Miscellaneous Pictures - Indian Armed Forces

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Miscellaneous Pictures - Indian Military

have eaten MRE... quite tolerable...nothing to beat a hot meal :-)

IIRC during Kargil days there was pic of jawan eating field ration. Two chapati,bit of sabji and an uncut big onion. That was quite depressing. There was also news about new type of field ration for solders based on Ancient Indian formulae being developed by DRDO.

Shakarpara and gud chana while away from base during Kargil war.

rsingh wrote:IIRC during Kargil days there was pic of jawan eating field ration. Two chapati,bit of sabji and an uncut big onion. That was quite depressing. There was also news about new type of field ration for solders based on Ancient Indian formulae being developed by DRDO.
In an analysis of a battle in Vietnam where the US was defeated, one of the reasons for the dismal performance of US GIs was that they were built bigger and needed much bigger rations while the small built Viet Cong could survive for days on what appeared like "nothing".

indian MRE ( meals ready to eat) is quite good..not very tasty but quite good on nutrition, energy bit...
Ganesh_S

Post by Ganesh_S »

rsingh wrote:What does IA's field ration look like. There ware pictures of American,Russian, Italian and Japanese field rations in National Geographics.
Here is what it sounds like
http://www.vigyanprasar.gov.in/Radioser ... 20Food.pdf

Found a bunch of interesting IN pics from BR archives:

INS delhi with its towed sonar shown:

R class destroyer with inclined Brahmos launchers. I did not know 2 replaced one styx launcher

Elegant looking harbour craft:

Aditya G wrote: R class destroyer with inclined Brahmos launchers. I did not know 2 replaced one styx launcher
Interesting to see that they have not replace all the 4 Styx with Brahmos.. Why this mixed load of 2 Styx and 4 Brahmos when Styx has lesser range, lesser speed and overall kill power. the only reason I can think of is to have land attack Brahmos and ASHM Styx as a mixed load out, or could it be due to weight limitations? Gurus please weigh in...

That's INS Mysore, not Delhi (though a Delhi class destroyer).
joygoswami

Post by joygoswami »

Cross posting from the Small Arms Thread. :)
joygoswami wrote:Amogh spotted with Sagar Prahar Bal 8)

^ the sailor belongs to the icg ....

Aaah the helmet ... oohh the helmet ....

donning a tin foil and ducking behind the next scooter to hide from the inbound frothing in the mouth adminullah :mrgreen: :rotfl: :twisted:

Picklu wrote:Aaah the helmet ... oohh the helmet ....

donning a tin foil and ducking behind the next scooter to hide from the inbound frothing in the mouth adminullah :mrgreen: :rotfl: :twisted:

+1 picklu ji, almost posted but then ran from it. And yet, can't look beyond the helmet.
rkhanna

Post by rkhanna »

^^^ Not just the "Helmet" per se. We also seem to have a problem getting out troops the correct size it seems.

Maybe bulk buying of a single size got a discount? :?:
pushkar.bhat

Post by pushkar.bhat »

rkhanna wrote:^^^ Not just the "Helmet" per se. We also seem to have a problem getting out troops the correct size it seems.

Maybe bulk buying of a single size got a discount? :?:
Or perhaps small lean head size..

Shrinivasan wrote:
Aditya G wrote: R class destroyer with inclined Brahmos launchers. I did not know 2 replaced one styx launcher
Interesting to see that they have not replace all the 4 Styx with Brahmos.. Why this mixed load of 2 Styx and 4 Brahmos when Styx has lesser range, lesser speed and overall kill power. the only reason I can think of is to have land attack Brahmos and ASHM Styx as a mixed load out, or could it be due to weight limitations? Gurus please weigh in...
Could be because of 2 reasons, cost and size of Brahmos. Brahmos being a longer missile by 2.5 meters probably cant fit in those 2 launchers and not every target may deserve an expensive Brahmos.
dinesh_kimar

Post by dinesh_kimar »

Aditya G wrote:^ the sailor belongs to the icg ....
Maybe, cause he is guarding a hovercraft.......only avbl with ICG.

Aditya_V wrote:Could be because of 2 reasons, cost and size of Brahmos. Brahmos being a longer missile by 2.5 meters probably cant fit in those 2 launchers and not every target may deserve an expensive Brahmos.
Styx missile per-se might be of lesser length than the Brahmos but it launcher is bigger (to accomodate a missile with folable wings etc. Also it has a humungous warhead and hence its weight is just shy of 2.5 T as compared to the 3 T of Brahmos. overall not a very compact missile (which is ok considering its vintage). Also as you might have noticed they have installed TWO Brahmos in place of each Styx launcher which has been removed. Can our multi-purpose replenishment tankers reload these Brahmos and Styx launchers or does the ship need to come to a port?

Prithwiraj wrote:nice montage of Hyd surrendering

Can anyone translate the roadside poster at 00.18? Looks like Neyroo whimpering under a looming grim reaper.
rkhanna

Post by rkhanna »

Yudh Abhyas 2014

P Chitkara

Post by P Chitkara »

The helmet strikes again......

What is the standard issue nowadays and which ones our guys are using if they are not wearing the standard issue?
rkhanna

Post by rkhanna »

India and Standard Issue is an Oxymoron :lol:

rkhanna wrote:India and Standard Issue is an Oxymoron :lol:
As per pushkar bhatji, the head is non standard :(( :(( :(( :mrgreen:

Folks. Use Google. Average male US head circumference is 57 cm. For Indian males it is 55 cm Head shape (length vs breadth also matters)

See this paper about aircrew helmets for IAF
http://medind.nic.in/iab/t09/i2/iabt09i2p44.pdf

57 cm head circumference comes to Large/Extra large for Indians
rkhanna

Post by rkhanna »

Well cant they be procured in a smaller size then? Such large orders must be manufactured to the order right? Whether being bought In India or else where?

However when our powers that be can do this to our Special Forces i dont have much hope that their is an Iota of Intelligence being put into such things..IMO somebody just watches a hollywood movie and says me wants

Bluish Grey Cammo in the desert? How do the operators even agree to put such rubbish on i dont understand.
http://m.ak.fbcdn.net/sphotos-f.ak/hpho ... 5961_o.jpg
vaibhav.n

Post by vaibhav.n »

Is that an ATGM mounted on the turret? Or something else only?

Pic 1

Pic 2

Added Later: Pic 2 shows an Engineer Recce Vehicle and what looks like a vanilla BMP-2 variant. Both the T-72's seem to have the same contraption. Could the tanks belong to an Armoured Engineer or Assault Engineer Regiment?
d_berwal

Post by d_berwal »

vaibhav.n wrote:Is that an ATGM mounted on the turret? Or something else only?

Pic 1
no ATGM
its a snorkel

Pic 2

Added Later: Pic 2 shows an Engineer Recce Vehicle and what looks like a vanilla BMP-2 variant. Both the T-72's seem to have the same contraption. Could the tanks belong to an Armoured Engineer or Assault Engineer Regiment?
no the tank does not belong to engineers
VishalJ

Post by VishalJ »

Yudh Abhyas 2014 by my mate Angad ► https://www.flickr.com/photos/angad84

Indra-2014 anti-terror drills held near Volgograd

VishalJ

Post by VishalJ »

More interesting stuff by my Mirtas:

rkhanna

Post by rkhanna »

Is it me or are we using rear echelon troops for the US / Russo training ex? Just going by the Kit visavis what we have seen in previous exercises.

rkhanna wrote:Well cant they be procured in a smaller size then? Such large orders must be manufactured to the order right? Whether being bought In India or else where?

However when our powers that be can do this to our Special Forces i dont have much hope that their is an Iota of Intelligence being put into such things..IMO somebody just watches a hollywood movie and says me wants

Bluish Grey Cammo in the desert? How do the operators even agree to put such rubbish on i dont understand.
http://m.ak.fbcdn.net/sphotos-f.ak/hpho ... 5961_o.jpg
The photos do not match the standards that you have in your mind. For you bad pictures means incompetent people. You are asking, "If they don't look the part how can they play the part?" Maybe you watch Hollywood, take your cues from there and believe that Hollywood type realism is what you want to see in these pictures so you can feel reassured? These guys may be saying 'Me wants" after watching Hollywood - but they are obviously unable to match Hollywood standards. If they looked as realistic and slick as in Hollywood or propaganda pictures we would feel that we are not in the hands of incompetent bums and sleep easy, right? Maybe they are not watching enough Hollywood. If they did, their act would be slick.

while this is not a discussion thread - the US army camos are certainly not blending in during yudh abhyas 2014

me thinks they are also incompetent
sattili

Post by sattili »

And we should practice goddamn democracy in the special forces, so that they can "refuse" to put on such rubbish. May be SF guys should get a grant so that they can go buy all cool looking camo on internet and show off in these exercises
member_28797

Post by member_28797 »

sattili wrote:And we should practice goddamn democracy in the special forces, so that they can "refuse" to put on such rubbish. May be SF guys should get a grant so that they can go buy all cool looking camo on internet and show off in these exercises
You do realize those hollywoodish props are just props right? Whining just for the sake of whining is idiotic. Camo's job is to keep soldiers safe not to set an example in latest camo fashion :rotfl:
dnivas

Post by dnivas »

narendranaik wrote:
sattili wrote:And we should practice goddamn democracy in the special forces, so that they can "refuse" to put on such rubbish. May be SF guys should get a grant so that they can go buy all cool looking camo on internet and show off in these exercises
You do realize those hollywoodish props are just props right? Whining just for the sake of whining is idiotic. Camo's job is to keep soldiers safe not to set an example in latest camo fashion :rotfl:
you should check your sarcasm meter..tap tap.
Nandan D

Post by Nandan D »

I thought this was because it was used for the firing trials of the Brahmos.
It's probably not cost effective to replace Styx with Brahmos on all of the Rs.
SagarAg

Post by SagarAg »

IAF Parade Full Dress Rehearsal Air Warriors march past with the mighty C-17 in the background

They missed the Navy chief who is right next to Tendulkar, they even missed the Air Chief and the Marshal of the Airforce... but lo and behold... extensive coverage of Tendulkar... I definitively appreciate him taking part in the event eventhough he is only an honorary Gp Cpt but this adulation to the exclusion of others is a tad too much.