Indian Roads Thread

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Indian Roads Thread

e-rickshaws were harrassed by hawaldars for being e-rickshaw walas. Now hawaldar won't be able to do that. As far as I understood this, all other traffic rules apply. they cannot drive on wrong side, jump signal etc.
member_23651

Post by member_23651 »

^Atriji, Please that is just strawman argument. Havaldars harass anyone, be it motorcycles, auto rickshaws, cars, taxis trucks (whatever other mode of transport you can think of, that rich & connected don't drive) etc. BUt they all come under DMV. Since they are also harassed does that mean they should also not come under DMV? E-Rickshaws since they wont come under DMV, any person killed by these deathtraps, will not be compensated by government. Nor the driver be held liable under law. The 850 watt overloaded rick travelling at 30-40 km/hr, taking sudden you turns, knocking of pedestrians cannot be penalized by the DMV or the Traffic Police. Traffic Police can prosecute them as much as they can prosecute a erring human powered rickshaws (whose chances are next to nil).

And illiterate, non driver license possessing drivers of E-Ricks will be following traffic rules from now on!? .... lol
muraliravi

Post by muraliravi »

Gadkari is saying that all national highways will be 4 laned and in concrete. While it sounds good on paper, the current cost of a 4 lane stretch for 1 Km with concrete is approx 20 crores. In a year, he can hope to hit 7000 kms and that is his target. I seriously hope, they just do a 6 lane or at least acquire land for 6 lanes if they build just 4 for now. They can leave a gap for 2 future lanes in the middle, so that there is no encroachment. So to just acquire land for 6 lanes and build 4 for a 1 KM, it will roughly cost 21.5 crores. 7000 kms, 1.5 Lakh crores. I heard they may approve 60K crores. So remaining 90K crores all have to come from BOT/PPP.

Even that 60K crores is 0.5% of our GDP. That is just for NH, add a whole host of maintenance, rural roads, state highways, blah blah..

If we are going to see these roads, they will all be tolled for a while.

Concrete has higher upfront cost but lower lifecycle maintenance cost than asphalt. However, I think that relaying existing good quality roads in concrete is unnecessary. Instead it can be done for new stretches and those being relaid.

Intercity connectivity has improved tremendously in the last 15-20 years. What's more pressing right now is urban road development. The quality and quantity of our urban physical infrastructure, including for road transport, is way below what we need.

Agree, concrete is not necessary at this stage of our development. Asphalt is easy to repair and replace. Concrete is expensive to replace as the sub-grade has to be redone each time. Maybe in high traffic areas near cities.

They need to announce a program for urban infrastructure. Massively funded too. Somewhere in the 100,000 crore per annum range of matching grants. Also make it a requirement that world class design and engineering be used. Present design work is patchy and prone to quality problems.
SanjayC

Post by SanjayC »

Atri wrote:e-rickshaws were harrassed by hawaldars for being e-rickshaw walas. Now hawaldar won't be able to do that. As far as I understood this, all other traffic rules apply. they cannot drive on wrong side, jump signal etc.
They are I think treated on par with bicycles. How will e-rickhsaws be challaned if they have no registration number and the driver needs no drivers license? The maximum cops can do to bicycles breaking traffic rules is to deflate their tires. The traffic fines are imposed for breaking the Indian Motor Vehicles Act, which does not apply to e-rickshaws. This is an absurd decision though, since they also have a motor driving the wheels - only the energy source is different. They can be an ideal replacement for cycle rickshaws though.

SanjayC wrote:How will e-rickhsaws be challaned if they have no registration number and the driver needs no drivers license?
The way I see it the e-Rickshaw scheme is just a scheme for law-lessness. The vehicle does not require a registration, the drivers do NOT require a license. BUT YET, these folks are allowed to take passengers on board. For all public transport vehicles, the drivers require a valid license plus a "badge". A passenger travelling by this vehicle, would not be even able to lodge a complaint against the driver (in case of fare disputes etc.). Like many other schemes in New Delhi, guess this is one is also another free looting scheme in favour of the localites. If Gadkari has some honesty:-
1. He should mandate that e-Rickshaws have a valid registration number
2. The drivers should have a license and a badge
3. And insist that such kind of vehicles are registered in a database. In many cities & towns in the south, this is what the police does.
member_23651

Post by member_23651 »

Another question arises how govt going to cater to massive requirement of electric charge points for these death traps? Are we going to see more kundi connections for anywhere and everywhere charge facility? And then expect Aap and Congress to move in to prevent their removal because it is so anti aam admi? Also I can see people replacing electric motors with small jugaad petrol engines.

Theo_Fidel wrote:^
Agree, concrete is not necessary at this stage of our development. Asphalt is easy to repair and replace. Concrete is expensive to replace as the sub-grade has to be redone each time. Maybe in high traffic areas near cities.

They need to announce a program for urban infrastructure. Massively funded too. Somewhere in the 100,000 crore per annum range of matching grants. Also make it a requirement that world class design and engineering be used. Present design work is patchy and prone to quality problems.
Concrete roads last some 50-60 years. So where is the need for replacement?

modi probably giving a ear full to Gadkari for such a comment, see them silently being pulled off the road

Our problem isn't money really is it? We cannot be trusted to keep up maintenance unless you have a toll road. Concrete is pretty much lay and forget. Given the huge numbers closer to cities and inter-city routes, isn't this better?
muraliravi

Post by muraliravi »

Prasad wrote:Our problem isn't money really is it? We cannot be trusted to keep up maintenance unless you have a toll road. Concrete is pretty much lay and forget. Given the huge numbers closer to cities and inter-city routes, isn't this better?
Maybe, but I am quite sure, relaying existing 4 / 6 lane highways with concrete will be ruled out. They may think of doing new highways with concrete. In terms of ease of construction, concrete does offer certain advantages. Its hugely pre-fabricated, easy to lay and finish highway construction. Asphalt roads have some advantages like generating employment opportunities with more people needed to lay roads, ease of transporting raw materials even to remote areas (but they can always avoid concrete in such areas).

But oh man, driving on concrete roads is noisy, for a driver asphalt road (well maintained one) is a pleasure. But anyway, we dont have a choice, if money is not a constraint, then they should go with concrete to touch that 20km/day figure.

concrete foundation of at least 1 1/2 feet and asphalt topping to about 1/2 feet + rubber spray is what makes good roads.

I used to speak to an extraordinary nuke guy, who boasts his own patented tech (not sure if he made any success) where he wants to use nuke power to melt whatever on its way (earth materials) , and harden and shaped by road rollers after that.

I was able to read something close to that here:
http://www.wired.com/2013/04/the-most-d ... lava-flow/

Prasad wrote:Our problem isn't money really is it? We cannot be trusted to keep up maintenance unless you have a toll road. Concrete is pretty much lay and forget. Given the huge numbers closer to cities and inter-city routes, isn't this better?
dont think its lay and forget, a full concrete road is subjected to wear and tear as well, it would probably need some kind of topping so that concrete is not exposed , the concrete road that they lay here is in bad shape after 3-4 years due to lorry and water tankers so imaging how it would be in highway

I think road concrete is different std than building slab concrete but in india they use the house concrete which is uneven and tends to break after few yrs of HCV use.
ofcourse even for tarmac roads abroad the base is concrete which is never really done in india. there must be multiple materials and layers used to make sure it drains water properly, deforms under stress etc.

all in all our road layering constructions stds esp urban roads are pathetically behind the trailing edge of middle income nations even like thailand and malaysia. you can drive miles and miles there and not encounter a single pothole or speedbreaker.

Anti-lock braking made mandatory in commercial vehicles from April
To make the roads safer, the ministry of road transport and highways is also contemplating devices like airbags, traction control and heads up display, which beams data on to the windscreen so that the driver doesn't have to look away from

hanumadu wrote:Concrete roads last some 50-60 years. So where is the need for replacement?
In a protected environment with yes. In unprotected tropical environment with porous 2500 psi concrete unlikely, as moisture penetrates and allows the sub grade beneath to deteriorate. Don't know how it is now but 3 years back when I drove on the Mumbai-Pune expressway the concrete in some sections was already showing third stage cracking, where slabs are sub-segmented internally. Right there is an indicator that the concrete has exceeded life and needs to be re-laid. Also the joints were starting to pipe material due to moisture penetration and ride quality had deteriorated substantially and may have been even dangerous in certain areas. Concrete problems always begin with its sub-grade due to its joints and porosity. Once the sub-grade is damaged any re-topping is throwing good money after bad.
Singha wrote:I think road concrete is different std than building slab concrete but in india they use the house concrete which is uneven and tends to break after few yrs of HCV use.
ofcourse even for tarmac roads abroad the base is concrete which is never really done in india. there must be multiple materials and layers used to make sure it drains water properly, deforms under stress etc.
The base is rarely concrete except in some interior roads, high load areas and and some re-topping operations. Almost always for fresh roads it is gravel, fines, flyash or AB-3 (a type of crushed limestone). Of course laser leveled to look smooth as concrete or hema malini's cheeks. :-) As you note drainage is absolutely key to a good road. Often up to 1/2 the cost of a good highway goes into the drainage system.

Concrete is indeed slightly more forgiving of an inadequate drainage system. Otherwise its life matches asphalt in most cases.

Singha wrote:I think road concrete is different std than building slab concrete but in india they use the house concrete which is uneven and tends to break after few yrs of HCV use.

all in all our road layering constructions stds esp urban roads are pathetically behind the trailing edge of middle income nations even like thailand and malaysia. you can drive miles and miles there and not encounter a single pothole or speedbreaker.
that is because we use general labours , who hardly have any knowledge about tech of road laying,

1. spray the tar
2. spread the stones
3. use road rollers , sometimes they dont even use that and let motorists do it :rotfl:

#Gurgaon #Haryana In a bid to make commuting easier for citizens, Indian Highway Management Company Limited (IHMCL) will soon be introducing a smart card which can be used at any toll plaza across the country.
According to a report in Amarujala, National Highway Authority of India (NHAI) has given the responsibility to IHMCL to connect all toll plazas via a single smart card. It has also approached ICICI bank to make the toll plaza card similar to the bank's VISA debit cards.
Even the groundwork to implement the plan has already picked up pace in various cities. For smart card holders, a separate lane (tag lane) has been constructed in 16 cities including Gurgaon. The aim is to construct such lanes at all the toll plazas across the country in next 3 months time.
Delhi-NCR commuters are likely to benefit the most from the new smart card system.
Now, use a single smart card to cross any toll plaza across the country
As of now, NCR residents have to use separate cards for crossing Badarpur border plaza, Indira Gandhi airport plaza, Delhi-Gurgaon Expressway (Khedkidaula), DND, Gurgaon-Faridabad toll plaza.
However, after the new system is implemented, they will be able to use this single smart card to cross any of these tolls.
Also, to encourage more and more people to purchase the card, the company has laid a provision in which any user who takes the card for long duration gets 2/3 rd discount on their daily toll transactions.

krishnan wrote:

that is because we use general labours , who hardly have any knowledge about tech of road laying,

1. spray the tar
2. spread the stones
3. use road rollers , sometimes they dont even use that and let motorists do it :rotfl:

I think your point with quality of labour is very important. I was in switzerland recently and my god, how nice roads they have. In france they use much of the same material, systems and standards. But the qualitywork in Switzerland and Germany is in another world. The reason is importance gien to vocational training and apprentership system for worksmen. Typically they would train a worker for 2-3 years, and then they will have to prove them selfs in a test. In India they put some University joker in charge (who may never have lifted a shovel). The labour is sourced from local villages. Quality work is horrendous and even new buildings look like crap.

India needs to put emphasis on vocational training of craftsmen.

key problem is cost. so they try to cut corners ard get cheap labor and use sub standard materials and also try to use as less rollers as possible. dont think training alone will help.

equally responsible are the corrupt govt officials who inspect these sub-standard works and pass it for a fee from the contractor.

where oversight is good as in pvtly owned tolled roads, the work is much better. its the govt owned city roads, flyovers, rural roads which are much inferior.

Singha wrote:#Gurgaon #Haryana In a bid to make commuting easier for citizens, Indian Highway Management Company Limited (IHMCL) will soon be introducing a smart card which can be used at any toll plaza across the country.
According to a report in Amarujala, National Highway Authority of India (NHAI) has given the responsibility to IHMCL to connect all toll plazas via a single smart card. It has also approached ICICI bank to make the toll plaza card similar to the bank's VISA debit cards.
Even the groundwork to implement the plan has already picked up pace in various cities. For smart card holders, a separate lane (tag lane) has been constructed in 16 cities including Gurgaon. The aim is to construct such lanes at all the toll plazas across the country in next 3 months time.
Delhi-NCR commuters are likely to benefit the most from the new smart card system.
Now, use a single smart card to cross any toll plaza across the country
As of now, NCR residents have to use separate cards for crossing Badarpur border plaza, Indira Gandhi airport plaza, Delhi-Gurgaon Expressway (Khedkidaula), DND, Gurgaon-Faridabad toll plaza.
However, after the new system is implemented, they will be able to use this single smart card to cross any of these tolls.
Also, to encourage more and more people to purchase the card, the company has laid a provision in which any user who takes the card for long duration gets 2/3 rd discount on their daily toll transactions.
I wish the nice toll road and kial toll roads adopt the balance based OBU used in BETL. A really low hanging fruit to enhance efficiency. Make the services like re-charge, view statement etc web enabled with a standard payment gateway and we have ezpass in our hand.

Sala, the BETL office is a stone through away from the HCL office in e-City (in fact, the entrance gates are on the opposite side of the same road hardly 100 ft away from each other) and still they can not make this simple web application. No wonder, you will find the CITU flags and banners decorating the BETL office all the time.

Interesting point to note: the office (or rather the palace) of Moog, the Belgian company providing actuators to LCA is right next to this HCL building.

As with everything else in India poor road quality is a function of shortcuts. Too many people take too many short cuts. A typical road design involves many steps and following the steps.

I wouldn't blame the workers too much for skipping these steps.

IME I can not even get a contractor to do a survey before beginning concrete work at least at the local level. Everything is done visually with the contractor randomly deciding what the drawings say the turning radius is or the thickness of sub-grade or the thickness of concrete or the level of reinforcement needed.

I think things are a little better at the NH/Metro/Railway/Airport/etc level, but that level of work needs to permeate everything including concrete work for a house. Even to replace a house concrete drive in USA the contractor must prepare a drawing, pull a permit, properly compact sub grade, test the concrete pour, build accurate form work, control jts, etc. You skip any of these stages and you will end up in India. :(
Last edited by Theo_Fidel on 06 Jul 2014 21:15, edited 1 time in total.

only special projects like the BETL or the airport expway where pre-formed concrete parts were used seem to have the proper quality and tolerances to an extent.
also NHAI projects outside the city.
the rest is all raggedy ass build-in-place, with the degree of bum showing completely random.

the major highways outside blr being NHAI are pretty good for most part. the state highways are very average.

thing I dont like about the current NHAI roads is the total lack of any 0.5 lane safety shoulder on the fast lane. it always means narrow bridges.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vWYoYekQxuE

sometimes buses strike the median or bridge and break into flames.

sometimes yahoos jump out onto the fast lane in motorcycles attempting to take a short cut.
Vriksh

Post by Vriksh »

x-posted from Healthcare thread

This friday I was a witness to an accident where a young lady on a scooter clipped the back of a car while merging and lost control and fell down and hit her head quite hard. She was not wearing a helmet. I was right behind her when this happened. About a year back I had promised myself that I would take action when I see an accident. So immediately I stopped by car crossways in traffic to create a barrier to traffic in order to ensure a space to take action. Immediately got to her and tried to assess how best to help her. She seemed to be in shock and could not breathe and talk, her fingers were stiff in an unnatural way. Her eyes were not dilated in the sun which seemed to suggest that she was not in any kind of brain damage state (no idea though). After getting rid of the backpack she was wearing, my concern was whether she had a spinal fracture and whether it was wise to move her. Some police folk showed up and were more interested in calling up superiors and starting some kind of criminal investigation. People around me started pointing out that she was bleeding heavily I failed to notice this since I was concentrating on trying figure out a way to move her to hospital as damage free as possible. The crowd started insisting that she be taken to the hospital. Despite reservations I took hold of her by the shoulders and a few others help ease her into a car of a passerby. I noticed that the system we used would have definitely exacerbated any spinal injuries. A group of 4 of us in the patient car and my car took her to a near by casualty ward in less than 20 mins from time of accident. She had lost a lot of blood from her head wound most of it soaking into my clothes and the car seats (thankfully not cloth). A doc in the hospital patched the cut and took CT to see if there were internal wounds etc. She was stable within 2 hours of the accident and her husband came by that time. I washed up as best I could in the hospital and went on to my appointment. A police guy called to take my statement regarding the accident and I told as best as I recollected (in my eyes no fault of the car driver here).

In case this happens again I want to be better prepared and help fellow citizens in the absence of a strong state infrastructure under Indian conditions. Any pointers?

Vriksh,

Well done there. Getting the bleeding stopped quickly is the right thing though getting professional help on the road in India is impossible. I would recommend taking a class on CPR/First Aid/Swim rescue/etc, so you can judge the odds of these things or recognize critical damage from symptoms. It would certainly help if more citizens were aware. Once again well done.
Sudip

Post by Sudip »

Vriksh wrote:x-posted from Healthcare thread
In case this happens again I want to be better prepared and help fellow citizens in the absence of a strong state infrastructure under Indian conditions. Any pointers?

I am an indian citizen living in US. Last year i joined a volunteer fire department here where I was supposed to take a 4 month long extensive course for EMT (Emergency Medical Technician) from a community college. This is the basic qualification needed for running ambulance services etc. It was a pretty hard and intense challenging course for me (I am engineering background) with practical and written tests and also clinical experience in hospital emergency ward. From your description of the circumstance, the responders should have maintained c spine immobilization, instant bleeding control to prevent her from going in shock etc.

I googled if such training is available in india and it seems like it isnt (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3299154/)

If you want to prepare yourself for such scenarios, you can look up how to use c-spine (there are many youtube videos)

If its road accidents, it would also help to know the mechanism of bleeding control to prevent person from going into shock (pressure dressing, using torniquets etc) and long bone, joints immobilization in case of fractures. Give primacy to ABCs (Airway-Breathing-Circulation) to save lives..

maybe you could buy some c spines, splints online somewhere and keep it as part of an emergency first aid kit in your car.

I can give you more resources if you are interested.

I salute your decision to come ahead and be a good samaritan even if others just prefer to stand and watch. with more people like you, India will change.

Great post, Sudip! If you'd really like to share your knowledge in a manner that benefits roadside emergency services in India, I commend putting together basic livesaving tips, as well as what not to dos, you learned as a form of easily disseminable posts that can be shared by popular social media in India - FB, whatsapp or other means where they become popular memes, so that when people are faced with such a situation, they can use the knowledge to help productively.

Vriksh, let India be flooded with people like you. God bless you.

massan 911 calls on accidents automatically dispatches cops, fire truck and ambulance in minutes.. there is no big first info report from victim before haspathaal service.. if you are injured or not, you will be padded with neck support, rests on stretcher and taken to nearest hospital.. all happens in +/- 10 min. cops will chase you down after that to get more info.. criminal aspects are only taken by lawyers. your medical analysis begins in the ambulance itself. it had happened to me once .. a truck rared my car, and a small Japanese 2door 4 seater coupe became two seater after the crash.. I had serious whiplash, and escaped with 6 months of chiropractic treatments. I was lucky to survive with no injuries. if anyone had seen the car, would say a survival is a miracle. mine was!

Indic cop system and service system must learn from massan setup. a MUST!
Javee

Post by Javee »

Vriksh,
Does the city have 108 ambulance service? Atleast in Chennai, call to 108 will surely get an ambulance dispatched, but accessibility to the accident site during peak hours is less than ideal. I have called them couple times for accidents I see on the road and their response and response time has been phenomenal.

another valiant attempt will be made to fix the shiradi ghat road post monsoon.
http://www.thehindubusinessline.com/new ... 180470.ece

I really wonder what is the permanent soln to this road with lots of bus and heavy trucks + ghat slopes. they tried concrete and it didnt seem to have worked.

maybe step back a bit outside the box and first get rid of all overhanging tree branches that drip water onto particular spots always and erode the road surface ? HAL airport road here has same issue.

permanent soln is probably a tunnel around 40km long for heavy vehicles while cars and bikes can use the surface road ?

same issue in bisle ghat road...when paved it is fine and smooth. when it falls apart, it really falls apart in a way that normal roads dont.
muraliravi

Post by muraliravi »

^^^ Vriksh, very nice job sir, truly inspirational.
Haresh

Post by Haresh »

Vriksh wrote:In case this happens again I want to be better prepared and help fellow citizens in the absence of a strong state infrastructure under Indian conditions. Any pointers?
When I was a lot younger I used to climb and trek, I just trek now and have taken up kayaking.

Youtube is a great resource for gaining knowledge.

Just search for terms such as:
How to make an improvised stretcher
or How to deal with car crash victims etc.

Nothing beats proper training. If you have any friends/relations in the army then try to get in touch with some Combat Medics/surgeons. They are trained to deal with trauma injuries.

I carry a recue knife/cutter with me when I kayak. It can cut through rope or webbing straps (seat belts).
Here is a link to what they look like:
http://www.heinnie.com/survival/rescue-aids

You have to learn how to tie knots (to put together an improvised stretcher, attach stretcher to vehicle etc)
Never underestimate the importance of rope work.
The great thing about climbing and adrenaline sports is that they encourage you to think clearly when under stress and in life threatening situations.

If you can try and help out in a hospital A&E department, learn how to tie bandages and dress wounds.
Prepare a first aid kit.
http://www.heinnie.com/survival/first-aid
Set up a group of like minded individuals, network.
People will help.

Remember the saying......
"YOU NEVER KNOW WHAT IT IS TO LIVE.....UNTIL YOU HAVE NEARLY DIED!!"
Haresh

Post by Haresh »

One more thing, this is the website for the St Johns Ambulance Brigade, look at the training on offer. (Choose a course)
http://www.sja.org.uk/sja/training-courses.aspx

Not to sure if they operate in India, however looking through the courses you can get an indication of what skills you may need to learn.

A glimpse into future: Solar powered Roads

http://wordlesstech.com/2011/01/29/sola ... ure-video/
As the sun energizes the solar cells, energy can be transferred to power street signs, nearby homes and roadside businesses. In snowy climates, the collected energy could heat the roadway and melt snow and ice, eliminating the need for large fleets of plows.

Brusaw insists that glass developers can create a strong enough material that traction and durability would not be an issue. A few problems do stand in the way of course, as is typically the case with new ideas and technology. Most notable of these problems is the issue of cost. Brusaw estimates that it would costs about $4.4 million per mile to lay down this super-glass roadway. Of course, the road would eventually recoup that money and even generate a greater return, but the initial cost is a daunting one.

US roads use solar to power animal alert lights in certain areas. If a deer or something breaks a light beam, the alert light starts flashing. Don't know how doable this is in India since cattle wander onto any/all highways without restricted access.

roadside chaiwala needs blocks all animals away.. there are no animals left in desh other than humans. forest space is so reduced, and India will sink to bottom of living standards soon.

we need good roads, but at the same time should not abuse environment. a simple barbed fence is enough.