The Cricket World Cup Thread

ashokpachori

Re: The Cricket Thread

Post by ashokpachori »

ashokpachori wrote:So RD will open with VS.

And both play in slow motion!
:shock: In which universe does Sehwag play in Slow motion?

I thought he mean VS Laxman
Last edited by ashokpachori on 06 Jan 2011 01:09, edited 1 time in total.

I am sick and taking a day-off. but if we loose...........then no recovery :((

gawd will fly on Su-30MKI
"A proposal to fly Tendulkar in Sukhoi has been moved to the Ministry of Defence. It will materialise only after the ministry's approval, Sachin's consent and availability," Wing Commander S K Mehta, spokesman of the Indian Air Force (IAF), told PTI on Wednesday.
literally sky is the limit for the gawd.
Hope the other semi gawds do some wonders for TI.
TI will lose onlee. :(( :((

gawd onlee knows who is gawd. if has set limits, then he has to is sub-gawd.

in the replays. duh !

SaiK wrote:gawd onlee knows who is gawd. if has set limits, then he has to is sub-gawd.
sky==infinity. has no boundaries. :mrgreen:
(ducking for cover)

blasphemy! krisna krisna!

nachiket wrote:quote="ashokpachori"]So RD will open with VS.

in the replays. duh ![/quote]

all is lost...doom and gloom...we are gonna lose onlee..terribleee..

let the procession begin..

Kallis has always been Mr. Dependable for SA. We also have one, but unfortunately he's hopelessly out of form right now.
So we will lose onlee! :((

Except 4-5 guys all others seems to be down with injuries including sehwag. Thats why he hasnt bowled a single over. In this kind of pitch he could have got a few wickets. I dont think he is going to be much of a help in this innings.

For India to win/ draw. India need to be 150/0 at lunch, otherwise it favours the Proteas, only if Sehwag fires will STeyn and SMith go on the defensive, otherwise we will dig ourselves in the whole.

Can we dip the seem of the ball to be used in water so that it does not unnessecirly swing or Bounce?

draw is looking like best case scenario now.....we will lose only. :((

Aditya_V wrote:For India to win/ draw. India need to be 150/0 at lunch, otherwise it favours the Proteas, only if Sehwag fires will STeyn and SMith go on the defensive, otherwise we will dig ourselves in the whole.

Can we dip the seem of the ball to be used in water so that it does not unnessecirly swing or Bounce?
Thats ball tampering

You are allowed to bite the ball like Afridi but then you will have to be a paki to do that. :D
GuruPrabhu

Post by GuruPrabhu »

Ah Gunga Dins have strangely stopped bashing Baba Ramdev's breathing techniques after SRT's 146 in the first innings. Interestingly enough the possibility of an India win is also being raised hmmm
GuruPrabhu

Post by GuruPrabhu »

Too much credit is being given to Steyn, He is a great bowler but our out of form top order(-SRT and GG) is making him look even better.

We will loose onlee. Mr Serious has an elbow injuree. :((

The Prophet has spent his thundar in the first innings. :((
GuruPrabhu

Post by GuruPrabhu »

Steyn has an elbow injury too, a few thwacks by Sehwag will injure his ego and he will lose his head

We came very close to a series victory yesterday when the Proteas were 130/6 but our bowlers were tired by then and we didn't have any back up bowlers with Sehwag injured.

My brain says we will lose onlee but my heart says SRT , RD, VVS will not retire without a series win in SA on their CV

If RD scores a century then the match will be drawn
IF SRT. VVS, Sehwag or GG score centuries then we will win
SandeepA

Post by SandeepA »

Sehwag goes....we will lose onleee! :(

we would lose simply because of the negative mindset.

either one of these two goes and we will lose wickets in a heap with not many runs to show for it. what's worse the attacking fields will continue because the SA won;t feel threatened by the scoring rate.

steyn back in the attack. expect 2 wkts and 10 runs in the next 10 overs. :roll:

Blaming SS? When he was responsible for that ball of the series and also making sure kallis didnt bowl in this match and also miss atleast 1/2 of the ODI series
SandeepA

Post by SandeepA »

With the specialist Draw-vid at crease there no hope for victory or defeat. 86 balls for his 18 runs now
ashokpachori

Post by ashokpachori »

South Africans know the Hindi adage:

Jo dar gaya so mar gaya

But lamentably our own dont.....

If we dont be dogmatic, dynamic & dashing, and copy Sehwag like attitude, our top ICC ranking may seem just a fluke.

Even a blind squirrel gets a nut here and there........

Anybody noticed, they commentators on cricinfo are distinctly anti India. Here are a couple of quotes
Doesn't this day feel like an anti-climax?

An hour without much trouble for India. Draw looking more and more likely with each over.

http://www.espncricinfo.com/south-afric ... 63148.html
manish

Post by manish »

Aditya_V wrote:Anybody noticed, they commentators on cricinfo are distinctly anti India. Here are a couple of quotes
Doesn't this day feel like an anti-climax?

An hour without much trouble for India. Draw looking more and more likely with each over.

http://www.espncricinfo.com/south-afric ... 63148.html
I prefer cricbuzz for this reason: See their take
40.3 Harris to Dravid, no run, poor and negative stuff from Harris as Dravid pads another away, are India playing for a draw or is it SA? Exceptionally bad tactic from Harris, can't see him getting a wicket from this angle @ 86.76 kmph
Last edited by manish on 06 Jan 2011 17:25, edited 1 time in total.

Cricbuzz is pro India in a nice way. I hang out in their cricchat as well. Nice place.

SandeepA wrote:With the specialist Draw-vid at crease there no hope for victory or defeat. 86 balls for his 18 runs now
here we go again. it's clear that the team management decision has been to play for a draw if sehwag goes cheaply. dravid's specialisation has nothing to do with it.

Can we have a go at the target if we don't lose wickets for another 15 overs?

If we dont be dogmatic, dynamic & dashing, and copy Sehwag like attitude, our top ICC ranking may seem just a fluke.
Sorry but its more of play according to the situation...

Once Sehwag is gone, there is no point trying to imitate Sehwag and loose silly wickets ( cant see Dravid and other oldeis becoming Sehwag overnight) on a still dodgy pitch.... maybe it doesnt look so bad now but the fun will start when a new batter arrives and the same pitch will look like a minefield.

Dravidian bats as he is told to bat. Blaming him for batting slow is wrong.

Meanwhile pranthan has been fined 10% for.....kicking the boundary ropes. Unbelievable.

forget someone becoming sehwag overnight, in crickets entire 100+ years of history the number of sehwag like players can be counted on one finger. sehwag, gilchrist and just may be a couple more.

because sehwag makes it look easy most people think it is actually easy ! :eek: :D

>> Meanwhile pranthan has been fined 10% for.....kicking the boundary ropes. Unbelievable.

no more than he deserved. that is the law. it's a minor offence and he did plead guilty.

Have they been consistent in the series with players from both teams?

Uh,oh...Dravid gone!!!!!

Time to start cowering in a dark corner.
ashokpachori

Post by ashokpachori »

Sorry but its more of play according to the situation...

In India´s case, its been so, most of the time - Sehwag or otherwise.

Everyone knows India lacks cojones when it comes to situation like these....

When Dravid is one down batsman - even a caveman would bet his home/horse (wife included) for a draw.

Gus wrote:Have they been consistent in the series with players from both teams?
has any other player kicked a boundary board ? or anything else in the stadium ? this law is specific to physical shows of frustration.

mind they haven't fined him for verbal aggression (bringing the game into disrepute). there won't have been much ground to complain had they done so.

ashokpachori, why don't I see you commenting on the utter negative approach of SA in setting a target of 340 for a crumbling last day pitch with their vaunted bowling line-up ? it is at least 70 runs more than any team would chase on the 5th day. to me it looks like they were terrified of the Indian batting line-up.
oh and please find me an example of a team that had the 'cojones' to attempt a similar chase.
the only reason we even thought of chasing was because of sehwag.

to me it looks like they were terrified of the Indian batting line-up.
oh and please find me an example of a team that had the 'cojones' to attempt a similar chase.
+100 to the bold sentence.

remember the Tied Madras Test in an era gone by, TI was set a target of ~350 and TI chased it with quite a vigor
scaring the bejesus outta Assies.
ashokpachori

Post by ashokpachori »

ashokpachori, why don't I see you commenting on the utter negative approach of SA in setting a target of 340 for a crumbling last day pitch with their vaunted bowling line-up ? it is at least 70 runs more than any team would chase on the 5th day. to me it looks like they were terrified of the Indian batting line-up.
the only reason we even thought of chasing was because of sehwag.

Its all about mentality in a nut shell, and you know that. India lacks swashbuckler types!

Talking about turn of mind "mentality" SA overhauled the massive 418 runs (Aussie) did not they?

So thats cojones...

And dont tell me that the score of 340 was not chasable, if only we tried to exiperiment with at least 3 of our players......But hell no, its all about our mindset to look for cover and save the match as always.

As for the test records, I am sure, Australia or SA would have chased such a situation, I dont have such statictics, but many people will give you example and prove you otherwise right here on this thread.

Also check the number of draws of India, SA & Australia and see where India stands.

I have always wanted India to have killer instinct, but it seems they rather stick to Mahatma Gandhi principles.

As is the joke:

Hum Olympics ki daur me age kyo nahi ate?

Arey bhai ye hamari bharatiya sabhyata hai - chahe hum piche rahen, magar hamari atma tau age hai.....

Its no brain teaser to find that SA is more aggressive than India - just measure them pound for pound with past statictics.

Its not just this single test case - Its overall Indian attitude.