Swine Flu Monitor for India

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Swine Flu Monitor for India

As the number of casualties seems to be rising to an extent this needs to be carefully monitored, discussed, and archived for posteriety.

The theatre seems to be narrowing down to be Maharashtra and Pune/Mumbai sector in particular.

Swine flu death toll in India reaches 17
PUNE: A 48-year-old driver died of swine flu Wednesday afternoon, as the Sassoon Hospital here registered fifth death of the day from the H1N1 virus Doctors at Haffkine institute, Parel, carry out tests for swine flu in a laboratory. (TOI)
since early morning, taking India's toll to 17.

Gautam Shelar was admitted to the hospital, which has been handling very serious cases of swine flu here, in a critical condition three-four days ago and died around 4.45 p.m., a Maharashtra Swine Flu Control Room official said.

This was the sixth death in Maharashtra on Wednesday. For Pune that has recorded the highest number of H1N1 deaths in the country, Shelar was the 10th victim.

Pune recorded India's first swine flu death when 14-year-old Reeda Shaikh died Aug 3.

Meanwhile, at least four patients were in serious condition at the hospital, Pune District Collector Chandrakant Dalvi told reporters.

Earlier today, a 50-year-old woman died of swine flu here.

Nita Meghani, who was admitted to the Sassoon Hospital in a critical condition four days ago, died this afternoon, the Maharashtra Swine Flu Control Room said.

Twelve people, including two in Mumbai and one in Nashik, have died of H1N1 virus in Maharashtra. In Mumbai's Hiranandani Hospital, two swine flu patients were in serious condition.

Earlier, a Maharashtra schoolboy succumbed to swine flu just hours after three others in the state died of the same disease on Wednesday morning, officials said. With these deaths, the toll due to the viral infection has risen to 11 in the state and 15 in the country. ( Watch Video )

Babu Genu Kuland died in the Sassoon Hospital here at about 11am. The resident of Pimpri town, near Pune, was hospitalised three days ago in serious condition, according to Pune Minicipal Corporation (health department) chief SR Pardeshi.

Another Pimpri resident, Sanjay Mistry, 35, died in Sassoon Hospital early on Wednesday. He was hospitalised Sunday in a critical condition and put on a ventilator, according to an official of the state swine flu control room.

Barely hours after Mistry succumbed to the influenza A (H1N1) infection, Shravani Deshpande, 29, died of the same disease.

Deshpande breathed her last around 3am. She had been hospitalised here three days ago with pneumonia and later found to be suffering from swine flu. She was then put on ventilator.

Rakesh Gargunde, a medico in Nashik Civil Hospital, also succumbed to swine flu around 3am., said civil surgeon AD Bhal Singh.

Gargunde was admitted to hospital in an unconscious state two days ago and put on a ventilator. The test report confirming that he had swine flu was received by the hospital late Tuesday night.

The deceased Dr Rupesh Gangurde was admitted to a private hospital on Monday after he complained of vomiting, cough and fever, Maharashtra Minister of State for Health, Dr Shobha Bachav, told reporters here.

Two more suspected flu patients -- Vinod Borkul (21) and Rishikesh Kulkarni (26) -- have been admitted to the hospital.

While Borkul has tested negative for the viral infection, Kulkarni's report is still awaited.

Re: Swine Flu Monitor for India

Mumbai to Shut Cinemas, Schools as Swine Flu Spreads
Aug. 12 (Bloomberg) -- Mumbai, India’s commercial capital, will shut schools and movie theaters as swine flu-related deaths jumped, ignoring federal government advice to keep educational institutions open.

Schools will close for seven days from tomorrow and malls and movie halls for three to contain the virus, Prajakta Lavangare, a director general of the Maharashtra state government, said today.

India allowed privately owned hospitals to treat swine flu cases as the number of locally transmitted cases surged, putting pressure on government-run hospitals that were earmarked to treat flu patients. Deaths caused by the virus have risen to 14 since the health ministry reported the country’s first fatality in Pune on Aug. 3.

Health Minister Ghulam Nabi Azad on Aug. 10 advised state governments to refrain from shutting schools and encourage people with flu-like symptoms to avoid public places.

School-age children are at greater risk of catching swine flu, the World Health Organization said. The median age of those infected with the pandemic H1N1 virus is 12 to 17 years, the WHO said on July 24, citing data from Canada, Chile, Japan, the U.K. and the U.S.

Swine flu, which first appeared in Mexico in April, has spread across the world, infecting more than 160,000 people and causing more than a 1,000 deaths, according to the last World Health Organization update. The organization says the virus may infect as many as 2 billion people, about 30 percent of the world’s population.

Healthcare System

India’s healthcare system, which is already overstretched with diseases endemic to the region, is trying to cope with the surging number of swine flu cases by allowing more laboratories, including privately owned ones, to diagnose and treat suspected patients.

An outbreak of Japanese encephalitis in the eastern state of Bihar has resulted in the death of 25 people in the past two weeks, the Press Trust of India reported on Aug. 10.

The government is increasing the number of centers that can test swine flu cases to 18 from two, Azad said. Private hospitals that meet specified guidelines will also be allowed to test people who have already had to wait several days to get diagnosed.

The federal government has relaxed swine flu isolation guidelines, allowing infected people to be quarantined at home instead of specially identified government hospitals, Azad said.

Theatre Chains

Shares of movie theatre companies declined while pharmaceutical companies gained as Mumbai became the second city in the western state of Maharashtra after neighboring Pune to close multiplexes and institutions.

PVR Ltd. fell as much as 6.4 percent and Adlabs Films Ltd. declined 0.2 percent. Ranbaxy Laboratories Ltd. and Cipla Ltd., which make versions of the antiviral drug Tamiflu, advanced.

Swine flu has spread across India after being first reported in a 23-year-old passenger who arrived in the southern city of Hyderabad from New York on May 13. More than 1,000 people have tested positive for swine flu, according to the health ministry.

Pune shut classrooms for a week while malls and movie theatres were closed for three days, a spokesman for the Maharashtra chief minister’s office, who declined to be identified, said on Aug. 10.

Tamiflu

The federal government has stationed a team in the city to assist the state government in preventing the spread of the disease, the health ministry said yesterday.

India has decided to buy an additional 20 million doses of generic versions of Tamiflu to fight the outbreak after it almost expended the 10 million it purchased earlier, Azad said on Aug. 10.

Airlines have been told to strictly comply with rules for screening passengers arriving at India’s airports for flu, the ministry of civil aviation said in a statement today.

Pune institute in global race for swine flu vaccine
NEW DELHI: It is ironical that Pune reported the first loss of life due to swine flu in India as it is home to the country's largest biotech firm, Full Coverage: Swine flu
Swine flu havoc across the world
Swine flu: Follow these 7 steps
which is also among the world's leading players trying to develop a vaccine to fight the H1N1 virus.

At the Serum Institute of India, a crack team of 16 scientists is running a battle against time as part of the global race to develop vaccines against the spread of swine flu that has claimed 10 lives in India, of which five were in Pune alone.

This team started work a few weeks after the first influenza A infection caused by a new virulent strain H1N1 was first detected April 12 in a small village near Veracruz in Mexico, says Technology Review magazine.

The scientists are working out of a state-of-the-art facility that meets global standards, called BioSafety Level2, says the Indian edition of the 109-year-old magazine brought out by the CyberMedia group.

"The flu transmission didn't stop even after the increase in the summer temperatures," said Suresh S. Jadhav, executive director with the Serum Institute and coordinator of the company's swine flu vaccine initiative.

India Panics Over Swine Flu Toll
Naazneen Karmali, 08.12.09, 02:03 AM EDT

An outbreak in Pune has Indians worried about the flu pandemic.
MUMBAI -- Four months after the first outbreak of swine flu, India is discovering how deadly this virus can be. The country's first swine flu death, that of a 14-year-old schoolgirl on Aug. 3, followed by thirteen more patients succumbing to the disease in the span of just over a week, has set off a panic attack that is spreading faster than the virus itself.

The latest victim, a doctor, died Wednesday morning, bringing the death toll to 14. Fear of swine flu has led to panic buying of facemasks.

Yahoo! BuzzPune, in Western India, with a population of nearly 4 million, has become the epicenter of the disease for India. Half of the victims, including a doctor and a chemist, were residents of this city that is home to automakers Tata Motors and Bajaj Auto, both of which have major factories on its outskirts. Lately, Pune has become a major tech hub with outsourcing, software and biotech companies setting up big campuses in the city.

A federal government team is stationed in Pune, East of Mumbai, to monitor the situation. In a bid to contain the spread of swine flu, the government on Monday shut down Pune’s schools and colleges for a week, and closed malls and cinema multiplexes for three days. Schools in Mumbai, India’s financial capital, which is located 100 miles from Pune, have begun to close down too after the city reported its first swine flu death on the weekend and one more on Tuesday. Both cities are located in the state of Maharashtra, which given its location on the western coast, is a major entry point for foreign travelers who are the main carriers of the disease so far.

Pune has 294 confirmed cases of swine flu, and Mumbai has 99. Thousands of people, many of them wearing face masks, lined up Tuesday in both Pune and Mumbai to get themselves treated. Testing labs are unable to keep up with the flood of samples reaching them every day. The National Institute of Virology in Pune gets 600 samples a day, but has the capacity to test only half that number, according to the Times of India newspaper. Meanwhile, Mumbai's municipal helpline is getting 1,500 anxious calls a day from citizens with questions about swine flu.

The Indian government has installed compulsory health screening facilities for passengers from flu-affected countries at 22 international airports, according to a recent update by the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare. Health Minister Ghulam Nabi Azad assured worried citizens that India has plenty of Tamiflu, the drug used to treat swine flu. It has not yet been put on open sale in India.

Swine flu symptoms India
Swine flu symptoms India are no diffrent from rest of the world. H1N1 Influenza virus has spread to over 75 countries, including India, since it originated in Mexico. World Health Organization (WHO) has declared Swine Flu as a Global Pandemic (Mahamari in Hindi)

Here is a quick guide you with the Symptoms Of Swine Flu. Get yourself checked by a Medical Doctor if you have one or more of following for 1/2 days continuously:

Symptoms of Swine Flu India

Feeling Chilly
Runny nose
Sneezing
Cough
Headache
Fever
Loss of appetite
Body Aches
Nausea and vomiting
Throat irritation
Fatigue
Diarrhea
Symptoms related to pneumonia (In people with chronic conditions, pneumonia may develop)
So if you have one or more of above you may be suffering from Swine flu. You can take precautions / Safety Tips for swine flu immediately so that it does not spreads to others. Also you can consult a Doctor immediately to verify if you need test for H1N1 virus.

People in Bangalore are currently sh1tting brix - with the death toll in India having gone from 0 to 17 in 5 days or so. There is a run on masks and H1N1 testing facilities. Pune and Mumbai schools, malls and theaters have been shut down.

Ministry of health website on Swine flu (looks so bland)

http://www.mohfw.nic.in/SWINEFLU.htm

http://mohfw.nic.in/main/main.html (still bland -links not working)

Private hospitals reluctant to join battle against H1N1
NEW DELHI: Despite Union health minister Ghulam Nabi Azad’s virtual threat on Tuesday to private hospitals being clear — start isolation wards for the treatment of H1N1 swine flu patients or face legal action under the Epidemic Diseases Act, the private sector hospitals, which control 70% of the country’s health infrastructure, continue to be reluctant to pitch in.

They have cited a number of ‘‘justifications’’ for their reluctance, including the absence of isolation wards, common air-conditioning as well as the doubtful revenue model. In turn, this has triggered anger in the government which feels that these hospitals were quick to seek concessions like cheap land but very slow to react to an unexpected medical emergency.

Delhi chief minister Sheila Dikshit called an emergency meeting of city private hospitals. Barring Max and Batra hospitals, all of them showed little eagerness to treat H1N1 patients and trotted out excuses. Two private pathological labs who were also called for the meeting, were said to be willing to carry out tests.

Dikshit described the meeting as a ‘‘stock-taking exercise to evaluate the capability and infrastructure of private hospitals and to what extent they were willing to help us deal with the pandemic. Once the Centre issues guidelines we will draw up a plan to rope in private hospitals.’’

Speaking to TOI, a Union health ministry official said, “Private hospitals have no choice. States will identify the hospitals with the capacity to have a large isolation ward. It’s just a backup. What if the government’s infrastructure gets saturated? Don’t private hospitals have any responsibility towards the people?’’

The labs said they already have the golden Real Time PCR H1N1 testing kits. However, they wanted a relaxation of the rules. “According to the present stipulation, only bio safety level-II plus labs can test samples for H1N1. We have BSL II labs. The government should consider them good enough for testing.”

The government was not interested in setting down charges for private hospitals. An official said, ‘‘It’s not that private hospitals won’t be allowed to charge money. It’s up to them what they charge. But they should at least provide the facility for those who want to go to a private hospital.’’

Everything you wanted to know about swine flu
The spread of swine flu is fast emerging as No 1 healthcare emergency not just in the country but the world over. Despite the issue being in the The spread of swine flu is fast emerging as No 1 healthcare emergency not just in the country but the world over.

media for a long time, there continue to be ignorance and mis-information about the disease and how to handle it. Indian Medical Association, Nagpur Centre, has come up with a information dossier on the subject. We reproduce it here for the benefit of our readers.

What is H1N1 (swine) flu?
H1N1 (referred to as "swine flu" early on) is a new influenza virus causing illness in people. This new virus was first detected in people in the United States in April 2009. Other countries, including Mexico and Canada, have also reported people sick with this new virus. This virus is spreading from person-to-person, probably in much the same way that regular seasonal influenza viruses spread.

In late March and early April 2009, cases of human infection with swine influenza A (H1N1) viruses were first reported in Southern California and near San Antonio, Texas.

In the beginning it was difficult to predict the effect of this virus on general population. In seasonal flu, there are certain people who are at higher risk of serious flu-related complications. This includes people with 65 years of more age, children below five years, pregnant women, and people of any age with chronic medical conditions.

This virus is contagious but, at this time, it not known how easily the virus spreads between people. The symptoms of H1N1 swine flu in people are similar to the symptoms of regular human flu and include fever, cough, sore throat, body aches, headache, chills and fatigue. Some people have reported diarrhoea and vomiting associated with H1N1 swine flu. Severe illness (pneumonia and respiratory failure) and even deaths have been reported with H1N1 swine flu infection. Like seasonal flu, H1N1 swine flu may cause a worsening of underlying chronic diseases.

In children, emergency warning signs that need urgent medical attention include:
* Fast breathing or difficulty in breathing
* Bluish or gray skin colour
* Not drinking enough fluids
* Severe or persistent vomiting
* Not waking up or not interacting
* Being so irritable that the child does not want to be held
* Flu-like symptoms improve but then return with fever and worse cough

In adults, emergency warning signs that need urgent medical attention include:
* Difficulty in breathing or shortness of breath
* Pain or pressure in the chest or abdomen
* Sudden dizziness
* Confusion
* Severe or persistent vomiting
* Flu-like symptoms improve but then return with fever and worse cough

How do you catch H1N1 (swine) flu?
Spread of H1N1 (swine) flu can occur in two ways:

H1N1 virus appears to be transmitted the same way that seasonal flu spreads. Flu viruses are spread mainly from person to person through coughing or sneezing by people with influenza. Sometimes people may become infected by touching something with flu viruses on it and then touching their mouth or nose.

How can someone with the flu infect someone else?

Infected people can infect others right from day one even before they themselves develop any symptoms up to seven or more days after becoming sick. That means that one can pass on the infection to someone else before he/she even knows that he/she is sick, as well as while one is sick.

What can I do to protect myself from getting sick?
There is no vaccine available right now to protect against H1N1 (swine) flu. There are everyday actions that can help prevent the spread of germs that cause respiratory illnesses like influenza. Take these everyday steps to protect your health:

* Cover your nose and mouth with a tissue when you cough or sneeze. Throw the tissue in the trash after you use it.

* Wash your hands often with soap and water, especially after you cough or sneeze. Alcohol-based hand cleaners are also effective.

* Avoid touching your eyes, nose or mouth. Germs spread this way.

* Try to avoid close contact with sick people.

* If you get sick with influenza, you should stay at home and not go for work or school and limit contact with others to prevent them from getting infecting by you.

* Reduce the time spent in the crowded settings.

* Improve airflow in the living space by opening the windows and proper ventilation.

* Practice good health habits including adequate sleep, eating nutritious food, and keeping physically active.

How long can influenza virus remain viable on objects (such as books and doorknobs)?
Studies have shown that influenza virus can survive on environmental surfaces and can infect a person for up to 2-8 hours after being deposited on the surface.

Germs can be spread when a person touches something that is contaminated with germs and then touches his or her eyes, nose, or mouth. Droplets from a cough or sneeze of an infected person move through the air. Germs can be spread when a person touches respiratory droplets from another person on a surface like a desk, for example, and then touches his own eyes, mouth or nose before washing hands.

Are there medicines to treat H1N1 (swine) flu?
Yes, use of oseltamivir (brand name Tamiflu?) or zanamivir (brand name Relenza ?) for the treatment and/or prevention of infection with these H1N1 (swine) influenza viruses. Antiviral drugs are prescription medicines (pills, liquid or an inhaler) that fight against the flu by keeping flu viruses from reproducing in your body. If you get sick, antiviral drugs can make your illness milder and make you feel better faster. They may also prevent serious flu complications. For treatment, antiviral drugs work best if started soon after getting sick (within two days of symptoms).

Follow the advice of your local public health department regarding school closures, avoiding crowds and other measures to reduce flu transmission. These measures will continue to be important after a novel H1N1 vaccine is available because they can prevent the spread of other viruses that cause respiratory infections.

What should I do if I get sick?

If you live in areas where people have been identified with new H1N1 flu and become ill with influenza-like symptoms, including fever, body aches, runny or stuffy nose, sore throat, nausea, or vomiting or diarrhoea, you should stay home and avoid contact with other people, except to seek medical care. If you have severe illness or you are at high risk for flu complications, contact your health care provider or seek medical care. Your health care provider will determine whether flu testing or treatment is needed.

Antiviral drugs may reduce the symptoms and duration of illness, just as they do for seasonal influenza. They also may contribute to preventing severe disease and death. WHO is in touch with public health authorities and clinicians in affected countries and is gathering information about how effective the drugs are.

What about using a mask? What does WHO recommend?
If you are not sick you do not have to wear a mask. If you are caring for a sick person, you can wear a mask when you are in close contact with the ill person and dispose of it immediately after contact, and clean your hands thoroughly afterwards.

If you are sick and have to travel or be around others, cover your mouth and nose.

Using a mask correctly in all situations is essential. Incorrect use actually increases the chance of spreading infection.

How do I know if I have influenza A (H1N1)?

You will not be able to tell the difference between seasonal flu and influenza A (H1N1) without medical help. Typical symptoms to watch for are similar to seasonal viruses and include fever, cough, headache, body aches, sore throat and runny nose. Only your medical practitioner and local health authority can confirm a case of influenza A (H1N1). If they suspect any symptoms they will send your blood sample, throat swab and nasopharyngeal (nose to mouth) for testing to laboratories. Presently this facility is available only at certain specified government laboratories.

Having returned from Africa tour about 3 weeks ago. These are my observations.

Take travel shots all kinds are covered by HMOs and health Insurance cos.
If the Primary Physician does not have the shot go to Passport Health or states dept of health, they will have.

There is a yellow booklet which will be filled and records your vacinations and shots and Malaria
medications are Malarox is prescribed.
Along with the passport keep the yellow book at all times with you, so that a Dr. can have access to your records.

In SA every time I entered the country there was guy in a booth taking Infrared tep of every passenger jst before you enter immigration and passport contol. He sits invisible in a booth and a camera pointed at the person moving in the queue. To see if he running fever and if required quarentined.

Wah hands as many times as possible do not touch objects like banister on escaltors etc. If you haveto hold on wash your hands at the earliest.

Sneeze on to your shoulders or if somebody does (dont offer your shoulder :mrgreen: ) turn away.

Always carry a cepol/ throat spray chloroseptic, Claratin/Allegra (not Via..) Zeretex etc anti allergy medicine ( I believe Avil is discontinued).

In India Drs (with all due respect, and I am not one) quickly decide a kid running fever is becaue of Typhiod. (especially If the kid is from US) from personal experience with my daughter.

Keep one pack of Erthromycin (for throat infection) and Zrythromax both antibiotics just in case.

Most important ask the kids to gorgle with hot salt water after every trip to bazar, due to dust pollution.

From the top of my head.
Dr. Shiv garu and other Docs on the forum are better in this and they may add or discount my observations and practices that I followed in my oversees trips.

shiv wrote:People in Bangalore are currently sh1tting brix - with the death toll in India having gone from 0 to 17 in 5 days or so. There is a run on masks and H1N1 testing facilities. Pune and Mumbai schools, malls and theaters have been shut down.
I was one of the people to make the run - well too late. I did not get N95 mask. And I went to RGICD and returned as it was crowded. I talked to a lady, she had come to the center at 1:30pm and she was still standing there at 4:30pm. The center is open between 9:00am to 5:00pm. And they have run out of kits as of this morning. My neice's school is closed for this week. I asked for ear thermometers at few pharmacies - one pharmacist just laughed at my request and nodding that she did not have it. One another said it was expensive - Rs3000.

Manipal in Bangalore was testing only for the Inpatients and not for the Outpatients. When I say testing, they were collecting the samples and sending it to RGICD - which then routed it to Pune. Then one got the results in couple of days; and Manipal would require the patient to be admitted during that time. This was the info we got over the phone.

A pediatrician we visited was beseiged with calls. He said people were calling him almost non-stop. Poor guy. He had the standard answers to many of the callers.

The Bengulur International Airport was taking the temps too, using the sensor. Our family had nothing to report or worry at that time.
sunnyP

Post by sunnyP »

Does H1N1 swine flu have a greater risk to ones life than regular seasonal flu?

Also does anyone know how many people die from seasonal flu each year? (in India).

A post related to swine flu in Nukkad thread - by Dileep
Got this by e-mail. Seems to be from a Rotary Club guy.

My dear Presidents,

I agree with you that swine flu awareness is needed, but there is no need to be panicky and join the publicity propaganda carried out by media and others which acts as a vehicle to spread misconception than to spread scientific information.

These are few facts about swine flu when discussed with the leading epidemiologists.

1) Swine flu, that is H1N1 flu is not new, first detected in 1987
2) Infective stage of flue is 5 days, 1 day before and 4 days after onset of symptoms
3) The best way to prevent it spreading is asking patient having symptoms of flu like fever cough and running nose to take rest at home for 4 days so he does not transmit it
4) Masks are of limited value if any, in this disease, it can spread through droplets on your skin, through contact etc, and I have seen that the masks in Pune are worn as fashion statement, while walking on road today morning I saw people wearing masks coming out for a morning walk with their dogs!, many wearing masks around their necks, and so on, infect these masks shall act as the vehicles to carry the virus, instead, avoiding crowded places or cinema halls or malls where air conditioners are on, is advisable, because you get recalculated air, where the virus density multiplies
5)Death after H1N1 flu is not common, infect infections like measles is taking toll of thousands more every year, and we are oblivious of the facts. Swine flu is being blown out of proportion by media trying to create hysteria among lay people.
6) Fever accompanied by respiratory distress, should be immediately notified which is likely to be a complication of H1N1 flu
7)The mortality is less than .01 percent of those affected, that means may be one in 10,000 affected is likely to suffer the life loss.
8 ) If you remember, 2 years ago SARS was blown out of proportion, what happened? Humans develop immunity to the virus, the same is going to happen, we develop immunity in due course of time, the virus is in the air, you can not stop it, our body is already developing the immunity so nothing to panic.
We need to take care of children and elderly who have less immunity and do not let them go to crowded places that are all.

WE MUST START THIS CAMPAIGN OF NOT TO BE AFRAID OF THIS FLU AND LET YOUR DAILY WORK CONTINUE AS NORMAL, NO MASKS FOR ORDINARY CITIZENS, HEALTH CARE WORKERS OR SPECIFIC EXPOSED TO LOT OF CROWDED ENVIRONMENTS MAY BE BENEFITTED, NOT PROVEN.

I am amazed to hear that people are selling masks of RS 20 each which are available to less than Rupee 1 in the market.
See who is getting benefitted?

Please spread the scientific info, do not join the band wagon and stick to science, that should be the order of the day.

Deepak Purohit
District governor

Rtn Dr Deepak Purohit
DG 09/10
Dist 3131
Purohit Clinic, Plot 78, MCCHS
Panvel, Maharashtra
India
PIN 410206
Cell no. 098209 77773

Presently this facility is available only at certain specified government laboratories.
Let me post a personal and recent episode.

I was recently in India for four weeks. A week before my flight to India, I got sick with flu like symptoms, while traveling locally in the US. Not wanting to take any chances, I cut my trip short and went straight to my internal medicine practitioner, who diagnosed me with a mild upper respiratory infection. The Doctor said that, it is my choice, if to fight it out on my own or get a prescription for some anti biotics. I decided at that time not to take the anti biotics and take some rest instead. My conditions did not improve and decided to go back to the Doctor after two days to get those anti biotics. I had a flight to take to India in 24 hours now and had heard about the strict monitoring at the airports and the procedure to get quarantined at a government hospital. I got desperate to ensure that I did not land up there. My Doctor did not think it was H1N1 but could not give me anything in writing to rule it out. Due to short time before my departure, there was no time to get a test done. So, decided to get the anti biotics and took the flight the next day. The flight was miserable as my condition just worsened.

I managed to get past the airport screenings and go home. The next morning, decided to go to an extremely reputed large private hospital. The Doctor at the hospital refused to even touch me. They had strict orders to send all such patients to the one government hospital authorized to take such patients. I was angry and frustrated. By this time, I had already had three doses of the anti biotics, tons of fever and cough suppressants and loads of home remedies.

Our local Doctor in India came home to see me. Threw the US Doctor's prescription out the door and gave me new ones....high strength. Also, went to a private lab in India - this was 6 weeks back to get tested for H1N1 (it already happens). The result was negative, but i did not get the results for at least a week. The local Doctor's high strength medicines did not work, even after two days, as was expected and my condition did not improve. Called another Doctor, this time an MD, who prescribed a 4th generation set of anti biotics and suppressants. After a couple of days more on it, my condition improved. However still had a very persistent cough for one more week.

In all of this, I was hell bent on NOT going to the government facility and get quarantined there. Luckily for me, I did not have H1N1 and was sure that I was not infecting anyone else as my entire extended family was with me. Maybe, I erred and put others at risk but was going by the original diagnosis of the US Doctor.

My point is, god knows how many such people knowingly or unknowngly have entered the country with the H1N1 virus and have not seeked appropriate treatment. India has always had a two tiered system of public and private hospitals. The elite do not go to government hospitals. It is down right st*pid not to let private hospitals treat such patients.

H1N1 can be a deadly virus. So can the regular flu virus. The fear pschosis around this and the measures adopted have probably helped in spreading the virus as opposed to arresting them. JMT.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Another personal anecdote:
Was on a whirlwind tour of Asia just a month back. Went through Korea, Japan, Malaysia, Dubai, India and back to US. There was a facility to screen arriving passengers with a hand-held equipment in Korea, Japan and Malaysia. The worst drill was in Malaysia, every arriving passenger was treated as infected till the list was weeded out. Perhaps the fear of SARS has truly set in in these countries. There was none in Dubai and US, and the lack of one in the US was clearly surprising to me. The landing card asked about visiting a farm (still!), but not about fever symptoms!!

There was a facility on landing in India where people fill out a form in the flight with a government doctor (I think) sitting there asking passengers if they have fever or cough symptoms. If you said no, they let you right in irrespective of whether you are feigning or not. If you said yes, they did a customary thermometer check and quarantined people based on how serious they thought the illness was.

This H1N1 was a disaster waiting to happen given the laxity in following precautionary procedures/advises from the top. And despite all these efforts, they managed to quarantine around 1000 odd people. How that high a number came about still surprises me? Surely, we need no further enemies than our very own idiots....
sourab_c

Post by sourab_c »

Viruses can not be cured by antibiotics. Doctors give antibiotics to prevent "secondary bacterial" infection due to a lower immunity when your body is fighting the virus.

Swine flu is usually not fatal, most people are able to come out of it. It is only the very young, the very old and other immuno-compromised people who are at risk. And ofcourse those who have a very unhygeinic lifestyle.

Just stay clean and drink lots of orange juice!

As far as situation in India is concerned,
I personally was very surprised to have seen the kind of response and measures taken by the general public and the health ministry in India. It was much better than what Canada could do. The virus is spreading in Canada at a much faster rate and I do not see the kind of alert level in general public and hospitals that we should. Apart from a few posters about washing your hands, there isn't much being done here. Situation in India is much better.

India was able to keep it off for quite a while and the current response against the virus has been overwhelming, which is good. Western media is calling it Panic, I call it Precaution.

It is True that India is doing a good job. However, I am still surprised at not expanidng the treatment and control to private hospitals. There is a danger looming in India and the panic is reasonable.

The doctors are more worried about the mutation of virus.

In US the death count stands at 436. http://www.cdc.gov/h1n1flu/update.htm
I just can't imagine that the country that mourns every death on TV has no panic even after 400+ deaths. This is first time I am observing such a social behavior in US.

The US is getting ready to ship vaccines for H1N1 starting October. Check the CDC or WHO site for updates.

IS there a vaccine for this virus, or are they shipping vaccines for saada flu? How can a vaccine for this have been FDA-approved and ready to ship in such a short time? As of 3 weeks ago, doctors were confirming that there is no vaccine and there is no immediate prospect of one. "TAMIFLU" is a pretty general medicine to alleviate symptoms, not a preventive vaccine or something that kills this virus, apparently (my guess). So I can't imagine what the US is "getting ready to ship".

Hey, what is current status in Mumbai re going OUT of India? Is it proper etiquette to show up at the airport wearing masks, or do the CISF take a dim view of this? During SARS epidemic in SE Asia, most people there seemed to be going around wearing masks. If u wear a mask do they assume that you are infected and therefore yank you out, or are they smart enough to know that this preventive measure? I see news photos of lots of ppl standing in lines in Mumbai etc wearing masks, improvised or otherwise. Pls enlighten, thx, obviously this is a motivated question.

Incoming flights, as of 3 weeks ago they were just using the form - the form is to enable ppl to be contacted if someone is found to have developed symptoms, so don't diss that very quick response by Indian authorities. I was impressed by their having a set of qualified medical personnel wearing masks, at the airport gate.

But now, I hear that incoming passengers go through an infrared sensor to monitor body temperature, and those with fever are quickly detected. In B'looru, anyone detected with fever was promptly taken over to the IISC or somewhere like that for tests.

Incidentally, surgical masks are still available in India at medical stores - but in big cities they seem to have run out, and price gouging is occurring. Handkerchief is probably as effective.

One shocking indicator of the types of con games played by insurance companies in India - some life insurance co (not LIC) has kindly announced that they WILL pay death benefit on policies EVEN THOUGH H1N1 was NOT ON THE LIST OF "COVERED" DISEASES!!!! How generous! :roll:

Can you believe these jerks, selling policies to unsuspecting people, specifiying what diseases you can die of and be covered? I gather that the present generosity is because of the strong possibility of their execs meeting up with lampposts if they didn't pay up.

It must be a good time to be a mask seller in India. All the common folks are scared and looking to the Govt and media for good advice. What do they see on front pages and on TV are pictures of people in masks and a general sense of panic. Then the govt says its stock of Tamiflu is not enough for the entire population of even one large metropolis. Great time to be selling masks and Namiflu (Tamiflu without the brandprice or the right ingredients - made by Cheeni or the mumbaiwalla USA pharma sweatshops). All in all Jai Ho.

narayanan wrote:IS there a vaccine for this virus,
A vaccine will become available in 6-8 months. Keep a watch on the biz news and buy shares.

ShauryaT wrote:The US is getting ready to ship vaccines for H1N1 starting October
Scary $hit.

Satya_anveshi wrote:
ShauryaT wrote:The US is getting ready to ship vaccines for H1N1 starting October
Scary $hit.
If you are over 40, then you have lived through a similar flu pandemic

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Influenza_ ... .931969.29

The real difference between this flu and regular flu is the propensity of the mutated virus to severely damage lung cells that you need to breathe (in a small percentage of people).

I have read forensic pathology stories that many young Americans who died during the civil war actually died from a flu epidemic of this sort - need to search.

The most important thing - if you get a sore throat/cold and fever - seek medical advice. Most of the time it is nothing and most people will be fine. But let a doctor monitor you and ensure that you are getting better within the expected time.

If you have asthma/chronic bronchitis or is you are elderly or pregnant avoid crowded places until the scare dies down. A mask is not needed so long as you keep at least a meter away from people going hack hack hack without covering their mouths. Most important - the virus laden droplets from snot and sneezes get deposited on surfaces from where you can pick them up onto your fingers and transfer them to your eyes/nose/mouth. Keep washing hands -- even better is to but commercially available bottles of Isopropyl alcohol hand disinfectant which you can carry in a handbag/pocket.

In the US in any given year, the "flu season" (November - March, or October through September, more like) a fairly large number of deaths are attributed to flu and resulting complications. Saying that there is a flu vaccine available is no consolation in these cases, but it is true that the vaccine is pretty effective.

As I see it, this pakistani virus has learned to beat the saada vaccine Predators, but otherwise is about the same as its more vulnerable cousin.

I wonder what is the usual number of deaths from flu in India during these rainy season months, not including the "Chicken Buniya" strains. This pakistan flu "epidemic" may have the good effect of reducing overall flu deaths by 90% because of better education and alert detection. I can't remember when India worried about 17 ppl dying of flu in the past - the "chalta hai" in the past did not click in until the numbers reached the usual 1,700,000,000.

Surat "plague" was an exception, but that was 399% probably a Pakistani biological weapon "test" in India.

P.S. All bravado aside, I am well armed with masks and Vitamin C. :eek: :shock:

n3 any comments I make on this subject will probably have to go to the "elite" thread in the lingerie and hijab forum.

The difference between swine flu and ordinary deaths is the detection and spread among the Indian urban elite first and foremost. Like the difference between who dies in the Mumbai train blasts and who lived in IC 814

shiv wrote:n3 any comments I make on this subject will probably have to go to the "elite" thread in the lingerie and hijab forum.

The difference between swine flu and ordinary deaths is the detection and spread among the Indian urban elite first and foremost. Like the difference between who dies in the Mumbai train blasts and who lived in IC 814
Very true and hence the media frenzy.

It is one thing to take calibrated and deliberate actions to aggressively attack this virus and another to react out of fear. Mumbai has decided to to close ALL schools for seven days, all cinemas for three days and I hear Malls too. What next? shut down the trains?

In the state I live, we have about the same number of confirmed H1N1 cases as India and about the same number of deaths. A few schools did close but not the entire damn state and no major city I know of was shut down for business. At this rate, India will be another Mexico, it is the cheapest place to vacation these days - as no one wants to go there and Mexico has taken a severe hit to its economy on the issue.

shiv wrote:If you are over 40, then you have lived through a similar flu pandemic
Shiv ji,

Thank you for your advise. Inshallah...I have rarely taken any shots besides mandatory vaccinations. So far hale and heathy.

My reason for getting scared is not that I am overly bothered about the flu as such but the supposed "Made in USA" shot.

It is one thing for me to take a shot being in the US but if someone were to give me a shot in India that has just come from US, especially for this "epidemic", I will run for my life. Global warming makes the blankets unattractive and this perhaps is the new method to screw the pagans.

I hope all our folks are considering things from all angles and are not driven by just Panic.

Shiv Sir, all members in my family suffer from bronchitis, is this fever fatal for people with bronchitis ?

narayanan wrote: Hey, what is current status in Mumbai re going OUT of India? Is it proper etiquette to show up at the airport wearing masks, or do the CISF take a dim view of this? During SARS epidemic in SE Asia, most people there seemed to be going around wearing masks. If u wear a mask do they assume that you are infected and therefore yank you out, or are they smart enough to know that this preventive measure? I see news photos of lots of ppl standing in lines in Mumbai etc wearing masks, improvised or otherwise. Pls enlighten, thx, obviously this is a motivated question.

Incoming flights, as of 3 weeks ago they were just using the form - the form is to enable ppl to be contacted if someone is found to have developed symptoms, so don't diss that very quick response by Indian authorities. I was impressed by their having a set of qualified medical personnel wearing masks, at the airport gate.

But now, I hear that incoming passengers go through an infrared sensor to monitor body temperature, and those with fever are quickly detected. In B'looru, anyone detected with fever was promptly taken over to the IISC or somewhere like that for tests.
The procedures are the same at the airport and anyone can get their temperature down by a few doses of Tylenol and avoid the scanners. My recommendation would be if you are sick do not travel. (Do as I say, not as I do :) The nice part about a democracy is things do improve - 21 private hospitals in Mumbai qualify to handle H1N1 patients now, I hear. IMO: They need to rope in many more testing labs, and every little nursing home and Doctor needs to be alerted and made aware of this Virus and how to aggressively prosecute this.

In the US, many patients and even students diagnosed with H1N1 do not necessarily get ANY anti biotics, unless they are in a risk group or their condition worsens.

There is awareness in India, there is fear but there is more panic as a result and less action. It is changing but not fast enough, this thing has the potential to take the GDP down a few notches.

suryag wrote:Shiv Sir, all members in my family suffer from bronchitis, is this fever fatal for people with bronchitis ?
Heck not at all.

But don't depend on BRF if you are worried about any symptoms. Seek out a doctor.
samuel

Post by samuel »

Last sunday something crawled up my leg that I duly swatted without taking eyes off what I was doing. Down came a pang and out came the hives, a little later. A darn itching fest and then suddenly I went down. It all got gray in front, then head tingling and it got harder to take even a tiny suck of air, and all I could say was, "honey, call 911."

The almost last thing I heard was, "can't read pulse, no bp, he's going." stay awake, yelled my wife (which I heard). I did the usual drama, "giiiive my ah love to..." and 10 minutes later, they were sticking things in me. The doc came around 8 hours later and told me bluntly. "You went into anaphylactic shock. It was most likely the yellow-jacket wasp." I was in shock. what, an ordinary wasp? seriously?

"it was no joking matter he said." He's been in ER for 30 years.

"next time, there won't be time," he was sure of it.

"you are going to have to stick it to yourself right away" and he gives me an epi-pen. Within 20 minutes of sticking it, head for the nearest emergency room. It'll keep you going 6 hours he said, max. (Then, what?...sorry, used the epi-pen prematurely?)

I told my wife, we're starting a bee farm but she didn't think it was funny.

I feel pretty lucky armed with the pen, however, knowing there is something somewhere that could be of help...there's nothing for the swine flu like that except chavanprash, santra and hankey and that just doesn't seem convincing; ("normal precautions" and the short time to vaccine, are obviously also not good enough for those who will get affected, but can talk about it before it happens).

Also, N^3 on the Mask question, I think in the next few days the entire fricking country will be wearing masks (if they can find it), so you should be in good company - with a mask. A mask can give you protection against direct transmission from someone else, who is infected and close by but this thing is not air borne (as far as I know). The transmission is the same as normal flu, is my understanding.
sourab_c

Post by sourab_c »

samuel wrote:...there's nothing for the swine flu like that except chavanprash, santra and hankey and that just doesn't seem convincing.
O there is- TAMIFLU!

But WHO is regulating its supply as if it is widely used, the virus may mutate into a resistant form, for which we have no other medication.

I heard handkerchief is as effective (if not better) than the masks. I got masks @6.50 per piece. The "experts" suggest only the affected patients to wear masks.

I think the side-effect of the medi scare hype is that it will help the general system to get better; also people are getting better informed.

Considering the side-effects of Tamiflu, I hope Ayurveda and Homeopathic traditions pick up more traction.

Found out this morning that in the Delhi area (NCR) there are no more H1N1 certified masks available, or at least not readily.

A couple of years ago in the US I got some version of flu and took Tamiflu - I much rather prefer the flu than that bloody Tamiflu! After taking it I felt a real heaviness on the chest and had difficulty breathing. I called a relative who is a cardiologist and was told to rush to the ER. Knowing the clown Amreeki doktors they would crack me open, and I refused to go. Instead drank lots of water and electrolyte solution to flush the Tamiflu out of my system. In the process, I guess I flushed out the flu as well. Never again Tamiflu.

Swine flu is usually not fatal, most people are able to come out of it. It is only the very young, the very old and other immuno-compromised people who are at risk. And ofcourse those who have a very unhygeinic lifestyle.
I thought the opposite was true. People with healthy immune systems provide a vigorous response to the virus that results in a cytokine storm that results in death, so say some researchers. The virus seems to kill healthy people more than the others.

Sometime in May, there was a flu outbreak in SRK. The RubberRag reported 1 million people affected. It was the 15 day kind. All of us got it a bit staggeringly, and did the homoeo treatment to wellness.

I would bet AT LEAST 100 people died in my district. One have to scour the local pages and obituary pages to get the information, since these deaths don't get into statistics. Maybe I should collect data for the next outbreak.

Compared to that this Paki Flew is nothing. As long as Dr Hema is around, and her homoeo supplies are intact, we would be fine onlee.
samuel

Post by samuel »

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/news ... 888598.cms
10 home remedies to avoid swine flu
Neeraj Saxena, TNN 13 August 2009, 11:15am IST
Print Email Discuss Bookmark/Share Save Comment Text Size: |
Are the rising swine flu casualties giving you jitters? Not sure how you can avoid falling prey to the growing epidemic? First and foremost,
there is absolutely no need to panic.

Watching television to keep tabs on the progress of H1N1, particularly in the badly affected areas like Pune, is all right. But don't let the hysterical anchors get under your skin and start wearing a mask each time you step out of the house, unless you are visiting a very crowded area. Then too, the mask will protect you only for a specified period.

Without giving in to the swine flu panic and creating a stockpile of Tamiflu and N-95 masks at home and enriching pharma companies, there are a number of other measures you can take to ensure that the virus is not able to get you, irrespective of which part of the world you are in.

It is essential to remember that all kinds of viruses and bacteria can attack you when your immune system is weak, or they can weaken it easily. Hence, building your own defences would be a better, more practical, long-lasting and much more economical idea.

Here are some easy steps you can take to tackle a flu virus of any kind, including swine flu. It is not necessary to follow all the steps at once. You can pick and choose a combination of remedies that suit you best. However, if you are already suffering from flu, these measures can help only up to an extent. And, if you have been infected by H1N1, visiting a hospital and staying in solitary confinement is a must.

1. Have five duly washed leaves of Tulsi (known as Basil in English; medicinal name Ocimum sanctum) everyday in the morning. Tulsi has a large number of therapeutic properties. It keeps throat and lungs clear and helps in infections by way of strengthening your immunity.

2. Giloi (medicinal name Tinospora cordifolia) is a commonly available plant in many areas. Take a one-foot long branch of giloi, add five to six leaves of Tulsi and boil in water for 15-20 minutes or long enough to allow the water to extract its properties. Add black pepper and sendha (salt used during religious fasts), rock or black salt, or Misri (crystalised sugar like lumps to make it sweet) according to taste. Let it cool a bit and drink this kadha (concoction) while still warm. It will work wonders for your immunity. If giloi plant is not available, get processed giloi powder from Hamdard or others, and concoct a similar drink once a day.

3. A small piece of camphor (kapoor) approximately the size of a tablet should be taken once or twice a month. It can be swallowed with water by adults while children can take it along with mashed potatoes or banana because they will find it difficult to have it without any aides. Please remember camphor is not to be taken everyday, but only once each season, or once a month.

4. Those who can take garlic, must have two pods of raw garlic first thing in the morning. To be swallowed daily with lukewarm water. Garlic too strengthens immunity like the earlier measures mentioned.

5. Those not allergic to milk, must take a glass of hot or lukewarm milk every night with a small measure of haldi (turmeric).

6. Aloe vera (gwarpatha) too is a commonly available plant. Its thick and long, cactus-like leaves have an odourless gel. A teaspoon gel taken with water daily can work wonders for not only your skin and joint pains, but also boost immunity.

7. Take homeopathic medicines — Pyrogenium 200 and Inflenzium 200 in particular — five tablets three times a day, or two-three drops three times a day. While these are not specifically targeted at H1N1 either, these work well as preventive against common flu virus.

8. Do Pranayam daily (preferably under guidance if you are already not initiated into it) and go for morning jog/walk regularly to keep your throat and lungs in good condition and body in fine fettle. Even in small measures, it will work wonders for your body’s resistance against all such diseases which attack the nose, throat and lungs, besides keeping you fit.

9. Have citrus fruits, particularly Vitamin C rich Amla (Indian gooseberry) juice. Since fresh Amla is not yet available in the market (not for another three to four months), it is not a bad idea to buy packaged Amla juice which is commonly available nowadays.

10. Last but not the least, wash your hands frequently every day with soap and warm water for 15-20 seconds; especially before meals, or each time after touching a surface that you suspect could be contaminated with flu virus such as a door handle or a knob/handle, especially if you have returned from a public place or used public transport. Alcohol-based hand cleaners should be kept handy at all times and used until you can get soap and warm water.

(The author is an avid reader and follower of alternative therapies including spiritual healing, ayurveda, yoga and homeopathy)

ToIlet, Amerikhan Xpress both are reporting the toll now is 21 of which more than half are in Pune.

Another swine flu death in Pune, nation's toll reaches 21

Swine flu: 13th death in Pune; nationwide toll rises to 21