How to join the Armed Forces? - Recruitment Thread

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: How to join the Armed Forces? - Recruitment Thread

ASPuarji, thanks for all the valuable info... And its not a lifestyle thing... I want to stay true to both my profession and passion... hence was wondering if i could get tech entry...

VikBji, could you please pass the same data to me too... as i am, along with a few more guys, also in the same dilemma...

No problem. As I say, I dont know the final word on BioEngg. Check with all three service HQ to see whether they can accept someone with a degree in the field.

Bala Vignesh wrote:Hi i got a doubt...
I am a Biomedical engineer with a first class degree.. Almost ninety percent of papers in a semester are electronics... so in light of this, through which all entries can i apply for the armed forces, any branch... please help me out..
Bala I would say your best bet is University entry scheme for I do not know if things have changed but back in 2005 the only Engineering branches that qualified for 'Tech' entry scheme were Mechanical,Electrical,Electronics and Computer Science (I remember candidates being refused on grounds of IT <> CS) . You might want to verify by checking the recent issues of employment news about the eligibility criteria for Technical/Engineering entry scheme.

And of course you have an option to apply via the CDS route.

negi wrote: And of course you have an option to apply via the CDS route.
Don't CDS is open to me now.. I am 23 years old as of Feb this year...
VikB

Post by VikB »

Bala Vignesh wrote:ASPuarji, thanks for all the valuable info... And its not a lifestyle thing... I want to stay true to both my profession and passion... hence was wondering if i could get tech entry...

VikBji, could you please pass the same data to me too... as i am, along with a few more guys, also in the same dilemma...
Bala - I essentially pushed my case down the unwilling throats of my HR. They went to the higher ups and they somehow said yes to even the part where the form says that the company will pay me the differential in pay. The HR on its own was ok with allowing me leaves without pay for the time I am at the TA.

Prior to this however, I had been doing my research to find out what are the set norms in other places or what have the current TA officers done. Spoke to one officer. He gave lot of (other) info. He was earlier in a private company but for joining TA he showed that he was self employed. He said that when he applied there was no such thing to sign that the difference in pay will be given by the company. Caution - if you take this route then you have to show IT returns and a signature by local commissioner that you are actually self employed!!!!!

Plus now that my case has got an 'OK', you can probably quote me as the precedence in the corporate sector. I work for the TATAs. So probably that name will also carry the weight.
Let me know if I can be of any help. Send me your contact no./ID and we can talk if you so require.
regards

I work for a 3Bn USD MNC publishing company. They gave me the full okay, including signing part where pay differential was mentioned, without any trouble.
VikB

Post by VikB »

....and also that TA officer said that nobody at the Army bothers to find out if your company is paying the differential or not. infact he was surprised that such a clause exists. I actually wonder why that clause exists. But if that form is not filled, the clerk throws away the application in the nearerst dustbin.

Bala Vignesh wrote:
negi wrote: And of course you have an option to apply via the CDS route.
Don't CDS is open to me now.. I am 23 years old as of Feb this year...
Bala, (and anyone else) if you are interested, there is also this:

http://www.upsc.gov.in

2.(Ref.No.F.1/187/2009-R-VI/SPC)

Vacancy: Ten Deputy Central Intelligence Officers (Technical) in Intelligence Bureau, Ministry of Home Affairs.

Out of ten posts, one post each is reserved for SC & ST candidates and three posts are reserved for OBC candidates.

Qualifications : Essential :

Educational : Bachelor’s degree in Electronics Engineering or Electronics and Communication Engineering or Electronics and Tele-communication Engineering or Aeronautics Engineering or Chemical Engineering or Mechanical Engineering or Computer Science / Engineering or B.E./B.Tech. in Information Technology or Master’s degree in Computer Applications or M.Sc in Chemistry or M.Sc in Bio-Technology or M.Sc in Space Engineering and Rocketry or M.Sc in Physics with Wireless or Electronics or Optics or Nuclear Physics as a subject from a recognized University or equivalent. Duties : To supervise the work relating to operation and maintenance of communication network. Maintenance and operation of equipment relating to cyber security/cyber forensics. Research & Development work, mainly dealing with electronics and telecommunication. To undertake & supervise the operational work assigned. Responsibilities for Supervision, maintenance of communication equipments. To supervise the maintenance and operation of audio, video and CCTV equipments.

NOTE : A Written Objective Type Test with multiple choices answer will be conducted and followed by Interview for selection of Candidates to the posts of Deputy Central Intelligence Officer (Technical). The written test will be conducted on 20th June, 2010 in the Afternoon Session.

SCHEME AND SYLLABUS FOR THE TEST :

SCHEME : The test will be of two hours’ duration and the medium of the question paper will be English only. The test will be an objective type with multiple choices of answers and will carry maximum of 100 marks. There will be a penalty for wrong answers. Every wrong answer will carry a deduction of one-third of the marks assigned to that question. If no answer is marked for a question, there will be no penalty for that question.

SYLLABUS : Syllabus of the Test comprises the following :- Scientific temper relating to basic understanding of Science including everyday observation & Experience, Instrumentation, Fundamentals of Basic Electronics, Fundamentals of Computerization and Network, Aptitude Data interpretation, Communication Skills, Basic Questions on Maintenance, Current events regarding Science and Technology, Data & image interpretation, Fundamentals of information security.

PAY SCALE & CLASSIFICATION:(Figures in bracket at the end of the pay scale indicate the approx total emoluments(per month) excluding TA and HRA at the minimum of the scale)

Rs.15600-39100+Rs.5400(Grade pay) (T.E. Rs. 26670) Group ‘A’ Gazetted for the posts at Item No. 2 above
VikB

Post by VikB »

ASPuar wrote:I work for a 3Bn USD MNC publishing company. They gave me the full okay, including signing part where pay differential was mentioned, without any trouble.
You are lucky dude. in my case it was King's servants being more loyal than the King himself

VikB wrote: You are lucky dude. in my case it was King's servants being more loyal than the King himself
Same in my case...
bksahu

Post by bksahu »

ASPuarJi,

Thanks a lot for advertisement.
But it doesnt have any last dates to apply,I even checked in the upsc website.
Do u have any idea about the last dates to apply.

Also they have not mentioned that where to send the filled forms.

Gurus can anybody help!!!!1

bksahu wrote:ASPuarJi,

:roll: I guess because its a top secret org! Im afraid I cant answer your question. I looked, but didnt find the info, but I gave it only a quick glance. I can only reccommend that you please go through the ad again on the UPSC website, and maybe its hidden away somewhere in there!
mkumar

Post by mkumar »

bksahu wrote:ASPuarJi,

I think the last date is 18th march.

If u google it u will find a number of sites listing the last date. And yes the UPSC site doesnt mention the last date.
kittoo

Post by kittoo »

Just got a sound thrashing from IAF office for calling them. :(
My sister, who lives in some other city, had some confusion about the UES form and asked me to call the number that was on the form and to ask. I didn't have any idea what I was in for lol. All I remember the guy on phone saying is-
"Dont bother us. All the instructions are there and if you still have any difficulty, don't apply." :(
While I understand their point to some extent, why give the inquiry number on the form at all? Its not that she completely did not understand what was there, but you know, we all go overly cautious while filling important forms so that we dont make any mistakes at all.
It was not like I called some random IAF command office and started asking. It was education officer only. While I myself am not filling the form, but I wonder, is this kind of behavior over a simple inquiry encouraging or discouraging for an aspirant?

kittoo

I would suggest to write to an appropriate IAF office and complain about that officer.

If there was an inquiry number then they better have the patience to answer.
kittoo

Post by kittoo »

Surya wrote:kittoo

I would suggest to write to an appropriate IAF office and complain about that officer.

If there was an inquiry number then they better have the patience to answer.
Thanks for the suggestion and I agree with you but the respect that I've for armed forces, I kind of hate to think that I will be complaining about an IAF fella. And it was hilarious too, now that I think about it. Cause as soon as the guy picked up the phone, I asked- 'Education officer, IAF?' (just like it was written on the form) and the guy went bonkers. He started yelling-'Who are you? Tell me who are you?' I maybe had not followed proper conventions of talking to an officer or something, so I apologized and told him my name and from where I belonged etc. Still he kept yelling as to how I was of no good even after being educated and IAF did not need guys like me who did not have proper manners and blah blah for a long time :(. Then finally he asked me what was that I wanted and I told him the problem and then he gave the answer I wrote in above post and disconnected the call. :-?
I kind of find it funny and insulting both. :shock:

kittoo

Our respect for our Armed forces is not affected by a complaint against a rude and more so an officer WHO is not doing his job. All of us in India are paranoid with forms. How many effing times in our life we had to redo it because some Babu did not agree with what is filled.

Big deal - if you had to ask him questions.

If you do not complain he is going to be rude and treat with contempt others and thats not doing the IAF any service.

But make sure you document it properly

Date , time of call etc.

If you are not sure who to send it to, let me know.
sridhar.raghavan

Post by sridhar.raghavan »

Bala Vignesh wrote:
negi wrote: Coming back to the SSB , for those who wear glasses they can undergo 'LASIK' (at least 6 months prior to SSB ) this is from horse's mouth in fact suggested by the officer presiding over the medical tests.
Negi sir, Don't take me bad sir, but just wanted to confirm the above statement.. Can i undergo LASIK ( i am wearing glasses) before joining the Armed forces...
Bala, just wanted to chime in on your LASIK query based on personal experience. I had LASIK done a few months before appearing for SSB (Territorial Army). I managed to clear the SSB but was not able to clear the medicals due to retinal degeneration. Point being that LASIK corrects your vision, but overall health of the eye is taken into consideration.

For those who suffer from myopia and have been wearing glasses for an extended period, retinal degeneration is quite common. The ophthalmologist at Command Hospital, Pune and AFMC also mentioned that it was quite common for people who undergo LASIK to get rejected for other conditions of the eye. So please get a thorough eye check-up done prior to going in for LASIK to rule out other deficiencies of the eye.

I know I am a little late in responding, but just joined yesterday !!

Pardon me for asking this but before your LASIK procedure were you diagnosed with 'retinal degeneration' ? Afaik a detailed retinal examination is a pre-requisite amongst other checks for the LASIK procedure .

As for
For those who suffer from myopia and have been wearing glasses for an extended period, retinal degeneration is quite common.
Is this your inference or ophthalmologist's ? I would be concerned for I thought retinal degeneration is a pretty serious condition . Lastly did you go for a second opinion outside of the command hospital say in a private clinic ?
neilmurali

Post by neilmurali »

I have a question regarding edu qualification,can regular B.sc degree candidate be eligible for IMA direct entry non-tech .
Also how will the medical officer at SSB come to know whether a candidate has undergone a LASIK surgery.
pmund

Post by pmund »

Can't tell u abt Lasik but any graduate, techie or non-techie (even hotel management and BBA), is eligible for the direct entry to IMA. Good luck
neilmurali

Post by neilmurali »

thanks.hope someone else will answer.
have you ever applied to any of the course in the past

Thanks for the heads up sridharji... Trully thanks lot...

neilmurali wrote: Also how will the medical officer at SSB come to know whether a candidate has undergone a LASIK surgery.
Iirc one has to mention the details of ailments and medical procedures which the candidate underwent in a form on first/second day of the SSB .
I don't think hiding such stuff is a good idea , what if they somehow come to know after you have been selected or even joined the service ?

Btw medical tests are exhaustive and pretty invasive . :oops:
sridhar.raghavan

Post by sridhar.raghavan »

negi wrote:Pardon me for asking this but before your LASIK procedure were you diagnosed with 'retinal degeneration' ? Afaik a detailed retinal examination is a pre-requisite amongst other checks for the LASIK procedure .

Is this your inference or ophthalmologist's ? I would be concerned for I thought retinal degeneration is a pretty serious condition . Lastly did you go for a second opinion outside of the command hospital say in a private clinic ?
Negi, you are quite right when you say that retinal exam is a pre-requisite. No ophthalmologist would undertake a LASIK procedure without one. I was referred to a retina specialist prior to and post LASIK. The conclusion was that though there was some wear in the retina, it would not jeopardize the LASIK procedure as such. And in the considered view of the panel of ophthalmologists that I consulted, it would not have been an impediment to my joining the Army. I even got a certificate from my ophthalmologist stating the same hoping that it would improve my chances at an Appeal board or a Review board :lol:

The inference on retinal degeneration is from ophthalmologists that I have consulted, not my own. Retinal degeneration is a progressive condition, it might take years (if at all) to develop into something serious. If I understand it correctly, it starts with wearing of the retina and progresses to tearing at the edges and finally detachment of the retina. So in my case, it is a very preliminary condition and not serious at all. It just requires an annual retinal checkup.

Like I mentioned above, I did go for more than one opinion outside of the command hospital. Perhaps the Army standards are different and they would rather not take a chance. What can I say, one man's normal wear and tear is another's degeneration !!
VikB

Post by VikB »

Hi Friends

TA feedback.

Gave the exam this Sunday @Chandigarh. Here is a report for the benefit of junta

- Exam pattern. Three papers. a) One hour essay writing. I was happily surprised to see 6 topics to choose from. The topics that I remember that were there are - corruption, making India a superpower, Women empowerment, terrorism. b) One hour GK - had current affairs questions. 60 in number. mix of rank easy ones (full form of www with four choices!!!!) to tough ones. some questions I remember are (I am writing for the benefit of jingos as I think they wud be keen to know) - author of 'passage thru India', first super compu of India, which amendment talks of women bill recently, country with biggest land mass, angle of tilt of earth, recent Indian tank, first Indian test centurion, sports in whihc 16 yard term is used, sport to which daljeet singh is related to, etc (let me know if you want to hear of more quest)
c) one hour of so called 'psychological test'. this was introduced on trial basis for first time. I say that it was so called as the test had nothing to do with psychology. It was essentially what you get in analytical ability questions. Admittedly, some questions here were worng (I have given enuf such tests so trust me on what I am saying). It had speed-distance-time questions, number series, etc. Pure analytical. it was the toughest part of the whole thing. 60questions impossible to crack in 60 min
VikB

Post by VikB »

(contd).

Personal report card - I naturally took the 'Making India the superpower' topic trusting my jingo instincts to sail me through. GK was fine except while discussing later with others, found that I had messed up 3-4 questions. I attempted about 48-50 out of 60 questions. Oh forgot the most important thing - this time unlike earlier, GK had negative marking of one mark deducted for 2 wrong answers (this is how they put it). That was one tuf negative marking. 3rd round - there were two sections. I did the first, rechecked it, checked the rechecking. Looked around. others were busy. thought 'huh' and swaggered to submit my test paper - was told to keep sitting. looked around triumphantly with the you-lowly-beings attitude as there was still 20 minutes to go. Peeped into the paper of person behind me and saw a question that I had not seen in my paper. got confused. suddenly brilliance shone thru my empty head that I had forgotten to turn the answer sheet around for the second section. ran to the invigilator, took the stuff back and furiously got down to correcting my royal-arse mistake. did I think 60 questions in 15-20 minutes. almost came in my pants. On hind sight - did an honourable job. could not attempt about 30 questions but rememebered that this had no negative marking so happily did c/d, c/d......
VikB

Post by VikB »

Overview of the process

- very impressed with the openess of the Army in lot of things. Atmosphere was VERY cordial. The two colonels and the Brigadier were very friendly, warm and hospitable. Most impressive was the flexibility shown - Colonel declared in teh beginning that people should relieve themselves before the exam as later they wont be allowed. Brig. took over and said people are free to go to loo at any time as he did not want people to be discomforted by such an issue!!! On finishing a section early, people were allowed to go out of the classrooms. Colonel and the Brig constantly took rounds of the whole place and were very approachable.

- 715 people were to be there. I dont know how many were actually there in attendance. It was heartening to see that people still retain the interest in joining the armed forces.

- Good arrangement overall. One jawan was manning each classroom. All papers were ready, with complete arrangement of getting the next section, collecting the previous one, etc

Now the Down side
- Lot of people there had come for time-pass!! Quite a few were from the PSUs. Some had come just like that (I dont know what that means). Few were turned off when I told them that TA does not any longer has urban batches. Others were surprised to know that TA is now being used as normal army.
- Most of the people were from Chandigarh or surrounding places. Wonder why more centers cant be opened up as surely distance place a critical role for some people
- The invigilating jawans were completely 'naive'. that is a rather a refined term I am using. you know what I mean. There was RAMPANT CHEATING. This really pis*ed me off. Could not hold myself(!) but told the jawan to see what was happening. He then 'saw' and that's it!!! Cheating in the sense that people were openly talking and sharing answers. I got to know later that this was also happening elsewhere. Guess the Colonel knew that there is little he can do so he went around telling that not to worry and trust one's own knowledge and do what only one can do. It was kind of josh talk without legs. bugged me no ends. on stand alone I was confident of clearing but after knowing the above - well keeping fingers crossed for tomorrow.

All is not lost though. Met a wonderful person who is also working in the private sector but came all the way from Gurgaon to give the test. Real josh guy. We need more of such guys around.

@VikB

Thanks for the info. Keep us posted.

Cheers..
jambudvipa

Post by jambudvipa »

VikB. thanks for the info.What kind of physical tests are done ? and when you said urban training isnt done anymore,does it mean no weekend training?

TIA
pmund

Post by pmund »

Physical tests are the same as any SSB. Not too tough at all, but no quarter is given. You will have the same snake race and individual obstacle course.

Thanks for the intel... And when you say no more urban batches, what exactly do you mean by that???
Has it become full time like regular army???

This news is incorrect. Delhi and Kolkata still have urban batches AFAIK.
VikB

Post by VikB »

@jambudvipa

PIB - pre interview board has the written and then the interview. No physical till then. After this screening comes the SSB. ANd this is not 'like' SSB. It is THE SSB.

@Bala and ASPuar

As per my info - there is no weekend TA anymore. And yes as per the TA serving Captain that I spoke to - TA is as good as regular army.

I did not make it through the written. I am stumped. Feel like good for nothing :( so take my info with pinch of salt. coming from a rejected candidate ie.
pmund

Post by pmund »

It IS like the regular army now. And that's becoming a problem for some people who want to have the best of both worlds. A close pal, who owns a software firm, got through the TA tests and SSB last year and was offered first Sikh Li and then Paras but they said it was a 12-month-a-year job and not for a specific time period. He could not take the offer. He has the responsibility of 50-odd employees and their families. But I got a good view of the TA entry from him. Ppl cheat in the written test, all right, but the SSB is the REAL thing. The works. My pal can vouch for it because he had passed SSB earlier, too, for OTA. One indicator that TA is now like the regular army is that they are deployed in insurgency-hit areas. The recent incident of fragging in Manipur most likely happened in a TA battallion of the Madras Regt.

VikB wrote: Let me know if I can be of any help. Send me your contact no./ID and we can talk if you so require.
regards
Vikbji, So sorry to hear that you did not make it through the written exam... Also i'd like to take you up on the offer now... Could you please ping me at djvignesh@gmail.com... Thanks and regards...
Last edited by Bala Vignesh on 08 May 2010 07:45, edited 1 time in total.
jambudvipa

Post by jambudvipa »

VikB & Pmund ,thanks for your replies.what level of fitness do you need to build up to pass the physical tests?

VikB, sorry to hear that you didnt pass the written. There are a lot of candidates these days, I know. Try again next time (its only in a couple of months), and Im sure you will do well! Do not get disheartened, and please do not refer to yourself as a failed candidate. Any BRFite who takes the trouble to get off his @rse and walk the walk instead of playing Armchair stratego is a hero in my book!

PMund, as far as I know, you can leave embodiment whenever you want. So there is not much chance of being embodied for a long time. OTOH, a lot of people WANT to be embodied for a long time. So they opt for it. Salary, pension time accrual, etc.

SSB is SSB. Same for TA as for anyone else. Group Discussion, Group Tasks, Snake Race, GTO tasks, conference, medical. I went for the TA SSB some years ago, made it to the last round (people are rejected at various stages) though I got "conferenced out"! The group discussion was a cacophony to be seen to be believed. Apparently everyone thinks that he who yells loudest, wins (in some cases true)! Rest, Allahabad is an interesting place.

Good group of boys. People from Kashmir to Nagaland to Punjab, to Delhi and more. I found one of my batchmates from school there as well! Surprised. A) Since its been more than a decade since I left school, and B) Because our school is more known for its products in the world of family owned big business and politicians, than the army. Though we have produced two Air Chief Marshals (PC Lall and SK Mehra!), a VCOAS (Gen Oberoi!) a Director General of Infantry, and even an Admiral or two.

@Jambu: There is no physical "test" as such. There is an outdoor obstacle course, which is more a test of mental courage. There are rope jumps, height jumps, burma bridges, and such. As a rule of thumb (very general, just my own opinion), you should be able to run 2kms at an average speed, you should have decent upper body strength (be able to do about 10-20 chinups), and 20 pushups, and good lower body strength. And, you MUSTNT be afraid of heights!

SSB is a great experience.
jambudvipa

Post by jambudvipa »

ASpuar,thanks for the info