Happy Independence Day!

Vipin_Upadhyay

Happy Independence Day!

Post by Vipin_Upadhyay »

Swatantrata Diwas Ki Hardik Shubhkaamnayen!!

Live webcast of 65th Independence Day can be viewed here

http://independenceday.nic.in/

Full speech of Hon. President Pratibha Devisingh Patil on the eve of 65th Independence Day --
"As I speak to you on the eve of our 65th Independence Day, I extend my warmest greetings to all of you living in India and overseas. To the members of our Armed Forces and Para-military forces who guard our frontiers, and our internal security forces, I extend special greetings.
http://www.hindustantimes.com/President ... 33330.aspx

Jai Jawan, Jai Kisan, Jai Vigyan!

Vande Mataram!

Re: Happy Independence Day!

Swatantra Dinotsava Subhakamkshalu to all Bharatiyas.

Bharata Mataki Jai!

Swatantrya Dinotsava Hardika Shubhakankshalu!

Swatantrata Divas ke Hardik Shubhkaamnayen!

Mera Bharat Mahan...

Have a happy and safe independence day my friends..!

Born to be Freeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

Jai Hind!

Happy Independence Day!

Vande Mataram!!!

Happy Independence Day. Warm wishes to all Indians.

Happy 15th August to every one in BR.
Vandemataram!
http://en.wikisource.org/wiki/Vande_Mataram

స్వాతంత్ర్య దినోత్సవ శుభాకాంక్షలు
happy independence day

Jai Jawan, Jai kisan, Jai Vigyan, Jai Hind

सारे जहाँ से अच्छा हिन्दोस्ताँ हमारा !

Happy Independence Day!
Sri

Post by Sri »

Happy independence day!!!

happy independence day to all

Happy Independence Day!!!

Happy Independence Day to all my biraders and ladies :mrgreen:

We want a powerful "LOKPALL" Not JOKPALL!

Please attend fasting on 16, 17, 18 Aug - 10am to 6pm!
at INDIRA PARK, HYDERABAD.

JAI HIND!

Happy Independence Day!
Anantha

Post by Anantha »

Happy Independence day and this article that appeared in NY Times in 1997 is appropriate for the day. Abe Rosenthal was stationed in India in the 50's by NY Times.

http://tv.nytimes.com/learning/general/ ... 5rose.html
Aug 15, 1997 NY Times
ON MY MIND / By A.M. ROSENTHAL

India, Mon Amour

When I was young in India . . .

Often, when I give myself time to think about my life the words pronounce themselves to me. Sometimes they startle me, the times I hear them when I thought I had been thinking about other things and other places. Until a few months ago I believed the words had to do only with the four years I spent as the New York Times correspondent in India, in the second half of the 1950's.

But in March, on one of many journeys back, I understood that what the words said to me was that I had felt young not just in the 50's but always since, whenever I returned to India. I realized that every return was like starting fresh -- the same excitement and zest, the same sense that not just a country but a whole world of infinite variety was spread out before me and that I had the delicious chance to learn about it, just by going forward to meet it.

All year, as India approached the 50th anniversary of its independence on Aug. 15, 1947, it has been getting unsparing analysis and criticism. I contributed a share.

But not today, and I hope never will I send her one of those black-bordered cards she's been getting for decades. They arrive with every birthday or crisis from Indians and foreigners.

Americans and Indian professionals share a particular delight in kicking their country around.

By now you may have guessed I am seized by India. It could be said I love India, so I say it.

I love India for personal reasons. It gave me decades of discovery, learning and friendships -- and lots and lots of stories to write. All I had to do was go out and scoop them up; for reporters a golden land.

I love India because when almost all newly independent countries became Communist or Fascist, or militaristic tyrannies that the world prettified by calling authoritarian, and through all the decades when the West poured its treasure into dictatorships and its contempt into India, the Indians stuck with democracy. That is the most personal reason of all for a foreigner who knows he himself could not thrive, and might not live, without it.

Some birthday mourners say yes, India has elections but elections themselves do not a political democracy make. No, but they certainly do when they are as free and regular as India's and when India adds freedom of press, worship, courts, speech, assembly and politics -- and a usually vote-smart public.

In the 50 years since 1947 Indians created a single nation where none existed before, out of 500 princely states. They built it despite religions at war with each other for centuries, and the death of a million people in the war of partition. They fashioned a steadily industrializing state, which produced a huge middle class. Its scientists, doctors and computer wizards bolster not only India but America and other Western countries.

Indians have not solved the old evils that still threaten their future -- poverty, illiteracy, the birth rate, violence between Hindu castes and among Hindu, Muslim and Sikh. And newer evils are eating into the national marrow: epidemic corruption and business regulation that Indian politicians keep promising to end but don't.

However, consider the West's record in the 50 years before 1947:

Two world wars. One Holocaust. Fascism and Communism. Unknowable millions slaughtered by Germany. Policies that helped Japan defeat China and then helped the Communists take over China. Nuclear bombs, two used (thousands still available). World depressions. Famines in Western colonies -- like India.

And now for a few world highlights since 1947, during India's half-century of self-rule.

Corruption: Italy and Russia. Religious and communal warfare: Bosnia. Racial tensions: France and Germany. Appeasement of dictators: Western arms and technology to Iraq, Communist China, etc. Famines: Mao bringing death by starvation to unknowable millions. Disease: AIDS and tobacco-cancer. Drugs, crime and cynicism: see everywhere. Exception: the U.S., which knows no poverty, disease, corruption or racial tensions.

After examining the above two paragraphs could we please wait before sending more black-bordered cards on India's birthdays -- wait say 50 more years?

Happy Independence day to all of you. May our dear nation progress in all spheres and where individual life/liberty and happiness thrive and prevail. Whether our nation was sone ki chidiya in the past or not but let's take/renew our vow to make one:

Jahan daal daal par sone ki chidiya karti hai basera
woh Bharat desh hai mera

Vande Mataram!
Last edited by Satya_anveshi on 15 Aug 2011 09:58, edited 1 time in total.

Vande Maatram!!

Vande Mataram!

I just got to know from wikipedia that Saare Jahan se acha was set to tune by Pandit Ravi Shankar. Padabhivandanam to him.
Vande MAtaram
vish_mulay

Post by vish_mulay »

Vande Mataram!

वन्दे मातरम्
सुजलां सुफलां मलयजशीतलाम्
शस्यशामलां मातरम् ।
शुभ्रज्योत्स्नापुलकितयामिनीं
फुल्लकुसुमितद्रुमदलशोभिनीं
सुहासिनीं सुमधुर भाषिणीं
सुखदां वरदां मातरम् ।। १ ।। वन्दे मातरम् ।
कोटि-कोटि-कण्ठ-कल-कल-निनाद-कराले
कोटि-कोटि-भुजैर्धृत-खरकरवाले,
अबला केन मा एत बले ।
बहुबलधारिणीं नमामि तारिणीं
रिपुदलवारिणीं मातरम् ।। २ ।। वन्दे मातरम् ।
तुमि विद्या, तुमि धर्म
तुमि हृदि, तुमि मर्म
त्वं हि प्राणा: शरीरे
बाहुते तुमि मा शक्ति,
हृदये तुमि मा भक्ति,
तोमारई प्रतिमा गडि
मन्दिरे-मन्दिरे मातरम् ।। ३ ।। वन्दे मातरम् ।
त्वं हि दुर्गा दशप्रहरणधारिणी
कमला कमलदलविहारिणी
वाणी विद्यादायिनी, नमामि त्वाम्
नमामि कमलां अमलां अतुलां
सुजलां सुफलां मातरम् ।। ४ ।। वन्दे मातरम् ।
श्यामलां सरलां सुस्मितां भूषितां
धरणीं भरणीं मातरम् ।। ५ ।। वन्दे मातरम् ।।

Translation by Sri Aurobindo

Mother, I bow to thee!
Rich with thy hurrying streams,
bright with orchard gleams,
Cool with thy winds of delight,
Dark fields waving Mother of might,
Mother free.

Glory of moonlight dreams,
Over thy branches and lordly streams,
Clad in thy blossoming trees,
Mother, giver of ease
Laughing low and sweet!
Mother I kiss thy feet,
Speaker sweet and low!
Mother, to thee I bow.

Who hath said thou art weak in thy lands
When the sword flesh out in the seventy million hands
And seventy million voices roar
Thy dreadful name from shore to shore?
With many strengths who art mighty and stored,
To thee I call Mother and Lord!
Though who savest, arise and save!
To her I cry who ever her foeman drove
Back from plain and Sea
And shook herself free.

Thou art wisdom, thou art law,
Thou art heart, our soul, our breath
Though art love divine, the awe
In our hearts that conquers death.
Thine the strength that nervs the arm,
Thine the beauty, thine the charm.
Every image made divine
In our temples is but thine.

Thou art Durga, Lady and Queen,
With her hands that strike and her
swords of sheen,
Thou art Lakshmi lotus-throned,
And the Muse a hundred-toned,
Pure and perfect without peer,
Mother lend thine ear,
Rich with thy hurrying streams,
Bright with thy orchard gleems,
Dark of hue O candid-fair

In thy soul, with jewelled hair
And thy glorious smile divine,
Lovilest of all earthly lands,
Showering wealth from well-stored hands!
Mother, mother mine!
Mother sweet, I bow to thee,
Mother great and free!
brat

Post by brat »

Vande Mataram!

शत कोटि-कण्ठ-कल-कल-निनाद-कराले
द्विशत कोटि-भुजैर्धृत-खरकरवाले,

बहुबलधारिणीं नमामि तारिणीं
रिपुदलवारिणीं मातरम् ।। २ ।। वन्दे मातरम् ।

Who hath said thou art weak in thy lands
When the sword flesh out in the TWO HUNDRED million hands
And HUNDRED million voices roar
Thy dreadful name from shore to shore?
With many strengths who art mighty and stored,

5000 years old and counting.

Vande Mataram.

Happy Independence Day.

chaanakya wrote:5000 years old and counting.

Vande Mataram.
chaanakya ji,

that needs a little backward revision. As per current theories, it could well be 10,000 years.

Look out for 10th January, 5114 BC! Then calculate at least 63 previous generations! :)

Jaya jaya jaya priya bharata janayitrI divyadhaatri
Jaya jaya jaya shata kOtiI nara naarI hRdaya nEtri

Jaya madIya madhura gaana cumbita suMdara caraNaa
Jaya jaya jaya ...

(devulapalli krishna sastry with slight alteration by me)

Bharata Mataki Jai!

Happy Independence Day.

Jai Hind. Swadhinatha Divas shubh kamanaien..

Times Now Program on the National Anthem

Happy Independence to all my fellow Indians. May we derive strength & inspiration from the day to keep up our fight against the evils that seek, to occupy our way of life & impose upon us the ills of their presence. While they may have made great inroads, time to thwart their incursions has not passed by yet. Time to regain our freedom, as was envisioned by our leaders in 1947.

A clip showing celebrations of India's independence in 1947, though also a small clip from 1956 at the end

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sjCuCmrc2cQ

South Korea too celebrates its independence day today. May there be greater co-operation between us for the mutual benefit.

Happy Independence Day to All BRF members!

Our thoughts are with the soldiers guarding our frontiers while we can enjoy this day.

Vande Mataram!

Happy Independence Day to all the Members! We pray for the safety of those who guard our interests at the frontiers, in the inhospitable mountains, in the plains, over the air and by the shore! May God give them and their families peace - physical, mental and spiritual!

Jai Hind!

The Aarti of goddess of independence...

My favourite stanza..

मोक्ष मुक्ति ही तुझीच रूपे तुलाच वेदांती
स्वतंत्रते भगवती ! योगिजन परब्रह्म वदती
जे जे उत्तम उदात्त उन्नत महन्मधुर ते ते
स्वतंत्रते भगवती ! सर्व तव सहचारी होते II

हे अधम रक्त रंजिते I सुजन-पूजिते ! श्रीस्वतंत्रते
तुजसाठि मरण ते जनन
तुजवीण जनन ते मरण
तुज सकल चराचर शरण
भरतभूमिला दृढालिंगना कधि देशिल वरदे
स्वतंत्रते भगवती ! त्वामहं यशोयुतां वंदे II

You signify the Liberation from the Cycle of Birth and Death,
O Goddess of Freedom, hailed as the Supreme Soul,
By the Yogis of the Vedas you are!
All that is most supreme and noble,
So very magnificent and oh, so very sweet,
O Goddess of Freedom,
All your companions are!

Soaked in the villain’s blood---You are!
Worshipped by noble men----You are!
O Goddess of Freedom,
The entire Creation surrenders unto you!
Life is to die for You,
Death is to live without You,
O Giver of Boons, We await the time when you shall
Clasp Our Motherland to your bosom!
O Glorious Goddess of Freedom, O Triumphant One,
We salute you!

Happy independence day...
Last edited by Atri on 15 Aug 2011 19:03, edited 1 time in total.

chaanakya wrote:5000 years old and counting.

Vande Mataram.
chaanakya ji,

that needs a little backward revision. As per current theories, it could well be 10,000 years.

Look out for 10th January, 5114 BC! Then calculate at least 63 previous generations! :)
I was going by Dhimmified version onlee. Else it is Kaliyuga .........

Happy Independence day

என்று தணியும் இந்த சுதந்திர தாகம்
என்று மடியும் எங்கள் அடிமையின் மோகம்...

Mahakavi Bharathiyar.

When will the thirst for freedom be quenched..when will the ignorant lust of our slavery die...

A very happy Independence day to all on and off BRF.