiran is slowly edging back to 2700, back and forth sure, he is 2682 now. If he manages to win the dubai open as his top billing should suggest, he will get back to 2690. Hari otoh is staying stable and going nowhere at 2660 odd. The one person who is showing a carlsen-esque growth (from India that is) in ratings is G.N.Gopal, steady rise to 26+. Negi, Ganguly, Chanda, Hari, Sasikiran -- something ails them and prevents them from going from 1 to 0.
Three quota spots have been booked by Indians for the londonistan games so far: Gagan Narang, Hariom Singh and Sanjeev Rajput. At the Games, these spots can be re-distributed in any way by the Indian shooting federation depending on current form.
After sticking around the mid-130s, the footer team has sunk further down to the end-140s to let Maldives be the best footer team from the subcontinent. Bravo. Just as the Praful patel led committee is running around nakid in the racial case.
For a while mow, Saurav Ghosal has been above Aamir Atlas in the psa rankings, but Aamir's brother Danish is climbing rather quick. As expected, Ritwik has retired I think.
Loudmouth motorma and her friends in the toilet will be seen in action at home as she gets the top billing. Wonderful.
Three quota spots have been booked by Indians for the londonistan games so far: Gagan Narang, Hariom Singh and Sanjeev Rajput. At the Games, these spots can be re-distributed in any way by the Indian shooting federation depending on current form.
After sticking around the mid-130s, the footer team has sunk further down to the end-140s to let Maldives be the best footer team from the subcontinent. Bravo. Just as the Praful patel led committee is running around nakid in the racial case.
For a while mow, Saurav Ghosal has been above Aamir Atlas in the psa rankings, but Aamir's brother Danish is climbing rather quick. As expected, Ritwik has retired I think.
Loudmouth motorma and her friends in the toilet will be seen in action at home as she gets the top billing. Wonderful.
stan who is our penalty corner taker if sandeep is not playing ?
One thing was we were not a PC team at all, we were more of a field goal team. Tushar used to be right out there, but he is injured. The one hope is Shivendra Singh, but if he gets injured like in 2009 or if gets wild and gets ejected due to gora shitanigans as it happened in the WC (which essentially derailed us after the paki win), forget it. As Rajpal said, this will be a tournament to "get rhythm back" aka wooden spoon. And noone is skipping azlan this time, dont know if the assies will bring their brigade 2 this time too.
Halappa will have his task cut out. Rajpal and Dhananjay are already at the two ends due to JB's idiocy in Canada on top of the Rajpal vs. Sandeep fisticuffs. And neither is a youngistan brigade. JB's munna Prabjhot Singh has gone MIA. This is exactly what is going on in the team: Rajpal, Prabjhot, Sandeep, Tushar, Dhananjay, Arjun --> truly Brasa's tenure must rank only better than Rach-drunkard's. I used to have high hopes on Diwakar Ram, but then the whole apparatus came crumbling on him. He used to take some PCs, but I dont know if he will make it past the shortlist and get to Ipoh, god knows. Something off between him and Harendrabhai. He was our junior star who could make the senior grade any day of his picking, now all these latesies have made it past him. My primary worries lie in who will be the stonewall defence in place of Sardara, I cant think of anyone. Seriously, Pargat singh led committee should go suck its thumb. You cant blame Sardara and Sandeep for taking off to Belgium when these idiots were fighting cases on who runs the game in India, even the Supreme Court had some stinging kicks up their backsides. Yet, we have nothing, no shame, no movement, nothing I can see. For every day I see the same old crap and pull each hair from my head, I will be a Jain bhikku by now.
Overall, this team will let in a dozen field goals at Ipoh unless they really pull up their socks. Forget scoring goals, I will be happy with a 1-zip win any day. The way this shortlist has been set up, they are not taking azlan seriously at all. The focus is more on the OG qualifier in India, the pace of practicing in Dilli was so unlike Injun hickey of late. One thing is for sure, this will either end up being a ludicrous fiasco or an absolute whammy in terms of strategery. No middle ground, i cant see one. The last time was santiago, this time it will be Dilli. I hope the buggers dont peak emotionally before londonistan.
Halappa will have his task cut out. Rajpal and Dhananjay are already at the two ends due to JB's idiocy in Canada on top of the Rajpal vs. Sandeep fisticuffs. And neither is a youngistan brigade. JB's munna Prabjhot Singh has gone MIA. This is exactly what is going on in the team: Rajpal, Prabjhot, Sandeep, Tushar, Dhananjay, Arjun --> truly Brasa's tenure must rank only better than Rach-drunkard's. I used to have high hopes on Diwakar Ram, but then the whole apparatus came crumbling on him. He used to take some PCs, but I dont know if he will make it past the shortlist and get to Ipoh, god knows. Something off between him and Harendrabhai. He was our junior star who could make the senior grade any day of his picking, now all these latesies have made it past him. My primary worries lie in who will be the stonewall defence in place of Sardara, I cant think of anyone. Seriously, Pargat singh led committee should go suck its thumb. You cant blame Sardara and Sandeep for taking off to Belgium when these idiots were fighting cases on who runs the game in India, even the Supreme Court had some stinging kicks up their backsides. Yet, we have nothing, no shame, no movement, nothing I can see. For every day I see the same old crap and pull each hair from my head, I will be a Jain bhikku by now.
Overall, this team will let in a dozen field goals at Ipoh unless they really pull up their socks. Forget scoring goals, I will be happy with a 1-zip win any day. The way this shortlist has been set up, they are not taking azlan seriously at all. The focus is more on the OG qualifier in India, the pace of practicing in Dilli was so unlike Injun hickey of late. One thing is for sure, this will either end up being a ludicrous fiasco or an absolute whammy in terms of strategery. No middle ground, i cant see one. The last time was santiago, this time it will be Dilli. I hope the buggers dont peak emotionally before londonistan.
As I see it, the OQ will be played between the following 18 (my best guess):
India, japan, malaysia, korea, china,
france, poland, belgium, austria, belarus, ireland, russia, scotland
US, mexico, canada, trinidad & tobago/chile
egypt
India and japan cannot be in the same group, the third host is not known yet (it cannot be any asian team). Most likely an euro team. My only worries will be korea or malaysia or belgium in the pool. But since the event will be in Dilli, things will be fine. If the argentinians trip up like last time, that will be worry too. Or worse if either of germany, spain, netherlands finish outside the top 4, a tough luck one. Happened last time to germany who came thro quals.
India, japan, malaysia, korea, china,
france, poland, belgium, austria, belarus, ireland, russia, scotland
US, mexico, canada, trinidad & tobago/chile
egypt
India and japan cannot be in the same group, the third host is not known yet (it cannot be any asian team). Most likely an euro team. My only worries will be korea or malaysia or belgium in the pool. But since the event will be in Dilli, things will be fine. If the argentinians trip up like last time, that will be worry too. Or worse if either of germany, spain, netherlands finish outside the top 4, a tough luck one. Happened last time to germany who came thro quals.
India not in fray for title fight between Humpy-Yifan
CHENNAI: The dates for the Koneru Humpy versus Hou Yifan women's world chess title match have been finalized but the venue will be known only on May 31, the last day for the bidding process to close. The world chess federation (FIDE) while opening the bidding process has announced that the 10-game match between the Indian and the Chinese will be played between November 10 and December 5 but right now it is not clear where the bid is going to come from.
Interestingly, it is certain that India won't be bidding for the match, though the All India Chess Federation (AICF) has not said so. Humpy's father-cum-coach Koneru Ashok has ruled out AICF making any bid. Though he did not explain the reason, it is understood that it could be because the player and the federation had some issues last year before the Asian Games.
"I don't think India will make a bid for the match," Ashok told TOI on Monday. Naturally, the bid has to be routed through the national federation. The prize fund for the match is 3,00,000 euros (in excess of Rs 1.8 crore) and even if the federation had a good relationship with the player, it would have been difficult for AICF to raise the amount as it will probably be looking to find a sponsor for Viswanathan Anand's title match next year, so that India could host the match.
The playing conditions and schedule for the match have been finalized. There will be a rest day after every two games and the tie-breaker, if required, will be played a day after the last game. In all, the match will last 20 days, including the inauguration and prize distribution. The total expenses for the match including prize fund, FIDE fee, arbiters fee etc would be around Rs 3.5 crore.
Ashok revealed to ToI that Humpy's camp had finalized the training team and seconds, but details would not be divulged for obvious reasons.
SwamyG, I hope you know of the open spat between DV Sundar of AICF and Koneru Ashok on taking part under India colours vs. improving FIDE ratings episode, which resulted in some non-payment for traveling accompaniment (Humpy's mom in one case and dad in another), that is leading to all this brouhaha? I dont want to take sides on this FIDE ratings vs. national colors matter, but things are definitely gray and I dont want to side with someone as if he/she is a down-2-earth honest loh-purush of that Hindu fundamentalist param-purush (Al-pentaxuddin does nt read this dhaaga, so yea two less worries for me). In some sense, women's chess in India is worser than women's cricket and hickey, thanks to all the giants it has to live against esp in the men's world. In many sense, the women themselves eff it up like happened with the mahila morcha over MK Kaushik's exodus from the team due to rabble-rousing in the form of a pseudo-498A. The only ones to live past their name and fame are the two Ss, but even in that case, there have been many incidents of shooting using the media at govt babus and traveling accompaniment that cannot be explained rationally. Actually, it would nt be a crime to be sick and tired of some of these motormas when they get to know the behind-the-scenes crap. But then I am also tired of many el-cheapos, so it makes me an = opportunist cynic for crocodile tear-nny.
Meanwhile, Dilbagh Singh and the surprise-guy who beat Joe Abraham over a full ellipse have been caught doping in the recently concluded Nat Games. With the nbjprie that ran the event escaping so easily, I was worried that some of the participants might get off thanks but no thanks to that useless body called NADA. Jiye Jharkhand, life is fun again with the IWF coming close to getting banned again. Mucho before they have even re-paid two instalments of the tranche released by the IOC before CWG. How I love to see the nutfcks thrown out of every competition in the world, I cant explain.
The second OG qualifier will be held in Belgium, first in India, third in Japan. So revising my prev post, worry about Korea, Malaysia and other wanna-be trippers in the form of argentina, one of Ned/Ger/Spain. Meanwhile,
The first-2-report toiletpaper has nt reported this absolving news despite it coming 2 days back on HT. So there you go, toilet not only has an axe to grind but also misinforms and is agenda-driven to the hilt. Someone throw a pig's head at the oiseaules that run toilet. How come both panels absolved MKK of major crimes when Times Now alone had sources nailing him just months back? I feel bad for saying this: the womens team deserves what it has got esp with the jokers who act as leaders in the team and take it down the garden path to shittiness.
In July 2010, Times Now reported the following:Kaushik absolved of charges ---- Firoz Mirza, Hindustan Times
A Union sports ministry panel has absolved MK Kaushik, the then chief coach of the Indian women's hockey team, of allegations of sexual harassment by a player, but found him guilty of using "inappropriate language". India player Ranjitha Devi had complained to Hockey India (HI) in July last year that Kaushik had made sexual advances during the team's camp at SAI centre, Bhopal, in the run-up to the Commonwealth Games. Ranjitha's team-mates too supported her, triggering a nationwide outrage, which finally forced Kaushik to resign.
HI constituted a four-member committee to probe the allegations and subsequently referred the matter to Delhi Police. Later, a five-member sexual harassment committee of the sports ministry also probed the charges. The committee, comprising five senior women officers of the ministry and a woman member from an NGO, also co-opted a member from the Delhi Women's Commission.
Injeti Srinivas, joint secretary, sports ministry, told HT that the, "committee's report said the language used by Kaushik was inappropriate. The problem was more about behaviour than sexual misconduct. "We have attempted to weed out this problem by including guidelines for prevention of sexual harassment of women in sports in the eighth schedule of the Sports Legislation 2011," he added. The report has been submitted to the ministry and also forwarded to the Haryana government.
Kaushik when contacted expressed ignorance about the report but conceded the allegations has made his life miserable. “The girls were like my children. I do not want to punish them. I only want an apology," he said.
Sources have told TIMES NOW that the report will nail M K Kaushik with the mountain of evidence against him. While two members of the committee were lobbying to absolve Kaushik of all charges, it is belived that the other three members refused to be swayed by them and are convinced that Kaushik is indeed guilty.
The first-2-report toiletpaper has nt reported this absolving news despite it coming 2 days back on HT. So there you go, toilet not only has an axe to grind but also misinforms and is agenda-driven to the hilt. Someone throw a pig's head at the oiseaules that run toilet. How come both panels absolved MKK of major crimes when Times Now alone had sources nailing him just months back? I feel bad for saying this: the womens team deserves what it has got esp with the jokers who act as leaders in the team and take it down the garden path to shittiness.
paes and bhupathi are currently #1 rank in WTA doubles:
1 Bhupathi, Mahesh (IND) / Paes, Leander (IND) 2,630
2 Bryan, Bob (USA) / Bryan, Mike (USA) 2,630
3 Mirnyi, Max (BLR) / Nestor, Daniel (CAN) 1,910
1 Bhupathi, Mahesh (IND) / Paes, Leander (IND) 2,630
2 Bryan, Bob (USA) / Bryan, Mike (USA) 2,630
3 Mirnyi, Max (BLR) / Nestor, Daniel (CAN) 1,910
Here is something useless for the day:
A Reuters newsreport says "New skirt rule for female shuttlers debuts in Indian Super Series". Written by Sudipto Ganguly and sourced from: http://in.reuters.com/article/2011/04/1 ... 6120110417
ToI copies the same report verbatim, but re-titles it as "India orders female shuttlers to wear skirts". Sourced from: http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/spor ... 005391.cms
Not to mention that the rule is by BWF and not IBF. Pretty shameless...
A Reuters newsreport says "New skirt rule for female shuttlers debuts in Indian Super Series". Written by Sudipto Ganguly and sourced from: http://in.reuters.com/article/2011/04/1 ... 6120110417
ToI copies the same report verbatim, but re-titles it as "India orders female shuttlers to wear skirts". Sourced from: http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/spor ... 005391.cms
Not to mention that the rule is by BWF and not IBF. Pretty shameless...
Stan saar: Nope, I did not know the controversy. Thanks for filling me in, looks like things are not exactly rosy. If I can hazard a theory then it is that anytime an athlete is managed by her or his father, then controversies are not far behind.
Meanwhile, after the 8th round, in the Dubai Chess, the top three spots are held by Indians - Negi, Abhijeet and Sasi. The next Indian, is Ganguly on the 20th spot.
http://www.chess-results.com/tnr47759.a ... 30&wi=1000
2 more days to go, and Negi's chances are very good.
Meanwhile, after the 8th round, in the Dubai Chess, the top three spots are held by Indians - Negi, Abhijeet and Sasi. The next Indian, is Ganguly on the 20th spot.
http://www.chess-results.com/tnr47759.a ... 30&wi=1000
2 more days to go, and Negi's chances are very good.
Injun fathers are very protective of their girl kid. And many of these kids also have their mothers accompanying them on furrin trips. Even with the attached system as ours, it ends in a lot of takleef and aggrandizing of resources that leads to cold wars with association presidents/secretaries. Sania, Humpy, all are victims of this at some point in time. If you can have ddm bat on your behalf, you win the PR war. But then association secretaries/presidents have a long life and ddm can only do so much. At the end of the day, the secretary gives as much back as he (often its a he) gets from the star/starlet. Our sports association politics is a mega-saga that will shame 99.99% of the soap operas you might hate to see/talk about. Unk bhai came to the kalki yug for a reason

Rahul M, here is your answer from coachbhai:
http://www.rediff.com/sports/report/hoc ... 110419.htm
DDM is making a big deal here as it was obvious that Sardara and Sandeep were out due to disciplinary reasons, Tushar had a stress fracture. The only surprises are Rajpal's injury which was not reported before, Bharat Chikara out which could have happened even on a normal day, and Gurwinder going given that Baljeet is still out of action.
"Rupinder Pal Singh and Diwakar Ram have not been regular and in and out of the team. But they have enough experience to do well. Dhananjay and Rupinder can drag-flick for penalty-corners. Diwakar and Dhananjay have done well in the European tour," he said.
http://www.rediff.com/sports/report/hoc ... 110419.htm
DDM is making a big deal here as it was obvious that Sardara and Sandeep were out due to disciplinary reasons, Tushar had a stress fracture. The only surprises are Rajpal's injury which was not reported before, Bharat Chikara out which could have happened even on a normal day, and Gurwinder going given that Baljeet is still out of action.
I am somehow losing hope in Sasikiran, he is going to shed more points given that last round loss.
Saw an uber-bilge by a commie in the telegraph op-ed column on how football is the people's game and how crikkit is the elitist game, how money money money is such pain pain pain etc
. Not gonna waste my time posting that. But from 1911 and up, this has been one of the bhadraloks' pet peeves and a reason for flocking to the people's game. Also why the BDs flock to footer more than crikkit. Looks like someone may have to do a pisko on BD's water melon confusion
. When I get a chance, I will post/review Boria's co-authored book on the people's game. It is a decent read, but yea, there can be only one first among equals
. Plus, whatever glorification you can make out of 1911, it was Amsterdam 1928 and Jaipal Singh Munda's roar + diplomatic silence following the brouhaha that saw him sent home + non-conversion act + packing bags from Oxford and defying authority with a capital D that put a scare in the eyes of the brits that mucho EJ attempts may not win over tribal India. Somuchso, the brits did nt appear in olympic hickey worried that they ll lose to their colony till 48
. But if you ask Ramachandra Guha, he will say Verrier Elywin is the greatest tribal of India =)). Sad to say that this idiot is born of tam parents, fits to a T MSA's confused lohpurush antics. Plus, the 28 team was united despite frothing in different parts of India that were to become different countries later. Truly, the first biggest brit-defying moment came in 1928, while 1911 was just the opening remarks.
http://www.thehindu.com/sport/other-spo ... 709711.eceAbhijeet finished the tournament on 7.5 points out of a possible nine and in addition to the winner's purse of $8000 he also ended up with a handsome gain of close to 17 points to decisively move past the 2600 rating barrier for the first time in his career. In good form for the past couple of months, Abhijeet has gained 40 points overall and will now be 2620 in the next list.
Saw an uber-bilge by a commie in the telegraph op-ed column on how football is the people's game and how crikkit is the elitist game, how money money money is such pain pain pain etc

Yes, he dropped from 1 to 17
. Btw, the Dubai Open chess website is one of the worst websites to hit the face of mankind. For a country from the middle-east, the winner prize money of $8000 seems like pocket money.

What is wrong with live rating? They ve nt updated wang yue's numbers after the beating he got in the china nationals. I know that he is going to shed like 20-30 ELO points and let wang yao become the no. 1 in china. Same like what happened with bu xiangzhi a while back. on the wimmen's list, hou is 4 ahead of humpy now and they are updating that part every microsecond =)). When will i get to see another 27+ from India, I am losing enthu tracking down the mid-2650s and the 2300s in wimmens. Except for the looks, tania and sania are pretty much the same, too much hype, too lil substance.