Modeling the Indian Armed Forces

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Modeling the Indian Armed Forces

Bob V wrote:Its nice to hear that many of you are veterans at modelling w/o using any kits.This is how real modelling should be.

http://jaganpvs.tripod.com/MiG.htm :mrgreen: c 1990-92

..but seriously . kit building requires some real patience that I admire much (and really dont have myself)

Mihir wrote:
Bob V wrote:btw, has anyone attempted modelling military a/c without using any kits, ie, using just cardboard, Styrofoam/thermocol and fevicol ?
I made these years ago with ivory paper and Fevicol, and painted them with good old Camel poster paints
Very nice!
Haresh

Indian airforces Hawk

Post by Haresh »

In case any one is interested in buying one.
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/AIRFIX-1-48-RAF-B ... 0578049330 :D

uppppp...
maks

Post by maks »

Been visiting BR for 12 years now - don't post very often but have been building models for 30 years - airplanes, ships, tanks - everything. Latest project: building a hurricane and oscar diorama to recreate the IAF's only Air to Air kill in ww2 that I know of. I have more than 100 models (plastic, resin and balsa) waiting to be built - wish I had more time...sigh

Jagan,
I had sent some pictures of a few models I had built August last year. Since that would put me over 5 you said you would send me the set up page. Haven't heard back.

On another note: I am also building a T-55, Athay Pauk and Kilo class submarine. Who do I get in touch for the Army and Navy modeling pages?

I have been tried and gave up trying to get my Assal Uttar diorama on the IA page and use the opportunity to do an inauguration of an IA modeling page like I did for the IN page :(( :((
chiru

Post by chiru »

mods i have a pooch - i have built lots of scale models and i want to exhibit it here but the problem is none of them are in indian colours :/ what should i do ? they are or will be in the armed forces inventory, so can i upload them ????

X-Posting (with shameless attempt at increase phokat ka post count :mrgreen: ):

Some pics of a IAF SU-30K model I had built in 2002, when they were first being inducted at Lohegaon. Took the pics since I am not sure whether the model itself will survive till I R2I (can't believe it lasted 8 years). Model is scratch built with cardboard structure, crumpled aluminium foil skin, canopy made from projector transparency, metal wires and scale based on Eyeball Mk.1.

Posting some more pics though not of Armed forces (hence, OT) - It is of an Indian Railways WDM2 diesel loco with a Rajdhani Express AC sleeper class coach. Same building materials as the SU-30K and built in 2002.

aniket

Post by aniket »

Can someone please tell me if a place in New Delhi from where I can buy modeling kits related to the Indian armed forces ?

Is there anyplace in India from where one can buy small scale models of fighters aircrafts? I mean detailed models like those displayed at defence expos?

^^The best you can get without a uncle/aunty in HAL etc. would be at places like IAF museum Palam where they sell all metal models but dont expect superb details or anything even close to what an OOB hobby kit produces (leave alone one using aftermarket etched metal or resin parts).

Gents I recently got a 1:72 scale MIG 21 FL-D Model Fishbed of no other that the No. 28 thats right boys the First Supersonics onlee!!!!....

Model is fairly detailed and suprisingly good quality finish has the serial no. C746 and is in the brown green camo on top and whitish camo on underside

In the process of putting it together havent had much time due to study but will get it done this wkend for sure.

Not Armed forces but Air India...

Possibly the world's most impressive paper plane

God! that is impressive.

Always had a fascination for building model ships. As a kid had grown up building many a model (WW2 era warships and older fully rigged man-o-wars, sails, canons and all). It helped that we lived right next to an NCC Batt. HQ where there was a full dept. dedicated to building model ships. The staff helped procure balsa for me and by bro.

as a teenager, i converted a mig21 model kit into a 1971 config FL with gun pod and built a diorama of it launching a K13 against a starfighter
handpainted the 'dirty silver' finish and IAF roundels and used cotton wool for the missile exhaust. used to hang from my ceiling

indranilroy wrote:
tushar_m wrote:You can actually buy Su 27/35 & just add canards in the front with extra servos (for canards movement ) .

Su27/35 do come with thrust vectoring engines so with canards its almost SU30mki
Actually, I have a Su-35 model. I added canards and made them movable using a separate channel. However, it doesn't fly any better than the base model. Reasons for that are the difference in TWR from the actual plane and an aeromodel, scale effect and the different Reynold's number in which they operate. You can hold the model in high alpha moving forward at 10-20 kmph because of the TWR. At that speed the the canard can hardly develop strong enough vortices to stop the flow from separating. Also the TVC coupled with the high TWR creates much larger pitching moment than the moving surfaces, almost to the point that you are not in control. There was no way that I could add or comprehend how to add further commands using the canards. I played around a bit using the canards like inboard ailerons and airbrakes before just fixing it up for good :-). This is the same experience my friend had with his Eurofighter.
NRao wrote: You can build your own. I had once started work on a MKI, which required special attention due to the number of moving parts. The LCA should be much easier.
I tried building the LCA wing many times. It is very difficult to build without a mould. I tried cutting and sanding it out of foam. I got near but never close enough to my satisfaction.
Well, models means taking a few short cuts. :)

When i started my MKI I had two things going for me:

1) A guy with eons of knowledge on building models. And,he had worked on all sorts of planes, but never heard of the "MKI" - with canards, which is what got his juices flowing. My 6+' long model was to scale and I built everything first in foam and then a -ve with plaster of paris, then to fiber (auto body stuff). Not easy. Messy. Smelly. Need well aired areas to work with. And winters do not help.

2) I was stationed in Dayton, OH when in 2011 the Jet World Championships took place:

So, I made a few friends who helped me out. I first decided to go electric, then switched to "jet" - read EXPENSIVE.

(you may see me in that vid. Also will post some of my pictures from then. They are amazing. These planes are *not* small - most are around 10' long. And they are powered by actual jets - one of the evndors was then looking to hook up with someone in India - to sell them there.)

I know about these planes. I don't have enough time to go into jets yet. I probably will jump directly to jets from ducted fans, hopefully in 2-3 years :-).

And yes, the canards will be a good experiment then :-).

Neilz wrote:Not sure where to post it.. but since few page back we were wondering about the hobby.. :)

Su-27 dron in india and a perfect landing

https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=307185396139968
Very,very nice.

wow!!

Not related to "Indian Armed Forces", but hope it inspires some.

http://min.us/mJckuWqoFaskh

Wren Turbine Closeups (have yet to figure out how to make thumbnails):

Cutouts:

http://minus.com/i/u7VWsvADTfqx

http://minus.com/i/bzxQruWRRr4bR

http://minus.com/i/Lbl0iY2F1f4a

http://minus.com/i/pYo5pcbC0y6k

http://minus.com/i/3Vnd2k2cL5gi

http://minus.com/i/4kJteNiKqq19

http://minus.com/i/bfn5zh4qcnaJi

In an air craft (wing):

http://minus.com/i/iRlZuTqOF6s8

http://minus.com/i/RVU2t4EEokDh

http://minus.com/i/pGXfWE7AeK6L

http://minus.com/i/yGqeGMlImgcB

One can feel the jet blast as far as 40-50 feet away ............ it will blow a hat of your head.

Revived! Hope some Rakshaks can utilize this quarantine to start or renew the modelling hobby. I am starting on my second MiG 29 and Mi 24. Hopefully I will finish it.

Here is my earlier attempt from a long time back. Link
VickyAvinash

Post by VickyAvinash »

Shameek wrote:Revived! Hope some Rakshaks can utilize this quarantine to start or renew the modelling hobby. I am starting on my second MiG 29 and Mi 24. Hopefully I will finish it.

Very nice. Are these made of cardboard?
chetonzz

Post by chetonzz »

Shameek wrote:Revived! Hope some Rakshaks can utilize this quarantine to start or renew the modelling hobby. I am starting on my second MiG 29 and Mi 24. Hopefully I will finish it.

sir, i know what you did there... :D :D :D

you painted the commercially available mig-29 model into IAF insignia...

great job there for details in painting...
i had bought that model long time ago and is in my home...
please check my blog if possible

https://chetanaerospace.blogspot.com/20 ... el_45.html
chiru

Post by chiru »

Tejas 1:100 scale model made of paper, designed by bruno van hecke

Twitter link to the complete build
https://twitter.com/Chirag_shekar/statu ... 40224?s=20

Nice work !

Someone posted this on DFI

[quote="Jaymax61]

All the talk of wargaming got me super interested. Picked up two I could find.

The first one

This game is about a brutal short campaign of heavy attrition that can go nuclear any time. Combat is division level and Units get taken out pretty quick. (Designers note its not that the unit is destroyed just that it has taken too heavy losses to function). With the nuclear threat always looming, each time a player uses a nuke, there is a risk of the exchange going strategic meaning game over. Played it once but found its replay value was limited.

Then picked up this baby

This game has 5 specific scenarios (Kashmir, Enough, Lahore, Border War and Loose Nukes). The last 2 are advanced scenarios with UN intervention, International posture playing a role as well. Finally there is the option just stack everything its starting point and run a general campaign as you see fit

This game has potential intervention from

Russia

USA

France

Australia

China

Except China all others intervene on the side of India.

This game comes well packaged in its own box which is big improvement from the last game which was a basically a small magazine add on.

The only pain point is that with all the play aids the map and holders for counters, its too wide to be played on a table.

The markers and the playaids

The Game map.

This game first published in 2015 also allowed India to include 2 units of Rafales. Now that's what I call thinking ahead.

I played the first scenario - Kashmir which is basically a mad rush for Kashmir with Chinese Airborne elements thrown in. Playing as both India and Pakistan (as honestly as I could) I almost caused an upset Pakistan victory save for 1 mistake and a few luck dice rolls.

The game ended with India still holding Srinagar while Uri, Poonch and Baramulla were held by Pakistan. Chinese Airborne units and a Pakistan division were holed up in Anantnag surrounded by 3 Indian Brigades and 2 other divisions. The VP counter awarded the game to India.

Play time was 2 hours for Kashmir. Other scenarios should be even longer. Can wait for the next Friday night.

Accuracy aside, I am thinking of putting an AAR for the Kashmir campaign. Let me know your thoughts. Cheers.