Miscellaneous Pictures - Indian Armed Forces

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
member_20067

Re: Miscellaneous Pictures - Indian Military

Post by member_20067 »

Must be a Chinese one
member_27862

Post by member_27862 »

Prithwiraj wrote:Must be a Chinese one
its a Bofors 40mm Multipurpose
vipins

Post by vipins »

Army's Hall of Fame,Leh(Ladakh)

Any body has photos of the OP Baba Shrine at the snout of Glacier? If yes, then could you share. TIA.

Old pics of Grad during Kargil:

SanjayC

Post by SanjayC »

deejay wrote:Any body has photos of the OP Baba Shrine at the snout of Glacier? If yes, then could you share. TIA.
http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/LAND-FORC ... s/OP-Baba/

^^^ Thank You sir, forgot to search at the most obvious place!

An 32 dropping 1000 pound dumb bombs - pic by Wg Cdr R. S. Chauhan, IAF

http://img215.imageshack.us/img215/3412/an32bomb.jpg

Not posting the pic. Only linking the url to avoid any issues.

Notice the gun ??
member_28539

Post by member_28539 »

^^^No offense but this looks funny! :lol: Sorry if OT

Marten wrote:Isn't that a regular pump action shotgun? What am I missing here?
BSF was told to use shotguns ans stun grenades to minimize deaths by UPA regime, at least in the Assam-BD border, as they were considered non-lethal weapons :roll: . Idiots didn't care that while the death stats may have come down (to look good in newspapers), the suffering would have increased manifold. Thank God those morons are gone.
sattili

Post by sattili »

Victor wrote:BSF was told to use shotguns ans stun grenades to minimize deaths by UPA regime, at least in the Assam-BD border
Source?

That is 12 bore pump action shot gun made by OFB, it has several uses including the "counter ambush", Riot control etc

http://ofbindia.gov.in/products/data/weapons/wsc/6.htm
The 12 Bore Pump Action Gun has been specially developed for use as a security weapon. It is a single barrel breach loading weapon superior to 12 Bore DBBL. It is provided with a tubular magazine, which holds 4 nos. of 12 Bore Cartridges and is placed parallel to and below the barrel. Extraction, loading and cocking of the cartridges take place in a single 'pump action' by operating handle, sliding along the magazine. Due to rapid reloading by pump action and spread of shots, it is an ideal weapon for counter ambush tactics.
APPLICATIONS :
Banks security
•Anti insurgent applications
•Industrial security
•Personal security
•Sporting Arm
Anti Riot role by use of Rubber Ball non-lethal ammunition
Apparently civilians with shot gun licensee can buy the 20inch barrel length version of this gun instead of the DBBL that they had to contend with earlier.
vaibhav.n

Post by vaibhav.n »

^^ It is fairly common knowledge along the Assam, Tripura and WB Border. Esp during election time, BSF had been asked to restrict themselves to Canes and Non-Lethal gear. This when the cattle smugglers where themselves heavily armed, BSF boys lost their lives in the process.

>>Joshi saar, why is it funny?

Maybe he does not think the helmet is macho enough...
member_20067

Post by member_20067 »

Hi .. I have a question --- does Indian Railway has a special livery for the rakes carrying troops..? check the video below...

member_28305

Post by member_28305 »

Funny.. there was a Motor bike rider on the Platform... :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
atreya

Post by atreya »

@ ^^ Must be someone who got his bike transported by a train or is going to the end of the platform to do the same.

sibyt wrote:Funny.. there was a Motor bike rider on the Platform... :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
i guess it wouldn't have been funny if he had to push the bike for 0.75 to 1 km on the platform to reach the goods wagon at the end of the train.
member_20067

Post by member_20067 »

Courtesy: Militaryphotos.net
Interesting set of images from HAL workshop--- not sure about the dates--- interesting to note--- Dhruv Mark 3- Hawks being assembled, an apparently new Jaguar--? or deep overhauling--- ??? and Mirage-2000 Upgrade being carried out..?.. lots of work on existing Mig-21 fleet
member_20067

Post by member_20067 »

I did a quick search on the tail number -KF 204 of the mirage-2000...

here it is during Aero India 2003

member_28539

Post by member_28539 »

Marten wrote:Isn't that a regular pump action shotgun? What am I missing here?

Joshi saar, why is it funny? BSF posts are shelled too.
JE Menon wrote:>>Joshi saar, why is it funny?

Maybe he does not think the helmet is macho enough...
Arre! Marten & Menon saar...do not want the stick of mods over discussion on a Pictures only forum but I fail to understand the utility of a shotgun in open field conditions. Full respect for BSF onlee saar! and Menon Saar I am aware of the kind of vortex that helmet debate is so...I would stay lightyears away from it. It's like an instant ticket to warning on BRF because of the direction it tends to take. :mrgreen:

Only intersting story about a helmet told to me by a senior in school who served with 23RR in the vally about his loss of direction in a forest area & subsequently running into a Afgan terror bunny whom he bludgeoned to death with his helmet. :rotfl:

Ok cool chillax....

We are very sensitive about helmet issues here...

Prithwiraj wrote:
Gentlemen, if you notice @ 2:30MM, a number of wheeled APCs are being transported. I know IA had a number of OT-64 SKOTs, but I thought they were all decommissioned long back... any info on this gurus.

Me thinks, this Jaguar is a new Jaguar and not one being upgraded... the primer, new wheels, landing gear as well as the open sections are ALL Spic and Span... But I haven't seen any open source info on HAL building new Jags in years... even news about the upgrade (DARIN III) with Honeywell engines has been only bad news.. any chailwala info?
sattili

Post by sattili »

Shrinivasan wrote:
Prithwiraj wrote:
Gentlemen, if you notice @ 2:30MM, a number of wheeled APCs are being transported. I know IA had a number of OT-64 SKOTs, but I thought they were all decommissioned long back... any info on this gurus.
If you look at 0:59 and again at 2:11 you will see Zil-131 6X6 trucks. These Russian trucks were used as Grad MLRS launch trucks, their command module trucks and Radar carriers. I believe Army has retired these trucks and many of them were auctioned off. Some of my buddies who were trying to pick up the retired army jeeps stumbled upon these trucks listed in lots with other jeeps and gypsies. I think this video might be very old and it was uploaded only in 2010 by some Indian Railway enthusiast.
tushar_m

Post by tushar_m »

Shrinivasan wrote:
Prithwiraj wrote:

It look more like SA-8 Gecko & not OT-64 SKOT

SA-8 Gecko

OT-64 SKOT

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SA-8_Gecko

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/OT-64_SKOT

Is that a swivel mount machine gun on the Cheetah

sattili

Post by sattili »

Prithwiraj, those pics are a mix of Georg Maders pics from 2013 at ACIG so regular Mirage overhaul, Jag ditto and Ajai Shuklas pics on the Hawk IIRC.

सिन्धु देह धर त्राहि-त्राहि करता आ गिरा शरण में
चरण पूज दासता ग्रहण की बंधा मूढ़ बंधन में
सच पूछो तो शर में ही बस्ती है दीप्ति विनय की
संधिवचन संपूज्य उसीका जिसमे शक्ति विजय की

Nizam surrendering Hyderabad to Sardar Patel at end of Operation Polo, 1948..

^^Excellent pic. Thanks Atri.

Thank You Atri Ji, This is for keeps.
arminius

Post by arminius »

Atri wrote:Image

...and to think, that the progeny of those who were oppressed now elected a CM who refuses
to host tricolor. When will we learn from history.

tushar_m wrote:
Shrinivasan wrote: Gentlemen, if you notice @ 2:30MM, a number of wheeled APCs are being transported. I know IA had a number of OT-64 SKOTs, but I thought they were all decommissioned long back... any info on this gurus.
It look more like SA-8 Gecko & not OT-64 SKOT
Thanks, I too noticed that they had Six wheels... IA has a small number of them, these are probably on AD duty for the strike formations. Can they keep up with MBTs?
member_20067

Post by member_20067 »

You can also see tent being pitched on flat bed -- carriage carriers..!! For a short period.. it must be fun to be in a tent under open sky in a moving train--- .. :-p

Atri wrote:Image

Nice Historical pic, but the caption is misleading. It looks more like the Nizam greeting Sardar Patel on arrival. And Patelji returning the greeting. Granted the Nizam's body language is of submission etc.. but surrender is a strong word. As the Hindu said :
The best picture of the times that captured one of the decisive moments in Hyderabad's chequered history said it all. Here was "His Exalted Highness, Lt. Gen Muzaffar-ul Mulk Wal Mumalik Nizam- ul-Mulk, Nizam-ud-Dowla, Nawab Sir Mir Osman Ali Khan Bahadur, the Faithful Ally of the British, Nizam of Hyderabad," arguably one of the richest men in the world, nearly bowing with a traditional "namaste" before the redoubtable first Indian Union Home Minister, Sardar Vallabhai Patel, at the Begumpet Airport.
http://www.thehindu.com/2004/09/17/stor ... 840400.htm

If you need to look up surrender pics, then one of El Edroos greeting Gen Rajendra Singhji would suffice..
member_20067

Post by member_20067 »

nice montage of Hyd surrendering

Sonugn

Post by Sonugn »

^One of the tanks/APCs has a trishul looking sign on it :-)

What does IA's field ration look like. There ware pictures of American,Russian, Italian and Japanese field rations in National Geographics.
rkhanna

Post by rkhanna »

I assume different Geographies have diff rations..but here is an example of Indian MREs