Indian Telecom Folder

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Indian Telecom Folder

saip wrote:
Tanaji wrote:http://www.bbc.co.uk/go/rss/int/news/-/ ... y-12334444

So Blackberry has finally said No and dared GoI to act.

I seriously wonder why they are so adamant: is it because they know that GoI will blink? And why the reluctance to provide the same deal that they gave to Saudi Arabia and UAE? The impression seems to be if you are a barbaric nation we will roll over and play ball but if you are a democracy then you can go to hell.

The whole affair is quite strange. We probably arent been given the exact reason for BB's refusal or what GoI demanded.
In Saudi and UAE what recourse do Black Berry have? On the other hand in India they can drag everything thro courts for ages and meanwhile get an injunction to do business as usual.
wondering aloud- is there any connection between the operators and the GOI/babus. Many customers have blackberry phones. If blackberry is blacklisted then the operators will be affected. also any relation to the spectrum scam. :?:

It is a fallacy and exaggeration to state that everyone having Blackberry will suddenly be left with useless devices. The encryption in question is regards to Blackberry messenger which is Blackberry to Blackberry IM type communication (not sure if that service allows VoIP clients, but that is immaterial for now). So even if the TRAI comes up with an order to disconnect BB messenger, the customers will still be able to:
  • Make voice calls
  • Use their devices for checking email (GoI can easily ask the individual company to get the message)
Only BB to BB messaging should be affected IMHO which is not that critical

Which is why I am thinking there is something more going on here that we dont know.

India's Cell Phone user base increases by 22.62 Million in Dec.

The number of mobile subscribers in India increased by 22.62 million for the month of December 2010, taking the total number to 752.19 Million in December 2010 from 729.57 Million in November 2010, said a TRAI report.

However, the number active mobile subscribers on the last day of December was only in the range of 529.22 million.

The overall teledensity (telephones per 100 people) in India touched 66.16 per cent.

According to data released by the Telecom Regulatory Authority of India , the wireless subscriber base registered a growth of 2.95 per cent.

The growth in the wireless category was led by Reliance Communications , which added 3.2 million users taking its subscriber base to 125.65 million in December.

It was followed by Bharti Airtel, which added 3.1 million subscribers, taking its user base to 152.49 million. Vodafone added 3.09 million new subscribers in this month.

BSNL and Idea Cellular stayed very close in garnering new subscribers with net addition of 2.97 million and 2.95 million respectively. The total mobile subcriber base of BSNL crossed 86.7 million and Idea Cellular had 81.7 million subscriber in December 2010.

This month Uninor continued its lead over Tata Teleservices in addition of new subscribers. Uninor added 2.3 million new subscribers compared to 1.63 million new subscribers added by Tata Teleservices, the report said.

In the month of November 2010, new addition in Uninor subcriber base was over 2.4 million while TTSL had added over 1.78 million new wireless subscribers.

The active subscriber number also known as VLR showed, Bharti Airtel had highest ratio of active subscribers compared to its total subscriber base at 91.79 per cent.

This was followed by Idea Cellular that reported ratio of 90.04 per cent between its total subscriber base and VLR subscribers. MTNL had least ratio of VLR subscribers at 35.10 per cent.

VLR number indicates active customers at any given point of time and excludes switched-off and out-of-coverage area customers.

"We have taken VLR subscriber base available on last working day of December as per telecom operators record," explained a TRAI official.The last working day of December was coincidently the last day of the month.

India had reached the 500 Million figure in Dec of 2009 and has reached 750 Millionth user in Dec 2010. A 50 % growth on a high base number is fantastic, and this feat is unlikely to be reached ever in any other country.
Last edited by Vipul on 10 Feb 2011 21:36, edited 1 time in total.
Vasu

Post by Vasu »

I'm really happy that reporting the Active VLR numbers is a regular feature now. I mean I hope it is, considering they've reported it for Nov and Dec. It gives a much more realistic picture of the mobile market in the country. Even for any telecom operator, these are the numbers that matter when it comes to planning and strategy.

It'd be great if they also start reporting a few more KPI's, such as ARPU, Data ARPU, Gross Adds and Net Adds. I mean COAI does report ARPU, but TRAI will be able to report of the entire industry (GSM+CDMA).

Still no sign of any action on Blackberry. Either the govt was bluffing earlier and there was no serious issue or it does not have the guts/is being pressured to do nothing.

Got this in mail :
---------------------
The woes for the telecom sector seem to be like a drain with no plug. The telecom regulator, TRAI, has now proposed a hike in the prices of the 2G spectrum. And brace yourselves; the quantum of increase is a whopping 136% from its current levels. TRAI has recommended that the prices of the start-up 2G spectrum be revised to Rs 17.7 bn and the price for spectrum beyond the start-up to be priced at the same level as the 3G spectrum, i.e., Rs 45.7 bn.

The financial impact of this proposal, if it goes through, would be the greatest for state owned BSNL and for Bharti. The least impact would be on RCOM. Why? Because they have a dual operations license and these rules only apply to GSM not to CDMA.

At a time, when most operators are suffering from ridiculously low margins and overheated competition, the TRAI is doing everything to just increase the woes for the operators. A regulator is supposed to be neutral and balance the interests of the industry as well as that of the nation. But the TRAI seems to be more interested in filling up the government's pockets rather than helping the industry, which is already bleeding.
Raghavendra

Post by Raghavendra »

Enable interception or stop B'berry services: Govt to telcos http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/tec ... 487217.cms
rajkumar

Post by rajkumar »

Raghavendra wrote:Enable interception or stop B'berry services: Govt to telcos http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/tec ... 487217.cms
Very good move on part of the Home Ministry. Go after the operators and let them pressure RIM!! Lets see what happens when the operators go after RIM?

rajkumar wrote:
Very good move on part of the Home Ministry. Go after the operators and let them pressure RIM!! Lets see what happens when the operators go after RIM?
This is the job of the regulator TRAI, but as we all know that august body has failed on many fronts. A regulator is supposed to make sure that the operators comply with the laws of the land but we are stuck with TRAI that is too meek to do anything. It is not as if it does not have the powers to crack the whip, it just does not have the will to do so for whatever reasons.

On another note, the following is an example of how countries look after their own interests and crack the whip if required:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-12461553
Huawei, a Chinese telecom equipment maker, will wait for the outcome of a US Presidential review before selling one of its latest acquisitions.

Huawei bought US server firm 3Leaf in May 2010, but the purchase raised security concerns.

A review by the Committee of Foreign Investment in the United States said Huawei should roll back the deal.

Looks like GoI has definitely put its tail between its legs and slunk away as regards Blackberry.

Perhaps GoI strategy is to ignore this since BlackBerry will become irrelevant in a year or two anyway :))

On another note, good article on GPS jamming and chaos it causes

http://www.newscientist.com/article/dn2 ... tml?page=1

How long before someone gets hold of this, and keeps driving past Mumbai / Delhi airports on an infrequent basis?

DoT to float rural wireless broadband tender.

After missing March 31 deadline, the Telecom Ministry is planning to float a tender in next two weeks for providing wireless broadband connections to over 5 lakh villages in 18 months.

“Due to some internal issues it (issuing of tender) has been delayed. The work is almost finished from our side. Now this will be sent for legal vetting. I hope all this process will be completed within next two weeks,” a source in the Department of Telecommunications (DoT) said.

The USOF (Universal Service Obligation Fund) was set-up in 2002 to provide mobile services and broadband connectivity in rural and remote areas of the country. As of December 31, 2010, the fund had a total size of Rs 13,789.28 crore.

On a question whether BSNL will be given preference over other private service providers, he said,”BSNL has not been excluded from it. We are not saying that BSNL will not be a part of the process. What we are only saying that we cannot provide subsidy exclusively to BSNL that is for sure.”

USO Funds are raised through a Universal Service Levy (USL), which at present has been fixed at 5 per cent of the Adjusted Gross Revenue (AGR) of all telecom service providers, excluding value-added services like Internet, voice mail, e-mail, etc.

Under the ‘Rural Wireline Broadband’ scheme of USOF, a total of 2,61,413 broadband connections and 2,506 kiosks have been provided till January 31, 2011, in rural and remote areas.
manish

Post by manish »

When its comes to the long running RIM vs GoI security saga, there definitely seems to be more than what meets the eye. Apparently one of the RIM Co-CEOs walked out on a BBC interviewer when pressed about their problems with GoI.
BlackBerry chief walks out of BBC interview when asked on India's demand
"That's just not fair,'' Mike Lazaridis shot back at BBC technology correspondent Rory Cellan-Jones when he posed this question to the RIM co-CEO at a recent interview.

Looking sideways, a visibly upset RIM boss said, "First of all, we have no security problem. We've got the most secure platform. We've just been singled out because we're so successful around the world."
The RIM co-CEO exploded when the reporter finally asked him whether he could "confidently tell'' and give "assurance'' to BBC listeners in India and the Middle East whether they could continue using the BlackBerry smart phone without any problems in future.

"The interview is over. You can't use that, Rory. It's just not fair. This is a national security issue. Turn that off,'' the BlackBerry boss told the reporter.
The non-committal answer is quite a comedown for the bosses at RIM who were earlier trying to put on a brave face. Looks like a decision has been taken up in kaneda not to ruffle too many feathers in India.

I guess this somehow ties in with the increasing push we are seeing from them in the marketplace as well - aggressive ad campaigns, major price cuts on bread-and-butter Curve range (the 8520 is available for around 9k street price and the 9300 Curve 3G for 14k or so) all add up to clearly increased focus on India now.
Vasu

Post by Vasu »

Oh of course. Blackberry is the new toy for India's yuppie crowd. Blackberry's image of being a business phone is long passe, and now they advertise themselves as a social phone, a music phone, and an activity phone! India's too important a market for RIM to lose now. In addition, data is going to be the breadearner for most operators, as voice ARPUs continue to lose altitude (and will probably never recover), and Blackberry's importance for the operators becomes even greater.

On another note, Blackberry's simply killed Nokia in the high-end phone segment, with people with over 20K to spend on their phones going for a Blackberry or an iPhone. But I suppose this trend is worldwide, with Nokia simply unable to latch onto the latest market trends. Its royally irritating to see people hooked onto their blackberries whether you're in a movie hall, a theatre, or a restaurant.

DoT bans Nokia’s pushmail.

In a set back to mobile handset manufacturer Nokia, the government has asked telecom service providers to bar company’s proposed -- pushmail or powermail -- service till it put in place a legal monitoring system.

“In view of the Intelligence Bureau’s report, Department of Telecommunications is requested to advice the Telecom Service Providers not to launch Nokia’s proposed pushmail/powermail service without putting in place monitoring facilities to the satisfaction of the LEAs,” Ministry of Home Affairs said in a communication to Department of Telecom.

Messaging services from Nokia involve push email for companies and consumers and enables mobile users with compatible Nokia cellphones to manage multiple email accounts from widely used email services like Yahoo!, Gmail, Rediff to Sify.

The communique came at a time when Blackberry services are under the government’s wrath due to the security related issue for not providing a solution to intercept its Enterprise mail services.

The government had asked BlackBerry-maker Research in Motion (RIM) to come out with a satisfactory solution to intercept its Enterprise mail services by March 31, which has been already expired.

Nearly 50 per cent of Nokia’s E Series business phones sold in the country get activated for e-mails.

These developments came at a time when the home ministry has asked the telecom and IT departments to overhaul existing legal frameworks to broaden the meaning of telecom/internet services.

The telecom department and the IT ministry have been asked by the home ministry to ring in the necessary changes in the Indian Telegraph Act of 1885, the Information Technology (Amendment) Act, 2007, the Rules under Telegraph & IT Acts to ensure operator compliance with the demands of the security agencies.

Once the necessary amendments come, it will be mandatory for telecom service providers to have the systems in place to deliver authorised intercepts based on telephone numbers, device identity, email IDs, IP addresses or keywords to the national security agencies on real-time basis.

No idea what that interview charade was about. Either BB has unofficially cut a deal which explains why GoI is silent or GoI has turned tail... But given that GoI is also pressuring Nokia, it is even strange...

India's 300 mn mobile phone 'ghosts'.

A few days ago, the Telecom Regulatory Authority of India (TRAI), the industry watchdog, said the country's mobile phone subscriber base had reached an astounding 812 million, adding 20 million new connections in March. That should have been quite a milestone -- going past the 800-million mark and inching toward 70 percent tele-density.

If only it were true!

This isn't speculation: The watchdog's figures and the market data speak for themselves, as also revealed by Voice&Data, that dug deeper into the figures, looked at the handset data, spoke to the industry and came up with some startling figures. The real number, the study said, was 500 million - that's the actual number of mobile users in India.

Why? The first is the regulator actually means 812 million "subscriptions", as in mobile phone numbers, and not "subscribers", as in distinct people or entities. For example, if you as an individual have two mobile numbers, you'll count as two subscribers.

The second is a whopper! It shows up in the watchdog's own footnote to its data in the press statement: " active wireless subscribers on visitor location register as in March 2011 are 574 million."

This register is a database of active subscribers, currently being handled by the mobile switching centre which it serves. Each base station is served by only one register, so a mobile number cannot be present in more than one such registry at a time.

So the 574 million subscribers in the register for March means the remaining 238 million mobile numbers are inactive. They are mobile numbers, mostly prepaid, that have not been recharged or topped-up, allowing their validity to expire. Else, they are in the "grace period" before disconnection.

This grace period can vary a lot, stretching into months or a year, even though the bulk of these users is unlikely to renew and recharge. Therefore, out of the total of 812 million mobile numbers in March, the register shows, only 574 million were active.

Now these are also not simply prepaid mobile numbers that have run out of prepaid credit balance. They have also run past their SIM subscription validity period -- Some may also belong to postpaid users who have not paid bills and have been disconnected. It's a fair bet that most of these inactive mobile numbers aren't springing back to life.

Blame this on the proliferation of free SIMs: 1+1 offers, bundled SIMs, or the so-called "lifetime free" SIMs -- all this adds up to extra SIMs which many don't use.

It also adds up to extra SIMs that people do use: The multi-SIM phenomenon. CyberMedia Research data shows 45 percent of all mobile handsets bought into India during October-December 2010 were dual- or triple-SIM phones.

So, even without firmer data on multi-SIM ownership, it's really big in India. Industry estimates it at 15-30 percent. Pick any 100 mobile users, and they will own 115 to 130 active SIMs among them. Other industry folks call this figure conservative, putting multi-SIM ownership at above 40 percent.

The Voice&Data study -- http://voicendata.ciol.com/content/top_ ... 050201.asp -- went with the conservative approach, and assumed just 15 percent multiplicity, or 1.15 SIMs per user in India.

The math now becomes simple: 812 million mobile numbers of which 574 million are active on the registry. So that leaves 238 million inactive or grace-period mobile numbers. So, dividing 574 million mobile numbers by 1.15, one is left with 500 million real users.

Now that's something. We've been over-estimating India's active mobile subscriber base by over 312 million? And computing tele-density at 67 percent, instead of 41 percent.

Tele-density is the number of phones per 100 people. So by using the TRAI figure of 574 million active mobile numbers, we get a "corrected tele-density" of 47 phones per 100 people. If you really want to know how many people really own and use a mobile phone subscription, you have to eliminate the duplication, leaving 41 percent tele-density.

Yet, that's also the silver lining.

Since we've been under-estimating the untapped or addressable market by at least 300 million, it also becomes the additional number of people who could buy handsets and connections beyond what is currently projected. That's something to be excited about.

ToI's 'revelation' is no revelation at all; every country reports data in the same manner - there are several nations with >100 mobile teledensity, i.e. more than 1 phone/person on average.
Vasu

Post by Vasu »

Suraj, my thoughts exactly. The Times of India is reporting as if it has uncovered some secret conspiracy within the telecom circle to misrepresent numbers.

Unfortunately for these yellow journalists, thats how numbers are reported throughout the world, its India that has been lagging in reporting these numbers. The multi-sim phenomenon that they seem so amazed at is a standard feature of most telecom markets in the world, particularly in the third world where pre-paid services occupy a major chunk of subscriber base and cost of acquisition is low, including India. I am sure the idiots know that many nations have a teledensity of over 100%.

I am not sure what the standard of maintaining the VLR (Visitor Location Register) in India is, but if a SIM has not been used for more than 30 days, it is taken off the VLR register, hence the use of the word - active subscriber. We've discussed this on the forum before.

Does anyone know of any website that lists all the mobile operators per circle and the technology deployed?

I am trying to compare the data plans across circles..
GuruPrabhu

Post by GuruPrabhu »

^^^ The inactive subscriber category may be special to India. I personally have about 2 dozen inactive SIMs. For one reason or another I bought them and then didn't use them any more (they cost something between Rs 100-200 each).

Do I count as about 25 subscribers?

[To explain my system -- Say, if I am in Mumbai for a week, rather than pay roaming on my postpaid, I just buy a new SIM and talk-time for that week. I carry a spare phone for this purpose, rather than a dual-SIM phone. So, after I leave Mumbai, if I don't return within 6 months the validity of that SIM expires and then it is useless. The next month I may be in Bangalore and the routine gets repeated. I wonder how many other people do this.]
somnath

Post by somnath »

^^^The extent is "special" to India, thanks to the massive proliferation of prepaid SIMs..But generally, all countries have duplication, as people tend to have more than one mobile..More so now, with people having one SIM for their Ipod, one for IPAD and one for IPhone! Add in another datacard for the laptop, and you get the idea!
GuruPrabhu

Post by GuruPrabhu »

^^ yes, I did mean the "extent". There are a lot of lower paid folks who get a SIM card and then don't have money to top-off so they let it slide until they need another SIM card. I know this one driver fellow who has a new phone number every year -- hard to keep track of. I would not be surprised if the actual tele-density in India of *actual people with phones* is less than 50%. Don't know about other countries.
somnath

Post by somnath »

^^To be fair to operators, TRAI now insists on companies furnishing "net" numbers, ie, net of inactive users...So the issue might not be as bad...
Vasu

Post by Vasu »

GuruPrabhu wrote:^^^ The inactive subscriber category may be special to India. I personally have about 2 dozen inactive SIMs. For one reason or another I bought them and then didn't use them any more (they cost something between Rs 100-200 each).

Do I count as about 25 subscribers?

[To explain my system -- Say, if I am in Mumbai for a week, rather than pay roaming on my postpaid, I just buy a new SIM and talk-time for that week. I carry a spare phone for this purpose, rather than a dual-SIM phone. So, after I leave Mumbai, if I don't return within 6 months the validity of that SIM expires and then it is useless. The next month I may be in Bangalore and the routine gets repeated. I wonder how many other people do this.]
If at this present moment, all your 25 SIMs are valid, then yes, you'll be counted 25 times. However, those 300 million "ghosts" are fished out after taking the number of active users on the VLR register - as in, if you haven't used a SIM for more than a month, that SIM will be taken off.

Now the security checks before getting a prepaid SIM are a lot tougher than a few years ago, when the lack of regulation and the newness of it all made the entire system go nuts, with people owning multiple sims and companies offering sims at a pittance, and without much background check. Now background checks are a much more serious affair, though the costs still remain really low.

GuruPrabhu

Post by GuruPrabhu »

Vasu wrote: If at this present moment, all your 25 SIMs are valid, then yes, you'll be counted 25 times. However, those 300 million "ghosts" are fished out after taking the number of active users on the VLR register - as in, if you haven't used a SIM for more than a month, that SIM will be taken off.
I suspect they are inactive and must be removed. So, if these are removed, is the count closer to 500M or 800M?
Now the security checks before getting a prepaid SIM are a lot tougher than a few years ago, when the lack of regulation and the newness of it all made the entire system go nuts, with people owning multiple sims and companies offering sims at a pittance, and without much background check. Now background checks are a much more serious affair, though the costs still remain really low.
I suspect that they are. However, if you have a passport, the process takes 5 minutes. I just got one a couple of months ago. Activation takes 2-3 hours depending on time of day.
GuruPrabhu

Post by GuruPrabhu »

^^^ Thanks for the clarification.

Tanaji wrote:Does anyone know of any website that lists all the mobile operators per circle and the technology deployed?

I am trying to compare the data plans across circles..
TRAI has data on mobile operators. COAI will also give good data.

http://www.trai.gov.in/Default.asp

COAI stats:
http://www.coai.com/statistics.php
Vasu

Post by Vasu »

COAI numbers for April 2011 are out.

Bharti expands mobile subscribers base, retains top spot
Bharti Airtel, the country's top mobile carrier, added 2.41 million mobile subscribers in April this year, taking its total to 164.6 million, data from an industry body showed on Wednesday. Third ranked Vodafone Essar, controlled by Vodafone, added 2.41 million mobile subscribers in April, to have a total of about 137 million, the Cellular Operators Association of India said.

Idea Cellular signed up 2.45 million mobile subscribers in April, to have a total of about 92 million, while Telenor's India unit gained 1.45 million in April, boosting its total to 24.2 million.
Remember that TTSL and Reliance report through AUSPI, which is usually late in reporting numbers.
Raghavendra

Post by Raghavendra »

Dawood Ibrahim's lawyer decides to split BSNL http://www.hindustantimes.com/news-feed ... 01966.aspx

India adds 13.35 mn new mobile users in May.

Telecom operators added 13.35 million mobile subscribers in May 2011, taking the total number of telephone users in the country to 874.68 million, sectoral regulator Trai said on Thursday. According to the data released by the Telecom Regulatory Authority of India (Trai), mobile subscriber base increased to 840.28 million at the end of May from 826.93 million in the preceding month, registering a growth of 1.61%.With this, the overall teledensity (telephones per 100 people) in India reached 70.23%.

However, the number of active mobile subscribers, according to the visitor location register (VLR) data, during the month of was only 588.13 million.VLR numbers provide details on active customers at any given point of time, excluding switched-off and out-of-the-coverage area customers.

The growth in the wireless category was led by Reliance Communications which added 2.50 million users, taking its subscriber base to 141.16 million by the end of May 2011.

Bharti Airtel added 2.45 million subscribers, taking its user base to 167.06 million. Vodafone added 2.44 million new customers to take user base to 139.42 million.Idea Cellular and Aircel added 1.80 million and 1.11 million users respectively, during the period. Tata Teleservices added 0.39 million users in May.State-run telcos BSNL and MTNL added 0.82 million and 27,952 new subscribers in May.

Wireline category continued to lose customers, with the subscriber base declining to 34.40 million at the end of May from 34.55 million in April, Trai said.Broadband subscription reached 12.12 million in the reported month from 12.01 million in April, growing 0.92%.

Seemingly no tapering down and saturation of the market ? We currently have 840M subscribers while PRC has 896M onlee. There must be urgent messages going out from Zhongnanhai to PLA southern divisions to invade, snatch away and destroy as many cells/SIM card as possible to avoid loss of face. Either that, or a missive to the Shanghai statistics dept to massage their numbers anew.

I recall in early 2000 i was wonderstruck and left with a sort of desperate feeling when i read that the Chinese were adding 300,000 cell phone connections everyday.
Since things have changed. :)

Etisalat dealt another blow in India
Please respect FT.com's ts&cs and copyright policy which allow you to: share links; copy content for personal use; & redistribute limited extracts. Email ftsales.support@ft.com to buy additional rights or use this link to reference the article - http://www.ft.com/cms/s/0/83210b6e-aaf0 ... z1RlQGZJYs

Indian authorities over the weekend accused five directors of Etisalat DB, the Indian joint venture of the UAE’s telecoms operator, of alleged foreign direct investment and foreign exchange violations worth about $1.6bn.

Balesh Kumar, the Enforcement Directorate special director who issued the notices, told the Financial Times that Etisalat had increased its stake in Swan Telecom – later renamed Etisalat DB – above 49 per cent without seeking regulatory approval. Under India’s FDI rules for the telecoms sector, a foreign group seeking to acquire a stake greater than 49 per cent needs approval from the Foreign Investment Promotion Board for the transaction.

The Union Minister for Human Resource Development and Communications and Information Technology, Shri Kapil Sibal and the Minister of Education of the Republic of Mozambique, Mr. Zeferino Alexandre signing an MoU between India and Mozambique, in New Delhi on July 13, 2011.
Do anyone notice the flag :cry: