Indian Military Aviation- September 29 2013

rrao

Re: Indian Military Aviation- September 29 2013

Post by rrao »

Pratyush wrote:I recall a trainer prototype called Swati in the late 80s or early 90s. Any one knows what happened to it.

The BRF has a page on the HTT 34. It is a good looking design.

http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/IAF/Image ... 5.jpg.html

I knew I was missing some thing.

pratyush,read the DGCA report on accidents page 8. swati made by BHEL crashed killing the pilot!!!!!

http://dgca.nic.in/accident/acc93.pdf

rrao wrote:pratyush,read the DGCA report on accidents page 8. swati made by BHEL crashed killing the pilot!!!!!

http://dgca.nic.in/accident/acc93.pdf
What has this got to do with the current discussion ???

Victor wrote:I hope the IAF makes the Pilatus themselves as they had earlier stated. It would be a monumental blunder to hand it over to HAL after this. Anyone but HAL.
good luck with that. They won't see a PC-7 MkII emerging with any indigenous content for a longgg time.
Beyond assembly from CKDs, which is a relatively simple exercise, the IAF would need to figure out how to keep the aircraft available for the next 30 years. Let the IAF negotiate with each foreign PC-7 sub-contractors (as HAL is being made to do by Pilatus) and pay for all that from its own budget. Will it TOT produce these parts too? Is it a production agency or an air-force? Good luck!

We seem to be forgetting that the IAF manufactured the HS728 "Avro" in the Kanpur base depot without problems before HAL took over the factory. Why can't they do it again. Anything is better than having a vindictive and irresponsible HAL mucking things up. If not IAF then some private company should do it. Let HAL focus on productionizing LCA. Who cares about ToT for a basic trainer.
rkhanna

Post by rkhanna »

just got an NDTV news flash. a Searcher UAV has crashed.
SanjayC

Post by SanjayC »

Make-in-India: Plan to develop 5th-generation fighter aircraft
India plans to kick-off its own fifth-generation fighter aircraft (FGFA) development project this year to build on the expertise gained in the long developmental saga of the indigenous Tejas light combat aircraft.

Top defence sources on Wednesday said the preliminary design stage of the futuristic fighter called the advanced medium combat aircraft (AMCA), with collaboration among IAF, DRDO and Aeronautical Development Agency, is now "virtually" over.

"Once the project definition and feasibility is completed in the next few months, the defence ministry will go to the cabinet committee on security for approval. It will require Rs 4,000-5,000 crore for the initial design and development phase," said a source.

The aim is to fly the first twin-engine AMCA prototype by 2023-2024, which will be around the time deliveries of Tejas Mark-II fighters will be underway. IAF is slated to get its first Tejas Mark-I in March this year, over 30 years after the LCA project was first approved in August 1983. But the Tejas Mark-II jets, with more powerful engines, will start to come only by 2021-2022, as was first reported by TOI.

"After Tejas-II, we have to move ahead to a fifth-generation-plus AMCA. Basic design work of AMCA as well as presentations by five to six global aero-engine manufacturers is over. Simulation modelling is also in the works," said the source.

India, of course, is also trying to sort out its differences with Russia over their proposed joint development of the Indian "perspective multi-role fighter" based on the latter's under-development FGFA called Sukhoi T-50 or PAK-FA.

India, in fact, had told Russia it cannot wait till 2024-2025 to begin inducting 127 of these single-seat fighters, which will entail an overall expenditure of around $25 billion. But India also wants its own home-grown AMCA project in the long-run for strategic and economic reasons.

A swing-role FGFA basically combines advanced stealth, supercruise (capability to achieve supersonic cruise speeds without use of afterburners), super-maneuverability, data fusion and multi-sensor integration on a single fighter.

But the 20-year long development of the American F/A-22 "Raptor", the only fully-operational FGFA in the world today, has shown that such a project is an extremely complex and costly affair.

The US shut down the production of Raptors in 2012 after inducting 188 of them at an overall cost of $67 billion due to huge costs, technical glitches and time overruns. The US is now finally moving towards operationalizing a more advanced FGFA, the F-35 "Lightning-II" joint strike fighter. With the project yet to overcome all technical and software glitches, the overall cost for the planned induction of almost 2,500 such fighters stands at around $400 billion.

IAF gets first overhauled Su-30 MKI
BENGALURU: In first overhauled Su-30 MKI (SB 027) aircraft reached the Indian Air Force (IAF) on Friday. Su-30MKI is currently the backbone of fighter fleet with IAF, has long needed an overhaul.

In an official press release issued here, HAL said: "After the overhaul, the Su-30MKI aircraft (SB 027) is ready for IAF's use. The serviceability levels of Su-30 MKI fleet will enhance greatly resulting in strengthening of air defence capabilities."

The twin-seater, long range, multi-role, air superiority aircraft are being overhauled at HAL's Nashik facility. More than 10,000 lines of unique part numbers, amounting to nearly 75,000 quantities are processed, reconditioned, repaired, overhauled and assembled back on the aircraft during overhauls.

"After successful testing of various systems on ground and in air, as per stipulated flight profiles, the aircraft is certified to fly. At present, the TTL (Total Technical Life) of the aircraft is 6000hrs/25 years," the press note said.

The press note, quoted the defence minister as having said: "...India would continue to need fighter planes such as Su-30s due to a not-so-friendly neighbourhood."

HAL Chairman R K Tyagi said that the Su-30 overhaul facility at HAL Nashik is one of its kind in the world and has great export prospect as nearly 10 countries have Su-30 fleets.

Kartik wrote: hogwash. Tell that to the manufacturers who have 0-0 ejection seats on their trainers-
and those include Pilatus, Embraer, KAI, Beechcraft, Airbus and now soon to be on the TAI Hurkus as well. 0-0 implies that the pilots have the option, if ever required, to eject from a stationary aircraft, something the IAF pilots on a PC-7 MkII won't be able to do if God forbid, such a situation ever arose.

Apparently all of those manufacturers don't know that simply remaining strapped in the cockpit of an airplane that maybe burning or may veer out of control under 60 knots is a better option than ejection. :roll:

Just because the IAF diluated requirements to ensure the PC-7 MkII qualified doesn't mean that 0-0 ejection seats are only required for fast jets.
What you call "hogwash" is what the IAF has said, not me. It was a point that was taken apart while Shuka got his pants taken off. Of course, according to some the IAF view is hogwash when compared to the gospel mouthed by the likes of Shukla who wanted IAF to buy F-35 instead of Rafale. :roll: Get real--he goes where the lifafas point him.

But let's take this apart so we are clear about it and hopefully lay it to rest.

First, 0-0 as you say is ejection from a stationary aircraft but the first zero is ALTITUDE. The IAF's original 0-60 requirement asked for "on the ground traveling at 60 kmph (37 mph) or above". A basic trainer with no bombs, rockets or ammunition is extremely unlikely to suffer the paki fate of spontaneous combustion while standing still. There is greater chance of this happening in an armed trainer however. Also, what are the chances of serious injury if a trainer "crashes" while it is moving on the ground at 37 mph or less?

Next, ejection is a very violent event where a pilot can be subjected upto 15G force. Broken or compressed backbones are common, not to mention injury to legs, hands, shoulders & heads during ejection and upon landing. These can be career-ending injuries and worse. 0-0 ejection is even more violent since it ejects the pilot much higher with greater force. A number of things need to happen in quick sequence for a successful ejection--canopy is blown off by explosive bolts followed in a split second by an explosion on the ejection rails and a rocket firing the seat out. Then the delayed explosive detachment of the seat from the pilot so that it falls away followed by the drogue chute (not in 0-0) and the main chute. If any of these things don't happen perfectly, we have a high probability of serious injury or death. Much more so in a 0-0 situation where there is barely time for the pilot to recover and position his feet before he hits the ground in 5-6 seconds. Only a high degree of experience and training can prepare one adequately for this.

Now consider the pilots who fly the PC-7 II--they are all total rookies out of NDA and the ones who will be training as fighter pilots are not even selected yet. Many will be women.

Finally, the cost of 0-0 is far more than 0-6 ejection seats. Given the risk-reward, it is absolutely in line with international norms to choose 0-6 for an ab-initio trainer. The Galeb and Tucano, which have many variants like the Pilatus, use MB8SL 0-6 ejection seats. Only the advanced and armed models like Super Tucano have 0-0 and since the HTT-40 was being planned as an armed aircraft also (bombs, guns, rockets), HAL suggested standardizing on the 0-0.

Bottom line, IAF had 0-0 faith in HAL capabilities based on several decades of experience, particularly with the Deepak which by all accounts was a sub-optimal design and unsuitable as an ab-initio trainer. Of course, many of our trainee pilots never knew the difference and we have paid a high price. They cannot be faulted for being highly skeptical of either the capabilities or dependability of HAL.

From what little I have read, the selection between a 0-0 and a 0-60 has to do with two factors: weight and cost or some combination of that.

The desirable option is the 0-0. The affordable, in some cases, is the 0-X

Found the video where Shukla gets spanked and debriefed in public. Starts at around 7:20. The guy is a shameless snake and anyone supporting this turd needs to introspect.
Did Air Force chief favour Swiss firm?

This has been discussed before. I said nothing then. But, I do not find anything wrong in what Ajai Shukla is asking. Some of his allegations are wrong, which is fine. But shameless snake, very far from it. I commend him for standing up for a desi product.

Not sure if this was posted last month.

Russian supplier’s stance a hurdle in MiG-29 upgrade.

The Indian Air Force (IAF) is struggling to get a vital component from the Russian original equipment maker (OEM) of MiG-29 fighter aircraft, without which the ongoing upgrade of the plane may not be complete.

In a first ever move, IAF has tied up with a private player Taneja Aerospace Limited, a Pune-based company, for fixing the latest components in the MiG-29s. This will extend the aircraft's life cycle by another 40 years. Though everything else has been sourced, IAF has so far not had the latest navigation systems to be fitted along with the new systems, without which the work shall remain incomplete.

The components have been supplied from the Russian OEM, while some of the smaller spares have been developed by base repair depots (BRD) of the IAF. The BRDs come under IAF's maintenance command headquartered at Nagpur. However, when it comes to finally flying the aircraft, the plane will also be needing the navigation systems. "There have been long-drawn negotiations with RAC-MiG the company that makes the aircraft but there has been no result so far," said a senior IAF official closely related to the project.

Prior to signing a deal with Taneja Aerospace, one MiG-29 was upgraded by the maintenance command's 11 BRD at Coimbatore. The new aircraft could not be put into use till now for want of the navigation system, said a highly placed source in the maintenance command. The Russians have upgraded a few aircraft too but the majority of the work is to be done at home on the lines with the one upgraded at 11 BRD, the source said. To make the work faster, IAF tied up with the private player.

Even as the spares have been indigenized at the BRDs, the components that are single replaceable units have been sourced from Russia. The older navigation system cannot work now, said the IAF source. It has been typical of the Russian OEMs to deny or delay the supply of some or the other vital component that holds up the entire upgrade project. There were similar problems with the Ukrainians for the upgrade of AN-32s also.

The matter is now being taken up with utmost priority at government level. This will be on the agenda during Russian President Vladmir Putin's visit to India. Probably, the Russian government may not be aware of stance taken by the OEM. Taking up the matter directly at highest level may help, the source said.

As far as indigenization of the component was concerned, the source said it was a question of feasibility. With the limited number required, it was considered better to go for direct procurement from the OEM.

ToI wrote: The matter is now being taken up with utmost priority at government level. This will be on the agenda during Russian President Vladmir Putin's visit to India. Probably, the Russian government may not be aware of stance taken by the OEM. Taking up the matter directly at highest level may help, the source said.

As far as indigenization of the component was concerned, the source said it was a question of feasibility. With the limited number required, it was considered better to go for direct procurement from the OEM.
India did request that parts be made in India.

For kicks checked wiki. There are around a 1000 MiG-29s. Indian MiGs are perhaps the most advanced - give and take some. So, one would expect parts for them to be relatively rare.

indranilroy wrote:Some of his allegations are wrong, which is fine. But shameless snake, very far from it. I commend him for standing up for a desi product.
Some? He was proved wrong on ALL his allegations. Here is a colonel who resigned from the army trying to teach senior air force people about aircraft. It would have been laughable if it were not so serious. And where was his love for desi products when he said IAF should buy the JSF? You are welcome to your views but mine are drawn from facts. And the fact remains he is a lifafa wala and is shameless for being unapologetic about mucking up such a serious issue to bring disrepute to the IAF. In my eyes, it is only the MoD under a BJP RM that has the qualifications to decide what is best for India. The rest is chaff.
member_23694

Post by member_23694 »

Victor wrote:And where was his love for desi products when he said IAF should buy the JSF?

his love for desi product is definitely not genuine. His attitude being either my way or else everything else is wrong . His articles are useful only for quotes by leadership from various institution, else his own personal opinions are generally rubbish

Victor wrote:
indranilroy wrote:Some of his allegations are wrong, which is fine. But shameless snake, very far from it. I commend him for standing up for a desi product.
Some? He was proved wrong on ALL his allegations. Here is a colonel who resigned from the army trying to teach senior air force people about aircraft. It would have been laughable if it were not so serious. And where was his love for desi products when he said IAF should buy the JSF? You are welcome to your views but mine are drawn from facts. And the fact remains he is a lifafa wala and is shameless for being unapologetic about mucking up such a serious issue to bring disrepute to the IAF. In my eyes, it is only the MoD under a BJP RM that has the qualifications to decide what is best for India. The rest is chaff.
so many points:
1. You think IAF pundits know more on aviation than Ajai Shukla. This is true. But don't forget it is IAF pundits speaking for IAF.
2. Shukla was proved wrong on all accounts. I hardly think so.
2.a) Shukla is wrong that the PC-7 MkII is an unsafe plane for rookies. And he is wrong here because the young pilots need to have faith in their higher ups. Denting that is bad in my eyes too. On the other hand, the PSQR matching PC-7 MKII's brochure almost to the tee is quite fishy. The point the PC-7 MKII was favoured cannot be outrightly rejected (at least not for me).
2.b) I don't think IAF will ever be able to prove that the operational cost of Pilatus is going to be less than HTT-40. A high school kid can prove otherwise. See how Pilatus is already shafting us with "Maintenance ToT". And why is such great lengths covered to find the lifetime costs of MMRCA candidates, but not the basic trainers?
2.c) Going with Pilatus will always compromise on autonomy. We can't change the subsystems! We can't arm them. May be we don't need armed trainers. But there are AFs from S.America, Africa, and south east Asia which use them for ground attack and COIN operations. Just look at the sales of the Super Tucano, PC-9 etc. We can certainly export to them.
2.d) Why stop it now? IAF training is well served now. HTT-40 design is ready. Prototypes are in advanced stages of build (awaiting engine). What is the big deal? Give it 2 more years! It is a basic trainer for God's sake.
3. Where is Shukla's liking for desi stuff when proposing F-35 as MMRCA. This is outright stupid. I thought all MMRCA candidates were imported maal, aren't they? A sizeable portion of BR community has voted for F-35 as MMRCA. I think even you propose it once in a while. Did you get a lifafa? Dismissing people who hold ideas opposed to ours is easy. Needs only pointing fingers. Dismissing their ideas with cogent points is way more difficult. Needs actual work.
You are welcome to your views but mine are drawn from facts.
No sir, we both have views. I don't call mine "facts".

indranilroy wrote: 1. You think IAF pundits know more on aviation than Ajai Shukla. This is true. But don't forget it is IAF pundits speaking for IAF.
Err..who else should senior IAF officers speak for if not the IAF?
2.b) I don't think IAF will ever be able to prove that the operational cost of Pilatus is going to be less than HTT-40. A high school kid can prove otherwise.
Forgetting the per-piece cost (which is higher than Pilatus as HAL agrees), may I ask exactly how HTT-40 can be cheaper to operate and maintain over its lifetime? Unless HAL can drum up a good turboprop engine, ejection seat and avionics 100% designed and made in India, it is almost certainly going to be costlier to maintain. Why? Because the parts, for eg. a simple aircraft-grade hydraulic actuator or electronic chip, that needs to be replaced cannot be cheaper in India, specially not when we are talking 300 pieces for HAL vs 3,000 for Pilatus. I'm not a school kid but I am able to grasp this much. Plus, there is another significant cost related to timely delivery of custom spares and let's just generously say that HAL simply cannot raise anyone's confidence on this score.
2.c) Going with Pilatus will always compromise on autonomy. Albeit we can't arm them or export them.
Do we really think Pilatus will forbid IAF from training its pilots on the PC-7? If not, "autonomy" is a strawman. I also don't remember IAF asking for an armed trainer or light attack aircraft. Is HAL now in the business of dictating what type of aircraft IAF should use?
2.d) Why stop it now? IAF training is well served now. HTT-40 design is ready. Protoypes are in build awaiting engine. What is the big deal? Give it 2 more years!
Well as you say, IAF training is taken care of now. What does HTT-40 add to the basic training of pilots? If nothing, what's the need for it? Why double the IAF's maintenance, training and logistics load? Please convince me, I'm listening.
It is a basic trainer for God's sake.
Exactly. The IAF wants HAL to focus all its meagre assets on the 1000x more important LCA and IJT. BTA is childs play but LCA and IJT are major international markets in smaller, poorer countries waiting to be tapped with a truly cheap light fighter and advanced trainer.
3. Where is Shukla's liking for desi stuff when proposing F-35 as MMRCA. This is outright stupid. I thought all MMRCA are to be imported, aren't they?
Well, he's batting for desi mal no? Why did he not suggest we drop $20 billion on an Indian MMRCA? Even I have supported putting 2 engines in the LCA to make it an MMRCA. We could have 300 MMRCA class aircraft for the same money. Obviously Shukla doesn't give a rat's @ss about "time" because heaven knows when the HTT-40 would arrive. Should IAF trainees go to Myanmar, Bangladesh or Sri Lanka for basic training in the meantime?

I'm sorry but IMO Shukla's bakwas borders on traitorous behavior, knowingly or unknowingly, in the guise of national interest and patriotism. The pakis would like nothing better than for IAF to be armed entirely with HAL's vapor-craft.

Victor wrote:
indranilroy wrote: 1. You think IAF pundits know more on aviation than Ajai Shukla. This is true. But don't forget it is IAF pundits speaking for IAF.
Err..who else should senior IAF officers speak for if not the IAF?

Party A reports a problem with Party B's conduct. In your court, Party B is the judge. See the problem.
Victor wrote:
2.b) I don't think IAF will ever be able to prove that the operational cost of Pilatus is going to be less than HTT-40. A high school kid can prove otherwise.
Forgetting the per-piece cost (which is higher than Pilatus as HAL agrees), may I ask exactly how HTT-40 can be cheaper to operate and maintain over its lifetime? Unless HAL can drum up a good turboprop engine, ejection seat and avionics 100% designed and made in India, it is almost certainly going to costlier to maintain. Why? Because the parts, for eg. a simple aircraft-grade hydraulic actuator or electronic chip, that needs to be replaced cannot be cheaper in India, specially not when we are talking 300 pieces for HAL vs 3,000 for Pilatus. I'm not a school school kid but I am able to grasp this much. Plus, there is another significant cost related to timely delivery of custom spares and let's just generously say that HAL simply cannot raise anyone's confidence on this score.

No sir. I don't think you followed the discussion properly. Both IAF and HAL agree that the cost of HTT-40 is going to be 32.7 crores + inflation, which is less than PC-7 MkII prices (even the ones which will be bought as options). The inflation costs will apply to all PC-7s which will be bought beyond the options. IAF's and HAL's estimation of lower HTT-40 costs is very much expected (There was no rebuttal from the IAF personal on the life-cycle cost of HTT-40 vis-a-vis PC-7).
1. All common parts that HTT-40 and PC-7 buy will be COTS products, whose prices remain the same. (You might remember that Pilatus wants us to run to the actual part manufacturer for the maintenance).
2. The parts that are made specially for HTT-40 will be all indigenous and hence much cheaper than the parts especially made for the PC-7.
3. A considerable part of a basic trainer's cost is labour which is way cheaper in India.
4. You are completely wrong about how aircrafts are billed. The tier-1 assembler has the largest margin of profit. The selling price of the plane is much above the sum of the cost of the parts. These are just a few Google searches away! Please do so.
Victor wrote:
2.c) Going with Pilatus will always compromise on autonomy. Albeit we can't arm them or export them.
Do we really think Pilatus will forbid IAF from training its pilots on the PC-7? If not, "autonomy" is a strawman. I also don't remember IAF asking for an armed trainer or light attack aircraft. Is HAL now in the business of dictating what type of aircraft IAF should use?
It will be a breach of contract if:
1. We arm the Pilatus.
2. Change its engine or any of its parts. We cannot replace any of the imported parts with desi parts. For example, HAL is in the process of manufacturing a 1200 HP turboprop engine. We can't fit it into the HTT-40.
If we can't change its parts, and all of its parts are to be imported, then in wartime we do lose autonomy.
Victor wrote:
2.d) Why stop it now? IAF training is well served now. HTT-40 design is ready. Protoypes are in build awaiting engine. What is the big deal? Give it 2 more years!
Well as you say, IAF training is taken care of now. What does HTT-40 add to the basic training of pilots? If nothing, what's the need for it? Why double the IAF's maintenance, training and logistics load? Please convince me, I'm listening.
All the numbers are given by IAF. IAF said it needs 180 basic trainers. IAF said the initial purchase of 75 will tide over current requirements while indigenous development can be pursued if taken up hastily. If the Indian trainers are not ready by the time the first 75 come in, an option of further 31 would be exercised. The rest of the 75 trainers will be indigeneous. Again it is just a few Google searches away. I did not add anything.
Victor wrote:
It is a basic trainer for God's sake.
Exactly. The IAF wants HAL to focus all its meagre assets on the 1000x more important LCA and IJT. BTA is childs play but LCA and IJT are major international markets in smaller, poorer countries waiting to be tapped with a truly cheap light fighter and advanced trainer.
Beleive it or not this is the only sensible part of your post (I really considered not replying before I read this). There is no commonality of resources between LCA and HTT-40. Between the HTT-40 and the IJT, there is. But when the HTT-40 was conceived the IJT design was over (or so it was thought). So HAL employed its young turks to take up a project that they could handle, the HTT-40. Now IJT is back on the design board for the next 6 months or so. I don't know if shelving the HTT-40, would speed up the IJT. It may be, but I doubt it. I have never seen a bunch of engineers come up to speed before 6 months. In view I would rather have them continue their work at full speed on the HTT-40 and get the first prototype in the air in the next 6 months. But, as I said before, there is no gurantee on this one. I don't know enough. Can go both ways.
Victor wrote:
3. Where is Shukla's liking for desi stuff when proposing F-35 as MMRCA. This is outright stupid. I thought all MMRCA are to be imported, aren't they?
Well, he's batting for desi mal no? Why did he not suggest we drop $20 billion on an Indian MMRCA? Even I have supported putting 2 engines in the LCA to make it an MMRCA. We could have 300 MMRCA class aircraft for the same money. Obviously Shukla doesn't give a rat's @ss about "time" because heaven knows when the HTT-40 would arrive. Should IAF trainees go to Myanmar, Bangladesh or Sri Lanka for basic training in the meantime?
India does not have a MMRCA. I hope you realize that putting 2 engines into LCA is not so easy. It will require a complete redesign of the airframe and indeed many of the LRUs as well. If it was possible then the F-16/F-15, Mirage2k/Rafale, Mig21/Mig29 would not be so different platforms. There were 6 foreign MMRCAs considered. He was proposing another.
Victor wrote: I'm sorry but IMO Shukla's bakwas borders on traitorous behavior, knowingly or unknowingly, in the guise of national interest and patriotism. The pakis would like nothing better than for IAF to be armed entirely with HAL's vapor-craft.
You are entitled to your opinion.

IR the points that you are making are quite logical. However, the issue of Judgement of the services is something that can't really be questioned. By people like us. Regardless of how much we wish to see a domestic product reach full scale production.

Rightly or wrongly the IAF selected the PC 7 Mk2. It wants to standardise on the product. For the training of its flight crews. I may not be happy with it. But I feel that IAF will have things its way and kill HTT 40.

The absence of IAF's support for the HPT 32 replacement notwithstanding over the decades.

We can say that it is a wrong act on part of the IAF. We can say that the HTT 40 will be cheaper to support. But it will not make any difference. To the ultimate outcome.

PC7Mk2 will be the standard basic trainer, regardless of the merits or demerits of the case.

Pratyush wrote:IR the points that you are making are quite logical. However, the issue of Judgement of the services is something that can't really be questioned. By people like us. Regardless of how much we wish to see a domestic product reach full scale production.
Actually, we can. Provided we have reasonable amount of data-points and not the whines and rants. BRF called out IA's action on Arjun a long time back which has been proven to be true all along as evidenced by the CAG Report.

Problem occurs when we descend into Services versus Desi Product mode w/o commenting on issues at the PSU end or bothering to check on operational exigencies facing the Service in question.
PC7Mk2 will be the standard basic trainer, regardless of the merits or demerits of the case.
The above still does not mean we should not make an effort to try and understand the issues involved and reason behind the actions of parties involved.

I know, I have said this a few times now. The only strong points of shelving the HTT-40 are:
1. IF IJT can be sped up. I don't think this will be the case. I may be completely wrong here.
2. Commonality of the product. But I say wait 2 more years and have the majority (108) as HTT-40s. This will give us our own aircraft and accompanying independence. A potential to sell our own hardware. If Pilatus does too much tu-tu-main-main, we will just buy more HTT-40s. If HTT-40s face problems in testing the PC-7s are always there to be imported!

Just give HAL an ultimatum Dec 2016, they should have a deliverable product. And they should be able to produce 16 aircraft from 2017 going upto 30 by 2019. If they miss the Dec 2016 deadline, order more PC-7s.

RV,

The understanding is the most important issue with the decision. We know that the HPT 32 was an accident prone product. Due to some issue with its fuel flow. We also know that the same engine on a different product was a safe engine to fly. We also know that the efforts to fix the HPT32 issues did not deliver the correct results.

Up to this point I don't think any one will dispute the details.

Now in 2009 the IAF following a crash decides to ground the HPT 32 and open a project for a replacement trainer. We cannot question the IAFs decision on the grounds of flight safety.

The winner is Pc7 mk2. The domestic solution is HTT 40. That has not yet flown. Reasons for its non flight are irrelevant at this time. The IAF is having a need for additional numbers of basic trainers. It feels that it can do with additional Pc7Mk2 with lease amount of controversy and 100% common logistics trail.

So it will go for it.

At least that's what I think.

IR,

I hope & pray that things go the way you have listed. But am not optimistic about it.

HAL would have had a much better stand w/the HTT if IJT was not such a mess and its own record of hot-and-cold support for the LCA was not a matter of record either. Both programs take far more prioritization than the HTT. Tyagi may not have been responsible for either, and HAL may now be supporting both programs but from the IAF (and even strategic) POV, the IJT, LCA, FGFA and HAL focusing on these is 100x more important than HTT (IMHO).

Plus, now we should focus on indigenizing the darn PC-7 Mk2s (darn, as in - fine aircraft, unreliable spares). One aircraft type for training is enough. We will have a menagerie otherwise.
Also, trainers seem ripe to outsource to TATA or Mahindra if indigenization is the end goal. Dont see why it should and must be HAL. The larger programs are more complex and need their focus.

Victor wrote:
Kartik wrote: hogwash. Tell that to the manufacturers who have 0-0 ejection seats on their trainers-
and those include Pilatus, Embraer, KAI, Beechcraft, Airbus and now soon to be on the TAI Hurkus as well. 0-0 implies that the pilots have the option, if ever required, to eject from a stationary aircraft, something the IAF pilots on a PC-7 MkII won't be able to do if God forbid, such a situation ever arose.

Apparently all of those manufacturers don't know that simply remaining strapped in the cockpit of an airplane that maybe burning or may veer out of control under 60 knots is a better option than ejection. :roll:

Just because the IAF diluated requirements to ensure the PC-7 MkII qualified doesn't mean that 0-0 ejection seats are only required for fast jets.
What you call "hogwash" is what the IAF has said, not me. It was a point that was taken apart while Shuka got his pants taken off. Of course, according to some the IAF view is hogwash when compared to the gospel mouthed by the likes of Shukla who wanted IAF to buy F-35 instead of Rafale. :roll: Get real--he goes where the lifafas point him.

But let's take this apart so we are clear about it and hopefully lay it to rest.

First, 0-0 as you say is ejection from a stationary aircraft but the first zero is ALTITUDE. The IAF's original 0-60 requirement asked for "on the ground traveling at 60 kmph (37 mph) or above". A basic trainer with no bombs, rockets or ammunition is extremely unlikely to suffer the paki fate of spontaneous combustion while standing still. There is greater chance of this happening in an armed trainer however. Also, what are the chances of serious injury if a trainer "crashes" while it is moving on the ground at 37 mph or less?

Next, ejection is a very violent event where a pilot can be subjected upto 15G force. Broken or compressed backbones are common, not to mention injury to legs, hands, shoulders & heads during ejection and upon landing. These can be career-ending injuries and worse. 0-0 ejection is even more violent since it ejects the pilot much higher with greater force. A number of things need to happen in quick sequence for a successful ejection--canopy is blown off by explosive bolts followed in a split second by an explosion on the ejection rails and a rocket firing the seat out. Then the delayed explosive detachment of the seat from the pilot so that it falls away followed by the drogue chute (not in 0-0) and the main chute. If any of these things don't happen perfectly, we have a high probability of serious injury or death. Much more so in a 0-0 situation where there is barely time for the pilot to recover and position his feet before he hits the ground in 5-6 seconds. Only a high degree of experience and training can prepare one adequately for this.

Now consider the pilots who fly the PC-7 II--they are all total rookies out of NDA and the ones who will be training as fighter pilots are not even selected yet. Many will be women.

Finally, the cost of 0-0 is far more than 0-6 ejection seats. Given the risk-reward, it is absolutely in line with international norms to choose 0-6 for an ab-initio trainer. The Galeb and Tucano, which have many variants like the Pilatus, use MB8SL 0-6 ejection seats. Only the advanced and armed models like Super Tucano have 0-0 and since the HTT-40 was being planned as an armed aircraft also (bombs, guns, rockets), HAL suggested standardizing on the 0-0.

Bottom line, IAF had 0-0 faith in HAL capabilities based on several decades of experience, particularly with the Deepak which by all accounts was a sub-optimal design and unsuitable as an ab-initio trainer. Of course, many of our trainee pilots never knew the difference and we have paid a high price. They cannot be faulted for being highly skeptical of either the capabilities or dependability of HAL.
it is hogwash and nothing else.

The fact of the matter is that the PC-7 MkII was developed a LONG time ago from the PC-7 and PC-9 and back then the 0-0 ejection seat was not even available on other aircraft. Nearly every aircraft developed back then had some speed limitation for safe ejection.

But, as of today, all contemporary aircraft feature 0-0 ejection seat as standard because it takes care of a possible scenario where a trainer catches fire before it has reached 60 knots or while it is stationary. Are you telling me that its never happened that a stationary aircraft has caught fire if it didn't carry weapons ?? Such a ridiculous argument to offer when clearly the primary aim to accept what is a dated specification is to allow the cheapest Pilatus offering to clear the requirements.

Your attempts at justifying why a 0-60 ejection seat would suffice in today's world are very similar to those of salesmen in car showrooms who claim that "sir why need airbag sir? Mostly seat belt alone is sufficient sir"- something I've heard myself. It makes the product cheaper to go with a lower spec, that's about all. Otherwise people aren't friggn foolish to put higher spec equipment in their products, driving up cost.

Pratyush wrote:RV,

The understanding is the most important issue with the decision. We know that the HPT 32 was an accident prone product. Due to some issue with its fuel flow. We also know that the same engine on a different product was a safe engine to fly. We also know that the efforts to fix the HPT32 issues did not deliver the correct results.

Up to this point I don't think any one will dispute the details.

Now in 2009 the IAF following a crash decides to ground the HPT 32 and open a project for a replacement trainer. We cannot question the IAFs decision on the grounds of flight safety.

The winner is Pc7 mk2. The domestic solution is HTT 40. That has not yet flown. Reasons for its non flight are irrelevant at this time. The IAF is having a need for additional numbers of basic trainers. It feels that it can do with additional Pc7Mk2 with lease amount of controversy and 100% common logistics trail.

So it will go for it.

At least that's what I think.

<SNIP>
Agree with every word you've posted.

My submission was more about using appropriate reason and logic backed with data-points to evaluate a decision by stakeholders in security apparatus including the R&D/Production establishment.

Problem is that we too often jump the gun and ride band-wagon of latest theme and go about making inane comments.

"Awiting engine".How can one design/build an aircraft without selecting suitable engine,at least one for intial testing? Even if the eengine is selected tomorrow,how many years of testing the airframe with it is required to certify the aircraft? The HTT-40 is also supposed to perform armed duties,which means weapons testing,,etc.Quite some way to go before peddling it as being better than an existing aircraft being built in large number and being used by the majority of the world's air forces. HAL: should build and develop at its own cost the HTT-40 then have a face-off with its competitors to see which is best. Right now it still is a paper plane having never flown! The IAF cannot be expected to endorse it and given HAL's track record put more lives of rookie pilots at risk.

What's happened to the IJT may one ask? Silence for quite some time.

Philip sahab,

The engine was chosen more than an year ago. One could figure that out based on the change in position of the engine exhausts on displayed models. Based on the newer models, it was known that it was a Honeywell TPE-331 engine. Then one year ago Honeywell came up with this video:

Since then a lot has been done to make sure that HAL does not get the engine.
With the HTT-40 on track, and racing towards its first flight next year, two corruption allegations mysteriously popped up, stalling the project. Both alleged wrongdoing in HAL’s selection of the Honeywell TPE 331-12B engine after an open tender, when the alternative supplier, Pratt & Whitney, refused to allow licensed manufacture in India. With the first flight looming, Honeywell agreed to provide a “Category B” engine --- a used engine with more than 80 per cent of its service life remaining.

The first complaint came in early November from the BJP MP from Jaunpur, Krishna Pratap Singh, who complained to the CVC about the engine selection and blamed HAL’s design chief, T Suvarna Raju, who oversees the HTT-40 project. Investigation began and the MoD halted engine procurement.

Contacted by Business Standard, Krishna Pratap Singh claimed that he knew nothing about the HTT-40 or the issues involved. “About 3-4 months ago a “sajjan” (person of good character), who I don’t remember now, came to me and said there was corruption. I only wrote that the matter be investigated, and any wrongdoing corrected,” said Singh.

The second allegation came almost simultaneously from an NGO called Rashtriya Mukti Morcha. The RMM has neither expertise nor previous interest in aerospace. It has earlier filed petitions against Sonia Gandhi’s right to hold constitutional office, and in the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha bribery case.

Contacted by Business Standard, RMM chief Ravindra Kumar acknowledges filing a complaint. He said that details are in his files, but he repeatedly denied requests to visit his office to ascertain the basis for his complaint.

CVC investigations into the complaints unearthed no wrongdoing; It is not unusual for “Category B” engines to be chosen for prototypes, while buying new engines for the production aircraft. HAL had powered the Intermediate Jet Trainer prototype with a “Category B” Larzac engine, until new engines became available.

Even so, engine procurement was halted. Meanwhile the IAF repeatedly petitioned the MoD that Swiss trainers should be quickly bought since the HTT-40 would be late.
Since then, HAL has shown the DM pictures of the prototype (albeit without the engine) in hopes to keep the project alive. The DM will decide on the fate of the project now. It will be really interesting what he decides given the countries current lack of capital for new defence procurements in the current year.

Kartik wrote: Your attempts at justifying why a 0-60 ejection seat would suffice in today's world are very similar to those of salesmen in car showrooms
I'll leave out the paki-like diatribe that you feel compelled to indulge in but please READ and ABSORB before mouthing off. It is the IAF that said they don't need a 0-0 ejection seat in a basic trainer, not me. The reasons are stated in great detail and also in the video.

MODERATOR NOTE:

If you hope to continue here, you'll mind your language. - rohitvats.

Karan M wrote:Plus, now we should focus on indigenizing the darn PC-7 Mk2s (darn, as in - fine aircraft, unreliable spares). One aircraft type for training is enough. We will have a menagerie otherwise.
Also, trainers seem ripe to outsource to TATA or Mahindra if indigenization is the end goal. Dont see why it should and must be HAL. The larger programs are more complex and need their focus.
Amen :shock:.

Doesn't an airline flying Boeing jets go to the engine manufacturer (GE, Rolls) for engine spares/repairs, not to Boeing? Same thing for avionics, tires etc. Boeing only makes the airframe and control systems and has no deep expertise on these major sub-systems beyond assembly and installation though it may pass on special pricing to it's clients. How's this different from Pilatus' responsibilities on the IAF PC-7? There may be a supplemental contract for parts and service by Pilatus but that has obviously not been chosen by IAF who thinks the BRDs have enough capability.
member_26622

Post by member_26622 »

@ Victor - It's other way around.

All airlines would like Boeing to take full ownership of parts and services. Why is it so - because of pooling of resources and cost savings to all users. Only large airlines have fleet maintenance facilities, but are outsourcing them day by day.

For example - A Boeing 777 front landing gear costs is 10 plus million. Every customer cannot afford to keep one in spare. Boeing provides a contractual service where they fly one for you when needed - immediately. Airlines pay a service agreement fee based on a pre-decided usage number....Inventory pooling, positioning and cost reduction benefits docs are readily available through google search.

Recent IAF transport purchases from Boeing have similar service terms.

Commercial and Defense aerospace companies realized the benefits of offering integrated services many many years ago. Whether that is to take over in toto, the day to to day fleet sustainment efforts of smaller airlines or offer competitive integrated services compared to a customer's own internal setup. With the 787 Boeing introduced Gold Care and have since expanded it to the 737 and 747 lines as well.

http://www.boeing.com/assets/pdf/commer ... ldcare.pdf

On the Military side the C-17 line for example has the GISP effort where a substantial customer base has utilized the service and you could sign up for a logistical solution where Boeing would sell you a service with a minimum availability commitment from a fleet availability stand-point. The USAF for example pays Boeing under GISP to maintain a better than 80% (currently at 86%) mission availability for its C17's. I recall Airbus having something similar through the A400 Integrated sustainment package.

Almost every major aerospace firm is looking to get into this (Logistics and sustainment) as budgets thin out and long term sustainment deals are opened up to competition even for third party OEM's (Boeing could sustain a lockheed product as an example if they have the lowest bid). The C-130J has a fairly comprehensive sustainment program with deals in the US, Japan etc. Not sure whether the IAF has signed up for a sustainment deal for the 130J but the IAF is a participant in the C-17 GISP.

http://www.lockheedmartin.com/us/what-w ... nment.html
Doesn't an airline flying Boeing jets go to the engine manufacturer (GE, Rolls) for engine spares/repairs, not to Boeing? Same thing for avionics, tires etc. Boeing only makes the airframe and control systems and has no deep expertise on these major sub-systems beyond assembly and installation though it may pass on special pricing to it's clients. How's this different from Pilatus' responsibilities on the IAF PC-7? There may be a supplemental contract for parts and service by Pilatus but that has obviously not been chosen by IAF who thinks the BRDs have enough capability.
Any private corporation looking at this from a business venture stand point, can always develop product expertise if there is a service line requiring such a thing. Therefore, it isn't un natural for a Boeing for example to develop the ability to maintain the propulsion system for their transport offerings if it is a service line they want to develop (integrated solutions). In fact this is a direct requirement from the sustainment requirement the USAF wanted. The global GISP enrollees get most of this as well according to their individual contracts and requirements.

The Contractor will provide support and sustainment services to the Government Product Support Manager (PSM) for the C-17 weapon system. Support shall include, but not be limited to: Program Management; Sustaining Logistics; Material and Equipment Management; Sustaining Engineering; Quality Assurance; Depot Level Aircraft Maintenance and Modifications; F117 Propulsion System Management; Long-Term Sustainment (LTS) Planning; Field Services, Unique Foreign Military customer services, and Air Logistics Center Partnering Support for the worldwide fleet of the C-17 aircraft through the Virtual Fleet Concept.

^ It seems GISP is run by USAF, not Boeing which is still a significant part of it, and India is the only Globemaster customer (the biggest outside US) that didn't take it. We only have GSP from Boeing as a seperate contract. C-17 maintenance is a massive undertaking as it is for the C-130 and I believe we have a Maintenance & Training contract for C-130 too (MATS) as a separate contract Link. I'm guessing the majority of the maintenance has to do with the engines which we don't have the expertise or infra to service for the limited number of engines.

What I'm saying is isn't it possible that the IAF feels it has adequate resources to either fix the simple PT6A turboprop engines in-house if it is going to have over a hundred planes? If IAF signed a maintenance contract with Pilatus, it makes no sense for IAF to approach all the vendors separately. OTOH, if they did not sign such a contract, IAF would have accepted the need to approach P&W Canada for the engine and is OK with it. Approaching the tire manufacturer to get replacement for a blowout (if we don't have spares) is par for the course. Do we go to Maruti for tires even if we have a "Maruti Maintenance Contract"? IAF is just trying to save money and put its resources to good work.

Victor wrote:Doesn't an airline flying Boeing jets go to the engine manufacturer (GE, Rolls) for engine spares/repairs, not to Boeing? Same thing for avionics, tires etc. Boeing only makes the airframe and control systems and has no deep expertise on these major sub-systems beyond assembly and installation though it may pass on special pricing to it's clients. How's this different from Pilatus' responsibilities on the IAF PC-7? There may be a supplemental contract for parts and service by Pilatus but that has obviously not been chosen by IAF who thinks the BRDs have enough capability.
Not the same thing. You want route your support through the primary OEM for two reasons -

1. Compatibility: More often than not, a component requiring replacement is built to spec by a specific subcontractor. Basically, you're forced into a single vendor deal and the company will then inevitably exploit its position to extract as much money as it can. The primary integrator on the other hand is likely a source of future business for the company and thus has adequate leverage of its own.

2. Volumes: The primary OEM is usually dealing with volumes far larger than yours and will be able to get better prices with bulk purchases, and then pass them off (with a modest markup of course).

Victor wrote:^ It seems GISP is run by USAF, not Boeing which is still a significant part of it, and India is the only Globemaster customer (the biggest outside US) that didn't take it. We only have GSP from Boeing as a seperate contract. C-17 maintenance is a massive undertaking as it is for the C-130 and I believe we have a Maintenance & Training contract for C-130 too (MATS) as a separate contract Link. I'm guessing the majority of the maintenance has to do with the engines which we don't have the expertise or infra to service for the limited number of engines.

What I'm saying is isn't it possible that the IAF feels it has adequate resources to either fix the simple PT6A turboprop engines in-house if it is going to have over a hundred planes? If IAF signed a maintenance contract with Pilatus, it makes no sense for IAF to approach all the vendors separately. OTOH, if they did not sign such a contract, IAF would have accepted the need to approach P&W Canada for the engine and is OK with it. Approaching the tire manufacturer to get replacement for a blowout (if we don't have spares) is par for the course. Do we go to Maruti for tires even if we have a "Maruti Maintenance Contract"? IAF is just trying to save money and put its resources to good work.
To my knowledge each nation has a separate contract based on their unique technical needs. The list of services offered are largely similar and customers can pick and choose based on how comprehensive a coverage they want. There are international customers under GISP

http://www.boeing.com/assets/pdf/dubai2 ... 7_gisp.pdf
member_26622

Post by member_26622 »

^ Simple answer - We cannot start a war with anyone period. We can only defend ourselves until our FOREX goes to empty.

With Pakis -American/European supply chain is suspect
With China - Russian supply chain is suspect
And rest assured - All of our foreign suppliers will screw us up on 'emergency' supply pricing.

All this offensive talk, cold start and all using imported Rafale, FGFA, M777, Apache and other maal is 100% BS (except for republic day parade strutting). Reality is that we can barely defend period given our import addiction for 2~3 months until availability nose dives, and then back to running for help to US or Russia.

Only China/US/Russia can muster and sustain a war because they 'really' want to fight a war and are dead serious about it.
Last edited by member_26622 on 14 Jan 2015 05:29, edited 1 time in total.

Both India and US have certainly gamed the issue of C-17 and C-130 and have a high level of comfort that nothing of the sort is likely to happen. Both know that these aircraft are not for VIP shopping trips to Paris. On the contrary, both types are unique in being optimized for front-line combat support, the C-130J-30 being a special forces aircraft that can land in rough strips without lights. Finally, India has purchased spare engines that should get us thru any eventuality in a short, sharp war.

pandyan wrote:what happens during war time and US of A agrees to stay left-neutral and decides to stop spare parts supply. would this integrated contract mean almost all parts of value would be outside of india?
If any customer wishes to completely disassociate itself from either Boeing or the US policy by creating a buffer in case they want to insulate themselves during times of potential conflict than that customer can by all means not enter into a sustainment contract with the OEM and perform all logistical operations themselves by maintaining a depot level hub, and procuring and maintaining a robust supply of spares in case of heavy utilization.

These decisions are strategic in nature, taken by the governments based on bi-laterial relations between nations and the direction in which they see these relations heading. Same thing would happen in the case of any other acquisition program that the IAF, IA or IN enters with any US OEM (blessed by the pentagon) be it fighter jet engines, attack helicopters, HALE UAV's etc.

You could however also enter into a hybrid deal where you cover your own strategic and political fears while still benefiting from a common pool of spares and economies of scale associated with a third party ordering components in bulk for the common pool. The solutions aren't binding that is no one is forcing any customer to choose this sustainment deal but its more of a commercial business practice creating into military hardware. If you look at it, transport aircraft are probably the best suited platforms to bring these efficiencies in in order to provide a better weapons system that has a higher availability at a lower life-cycle cost.

@ Victor: GISP and GSP are one and the same thing
The rising cost of maintenance has made it a greater concern to the world’s militaries, and new contract vehicles are reflecting that. Under the C-17 GSP/GISP, Boeing has total system support responsibility for the big transport aircraft, including materiel management and depot maintenance, to support customer fleets around the world. The goal is total aircraft sustainment support under a single contract, in order to achieve improvements in mission readiness, while reducing operating and support costs.

The initial C-17 GSP contract has grown and broadened, even as Boeing’s customer base grew in the USAF (now 223), Australia (6), Britain (8), Canada (4), India (10-16), Qatar (4), NATO (3), the UAE (6) – and possibly Kuwait (1).
http://www.defenseindustrydaily.com/did ... hip-02756/

Brar ji, if you look lower down on that page you will see this:
Like the GSP, the GISP is also in effect for almost all of the C-17’s international operators. India, a GSP customer, is the lone exception.
If GISP is handled by USAF, I don't think IAF is ready to have them hanging around in our bases.