Serial Blasts in Mumbai

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Serial Blasts in Mumbai

I agree. Need to have a strict media management code formulated for all such tragedies - that should apply to both the investigating agencies and to political parties. Imbeciles like Digvijay most especially, need to come under the ambit of this code.

Vril wrote:BJP just concluded their press conference on Dig Singh and these are the points surmised

1. Why does DigSingh need to speak up whenever INC is under immense pressure for corruption and terrorism investigation.
2. He speaks his masters voice which is the 2G and thus directly blaming them for his utterances
3.Communalising terrorism only helps pakistan and isi.why is he doing so?

They also said we welcome that he speaks so much and thus exposes INC more and more.

almost every point raised in the forum was said verbatim.nice :)
The Chankian answer is that DigSingh is actually an anti-Kangrace double agent, and is taking ridiculously extreme positions to put the party in a tight spot...

http://www.indianexpress.com/news/nia-p ... at/819349/
Five days after the Mumbai serial blasts, the National Investigation Agency (NIA), which was asked to assist the Mumbai Police in the probe, is learnt to have pulled out from the investigations owing to “lack of coordination”. Most members of the NIA team who were rushed to Mumbai after the blasts are back in Delhi, including Director General S C Sinha.

Cops lying, Usmani died in custody

With support from the Samajwadi Party, the family is now demanding a compensation of Rs 10 lakh and suspension of the Mumbai crime branch officials who interrogated Faiz Usmani just before his death.

Meanwhile, a delegation comprising Mohammed Aslam Raazi of the Jamat-e-Islami-Hind, Abraham Mathai of the Minority Commission, and film-maker Mahesh Bhatt [ Images ] called on Anti Terror Squad chief Rakesh Maria [ Images ] demanding the complete truth behind the incident

The Chankian answer is that DigSingh is actually an anti-Kangrace double agent, and is taking ridiculously extreme positions to put the party in a tight spot...
Any Raja who is aware of his pre 1947 glory will try to damage Nehry dynasty. VP singh was aware of it.
Last edited by Sushupti on 19 Jul 2011 19:34, edited 1 time in total.

Arjun wrote:
Paki tactics....analogous to ISI / LeT in portraying Doggy as a non-state actor.

What is the Congress high command going to do about it??

Will they ask Diggy to put a muzzel on it.
sevoke

Post by sevoke »

I'm sorry, I'm Johnny come lately to this discussion but did Manmohak Singh lodge a strong protest yet? Usually that takes care of everything.

Guys, someone update me on this. This Samjotha BS, namely it was done by Hindus is now almost an ipso facto. Many shameless Indians do an equal equal negating India's travails with TSP terror. Pakis of course bring that up at every oportunity. But soon after the Samjotha attack, UN itself suggested LeT. So where is the truth today and why is India letting this tamasha continue?
sevoke

Post by sevoke »

suryag wrote:Btw i often find two types of Hindus, the first type being overtly anti-islamic and the second being the more chanakian types who simply mask their hatred for islam and propagate strategies to neutralise them or would advocate limited co-existence as way of continuing with nation building
There's a third set largely made up of apologists. They can be identified by their appeasing behavior and pride themselves on having high tolerance. For eg. words like "minority community", Saffron terror, Hindutva, secular, aam aadmi, Gandhi, strong protest, high command, CWC, UPA(United Progessive Alliance apparently) etc. are found in their lexicon. They have a strict hierarchy just like the Catholic church and equally organized and perverse if you will.
Anantha

Post by Anantha »

CRamS wrote:Guys, someone update me on this. This Samjotha BS, namely it was done by Hindus is now almost an ipso facto. Many shameless Indians do an equal equal negating India's travails with TSP terror. Pakis of course bring that up at every oportunity. But soon after the Samjotha attack, UN itself suggested LeT. So where is the truth today and why is India letting this tamasha continue?
CRS
David Headley has confessed to US authorities that LeT/Pak agencies were behind Samjhouta blast. DCH also was involved in some capacity on this. A link may be available in the DCH thread. Aseemand also says the same thing 2-3 days earlier, and he was forced to confess that he and some Hindu elements did it. Dont wait with baited breath for sickulars to come up with the truth now.
Anantha

Post by Anantha »

A simple question to google chacha revealed this.

http://www.thestatesman.net/index.php?i ... t&catid=39

It transpires that the US Drugs Enforcement Agency (DEA) and Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) agent David Coleman Headley’s wife, Faiza Outalha, reported to US investigators in Islamabad that Headley had a hand in the Samjhauta Express bombings. The New York Times reported these warnings from Outalha that were passed on to US officials in Islamabad in December 2007. This detail is now part of the US National Intelligence review ordered by its director. According to an American official Outalha “felt she had been innocently used in an express train bombing”. She connected Headley and Lashkar to the Samjhauta attack. This indicates that Pakistan and Lashkar carried out the Samjhauta attack. The UN banned Lashkar-e-Taiyyaba for attacking the Samjhauta Express.

^^^ Specifically, pursuant to UN Security Council Resolution 1267, the US had the UN declared Arif Qasmani as a terrorist in part over the Samjhauta attack. The US had to overcome objections by China (so it had to expend some non-trivial effort to do so).

It would be a great thing if Wikileaks had and revealed a cable which showed what information the US had when it did the above.

PS: Link to UN
http://www.un.org/sc/committees/1267/NSQI27109E.shtml
Last edited by A_Gupta on 20 Jul 2011 05:31, edited 1 time in total.

CRamS wrote:Guys, someone update me on this. This Samjotha BS, namely it was done by Hindus is now almost an ipso facto. Many shameless Indians do an equal equal negating India's travails with TSP terror. Pakis of course bring that up at every oportunity. But soon after the Samjotha attack, UN itself suggested LeT. So where is the truth today and why is India letting this tamasha continue?
Sorry to nitpick and point out silly typos. I think you were looking for the word "INC" and not "India".

Cable from US thanking China for putting Qasmani on UN list of terrorists:
http://wikileaks.ch/cable/2009/06/09BEIJING1752.html
C O N F I D E N T I A L BEIJING 001752

SIPDIS

DEPT FOR EAP/RA STUARTALLAN, EAP/CM PAUTRY

E.O. 12958: DECL: 06/25/2029
TAGS: PREL PTER EFIN ETTC KTFN PINR UN CH PK AF
SUBJECT: PRC THANKED FOR SUPPORT OF NOMINATIONS OF 3 PAKISTAN-BASED INDIVIDUALS FOR UNSCR 1267 DESIGNATION
REF: STATE 65602

Classified By: Acting Political Minister Counselor Ben Moeling for reas ons 1.4 (B/D).

¶1. (C) On June 25, PolOff conveyed to MFA International Organizations and Conferences Department UN Division Deputy Director Shen Yinyin U.S. appreciation for Chinese support of the designation of Arif Qasmani, Muhammad Yahya Mujahid, and Fazeel-a-Tul Shaykh Abu Muhammad Ameen al-Peshawari to the UN Security Council Resolution 1267 Committee (reftel). Deputy Director Shen acknowledged the message but offered no further comment.
PICCUTA

Abdullah, a graduate had told the police he overheard the conservation at a guesthouse in Kalyan where he was staying. He informed the police that the suspects were talking about a chemical that could have a dangerous impact on gold, diamond and silver. These metals represent Zaveri Bazar (gold market), Opera House (diamond market) and Dadar (silver shops).

Abdullah had even recorded the conversation.
The guest house had thrown Abdulla out as he had no identity proof to show the guesthouse staff. The police said that he was ignored because the cops that he was cooking up a story to take revenge on the hotel. After Abdullah was found, senior police officers interrogated him and handed him to the ATS. The police expect to get leads from videos of the suspected terrorists that Abdullah had recorded on his cellphone.

Meanwhile, a delegation comprising Mohammed Aslam Raazi of the Jamat-e-Islami-Hind, Abraham Mathai of the Minority Commission, and film-maker Mahesh Bhatt [ Images ] called on Anti Terror Squad chief Rakesh Maria [ Images ] demanding the complete truth behind the incident
Wish some day GoI grows a pair and unmasks Mahesh Bhatt like GOTUS is now doing with the ISI assets in US.

The US built up those assets over the years and chose not to do anything until they changed their minds and are even now selectively pulling the rug from underneath a few. God knows how many Paki assets are still protected in the US. It is fine to be critical of Indian inaction and incompetence, but using that to give a fake halo to the US is a mistake. If the US supports Pakistan for 50 years with 50 billion in aid and they suddenly take out one man there is no need to go ga ga over the US action as some great Chankian ploy to screw Pakistan.

Why the heck do indian public even watches movies by Hakla or Nanga Khan!! they have been ISI/CIA assets even before they were born!!!
Last edited by archan on 20 Jul 2011 20:57, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: warning issued

SBajwa wrote:Why the heck do indian public even watches movies by Hakla or Nanga Khan!! they have been ISI/CIA assets even before they were born!!!
mango SDREs don't know about these and other Pawar-ful people.
ManishH
Location: Sovereign, Socialist, Secular, Democractic republic

Post by ManishH »

CCTV grab of Opera House Blast - the approaching car absorbs quite a bit of the blast - shielding a few. Warning - a bit gory.

GopiD

Post by GopiD »

Hi, I am a newbie to BRF.

Yesterday, I saw a news on TimesNow that Army has warned about threats to a Dam in Kashmir and Army and IB have asked to strengthen security. Now, I am not able to understand the concept of strengthening security of every nook and corner of our country. Almost every government establishment can be targeted and we should not fall for the crap of strengthening security and keeping vigil all the time. It is a time consuming task and this will tire down our security forces, which is exactly the Pak establishment wants. And there was a report that ISI was colluding with the naxals to drag our Army into the conflict against naxals to tire down our army.

It is silly to see the terror masterminds walking free and making threats from across the border and we run around securing our establishments and our resources.

The next time a threat emanates in any state, I would like to see the chief minister of that state stand up and say that we will not step-up vigil and say that it is the union government's responsibility to protect each and every state of our nation and it is their responsibility to handle threats from across the border and the state government should not be expected to guard every nook and corner of the country.

I think our successive governments have been trying to take a moral high-ground and they have denied themselves a potent weapon of covert action and now we are left with only either compromise or war. The third option has been lost and it takes guts to begin and execute the third option of covert operations, which I guess the MMS govt. doesn't have and the govt has proved one and many times that MMS is a WEAK PM.

Being defensive all the time bleeds our resources slowly but surely. Hope our govt wakes up at least now and hunts down the terror agents covertly with plausible deniability built in.
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

Welcome to BRF.
Hoping for govt. action when the govt. is engaging in "talks" under pressure from USA, is pointless. Currently the govt. believes talks should not be derailed by such provocations,and is making every effort to subdue reactions,and even point at Hindu outfits like RSS for these blasts.When 26/11 happened, so much was discussed and then three years passed peacefully.Comes 13/7 and though lesser numbers are dead, the response has been so inadequate, makes the Aam aadmi think what's cooking up there in the top circles.
GopiD

Post by GopiD »

Hi Sanjeev, Thanks.

Firstly, covert action requires resources inside the enemy country and there were news that India had dismantled their covert-action groups of R&AW in 1998 under I.K. Gujaral govt. Let them continue the peace talks, but they should at the least start building resources there and when the talks fail (which Im sure they will) in a few years, we would be able to act independently on our threats. I'm totally against the idea that PROSPEROUS AND PEACEFUL PAK IS IN INDIA'S INTEREST.

But again, reviving covert action capabilities can't be expected to publicized!!!

Secondly, blowing Safron Terrorism out of proportion by the UPA gvt is playing with fire. Even if we agree that there are a few stray elements of safron terror, these are reactionary terror to the ineptitude of the Govt to control/diffuse terror emanating from Pak (now more through local groups). But, we have to keep in mind that 65% of india is Hindu population and when you are painting the whole community with one brush, then that is much more dangerous than even the Pak-sponsored terror. The govt is just counting on the fact that Indian Hindus are peaceful than the general muslim people, but what if the GOVT IS WRONG?

thirdly, there are reports that Pune blast, varanasi blasts, delhi high court blast and mumbai blasts are connected and only our security agencies had taken them lightly and this shows that even in the last three years there were attempts to disturb the peace in our country.

Hope the govts action at least after this incident is reassuring to aam admi like us/take the first steps for reviving covert action capability of our nation. And if Dr. MMS doesn't take these steps, he would be in a bigger soup shortly.

SBajwa wrote:Why the heck do indian public even watches movies by Hakla or Nanga Khan!! they have been ISI/CIA assets even before they were born!!!
All right, listen up now. We are getting sick and tired of bigots coming out here and acting like deshbhakts. You take that hatred you have for Muslims to some other forum. And no, I do not care what your response to this is and I have no time to get into arguments with you or anyone. Enough is enough. Next time I see you do this, it will be a permanent ban. Looks like banning one was not enough of a message for some of you.
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

Mumbai blasts: Gujarat ATS quizzes suspects, informers.
A senior ATS official told PTI on Wednesday-“We are also questioning some of Indian Mujahideen members arrested in connection with the July 2008 serial blasts in Ahmedabad,” he said.
They include Danish Riyaz, of Ranchi, who was arrested last month from Vadodara.A Gujarat ATS team, along with a squad from the Ahmedabad Crime Branch, had gone to Mumbai post the bombings, and collected some clues from the police there which are being verified, the officer said.There has also been sharing of information between the Maharashtra and Gujarat ATS.Maharashtra ATS had on Tuesday said terrorists responsible for the latest terror attack on India’s financial capital could have strong links with Gujarat and Kolkata.
Good to note pro-active responses by Gujarat govt, and sharing of intel between Maharashtra and Gujarat ATS. This is the sort of action we need to have between all states, so we have a safer India.I am not so surprised about the Kolkata contribution to this, WB borders Bangladesh. Gujarat borders Pakistan.I feel border states are most vulnerable for entry of these scum.Btw, 2G scamster Shahid Balwa is from Gujarat! Anyone see connection? The guy is in Jail, and could be instigating from inside?

Arjun wrote:
Paki tactics....analogous to ISI / LeT in portraying Doggy as a non-state actor.
Actually, Digvijay Singh is a smart cookie. He is probably looking to get into PM gaddi sometime down the lane. The precedent of blaming RSS into picture is not new trick of the party loyalists. As Madhu Kishwar poignantly notes, Shri.MMS brought in RSS for 1984 riots and was amply rewarded in couple of decades. Maybe, Digvijay singh is also aiming for such possibility. People get worked up because digvijay singh comes out as crass not as other smooth operators.
http://www.outlookindia.com/article.aspx?268620
In fact, his defeat in the one and only election he ever fought is related to his lack of personal integrity. He was defeated in the predominantly middle-class South Delhi constituency because people in general and Sikhs in particular were enraged when Manmohan Singh denied the role of the Congress in the 1984 anti Sikh carnage and instead attributed the 1984 massacre to the RSS. The RSS may well be guilty of many other communal riots but the " credit" for the 1984 massacre goes entirely to Congress politicians, including Rajiv Gandhi who even justified the killings saying: "when a big tree falls, the earth is bound to shake." The Congress Party also ensured that those who masterminded and executed the 1984 pogrom did not get punished.

Sleuths probe HuJI-B link to blasts
Fifty Indians from West Bengal, Maharashtra, Uttar Pradesh, Assam, Karnataka and Bihar have trained at terror camps in the Balochistan province of Pakistan, as per a document obtained by central intelligence agencies. The dossier, obtained through joint efforts with international agencies, reveals that majority of these are from Assam and West Bengal, which, in addition to Bihar are the new hubs for recruitment of terrorists.

Sources say the men have fanned out across cities in India, where they are masquerading as religious clerics, and recruiting fresh faces into terrorism.

But the one name in the list that has caught the attention of teams investigating the Mumbai serial blasts is of Jalaluddin Mullah alias Babu Bhai, a South-24 Parganas resident.

Jalaluddin, currently in a Lucknow prison, has emerged as the key link between the Bangladeshi group Harkat-ul-Jehadi-Islami (HuJI-B) and members of Indian Mujahideen (IM).

“He is a tough cookie, but has told us about his association with Amir Raza Khan, and HuJI-B’s top commanders Munir-ul-Islam alias Assadullah, and Mehraj alias Badal,” said a senior police officer from the UP ATS.

Hindustan Times accessed Jalaluddin’s interrogation report and has learnt that he had facilitated the training for IM’s co-founder Mohammed Sadiq Israr Sheikh. He was also in constant touch with Bangladesh-based terrorist Khurram Khayyam, who goes with aliases like Abdulla, Damesh, Qamar and Nata. Khayyam was a key recruiter for HuJI-B from Bihar, who shifted to West Bengal and later made Bangladesh his base.

Khayyam was closely coordinating with militant groups including the Lashkar-e-Taiba, HuJI-B and Jamiat-ul-Mujahideen (Bangladesh), said sources in the intelligence bureau.

Nata, as he is known among investigators, ran out of luck when the detective branch of the Dhaka police arrested him in November 2010, along with two Pakistani LeT men and an Indian recruit, Imadullah alias Mansoor Ali alias Mehboob.

Imadullah was touted as the chief of LeT’s Bangladesh chapter. Jalaluddin had motivated Imaduallah, a resident of Bangaon city in North 24 Parganas, into terrorism and helped him undergo training in Bangladesh through a person called Noor-ul-Islam alias Mama, added the UP ATS officer.

Apart from Imadullah, Jalaluddin was instrumental in recruiting Akbar from Bangaon, Mukhtiyar from Midnapore, Aziz-ul-Haq’s from Darjeeling, Hafiz alias Naushad from Bijnor in Uttar Pradesh, Mahabook Mandal, Yakub and Nasir from Coolutala.

archan wrote:
All right, listen up now. We are getting sick and tired of bigots coming out here and acting like deshbhakts. You take that hatred you have for Muslims to some other forum. And no, I do not care what your response to this is and I have no time to get into arguments with you or anyone. Enough is enough. Next time I see you do this, it will be a permanent ban. Looks like banning one was not enough of a message for some of you.

does this warning pertain to all criticism of "Muslims" or is there some specific criteria??? I would like to know what is "hate" and what is not before I get banned. and the same goes for EJ's and others. will you be banning for criticizing them too??? how will BRF define "hate" against EJ's? is criticizing their methods of conversion and preaching also "hate?"

devesh miyan if you cannot figure out what 99% of BRFites can then maybe it is you who doesn't belong. I'm not gonna spoon feed anyone. If you throw out allegations like "X is an ISI agent" with nothing to back it up with, you are a) doing a disservice to Bharat, b) conspiring to bring BRF down to paki fora "RAW/CIA/MOSSAD conspeeraicy" level.
Inder Sharma

Post by Inder Sharma »

I guess what Archan is insisting on is that we discern between Indian Muslims and Muslim Indians. And I guess he is partially correct. We must not alienate Indian Muslims in our strife against Muslim Indians. This is as much a strife between Dara Shikoh and Aurganzeb, as it is between Guru Gobind and Aurangzeb. (Not surprisingly, Paki’s see Aurangzeb as a historical icon and Dara as a Murtad). Therefore, the presumption of birth must not blind us.

Although alertness against pakiness is necessary (a symptom SRK has been unable to conceal for a long time), but let us not assume that a muslim is a Hizb-e-Aurangzebi unless proven otherwise.

How does one threaten a dam? Are they going to use nukes ? In that case it is one dam against damning of the whole TSP.
AFAIK, dams are pretty resilient structures and bringing down a dam does require more than 4 years of terror training by Kakool Military academy. So why this hype of Threat to Dams unless I am missing something ?
Ravi Karumanchiri

Post by Ravi Karumanchiri »

^^^ Dams have been a favourite target during warfare for hundreds of years, in countless conflicts, all around the world. During this time, many dams were destroyed or damaged, and the result was never good for the owners of the dam. It can definitely be done, but I wouldn't like to discuss that openly, for obvious reasons -- and I would suggest to all Rakshaks that this is a topic best left off of BRF threads.

Nothing built by man is indestructable. Man can even destroy what he has not built himself.
Destruction is man's most abundant capability.

If you are truly curious, do some Googling.

Don't have to destroy a dam to cause mayhem. Just capturing the control room and opening some sluice gates will flood downstream areas. Many dams, particularly smaller ones are even unmanned most of the time.

This phase is over. People are busy in lives. We got used to it with Mumbai spirit. Time to wait for the next and show the spirit again. This is how life is going on.

^^I do hope the threat to dams thing is taken seriously and CCTV deployment is uber-fast, at the least. Else, sarkar might unwittingly give 'em North Yindians the opportunity to 'show their spirit' and get back to their lives post tragedy only...:(

WRT to flooding using dams, it is not as much of a danger to India.

Most of Indias rivers flood every year due to our unique monsoon. Often at maximum sluice discharge and even higher occasionally. Due to this most Indian rivers have massive river beds, often kilometers across, that are dry most of the time. It is particularly hard to over-flood monsoon type river systems.

Now could there be a worst case scenario of opening sluices during a pre-existing flood or damaging a city. Sure. But relatively less effective or likely.
Inder Sharma

Post by Inder Sharma »

please let us not speculate on the innovative methods of attacks that may be employed in a public fora, lest it may inspire the iniquitous.
Last edited by Inder Sharma on 22 Jul 2011 13:31, edited 1 time in total.
nikhilarora

Post by nikhilarora »

Theo_Fidel wrote:WRT to flooding using dams, it is not as much of a danger to India.

Most of Indias rivers flood every year due to our unique monsoon. Often at maximum sluice discharge and even higher occasionally. Due to this most Indian rivers have massive river beds, often kilometers across, that are dry most of the time. It is particularly hard to over-flood monsoon type river systems.

Now could there be a worst case scenario of opening sluices during a pre-existing flood or damaging a city. Sure. But relatively less effective or likely.
Sorry, but you are absolutely wrong. Yes India is prone to floods due to irregular monsoons, with rivers having huge river beds. But the effect of releasing water will be disastrous. It is a trade-off.

When there is excessive rain, the structure might not be able to withstand the water pressure, and if it would break then there would be massive flooding in the lower regions. So they relase water in a controlled fashion and only limited water is released. And the people are generally evacuated or alerted to this event. Even then with limited water only, there is flooding and sometimes the situation gets really bad.

Now consider if all of the water would gush out, what would happen, all of a sudden the dry river beds fill up and the water demolishes everything on its way, along with the plicgh of the innocent people who are not alerted and so don't have time to react.

I would leave it to this, as such a thing is unwanted and to be prevented. But, I am all for tightened security at these dams as it is vitally important for India. Lets not give the jokers even a slightest chance from our end, as jokers will always be jokers, upto some mischief or the other.