Newbie Corner & Military Miscellaneous

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
nelson

Re: Newbie Corner & Military Miscellaneous

Post by nelson »

May be to identify Vulnerable Areas and Vulnerable Points in and around Bombay to plan/prepare for Air Defence tasks?!

Can naval ships such as OPVs refuel smaller or similar sized boats? can frigates or destroyers etc do that? buddy refuelling or acting as a tanker?

The Data Link II developed by BEL, can it be used for satellite-based communication, or it is for the conventional troposphere/ionosphere-type communication?

Been trying to read about this aspect, but there isn't anything to go by, except for
Wide area network management including modifciation of address lists, network members multi circuit operation from single platform, forward error correction, interface with modem,crypto card , tactical device,satcom, telephone line, sanchar etc.
http://www.bel-india.com/index.aspx?q=&sectionid=217

Clarification/explanation would be most welcome.
TIA
Eric Leiderman

Post by Eric Leiderman »

Naval vessels can refuel while at sea it does not require a dedicated tanker
the associated equipment is a bit bulky but on a large frigate or destroyer that will not be an issue

answer was here all along

http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/media/Aer ... I.jpg.html

the yellow line indicates Link II. No satellite involved is what I understood.

Line of Sight communication?

I have a newbie pooch :oops:
I would really appreciate any of the senior BRFites answering.

This forum must be giving a lot of Paki lurkers hajaar dukh and a nuke attack on their H&D :mrgreen:

a) I am sure this would be your conclusion?
b) Have any paki lurkers expressed this?

The satisfaction would be great if you would let me know.

TIA BRF Brethren & BRF ladies

Noob question from me

See this Agni I test video. he Agni is about 15 meters tall. At launch it clears its own length in approx 1 sec. At that acceleration it should break the sound barrier by about 11 seconds. Doesn't that mean we should hear a sonic boom about 20-30 seconds into the flight when the boom should reach the camera mike?

rajanb wrote:I have a newbie pooch :oops:
I would really appreciate any of the senior BRFites answering.

This forum must be giving a lot of Paki lurkers hajaar dukh and a nuke attack on their H&D :mrgreen:
rajan the story goes back at least 13 years to the beginnings of BRF when I was adminulla.

In those days it was Paki defence fora that were giving Indians hajaar dukh and nuke attacks on our echandee because typically Indians on the net would lurk on Paki fora, read the bullshitting and empty boasts, swallow them wholesale and then come onto BRF to cry and lament. And many would think that anything said by Indians was a lie, and self flagellate. Typically - the Pakis would boast -"We are about to get Raptors in 3 years" and some Indian would go into mourning on BRF. We got so sick of that that we made it a rule that cross posting of BS from Paki fora to come and cry on here was verboten.

We were also getting a lot more hits so it made sense not to give the Fukkistanis more traffic. Gradually, over the years the tables have turned. He who laughs last..

^^^I remember getting hate mail couple of times when I listed my email address on BRF for someone's reference. It was filled with choicest of abuses in Punjabi and name calling....the honors were reserved for Shiv, ramana et all :mrgreen: :P :rotfl:

Cross-posting from the Indian Army thread in Mil forum.
Rahul M wrote:you must have not been reading then. JJ Singh was considered iffy from the first and long before VKS came along his doings were open secret.
Welcome back, Rahul ji! The forum has sorely missed the breaper.

thx for the welcome saar ji !

Hiten wrote:answer was here all along

http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/media/Aer ... I.jpg.html

the yellow line indicates Link II. No satellite involved is what I understood.

Line of Sight communication?
in response to my own query, as per Prasun Sengupta, BEL's Data Link II can be utilized in SATCOMs
In future, depending on availability of the GSAT-7 satellite (which will be the IN’s first dedicated fleet satellite communications satellite, expected to be launched next year), both the existing ship-to-ship Link-2 and Link-S data-links will be making use of SATCOMS channels for two-way relay of data and communications.
trishul-trident.blogspot.com/2011/11/more-naval-updates.html

Rahul Gandhi to be appointed as the Defence Minister?
Congress leader Rahul Gandhi has decided to join the government as time is running out for him and his Congress party.

Rahul is likely to be appointed defence minister and may also take up the responsibility of Leader of the House in the Lok Sabha, a position vacated by Pranab Mukherjee [ Images ] when he became a candidate for the Presidency.

To become Leader of the House, Rahul has to be appointed a Cabinet minister.

Last week, top Congress officials ruled out any change in the prime minister or party president. Dr Manmohan Singh [ Images ] and Sonia Gandhi [ Images ] will continue doing their jobs till 2014 when a general election is scheduled.

Rahul, it is felt, cannot be home minister as it is a thankless job where result-oriented success is almost impossible in view of the ground realities in the country.

He cannot assume the role of finance minister as he does not have the knack for that job.

If Rahul is appointed rural development minister he may be able to lift his pro-poor image, but it will not make him eligible to join the elite powerful groups within the government like the Cabinet Committee on Security and Cabinet Committee on Political Affairs.

Hence, the best possible portfolio for Rahul is defence where success and failure are a collective affair in peace time.

Rasheed Kidwai, author of 24, Akbar Road and a senior journalist, believes, "A bigger role for Rahul in the Congress party is unlikely because he is already general secretary. It is more likely that he will become Raksha Mantri."
BRF's worst nightmare might just get real.
aditya.agd

Post by aditya.agd »

Antony has performed extremely good & slowly so far. RG will probably hasten that pace. :rotfl:
aditya.agd

Post by aditya.agd »

This is the best forum on BR. ON this forum a newbie can boast of his pea sized biceps , with on one gnarling at him.

Union ministers miffer with rude SPG at 7 RCR
Union Ministers Dr Farooq Abdullah [ Images ], Ghulam Nabi Azad [ Images ], Jairam Ramesh [ Images ] and G K Vasan have complained to Cabinet Secretary Ajit Seth about the rude behaviour of the Special Protection Group personnel at 7 Race Course Road, the prime minister's residence.

Cosequently, Seth apologised on behalf of the SPG and promised that the commandoes would henceforth behave politely.

An angry Abdullah narrated the incident to the cabinet secretary on Thursday before Prime Minister Manmohan Singh [ Images ] arrived for the Cabinet meeting. Nabi and Ramesh said their Cabinet papers were checked when their cars were entering the prime minister's house to attend the meeting of the Union Cabinet.

"This is not the first time; at least four or five such incidents have taken place this year," Vasan said.

"We will go back if the SPG does not learn the basics. Such security exercises are appreciated inside the PM's house complex, but not on the road. Are we unwanted elements inside 7 Race Course Road? Let me bring this to the notice of the prime minister," added Abdullah.

Seth is said to have apologised to the disgruntled ministers with folded hands . When the ministers saw the PM arriving, the issue was treated as closed.

The SPG had pushed aside a Bahujan Samaj Party MP inside the Parliament corridors during the Budget session. And it was Pranab Mukherjee [ Images ], finance minister then, who tendered an apology as the leader of Lok Sabha.

"The SPG will never learn; they are rude. The SPG team working for Sonia Gandhi [ Images ] and Rahul often ill-treat MPs," said a Union minister.

how to reply to multiple messages of different members by 'multi quoting' in a single message?? any help?? any one??

hit the quote button after highlighting the text you want to quote, repeat for each post you want to quote

just check if the quote tags properly start and end
pragnya wrote:how to reply to multiple messages of different members by 'multi quoting' in a single message?? any help?? any one??
Nikhil T wrote:Union ministers miffer with rude SPG at 7 RCR
Union Ministers Dr Farooq Abdullah [ Images ], Ghulam Nabi Azad [ Images ], Jairam Ramesh [ Images ] and G K Vasan have complained to Cabinet Secretary Ajit Seth about the rude behaviour of the Special Protection Group personnel at 7 Race Course Road, the prime minister's residence.

Cosequently, Seth apologised on behalf of the SPG and promised that the commandoes would henceforth behave politely.

An angry Abdullah narrated the incident to the cabinet secretary on Thursday before Prime Minister Manmohan Singh [ Images ] arrived for the Cabinet meeting. Nabi and Ramesh said their Cabinet papers were checked when their cars were entering the prime minister's house to attend the meeting of the Union Cabinet.

"This is not the first time; at least four or five such incidents have taken place this year," Vasan said.

"We will go back if the SPG does not learn the basics. Such security exercises are appreciated inside the PM's house complex, but not on the road. Are we unwanted elements inside 7 Race Course Road? Let me bring this to the notice of the prime minister," added Abdullah.

Seth is said to have apologised to the disgruntled ministers with folded hands . When the ministers saw the PM arriving, the issue was treated as closed.

The SPG had pushed aside a Bahujan Samaj Party MP inside the Parliament corridors during the Budget session. And it was Pranab Mukherjee [ Images ], finance minister then, who tendered an apology as the leader of Lok Sabha.

"The SPG will never learn; they are rude. The SPG team working for Sonia Gandhi [ Images ] and Rahul often ill-treat MPs," said a Union minister.

vasu raya wrote:hit the quote button after highlighting the text you want to quote, repeat for each post you want to quote
appreciate that. thanks but not happening. may be i am not able do it.
nakul

Post by nakul »

Just write

[quote]  another post [/quote] 
multiple times

So your post would like:

[quote]  message 1[/quote]

ur reply

[quote]  message 2[/quote]

ur reply

[quote]  message 3[/quote]

ur reply 
Hope this helps!
A Sharma

Post by A Sharma »

SPG wants counter-assault vehicles for VVIP convoys
Sources said the SPG has sought approval to buy 10 Defence Sherpa-2 counter assault vehicles and 6 Defence Sherpa-2 quick reaction team vehicles from Renault Trucks Defense at a cost of nearly Rs 51 crore.

Sherpa-2 (now Sherpa Light Scout) is a 4x4 tactical and light armored vehicle customized with ballistic, mine and improvised explosive devices kits for tactical missions such as scouting, patrol and convoy escort. It is a high mobility vehicle, able to cross any obstacle including gradients of up to 100 per cent and can carry 5 persons.
Another needless import when local manufacturers can easily fulfill the need.

A request from some person in Switzerland:
Hello

I am looking for a girlfriend of mine who lives here in Switzerland of her father. This was before her baby back in England. This was from 1943 to 1944 in Switzerland interned. He had previously taken refuge in Italy from a German prisoner of war camp in Switzerland and had been able to save the.

His name is Kadar CHULAM. Born on 2 March 1919 in akalghar.He served with the 3 / 7 jput regiment with the rank of sepoy. His military number is: 16 570
His parents were Ibrahim & Saeran
times to address was: akalghar jagraon Dep. Ranka india.Address: Ludehana

Unfortunately we have had no more and left the country since Mr.Chulam from Switzerland, we lose track.
We are not sure whether Chulam is really written. in the subject, itis also written to some of Gulam

Maybe they can help us or can you tell us to whom we could contact us.

Many Thanks

Patrick Schlenker
Switzerland

"Schlenker Patrick" <patrick@kostueme-bs.ch>
Most likely the soldier's name is Kadar Ghulam of Akalgarh, Ludhiana. From 3/7 Rajput. Did they serve in Italy during WWII?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Akalgarh,_India

Anybody from Ludhiana, Punjab can help them?

Must be an awesome story of escape from Italy from German POW camp and refuge in Swizerland and have a child over there.

Would make a super Bollywood story.
Eric Leiderman

Post by Eric Leiderman »

What do they mean by rude, Were they physically checked, if yes , Were the security personnel following protocol?

If they were treated comparably at a forgien airport (say by chance New York) would they squak( so loud?)

We live in a country where our neighbours can just about do anything, They come from states where these neighbours had made a paradise into hell. The brethren of these very gentlemen have ensured that democracy
thrived and indirectly these very politicians are earning their dhal roti. Maybe they should ask their security personnel to ensure that their personal security does not frisk visitors etc, Whats good for the goose should be good for the gander.

Would anyone know if Dipti Bhalla & Kunal Verma, who produced programmes like the 'Salt of the Earth' have any web presence - blog, company/personal websites, anything?

Please share, if you do

TIA

Ex-Army chief joins stir against Haryana N-plant
The former Army chief said, "I visited the village and saw how even women are against the nuclear power plant. The land where the power plant is to be set up is fertile and farmers totally depended on this land. About 1,500 farmers will go landless. It will also hit the landless labourers who work for these farmers. Where will they go? There should be a debate before setting up a nuclear power plant."

He said nuclear power is destructive and gave the example of Japan's Fukushima tragedy. "There are many resources from where we can get electricity. Then why nuclear power plant?" he asked.
I think Gen VKS desperately needs new advisers. He's obviously not an expert in energy issues so why is he trying to get in this protest? Agreed that he is a citizen with full rights to do so, I think his time is better spent by keeping focus on the corruption in defence deals and exposing nepotism in promotions. He was so vocal in the Print/electronic media during his term but he's totally disappeared now. In fact now is a much better time to go onto electronic media and initiate debates on these matters.

Hiten, kunalverma is a member here.

Nikhil T,
Agreed that the general may not be an expert on energy and power issues, but the he is correct in pointing out that building a nuclear reactor over fertile land is heights of stupidity

Saw Sherpa in Defence Expo. Didn't seem so special at that time
Satish_B

Post by Satish_B »

had a newbie doubt that I would love for the aviation guru's on the forum to answer.

When comparing specs for the LCA vs J 10 in wikipedia (i know its not the most authentic source), I see that the LCA has a speed of 1,350 km/hr at sea level i.e. Mach 1.27. J 10 is advertised as having a max speed of mach 1.2 at sea level.

However, when looking at max speed at altitude, LCA is quoted as having a speed of mach 1.8 and J 10 of mach 2.2.

Is this a case of Shanghai statistics? A plane that is faster at sea level ought to be faster at altitide too. Or am I mistaken.

Avinandan

Would Brazil allow IAF to review their Erieyes

Post by Avinandan »

Had a newbie doubt for quite a long time.

Could IAF review Brazilian Erieyes and compare their performances with the indigenous CABS AEW?
India could pay some money (as a secret part of the package) for the 13 ERJ-145s that we are buying from Brazil or atleast return the favour by sharing comparative performance figures of our CABS AEW.

Thanks for the info Rahul Saar

Missed seeing your reply in time, this time. For the next time.

Jeffry F. Smith, "Commanding an Air Force Squadron in the Twenty-First Century: A Practical Guide of Tips and Techniques for Today's Squadron Commander"
English | ISBN: 1585661198 | 2003 | 197 pages |

In Commanding an Air Force Squadron in the Twenty-first Century, Lt Col Jeffry Smith updates and expands upon Col Timothy T. Timmons's Commanding an Air Force Squadron (1993). The newer book preserves the framework and overall feel of its predecessor while providing more current information about and additional support to some dated topics. Colonel Smith demonstrates an excellent grasp of the challenges faced by squadron commanders.

Blessed with an easy writing style, he walks the reader though many types of issues that commanders deal with throughout their tenure. Although the author takes a light but serious approach to topics (note such chapter rifles as "Cats and Dogs" and "The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly"), he does not shy away from difficult topics--closing down a unit or the death of a squadron member, for example.
Avinandan

Post by Avinandan »

Newbie Question: US sold 2 minehunters MHC-56 Kingfisher & MHC-57 Cormorant to the Indian Navy.
All the12 minehunters have been decommissioned and sold just after about 10 years of service.
As a result US doesn't have any coastal based minehunters, mostly are minesweepers.

It was probably because of
globalsecurity wrote:Osprey and her sisters' retirements were making the way for a new class of warship known as the littoral combat ship or LCS. LCS will continue where Osprey leaves off by carrying on and refining the Navy's critical mission of countering mine threats to the nation. Osprey and Robin completed decommissioning maintenance availabilities, then be towed to Beaumont, Texas.
However there are issues which Mine countermeasures module of LCS(littoral combat ship).
wikipedia wrote:The mine countermeasures module also continues to have ongoing issues, with Rear Admiral Frank Pandolfe reporting dissatisfaction with the performance and looking to replace it with a modified airborne laser mine detection system.
Any specific reasons why the minehunters were decommissioned so quickly :?: ?

References :

Have a question about ToT? Does ToT come with all engineering, manufacturing & certification documentation of the product? Or is it just product Blueprints along with "transfer" of manufacturing processes knowledge along with required support services documentation? To me, logically it should be the latter. No sane firm, unless its a complete buyout, would hand over their hard earned product development knowledge to customer even if the customer is paying boat loads of money.

@Avinandan, they moved to robotic minesweepers IIRC. also USN depended on allied minesweepers during GW1.
Avinandan

Post by Avinandan »

Rahul Saar,
Wikipedia wrote:A minehunter is a naval vessel that actively detects and destroys individual naval mines. Minesweepers, on the other hand, clear mined areas as a whole, without prior detection of mines. A vessel that combines both of these roles is known as a mine countermeasures vessel (MCMV).
Did you mean robotic minesweepers are actually robotic minehunters ?
US actually have 12 Avenger Class MCMVs in active service, however they are earlier class of ships than the Osprey Minehunter class as the first ship was commissioned on 1987. Does that mean that US now doesn't have the need of minehunting at all ? If that is the case why did they build the Osprey class Minehunters later than that and eventually sold off early in their life time ?

Please refer the below link
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_mi ... tates_Navy:--
You could see that USN has done away with all the Coastal Minehunters (MHC) altogether probably on account of LCS.

Other References
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Minehunter
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Avenger_cl ... sures_ship
member_23630

Post by member_23630 »

Hi,

Can someone help me with some newbie questions:

1. How do i post local images, i.e, images from my local desktop?

2. How do i 'word wrap' my posts - can i just format in word, and post it?
member_19930

Post by member_19930 »

Dear fellow BRFites,

This year my friend visited the RIAT show and shared some pics with me. Please find below the link to access the same.
https://skydrive.live.com/?cid=4a172dc9 ... &sc=Photos

Held annually each July at RAF Fairford, Gloucestershire, the Royal International Air Tattoo, the world's largest military airshow, has gained the well-earned reputation as one of the UK's top outdoor family events.

Warm Regards.
aniket

Post by aniket »

Can you host the pics on photo bucket or Picasa ?

PMO recommends Adm Nirmal Verma as the High Commissioner to Canada.
NEW DELHI: Former naval chief Nirmal Verma has been appointed India's new high commissioner to Canada. Verma's appointment was cleared by the President on Thursday after PMO recommended his name.

Verma's appointment is interesting because the external affairs ministry had earlier recommended additional secretary Basant Gupta's name for the position. Gupta, who heads the passport and visa division of MEA, is said to be close to foreign minister S M Krishna. He played a key role in implementing Krishna's initiative to open Passport Seva Kendras across the country.

PMO, however, rejected his candidature and asked MEA to instead recommend Verma. The foreign ministry had no choice but to recommend the former Navy chief.
Very interesting that within weeks of his retirement GOI sent him to as a High Commissioner to a major country. The last Chief, Adm Sureesh Mehta was sent within 6 weeks of retirement to New Zealand as the High Commissioner. Naval diplomacy? Is there a larger plan by the GOI?