There seems to be some problem with AAD data
AAD altitude of kill should be ~ 30 km
Range in anti-aircraft role should > 100 km
Lateral Acceleration for AAD is stated as 7g (?)
While for MRSAM its 80 g , that seems to be underestimation for AAD and overestimation for MRSAM.
At 274 Kg for 70 Km that data too seem to be underestimation.
And MRSAM has some advanced Active Seeker and AAD has inferior Russian RF seeker ?
MRSAM is a paper tiger , AAD is moved much beyond that , and Akash is production ready.
Some one desperately want to sell MRSAM and make money
sohamn wrote:
I don't understand why there is so much hype about MRSAM. Isn't this the Land version of Barak 8?
And 10000 crores include cost of dev and acquiring a certain number of squadrons of launchers and weapons itself.
I don't understand the problem here.
Akash takes 20 years and the range is 27 kms, cost is $500 million(only for dev), total amount including 2 squadrons is another $400 million = Total cost $900 million .
MSRAM will take 5 years, range will be 70 kms, cost including some squadrons = $2 billion.
And as per as NOVA getting the deal in india, I think it will be great since some private players in india will also get valuable experience in integrating missiles.
I think the MRSAM move is sound. Akash is clearly outdated/long in the tooth (command line guidance/ no active seeker) and is too late in the game. It is really an "Indian" missile with IAI bringing it's advanced seeker technology, which we lack and probably some of their guidance expertise.
This controversy is payback for the Congress for the ugly scene they created with Barak, a wholly unjustified witch hunt, where they even dragged in the former Chief of Naval Staff, all for the sole purpose of getting at George Fernandes as "revenge" for him going hammer and tongs at Rajiv Gandhi for Bofors.
Well, Karma is a beaatch. This toxic idiocy of playing politics with important and vital defense deals has to stop. India is shooting itself in the foot with all this kind of stupidity.
kobe wrote:
folks,
unless you are an internationally recognized missile expert, please do not play guessing games, and post juvenile personal opinion about indo-israel missile deal.
please please please, post relevant info with links and leave opinions, comparisons, guesswork, and goose-chase out of this PLEASE
K_Reddy wrote:
Letter to Josy Joseph. Reg: Missile range was scaled down to benefit Israel firm.
http://www.dnaindia.com/report.asp?newsid=1244938The reporting of defense related news in India is so pathetic that at India’s number one defense blog (
http://www.bharat-rakshak.com, try it sometime), the likes of you are referred to as the DDM (short for Desi Dork Media). This article of your, firmly puts you in the same category. Defense reporting, especially on issues of the nature in this article, requires a good technical understanding of the complex systems involved along with a familiarity of the working of the Indian military and its bureaucracy. You clearly have none of these.
The Akash missile system is unsuitable for your current defense scenario and should not even be mentioned here as an alternative to the MRSAM; it in no way qualifies as a contemporary weapons system despite whatever DRDO may say. It doesn’t even possess a seeker of terminal guidance (read it up on Wiki if these terms are information overload to you). This is not to say that the Akash is not a great achievement by the DRDO; we are all very proud of it and DRDO should be encouraged in every way in its future endeavors. But the Akash is long delayed and entered the game too late; the DRDO has matured since then. MRSAM falls in a whole other category and is comparable to the best in the world. The AAD’s primary design criterion is the engagement of ballistic missiles with aircraft interception only as a secondary role – not suitable for the IAF (Indian Air Force incase you don’t know). Israel has proved to be an exceptional partner to India in defense development. The alternatives SAM systems from other countries are unviable for India due to the geo-political involved in highly complex cutting edge weapons systems.
The international arms market is a very shady business and the Indian MOD, shadiest of all. I appreciate your news group’s work on the war room leak story and believe such scrutiny by a free and unbiased press is absolutely essential for any functional democracy. But you have jumped the gun to sensationalize this issue without adequate understanding or analysis. In the process you have caused an uproar in the media both here and in Israel, and turned the already charged the political atmosphere in India against the deal through baseless allegations, potentially sabotaging an extremely critical component of India’s defense preparedness.
The most glaring mistake in your article is that the IAF version of the MRSAM has a range of over 140 Km unlike the 70Km range naval version of the same system that you have confused it with. The MRSAM originated as the Barak 8. (The first Barak deal for the navy is a truly shady deal that no one has been punished for, but that’s another story.) The Barak 8 was India’s answer to air defense needs of its Navy. The IAF got involved much later after evaluating its own needs and finding the same system suitable. A common missile system for both arms of the armed forces is extremely desirable for reasons other than just cost/time saving. The MRSAM is thus the Barak 8 with a booster stage attached to give it enhanced range.
http://www.india-defence.com/reports-3416http://defense-update.com/products/b/barak8.htmEven if the IAF chooses to alter it original requirements, it would be doing so willingly as it deems the MRSAM proposal the best alternative available to it to get a system in place as quickly as possible. Have you analyzed the current air defense scenario in south Asia before you over looked the IAF’s urgency in this matter? Do you have any qualification to undertake such an analysis? Do you even understand just how limited the IAF’s current radar coverage is? (Itself a result of overdrawn procurement processes in the current MOD setup.) There are several institutions of higher educational that offer courses in strategic affairs, you may want to look up before you undertake such an endeavor.
Many feel that this system MUST be rushed thought even if serious corruption is uncovered as the need is so great and the current inadequacy so dangerous. We simply cannot afford another Danel howitzer episode that has thrown the Army’s preparedness into disarray. After a long drawn out trail process stretching over a decade (only in India), in which Danel came out the clear winner; the entire artillery arm of the Indian army was suspended in limbo after allegations over a small rifle deal with the same company surfaced. This was almost 10 years ago and the topic is still a hot potato no one wants to touch. Meanwhile our brave men in uniform are yet to get a modern howitzer and face a superior armed enemy on both frontiers today.
Do you have motives over the average idiot journalist looking to get ahead though shameless sensationalism? Did these sources of your seek you out or did you approach them during the course of your ‘investigation’? This could be an attempt to sabotage India’s defense preparedness by external elements or simple by competitors of IAI. This is not at all unlikely or outlandish; you are yet to understand just how shady the arms bazaar is. Your self-serving reporting may have already done immense harm to India’s defense at an extremely testing time in south Asia. I hope you’re proud of yourself.
Kishore Reddy
sarang wrote:
Very well man. Very nice article (letter to DDMites).

Singha wrote:
even if the Akash missile itself is replaced by newer things, why not design MRSAM from the outset to use the same set of vehicles, radars and control networks developed at great effort ?
only thing is the MRSAM will probably be hot launched from VL tubes like the
S300/Patriot.
p_saggu wrote:
Kishore Reddy-ji,
Very very well written. Hope this bangs some sense into DDM editors and journalists.
Very good Kishore. A few changes. It should be Denel not Danel. And Trials not Trail. And emphaise that the cancellation prompted by Renuka Chowdhary's allegation has effected IA readiness after the Mumbai terrorist attack.
Can you make it a little bit generic and send it to all the newpapers that had covered the issue?
Prem Kumar wrote:
K_Reddy wrote:
Letter to Josy Joseph. Reg: Missile range was scaled down to benefit Israel firm.
http://www.dnaindia.com/report.asp?newsid=1244938The reporting of defense related news in India is so pathetic that at India’s number one defense blog (
http://www.bharat-rakshak.com, try it sometime), the likes of you are referred to as the DDM (short for Desi Dork Media). This article of your, firmly puts you in the same category. Defense reporting, especially on issues of the nature in this article, requires a good technical understanding of the complex systems involved along with a familiarity of the working of the Indian military and its bureaucracy. You clearly have none of these.
The Akash missile system is unsuitable for your current defense scenario and should not even be mentioned here as an alternative to the MRSAM; it in no way qualifies as a contemporary weapons system despite whatever DRDO may say. It doesn’t even possess a seeker of terminal guidance (read it up on Wiki if these terms are information overload to you). This is not to say that the Akash is not a great achievement by the DRDO; we are all very proud of it and DRDO should be encouraged in every way in its future endeavors. But the Akash is long delayed and entered the game too late; the DRDO has matured since then. MRSAM falls in a whole other category and is comparable to the best in the world. The AAD’s primary design criterion is the engagement of ballistic missiles with aircraft interception only as a secondary role – not suitable for the IAF (Indian Air Force incase you don’t know). Israel has proved to be an exceptional partner to India in defense development. The alternatives SAM systems from other countries are unviable for India due to the geo-political involved in highly complex cutting edge weapons systems.
The international arms market is a very shady business and the Indian MOD, shadiest of all. I appreciate your news group’s work on the war room leak story and believe such scrutiny by a free and unbiased press is absolutely essential for any functional democracy. But you have jumped the gun to sensationalize this issue without adequate understanding or analysis. In the process you have caused an uproar in the media both here and in Israel, and turned the already charged the political atmosphere in India against the deal through baseless allegations, potentially sabotaging an extremely critical component of India’s defense preparedness.
The most glaring mistake in your article is that the IAF version of the MRSAM has a range of over 140 Km unlike the 70Km range naval version of the same system that you have confused it with. The MRSAM originated as the Barak 8. (The first Barak deal for the navy is a truly shady deal that no one has been punished for, but that’s another story.) The Barak 8 was India’s answer to air defense needs of its Navy. The IAF got involved much later after evaluating its own needs and finding the same system suitable. A common missile system for both arms of the armed forces is extremely desirable for reasons other than just cost/time saving. The MRSAM is thus the Barak 8 with a booster stage attached to give it enhanced range.
http://www.india-defence.com/reports-3416http://defense-update.com/products/b/barak8.htmEven if the IAF chooses to alter it original requirements, it would be doing so willingly as it deems the MRSAM proposal the best alternative available to it to get a system in place as quickly as possible. Have you analyzed the current air defense scenario in south Asia before you over looked the IAF’s urgency in this matter? Do you have any qualification to undertake such an analysis? Do you even understand just how limited the IAF’s current radar coverage is? (Itself a result of overdrawn procurement processes in the current MOD setup.) There are several institutions of higher educational that offer courses in strategic affairs, you may want to look up before you undertake such an endeavor.
Many feel that this system MUST be rushed thought even if serious corruption is uncovered as the need is so great and the current inadequacy so dangerous. We simply cannot afford another Danel howitzer episode that has thrown the Army’s preparedness into disarray. After a long drawn out trail process stretching over a decade (only in India), in which Danel came out the clear winner; the entire artillery arm of the Indian army was suspended in limbo after allegations over a small rifle deal with the same company surfaced. This was almost 10 years ago and the topic is still a hot potato no one wants to touch. Meanwhile our brave men in uniform are yet to get a modern howitzer and face a superior armed enemy on both frontiers today.
Do you have motives over the average idiot journalist looking to get ahead though shameless sensationalism? Did these sources of your seek you out or did you approach them during the course of your ‘investigation’? This could be an attempt to sabotage India’s defense preparedness by external elements or simple by competitors of IAI. This is not at all unlikely or outlandish; you are yet to understand just how shady the arms bazaar is. Your self-serving reporting may have already done immense harm to India’s defense at an extremely testing time in south Asia. I hope you’re proud of yourself.
Kishore Reddy
Hi Kishore,
Very good reply. You may want to make some spelling/grammar changes though, especially if you are sending it out to several newspapers. This may sound like nit-picking but unfortunately, many people tend to judge a book by its cover.
Some changes suggested below in bold:
"This article of
yours"
"
in case you didnt know"
"The
alternative SAM systems"
"are not viable for India due to the
geopolitics"
"the already charged
(remove the additional "the" here) political"
"mistake in your article is
in not realizing that the IAF version of the MRSAM has a range of over 140 Km"
"the MRSAM proposal
to be the best alternative"
"
overlooked"
"MUST be rushed
through"
"a hot potato
that no one"
"Did these sources of
yours seek"
"or
simply by competitors"
K_Reddy wrote:
Do any of you have this dolt's email ID. I posted it in the comment section but I does not appear on the page. Thanks Prem for the proof reading, I am dyslexic and useless with spellings. I agree this should be sent to every defense correspondent in India, if nothing else then to piss him/her? off. Please feel free to forward this letter to anyone that comes to mind. The defense reporting in this country is atrocious. The MOD needs to shortlist one qualified reporter from every major news outlet and do a workshop to impart basic knowledge on defense matters to the DDM. Thanks.
A Sharma wrote:
Israeli arms deal clean: AntonyThiruvananthapuram, April 3: A $1.4 billion missile deal India has signed with Israel is "clean" and contains a clause providing for its cancellation if it is proved kickbacks were involved, Defence Minister A.K. Anthony said Friday.
The deal, signed in February but made public only in March, is the biggest between the two countries. The Left parties have now alleged corruption in the deal for the supply of an anti-missile air defence system.
"This is an old issue. It was in 2002 that the decision was taken to replace our old missiles. From 2007, for two years this deal was discussed by various departments of the defence ministry and it even has a pre-integrity agreement," Antony told reporters here.
He pointed out that the pre-integrity agreement clearly states that the deal can be cancelled at any point of time if the government feels that kickbacks were involved.
"It can be revoked at any time. If the future government feels any such thing has happened in the deal, they can cancel it and take legal steps (against Israel Aerospace Industries that is executing the deal)," Antony said.
Asked to comment on former Indian Air Force chief Air Chief Marshal S.P. Tyagi working for a foreign company in New Delhi, he said: "I am not aware of it. Many retired defence officials do work after retirement."