RIP B Harry (1983-2007)

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

RIP B Harry (1983-2007)

Repineheart wrote: Harry passed away in May 2007. Cause is heart attack.

Link to the news item

I was his classmate in college. He did have an amazing knowledge about military technology as ascertained from his interaction with a defense scientist at the IIT-Madras tech seminar on the LCA in 2004.

One of his articles: http://www.acig.org/artman/publish/printer_521.shtml

He forbid me from revealing his true identity online. But now that he has passed away, I feel everyone needs to know the real person.

RIP Harish Balaji K.

PS: Sorry for the off topic post.
RIP Harish Balaji K aka B Harry
BRF profile of Harry

========================
some of his articles

The Radiance of Tejas (Published in Vayu Aerospace Review)
http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/IAF/downl ... diance.pdf

Indian Naval Aviation - Part 1
http://s188567700.online.de/CMS/index.p ... &Itemid=47

Indian Naval Aviation - Part 2

I think this article is also by him. artwork is certainly his.
India's flying Testbeds

A complete collection of ACIG articles on Aero India 2005 (reduce the font size to read properly)
http://www.acig.org/exclusives/aero/Aero_India.htm

Chapter 13 on Tejas, a typical page from the list.
http://www.acig.org/exclusives/aero/acig_aero05_lca.htm

Photo feature on Tejas from AI-07. some images are dead, scroll down to the bottom for those that are still there.
http://www.acig.org/exclusives/LCA/ACIG ... Tejas.html

NAL Saras and HAL Jaguar DARIN-II (unfortunately all image links are dead)
http://www.acig.org/exclusives/saras/AC ... aguar.html

A feature on INS Viraat, in 5 parts
http://www.acig.org/exclusives/viraat/viraat_1.htm

His Photos on Airliners
http://www.airliners.net/search/photo.s ... =B%20Harry

===================

B Harry Tribute Book - Download Link http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 26#p926526

Re: RIP B Harry

always wondered why he stopped posting. very sad to hear of this.
may you gain mokhsha Sir !

Oh shit Noooo!!! 23 effing years!!!!

I am sad :oops:

My deepest condolences to his family.
Last edited by shiv on 27 Dec 2009 18:34, edited 1 time in total.
KiranM

Post by KiranM »

^^^ RIP Sir.

Out of curiosity, the link to the obituary note says his age is 23. Was he that young? Or was it a misprint?

Oh God. His name had become synonymous with any photograph related to Indian defence in the 1990s and early 2000s. May his soul rest in peace. And our condolences to his family.
sumshyam

Post by sumshyam »

ya sad to hear that a young man died of heart attack...!

may his soul rest in peace...!
Last edited by Rahul M on 27 Dec 2009 18:47, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: edited typo.

Damn... Just 23 years :shock: ... and dead because of a heart attack... :( :( :( :( ... My heartfelt condolences to the members of his family... I pray that his family finds the strength to deal with this devastating loss and his soul finds rest and peace...
Last edited by Bala Vignesh on 27 Dec 2009 20:15, edited 1 time in total.

damn

we wondered where he was, who he was.

Would rather have him with the mystery.

Thanks B Harry for all the beatings you adminstered the ignorant, arrogant nay sayers of Indian defence tech

This is a shock. I was wondering where he was for so long.

We have lost one of our original contributors.

I recall days in 2001 when every little morsel of info on IAF was worth in gold.... and endless debates with Pakis on AFM and ezboard forums.

RIP.

That's tough. I remember him too.

Tough, very tough.

BUT, what he did in those 23 years is truly tremendous.

Also, the closure to this topic is good.

RIP.

(Thanks Repineheart)

My condolences to all the members of his family! :( :(

Someone needs to put a post on ACIG or wherever it is he used to post and let them know.

RIP Harry, Miss you!

he was a mod on keypubs. I'll post it there.
karan_mc

Post by karan_mc »

I always wondered where he disappeared ,i simply loved his drawing of Tejas and DRDO AWACS , i am shocked to learn that he last visited Br on 22 May 2007 11:52 pm and was found Dead very next morning , May his soul RIP

RIP Harry I am shocked that we are only hearing about this 2 1/2 years later and how young he was.

It is very saddening to hear. I've lurked for quite some time now, and followed his posts with great interest on AFM, BR and Acig. I was in touch with him on AFM via PM when he was a MOD there ..
Its very difficult to digest this about him .. :cry:

May god bless your soul Harish.
Indrajit

Post by Indrajit »

RIP Harry.

This is a bolt out of the blue and one so young. Let us acknowledge the tremendous contributions he made and may his soul find peace and his family strength.

Damn. RIP Harry. Whereever you are.

Harry was truly one of the old order - covering stories and doing features like no one else. He was the breaking news source for the pre-livefist/broadsword era.

Add to that his talent in graphics . Shame - such a loss to us.

Please do convey our condolences to his family - even though we are late by two years.

I always thought who this guy was never knew that this is the way I will come to know him :(

RIP B Harry

RIP B Harry

23 years of age and heartattack. Scary and sad.

Post by khan »

Used to follow him on keypups, ezboard, BR and acig.

Brings back memories... Sad he was taken away so early - condolences to his family.

Rest in peace Harry.
mandrake

Post by mandrake »

We will never forget your contributions! RIP Harry!
Last edited by mandrake on 28 Dec 2009 00:18, edited 1 time in total.
Babu Bihari

Post by Babu Bihari »

Very sad news. RIP B Harry.

RIP Harry we will miss you!!!

* Folks this is one reason we should have contact with atleast one BRF member who we can trust. Two years is quite a long time to know this.

Condolences. RIP. :(

Harish Balaji Kannan, B Harry to us.
May his soul rest in eternal peace.

Really his name was on most aviation pictures that one could see, those early years. He's achieved so much at that young an age. He would have done so much more, but fate had other plans.

RIP dear friend.
anuj

Post by anuj »

Im rather new to this board and do not know who harry was. But reading the condolences messages tells me he was someone who contributed a lot. 23 fu@king years!! Watch my faith fade away.

K Mehta wrote:..........
KM, could you check your PM please ?
thx.

Jagan, are you in touch with Tom Cooper ? could you ask him when this article was submitted ?

the date says Feb 10, 2008. (although a large no of articles seem to have been posted on the same day, meaning it could have been sent to Tom much earlier.)

--------------
anuj, please go through his posts from his profile link above. trust me, each one of those was eminently readable.

Terribly sad. India loses a great patriot. He will be missed. I wondered why he was so quite for some time.
RIP Harry!!
Pit

Post by Pit »

RIP Harry, those of us who always read BRF, ACIG.org and AFM forum will surely remind you!

My condolences to the family of the bereaved (23 years , God that's cruel). :cry:
MadhuG

Post by MadhuG »

I am sorry for the late news. I wanted to inform AICG forum and BR forum, but due to a reason at that time which I don't remember now, I did not follow up.

Yes he was 23. The following photo is that of B Harry taken in 2005.
(I hope it is within rules to post his photo here. If not please let me know or feel free to edit.)

Some information about him:
His only hobby as I remember was being a virtual military journalist. He wanted to be a professional journalist in military and related technology news (including a possibility of working for Jane's Defence).
He has been on board an Indian Tupolev on while on ground.
He has been on board a Kilo submarine while docked.
He has been to every Aero India show since its inception.
He was very patriotic. His college notebooks were full of aircraft and Tri colors. As I had a similar hobby of drawing military hardware and reading up on related information, we had many a detailed discussion.
He hated Indian Airlines.
He was lanky, a well spoken geek, had satirical humor and was very intelligent for his age.
I don't think he had any illness. We were all shocked to hear of his passing away and of the reason too.

Edit: That is all I can share about him. I am not sure if its appropriate to post this information on this forum. I just became emotional remembering him, so kindly forgive me if I breached any rules.
John wrote:RIP Harry I am shocked that we are only hearing about this 2 1/2 years later and how young he was.
Last edited by MadhuG on 27 Dec 2009 23:12, edited 1 time in total.

RIP. :(

Can't believe it! :(

Rest in Peace Brother, your contributions will not be forgotten and I am sure your contributions will be remembered for a very long time.

Edit: That is all I can share about him. I am not sure if its appropriate to post this information on this forum. I just became emotional remembering him, so kindly forgive me if I breached any rules.
no you haven't broken any rules. we appreciate the closure on the issue of a person who was a very valuable treasure of BRFite and defence enthusiast community.
vinay

Thanks B Harry

Post by vinay »

Harry bhai, I'm sad I never knew you but, thanks...your legacy will live on in the amazing work you produced during your short life. My deepest condolences to Harish's family. This news is very saddening.