Bharat Rakshak

Consortium of Indian Defence Websites
It is currently 19 Jun 2013 17:12

All times are UTC + 5:30 hours

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2868 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61 ... 72  Next
PostPosted: 04 Sep 2011 20:55 

^^ Is that some babu or jernail sahib and his family being given a joy ride by the MARCOs?

Damn, wish i had one such opportunity to rub shoulders with the MARCOs!!

PostPosted: 04 Sep 2011 21:12 

What kind of boat is that? Never seen it before.

Edited later: Sorry, I didn't see the first pic properly. Thought it was one boat, instead of two

PostPosted: 06 Sep 2011 20:45 

^^ Is that some babu or jernail sahib and his family being given a joy ride by the MARCOs?
Damn, wish i had one such opportunity to rub shoulders with the MARCOs!!
Naaw, Babus don't put hteir families in harms way... they are all siting in their cosy drawing room in Dilli sipping $$$$. The civvies probably are some Jernalist. from the look of it, doesn't look like a Jernail (the older gentlemen grinning at the camera) but then looks can be deceptive.

It looks like a fairly large group, traveling in 2 different flat-bottom boats.

PostPosted: 23 Sep 2011 03:36 

Video slideshow of Maj Mohit Sharma's photographs.
http://youtu.be/7YJkPxa1nJY

More pics have been uploaded to the site:
http://www.majormohitsharma.org/

PostPosted: 23 Sep 2011 04:26 

thanks gaur

shows how much time he spent in the Valley

sigh what a loss :(

PostPosted: 23 Sep 2011 04:45 

Yes, a great loss indeed. :(
There is also a video of his Sena Medal Investiture Ceremony.
http://youtu.be/SfVeZPKsAcc

PostPosted: 01 Oct 2011 19:58 

Marut wrote:
Since everyone seems to have tired out of discussing SG, SFF, Vikas, Est 22, etc and being none the wiser,
I strongly suggest that an RTI query be filed to get the clear picture. It will save a lot of heartburn we see on this thread.

anyone taking this seriously is hereby condemned to endure Surya's secret chants and spells

Lol…for one thing they are all under the Cabinet Secretariat.
The SG being refered to here is actually just one battalion.... that also goes by the name Mavericks 8) …and is actually one of the Vikas units :-o

Being a pure voluntary force,can comprise folks from any arm or service of the IA….diff matter though that most of the blokes who make the cut are usually from the Inf or SF,a typical stint would be bet 2 to 3 yrs.
The Co of the Unit re SG is always a officer from the SF’s
HTH
Cheers

PostPosted: 01 Oct 2011 22:07 

Gaur wrote:
sum,
The post that you are referring to looks very dodgy to say the least. First of all, Est 22 is not "the special group of SFF". Est 22 is SFF.

Nope...SFF & Special Group come under Estb 22.....which is part of the Cabinet Secretariat
cheers

PostPosted: 02 Oct 2011 01:12 

Kiki wrote:
<SNIP>
Being a pure voluntary force,can comprise folks from any arm or service of the IA….diff matter though that most of the blokes who make the cut are usually from the Inf or SF,a typical stint would be bet 2 to 3 yrs.
The Co of the Unit re SG is always a officer from the SF’s <SNIP>

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Paging Mr. Anderson aka Surya....the Matrix needs to be re-balanced. :P

PostPosted: 02 Oct 2011 01:45 

I may need to ask for admin rights to only this daaga :)

PostPosted: 02 Oct 2011 09:23 

Gaur wrote:
Had another interaction with a former PARA SF personnel whom I had mentioned earlier.
Some interesting observations that I think are OK to share.

Regarding 3 months probation:
He said that it was enough. He says it is not as if the volunteer goes for 3 months probation and the training gets any less afterwards. Even after the 3 months, the physical training remains of the same level for the rest of the time he spends in SF. The volunteer knows it. So, if he feels that he will not be able to endure this for years, he will quit himself (there are such cases). And even if the volunteer somehow clears the probation but it is felt that he is not able to keep his fitness..say after 8 months..he will be sent back his parent regiment. But this rarely happens as the guy who is able to endure the probation for 3 months generally gets into the rhythm and acquires the fitness to carry on. So, there is lowering of standards on that count. PARA units do not compromise on that.

Regarding conversion of PARA to PARA SF without Govt sanction
He says this is impossible. This is army and everything (specially this big) has to be done according to the procedure and through the proper channels. He says that it is very likely that the rest of PARA battalions will also be converted to SF but it is impossible that it will be done without proper approval.

Regarding lowering of standards when converting PARA to PARA SF:
He says that is not the case. He says that there is no difference b/n the physical fitness of PARA and PARA SF. There is a small difference of course. Some courses are not available to PARA (I think he mentioned Combat diving as one such course, but I am not 100% sure). Also, there is a small difference in equipment. But in his opinion, this is a very good decision. He says that some SF personnel feel superior to non SF and may say that there is a difference, but it is not the case (note that the person is from SF himself).

More regarding selection procedure and training:
He says that the volunteer cannot volunteer for a particular unit. He cannot even volunteer for SF. He can only volunteer for Parachute Regiment. Then he is given to any para unit depending upon the vacancies. Of course, a chap who has cleared the probation for say..5 PARA, may chose to convert to 1 PARA SF and again go for probation there. But this is rarely done. In fact, this is even looked down upon because of unit loyalty.

Also, regarding free fall jumps like HALO and HAHO. He says that paratroopers from both SF and non SF units can go through them. He says that there are various courses available and the personnel keep on doing different courses for a long time. This is generally done according to one's specialty. Like a person who is natural with demolition will first do courses related to it before going for others.

Regarding SFF and SG
He says that the PARA SF does not have any particular respect for SFF. It is not that they are not good, but it is not enough to impress PARA. Regarding SG, he says that he knows very little regarding the operations of SFF & SG so he cannot comment about that but he told me that the majority of SG come from PARA SF. And it is not as if some radical training is imparted to them there. In fact, he says that no CO likes parting from good men (let alone the best). He says that the men sent to NSG SAG and SG are generally done because of compulsion. He says that going to SG is like just another posting (even though he was using the word "posting", he was almost making it sound as if it was a holiday :-o ).

I know that most of the above is totally contradictory to the general perception. So, I request Surya not to go postal over me. :mrgreen: I am merely posting what the guy told me. Obviously, I have no open source to confirm all this so take it FWIW.

PS: Misc stuff. The person says that the environment and culture of PARA is totally different from the rest of the army. For one, the people are much more close to each other. Eg: When any para (current, former or retired) sees another person wearing Maroon beret he always goes and introduces himself. In fact, it is considered extremely rude not to do so. It does not have to be long lengthy discussion, but a brief introduction is very important.
Also, once a person is from PARA, he is welcomed there even after retirement ( this is true for the regular army as well, but it is totally on a different level for PARACUTE regiment.) They is more like a family. Eg: It has sometimes happened that a retired officer has sent his son to his parent PARA unit during the child's school holidays..just for the purpose of making him fit and disciplined!!!

Added Later:
Surya,
Regarding 21 PARA SF, he again repeated that only the CO and a young officer were able to clear the probation. Apart from them, there was only the unfortunate 2IC who had volunteered. He said that no one from the rest of the MLI unit had volunteered. They had given a choice to do so but they had declined.
However, it is worth noting that the person telling me all this was not from 21 SF.

Absolute BS :evil: .....you really let your imagination run wild mate ....it's pretty obvious you have no idea what you are talking about or for that matter how the armed forces function

PostPosted: 02 Oct 2011 09:27 

Kapil wrote:
8) I just came into this.

About 21, wasnt 21 the first unit to convert from being a regular Bn into a Para SF one?

Hmm well yes & no....it was the first non Para unit to convert to a SF unit... the first unit to convert was 1 Para which was raised as 1st Punjab

PostPosted: 02 Oct 2011 11:12 

Kiki wrote:
Absolute BS :evil: .....you really let your imagination run wild mate ....it's pretty obvious you have no idea what you are talking about or for that matter how the armed forces function

Gaur made it explicitly clear that he was relating what he learned from an SF officer and not posting information that he observed first hand. Perhaps you should keep that in mind before talking about 'imaginations running wild'.

"I am merely posting what the guy told me. Obviously, I have no open source to confirm all this so take it FWIW."
</snip>

PostPosted: 02 Oct 2011 13:21 

Viv S wrote:
Kiki wrote:

Gaur made it explicitly clear that he was relating what he learned from an SF officer and not posting information that he observed first hand. Perhaps you should keep that in mind before talking about 'imaginations running wild'.

"I am merely posting what the guy told me. Obviously, I have no open source to confirm all this so take it FWIW."
</snip>

What can I say....surely you dont buy all that drivel,the gent has posted above or do you :lol: ...
nonsense + open source :arrow: generally = BS

PostPosted: 02 Oct 2011 13:27 

^^ Sirji, instead of blanket statements and bad-mouthing respected members ( who were anyways quoting serving SF men), could you shed more light on the "real deal"?

PostPosted: 02 Oct 2011 14:08 

Kiki wrote:
What can I say....surely you dont buy all that drivel,the gent has posted above or do you :lol: ...
nonsense + open source :arrow: generally = BS

I have never served in the Parachute Regiment and I don't claim to know any specific facts. But if I did disagree with Gaur, I'd find a way to politely discuss it without getting offensive or personal. Its an open forum but we try to keep things pleasant here.

PostPosted: 02 Oct 2011 14:17 

Kiki wrote:

I never claimed that I have any idea about how Armed Forces function. I was just passing on part of a conversation I had and nothing more. Moreover, I had explicitly stated that I cannot prove any of it and to take it FWIW (for what its worth).
So, if you think that I am an over imaginative liar, why bother replying? Anyway, I am not here to indulge in childish name calling and to win internet arguments. So, this will be my last post to you regarding this. :|

guys,
Thanks for the support, but why encourage the fellow? If he perchance does know something about this subject, too much could be said in the enthusiasm to prove oneself (specially if he is a kid). And if he doesn't know twat, then that is even more of a reason not to encourage him.

PostPosted: 02 Oct 2011 15:44 

Viv,Sum,Gaur saab

My sincere apologies if anyone of you has felt offended,cause that was definitely not the intent.
Though wouldn’t it be a lot more intresting if we just stuck to facts,rather than try to create fiction…which seems the case in the post above….I was only pointing towards something which one found hard to digest….

Gaur saab,while this might be the era of the internet…can assure you am not here to score any brownie points

cheers

PostPosted: 02 Oct 2011 17:08 

kiki ji, however vehemently you disagree with somebody please find a way to express that in polite terms, as you would in real life. also, it's a good idea to objectively mention how someone is wrong instead of using broad brush adjectives like BS and imagination.

PostPosted: 02 Oct 2011 23:38 

kiki ji, however vehemently you disagree with somebody please find a way to express that in polite terms, as you would in real life. also, it's a good idea to objectively mention how someone is wrong instead of using broad brush adjectives like BS and imagination.

Copy that Sir....apologies rendered....request a lil latitude if at times it does get a lil overbearing :)

PostPosted: 03 Oct 2011 00:06 

Kiki saab, can you now tell us the mistakes in Gaur's post and what the real deal is?

PostPosted: 04 Oct 2011 04:58 

hey Viv S I was wondering if you have any information regarding the aspirants eligibility with a foreign degree??
I'd appreciate your reply. Thanks

PostPosted: 06 Oct 2011 22:50 

vishal_shah wrote:
hey Viv S I was wondering if you have any information regarding the aspirants eligibility with a foreign degree??
I'd appreciate your reply. Thanks

Answered here.

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=3804&start=280

PostPosted: 16 Oct 2011 09:17 

http://www.ndtv.com/video/player/ndtv-i ... 3685?hphin

Awesome video of nsg.

PostPosted: 16 Oct 2011 13:31 

^^ Wonder what was written on the info boards of Spetsnaz/Sayeret Matkal etc whch were displayed on the NSG grounds at the start of the video...

PostPosted: 16 Oct 2011 17:20 

^^^ At 17.20 in that clip, they've shown lady commandos :eek: . Didn't know NSG had lady commandos.

PostPosted: 16 Oct 2011 17:33 

This was also discussed in Multimedia thread. Women were originally inducted into SRG for protection of female VIPs. According to some news reports, they have now also been entrusted with the duty sky marshal.
http://www.indiadaily.com/editorial/4996.asp
The 12 members of the squad are likely to be deployed for protection of Chief Minister of southern state Tamil Nadu, J Jayalalithaa and Bahujan Samaj Party chief Mayawati, both of whom enjoy Z Plus category security.

The commandos, drawn from Central Reserve Police Force, have undergone rigorous training at the NSG's training centre in Manesar in Delhi's satellite town Gurgaon, sources in the force said.

Aged between 24 and 34, the girls were selected from among scores of personnel from various forces who had applied for donning the black dungaree with an arm band ''Black Cat Commando'', the sources said.

http://articles.timesofindia.indiatimes ... mandos-nsg
Women commandos trained to guard Mayawati and Jayalalita, will now have a different job. The home ministry has decided to deploy them as sky marshals.

The decision to deploy sky marshals was taken after the Kandhahar hijack. Routes such as Punjab and Kashmir in the domestic sector and Lahore, Kabul and Dhaka in the international sector are generally covered by sky marshals.

PostPosted: 16 Oct 2011 22:23 

NSG commandos head count to increase by 2000, to get Artificial Intelligence weapons

Artificial Intelligence + modern gadgets + training.

PostPosted: 16 Oct 2011 23:26 

chackojoseph wrote:

Chacko ji, what in God's name are Artificial Intelligence weapons? The term seems to be a wrong one based on the what is described in the article and I don't see any direct quote from the DG NSG referring them to as such either.

PostPosted: 16 Oct 2011 23:41 

Why is the term "artificial intelligence" mentioned in multiple articles? It doesn't make any sense. I have a feeling that PTI did a mistake which carried over to other media outlets.

PostPosted: 17 Oct 2011 00:00 

The trust towards artificial intel "gadgets", within DRDO, started around 2006-7. IF that is true, then we should be seeing some products in the time frame the articles state. Frontier has replaced "gadgets" with "weapons" (so what is new?).

Now, what are these gadgets? TBD.

Added l8r:

See if we can find something from this article:

Robot soldiers!

PostPosted: 17 Oct 2011 12:00 

Gaur wrote:
Why is the term "artificial intelligence" mentioned in multiple articles? It doesn't make any sense. I have a feeling that PTI did a mistake which carried over to other media outlets.

We don't use news agencies.

Raja Bose wrote:
chackojoseph wrote:

Chacko ji, what in God's name are Artificial Intelligence weapons? The term seems to be a wrong one based on the what is described in the article and I don't see any direct quote from the DG NSG referring them to as such either.

It is a mistake. it should be gadgets.

PostPosted: 17 Oct 2011 12:02 

TOI had a big front page article today on NSG expansion and equipping of 2 batallions (1500) with new kit by 2015. not sure if its one of the numerous post-mumbai-attack proposals gathering dust thats been er dusted off, or something new.

PostPosted: 17 Oct 2011 13:56 

Singha wrote:
TOI had a big front page article today on NSG expansion and equipping of 2 batallions (1500) with new kit by 2015. not sure if its one of the numerous post-mumbai-attack proposals gathering dust thats been er dusted off, or something new.

Probably perceived threats (to the hinds of the netas) may have become more sophisticated and hence all this.

PostPosted: 17 Oct 2011 16:14 

Chacko sahab,
But what does "artificial intelligence" has to do with any of the gadgets? Could you please make some queries regarding this. Frankly, if it was not coming from you, I would have been laughing at this and calling it ddm.

Using the term AI makes more sense for battlefield simulators, where the enemy action needs to be simulated (similar to modern videogames). But surely that is not a gadget which a soldier would carry to a battlefield.

Making a wild guess, maybe they are talking about sensors to evaluate the environment and adjust to the situation. For eg, a medical sensor which monitors soldier's health and provides some diagnosis and instructions if there is some problem? That could be considered an AI system.

As I said, it's all very confusing and it would be very much appreciated if you would shed some light on this matter.

PostPosted: 17 Oct 2011 16:26 

Sure, I will dig into this.

PostPosted: 18 Oct 2011 10:05 

1 Para (SF) celebrates Raising Day

250 years and counting....

PostPosted: 18 Oct 2011 10:22 

Thanks for sharing that. Loved the one liner on the beer mugs. :D

PostPosted: 18 Oct 2011 10:35 

chackojoseph wrote:
It is a mistake. it should be gadgets.

Even with gadgets, it makes no sense as Gaur has stated. If anything the misleading title made the otherwise excellent article sound amateurish. Perhaps the intention was to compare it with soldier of the future type systems where the soldier himself/herself is an individual self-contained unit but at the same time is part of a networked system where the soldier acts both as a sensor for the system but also is a consumer of the aggregated information trickling back - which leads them to have high situational awareness at the individual as well as unit level.

PostPosted: 18 Oct 2011 12:55 

Rajput wrote:
1 Para (SF) celebrates Raising Day

250 years and counting....

From the IE article wrote:
Getting into 1 Para is voluntary. An army personnel opting for it has to undergo a three-month probation which decides the fate of the personnel in the Unit.

There we go again with the 3 month probation. Can someone from Para(SF) unequivocally state officially what the probation period is? :evil:

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2868 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61 ... 72  Next