Indian Army : News and Discussion

Re: Indian Army : News and Discussion

Ajay Sharma wrote:
Sanku wrote:All the Nepal govt is going to do is push more Gorkhas to seek domicile in India, which IMVHO is a good thing.
Easier said than done. However, surely a very preferred option to have Nepalese settle in here than our friendly neighborhood Bangladeshis :lol:
If you think Nepalese are any friendlier than Bangladeshis ,then think again.Ofcourse the ones who serve in Indian security forces should be granted Indian citizenship(should they desire it) at the earliest.

Nepali's can anyway work/settle in India, India has a open border with Nepal and yes, barring the middle Nepal, most Nepali's like India a lot. Especially when they are in India.
member_22906

Post by member_22906 »

^^ Agreed.

darshhan, there are more vicious instances of anti-India activities happening from BD than Nepal. More importantly, the more Nepalese serve in IA, the more ambassadors for India-Nepal solidarity you create back there. In any case, if we start getting senti with everyone in our neighborhood, then very soon we'll surely find some grudge against even Bhutan...
anjan

Post by anjan »

Ajay Sharma wrote:More importantly, the more Nepalese serve in IA, the more ambassadors for India-Nepal solidarity you create back there.
This is strictly speaking not true. As many people in the Army will attest to the "familiarity breeds contempt" phenomenon.
alexis

Post by alexis »

keshavchandra wrote:A beautiful illustration on dis balanced (revenue and capital components) Defence allotment by Commodore (Retd) C Uday Bhaskar
The Indian defence expenditure is broadly divided into two heads - the revenue and capital components - with the latter accounting for acquisition of new equipment and inventory items, as also modernisation of existing platforms. Ideally, a 50:50 ratio, or even a marginally greater amount for the capital head, would be the most desirable norm - but in the Indian case, since the military machine is largely manpower intensive, the opposite pattern prevails - meaning that the revenue component is higher.

Thus for the current fiscal - 2012-13 -- the total revenue expenditure is budgeted to be Rs 113,829 crore, while the total capital outlay is pegged at Rs 79,578 crore. Paradoxically, in the last fiscal, 2011-12, the capital expenditure was planned for a total of Rs 69,199 crore - but the actual expenditure as announced in the budget documents presented on March 16 was of the order of Rs 66,143 crore. In other words, the defence ministry surrendered Rs 3,056 crore as unspent from its capital head - and this is reflective of the inability to arrive at swift and objective decisions that will contribute to laying a strong foundation for capacity-building of the Indian military profile.

But then the question that arises is where did the increased expenditure occur over the last year?
The increase from BE to RE for the last fiscal, 2011-12, is of the order of Rs 6,522 crore and this was expended in the revenue component, which along with the unspent capital amount of Rs 3,056 crore offers an insight into the trends that characterise India's defence expenditure.
The lack of a clear strategic focus is evident when the spending pattern of the last decade is examined in some detail. On the one hand, the revenue expenditure is closer to 60 percent against the capital head, even when allocated amounts remain unspent - except in the last fiscal - which was an exception to the general trend. The lack of a strategic underpinning is evident when a very anomalous situation obtains, in that capital funds are returned as unspent when the Indian military across the board is in dire need of modernisation of critical equipment and platforms.
Since India is raising additional mountain divisions, the revenue component will increase and is not necessarily a bad thing. Only surrendering of funds for capital outlay is to be deplored.
nelson

Post by nelson »

nelson wrote:Heads start to roll in the Adarsh scam case. Retired Brig placed under arrest.
http://www.thehindu.com/news/states/oth ... 016180.ece
Bigger heads now, with Maj Gen retd A R Kumar being placed under arrest.

http://www.indianexpress.com/news/adars ... al/926459/
member_22906

Post by member_22906 »

anjan wrote:
Ajay Sharma wrote:More importantly, the more Nepalese serve in IA, the more ambassadors for India-Nepal solidarity you create back there.
This is strictly speaking not true. As many people in the Army will attest to the "familiarity breeds contempt" phenomenon.
But then again anjan, the key point is that whether the majority are brand ambassadors or the variety that you are mentioning.

In any case contact gives you scope to do something about a situation. No contact or connect leaves you to the mercy of politicians and babus to do nothing about it
nelson

Post by nelson »

nelson wrote:
nelson wrote:Heads start to roll in the Adarsh scam case. Retired Brig placed under arrest.

Maj Gen retd T K Kaul arrested. Next would be the Lt Gen named in FIR.

http://www.hindustantimes.com/India-new ... 28846.aspx

nelson wrote:
nelson wrote:{quote="nelson"}Heads start to roll in the Adarsh scam case. Retired Brig placed under arrest.
http://www.thehindu.com/news/states/oth ... ece{/quote}

Maj Gen retd T K Kaul arrested. Next would be the Lt Gen named in FIR.

http://www.hindustantimes.com/India-new ... 28846.aspx
And don't forget to throw away the keys. :evil:
anjan

Post by anjan »

Ajay Sharma wrote:But then again anjan, the key point is that whether the majority are brand ambassadors or the variety that you are mentioning.

In any case contact gives you scope to do something about a situation. No contact or connect leaves you to the mercy of politicians and babus to do nothing about it
That's open to debate. There is a large dependence on the repatriated pensions in Nepal. That too breeds resentment. At any rate I'm not sure goodwill is really reason enough to go about recruiting nationals of another country. Ultimately they are as good or as bad as any other regiment. It wouldn't do anything to the capability of the Army if they did leave. There is historical background on why the British chose to recruit them and create a dependency. I don't believe those reasons exist any more and it makes no continuing sense to use recruitment as a substitute for foreign policy. It's also worth asking if would we like it if the tables were reversed. As I recall there were quite a few voices in support on this forum when the GoI stopped ex-servicemen from being recruited by the Americans as combatants on their various adventure trips to the Middle East. Definitions (and signatories of such) of mercenaries per the GC not withstanding.

For what it's worth there is an active and powerful Gurkha regimental interests group in the Army. They'll fight it tooth and nail.

Was this posted earlier? Amazing video of the Yudh-Abhyas with US/Indian soldeirs and SF, Clarity is amazing.
ManuT

Post by ManuT »

^not this one.

Liked the tod-phod range

Once the Head of Army changes, will these arrests can be reversed?
nelson

Post by nelson »

Kanson wrote:
Once the Head of Army changes, will these arrests can be reversed?
no. they should be out before the next chief assumes duty.
tejas

Post by tejas »

High def. video of joint exercise operation Yudh Abyas 2012 done by an Umrikan soldier. Amazing clarity.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=pl ... QcIphhr2iQ

(posted here for want of a suitble mil thread)

there is no lack of suitable threads, all you need to do is look.
stop posting news items all over the place just because you can't be bothered to locate the proper thread.
Rahul.
Last edited by Rahul M on 23 Mar 2012 13:06, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: OT deleted.

Former army chief J J Singh worked out the plans to make way for Bikram Singh to take over
By M G Devasahayam
18 Mar 2012
M G Devasahayam Posted 14-Mar-2012
Vol 3 Issue 10
As is well known, bureaucracy is an organization of non-elected officials of a government or organization who are rule-bound and function under institutional norms and standards. Adhocracy operates in opposite fashion and cater more to individual or group agenda rather than functioning under institutional norms and standards.

In the last few years, Indian Administrative Service, the bulwark of India’s bureaucracy, has been mutating itself into an agenda-led adhocracy. This ‘liberalisation’ agenda, co-promoted by Government, Multi-National Corporations and India’s Corporate Sector, include 100 percent FDI by real-estate; land-grab license for SEZ; surrendering tribal forests to mining giants; billions worth of nuclear bonanza and feeble civil liabilities for energy behemoths; ramming GM-cotton and food down people’s throat; mortgaging India’s farming to US interests through ‘Knowledge Initiative in Agriculture’ and ‘Agriculture Cooperation and Food Security’ MoUs; globalizing retail trade and grand entry of foreign universities into India!

The age controversy of Gen. V K Singh may open a Pandora’s Box
This agenda is in vast variance with the ‘growth aspiration’ the country started with at independence. In the vision of the Father of the Nation, Independent India would be sui generis, a society unlike any other, in a class of its own.

Gandhi’s India would not go for gigantic, FDI-funded development projects and large-scale industry and mining, typical of market-led growth under capitalism. Instead, India would pursue an equitable, participatory, small-is-beautiful, need-based, inclusive, balanced development while conserving nature and livelihoods. It is to nurture this socio-economic ethos that IAS was established and covenanted in the constitution.

The present-day neo-liberal agenda is just the opposite, seeking an India of market-making MNCs, millionaires and billionaires, a middle class of 300 million providing that market and the rest of 800 million Indians surviving as barely literate, malnourished multitude. This agenda is being driven by a new breed of adhocracy within the IAS that has come about through inbreeding and rank favouritism.

Ever since UPA government under Manmohan Singh assumed power (2004) two kinds of adhocracy have been shaping up. One was born of the ‘clan-within-clan’ inbreeding being practiced by a ‘linguistic-parochial’ group that at one point of time occupied almost every top-job in Delhi’s corridors of power.

The other is the ‘loyalist-core’ put together to implement the neo-liberal agenda. With the active participation of PMO patriarchs, spread of ‘clan-within-clan’ adhocracy was fast and furious capturing several key positions of ‘might and money’. And barring honourable exceptions, other coveted positions went to agenda-men anointed by the ‘Moneyed and the Mighty’.

Bureaucracy was meant to administer through laid down rules. The ICS was called the steel frame, precisely for this reason. ICS men viewed any deviation from the rules as a misdemeanor. Its successor, the IAS endeavoured to keep up the standards. Though there were hiccups, the bureaucratic system by and large ensured that men/women with merit were not denied their due place in promotions and postings.

Adhocracy on the other hand is being nurtured through blatant violation of processes and procedures to ensure that the top positions of Government, Joint Secretaries, Additional Secretaries and Secretaries, are held only by the clansmen and their agenda-abiding loyalists. Such adhocracy, which is antonymous to rule-bound bureaucracy, has substantially skewed and compromised the decision making process and standards. The result is for all to see; policy failure in almost all fronts, suffocating corruption and near total collapse of governance.

As if by intent, adhocracy seem to have permeated the Army Headquarters also as it did in the civil citadel. Sometime in 2005, out of the blue, the then Chief of the Army Staff (General JJ Singh) initiated the unique ‘look down policy’ to determine the ‘line of succession’ to the top position in the Army.

He was not looking for immediate succession but was looking deep-down to the year 2012 and found one favourite - Brigadier Bikram Singh. The Chief also realised that events and dates relating to the then Major General VK Singh, who was sure shot to become Army Chief in 2010, needed to be manipulated if Bikram Singh was to succeed him in 2012!

Once this sub-agendum was set, things started moving. Someone in the MS Branch ‘discovered’ VK Singh’s UPSC application form mentioning 1950 as his year of birth and this was the ‘brahmastra’ to be used to truncate and restrict VK Singh’s tenure as the Chief of Army Staff (COAS) to a two year period, so that the passage could be cleared for Bikram Singh to take over in May 2012. The massive documentary proof establishing 1951 as General’s YoB was ignored. A dismal charade of seeking ‘acceptance’ of 1950 from VK Singh as his YoB was played out.

But there were more hurdles. At that point of time, this favourite was not a front-runner as there were other officers ahead of him, who needed to be ‘eliminated’ at the COAS’s level itself with a bit of deft manoeuvring. A list was prepared, nick-named ‘Op MOSES’ which implied that the Chief would part the waters like in the ‘Ten Commandments’ for Bikram Singh to smoothly walk through! Like a family tree in reverse, Op MOSES listed few potential threats - Brigadiers and Major Generals of higher calibre - who were dealt with and pushed out one by one either through supersession and non-empanelment! For this purpose even ‘records of service’ were tinkered and tampered with and some even made to disappear.

The fallout of this crude manipulation indulged in by the military adhocracy was the sordid age-row of VK Singh that has rocked the nation. The actual DoB is a matter of record as rightly observed by the Supreme Court. But what is of concern is the manner in which the controversy was first stoked, then fanned and finally, brought into play. This calls for thorough investigation.

This is all the more urgent because it is alleged that TKA Nair, Principal Secretary to the Prime Minister was behind this brazen manoeuvring. Well before the age controversy came out in the open, Nair is reported to have told his confidants that VK Singh had to go in May 2012 because the ‘Prime Minister had assured his wife that General Bikram Singh would be the next COAS’. Incidentally this gentleman was the chief mentor of the civil service adhocracy!

We have seen the neo-liberal agenda for creating and nurturing the civil adhocracy. But what is the agenda for the military adhocracy? This begs the question. But corruption and carpetbagging could be a possible answer. It is believed that there are IB reports about massive kick-backs in the still-born Eurocopter deal and a top Army brass has reportedly transferred 22 million Euros (Rs. 145 crores) to his relative in Paris through hawala post. But unfortunately for him the deal fell through and he had the consternation of returning the moolah! As if to compensate, this man was rewarded with a coveted civil position with powers to award thousands of crores worth of construction contracts! Now, with huge weapon/equipment purchase deals either being processed or pending in the Army HQ a pliable adhocracy is needed to serve the MNC agenda.

With the state turning into a non-functioning kleptocracy, corruption is the common denominator between civil and military adhocracy. Of late we have seen several cases of swindling and misappropriation in which General Officers have been court-martialed and dismissed from service. Many more must be lying buried.

Sensing danger the civil-military adhocracy has combined to hound out General VK Singh who does not fit into the adhocracy mould. Bulk of the media including ‘reputed’ scribes and defense analysts partnered with the kleptocrats in this despicable task, which indeed is the real tragedy!

(M.G. Devasahayam is a retired IAS officer, who had served in the Indian army before he joined the civil service. He had taken part in the Indo-Pak War of 1965 and counter insurgency operations in Nagaland. The views expressed in the above article are based on information from his sources in the defence establishment.)

There are still good people left seems like.

Very important video. Interview of Gen V K Singh. A candid interview.

Must watch and be studied.. Please read between the lines what Gen. V K Singh says.

Sanku wrote:^^^

There are still good people left seems like.
There are always good people. Only thing is as mentioned, they are left at the periphery or out of the system. Some quotable quotes from that article by Devasahayam
As if by intent, adhocracy seem to have permeated the Army Headquarters also as it did in the civil citadel
Sometime in 2005, out of the blue, the then Chief of the Army Staff (General JJ Singh) initiated the unique ‘look down policy’ to determine the ‘line of succession’ to the top position in the Army.
Is it ?

The present-day neo-liberal agenda is just the opposite, seeking an India of market-making MNCs, millionaires and billionaires, a middle class of 300 million providing that market and the rest of 800 million Indians surviving as barely literate, malnourished multitude. This agenda is being driven by a new breed of adhocracy within the IAS that has come about through inbreeding and rank favouritism.
Ever since UPA government under Manmohan Singh assumed power (2004) two kinds of adhocracy have been shaping up. One was born of the ‘clan-within-clan’ inbreeding being practiced by a ‘linguistic-parochial’ group that at one point of time occupied almost every top-job in Delhi’s corridors of power.

The other is the ‘loyalist-core’ put together to implement the neo-liberal agenda. With the active participation of PMO patriarchs, spread of ‘clan-within-clan’ adhocracy was fast and furious capturing several key positions of ‘might and money’. And barring honourable exceptions, other coveted positions went to agenda-men anointed by the ‘Moneyed and the Mighty’.
In short, Army Chief post is one such coveted post.
nelson

Post by nelson »

General loses more than face for wife's facials

http://indianmilitarynews.wordpress.com ... s-facials/
nelson

Post by nelson »

Ex-army vice chief gets interim anticipatory bail

http://articles.timesofindia.indiatimes ... urety-bond

the US army's fatigues look more TFTA than India's, I must say.
Roperia

Post by Roperia »

Atri wrote:
Thanks for sharing. A very important interview indeed.

Gen Singh lays out some very important points -

1. The people behind the propaganda that Army is spying on the Raksha Mantri consist of both current and former military personnel. He says that some of them have relations with international arms syndicate and some are discontent about the current investigations (probably related to corruption) against them.

2. Both RM and Gen Singh were in favor of taking actions against people involved in Sukna scam (counter to the recommendations by the Army HQs at that time).

3. Clear enunciation of army's stand on why the central government should take a slow and cautious approach in Kashmir and not cave into Omar Abdullah's political grandstanding.

4. Again a professional opinion on why Army should not be used against Naxalites. It is a socioeconomic problem and govt should resist its desire to seek a military solution everytime a group picks up arms when they feel exploited.

Bravo Gen Singh!!!

Thanks for sharing. A very important interview indeed.

Gen Singh lays out some very important points -

1. The people behind the propaganda that Army is spying on the Raksha Mantri consist of both current and former military personnel. He says that some of them have relations with international arms syndicate and some are discontent about the current investigations (probably related to corruption) against them.
Just for my info What action has the Gen taken against such current and former military personnel with relations with international arms syndicates?

Part two of General VK Singh Interview.. Again, highly recommended..
nelson

Post by nelson »

Gen V K Singh answers a lot of questions that arose on this forum, from distant past to as recent as yesterday. For the sake of credibility, a lot of these questions could have been answered aptly by him only. Here he does, from the horse's mouth...

http://www.thehindu.com/opinion/intervi ... 223585.ece

Excerpt relating to the Age Scam.
General Vijay Kumar Singh, Chief of Army Staff, recently in controversy over his date of birth, speaks to Vidya Subrahmaniam on how “the drama” played out, the state of the Army, the Chinese threat and the Maoist problem.

After such a glorious innings in the Army, why do you have to make such a controversial exit?

I never got into any controversy. If you are talking about the age issue — I don't see it as a controversy at all — it should have ended when it came up first in 2006 because the rules are very clear. When you enter government service, it is the matriculation certificate that counts and there my birth year is 1951. The Army's Adjutant-General's branch, which keeps records, also shows the year as 1951. So where was the controversy? This is a manufactured controversy, created by people with all kinds of interests.

What kinds of interests and lobbies?

All kinds of interests are involved. Suddenly there was a blitz in the media and papers began to float around. Where did they come from? When you put your foot down and insist you want to institute good practices in the system, when you don't allow people to take the organisation for a ride, some people are going to be sidelined. This is one method of hitting back.

There is the Adarsh lobby, there are various lobbies of equipment dealers who realised we were not going to accept bad quality equipment.

You said in an interview that a lot of money was paid to orchestrate the controversy?

Yes that is absolutely true. Some people went to the extent of fabricating a birth certificate. Lot of money exchanged hands for this.

Are some of these people serving in the Army?

Some are serving, some have retired. FIRS have been filed against some these people. You will see in the coming months that things will slowly unravel. As time passes, we will know who the sutradhar of this drama is. I will come to know and so will you

The Supreme Court observed that you twice accepted your year of birth — in 2008 and 2009 — as 1950. And if you allowed a senior to pressure you into committing a wrong, could the country have been safe in your hands?

When an issue comes up, and you are told this is the date we are going to mention, so please accept for now and we will sort it out later because right now the file has to go through, what do you do? At that level, could I have started a fight? No. So I said, you have given me your word, and here is my acceptance — it was a conditional acceptance.

But this assurance was not in writing, right?

When your superior, on whose orders you go to war, gives you an assurance, what are you supposed to do? Do you say, sorry, I don't believe you? Civilian life is different. In the Army you can be hauled up for disobedience. I had no choice.

When the Government was unyielding on your year of birth, why did you not let the matter be? After all you only had a year left?

This was never about my tenure. It was about principles. It is about establishing that the most authoritative document on Date of Birth is the matriculation certificate. My counsel told the Supreme Court that if the Government accepted 1951 as my year of birth, I'd quit immediately. What if it was my name that was changed? Should I have accepted it?

The accusation against you is that you accepted the wrong date of birth in order to use your seniority to get a promotion and then insisted you were a year younger so you could retire later.

That is absolutely wrong. In the Army promotions are not decided on DoB. In our time we had different boards for different ranks – Lt. Colonel to Colonel, Colonel to Brigadier, Brigadier to Major-General and so on. Your promotions are decided after you have been selected by the board and this is purely on merit. And then your seniority counts which is already fixed at the time you pass out of the Indian Military Academy. DoB comes in only when you are due to become a core commander and here what is important is that you have a residual service of three years. When you become an Army commander, you need to have a residual service of two years. So where was my advantage? By agreeing to 1950, I was actually putting myself at a disadvantage.
nelson

Post by nelson »

I have continued to say that we have not seen the end of the Age Scam imbroglio. The unraveling shall happen sooner or later. Sad, but interesting times ahead.
nelson

Post by nelson »

IMHO, this will snowball in to something unpleasant, that we have not heard or seen before.

http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/a ... epage=true
nelson

Post by nelson »

We have some thing to cheer about too.

http://www.rediff.com/news/slide-show/s ... print=true

oops 14 cr thats a huge amount for a person dawing a salary of 12L/Annum. These look like the tatra vehicles contract.

nelson wrote:IMHO, this will snowball in to something unpleasant, that we have not heard or seen before.

I'm afraid the Chief is risking harming his own credibility with statements like these. Either he should have spoken about this sensitive matter as soon as it happened, or if (& when) the Defence Minister disposed off his complaint. Now it gives out an impression that the grapes are sour and that Gen VKS wouldn't have said this, had he been allowed to serve until 2013. [I'm not judging here]. So the public is now treating this as no different from "your word v/s the other guy's word".

Earlier, he put out an official statement from the Army naming certain ex-officers and suggesting that they conspired against him. This kind of libel (true or not - I'm not judging) is adversely going to affect only the man in the office, not the ex-generals far removed from the public eye. While his intentions are unmistakably correct, his methods don't show him or the office in good light. The average Indian is now looking at this situation as a "General v/s general", which has never happened before in the history of the Army. Gen VK Singh should not have used the official Army press since he very well knows that in a couple of months, Gen Bikram Singh is going to use the same press to disown everything that Gen VKS had claimed earlier! So then, the Army would be left looking like a fiefdom of the guy who heads it.

My personal suggestion to him would be to wait a few months, then come out with these incidents while giving guest lectures or talks etc, where he could include these things while making a point on the bigger picture - corruption in the Army. A media interview would only give him so much time and in the end the newspapers would flash a story not different from what you see today "I was offered a bribe of Rs. 14 crore, says the Army Chief".
Last edited by Nikhil T on 26 Mar 2012 08:04, edited 1 time in total.

^^^ IMHO, he needs to use the COAS pulpit to forcefully make his point about rampant corruption.

Those who are talking about sour grapes would have said the same thing even if he had waited until he retired.

Cross post as a very important interview

Indian 155 gun (39 caliber?) is ready and has already fired 450 rounds. Army is satisfied. Next version of 45/52 caliber will be made by DRDO+OFB combine. For other technology (ULH??) tech will be imported (guns will be made in India) and tech will be absorbed with help of Pvt sector. Note:- He placed lot of emphasis that tech (not guns) should be imported. 25 year plan for artillery modernization approved.

Must watch after 13 min, it seems VKS reading BRF, note his comments at min 17.30 min to 18.30 super, If you are BRF must watch

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kxx3GtGT ... r_embedded[/quote]
nelson

Post by nelson »

nelson wrote:IMHO, this will snowball in to something unpleasant, that we have not heard or seen before.

Congress puts onus on Army Chief. Lt Gen retd Tejinder Singh also had done so. VKS will pass the onus on to AKA, who in all probability will raise his hands and say to VKS, 'man you are on your own'. If VKS can get the FIRs he pointed to in his interview, fine. Else, he is going to be sacked in quick time.

http://zeenews.india.com/news/nation/br ... 66173.html

This came after General Singh, in an interview to national daily 'The Hindu' said, "he was offered a bribe worth Rs 14 crore by an equipment lobbyist in order to have a tranche of 600 sub-standard vehicles of a particular made cleared for purchase.
General Singh also said that 7,000 of those of which were already in use
in the Army had been sold over the years at exorbitant prices.
What is the vehicle in question? Is it the Mahindra Rakshak or perhaps Ashok Leyland tractors?
nelson

Post by nelson »

TATRA (6x6, 8x8) HMV. Country of origin - Czech. Something like these...

http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/LAND-FORC ... rucks.html
nelson

Post by nelson »

Antony orders CBI probe, post haste.

If what is spoken about in the environment is to be believed, the matter of offer of bribe to VKS, has been reported in writing to MoD, with all its confidentiality. The affected elements in MoD did not allow the matter to be investigated any further, then.