ASPuar wrote:
First of all, drop the sanctimonious "we".
ASPuar, If it was your dog that I ran over yesterday, then I am really sorry for that. If it wasn't I see no reason for the hostility.
Secondly, do tell me, how much is spent on the average soldier, and how much on average pandu, please? Give me the benefit of your vast fiscal knowledge.
18.5 lakh per annum average/grunt - specialist training not included. Don't ask for the source.
Not sure what youre asking. If youre not sure how being unarmed and untrained, yet stationed in insurgency areas, etc is dangerous then Im not sure how I can educate you.
Your Sam Menakshaw line threw me off. Insurgency in a big way is mostly late 80s and later. I am still not sure about the reasons Sam combatised the support elements but never mind.
What I say is true, and the attacks on the army are beginning to turn into an ad hominem.
Why does the army and its backers feel this sense of siege? Who is out to get them? And why?
My dear fellow, the average army soldier pays taxes just like you. Unless you've started paying such vast sums of tax money that you are single handedly funding the entire army, please dont tell me how "your money" is funding the whole operation.
Got it. In this republic only the Tatas and Birlas have a right to accountability. I am the hoi polloi. Thank you for showing me my place.
These soldiers also protect this nation state, and ensure its safety so that you can earn your salary, income, whatever. Much better that you question why "your money" is being stolen every day by Babus, Pandus, etc.
No. This is as good a question as the one you are suggesting. Waste and corruption in the army is not intrinsically holier than in the civvy street.
But you wont. Because you're scared of them. The moment you or I tell the cop in nearest thana that it is run with "my money", he'll show us how "our money" also paid for the lathi that is delivering a thrashing to you or me. The babu will show you how much he appreciates "your money", and how you step outside the door that your money paid for, and wait till kingdom come for your building permission to come through, or you marriage certificate, or your drivers license, or your passport. But go ahead. Be the great protector of "our money", old boy. After all, the army is an easy target for your ilk. Much easier than the average clerk or pandu.
My "ilk". Yes of course the great unwashed, the "99%".
In the interim, you can tell me why you have no right to question the IB/RAW's use of "your money"? Just because "your money" paid for the army
Why is IB/RAW beyond the ambit? I understand some necessary need for opsec (just like the forces need some leeway for opsec). But what makes IB/RAW so special? Or if the argument is that since they "get away" with things so should the army?
I'll bet not 10 paise from your taxes went to the army, given the vast social sector expenditure), does it belong to you? It doesnt.
I just brought a large bag of chips. I am sure I made more than 10 paise worth of involuntary donation to the army.