Sorry, was interrupted by work in the middle of that train of thought.
The responses don't hold up. Let me take Abcc's first.
Point wise:
1. >>But WHY do all desi top babus like him assume that India cannot protect the military/ strategic research program
The reason why people are pissed off with the intrusion is that we do not need that self satisfied sweeperpower to keep looking over our collective shoulder. The deal will add irritants to India's nuclear program (civilian, I might add) that are not needed.
There is no more intrusion into the strategic side, than there is, for instance, in Coca Cola setting up plants, and refusing to divulge the Secret Formula. This does not keep LIMCA and "77" and Rooh Afza from doing what they want to do, but may give consumers a choice, and hence force some thought and action on the part of LIMCA etc.
Then again, Coca Cola might buy out and close down all the others in the commercial sector, but the US can't do that to the Strategic nuclear program. That much is very very clear from the 123, Hyde or no Hyde.
OK, my apologies for the triviality of that example. The relevant issues here are competition, and the need for technology transfer. More on this below, related to something NRao posted.
"Irritants"? Yes, as in "BARC may not be the Ultimate in Nookulear Everything in India, and BARC's share of nuclear product commercialization (irradiation of food, materials research, nuclear medicine) might drop ... UNLESS there is a concerted effort to boost government-funded, "protected sector" research facilities and programs.
2. >>the "cooperation" consists of them giving up nuke weapons, and the P-5 giving them zilch in return
Exactly. If the NPT did not help the NNWS, then this 'NPT-like' deal will also not help us either. And, so the question remains, why the hell did we do this deal?
Because several things are spelled out here in a bilateral agreement, as opposed to the sweeping Snake Oil claims of the NPT.
3. >>So what these guys claim the US is not giving, may be something the US doesn't give anyone.
And, so the question remains, why the hell did we do this deal?
To open up the civilian/commercial nuclear sector without everyone yelling "Weaponization!"
Now the civilian/ commercial sector is DEMONSTRABLY just that - civilian/commercial. So obstacles in the way of moving THAT ahead, are removed.
The 123 agreement is critical because it opens the way for cooperation with others. IOW, it is equivalent to someone letting you into the marketplace and removing the Fatwa on you. If you really need, say, Maraging Steel (no idea what "maraging" is , but I've seen this term related to centrifuges) for a civilian plant, you can buy it, or, GE can bring it to the facility that they are building. No one need go to jail for trying to buy that, any more.
The very fact that people are complaining about difficulty of transferring fuel and money and equipment and technology from the commercial to the Strategic, is what is selling out India's interests to the foreigners/NPAs - by demonstrating that their concerns about Indian intentions were justified, at least if these types grabbed power in India.
The worry that I had is coming back. This deal is nothing but NPT is sheep's disguise. Our hard won nuclear/energy independance is about to be given away by the MMS team. This deal is still a sell out.
What the yanks could not force us to give up by becoming our enemies, they are now take away by pretending to be our friends.
All of us had, and most still have, that worry. What I want to understand is why this worry is not adequately compensated by the "don't worry, b happy" feeling that one gets by considering the strengths of our negotiating position. Surely if a Musharraf equivalent takes over in India, s(he) will sell the whole nation down the river. If the Peopre's Lepubric takes over through its agents the CPI(Maoists), then too we have a huge problem. If some silly JNU types take over, Allah save us.
But otherwise, I see no reason based on demonstrated experience to fear that future GOIs will be any less committed to Indian sovereignty and independence.
In the past we have had to do some desperate things because we let ourselves get maneuvered into desperate straits:
1. Devaluing the currency by a factor of about 25, just to get people to buy our produce and give us "hard currency" to buy food, to buy weapons to keep the Pakis out, and to buy oil to keep our economy at least walking, if not running.
This is because we didn't have enough industry to crank out the tractors, or anything else, and that's because we didn't have water and power, and that's because we didn't have power to pump the water or dig the canals..
We didn't have energy self-sufficiency.
The 123 supposedly sets us moving down a path to energy self-sufficiency. For the next upmpteen years, we are still dependent on foreign nuclear fuel, but maybe by then, because we got ourselves into the Fusion scam, we may actually have fusion reactors in the works. Or, GE and Westinghouse will invest a lot of their profits in building solar farms and wind farms and biodiesel farms. Maybe the private-sector work ethic and IAEA accounting/ safety/security standards of the nuclear industry will permeate to other Indian industry.
Will GE and Westinghouse keep importing every nut and bolt for the reactors? Or will they figure out that getting the Maraging Steel etc. built in India is a lot cheaper, and get GOTUS approval to do so? Will they then want "cheap" engineers and technicians hired locally to do the hi-tech metal-work? Will they then want local colleges to set up training and education programmes?
Will some graduates of these go get jobs in the Protected Sector? Why not?
More after reading NRao's points again.
....OK, here I go...
By separating civlian and strategic there are two things that happen:
1) The civilian side can never subsidize the strategic directly, and
2) The way it is set up, outsiders can more easily make the civilian side so cheap that the strategic side - over a long period of time - become prohibitively expensive
Dr, Prasad's article is not an isolated incidence. AK IIRC used the word "Satisfactory", when asked about this deal.
Let's consider "civilian side can never subsidize the strategic directly"
Agree, since you used the term "subsidize.. directly". Right now, that is far from being the case. The strategic side is subsidizing the civilian side, so funds that SHOULD go for strategic development are sucked into funding a highly inefficient, technologically handicapped, capital-starved civilian energy business. And you have to put in all the security of a military facilities on every civilian facility because there is no separation.
So the separation is AT WORST, a washout, no subsidy either way. Now let us take the word "directly". A huge investment in nuclear energy in India will bring up thousands of local businesses that can deal with all the myriad things needed for this industry. Don't you think this will cut costs for the strategic program? I'm talking about the little things first:
1. The cute skull&cross-bones signs saying "Danger! Ionizing Radiation" in three languages with the even cuter Bohr Atom model on them.
2. Electrified fencing.
3. Trained Dobermanns.
4. Long flat-bed trucks for heavy machinery
5. Rubber boots.
6. Glove-boxes...
7. Tubes to handle fuel rods.
8. Emergency Notification Systems
9. Radiation Treatment facilities (I mean to treat patients who have suffered high doses)
10. Miles and miles of pipes that don't leak. Fittings that fit. Valves that don't leak.
11. Yellow radiation-protection suits with bunny tails
Eventually, it will be Maraging Steel, high-precision bearings, lead curtains, alpha particle sources, Geiger counters, etc. etc. etc.
Most of the cost of "strategic" programs is not the cost of refining nuclear fuel - it's the hi-precision machinery, the fasteners, the concrete, the pressure vessels, and huge amounts of plumbing, etc. All Indian programs will benefit from indigenous production of these things.
There will be a huge increase in number of ppl trained in nuclear engg. and technology, AND in power generation. There will be jobs for Indian kids graduating from engineering school in other than IT or BPO or sales. Small entrepreneurs will come up. Do you think there is no benefit to the strategic sector? At least, the geeks there will have something interesting to go into, other than foreign graduate school. In the 60s, BARC offered the hottest jobs - they recruited those considered the brightest and the best -
which is why India survived and the Indian nuclear establishment advanced as far as it has. No reason why those times can't come back. GE and Westinghouse will pay all those bribes, which will lead to a boom in the jewelry and house construction and luxury car sales in India, all leading to increased taxes (well, in the case of jewelry, only proceeds from raids since sales tax is a bad word in jewelry stores).
GE and Westinghouse will have to pay taxes, and part of those taxes will go into Strategic Programs.
Finally,
2) The way it is set up, outsiders can more easily make the civilian side so cheap that the strategic side - over a long period of time - become prohibitively expensive
If this is a main reason for the concerns of senior desi types, then I say that a stronger endorsement for the agreement cannot be imagined. What you are saying is that nuclear power generation in India will be cheap and efficient, and the development needed to get there will be done by outsiders with not a penny going from the Strategic program to do it - leaving the strategic side free to concentrate its resources on Strategic programs. And I should be unhappy about this? Why, if I am not a Paki or a NonProllotullah?
This, Abcc, is where the Coca Cola analogy becomes relevant. LIMCA and 77 are screaming because Coca Cola may force them to consider selling their stuff in clean bottles, using clean water, and putting a little of their profit back into R&D. And they are screaming because CocaCola doesn't just give them the Secret Formula instead of forcing them to shell out money for taste tests, chemical labs etc.
But in this case, LIMCA and 77 are safe in that their plants are needed for National Security. So they don't even have to worry about marketing everywhere any more, and can concentrate their efforts on selling to the military. The threat IS there, though, that if they keep selling dirty water in dirty bottles and spreading Hepatitis B, then the military might yank their chains real hard.
Maybe the better example is Hindustan Motors screaming about Honda being allowed in, and not being forced to give the designs for the Accord straight to the Ambassador line. But I don't want to insult the Indian nuclear establishment, whom I consider to be heroes and heroines.