Cross Post from Internal Security Watch thread.

http://srisriravishankar.org/time-to-re ... ar-debacle
Time to rethink : Saffron surge and the secular debacle
MAY 31, 2014 | Sri Sri Ravishankar

“What appears is not and what does not, is” This ancient saying aptly describes the Indian political scenario. The Congress-led United Progressive Alliance (UPA) claims to be secular but just peel a few layers and you will find that it is steeped deep in communalism. The BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA), on the other hand, which is accused of communalism, does all that it can to get rid of this label and walk that extra mile. No doubt scams, price rise, all pervading corruption, negative industrial growth (from +10% to -2.5%) and unemployment played a major role, but above all it was the communal attitude of the party and its overt tilt towards the Muslim minority that derailed the UPA.
India in general and Hindus in particular are largely secular, yet in this election they voted out all those parties who espoused secularism. People did not buy into repeated fear psychosis of the communal bogey. Perhaps, the Congress did not expect the Hindu majority to join together as one voice since they have always been divided on linguistic and caste-based lines.
Soon after assuming the Prime Minister’s Office, Dr. Manmohan Singh openly declared that minorities had the first right on India’s resources, driving a dagger through the hearts of Hindus, who had stood by him. Not once, during his entire tenure did the Prime Minister even acknowledge the magnanimity of the majority community. While many complained that they were not treated with dignity, sops were doled out for minorities to the tune of thousands of crores.
Principals were asked to identify minority students and open bank accounts through which scholarships were given. In some states ruled by UPA allies, a child gets Rs. 30,000 just for being from the minority community. This created a wedge in the classroom psyche and caused heartburn to other poor students from the majority. However, no such facilities were extended to the Hindu minority in Jammu & Kashmir and the North East. Poverty and illiteracy have no religion – every religion has poor people. Giving benefits based on religion is unconstitutional and such practises by political parties angered people. ‘The Majority Report’ a thorough research document written by two retired IPS officers (Shri Ram Kumar Ohri and Shri Jai Prakash Sharma) makes an interesting read on the subject.

Many decisions by the UPA proved destructive for institutions that are the foundations for the country’s democracy. Pranab Mukherjee who was the rightful choice for the post of PM was overlooked. PJ Thomas was appointed as Chief Vigilance Commissioner in spite of his bad record. The ruling alliance showed little respect towards the Supreme Court. The government machinery through agencies like Central Bureau of Investigation and Enforcement Directorate was made a tool for vindictive politics. The first family was quick to take credit at every possible opportunity but ended up denigrating the Office of the Prime Minister, which was shocking for the population. There are a lot of honest and well-intentioned people in the Congress but they felt suffocated, sad and disheartened at the state of affairs, as everything was controlled by a small coterie of people.

The proposed Communal Violence Bill presumed that the majority community was always the culprit and its members could be arrested with a non-bailable warrant. UPA came up with several such discriminatory laws. The government also directed public sector banks to be liberal while sanctioning and writing off loans to religious minorities. The excesses in corruption under UPA kept becoming more and more embarrassing to explain and difficult to hide. Never before have so many files gone missing from important offices. It seems fire had a great affinity for the files of Congress government – the last fire accident happened in its last days while leaving office.
The UPA also showed utter disregard for Indian ethos. India, where the cow has been considered sacred since time immemorial, silently became the number one exporter of beef. This notorious development came as a big jolt. Subsidies were liberally given to beef exporters while farmers were committing suicide.
While minority religious leaders could be seen often with UPA leaders, Hindu saints were disregarded, if not hounded. Moreover, the minorities had full freedom to run their places of worship, but all major Hindu temples were controlled by the government.

The nation witnessed such discrimination under the garb of secularism. There were more communal clashes in states ruled by the secular UPA and its allies. People were fed up of leaders who read out scripted speeches containing the same old rhetoric without delivering on any promises. Rahul Gandhi barely attended the parliament and was never available during any national crisis. In sharp contrast, the conviction and confidence with which Narendra Modi spoke about development was just the change people were looking for. He proudly proclaimed his faith and expressed his commitment to the entire nation. While Congress tried its best to portray him as the perpetrator of the 2002 Gujarat riots, it became clear 10 years later that the Congress head of Godhrawas convicted for the train carnage triggering the violent episode.

Pictures of Mahatma Gandhi feature prominently on Congress hoardings all over the country, but two of his most important ideas – prohibition and banning cow slaughter, have been implemented only in Gujarat under Modi’s leadership. With a solid record in good governance, what further endeared him to the masses was that he spoke from the heart and thus became the natural choice for the people. Coming from a very poor background where his mother was a domestic help, his rise to the highest office of the world’s largest democracy has instilled hope in the poor people of the country.

In Indian society, one often finds a lot of adulation for religious leaders, cricketers and film stars. But the fawning around the Gandhi family in Congress goes way beyond. It is not that Congress has not done any good at all – they took some very progressive initiatives but the volume of wrongdoings washed it all away. It is time for the grand old party to rethink its strategy, get rid of sycophancy and be true to democracy.

Minority politics was anti-Hindu but mr. Manmohan Singh got all the blame, but Sonia got away as usual.
vivek.rao

Post by vivek.rao »

^^ Hopefully Sri Sri Ravi Shankarji will push to free temples from the clutches of corrupt Govt. officials

vishvak wrote:Minority politics was anti-Hindu but mr. Manmohan Singh got all the blame, but Sonia got away as usual.
tweet that!

"We will not function as opposition for opposition sake. It (our functioning) will be issue based in the larger interest of the country and society," Kharge
what larger interest other the kangrez size that is the issue these people to function? Stupid statements!

RamaY wrote:^^ Heart warming :)
He is physical embodiment of all the past "Pap(sins)" of nehru family. He has "incarnated" to eat Congress party into non existence.

KJoishy wrote:I have a soft corner for the Congress because of Rajiv Gandhi and then PVN, though I hate what it has become now.
I can understand PVNR, but Rajiv Gandhi? Of Bofors, Shah Bano and KGB funding fame? The guy who said "When a big tree falls, the earth shakes"? How can he make you have a soft corner for the Congress?

From the Sri Sri Ravishankar article above:
Perhaps, the Congress did not expect the Hindu majority to join together as one voice since they have always been divided on linguistic and caste-based lines.
To me, this is the bona fide miracle that has just happened. I still need to pinch myself to make sure I'm not dreaming.

BJP has the mandate and must make completely sure that this remains the case at least for another 20 years, preferably forever. Do whatever it takes--wholesale changes to school curriculums, history books, compulsory yoga at school, social media blitz, bludgeoning main stream media to present the truth repeatedly, force Bollywood to make movies with the message or shunt them out of business, demonize the "secular" scum starting from Congress goons and their B Teams to the EJs to the leftist sellout mofos at JNU and foreign universities and their islamist isi-sponsored blood buddies. This is no time to be squeamish. If saving our heritage needs us to ram a dagger into someone's mush, then that is our dharma ya Allah.

About Sri Sri Ravishankar article-
majority community should make sure their voices are heard and adequately represented. Hindus by nature allow others to live and flourish not possible in others faiths.

whatever happens there should be Hindu parties all of which should be right of centre- with varying degrees. only then India will progress forward with less communal disturbances economic progress and social reforms.

India is the only country where majority community is broken down into its subsects and minority vetoes development of India. :twisted: :evil:

The minority leaders are not bothered about India at all- they get lots of support from outside India and within sickular framework.

--------------------------------------------------
Only INDIAN majority community talks of uniform civil code, unformity in state laws(inc art 370) appeasement to none, equality to all.

In OTHER countries , minority leaders are vocal for these above statements as they feel discriminated by majorityy community in all spheres.
There is a invisible glass ceiling beyond which a minority person can never go higher including usa. :(

It is only because of Hindus that India is allowing everyone to thrive, but thieves amongst politicians and minority leaders are making all Indians hostage to this minority veto power.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hope NaMO and leaders folowing him make sure that law is followed to the hilt, and no minority panderings are allowed success.The minority veto power should be destroyed for all times to come.

krisna, The Congress was very smart.They had the Nehru Kashmiri brahmin connections to flaunt and even had Sonaji perform havans and widely pictured and all the time they were slowly boiling the frog. The current tsunami is due to the awareness. Note in places like Kerala and Karnataka Congress still got MPs.

ramana wrote:krisna, The Congress was very smart.They had the Nehru Kashmiri brahmin connections to flaunt and even had Sonaji perform havans and widely pictured and all the time they were slowly boiling the frog. The current tsunami is due to the awareness. Note in places like Kerala and Karnataka Congress still got MPs.
Karnataka was a case of TINA, to an extent. But given the amount of infighting and self-damage the BJP displayed, it was actually a marvel that the BJP won 17/28 seats (and lost 2 more by ~1K votes). In fact, if the BJP puts its house in order and fights the next election with a decent face (Sadananda Gowda, or Basanagouda Patil Yatnal, with backing of Yediyurappa), the Congress will be utterly routed (<50 Assembly seats).

Kerala is an enigma to me. People in Kerala are aware of how precarious their existence is becoming. In Kasargod and Kozhikode, I see open worry among the Hindus about their coming futures. Things have become so bad that they cannot even run their businesses in the Muslim majority areas, due to gross harassment by the peacefuls. But they still go and vote for the Left. I don't even understand their attitudes.

Assam has awoken now, and I hope it is not too late (Hindus maybe around 62% or so in the state now). If NaMo fulfills his promise and deports the BDs, then the state can be saved (and unlike WB, there is no Mamata Banerjee to block it).

There's no huge mystery in Kerala. BJP remains mostly non-existent both when it comes to cadre and leadership. The LDP votes that could go to BJP don't go because BJP presence has not crossed the wasted vote threshold. Kerala has gotten nowhere near the attention that WB or Assam has. When it does, there's a sufficiently large SC+OBC demographic for the BJP to rapidly build upon. One strong show of effort is enough to pull the rug from under the LDP, transferring the votes en masse to BJP. Even UDF votes will be leached by such a BJP, leaving the remainder of UDF to fight the purest factional parties for a share of the minority vote, and thereby divide it further.

Was it not one of the BRF Gurus who predicted the consolidation of Dharmic votes once the Ropers and Rolers cross certain level of visibilty and numbers? Modi Miracle Made Many Maatrputras to Make Mend by Merging sooner than latter to prepare for Emerging Mahabharat with the RatsinBharat. Abb Pehle Bengal Mey BankeBihari Phir Kerala Me Karal Baan Dhari , Tabhi To Maala ka Dhaga Will be same from Kashmir To KanyaKumari Jhaan Swami Vivekandand Ne laggai Aik Din ki Samadhi Orr Kii Amerika Ki Tyari.

Jhujar, I think it is not because of Muslims, but it is because of Modi. If there was no Modi, Hindus would still be singing the praises of sekooolarism.

nageshks wrote:
ramana wrote:krisna, The Congress was very smart.They had the Nehru Kashmiri brahmin connections to flaunt and even had Sonaji perform havans and widely pictured and all the time they were slowly boiling the frog. The current tsunami is due to the awareness. Note in places like Kerala and Karnataka Congress still got MPs.
Karnataka was a case of TINA, to an extent. But given the amount of infighting and self-damage the BJP displayed, it was actually a marvel that the BJP won 17/28 seats (and lost 2 more by ~1K votes). In fact, if the BJP puts its house in order and fights the next election with a decent face (Sadananda Gowda, or Basanagouda Patil Yatnal, with backing of Yediyurappa), the Congress will be utterly routed (<50 Assembly seats).
I just had a post election analysis on KA

ANother 3 seats are narrowly lost by BJP/ So BJP should be 20 seats

Another 5 seats are regular JD/Cong seats.

Another 3 seats are due to local confusion and money problem. on the day of election Cong sent 20 cr to each Cong candidate in KA

During BJP regime BJP could do this

Suraj wrote:There's no huge mystery in Kerala. BJP remains mostly non-existent both when it comes to cadre and leadership. The LDP votes that could go to BJP don't go because BJP presence has not crossed the wasted vote threshold. Kerala has gotten nowhere near the attention that WB or Assam has. When it does, there's a sufficiently large SC+OBC demographic for the BJP to rapidly build upon. One strong show of effort is enough to pull the rug from under the LDP, transferring the votes en masse to BJP. Even UDF votes will be leached by such a BJP, leaving the remainder of UDF to fight the purest factional parties for a share of the minority vote, and thereby divide it further.
Kerla needs a dharmic social engineering

archan wrote:Regardless of your stance on issues, Rahul Mehta, you are trying to abuse BRF to increase traffic to your facebook page and probably trying to gain followers and members for your party. BRF moderator team does not look favorably at this type of blatant self advertizement. You have 5 links to your facebook in the last post alone. I saw you post earlier something saying "this is too explosive to be posted here, so please see it on my facebook page". Well, if there is such a thing which is too hot to be posted here, DO NOT post it! This is my one and only warning, if you continue to misuse our forum, you will be removed from this community immediately, with all your posts deleted.
The reason I post links to my FB profile is because I want to confine to 1 post per day per thread and no more than 4 posts on whole BRF. And I also dont want to make my posts very long. Because my posts give too much takleef to many people. And I believe in jeevdaya. So my goal was to reduce my traffic on BRF, not increase traffic on my FB profile. Anyway, I will NOT post any links to my FB profile page anymore.

===

Dear Admins,

I once got warned for calling MMS corrupt and later got warned for saying hat MMS is US spy. Later, people here had referred to MMS as "USA's viceroy to India" and they never got warned for that. Apparently, admins accepted "MMS is USA's viceroy to India" statement as kosher. So now is that statement kosher for new PM? Or is such statement on new PM unkosher? TTIA.

=====

IndraD,

I have all proofs that you want. Now question is --- do you intend to take any actions? eg if I give you proofs that SZI made fishy statements about her income and degree, do you plan to take action? Or do you want proof only for timepass? In any case, I dont mind giving you proof. But if I post proofs here, then postors complain that I am spamming. And if I post links to proofs on my SM pages, then I get accused of advertising my SM pages. I dont use emails, and sending emails to 100s of persons who ask me questions isnt time-vaiable to me and so I only use SM or BRF. So I have given ALL proofs on my SM-pages, and I cant post links here. See if you can find the links. Thats all I can say on BRF

=====

Nripendra Mishra seems to be MMS2.

Nripendra Mishra is apex-babu aka Principal Secretary in Namo-sarkar. He has Harvard degree and worked in IMF for 5 years. I hate IMF. The institution's core fabric is that Indians should behave like good slaves of USUK. If a person has survived in IMF for 5 years, then that alone speaks volumes about it. And Nripendra Mishra has Harvard degree. He was TRAI chief and TRAI chief as per law of 27-may-2014 could not have become Principal Secretary. So amendment was done in TRAI act and amendment was done via Ordinance . Some say that Ordinance was printed on Saturday/Subday, which are otherwise generally holidays !! IOW, there was a great great hurry to ensure that Nripendra Mishra must become Principal Secretary on ASAP basis. Given his background, Nripendra Mishra seems a "globalists". So Swadeshi minded people associated with Bharat Swabhiman Trust etc had supported NaMo because they believed that NaMo would kick out MNC-owners. Nripendra Mishra is one more reason for them to feel disappointed.

=====

Swadeshi people feel that NaMo has cheated them

After 100% FDI in defence, Swadeshi people feel cheated big time. One thing for sure --- if NaMo had said that he would promote 100% FDI in defence when he becomes PM, some 80% Bharat Swabhiman Trust workers would have stayed home and never voted or campaigned for NaMo. My SM posts since 27-may-2014 are highly anti-Congress, anti-AAP, anti-RSS, anti-BJP, anti-Sonia, anti-AK and anti-NaMo, and I am getting 20 friend requests per day !! And a look at the page of those requests show that they are all Swadeshi people. None of them are AAPians, as my posts are more anti-AK than they are anti-NaMo.

All in all, NaMo has masterfully cheated these Swadeshi people. They all believed that NaMo will work to expel MNC-owners from India. And now they see just opposite.

=====

FDI and Hinduvaad:

FDI will stregthen position of MNC-owners in India, who will use it to strengthen positions of Missionaries in India. The pro-FDI persons should be seen as de-facto pro-Missionary, even if they have a Hinduvaadi posture.

====

Course SZI-201 :

Folks , instead of degree, please focus on the fact that she stated her annual FY-2012-2013 income as only Rs 370,000 . This is pointing to creative accounting aka tax planning aka tax evasion. As per degree, she can always get 1996 dated BA\BCom gold medal degree --- thats no big deal. As far as politics goes, dont ask why NaMo made her EduMin. Ask which business groups forced NaMo to appoint SZI as EduMin. Ministries are decided by business groups now --- PM dont have much powers.

===

NaMo has no plan to free temples from Govt control

Once upon a time, the Sikh Gurudwara were under control of British. British controlled them via so called Udasi Mahant. The Sikhs revolted. The British then proposed a structure that "Board of Commissioners appointed by Governor" would run Gurudwara. The Skihs opposed this "Board of Commissioner" proposals. And Sikhjs demanded a law-draft in which heads ELECTED by all Sikhs would run Gurudwara !! Thats how SGPC came in 1925. Now I am working on an intermediate step to free all temples from Govt = Missionary control --- creating a law-draft that will enable sect followers and existing trustees to have such elected structure over their temples , if they wish and not againt their wish. IOW, I have proposal which answers "who should control temples". The details are OSF. Unless the question --- who should control temple --- is answered, the statement that "Govt should not control temple" alone remains a negative declarative statement and a spurious proposal. Change happens with positive actionable statements, not negative declarations.

NaMo has no clue on who should control temple once Govt walks away from temple management. So I dont think NaMo has any plan to free govt temples from Govt. And if NaMo appoints a Board of Commissioners to run temples, then it will create a mess as big as today.

====

Enough for one day. Have a nice day. See you all tomorrow.

RM ji, can you touch your ideas on Education in India, the current state of affairs, what has gone wrong (if in fact something has gone wrong), and how to fix it. This would be for across the board primary, secondary, high school and higher education including professional/technical education. Where does vocational training fit in and how to move people from unskilled agri and construction sectors to semi-skilled or skilled manufacturing jobs and how to create those jobs - not just IT and service sector (banking, insurance, travel, entertainment) jobs?

Tomorrow or some other day in the near future would be fine along with pointers to your FB (provided mods do not have a problem with the same).

Question that needs to be asked from now on is,"ManMohan Singh - Who ?

VikasRaina wrote:Question that needs to be asked from now on is,"ManMohan Singh - Who ?
Need to be asked ??? Why the hell you want to waste your time on useless fellows.

^ That is in case someone again brings up the 1991 crisis and how the 'Great' economist opened up the economy and saved the country and how he was a honest,decent and upright fellow and was respected by Khan-baba himself and regular blah blah that is associated with this person.

johneeG wrote:True, saar. I think lotus+Maya will come to power if lotus can remove the Akki rule right now due to lack of law and order and conduct fresh elections. Maya will be new Nikku. Similarly, there needs to be election in Vihar as well. Then, kongi+nikku+lallu will be decimated. The first step is to remove all the kongi Guvs. Similarly, in Dilli, I think it will be Fordriwal + Kongi.

Eventually, in 5 yrs, I think all kongis will come together to form a grand alliance like kongi version of Janta dal to fight lotus. Initially, I thought Dhidhi will not be part of it, but it seems like she is totally controlled by the islamists. So, she will be part of it.

So,
it will be
Abdulah+Fordriwal+Dhidhi+Gajan+KCR+Mullah+Niku+Lallu+dynasty == kongi united.

kongi united can then fight 2019 or try for a 'spring'.

I think it is high time that the financial dealings of the media are properly investigated along with the Rapepal culture. The proposal of 100% of FDI in Media seems really really bad. Its not clear how even the FDI in defence is going to help the country. Depending too much on this FDI route seems like a bad idea.
100% FDI in defence is a retarded move and Modi & co have no clue of what they are doing if they permit this, swooning on the rhetoric of creating mass manufacturing jobs. Instead of this, they should be working with Tata et al to create domestic chaebols or conglomerates who can compete with the world, not create a situation wherein whatever we have is now up for sale.

Idiots if they implement this. A lot of folks are into all this 100% business because its been lobbied hard & the import gang pushed for this when it became clear India was asking for more and more TOT as time went on. When the MMRCA contest TOT requirements became known, the lobbying became frantic.

Even simpler programs have been stuck up because all the great providers from abroad want is our money, and show off random assembly shops set up with their involvement as TOT.

In contrast programs such as seeker transfer to BEL as quid pro quo for a much larger program already in implementation never took off. Taking that lesson to heart. DPSUs with less persistent leadership have quickly jumped on to the put sticker, call Indian wagon. Private firms do that with even more savvy, and call their stickers "value addition".

BTW, there are enough idiots on the domestic fence who are willing to sing for 100% FDI, makes their life easier to import subsystems, put a swadeshi sticker on it, and call it a successful program, which some of our DPSUs are already adept at doing.

The few folks who have seen the manner in which this "Easy way to succeed" method screws up long term indigenization goals are already fed up.

Kiss goodbye to the Indian SME sector as well if this happens. MOD will stand by with mouth open as MNCs with warchests that dwarf entire R&D spend, use a days worth of operations money to purchase firms which make all the crucial gizmos that go into our missiles etc. And when India wants to move ahead, this time around approval has to come from Washington, or Paris.

What a stupid idea and all said and done, AK had the sagacity to at least prevent this, even though he did a lot of damage elsewhere with his selfish desire to protect himself.

In this case, the BJP and Modi & co, are completely clueless of the ramifications of what they are doing, as their so called think tanks are full of rtd colonel blimps who made a career out of ambling around Vienna, Paris, Moscow with shopping lists while always complaining indigenous was not worth it.

Now those same fools are busy advising the BJP that buying from aboard can be supplanted by 100% FDI without a single fcking clue of how the industry works and the amount of control the parent nations and their security structure have in these decisions.

Morons are handing over the entire key to the local MIC to the firms abroad. Congratulations. Time was when USAF knew more about IAF bases than average Indian citizen. And now time is firms abroad will know exact range of Agni by virtue of owning its subsystem suppliers while BRF bickers about how great it is, and all so secret.

@barbarindian Sonia's is even worse, the school she claims she did a 3 year language course is a primary school in Turin.

Karan M, have a little faith man. I am sure its not as easy at it seems and all this talk about 100% FDI for state-of-the art technology probably involves manufacturing the real family jewels in India (which is never gonna happen). In a way, this shuts up the free market nazis who demand 100% FDI for everything. The rest of it is the usual TOT and joint venture stuff that was gonna be there anyway.

PS: Just remember the Nawaz Sharif invite, how there were howls of Mr. Modi being a sell-out and Vajpayee, and guess what happened, Loin of Punjab went back with nothing but a verbal a$$ whooping.

Things are not always what they seem. It is our foolishness that makes us think that our politicians (particularly Mr. Modi) are simpletons.

Arun I hope so, but sometimes even the so called greatest end up committing asinine blunders with their mouths open. ABV and co did the NS invite and Kargil happened, they also allowed FDI in media. And now, they are still harping on it.

The invite to NS was not similar. It was merely an invite. This is a policy decision being trumpeted in media and elsewhere already as a great plus. I hope Modi thinks this through and nips it in the bud. Still doesn't explain why Nirmala Sitharaman signed off on it

Regarding our foolishness - I disagree, we are not fools and nor do we expect Modi to be one. He is not a domain expert and relies on a handpicked group of advisors. What concerns me is that these advisors - people like Shourie, fe have their minds made up (FDI good!) or have their own strong biases (the bunch of military folks in the so called Vivekananda foundation f.e.). Problem is if Modi goes by what these people are saying and makes this decision, being bleated about by the servile media (how the worm turns!) - it will gut our long term industry.

I wish there was a way to reach out to Modi and co and warn them. But what hope have we against the delhi crowd who are already changing loyalties and will be busy cocooning these folks against the reality.

BTW - what was the rush for Nirmala Sitharaman to jump to an approval? Was her brain out to pasture? Would it have killed her to look into the issue deeper?

These decisions made in haste will screw us all over.
Last edited by Karan M on 03 Jun 2014 15:52, edited 1 time in total.

IndraD wrote:@barbarindian Sonia's is even worse, the school she claims she did a 3 year language course is a primary school in Turin.
She was there from Class one to three learning alphabets. What's wrong. Assertion is true only.

Karan M wrote:Arun I hope so, but sometimes even the so called greatest end up committing asinine blunders with their mouths open. ABV and co did the NS invite and Kargil happened, they also allowed FDI in media. And now, they are still harping on it.

The invite to NS was not similar. It was merely an invite. This is a policy decision being trumpeted in media and elsewhere already as a great plus. I hope Modi thinks this through and nips it in the bud. Still doesn't explain why Nirmala Sitharaman signed off on it

Regarding our foolishness - I disagree, we are not fools and nor do we expect Modi to be one. He is not a domain expert and relies on a handpicked group of advisors. What concerns me is that these advisors - people like Shourie, fe have their minds made up (FDI good!) or have their own strong biases (the bunch of military folks in the so called Vivekananda foundation f.e.). Problem is if Modi goes by what these people are saying and makes this decision, being bleated about by the servile media (how the worm turns!) - it will gut our long term industry.

I wish there was a way to reach out to Modi and co and warn them. But what hope have we against the delhi crowd who are already changing loyalties and will be busy cocooning these folks against the reality.

BTW - what was the rush for Nirmala Sitharaman to jump to an approval? Was her brain out to pasture? Would it have killed her to look into the issue deeper?

These decisions made in haste will screw us all over.
http://pmindia.nic.in/feedback.php
I already sent feedback on this ,under security subsection.Max 1000 char limit though.
Last edited by Lilo on 03 Jun 2014 16:15, edited 1 time in total.

Thanks Lilo ji- will do so as well. Appreciate your help!!

There are only a few examples of developing an MIC.

1) Take a whittle engine and sell nukes - Amerikhan + Brit model. Close cooperation to the extent of becoming a single country for all practical purposes.
2) Put in, insane amount of investments (in terms of GDP proportions) and cut yourself off from the world - Soviet way
3) Beg, borrow and steal - chinese model
4) Pick and choose, taking the least from the satan, selling off all your soul to try to save whatever little is left of it and treasure it like heaven - Israeli model
5) Manage, manage and manage (even if the management sometimes asks you to Beg, borrow and steal you do it only so long as you can manage it) - French model. I believe, the pre-WW2 Japs and Nazis, would also fit in here.

Which one do you think can be used for India other then the few steps that are proposed, given that:

1) the massive size of OFB+HAL+Docks is understandable by only a very few. Most netas, political parties and their businessmen friends, know zilch about operations of these entities and their relevance in the national armament effort. Hence forth they will begin to build up the knowledgebase to understand these things. Private sector is getting into it for the first time in a serious manner. Godrej supplying Brahmos fuselages cannot seriously be made to count. The FDI proposal would make sense for even the investing party only if it is a mechanism to take control after supplying mere the IPR (FDI with technical collaboration). Without IPR it would make zero sense for the Indians (GoI+Indian businessmen) to even consider the proposal.

2) the cutting edge IPRs are not owned &/or managed or controlled by Indians Entities (public or private).

3) the public sector is simply incapable of catching any more talent pool. Even the ones we have (smart ones) are basically doing the country a favor. But the country cannot be made to run on personal sacrifices for long. At some point, arms length dealings will have to sustain the future of this country.

4) if we as a country do not wind up this policy making and eventual unfolding of it fast enough, with clearer minds, purpose and intent, then we run the clear risk of ending up like the situation with the nuke deal. Starting with big goals and ultimately selling out national interests to a some obscure international law and very clear US domestic laws. We will basically end up with the worst of both the worlds. Duvidha mein dono gaye, Maya mili na Ram.

5) the national sense of being able to help out with wishlists, inputs and campaigning for self-interests is basically absent while the policy as such is not there to support/criticize. By straightaway shooting the proposal down without even assessing the potential it carries amounts to a self goal.

Even if we have to trash this at least we need to do it with reasons. Sari duniya ko izzat dete hain par apne personal concerns ko scale bhi nahi karte in the light of the new proposals.

Sent my feedback.

I encourage EVERYONE who feels strongly about this issue to send feedback above. The issue is long term ownership and growth of Indian industry owned by Indians with 100% asset control and IP subject to Indian laws alone. Otherwise, be prepared for what Kalam experienced with Prithvi, berryllium exported from India to US and denied to India as being unecessary for India. Similarly, be prepared to beg for ITAR relaxation and SD approval, when that SME which was making O-Rings for your missile program, now says they are owned by a firm abroad and cannot sell (let alone work on the next gen stuff) to Indian labs. And even when they do sell, all the details will be known to their masters elsewhere especially when it comes to larger integrated electronics modules.

This 100% FDI move is disastrous. Please speak up in the feedback. Some NRI rakshaks will attempt to transplant bay-area startup logic here. Not the same thing. We are speaking of a MNC with a 10$ million acquisition being able to literally torpedo Indian programs by picking up a niche supplier which would look at $10 Million as manna. All sorts of byzantine agreements would result in the aforesaid supplier not even getting back into the same line of work either.

Veterans of sanctions look at several of the programs today and shake their heads at the pell mell for imports and how disastrous it can be. Let us prevent this addiction from becoming a scourge before it happens. Send your feedback.

The good alternative is to unshackle Indian pvt sector like Tata, L&T etc to compete against DPSUs. To fund them, encourage them. Create a corpus by which Indian owned firms - private included- get leverage to compete, provide systems. And majority Indian ownership, period.

i had sent my feedback regarding railways

ravi_g wrote:There are only a few examples of developing an MIC.

1) Take a whittle engine and sell nukes - Amerikhan + Brit model. Close cooperation to the extent of becoming a single country for all practical purposes.
2) Put in, insane amount of investments (in terms of GDP proportions) and cut yourself off from the world - Soviet way
3) Beg, borrow and steal - chinese model
4) Pick and choose, taking the least from the satan, selling off all your soul to try to save whatever little is left of it and treasure it like heaven - Israeli model
5) Manage, manage and manage (even if the management sometimes asks you to Beg, borrow and steal you do it only so long as you can manage it) - French model. I believe, the pre-WW2 Japs and Nazis, would also fit in here.

Which one do you think can be used for India other then the few steps that are proposed, given that:

1) the massive size of OFB+HAL+Docks is understandable by only a very few. Most netas, political parties and their businessmen friends, know zilch about operations of these entities and their relevance in the national armament effort. Hence forth they will begin to build up the knowledgebase to understand these things. Private sector is getting into it for the first time in a serious manner. Godrej supplying Brahmos fuselages cannot seriously be made to count. The FDI proposal would make sense for even the investing party only if it is a mechanism to take control after supplying mere the IPR (FDI with technical collaboration). Without IPR it would make zero sense for the Indians (GoI+Indian businessmen) to even consider the proposal.

2) the cutting edge IPRs are not owned &/or managed or controlled by Indians Entities (public or private).

3) the public sector is simply incapable of catching any more talent pool. Even the ones we have (smart ones) are basically doing the country a favor. But the country cannot be made to run on personal sacrifices for long. At some point, arms length dealings will have to sustain the future of this country.

4) if we as a country do not wind up this policy making and eventual unfolding of it fast enough, with clearer minds, purpose and intent, then we run the clear risk of ending up like the situation with the nuke deal. Starting with big goals and ultimately selling out national interests to a some obscure international law and very clear US domestic laws. We will basically end up with the worst of both the worlds. Duvidha mein dono gaye, Maya mili na Ram.

5) the national sense of being able to help out with wishlists, inputs and campaigning for self-interests is basically absent while the policy as such is not there to support/criticize. By straightaway shooting the proposal down without even assessing the potential it carries amounts to a self goal.

Even if we have to trash this at least we need to do it with reasons. Sari duniya ko izzat dete hain par apne personal concerns ko scale bhi nahi karte in the light of the new proposals.
Problem with a lot of our so called strategy planners is that they operate with the same points that you clearly delineated about how they think- they cannot think beyond what the rest of the world has done.

Some of these so called advisors peddled the worst kind of junk. We expect better from BJP, after having seen the UPA.

When advisors fix on what only others have done, as in steps 1-5, they completely miss what a country like India can do.

We need not fixate on what others have done, and replicate it either.

For instance - in 2 - if the Soviets had a working capitalistic economy, and less disastrous statist control over national allocations, they could have very well run a tight ship.

In 4 - India has the financial heft to do an Israel without selling its soul, but unfortunately, selling our soul by underinvesting and playing favorites (DPSUs vs pvt sector) and import mania, leads us to the current mess, and solution is to sell whatever we have.

In 3 - the Chinese are begging, borrowing and stealing AND also, investing hugely in their next gen of designers, makers, leaders. We aren't.

We miss their strategic moves and fixate on tactics.

For a foreign civilian airframer to set up shop in China, they insisted on that firm transferring core tech to PRC state owned firms.

We in India, want 100% FDI so that the foreign firm gets its right of way.

The difference in attitude cannot be starker.

Now - even today, we have achieved significant successes:
Not true - because there are cutting edge IPRs in the hands of pvt players and DRDO. The danger is we lose all this, when acquisitions of our SMEs take off. The smart cookies in DPSU and even DRDO will sit by and enjoy simpler projects, because everything is available. Never mind the strings attached. The harder crowd in DRDO will wonder what is going on, but a bad policy will limit their option and we will all pay the price.
The public sector with better policies and management autonomy can attract and retain talent. Despite abysmal policies that they have done so, just shows what they can do if properly incentivized. And with that, they should compete with pvt sector.

That is the solution, not these band aid fixes like 100% FDI.
Exactly the problem with this idiocy of 100% FDI

And who says this idiotic proposal has not been scrutinized? It was hanging fire with UPA and thankfully AKA stopped it. And now we have the nationalist BJPs commerce ministry STILL running with this idiocy. Why? Might win them brownie points for election purposes but long term as disastrous (in fact 100x) than the FDI in Indian media.
Last edited by Karan M on 03 Jun 2014 17:04, edited 2 times in total.

I am glad indigenous industry is hunkering down for a battle and unlike the IDIOTS in the commerce ministry, they have their brains in the right place.

Defence industry, MoD hunker down for FDI battle

By Ajai Shukla
Business Standard, 31st May 14

After the UPA tried unsuccessfully since 2010 to raise the 26 per cent cap on foreign direct investment (FDI) in defence production, a move that indigenous defence companies and former Defence Minister AK Antony resisted staunchly, the new government has initiated a fresh attempt along the same lines.

In 2010, the department of industrial policy and promotion (DIPP) --- at the behest of Commerce Minister Anand Sharma --- had pushed to raise the FDI cap to 74 per cent. This time, under Nirmala Sitharaman, the DIPP has mooted three separate options in a cabinet note --- proposing 49%, 74% or 100% FDI.

Commerce ministry sources say that, given the new government’s focus on promoting manufacture to generate employment, and with a new defence minister who is less protective of indigenous defence industry, the international defence industry’s longstanding demand to lower entry barriers into India might well be granted.

Even so, there will be stout resistance from the department of defence production (DDP), and from an indigenous defence industry that worries that the unfettered entry of international vendors would wipe out fledgling Indian defence companies.

“Please name one country that allows foreign defence companies unfettered access to the market. America theoretically allows 100 per cent FDI, but its laws mandate that every single employee must be a US national and the company must operate exclusively on US soil. India hasn’t the means to enforce such rules, and foreign companies will take full advantage,” says the CEO of a major Indian private sector defence company.

So watertight are the US laws that the Tel Aviv based president & CEO of, say Israeli company Elbit is required to take Washington’s permission before he can visit his own company facilities that operate in the US.

Furthermore, say defence industry CEOs, there is no evidence that increasing FDI provides any benefit to an industry. They cite the example of telecom, where permitting 100 per cent FDI has failed to galvanize the emergence of telecom manufacture. To this day, there is no significant Indian manufacturer of telecom equipment.

In 2001, the DIPP permitted private sector participation in the defence industry, vide Press Note No 4 of 2001, which notified several measures for liberalising the FDI regime of that period. Paragraph (iii) of that notification said, “The defence industry sector is opened up to 100% for Indian private sector participation with FDI permissible up to 26%, both subject to licensing.”

A 26 per cent holding allows the foreign partner only a veto over major policy decisions. Were the FDI cap raised to 49 per cent, the foreign company would still not control the company or the board, but would be able to repatriate a higher share of the profit. A significant FDI limit rise would be if foreign companies were permitted 51 per cent or above. And were 100 per cent FDI permitted, foreign entities would be able to buy out Indian companies in full.

Defence ministry officials and major Indian defence industries want to retain the 26 per cent cap, since it allows the Indian partner to demand technology infusion from the foreign original equipment manufacturer (OEM).

Indian industry sources point out that, while India proposes to raise FDI caps, Germany has recently reduced its defence FDI cap from 26 per cent to 25 per cent in order to further curtail the rights and powers of the foreign partner.

Citing an agreement signed this week between Samsung, and Larsen & Toubro (L&T), officials say the Korean defence major would have probably chosen to go it alone, had 100 per cent FDI been allowed.

“Since L&T is the controlling partner, it will ensure that Samsung brings in the technology, which will be translated by low-cost Indian workers into cheaply priced defence equipment. That is the model to follow,” says the official who requested not to be named.

Foreign OEMs deny this, arguing that they would be ready to bring in high-end technology, and to source Indian-built defence equipment for their global supply chains, if only they had more control over the joint venture company. :rotfl: {Yeah right!!} :rotfl:

Indian CEOs counter this with the question: Can you name one foreign OEM that has willingly transferred technology to India? They point out that 72 multinational corporations employ two lakh Indian engineers in research and development (R&D) centres in places like Bangalore, Hyderabad and Pune. Yet none of the technology that they have developed is available to India.

The question at the heart of the FDI dilemma is: Should the government regard the defence industry as just another avenue for creating manufacturing jobs? Or should the government nurture a defence industry as a national strategic objective. A government focused on job creation might not be inclined to treat defence as a special sphere.

http://ajaishukla.blogspot.in/
SanjayC

Post by SanjayC »

^^^ It is strange that the Government has no problem in opening defence industry 100% to foreign companies but won't extend the same favor to Indian companies.

One wonders if he has to examine the issue before making these statements why the heck did he have to hint about a re-examination in the first place??
On a day when most new ministers reached their respective ministries bright and early, it was past noon when Arun Jaitley arrived at the defence ministry (MoD) in South Block, after spending the morning at the finance ministry across the road.

Mr Jaitley quickly clarified that his custodianship of three crucial ministries --- finance, corporate affairs and defence --- did not mean the MoD would remain neglected for long. Terming this a “transient phase”, he said a full-time defence minister would be appointed in a cabinet expansion within a “couple of weeks”.

Notwithstanding his temporary status, Mr Jaitley hinted that the 26 per cent cap on foreign direct investment (FDI) in the defence sector could be raised, which has been a longstanding demand from international defence companies.

Pointing out that FDI in defence had first been allowed by the Vajpayee government (in 2001), Mr Jaitley said that he would be “personally willing to examine” a review of the cap.

Noting that the finance and corporate affairs ministries would play a role in any decision to raise the FDI limit, he admitted that the question “had already come up in my preliminary discussions today and therefore I do not want to say anything more before I look deeply into the matter.”

The BJP’s election manifesto said that it would “encourage private sector participation and investment, including FDI in selected defence industries.” The manifesto does not commit to increasing the FDI cap across the board.
http://ajaishukla.blogspot.in/

And this - "Commerce ministry sources say that, given the new government’s focus on promoting manufacture to generate employment, and with a new defence minister who is less protective of indigenous defence industry, the international defence industry’s longstanding demand to lower entry barriers into India might well be granted."

..rubbish!!

Modi & Jaitley need to do the right thing and show some spine here. They were not brought in to make snap decisions w/bad policy choices.
patel

Post by patel »

Karan M wrote:And this - "Commerce ministry sources say that, given the new government’s focus on promoting manufacture to generate employment, and with a new defence minister who is less protective of indigenous defence industry, the international defence industry’s longstanding demand to lower entry barriers into India might well be granted."

..rubbish!!

Modi & Jaitley need to do the right thing and show some spine here. They were not brought in to make snap decisions w/bad policy choices.
This whole 100% FDI looks like a shortcut the government wants to take, what happened to the good old burning the night oil to accomplish things? Now I totally agree that the defense preparedness of our forces is abysmal but as you said a band-aid fix like this would surely have far reaching consequences. We need to work hard and smarter and the government needs to give all the money in the world for our scientists to make cutting edge techs. (Reminds me of Shiv-ji's analysis of Indian manufacturing capabilities and the demoralizing and shameful condition our capabilities are in that sphere. )

@karanM

From your long rants what I could gather is that your main concern is that foreign companies will buy up small Indian companies and acquire the indigenous tech which if used in any equipment supplied to Indian armed forces could come under sanctions from the parent country of the MNC. I think this is largely convoluted logic. I think a Ajai Shukla may be a defense analyst but has no idea how tech infusion happens. The R&D products of foreign MNCs operating in India are their IPR products. It is upto them how and where they want to use it. If the IPR enters a product that they think they can sell to India then they will do it. However, it creates a eco system largely manned by Indians who run these things and then many of them go on to create their own companies. Science and technology doesn't progress very well in isolation unless it is unaviodable e.g. strategic defense systems. Regarding your concern about tech being bought over and then denied this can be addressed by passing appropriate IPR laws related to defense R&D and export control laws, etc.

johneeG wrote:True, saar. I think lotus+Maya will come to power if lotus can remove the Akki rule right now due to lack of law and order and conduct fresh elections. Maya will be new Nikku. Similarly, there needs to be election in Vihar as well. Then, kongi+nikku+lallu will be decimated. The first step is to remove all the kongi Guvs. Similarly, in Dilli, I think it will be Fordriwal + Kongi.

Eventually, in 5 yrs, I think all kongis will come together to form a grand alliance like kongi version of Janta dal to fight lotus. Initially, I thought Dhidhi will not be part of it, but it seems like she is totally controlled by the islamists. So, she will be part of it.

So,
it will be
Abdulah+Fordriwal+Dhidhi+Gajan+KCR+Mullah+Niku+Lallu+dynasty == kongi united.

kongi united can then fight 2019 or try for a 'spring'.

I think it is high time that the financial dealings of the media are properly investigated along with the Rapepal culture. The proposal of 100% of FDI in Media seems really really bad. Its not clear how even the FDI in defence is going to help the country. Depending too much on this FDI route seems like a bad idea.
100% FDI in defence is a retarded move and Modi & co have no clue of what they are doing if they permit this, swooning on the rhetoric of creating mass manufacturing jobs. Instead of this, they should be working with Tata et al to create domestic chaebols or conglomerates who can compete with the world, not create a situation wherein whatever we have is now up for sale.

Idiots if they implement this. A lot of folks are into all this 100% business because its been lobbied hard & the import gang pushed for this when it became clear India was asking for more and more TOT as time went on. When the MMRCA contest TOT requirements became known, the lobbying became frantic.

Even simpler programs have been stuck up because all the great providers from abroad want is our money, and show off random assembly shops set up with their involvement as TOT.

In contrast programs such as seeker transfer to BEL as quid pro quo for a much larger program already in implementation never took off. Taking that lesson to heart. DPSUs with less persistent leadership have quickly jumped on to the put sticker, call Indian wagon. Private firms do that with even more savvy, and call their stickers "value addition".

BTW, there are enough idiots on the domestic fence who are willing to sing for 100% FDI, makes their life easier to import subsystems, put a swadeshi sticker on it, and call it a successful program, which some of our DPSUs are already adept at doing.

The few folks who have seen the manner in which this "Easy way to succeed" method screws up long term indigenization goals are already fed up.

Kiss goodbye to the Indian SME sector as well if this happens. MOD will stand by with mouth open as MNCs with warchests that dwarf entire R&D spend, use a days worth of operations money to purchase firms which make all the crucial gizmos that go into our missiles etc. And when India wants to move ahead, this time around approval has to come from Washington, or Paris.

What a stupid idea and all said and done, AK had the sagacity to at least prevent this, even though he did a lot of damage elsewhere with his selfish desire to protect himself.

In this case, the BJP and Modi & co, are completely clueless of the ramifications of what they are doing, as their so called think tanks are full of rtd colonel blimps who made a career out of ambling around Vienna, Paris, Moscow with shopping lists while always complaining indigenous was not worth it.

Now those same fools are busy advising the BJP that buying from aboard can be supplanted by 100% FDI without a single fcking clue of how the industry works and the amount of control the parent nations and their security structure have in these decisions.

Morons are handing over the entire key to the local MIC to the firms abroad. Congratulations. Time was when USAF knew more about IAF bases than average Indian citizen. And now time is firms abroad will know exact range of Agni by virtue of owning its subsystem suppliers while BRF bickers about how great it is, and all so secret.
Karan M ji, give your feedback to Namo directly. I think you do it earlier on his forum.

By the way if 100% FDI is allowed for totally export oriented units and not for Indian Defence Procurement, then it is actually good.

Why are people getting so scared? We don't even know if it will be 26, 50, 100% FDI in defence. They are just looking into it. We don't know what specific sectors of defense or what the rules are.