Bharat Rakshak

Consortium of Indian Defence Websites
It is currently 20 May 2013 12:15

All times are UTC + 5:30 hours

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 970 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25  Next
 Post subject: Re: BR Forum Feedback
PostPosted: 06 Feb 2012 00:18 

Mods, please note that Selamat Pagi, a poster in the China Military Watch thread, does not have a human sounding name. Selamat Pagi is Bahasa Indonesia for "Good morning" and I can't imagine anyone having that for a name.

PostPosted: 06 Feb 2012 01:12 

Oh! I thought the user name was a pastardization of Salamat Packee

PostPosted: 06 Feb 2012 12:04 

archan wrote:
The board software won't allow us to change your email to a yahoo/gmail etc. Those are blocked domains. Don't you have a company email or a bsnl/vsnl type ISP address?

so one can change the email to comcast/verizon type ISP address?

PostPosted: 07 Feb 2012 23:36 

yes.

PostPosted: 07 Feb 2012 23:58 

What is required to send a personal message to any board member?

PostPosted: 08 Feb 2012 01:57 

nukavarapu wrote:
What is required to send a personal message to any board member?

become a moderator.

PostPosted: 08 Feb 2012 02:10 

Archanullah ... I thought some senior members were able to send private messages, though they were not moderators! hmmmm

PostPosted: 08 Feb 2012 02:30 

nukavarapu wrote:
Archanullah ... I thought some senior members were able to send private messages, though they were not moderators! hmmmm

nope. No non-admin members have that facility.

PostPosted: 09 Feb 2012 08:35 

BRadmins,

How can I change my registration email address? It no longer exists!!!

PostPosted: 10 Feb 2012 12:00 

Location: Sovereign, Socialist, Secular, Democractic republic
Shouldn't there be a separate thread for Tibet ? Discussing Tibetan matters in PRC thread is like giving legitimacy to the occupation. PoK thread is separate from TSP one.

PostPosted: 10 Feb 2012 16:02 

Good afternoon. I would like to have my account deleted, and am unable to figure out how to go about it. Can admins help/delete my account please?

On that note, goodbye, BR. It was a (mostly) good eleven years!

PostPosted: 10 Feb 2012 16:42 

ASPuar wrote:
On that note, goodbye, BR. It was a (mostly) good eleven years!

I request you to reconsider, ASP. Something upset you in the Army thread? I can understand if you don't want to discuss it.

PostPosted: 10 Feb 2012 16:46 
Admins, Is criticising the apex court of the land allowed ? Looking at some of the statements on the discussion on Gen VKS dob issue wrt to the SC ruling and they make me uncomfortable...however as i am not a lawyer and actually dont know the nitty-grittys of law i will leave it to your judgement...thank you

PostPosted: 10 Feb 2012 17:21 

@Sriman: No, nothing in particular. But the armed forces image, honour, status have taken such a beating in the last ten years, that the country's (and militarys) focus has turned away from strategy, defence, and indias geopolitical posture, to simply trying to survive the humiliation heaped upon it. I fear we are in for a very bad time ahead. It hurts me to see our armed forces hurt. And I hate to have to fight off people who praise those who are out to harm our military on this forum and others. I'm done with it. It hurts too much to see my country going to hades.

I loved BR cuz I loved to dream about what we, as a nation had in store for us in our future. But the future looks very bleak to me. A nation which mistreats its soldiers is a nation that will soon suffer.

PostPosted: 10 Feb 2012 18:16 

ASPuar, please reconsider your decision. No matter where you go, BRF will remain the same. So will this situation in India. Forum members will be the only losers - your considerable knowledge and experience is very helpful to a lot of folks.

PostPosted: 10 Feb 2012 21:26 

ASPuar wrote:
@Sriman: No, nothing in particular. But the armed forces image, honour, status have taken such a beating in the last ten years, that the country's (and militarys) focus has turned away from strategy, defence, and indias geopolitical posture, to simply trying to survive the humiliation heaped upon it. I fear we are in for a very bad time ahead. It hurts me to see our armed forces hurt. And I hate to have to fight off people who praise those who are out to harm our military on this forum and others. I'm done with it. It hurts too much to see my country going to hades.

I loved BR cuz I loved to dream about what we, as a nation had in store for us in our future. But the future looks very bleak to me. A nation which mistreats its soldiers is a nation that will soon suffer.

I don't see how you plan to correct the wrongs by quitting BRF. If anything, you should be wanting to make more ASPuaresque people join the party and help others see reason. Yours is a wrong move I think.

PostPosted: 10 Feb 2012 22:25 

PostPosted: 10 Feb 2012 23:30 

Vivasvat wrote:
BRadmins,

How can I change my registration email address? It no longer exists!!!

On the top right corner, click on User Control Panel. On that page, click on Profile (in the Options menu on the left). Then under it click on Edit Account Settings.
Once you change your email, you need to verify the account. Your account will remain inactive until you do so. If you don't have access to that email account or it is not a valid account, your account stays deactivated.

PostPosted: 11 Feb 2012 05:34 

It is my casual observation that there has been and still is a lot of friendly fire lately in BR, with a confluence of divisive issues like:
  • Health of the LCA and N-LCA projects [IAF, IN, ADA and HAL]
  • Disregard of the F-35 for MMRCA [IAF, GoI, MoD, MoF, Rest of the World]
  • Date of the birth of CoAS [IA, GoI, MoD, SC]
  • Antrix-Devas deal [ISRO, GoI]
  • T-90 story [IA, DRDO, CVRDE, OFB] (I got into this one too!)
  • Koodankulam

When I take a step back and just look at this list, most of it seems like a lot of noise to me. The hard work being put in by the men and women in uniform or in various R&D institutions without time for a social life seems to have been drowned out by this noise very effectively.

It seems like this noise is wearing out forum members. For sure, I'd want members like ASPuar to stay. Phillip seems to attract friendly fire like a lantern attracts moths :mrgreen: But the lantern does provide illumination, and so does Phillip (sometimes....... Ok, often) :)

Shiv brings his club, bat and boot to every game, some times all at once.
Ramana throws everything up in the air to watch in guilty pleasure where things fall.
RahulM seems to be working diligently, as always, but is probably wondering if all his efforts are worth it.

I for one am glad to see the luminaries of this forum, not just the ones I've listed from the threads I frequent, continue their good work and/or antics.

It is my hope that 2012 will give us many reasons to celebrate - like successful GSLV launches, LSP-7 and N-LCA flights, CABS AEW&C news, Brahmos fired from Su-30MKI, news of Arihant on the prowl, and much more.

PostPosted: 11 Feb 2012 16:30 

Request withdrawn. I will point out to Dmurphy etc, that the question is not my trying to help things, or change things. POint was just that Im tired of arguing with people about things that they really should know in the first place.

PostPosted: 11 Feb 2012 19:56 

Hello,
is there any thread for just saying hello to avoid deletion ?

PostPosted: 12 Feb 2012 04:34 

We don't delete users for being inactive.

PostPosted: 12 Feb 2012 06:11 

internet commenting 101.

Before leaving a comment, ask yourself, ‘if I saw this posted on the internet, would I want to punch the author in the face?’

http://thedoghousediaries.com/2750

PostPosted: 12 Feb 2012 21:45 

Thanks Archan ji.
Rahul M sir, Sorry for a retard post. I don't have much experience of forum posting.

PostPosted: 12 Feb 2012 22:05 

err that was not directed at you. :)
just a general post that suits this thread's theme .
cheers.

PostPosted: 14 Feb 2012 23:05 
Hello Admins - Could one of you be kind enough to delete my id please ?

PostPosted: 15 Feb 2012 00:42 

internet commenting 101.

http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/5646 ... 33ee26.png

Before leaving a comment, ask yourself, ‘if I saw this posted on the internet, would I want to punch the author in the face?’

I cant even start saying how many times I did this.

PostPosted: 15 Feb 2012 03:02 

Virupaksha wrote:
internet commenting 101.

http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/5646 ... 33ee26.png

I cant even start saying how many times I did this.

I can 6,254,678 times :) in my mind at least.

PostPosted: 15 Feb 2012 05:35 

sunnydee wrote:
Hello Admins - Could one of you be kind enough to delete my id please ?

Done. Posts retained.

PostPosted: 15 Feb 2012 12:20 

There is no way to go to the BR Home from the forum pages.
Can we have a home link in the forums that can quickly take us to the BR home.

PostPosted: 15 Feb 2012 12:53 

:P i have told about this lots of times...but till date nothing has been done about it

PostPosted: 16 Feb 2012 05:06 

SS, you have a PM.

PostPosted: 17 Feb 2012 22:55 

Hi Everyone, my first post.Rahul, thanks for activating my account so fast. Been a lurker for almost a decade. Missed discussions on GDF so just for learning and reading that forum had to register as a member, hope I can contribute something as I keep learning from everyone. In particular, learned a lot from the bigwigs like Shiv garu, Ramana garu, SShridhar garu, Rangudu garu, Rudradev garu et al, just wanted to thank every one by name for enriching my life :) but obviously can't, too long a list.

BTW, question to webmasters, not sure if it is already answered, if so kindly ignore:
The right panel on the main web page 'Latest Discussions' only gets updated with military issues and History forum discussions, why is that? if it is about latest discussions, why not also include the discussions from strategy and technology forums?
Venu

PostPosted: 18 Feb 2012 00:02 

I have noticed something whenever I go to BR Image library the ad slots just below the header often throw up ads from haram communities including the below one... just an observation.. might not possible to control the ad placements which is done based on many parameters including content and context..

Image[/URL]

PostPosted: 18 Feb 2012 12:23 

Raa agints everywhere :eek:

PostPosted: 08 Mar 2012 12:18 

It was around 1998-99 that I started following BRF.

For the last few months, I have found myself not in agreement with the functioning of a certain moderator of this forum. I do not want to, at present, say anything more on this subject. Having said this, I must also add that on the positive side, moderators like, among others, Jagan, Ramanna, Archan etc. have been consistently fair over the years in their role as a moderator and it was also a pleasure personally knowing some of the moderators of this forum.

In the past few years I have also made some wonderful friends on this forum, as well as learned a lot from certain members on this forum, esp. members like Ramannaji, Dr SS, Arun, Niranjan (Arun and Niranjan left the forum a while back) etc.

Of course, one can never say never, but time has come for me to hang up my boots and say a goodbye to this forum.

PostPosted: 09 Mar 2012 11:45 

viewtopic.php?p=1244962#p1244962
tsarkar wrote:
Hyprocrite politicians like Uddhav & Raj Thackeray talk about Marathi Asmita
Shouldn't Uddhav & Raj Thackeray send their children to "Marathi Medium" municipality schools?
Such rascals with double standards mislead people and are the worst enemy of the Marathi speaking people and the Indian nation.

viewtopic.php?p=1253886#p1253886
arnab wrote:
I think we can look forward to such a future and Uddhav Thakre's children can emigrate :)

why do bengalis unnecessarily bring in marathi leaders into every discussion and try to paint them in a negative light. dont you have your own loony bengali netas? why dont you people invoke the crazy bengali left which has kept bengal and india backward for the last 60 years with its retarded economic policies. this same commie bengali clique shouts loudly thru its domination of the media and silences opposing voice which want to follow a sane economic policy. the demonisation of modi by the english media dominated by commie bengalis is shameful, while demographic invasion of bengal by millions of foreigners is never mentioned in any the article written by them. after the fair name of gujarat was tarnished, now maharastra is being targetted by these people. moderators should take note of this abhorrent behaviour of some bengali posters and educate them to stop such posts.

Last edited by Rahul M on 09 Mar 2012 13:26, edited 1 time in total.
negative stereotyping of a community is not acceptable on BR.

PostPosted: 09 Mar 2012 11:58 

Vikram,

I'm sure Arnab can respond but I'd like to point out that the Shiv Sena leader's name comes up because he was the mastermind in the stir in Jaitapur to stall the nuclear power plant to be built by the French. If you recall one person was killed in senseless violence. Contrast that with the far bigger KNPP stir in which no violence of this nature has occurred.

And besides, I wonder why you look at thing from a regional perspective? I'm a Bengali but if anyone asks me about my identity I'd say that first of all I'm an Indian and then a Bengali. And so I have as much right to praise or criticise a fellow Indian irrespective of where he or she comes from. And who says that Bengalis keep quiet about the "crazy Bengali Left?" I know for sure I've given the choices of gaalis about them not only on this forum but in other places as well. One needs to ask you, are you a Maharastrian first and then an Indian or the other way around?

One final question: Do you think being a Bengali makes one a suspect in terms of commitment to India and Indian nationalism? In case you didn't notice the nuclear debate transcends narrow regionalism and is a pan-Indian issue affecting every Indian citizen.

I think you need to look into history and see who could be considered one of the founding fathers of the Hindu Right before mentally branding every Bengali as a Leftist and suspect his or her commitment to India.

PostPosted: 09 Mar 2012 12:16 

amit wrote:
Vikram, I'm sure Arnab can respond but I'd like to point out that the Shiv Sena leader's name comes up because he was the mastermind in the stir in Jaitapur to stall the nuclear power plant to be built by the French.

check the comment by tsarkar in the navy discussion, what has thackeray done against the navy that bengalis abuse him as they please?

amit wrote:
If you recall one person was killed in senseless violence.

Police on the orders of congress govt killed the person. why is thackeray being accused of his murder? you should hold congress responsible for the incident but instead you are so full of hate, you blame innocent thackeray.

amit wrote:
I'm a Bengali but if anyone asks me about my identity I'd say that first of all I'm an Indian and then a Bengali.

I never mentioned you, I said "some bengali posters" indulge in these petty insults. dont take this personally

amit wrote:
And who says that Bengalis keep quiet about the "crazy Bengali Left?"

When has the english media run by commie bengalis ever written a critical article exposing the loony communist ideas and laws that have been imposed on rest of India. the commies are intent on breaking up indian society, has the media ever exposed them?

amit wrote:
I'm sorry but IMO if moderators are to at all look into this, I'd request them to look at your attempt to divide Indians into Maharastrians, Gujaratis and Bengalis.

typical bengali style response, accuse the victim of being criminal. this is what i was talking about. bengalis never take constructive criticism, always accuse others of something and try to escape from discussion when exposed. grow up.

amit wrote:
I think you need to look into history and see who could be considered one of the founding fathers of the Hindu Right.

again typical bengali attitude of trying to 'teach" others, how about learning to take constructive criticism for a change. bengal today is failed state becoz of people like you.

Last edited by Rahul M on 09 Mar 2012 13:33, edited 1 time in total.
personal attack and more negative stereotyping

PostPosted: 09 Mar 2012 12:24 

Vikram,

Your post is a rant and in very poor taste. As a result, I have no wish to comment on it, save to point out that you should re-read my post.

I edited this out:

I'm sorry but IMO if moderators are to at all look into this, I'd request them to look at your attempt to divide Indians into Maharastrians, Gujaratis and Bengalis.

And I did that before you posted.

I did so because I have no wish to tell moderators what they should and should not do.

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 970 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25  Next