BR Main Site Feedback

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
anuj

Re: BR Main Site Feedback

Post by anuj »

Rahul M wrote:p.s. I see a BR addict browsing there ! :mrgreen:
Arre oye, shhh...
Pervert!
A Nandy

Post by A Nandy »

Locate the New Post jpg image and change it to New Thread.....seems more appropriate as it starts a new thread !!

This one is for the News Editors.

Slight delay in rolling over the system to 2010. Will fix it in a day or so.
K_Rohit

Post by K_Rohit »

K_Rohit wrote:The BR Navy site on the INS Viraat mentions that the AK230 CIWS guns have been replaced with the Barak system.

http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/NAVY/Ship ... iraat.html

But this latest picture from the President's day at sea suggests that there is at least 1 AK-series CIWS present on the starboard side. There could be one on the port side too? Any pics confirming this? Should the BR page be updated to reflect this?

http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/NAVY/Gall ... 7.jpg.html

There seems to be a clear trend that the Indian Navy wants a missile-gun combo as the CIWS, as we have seen with the Barak+AK-series on the Delhi class, et al and the Kashtan on the Talwars, et al.
Gurus- any update?

On wikipedia, the BR links for the ex-Army chiefs that are present against the pages corresponding to each ex-army chief are broken.
Does any one here have the rights to edit those links so that they point to the correct BR pages?example:
On http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gopal_Gurunath_Bewoor, the link for BR is given as:
http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/LAND-FORC ... rmy11.html
The BR link is no longer valid
Natt

Post by Natt »

I could not find a write up of the Garud Special Forces..neither in the Special force link.nor in the Air Force Section.

Natt wrote:I could not find a write up of the Garud Special Forces..neither in the Special force link.nor in the Air Force Section.
Its here http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/IAF/Today ... aruds.html
Natt

Post by Natt »

Jagan wrote:
Natt wrote:I could not find a write up of the Garud Special Forces..neither in the Special force link.nor in the Air Force Section.
Its here http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/IAF/Today ... aruds.html
Thank you, still learning my way around.

In the BR News section, "2010" is not available as a search option!
Last edited by Jagan on 12 Feb 2010 04:50, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Fixed! We wont have the issue every year from now on.
vcsekhar

Post by vcsekhar »

The main site is dead today, whats going on? I tried a ping and get a prompt reply back from the server with a time of 200 ms or so.
I am obviously able to access the forums site. I also noticed that the web server and forum server are on different IP addresses so maybe thats why the forum is working and the www is not.
Any information?

chandrasekhar

I have a request for the admins. Please consider not using large watermarks like one used in Mig-29K induction ceremony. It totally destroys the picture. It would be ideal to write br name or logo at bottom right corner. However, I understand that perhaps it is not done for the fear of someone cropping it out. But at least all images can have "bharat-rakshak.com" written in small letters in the middle of the photograph (like in Aero India pics). It would at least do less damage to the otherwise beautiful pics than the large watermark.

Gaur wrote:I have a request for the admins. Please consider not using large watermarks like one used in Mig-29K induction ceremony. It totally destroys the picture. It would be ideal to write br name or logo at bottom right corner. However, I understand that perhaps it is not done for the fear of someone cropping it out. But at least all images can have "bharat-rakshak.com" written in small letters in the middle of the photograph (like in Aero India pics). It would at least do less damage to the otherwise beautiful pics than the large watermark.
I agree - Chalk it up to their unfamiliaritiy using the software . I have told em to move it down, make it more softer..and finally give us larger versions around 1200-1600 px wide. (Eggjample)

Yes, the watermark on tejas image is much better. Just hope that it could be made smaller in the future.

the news link
http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/NEWS/news ... wsid=12483

is suspicious.. admins please check virus/malaware content. thanks.

courtesy; my mcafee

DNA is a legitimate site.

no warning from my AV SW as well.

it was a warning from mcafee for me.. it may also be something configured by our network admin on certain sites. anyways, thx.
ad.bharatstudent.com/st?ad_type=ifra
me may cause a breach of browser security.
Why were you redirected to this page?

When we tested ad.bharatstudent.com/st?ad_type=ifra
me, it attempted to make unauthorized changes to our test computer by exploiting a browser security vulnerability. This is a serious security threat which could lead to an infection of your computer.

View our detailed report about ad.bharatstudent.com/st?ad_type=ifra
me Back to previous page

When trying to access "Vayu Shakti 2010 at Pokhran" gallery, the following error is displayed:

"Database Error

An error has occurred while interacting with the database.

Back to the Gallery"

I would really be grateful if this is rectified as soon as possible. I am really eager to see the pics.

Gaur wrote:When trying to access "Vayu Shakti 2010 at Pokhran" gallery, the following error is displayed:

"Database Error An error has occurred while interacting with the database. Back to the Gallery"
Thanks - its fixed now

Moved to http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/IAF/Today ... -Wing.html

Can you tell me the original source page where you got the link? may need to update it.

Admins,
While accessing J&K thread, I hit this message
Warning: Visiting this site may harm your computer!
The website at forums.bharat-rakshak.com contains elements from the site www.dailyexcelsior.com, which appears to host malware – software that can hurt your computer or otherwise operate without your consent. Just visiting a site that contains malware can infect your computer.
For detailed information about the problems with these elements, visit the Google Safe Browsing diagnostic page for www.dailyexcelsior.com.
Learn more about how to protect yourself from harmful software online.
I understand that visiting this site may harm my computer.
Pls check.

^^ I also received the same message on the J&K thread.. I just ignored it and clicked on "Proceed Anyway". Your system won't get infected by viewing the thread. It just appears that there is a link on that thread to a red flagged site.

http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/IAF/Image ... 1.jpg.html

Admins... found this photo without a caption... I just thinks its fair that at least those of us in BR should remember the men who fell in the line of duty...

JMHO...
Brad Goodman

Post by Brad Goodman »

Can some one make a list of all the acronyms used on the forum for newbies. Example

TSP
S-E-S
Gubo :rotfl:
Amritraj
Massa
Madam Jalebi
some are easy to figure out but others might not be. So if we have a list it will help new members and keep consistency in posting since they will use the same

Brad,
please post such requests on the forum feedback thread. As for your question, there is a BR acronyms thread. Please check that for answers. They're all already there.

marimuthu

Post by marimuthu »

Is there a problem in BR Mainpage. I am not able to access it though i can read the forums.

BR Main domain seems to be down (incl. the NEWS section)!
atreya

Post by atreya »

The IAF page on BRF, specifically these two:

http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/IAF/Units/Squadrons.html
http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/IAF/Units ... drons.html

They have this ad by Google, which is hiding out information in the top right corner. There is no option to close the ad. Kindly look into matter

There used to be Aircraft Specifications and Info pages of all aircraft in the IAF inventory in the old BR IAF section. I can't find them in the new BR IAF site.
Last edited by nachiket on 20 Apr 2010 22:20, edited 1 time in total.

atreya wrote:The IAF page on BRF, specifically these two:

They have this ad by Google, which is hiding out information in the top right corner. There is no option to close the ad. Kindly look into matter
Atreya,

I can see the issue with the first page where the 4 Squadron link is gettin obscured. but not the second page.

whats the screen resolution and browser version that you are using? So that i can test this again.

nachiket, the specs page is being re-vetted and reconstructed. as with everything it will take some time.

Jagan wrote:

Atreya,

I can see the issue with the first page where the 4 Squadron link is gettin obscured. but not the second page.

whats the screen resolution and browser version that you are using? So that i can test this again.

nachiket, the specs page is being re-vetted and reconstructed. as with everything it will take some time.
Jagan, I'm having the same problem as Atreya. My screen res is 1280x800. I'm using Google Chrome v4.1. Get the same problem with Firefox 3.6. AdBlock Plus seems to help.

can you guys post a screenshot?

Chrome 4.1 with Windows 7 with 1280 width gives me this

http://img697.yfrog.com/img697/2493/ful ... 200420.png

literally the same thing that I see with IE and Mozilla.

Jagan wrote:can you guys post a screenshot?

Chrome 4.1 with Windows 7 with 1280 width gives me this

http://img697.yfrog.com/img697/2493/ful ... 200420.png

literally the same thing that I see with IE and Mozilla.
I'm sorry. I was talking about this link.

nachiket wrote:[

I was talking about this link.
oh yeah thats definitely needs fixing.. working on it.
atreya

Post by atreya »

Jagan wrote:

Atreya,

Browser: Google Chrome Version 4.1
Screen resolution: 1024 X 768
Windows XP

I am just posting the screenshot of the 2nd link, as the first the link is being worked upon.
http://picasaweb.google.com/koolkris19/ ... 9476163618

Minor update to BR navy site
Rename project 28 ASW corvette to Kamorta class corvette, and add date of lauch of the first craft!

Jag, I've the same problem as atreya with the sqdn list.

firefox v 3.5.9

Thanks atreya and rahul

An year ago, we thought a bit ahead and decided that. 1024 resolution is going to go out of phase and the sites were designed for the 1280 res screens

But now with Netbooks and ipads. 1024 is coming back into play. We will try something out and see