Indian Roads Thread

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Indian Roads Thread

^^ I dunno, looks like a nice new bridge. Might even set a record when it starts getting used -- submarine railways are not just for the TFTA.

Interesting idea, not sure if it has been tried out anywhere else. Anyone from Pollachi/Krishnagiri or been there of late to observe how the improvement is?

Ramanathapuram roads to come under new system - Deepa H. Ramakrishnan, The Hindu

Soon highways in Ramanathapuram district too will be brought under a long-term contract where 569 km of roads will be improved and maintained by a contractor for five years. The State government recently sanctioned funds for the works worth Rs. 460 crore to be taken up under Performance Based Maintenance Contract (PBMC) system.

Works including initial rectification, widening, construction of cross drains and periodical surface renewal will be taken up under the new system. The required amount will be released each year for a period of five years. Tenders will soon be floated for the project.

According to sources in the Highways Department, such a system is in place already in Pollachi and Krishnagiri.

“Pollachi was taken up as a pilot project two years ago and the quality of roads in that district have seen a marked improvement. The terms of reference of the project have been drawn up based on previous World Bank road projects implemented in the State,” the source said.

The idea is to cover all the districts in the State under such contracts so that road quality is improved and one contractor is held responsible consistently, the source added. However, former highways engineers termed the contracts as a kind of privatisation move.

Manali Rohtang Tunnel willl be completed earlier than projected completion year of 2017. Work is progressing fast apace. It will link Manali-Kullu Valley with lahul-Spiti valley. The tunnel link will provide all weather route to Keylong and Leh and provide much relief to people of Lahul-Spiti valley.

The tunnel is 9 KMs long and in horse shoe shape.According to locals more than half the work is over. It might get completed by year end which could be ambitious projection though. Tunnel is through some of the tough rock layers of Quartzites, Quartzitc Schists, Quartz-Diolite-Schist .

This is treated as Strategic importance for Army.

There are five more tunnels for which work of excavation would begin.
These tunnels would provide alternate all weather route to Manali-Leh-Srinagar.

The view of Lahul Valley is simply breathtaking when seen from Rohtang pass. And journey down below to Chandrabhaga river is hair raising.

THat should be the way forward as in TN. Long term contracts for every road and tendersure-like projects within city limits. Otherwise the cycle of laying and relaying of the same roads every year due to collusive corruption between pliticians, babus, contractors, engineers, etc cannot be broken.
Haresh

Post by Haresh »

Bin Lorry Crash: Families Plan Prosecution

http://news.sky.com/story/1536790/bin-l ... rosecution

Ok it is UK news. However would there be anything to stop the families of victims of rash/negligent driving in India from taking action against individuals and companies that employ unqualified/bad drivers??

no. I know a friend of mine who lost his BinL to a construction co's dumper. the papers were not in order and he successfully sued the co for damages.

I was just wondering why that elephant appeared in the ramanathapuram roads contract pic. It is not a bad idea as long the there is a quality check.. generally speaking, (we know how they do this).. bhaksheesh ridden, and the contractors will ensure paisa vasool is by 5 year basis.

same 1ft thickness roads will be done certified for 3-5".. after all which civilian will dig and check?
there would be more bunglows for the contractors.

what is mandatory is correcting the gov system of quality control

if the Govt pwd inspector who is in cahoots with the contractor to certify quality of work signs off, there is no soln that involves govt.

instead, a pvt co should be paid a fixed retainer to do this inspection + a bonus for every instance of sub-standard work they find. this is +ve encouragement to find faults and make more profit rather than say all is well.

or maybe incentivise the govt guy himself to report flaws , get it fixed at contractor expense and claim cash bonuses. once the contractors start losing money to re-do work, they will be more inclined to do it properly first time.

The main artery of the Bangladesh-China-India-Myanmar (BCIM) corridor is almost ready as an all-weather road, linking Yunnan province in China with West Bengal.
This bit in the YAWN editorial caught my eye. I wonder where can we find details on the current status of this project- a preliminary google search revealed only planning maps and proposed route(s).

Any links?

You don't have to copy the USA but the way it works here is that all potential liability work is peer reviewed. People work to keep their professions clean of bad actors as that benefits their pay check. A single complaint that holds up and bang! your license will be yanked and you will have to move on else where. A contractor who performs bad work will go through review by other contractors and lose his license if illegal stuff is detected. It is not very complicated and relatively cheap to implement. Typical state licensing costs ~ $100 per state and that includes a review board and liability insurance. Doesn't prevent all the bad actors but keeps it to a minimum. This year 3 engineers lost their license in my state for poor engineering and malpractice.

It does raise entry barriers though. Not anyone can be a contractor or even an inspector. And makes things slightly more expensive.

the public being intolerant of any shoddy work where it affects their day to day lives and the govt scared of public wrath + willing to use common sense in matching demand:supply in infra is a relatively new concept in India

lets say you want to start a uber-SEZ with 10,000 souls in some american town. you just cannot file a few permits and get it done entirely via your cronies in the govt like in india or china. there's got to be town hearings and the townspeople have to sign off and everything from water use, to estimates of vehicles going around will be asked for and tracked. lawsuits will result if the developer tries to fudge data. when netz was setting was its campus in MA it had to plead with the townspeople to allow some 20 showers in the gym (people felt too much water use....netz told them water use would be same even if 10 showers, people would just form a queue), town had to be given a huge playing field etc etc.

here developers work with their govt cronies to put foot in the door. then willy nilly things are scaled up with addl buildings no matter if the infra cannot support it. every irregular scrap of land is monetized.

those who know blr will know the hosa road (jail road) and harlur road can never support the huge number of apartments that have mushroomed there. they are small 2 lane paved roads where two trucks cannot pass comfortably :evil:

I am not sure even a change of govt will help. power has to somehow shift to the people from the hands of chinese style politician-builder group.

Bade wrote:Landslide reported on the Mumbai-Pune expressway. Size of the boulders seems big to crush cars. Do they use any safety nets to keep smaller rocks from falling on to the carriageway there ?
There are safety nets, but more are being added on.

There's news in the press that the tunnel project under the Sahaydri mountain range, to get rid of the mountain roads dividing Mumbai and Pune, is being revived.

Also heard informally that a 4 lane highway connecting Pune to NH17 is under consideration to provide another way to connect Mumbai and Pune.

bellandur, marathalli, doddnakundi are three BBMP wards which are the key to ORR high density belt. suffering daily traffic chaps.
bbmp elections are day after tomorrow. the candidates had come to springfield apts for a meeting
here is a writeup on the quality of candidates for bellandur...its a reserved womens constituency.

compare this to the quality of people on the town councils of say palo alto or mountain view debating traffic, construction, water. the problems are similar and more in scale here with less money to throw at it.

they are ok to rule bellandur village as it used to be 10 yrs ago. do you see any chance they can even grasp the nature of band aids/solutions for ORR?

you wanted a pane of glass into grassroots democracy, sure you got a view now...democracy is intact and people will freely vote for their candiates using EVM. there will be no rigging allowed. but do you think the quality of the people are upto the mark ?

Ramakrishnamma( Independent candidate):
She lives in our area and she said he has been supporting her husband, who has been in local governance -- serving in the panchayat for several years and was Sarpanch of Halanayakanahalli Panchayat as well. Apparently, during his term as sarpanch, the panchayat won the Nirmal Gram Puraskara in 2009 awarded by the Ministry of Drinking Water and Sanitation, Govt of India. I asked Ramakrishnamma why she has not done work in the public sphere until now and her answer was that one person in the family was into it so she thought she would support him from home. But now that she has been given an opportunity, she wants to make a difference. I asked her how she would make her presence felt and she gave the usual assurances that anyone seeking votes does...cauvery water was one things she mentioned and I told her that some people in the community have been working on this for years and have been told that there in NO cauvery water to give to our ward for the next several years. She was willing to talk to BWSSB to see if it would be willing to work out a deal where it pays for some of the tankers that ply in our area so at least something was done by the BWSSB in our ward for the kind of money many have paid towards BWSSB. I told her that since the BWSSB was separate from the BBMP, it may prove difficult to do and she said that all she could do to try anyway, which was better than not trying. When asked her views on the Ward Committee (thankfully she said she already knew what a ward committee was), she gave the usual assurances about involving citizens. I told her that we have asked all candidates to send a two minute video of their vision of how they will involve citizens through the ward committee and she said she would get back. At this point her husband answered and he went off on a tangent and she stopped him and told him that he had misunderstood my question and that she had already answered my query. This gave me the impression that she, potentially, had the ability to be independent. I asked her how she will handle the challenge of not belonging to a major party when we all know that party affiliation becomes important in the council and pressure is brought to bear on those who are not affiliated. She said that is something she will rely on citizens to help her with. Since she promises to takes up causes that are in the interest of the public and so she hopes she can withstand pressure inside the council because she will do it knowing people will be supportive of her stance. I perceived her to speak more confidently than all the other candidates and she seemed to have slightly more knowledge than the other candidates. Given that she doesn't belong to a party, she will be seeking support from people who are not aligned. Will those people will have the larger public interest in mind and not extract their pound of flesh from her if she gets elected? That's something we have to guess at. Being an independent candidate may be a good thing if one is against party politics, but it may also work against her given that she may have to work harder in the council to get more money sanctioned for our ward, etc.

Manjula Mohan( JDS): She doesn't live in this ward and so she has no clue about what e ward's needs are. She has worked with Stree Shakti -- an organisation where they collect money from lower income working women so they can save their money and then can get a loan from the pooled amount when they need it. Beyond that her work in the field of governance or women seems limited. After not knowing how to answer some basic questions about the functioning of the corporation or even how to solve some basic problems using common sense approach ( we told them that we know that they don;t have experience but we just wanted to know what their vision was), her husband requested that he field questions on her behalf. And he gave a seasoned speech like a politician. When asked privately about whom she will rely on for advice if she becomes a corporator she said it would be her husband. So she will essentially be a proxy candidate to begin with at least. Will she be able to get perspective once in the seat and see things in a more dynamic way?

Asha Suresh( BJP): At the outset she told us that she is a graduate and lives in Kannali and knows that traffic is bad and that will be one of her focus areas. She admitted that she is a housewife and has not been involved in civic work and was running because of her husband, who has been working in the BJP for 20 years. When we realised that she could not answer basic questions about solving any issues we invited her husband to speak on her behalf knowing he would be the one who will be pulling the string eventually. He was asked what he had done for the ward in the last 20 years and he mentioned some issue like helping with removal of some encroachment near Springfield. Since the candidate has admitted that she will rely on her husband and the party workers who accompanied her said they will help her make decisions, I think we may not be wrong in assuming that they will control things and that perhaps she will have to tow their line and may not have a free hand to think independently if/when she develops her wings.

MunniLakshmamma( INC): She introduced herself as a panchayat member who served for 10 years. She worked with the then sarpanch Mr. Jagannath (whom I personally have a lot of respect for). She talked about the things she did in her term, which included bringing electricity, constructing a school, etc in Devarbeesanahalli Village(which she represented). Since she looked very meek, the question posed to her was,: " You could do this because you had a good leader in the panchayat who supported you. But you may not find that to be the case in the BBMP, how would you assert yourself and make sure good things get done." There was no satisfactory answer to this question. When someone told her that the pervious corporator was from INC and he was not good and the party didn't do anything to intervene, how were people to believe that she would be able to do good. Her answer was that most of the percentage went to others and so the present corporator could not do anything. It was a vague answer...but more of an excuse rather than an using the opportunity to admit that somethings were not right and could be fixed this time around. The person who was translating for her, went beyond translating and started to give info that she hadn't even touched on. And her son is the one who answers her calls generally. so perhaps we should assume that she will rely on her son and the others in her party to do most of the communication and thinking for her?

i understand our cities incl SEZ areas will always be a mix of new(sezs) and urbanized villages like bellandur and marathalli. imo the SEZ areas infra (mainly roads, elec, water, sanitation) should be under separated dedicated municipality commisioners while the BBMP runs the wards (regular urbanized villages).

instead of plopping down huge IT offices in middle of residential areas like a dog with diarhoea running around over the city, beijing put its zhongguancun science city on the outskirt between 3rd and 4th ring road and in proximity to peking & tsinghua univs and china academy of sciences, with massive greenfield infra.

more such parks were built on its ring road
https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/ ... %9C%BA.jpg

and I am sure they properly laid metro and bus routes to enable public transport.

The 6th ring road in Beijing if relocated and centered on Bengluru will run thru Hosur.

I think this sort of planning should be started now. The next 2 ring roads should be relatively easy to lay out now before it get swallowed up by the uncontrolled construction.

saar the 2nd and 3rd ring road has been talked of for 10 yrs now with no action on ground and you want 6th ? both were supposed to be semicircles to expand east bangalore

2nd road (intermediate ring road IRR) - devanhalli-whitefield-varthur-hosur road (some existing NH, some fresh)
3rd road (satellite town ring road STRR) - hoskote-sarjapur-attibele

this would have opened up large new areas but has not been done.

the NH upto hosur is heavily populated now, continuously urban with no empty stretch...time is running out.

any such new road has to be 4+4 lane, WITH 1 lane full-wide shoulders along the side and 0.5 lane in the middle o justify the price of admission and 20 m left on both sides for future expansion and another 10m for metro rail later. anything less is playing kids games. has to have proper merge zones, U turn safe areas, bus bays .... all it needs is a short flight to singapore to see how high density roads like from changi are managed too tight n spit n polish. hope some random CPWD civil engineer is not assigned the task...pay well and get proper help from those who have designed tfta stuff and execute it properly.

saar I wish with my heart they would appoint you as the infra design commissar of blr, with blanket powers to hire the right people and get things done. failing that get some chinese tight discipline overseer, import the project engineers and foremen from china and have them run roughshod over local babus here.

I am FED UP and ready to strangle someone for the shoddy quality of work and lack of urgency seen here.

so, basically we can't produce good infrastructure where it matters most. and not even kalam ji's ghost some 100 years from now can dream on for an advanced infra. forget beijing.

people must move en block to modern facilities.. we did talk smart cities and roads. converting existing people to begin thinking about smart cities perhaps itself would be a 2040 challenge.

Wow! Singha appears to have had it with what is going on. :) The traffic jams appear to be the last straw.

Saar, India doesn't need me or folks like me. There are plenty of smart capable and aware and thoughtful people in administration. I havn't said anything that these people have not told me earlier. Unfortunately most of the time they are lying low and trying not to rock the boat. It is far too easy to destroy a person and his career in India and being right is no protection, in fact usually a liability. And there is an army of poorly brought up and badly behaved people who make it a point to try and destroy people they don't agree with. We are living with the consequences today.... ...still the same system popped up a Sreedharan or a Abdul Kalam. Survivors both...

If you plan that 3/4th RR, next day you will have real estate guys buying up land there. And your 4+4+1+1+(2+2 future use) will be reduced to 2+2+0.5 with no land on either side. And the 2+2 will eventually just be 1.25+1.25.

obviously it has to be fenced and policed , not left open for people to encroach.
periodically demolition drives have to be done to get rid of shanties and shops because they will creep fwd anyway.

builders will generally avoid such encroachments once they know the official width of the road and neither will the registrar office allow them to register such property.

another way is leave the future expansion in the middle, with 3 + huge median area + 3 to start with. :rotfl: the U-turn lanes through this median area can be nicely designed to buffer flows. also reduces risks of head on collisions when drunk drivers jump across small medians into opposite side.

Singha wrote: another way is leave the future expansion in the middle, with 3 + huge median area + 3 to start with. :rotfl: the U-turn lanes through this median area can be nicely designed to buffer flows. also reduces risks of head on collisions when drunk drivers jump across small medians into opposite side.
That is an excellent idea. Leave enough room in the middle for future expansion and build outside-in. That way nobody can encroach in the middle and build shanties or flats.

The NICE road was originally supposed to have been built this way though I'm not sure what exactly got built at the final.
ManjaM

Post by ManjaM »

I spent some time after lunch on a lazy Sunday to watch some videos on youtube. One thing led to another and i ended up watching some videos of accidents on highways in desh. Absolute carnage! I could not believe some of the things people are doing. People have taken leave of their senses and desire for survival long ago, but the slow speeds on city roads was saving mass slaughter. The triple digit speed on the highways is the proverbial meat grinder. Shook me badly to watch some of the crashes. One big take away was that even following the rules to a T is no protection against the crazies on the road.

I must have seen atleast 10 crashes with people thrown from inside their vehicles. Lost count of the number of 2 wheeler riders cartwheeling over a 4 wheeler.

Immediate self preservation step is for people to go for the safest car they can afford and slow down to about 80kmph giving themselves braking distance.

Theo_Fidel wrote:^^^
The NICE road was originally supposed to have been built this way though I'm not sure what exactly got built at the final.
yes it does have a wide grass belt in the middle and one lane of shoulder and some paved area toward median also. it has very steep and long upgrades and sometimes 3 slow trucks would be struggling up in parallel, so we car riders overtake on this side shoulder.

ManjaM, hard core problem with easy solution. people must seek and love to improve themselves for any emphatic acceptable solution.

- roads infrastructure design to deny accidents [channels, separations, gates, blocks, etc]
- traffic rules.. badly observed or people defy legal setups and blatantly ignore them
- vehicle types - don't allow that is not suitable and safe for Indic conditions. [if we can shorten our legs to fit the shoe, then we can very well avoid certain shoes analogy]

IOW, Indic standardization must think about functionalities.
vish_mulay

Post by vish_mulay »

http://www.thehindubusinessline.com/eco ... 492035.ece
Govt announces highway projects worth $93 bn to woo investors
New Delhi, Aug 2:

Projecting the country’s highways sector as a “unique opportunity” for investments, government has rolled out projects worth US$ 93 billion, including the US$ 45 billion flagship road building programme NHDP.

Investment opportunities include “new models being rolled out both for greenfield (hybrid annuity) and brownfield projects (monetisation),” according to the Road Transport and Highways Ministry which has come out with a list of such projects.

To woo bidders, it said a “peep into opportunity” unfolds “20,000 kms of NHDP length with total investment of US$ 45 billion over next three years.”

National Highways Building Project (NHDP) is government’s flagship road building programme which envisages development of existing National Highways (NHs) into world-class roads in different phases.

It is among the largest government-led PPP development programmes in the world.

Looks like the major opposition groups are following a Malayalam proverb ഓടുന്ന പട്ടിക്ക് ഒരു മുഴം മുന്നെ (if you need to a hit a running dog, throw the stone in the correct angle at correct time).
Buses, rickshaw unions back transport strike in Bangalore, cabbies undecided
Auto-rickshaw unions are supporting the strike claiming that the RTS imposes stringent measures – such as suspension of licences and restrictions on permit renewals for traffic offences – which could cause uncertainty to their lives as they are dependent on daily wages
Strike expected to cripple transport services across Bengaluru tomorrow
The strike is against the proposed Road Transport and Safety Bill 2015, which unions say will take away the primacy of State-run transport utilities and lead to privatisation.

The country and people want super highways, good roads etc. etc.; but when it comes to safe and responsible driving that is too much to ask. Perhaps the next demand would be that instead of fines, money should be given to the traffic rule violators :roll:. Building better infrastructure, without ensuring adequate safety is only going to embolden the goons like the public transport drivers - especially auto rickshaw and cab drivers.

http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/k ... 605472.ece

some farmers oppose land acquisition for the 7500cr blr-kolar-chennai expressway.

Catching up on the Bangalore metro news on the Metro transit thread and the TBM related stuff. If we are going to build all-weather roads in mountainous border areas (Arunachal Pradesh, Ladakh), then tunnels become super-critical. Instead of going over Zoji la, go under it. Tunnel under an impassable pass like Sasser-la to supply DBO. Super-strategic all-weather roadways.

For this, we need to start manufacturing dozens of TBMs and parts and training hundreds of people to use it.

rural areas cant be valued at 1/8th rates of urban values. 1/2 to 2/3rds rate they might agree. 10 L per acre itself is poor in urban areas. what say?

2012 bridge collapse: 2 IIT-Roorkee scientists arrested
ETV UP/Uttarakhand | Manoj Juyal | Mon Sep 07, 2015 | 08:29 IST

According to ETV report, the police have arrested the two scientists from their residence and took them to Kirtinagar.
IIT authorities and police are mum about the whole incident as the matter belongs to the Kirtinagar police department.
Atleast 8 people were killed in the bridge collapse incident that took place in 2012. The bridge used to connect Pauri and Tehri districts.

It seems the approach to Delhi by NH24 is going to be 16 lanes and the approach via NH1 is going to be 12 lanes. That is some serious meat.

Life seems really hard in India, a certain % of population is committed to accident succides

[youtube]watch?v=rrh12FY5FjI[/youtube]
Haresh

Post by Haresh »

That was a scary film from Kolkotta Police.
Are they showing it in cinema's and TV to educate people? :shock:

Is the average Indian policeman aware of driving regulations??

accidents on the greater noida expressway
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TFFtCO3wXIA

apart from fact that indics do not maintain spacing relevant to the higher speed, the need for fencing is shown up in the calf and girl trying to cross and getting into accident.
Haresh

Post by Haresh »

What actually happens to the drivers of the buses and trucks that cause accidents?
Surely their employers can be held liable. Is there a concept of "Vicarious Liability" in India??

they usually run away if they can and are never seen in the area again.
the bus and truck lines are owned by powerful people with deep links to political class or sometimes the political class itself so no such action is taken.

National highways to grow by 50,000km in 6 months.

The road transport and highways ministry will add nearly 50,000 km of roads to the National Highways (NH) network in the country in the next six months. This addition within two years of the Narendra Modi government will be more than twice the length NDA-I had added in its six years and over three times of what UPA added in its 10-year rule.

Sources said in the past 15 months, the new government has added about 7,000 km of roads to the NH length and at present it's little more than one lakh km. Road transport and highways minister Nitin Gadkari has announced to take it to 1.5 lakh km by this year end.

Between 1998 and 2004 when the NDA was in power, about 23,814 km was added to the NH network and during the 10-year rule of the UPA government, a total of around 18,000 km were designated as NH.

On how the ministry is now going about including more stretches as NH, an official said, "While process of notification to include about 15,000 km under Bharat Mala and joining backward areas in the NH network is under way, we are carrying out feasibility study for large chunk of stretches that states have forwarded for upgrading them as NHs. This would be about 20,000 km."

Sources said adding length is crucial to maintain the pace of award, which has been increased to about 30 km a day. Putting its focus to accelerate highway construction as growth multiplier, the Modi government plans to continue this high target of award of works for 3-4 years. "Moreover, ideally most of the major roads connecting districts, upcoming business hubs and even religious and tourist places should be connected with at least two-and-half lane roads," a ministry official said.

However, there is also a flip side to it. Converting more stretches of state highways or major district roads to NHs will increase burden on the Central budget as states will stop spending on maintenance of these stretches as soon as the corridors are notified as NHs.

Some of the officials said the situation won't get out of government control as most of the stretches being expanded now are on a model named "EPC contracts". Under this, the contractor has to maintain the road for one year and is also responsible for any defect for four years. "So, there will be almost no government outgo for maintenance and all these stretches will be under the toll mode. The contractor who gets the work will maintain the stretches. The amount saved can be utilized for maintaining new stretches," the official said.

New concession pact a booster shot for highway projects: CRISIL
The awarding of highway projects is expected to get a boost with the ministry of roads and highways clearing amendments to the model concession agreement (MCA) for projects bid out on build-operate-transfer (BOT) basis, says Crisil Research.

Under the amended MCA, premium payment starts only from the fourth year after the completion date compared with the first year previously. “That’s a significant relief to both developers and lenders because most projects end up with debt-service coverage ratio of less than 0.8-1.0 time in the first 3-4 years after completion date. Additionally, the government has enhanced the scope of revenue-shortfall loans to include projects where judicial pronouncements impact cash flows,” Crisil observed.

The ratings firm said that deemed termination of projects that do not progress even after a year of award gives greater clarity on the termination process. However, no penalties have been levied on the awarding authority in such cases, it observed. Almost half the projects awarded between 2011 and 2013 had to be terminated because of delays in land acquisition and other clearances.

Ajay Srinivasan, director, Crisil Research, said, “Lender confidence, which was severely damaged in the last few years, will revive with the change in the clause related to premium payment, and introduction of the clause on deemed termination. Further, doubling the cap on equity contribution by the NHAI will make more projects viable at a time when majority of the BOT projects being awarded are on a grant basis.”
National Highways: Proposal for wayside amenities on track
As The Prime Minister’s Office (PMO) finalises a brand name for an ambitious scheme designed to develop wayside amenities along national highways, the Ministry of Road, Transport & Highways (MoRTH) is going ahead with fine-tuning the proposal to send it for approval before the Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs (CCEA).

A senior government official said, “We are in the process of finalising the draft policy for setting up wayside amenities. The consultant is identifying locations which can lend themselves to these kind of activities. We will shortly send the proposal for CCEA approval.”

The wayside amenities programme envisages setting up user-friendly convenience clusters for travellers on national highways which would include parking facilities (separately for cars, buses and trucks), restaurants/food courts/low cost dhabas, telephone booth/wi-fi, ATMs, fuel stations, minor repair shops, rest rooms for short stays, toilets for ladies and men, kiosks for sales of sundry items, medical aid and chemist shops and helipad facilities.

“These facilities will have standard design and dimensions. There will be 3-4 formats depending on the volume of traffic at a particular location. They will be set up on public-private partnership mode (PPP), in association with the tourism department, various state governments or on franchise basis. The idea is not to own the facility but rather to ensure that such places come up quickly in standard formats across national highways to provide comfort and safety to travellers,” added the official.
Ashok Sarraff

Post by Ashok Sarraff »

Quick progress on Mumbai-Nagpur Expressway: E&Y appointed consultants

http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/ind ... 082973.cms