BR Main Site Feedback

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
K_Rohit

Re: BR Main Site Feedback

Post by K_Rohit »

http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/NAVY/ships/active.html

Link not active from main page, accessible from side bar. Needs to be cleaned.

No pictures of Shivalik still. Navy site needs to be updated.

BR's Army Senior officers list is woefully out of date.

1. The COAS is Gen VK Singh, not Gen D. Kapoor

2. Central Army commander is Lt Gen VK Ahluwalia
http://indianarmy.nic.in/Site/FormTempl ... Ylm62vI7g=

3. The northern Army commander is LtGen KT Parnaik
http://indianarmy.nic.in/Site/FormTempl ... 3c=&flag=p

4. The Eastern Army Commander is LtGen Bikram Singh

5. The Southern Army Commander is LtGen AK Singh
http://indianarmy.nic.in/Site/FormTempl ... Xu0Ncz+V4=

6. ARTRAC's GOC is LtGen Surendra Nath
http://indianarmy.nic.in/Site/FormTempl ... E4=&flag=p

7. South Western Army Commands GOC is LtGen SK Singh
http://indianarmy.nic.in/Site/FormTempl ... qc=&flag=p

8. Signal officer in Chief is Lt Gen P Mohapatra

9. DGEME is LtGen IJ Singh
http://eaglesassociation.in/

These are just some updates....

Can the following please be also archieved on the 62 war site at BRF?

Re: BR Forum Feedback

The "Indian Space" Link on the BR main page has been a dead link for a while now. It would be better to remove it.
koti

Post by koti »

I would like to know if it is possible to use Google +1 or Facebook like options for posts. Some forum members already state this and it seems to be a decent idea.

Looking into it Koti.
MN Kumar

Post by MN Kumar »

Can we avoid multiple news entries of the same items on the home page. I know its good to have same news from multiple sources but this can be done on a case by case basis. Right now the main page has the 5 links of the PAF pilots apology. I guess this isnt required.
Hari Sud

Post by Hari Sud »

It is pity that a few days after I reminded the BR of out of date and slow posting on Top Stories section that five posts have appeared on the same subjects from different sources (IAF Pilot`s family accepts apology).

BR definitely have to have a fresh look at its policies to keep the website current.

Cheers.

well depends on teh volunteers and mood of the day.. but the good news is that Jai is back in the news section... so you will see better updation going forward..

Dear Gentleman/woman,

I seek your help in a field unrelated to Indian defence but related to India.

How many of you have get up in the morning and go through the utter gibberish on e-news websites to get morsels of worthwhile news?

I want to come up with a forum like BR where news could be submitted like in BR, but into sections say ... "National", "International", "Sports", "Defense" etc. Any member could post a link to a news which is worthwhile or report a link to the webmasters and moderators which he thinks is crap or propaganda or advertisement.

The forum will have a discussion forum akin to what we have on BR. Once can discuss news items, policies, problems etc.

As I have zero knowledge about web development ... I would like to know how to go about this ... Is there anybody here, who would like to help me or volunteer to be the webmaster or moderators.

I think this will be a service to our nation as well! Anyone can mail me at i-n-d-r-a-n-i-l-r at gmel dot kaum.

Thank you.

well.. that would be entirely driven by a b2b arrangement with media and news providers.. well, that would be a big task for admins to link news.. rather have a wiki type of BR news page, where posters can add a news item, then discuss off from there either with a link to an existing dhaga, or however you guys like.

but, it only serves as a filter to all those junk ddm info out there... could be good in the sense, if it is linked to a search engine, and news cache store, then we can have a good reference.

http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/NAVY/Ship ... Class.html

The above page still lists Airavat as a future commission.

It was commissioned on May 19th 2009 @ Vizag.

Note for IAF site Web Master / Jagan:

While surfing the IAF site some observations on unit locations:

27 ED : Location is blank, it should be AFS Palam (New Delhi)

24 ED : AFS Manauri (Lucknow), Manauri is in outskirts of Allahabad not Lucknow. AFS Manauri is just next to AFS Bamrauli (Allahabad) - HQ CAC and BFTS etc.

thanks Sroy

will update the pg
Eric Leiderman

Post by Eric Leiderman »

When one wants to browse through the older news articles and clicks on the icon "more news" an expanded screen with a scroll function is available.
For the forum section though, if you have been out of the loop for a few days,it becomes difficult to see the slightly older postings. If the same feature that is available on the news section were available on the indivudal forum portals it would make keeping up easier.
koti

Post by koti »

indranilroy wrote:Dear Gentleman/woman,

I seek your help in a field unrelated to Indian defence but related to India.
Indranil ji, I sent a mail long back. I did not get any acknowledgement. Any update on that?

Sirs,

Please to update the RAPIDs section - we now have five operational RAPIDs and 6th under conversion (4th ID under I Corps). While the source of 5th RAPID (12th RAPID under XII Corps) is available in literature which refers to 12 Division as 12 RAPID, the source of the latter is an entry in the Suman Sharma's blog.

Thanx.

Added later: The 'Leh hall of fame' should read as maintained by XIV Corps and not XV Corps.

Libyan War Dhaaga requires urgent Admin attention
MN Kumar

Post by MN Kumar »

Some of the images in this album have been wrongly titled as Il78's. Please correct:

http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/IAF/Images/Current/Transports/Il-76/
Last edited by Jagan on 07 Nov 2011 21:12, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Thanks - fixed now.
jiteshn

Post by jiteshn »

*Self removed
anirban_aim

Post by anirban_aim »

Dear All,

The Balochistan Video link on the News Section of the Homepage is not working.

http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/NEWS/news ... wsid=17139

Seems youtube or Al Jazeera has removed the video or access is being blocked.

If cant be fixed then lets remove the link from the News section.

Thanks and Regards
member_21708

Post by member_21708 »

anirban_aim wrote:Dear All,

The Balochistan Video link on the News Section of the Homepage is not working.

http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/NEWS/news ... wsid=17139

Seems youtube or Al Jazeera has removed the video or access is being blocked.

If cant be fixed then lets remove the link from the News section.

Thanks and Regards
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R4aTxF3xjWA

Sirs, in the article where analysis of Lt. General Jacob's claim that initially Dhaka was not the prime objective has been done by Sumit Walia, the following section appears towards the end:
In his interview to Forbes, BBC & in his books, Gen Jacob has said that he is not a medal hunter or glory hungry person but from all the noise he has been making, it looks like he is trying to snatch the main spot in the picture of most glorious moment of Indian Army. Perhaps that why he can be seen right besides Gen Niazi giving a nice pose to the photographers with a broad smile where as all other generals are looking down at the surrender document
My humble submission is that while the analysis is alright to counter the good General's claims, the above crosses the line of propriety. It brings an intellectual and factual debate to personal level and in my opinion, the same is not warranted. Rather than restrict the arguments to facts and circumstantial evidence(s), the closing lines throws aspersions on the protagonists and his motives itself. In my opinion, this debasing of the indivisual could have been avoided.

Kailash

Post by Kailash »

The link on the news page "06 Feb IAF Ajai Shukla: Where is India's light fighter? (Business Standard)" is having a bad hyperlink.

It is opening up the Mi-17v5 buy from Russia
deepan gill

Private Message and Locating BR member

Post by deepan gill »

Admins,

How do I send a private message to BR member? Also how do I search a member based on their username?

Thank You

Re: Private Message and Locating BR member

deepan gill wrote:Admins,

How do I send a private message to BR member? Also how do I search a member based on their username?

Thank You
Deepan, PM facility is restricted to mods alone.

You can use this link to find a member:

http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/member ... searchuser
Ajit.C

Post by Ajit.C »

Admins,

The Senior officers list for Army, Navy and Intergrated Defence Staff has not been updated for years. Please do update the same.
Ankit Desai

Post by Ankit Desai »

Not able to connect to Main site since last 3 hrs.

-Ankit
aniket

Post by aniket »

Same here forum seems to be working fine but the main site is not loading.
Gurneesh

Post by Gurneesh »

^^^ Been having the same problem..
Snehashis

Post by Snehashis »

^^^ +1
manu_vashist

Post by manu_vashist »

for me too, main site is still not working :(

posted this in mil misc thread, there's a problem with the server. this would likely take some time.
Sumit

Post by Sumit »

I have an article on Skinner's Horse that I sent to Jagan so that we can have it online on BR. Jagan is bit busy these days. Is there a way we can have it online. I got photos of PBG guard changing ceremony, we can make a nice photo gallary for BR.
koti

Post by koti »

There is something wrong with the time displayed on the main site....
It runs 1 hour in advance.

This UPI news on BR News list regading nuclear subs is reported out of Lahore. Bit strange!

http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/NEWS/news ... wsid=17615
member_22872

Post by member_22872 »

Question to the admins:
I see members adding some 'signatures' of sort in the space to describe their location. It seems odd, I am of the view that they do that because there is no way they can add signature? is there a way to add signature so that members don't use the location field to write their signature messages?

the main site as some tweet code problem
Line: 274
Error: 'TWTR' is undefined,

script eror perhaps - src?

Both bharat-rakshak.com and www.bharat-rakshak.com are unreachable.

forums.b-r.com works.
Ravi Karumanchiri

Post by Ravi Karumanchiri »

MODS: A rather suspicious news item has appeared in the BR main site line-up.

The article is entitled "Russia ready to set up Mig Plant in India".

It is suspicious because it reads like it's 30 years old, mentioning the "Soviet Union" as if it were still in existence, and also the US F-104 fighter aircraft. It's truly outta the "Twilight Zone".

I wonder if somehow it's part of a 'Phishing" expedition.

Regardless, the article isn't worth the kilobytes needed.

Respectfully suggest pulling it from the BR site.

Thanks, RK

PS: Please also subsequently undo the outbound link, and/or kill the BR mirror page; whatever works best, obviously.