Two-G (2G) Spectrum Scam Tapes and follow-up

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Two-G (2G) Spectrum Scam Tapes and follow-up

Arjunm, Express writes

Sonia Gandhi and the Hidden Trail
Meanwhile, all roads seem to lead to Sonia Gandhi: she is the first Lady of India, although she is a simple MP like hundreds of others, the ultimate arbiter, and nothing of importance is decided without her caveat. The immense power she wields within the Congress cannot be only due to her charisma, of her having the Gandhi name or having brought cohesion in the Congress.

It is also, and perhaps mainly, because she holds the purse strings of tremendous amounts of money. These party funds are overt: all the foundations, Rajiv, Indira, Nehru, etc, which store thousands of crores; and covert, starting with the Bofors scam. Where are the secret bank accounts where the scam money is stored? Under whose names are they operated? How is the money brought back to India? Who will answer all these questions?
Its money if not the remote control.

Dhiman wrote: Personally, I am hoping that someone would press the nuke button and the chain of mutually assured destruction would start. Who ever is left will collect the pieces and move on. The rest will rot in Tihar hotel. But if that does not happen, it would only mean that the corrupt have struck a deal behind the closed doors and eased off each other because they have decided that their interest is paramount over national and public interest.
Rotting in Tihar jail is something that will never ever happen. Indian politicians were never convicted so far.

However, I see the the one highlighted above happening. See this is how PVNR started the Jain Hawala and destroyed the INC to go to 126 seats level. It took a while and EVMs to get to just 207 after a lot of hardwork. Now again someone (probably MMS) pulled a fast one and the party is running helter-shelter for cover.
arjunm

Post by arjunm »

ramana wrote:Arjunm, Express writes

Meanwhile, all roads seem to lead to Sonia Gandhi: she is the first Lady of India, although she is a simple MP like hundreds of others, the ultimate arbiter, and nothing of importance is decided without her caveat. The immense power she wields within the Congress cannot be only due to her charisma, of her having the Gandhi name or having brought cohesion in the Congress.

It is also, and perhaps mainly, because she holds the purse strings of tremendous amounts of money. These party funds are overt: all the foundations, Rajiv, Indira, Nehru, etc, which store thousands of crores; and covert, starting with the Bofors scam. Where are the secret bank accounts where the scam money is stored? Under whose names are they operated? How is the money brought back to India? Who will answer all these questions?
Its money if not the remote control.
Ramanaji thanks and I knew that but ..........just an expression of frustration.

Toothless one-man panel:

Retired Supreme Court Judge Shivraj V Patil heads the panel set up by the communications and IT ministry has sought to know from department of telecom if allocation of 2G spectrum has to comply with Central Vigilance Commission (CVC) guidelines. In a note to the spectrum allocation wing, the panel has also sought information about all the changes made in the national frequency allocation plan and details of constitution of Wireless Planning & Coordination (WPC) wing. The panel has been given four to five weeks to complete the probe and to suggest appropriate remedial measures for the future in his report to the new telecom minister Kapil Sibal.
arjunm

Post by arjunm »

Gulf News Interviewed Dr.Subramainyam Swami woo ...woo,, now I am worrid about our helpless good man PM. Now I know why he can not talk even he wants to, remember the movie Law Firm or something where Tom Cruz's whole house was wired by the firm to listen even his private conversation....according to Swamy all the PM's men around him are Sonia's appointees............

“I saved prime minister in telecom scandal”, says Dr.Swamy
By janamejayan
You’re quoted as saying that though the PM is honest, others are not. Who are these persons?

Yes, he is honest, but officials around him like his Principal Secretary T.K.A. Nair and Cabinet Secretary Pulok Chatterjee are not with him. They are all Sonia’s appointees. Even if you ask for the PM’s appointment, her people decide who can and cannot see him.

You’ve also said that if the PM resigns, it will strengthen those who made money. Could you name them?[/quote]*
Sonia and DMK party chief M Karunanidhi.

You mean Raja is just a face and the real culprits are the biggies of the DMK?
Raja got 10 per cent, Karunanidhi 30 per cent and Sonia’s two sisters have got 60 per cent of the loot.

Have you done in-depth research and investigation to make such claims?

Yes, I’ve enormous access because whatever my enemies may say, one thing is there that I’ve never betrayed anybody. Today, people in the government are so fed up seeing everything happening in close range and all this material is available with the PM
[quote]How soon do you think all this will come out?

Raja getting an arrest warrant will happen soon and cancellation of the licences given so far could happen within the next 2-3 months. As far as the recovery of the money is concerned, of which there is a big demand in the country, that will take time.

However, if the Americans, who know it all, co-operate, we can get it because there is the UN agreement on money laundering.

Most people are relying on corporate lobbyist Nira Radia tapes. But I know from personal experience that journalists do a lot of hack jobs. If wanted, they character assassinate you at the behest of the ruling party. In my case, the media cannot say anything except that I’m a troublemaker, which doesn’t sell very well. They don’t publish anything I say unless it becomes impossible like now, because the telecom scam has become a big issue. They’ve been doing it systematically. When elections take place, many journalists come and ask for money, saying they’ll give favourable coverage in return.

In the case of Vir Sanghvi, I know he used to visit Phuket [in Thailand] almost every weekend and the Tamil Tigers used to finance his trips. Because of his lifestyle, I knew he was amenable and a real fixer. He’s been writing articles depending on who’s in power. As for Barkha Dutt, she’s been indiscreet and doing foolish things.
( Somebody told me Vir Singhvi is a 'friend of Dorothy" for sure, a faggot ..this phuket trip. if true, it make sense.. I kind of doubted watching his one interview with Saif Ali khan, he was telling how beautiful he is and all that and then asked him what happened when he was young a British guy in london offered him 2000 pound etc......
Why is the Congress so adamant about not having a Joint Parliamentary Committee (JPC) probe into the 2 G scam?

That's because the JPC will be free for all. And they know that I will start advising the MPs what questions to ask.

One of the questions is about her [Sonia's] sisters having got the money. And if the JPC calls for the intelligence people, they will have to question her because the data is now with them.
http://janamejayan.wordpress.com/2010/1 ... al-says-dr.

ramana wrote:Arjunm, Express writes

Prabhu Chawla and MJ Akbar both moving fast to put their stamps on their respective organizations post the reshuffle..??

The article above is from New India Express...India Today / Headlines Today just broke a story the other day trying to implicate BJP in Radiagate.
ashokpachori

Post by ashokpachori »

Airavat wrote:Toothless one-man panel:

Retired Supreme Court Judge Shivraj V Patil heads the panel set up by the communications and IT ministry has sought to know from department of telecom if allocation of 2G spectrum has to comply with Central Vigilance Commission (CVC) guidelines. In a note to the spectrum allocation wing, the panel has also sought information about all the changes made in the national frequency allocation plan and details of constitution of Wireless Planning & Coordination (WPC) wing. The panel has been given four to five weeks to complete the probe and to suggest appropriate remedial measures for the future in his report to the new telecom minister Kapil Sibal.

Shivraj V Patil will be to Kapil Sibal, what justice Banerjee was to Laloo prasad - a lap dog. The outcome of (panel) which is already known to every toddler of India.

Now all that needs to happen is Raja to open his mouth about Karunanidhi or Sonia. So they know saving Raja is priority number 1 or the house falls. Or worst comes to worst they will ready a VIP prison cell in Chennai like they did for Zardari and sharif when they returned to TSP, Fill Raja's bank accounts in Singapore. Raja will be allowed to go home quietly from prison to visit family and enjoy some biriyani. Now that is worst case scenario. Kapil Sibal is handling this file looks like.

DMK slams media, says Raja can’t be arrested
The DMK on Friday launched a blitzkrieg against the media accusing it of distorting the spectrum issue to frame Dalit Raja by singling him out for blame in the allocation of the air waves even though he had merely followed the procedure of his predecessors.

Addressing a public meeting here, which signaled the start of the save-Raja campaign christened ‘Truth on spectrum’ by the DMK, state law minister Durai Murugan said the national media had misreported saying that the exchequer loss of Rs.1.76 lakh crore due to the spectrum allocation was made out to be the actual kickback got by Mr Raja. “You will need seven goods trains to carry that much of money. Can anyone swindle so much?” asked Durai Murugan.

He said the sole aim of the anti-Raja campaign was to defeat the Dravidian movement. (Doing a classic paki tactic, "lets make the issue ideological")

The CAG and Supreme Court observations were not final verdict on the allegations, said the minister, explaining that the CAG often found fault with the spending of all the departments. Singling out BJP leader L. K. Advani, Tughlak editor Cho and Janata party president Subramaniam Swamy for the ‘smear campaign’, he said ‘these forces’ could not stomach the 27 per cent reservation for OBCs in the higher educational institutions like the IITs and IIMs.

Mr Durai Murugan regaled the audience listing out the various welfare measures of the DMK government, such as the free TV and healthcare.

“It is our DMK government which gave purchasing power to a one-rupee coin,” he said referring to the one-rupee-a-kilo rice scheme.

shyamd wrote:Mr Durai Murugan regaled the audience listing out the various welfare measures of the DMK government, such as the free TV and healthcare.
In fact the DMK cadres are regretting the very same 'free TV' now because wvery channel is highlighting the 1.76 Lakh Crore scam.

GVL's tweet -
Congress's definition: Aam Aadmi is a Congressman who is yet to have a scam of his/her own despite connections in the party's power system

‘PM can’t just say I am a good man but every other man is making money’-- Arun Jaitley

http://www.indianexpress.com/news/-PM-c ... ey-/729404

The Delhi grape vine has that Rahullu Gandhi has escaped to Italy with Rs 68,000 crores.
rohiths

Post by rohiths »

Subramanian Swamy's interview in the Gulf news
http://gulfnews.com/news/world/india/i- ... y-1.722635
I saved prime minister in telecom scandal, says Swamy

Veteran leader reveals all about scam as he accuses media and politicians of corruption.
• By Nilima Pathak, Correspondent
• Published: 00:00 December 4, 2010
• Dr Subramanian Swamy
• Image Credit: Nilima Pathak/Gulf News
New Delhi: Dr Subramanian Swamy is President of Janata Party. Well-educated and honest, he is not only courageous, but extremely blunt and forthright in his views.
Widely known for publicly challenging and fighting against prime ministers and chief ministers, it would do well for his political opponents to remain on the right side of Swamy. For, his wrath can undo governments, leave alone individuals!

Though his histrionics have earned him the reputation of being a rabble-rouser, no one can claim to find anything incriminating against him to charge or drag him to court.
Speaking to Gulf News in an exclusive interview, Swamy has openly spelt out names on the telecom spectrum scam accusing both political and media persons for being corrupt.

GULF NEWS: You seem to be treading into familiar territory with 2G spectrum scam what with earlier taking the cudgels with Janata Dal leader Ramakrishna Hegde and All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam leader Jayalalitha and several others?

SUBRAMANIAN SWAMY: This is a very serious matter. The others were for a very different reason. Hegde was a member of my party and crafted the impression that he was a very honest and upright man. But he was most crooked and did all kinds of rackets. And, of course, he was tapping telephones of his own people, including his girlfriends! A man who pretends morality had to be exposed. Strangely, in 1988, our own party decided to investigate the incident of telephone tapping and he supported it thinking I wouldn't get to the bottom of it. When trapped, he filed a defamation case against me and later withdrew, which ended his career.

In the case of Jayalalitha, I helped her win the elections and become the Chief Minister. I was also instrumental in providing her adequate security after the DMK (Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam) government, which was close to the LTTE (Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam) was dismissed. But after winning, she began doing all the rotten things that the DMK was doing. Whether she or her associates did, I can't say. I questioned her and she got angry with me. In the process she started letting loose violence against me. That's when I said to her, ‘I'll teach you a lesson'. I dropped everything, sat in Tamil Nadu, and brought her down.

Is it because of bringing down governments that you are known as a troublemaker?

That's not true. There are also governments where I've helped. Like, the Narasimha Rao government couldn't have survived but for me. I created the Chandra Shekhar government, which actually initiated the reforms even though it didn't get the credit because it did not last very long. I helped Rajiv Gandhi survive in his worst days when everybody abandoned him.

Just because they [the politicians] can't say I'm corrupt or illiterate, they spread this usual propaganda that I'm a troublemaker. The public doesn't think so. Else I wouldn't have been elected to Parliament five times.

But haven't you kind of dragged Prime Minister Manmohan Singh to court — something that was till now unheard of?

Yes, but I also saved him because I thought the press was getting out of control and over-drawing the picture. I said that he sat on my petition to permit me to prosecute telecommunications minister Andimuthu Raja. Now, for the first time in the history of India the Supreme Court has directed the PM to file an affidavit. This affidavit shows that every letter of mine was marked by him for action, but his officials told him he didn't have to. He didn't know the law and I don't expect him to. But since Raja was forced to resign by him, I didn't want any more sanctions and said the PM didn't need to resign. Now they [Congress persons] were wild, because they wanted to shoot him with their guns on my shoulder.

Who do you mean by ‘they'?

Congress President Sonia Gandhi. She wants someone more pliable than Singh. He's pliable enough, but obviously, she is not satisfied.

And who do you think could be considered more pliable?

Defence Minister A.K. Antony, if she can't bring in her son Rahul Gandhi.

Are you getting to all this because your party is nowhere in the picture and you wish to remain in limelight?

First of all, whether I'm doing it for this or that reason, the question is am I speaking the truth. Is there corruption or not? It doesn't matter what my motivation is. These are cheap diversionary tactics, which I don't take seriously.

Why has it taken two years for the 2G spectrum scam to come to light?

That's because it took me more than one-and-a-half years to get hold of the documents, which was not easy. I had written to the PM in 2008 and he took two years.

On what basis do you say that it could possibly be the case of the most monumental corruption in world history?

Look at the sheer size of the amount of Rs1.76 trillion (Dh142 billion) the nation has lost. And I'm not talking about the bribe, which itself is pretty big. The total loss, had there been an auction, and what actually it was sold for (Rs100 billion), is huge. The bribe is a thing that out of the gain these people have potentially made and will make over the years. My estimate is Rs600 billion of bribe involved.

Do you suspect the roles of some journalists and editors including Hindustan Times columnist Vir Sanghvi and NDTV's Barkha Dutt in this scam?

Most people are relying on corporate lobbyist Nira Radia tapes. But I know from personal experience that journalists do a lot of hack jobs. If wanted, they character assassinate you at the behest of the ruling party. In my case, the media cannot say anything except that I'm a troublemaker, which doesn't sell very well. They don't publish anything I say unless it becomes impossible like now, because the telecom scam has become a big issue. They've been doing it systematically. When elections take place, many journalists come and ask for money, saying they'll give favourable coverage in return.

In the case of Vir Sanghvi, I know he used to visit Phuket [in Thailand ] almost every weekend and the Tamil Tigers used to finance his trips. Because of his lifestyle, I knew he was amenable and a real fixer. He's been writing articles depending on who's in power. As for Barkha Dutt, she's been indiscreet and doing foolish things.

You're quoted as saying that though the PM is honest, others are not. Who are these persons?

Yes, he is honest, but officials around him like his Principal Secretary T.K.A. Nair and Cabinet Secretary Pulok Chatterjee are not with him. They are all Sonia's appointees. Even if you ask for the PM's appointment, her people decide who can and cannot see him.

You've also said that if the PM resigns, it will strengthen those who made money. Could you name them?

Sonia and DMK party chief M Karunanidhi.

You mean Raja is just a face and the real culprits are the biggies of the DMK?

Raja got 10 per cent, Karunanidhi 30 per cent and Sonia's two sisters have got 60 per cent of the loot.

Have you done in-depth research and investigation to make such claims?

Yes, I've enormous access because whatever my enemies may say, one thing is there that I've never betrayed anybody. Today, people in the government are so fed up seeing everything happening in close range and all this material is available with the PM.

Why is the UPA - 2 seeing so many scams?

Earlier, the scams were related to the defence deals, where things were difficult. Now, they have got into things within the country. And since there are lots of players, some of them spill the beans.

You think the recent Mumbai's Adarsh housing and 2 G spectrum scams could be inter-related?

Yes, looks like it. Lots of loans have been given, which obviously have been used
How soon do you think all this will come out?

Raja getting an arrest warrant will happen soon and cancellation of the licences given so far could happen within the next 2-3 months. As far as the recovery of the money is concerned, of which there is a big demand in the country, that will take time.

However, if the Americans, who know it all, co-operate, we can get it because there is the UN agreement on money laundering.

Do you think the Congress will ask the Americans?

No, they won't. But I can force them to. It's only a matter of time. They know what I can do in court. They can't buy my lawyers, because I don't keep any! I argue cases myself.

Why is the Congress so adamant about not having a Joint Parliamentary Committee (JPC) probe into the 2 G scam?

That's because the JPC will be free for all. And they know that I will start advising the MPs what questions to ask.

One of the questions is about her [Sonia's] sisters having got the money. And if the JPC calls for the intelligence people, they will have to question her because the data is now with them.

Factfile
• Dr Subramanian Swamy was born in Mylapore, Chennai on September 15, 1939.
• He holds a Ph.D. in Economics from Harvard University .
• He taught at Harvard for 10 years and still holds summer sessions.
• Entered politics in 1970 and came into limelight for protesting against the emergency imposed in the country in 1975.
• One of the founder members of the Janata Party, he has been its president since 1990.
• Elected five times to Parliament (thrice to the Lok Sabha and twice to the Rajya Sabha), representing Mumbai, Uttar Pradesh and Tamil Nadu.
• Has been Cabinet Minister of Commerce and Law & Justice.

He is a dear friend of MMS and he is batting for him.

^^ With friends like him, MMS does not need any enemies. Amartyasen has actually come to conclusion and has passed the judgment that MMS is guilty. But he is pleading for clemency by ignoring the whole gamut, because every next person is a crook.
Wait a minute, what was all the drum baazi about MMS being Mr. Clean, Honest etc.. Thank u thank u Shri.Amartyasen, for enhancing and adding to the already common knowledge.
Noting that corruption is nothing new in the country, Nobel laureate Amartya Sen has said that it cannot be associated only with the present dispensation as the story will be the same had there been investigations into the previous government's tenure.

"You can shoot Manmohan Singh , you can shoot his successor, but the main problem still remains. You have the satisfaction of two heads that you can hang up in your wall but the problem will remain the same," he said
p.s. Looks like the image management machinery is in full gear and has tried to bring in Mr. No bull prize winner, no less to certify that all is business as usual. Well, truth by repetition is standard fare among the seculars(commies and other assorted ELM honchos). But, unfortunately, this time awarding the Mr. honest certificate seems to have slipped Shri.Sen's mind.
Pranay

Post by Pranay »

http://blogs.timesofindia.indiatimes.co ... he-iceberg
Most interesting has been the complete lack of interest shown by the opposition in the revelations of the Radia tapes. No serious demand has been made for the publication of the rest of the tapes, nor has there been any reaction to the tainted journalists and not a single politician raised the issue in any of channels in the few days in which media has blanked out the news. More tellingly, while there have been enough clues in the tapes that point to more scams involving more corporates and politicians, no one has put forward a demand for investigating these.

What we call politics is turning out to resemble a highly skilled staged performance where the cast comes together daily in the Parliament and on our television screens to entertain us with the spectacle of democracy. There is a loose script but very clearly demarcated areas where no one will venture and the reality show goes on for our benefit. The problem with corruption in India is that the political system depends on it; it is the grease that lubricates the machine and therefore it is virtually impossible to weed out. Of course, what the Radia tapes have done is given us a glimpse into what really works behind the scenes. There is now a soundtrack to what was earlier merely a suspicion and we now know what politicking sounds like. We now know that nothing of what we hear in media is remotely close to what the powerful say to each other when they speak to each other off-screen.

JwalaMukhi wrote:^^ With friends like him, MMS does not need any enemies. Amartyasen has actually come to conclusion and has passed the judgment that MMS is guilty. But he is pleading for clemency by ignoring the whole gamut, because every next person is a crook.
Wait a minute, what was all the drum baazi about MMS being Mr. Clean, Honest etc.. Thank u thank u Shri.Amartyasen, for enhancing and adding to the already common knowledge.
Noting that corruption is nothing new in the country, Nobel laureate Amartya Sen has said that it cannot be associated only with the present dispensation as the story will be the same had there been investigations into the previous government's tenure.

"You can shoot Manmohan Singh , you can shoot his successor, but the main problem still remains. You have the satisfaction of two heads that you can hang up in your wall but the problem will remain the same," he said
p.s. Looks like the image management machinery is in full gear and has tried to bring in Mr. No bull prize winner, no less to certify that all is business as usual. Well, truth by repetition is standard fare among the seculars(commies and other assorted ELM honchos). But, unfortunately, this time awarding the Mr. honest certificate seems to have slipped Shri.Sen's mind.
Very interesting. Things are finally stacking up. Some friends only help you when it is absolutely needed and on other times they are are all very non-political types and neutral.

JwalaMukhi ji - Think and try to see why MMS is being saved. In fact why someone even needs to save MMS when there is no direct threat? MMS is in fact ready to face the JPC or a modified PAC too.

Where is Acharya these days?

http://www.indianexpress.com/news/supre ... 0/729490/1
High-profile corporate disputes coupled with the turf war between the judiciary and the executive engaged the Supreme Court in the year 2010 which even saw the Prime Minister facing searching questions for his alleged "inaction" in the multi-crore 2G spectrum scam.
This is truly between devil and deep sea. Alleged "inaction", if it is either true or false; which makes it worse. If false, it means PM was complicit in the matter. If true, it means PM slept on the job and shows incompetency. Tough choice indeed.
Mupallaji: Think and try to see why MMS is being saved. In fact why someone even needs to save MMS when there is no direct threat? MMS is in fact ready to face the JPC or a modified PAC too.
Muppallaji, what is your take?
MMS is put in a tough bind. The usefulness of MMS to the cabal (handlers) is being evaluated. Which would cause least damage either MMS staying inside or leaving. The timing is uncertain, so time is being bought. Currently, there is least damage in he staying, once the coterie sees an opportunity, they will drop him like a cold potato.
Where is Acharya these days?
Finally, someone (Shri.Sen) with a true Rothschild connection... :P

I think the ITALIAN MAFIA has been blackmailing and ruling for the last 6years. It was a combination of anti-national elements holding the control of CEC, CBI, Courts with the help of usual traitors in the media who keep crying Hindutva whenever the MAFIA i under fire. Remember the phone tapping of Divijay Sick man exposed by Outlook.May be now, some of the Congress guys are fighting the ITALIAN MAFIA. May be there is some hope for this country.

If Sen is being brought to give out certificates for MMS then things are dicey from the international perspective.

BTW it interesting that this 'sage' pops up at crucial times to bolster the fake seculars when they start doubting themselves.

For instance his argument that punishing MMS now is useless for any one else in the same position would be in same situation is a fallacy for the things happened in MMS watch and he should take responsibility per the Westminster system! So the great mind wants power without accountability or responsibility! Great and he is supposed to be the intellectual light of modern India.

Jwalamukhi ji, here is my take. TWIW as I am only writing that is already written on this forum by several others over a long period of time.

There are two types of West-toeing Indian leaders/NGOs and others who can influence policy or decisions. One type is purely agents and vested interests who do for their gain. These include those who hate India and its cultural mould. Amartya Sen and Binayak Sen types belong right into this category.

The second is those who are convinced that it is in the best interest of India to follow west and leave the power posturing for future. Truly a Japan model as called out by RajaRam ji several times. MMS belongs to this category. He is not a corrupt person and he is convinced about how India should create its destiny.

The west is truly impressed by the performance of MMS. He was able to deliver a nuke-weapons-freeze and several similar tectonic-changes that were never possible even with west-toeing BJP. They saw a darling that they want to ensure the continuance. Though not practical, the west’s dream is have a compromise on JK, take the anti-Iran posture and join the global war on terror. It also wants India to take an aggressive posture with respect to China. As the west has seen MMS as result oriented, they do think he is best person to get with all the above issues. In that pursuit they do not want to see any leadership change in India. This is where the army of other types (like Shri Sen) gets into action to save the best man. Per some (journo-blog types) reports a few months ago, Mrs. Gandhi requested US (during her sudden visit to US to attend her ailing mom. Some say she attended Chelsea Clinton’s wedding), so that she can make changes to leadership but she got a negative. In fact they sent a message by releasing certain details from their past financial deals.

Why MMS has to go now? What is that is working against him to have help from these friends?

We have to go all the way to 2004. When Mrs. Gandhi made MMS as PM, within the first 100 days, there were reports that MMS pleaded for easing him out as he cannot take the aggressive opposition pressure. This was during the Shibu Soren saga. Soren was a cabinet minister and being searched by the police due to warrant for a murder case. A deal was struck between MMS and Mrs. Gandhi that she will take care of all the political stuff and they will support him to whatever he want to do governance/policy wise. He loyally supported them even in making statements like Muslims has first right on India’s resources with no shame. They also supported him by buying MPs from SP etc. during no-confidence against Nuke deal.

It is very obvious from congress perspective. If it has to revive to its old glory, a Gandhi has to take the mantle. The initial plan was to not have a PM candidate for 2009 elections. Tactically handling EVM-tampering could put Rahul to PM after the elections. However, NDA forced the PM candidate and they did not have the guts to go-ahead with Rahul at the time of elections as they feared an anti-family coalition taking place. However, they thought they could replace MMS post elections and they are not able to go that far.

To get Rahul into place they just cannot afford either MMS or his policies. They need a showbiz with so called left-of-center stuff. Muslim appeasement, not anti-maoist, being anti-US and not too much of anti-china etc.,(all the 1980s stuff) are to be brought back with a different loyal puppet. They wanted a replacement of MMS. Not just that and in politics one cannot be given a long leash if you have to keep control. They are already seeing the problem.

However, MMS is no puppet post 2009. He has tasted the blood and he knows his position. He made it clear by making his famous statement “miles to go before I sleep”. PMO is after all a very powerful office of the land. He has an inspirational wife on his side who lost her own brother during 1984 Sikh riots due to the terror unleashed by Gandhi’s goons. He has a team to deal with the family in his own way and has a strategy. The friends who can save him are Subra Swamy on one extreme to Amartya Sen on the other extreme. He knows what to leak and what not to leak to extend his time and he knows pretty well that he is not having age to continue beyond 2014.

The senior congressmen know that a replacement is in progress and they want to position themselves. Revealing the scandals of the party is the strategy everyone is using to get one-upmanship. The thought process is to build pressure so that MMS will crumble. Instead he may be willing to take actually JPC route as he knows that he will be not be affected. For him, it is either he or congress goes down. He is simply not interested to get out unceremoniously. The game is currently on and not over yet. Enjoy the show…

Heck you beat MJA! Can you blog this if you havent already?

Also explains the non-role of the opposition in the whole process. Its intra INC fight going on.

Ramanaji

My take on Congress game plan and MMS honesty in two posts at my blog.

http://rlindia.blogspot.com/

He may not actually taken any money. But he is continuing in the power with the gangs help. So he no less guilty than them. In fact he is more guilty as it is his so called Honesty that is sheilding the italian and DMK gang amoung many others who are looting the nation now.

NR, I read you blog. All I can say is if you attack MMS then all sorts of folks rally round him. It has to be the bad people who surround him. They are hands are rangeen and should be the accused.

MMS is like Dhritarastra and the symbol of the state. His minions should be the ones who should be investigated.

Muppalla wrote:The second is those who are convinced that it is in the best interest of India to follow west and leave the power posturing for future. Truly a Japan model as called out by RajaRam ji several times. MMS belongs to this category. He is not a corrupt person and he is convinced about how India should create its destiny.
Minor quibble on what is otherwise a very thought-provoking post from Muppalla....The MMS strategy may be likened to Japan's from an international relations standpoint, but is very much the polar opposite of Japan from an economy standpoint. The Japanese economy has become synonymous with stagnation over the last 2 decades...Don't have enough evidence as to whether MMS believes it is in India's best interest to follow the west, but he certainly (rightly) believes that 8 -9% GDP growth is the central plank of India's strategy over the next decade.

PS- This is not to imply that the growth of India's economy has been primarily driven by MMS. If anything that credit should go to India's business leadership, favorable demographics and the right international climate. Any right-wing alternative should be very much capable of replicating and even bettering this growth.

Muppalla wrote: To get Rahul into place they just cannot afford either MMS or his policies. They need a showbiz with so called left-of-center stuff. Muslim appeasement, not anti-maoist, being anti-US and not too much of anti-china etc.,(all the 1980s stuff) are to be brought back with a different loyal puppet. They wanted a replacement of MMS. Not just that and in politics one cannot be given a long leash if you have to keep control. They are already seeing the problem.

The Muslim appeasement card has a big competition now. Mulyam is not leaving any stone unturned to get back the Muslim vote. The DIE-nasty is in a big fight.

http://www.expressindia.com/latest-news ... an/729533/
amajwadi Party leader Azam Khan has accused the Congress party of doing injustice to Muslims by not giving them representation in the Parliament in ratio of their population in the country.

"Muslims comprise one-fifth of the population of the country and by not providing them representation in the Parliament in this ratio, Congress has done injustice with the minorities," Khan said here yesterday on the sidelines of an event.

"We will march to Delhi and demand the Centre that by not giving us representation after taking our votes is cheating with Muslims," he added.

Muppalla wrote:Per some (journo-blog types) reports a few months ago, Mrs. Gandhi requested US (during her sudden visit to US to attend her ailing mom. Some say she attended Chelsea Clinton’s wedding), so that she can make changes to leadership but she got a negative. In fact they sent a message by releasing certain details from their past financial deals.
Interesting ... So Sonia has to take permission from Uncle Sam to make changes in cabinet? Can you give links to the blogs?

IMHO anybody who has accounts in Switzerland or the Channel Islands has to obey Uncle Sam, and anybody who has accounts in Macao has to obey Communist Party of China. It is said that the 2Gs have accounts in both places.
Last edited by Pranav on 27 Dec 2010 08:33, edited 1 time in total.

Pranav wrote:
Muppalla wrote:Per some (journo-blog types) reports a few months ago, Mrs. Gandhi requested US (during her sudden visit to US to attend her ailing mom. Some say she attended Chelsea Clinton’s wedding), so that she can make changes to leadership but she got a negative. In fact they sent a message by releasing certain details from their past financial deals.
Interesting ... So Sonia has to take permission from Uncle Sam to make changes in cabinet? Can you give links to the blogs?

IMHO anybody who has accounts in Switzerland or the Channel Islands has to obey Uncle Sam, and anybody who has accounts in Macao has to obey Communist Party of China. As per Swamy the 2Gs have accounts in both places.
Read the timeline of release of certain warning shots.... It is like if you change MMS kabardaar there will be more to come.
Here is the link that has news links of that time.

http://magadhstrategy.com/?p=17

Regarding Mrs.Gandhi's visit to US, it is everywhere over the web and her visiting Chelsea's marriage, one long term poster posted that in Nukkad thread at that time. Something you will get if you have a keen eye at that time. Otherwise you will miss forever.

Arjun wrote: The MMS strategy may be likened to Japan's from an international relations standpoint, but is very much the polar opposite of Japan from an economy standpoint.
Absolutely. It is the international relations part that his vision is about not competing in areas where west does not like India to persue. It is now open source that he is anti-nuke weapons for India though reluctantly he accepted it. POK-2 is opposed by him and he spun it as "for economic reasons" after he became PM for realpolitik purposes. His did not do where his heart was but went with the practical line. However, as middle path he now had frozen further testing via nuke deal.

Congress must pull up its socks

Posting the relevant excerpts.
The BJP's fresh attack on Prime Minister Manmohan Singh over the government's refusal to constitute a Joint Parliamentary Committee (JPC) to probe the 2G scam is part of a well-thought-out strategy. Despite allegations against some of his Cabinet ministers, Singh continues to enjoy a good image. The BJP feels that until Singh is also tarred with the same brush, its efforts to floor the government will go to waste.
The Congress, on its part, seems to have run out of ideas. It has not been able to counter the BJP and Digvijaya Singh's strategic attempt to shift the focus of the debate from corruption to communalism versus secularism does not seem to have worked. In addition, the negative perception of the government has increased thanks to the spiralling onion prices.
The BJP's demand for a JPC had its origin in the denial of an opportunity for the Leader of Opposition in Lok Sabha, Sushma Swaraj to speak.
If the deadlock continues, it is going to damage the UPA even more. A remedy could be that the government, even at this late stage, should agree to a JPC probe, which covers the telecom policy after its formulation in the early 90s. The guidelines, which opened up the sector to private players, should be examined in a new light and every telecom minister in successive governments starting from PV Narasimha Rao's time should be probed.
A nice attempt to confuse & muddle the issue by the author
It is time for course correction. Otherwise, the countdown for this government may have begun.

CAG to depose before PAC on 2G report today

Yet more embarresment for the UPA on this issue.
Interestingly, PAC chairman Murli Manohar Joshi, a senior BJP leader, has started going about his job to examine the CAG report about alleged corruption in the allocation of spectrum despite his party's rejection of a PAC scrutiny that it has dubbed `inadequate'.
What nonsense by the to let.............

Pranav wrote:IMHO anybody who has accounts in Switzerland or the Channel Islands has to obey Uncle Sam, and anybody who has accounts in Macao has to obey Communist Party of China. It is said that the 2Gs have accounts in both places.
It is also said that commissions on deals done during the NDA days were paid into Swiss accounts. So both the NDA and the UPA "obey" Uncle Sam. In every deal find the bagman and you will find the money. During the NDA days it is rumoured the young progeny were trying to retrieve the Bofors money (they were out of power and hence cutoff from other sources) and the Swiss banks were dragging their feet in giving them access. Could the NDA do anything about it....it was well known what the progeny were trying to do in those days? No, nothing could be done....because the NDA had their own khaata to worry about and Uncle knows all the dirty secrets about both sides.

So rest easy and watch the tamasha.
Last edited by ldev on 27 Dec 2010 09:39, edited 1 time in total.

Dr Singh & the rest of the iceberg

Blog by Santosh Desai

Posting in full as it deserves to be read in full. Too many good points being raised by the author.
The more the Congress party extols Dr Manmohan Singh as a man of integrity, the more they hang him out to dry. For in the bland finality of that characterisation, lies a story that speaks poorly of both the PM and the ruling party. It is good that Dr Singh is personally incorruptible, and even the opposition parties that are agitating for him to face the JPC are not labelling him otherwise, but for that to become all that we can say about the leader of the nation is less than satisfactory. It points to the fact that the Congress implicitly accepts that other leaders in the party do not share this trait of Dr Singh's and therefore this unique distinction somehow qualifies him to take on prime ministerial responsibilities. As PM, of course Singh is expected to be honest; that should hardly be the pinnacle of his achievement, merely a minimum qualifying standard for the job. Also the notion of integrity is not just about personal probity, it involves being true to the responsibilities of the office and that certainly does not include overlooking the obvious infractions committed by a ministerial colleague because of the compulsions of coalition politics. By continuing to describe him exclusively in these terms along with a few references to his scholarship and erudition, what the Congress is essentially telling us is that we should be grateful that we have as our leader someone who looks the part and that Dr Singh's intrinsic qualities are good enough, and that his actual performance does not matter.

It is obvious why this is good enough for the Congress for it allows the division of responsibilities between Sonia Gandhi and the PM to continue. It would be one thing if this particular arrangement, however unorthodox, resulted in the PM being able to focus on running the country while the Gandhi family gave their exclusive attention to winning elections for the party, but it is increasingly clear that this is not the case. The government seems to have gone to sleep and in a few months the euphoria of a second term has got replaced with the aimless drift of purposelessness. And the PM himself seems to have little ability to find strength from the approval, however indirect, he has received from the electorate. When the Supreme Court has to pull up a minister for not listening to the Prime Minister, we know that the hierarchy in the Cabinet serves a symbolic rather than functional purpose. The belief that the business of government can be separated from that of politics has been exposed as being untrue, and the PM's inability to command respect and compliance from his colleagues has resulted in his abandoning any attempt to drive an agenda.

It is easy to focus our questions on the party in power but the behaviour of the opposition has been equally undistinguished. By focusing on the JPC and by converting the entire 2G issue into an occasion to target the PM personally, the BJP is showing its lack of interest in the more substantive underlying questions. The problem is not that the demand for a JPC is unjustified, but that even if the demand were to be met, nothing material is likely to come out of it. The challenge is a larger one, that of curbing the discretionary power of the Government to distribute largesse and to tackle corruption at a systemic level. This is something that interests no party, for most of them are in the same boat.

Most interesting has been the complete lack of interest shown by the opposition in the revelations of the Radia tapes. No serious demand has been made for the publication of the rest of the tapes, nor has there been any reaction to the tainted journalists and not a single politician raised the issue in any of channels in the few days in which media has blanked out the news. More tellingly, while there have been enough clues in the tapes that point to more scams involving more corporates and politicians, no one has put forward a demand for investigating these.

What we call politics is turning out to resemble a highly skilled staged performance where the cast comes together daily in the Parliament and on our television screens to entertain us with the spectacle of democracy. There is a loose script but very clearly demarcated areas where no one will venture and the reality show goes on for our benefit. The problem with corruption in India is that the political system depends on it; it is the grease that lubricates the machine and therefore it is virtually impossible to weed out. Of course, what the Radia tapes have done is given us a glimpse into what really works behind the scenes. There is now a soundtrack to what was earlier merely a suspicion and we now know what politicking sounds like. We now know that nothing of what we hear in media is remotely close to what the powerful say to each other when they speak to each other off-screen.

Perhaps the underlying reason for this state of affairs is the absence of a strong relationship between transparent governance and electoral performance that we have in most parts of India. The fact that the government at the centre is the product of cobbled together alliances based on a loose coalition of caste and other interest groups makes the relationship between the performance of a government and its performance at elections even more tenuous. As a result, we have a PM who is content to look the part, a cabinet focused more on maintaining their little empires of profit, an opposition that enacts outrage without wanting real change, corporations that pay material obeisance to anyone who counts and media that is seduced by the power of it all.

There is a problem with Dr Manmohan Singh, but the rest of the iceberg ain't so pretty either.

In the recent past following the revealtion of yet another scam in India, somebody made the following comment to me. Its just an observation. You may agree or disagree with it.
India has many rich people today and will have many many more rich people in the years ahead, but as a country it will not become rich

Looking at the way the cookie has crumbled, i have a strong feeling that Shri MMS might hang up his boots and bid adieu PMship. Who is untouched by the scam Pranab da, AkA or PC ?
Dhiman

Post by Dhiman »

suryag wrote:Looking at the way the cookie has crumbled, i have a strong feeling that Shri MMS might hang up his boots and bid adieu PMship. Who is untouched by the scam Pranab da, AkA or PC ?
This entire ruling class is making a mockery of and fooling the rest of the population of the country. While, the rest of the country has put its faith in this government with folded hands, crying eyes, and empty stomachs in the hope that the government will improve their sorry lives, these idiots in GoI are busy looting the treasury and deluding the entire population.

MMS better resign, if he has an ounce of dignity left in him. He has failed.
Shankk

Post by Shankk »

ldev wrote:In the recent past following the revealtion of yet another scam in India, somebody made the following comment to me. Its just an observation. You may agree or disagree with it.
India has many rich people today and will have many many more rich people in the years ahead, but as a country it will not become rich
There is nothing to disagree with the statement. It is right on dot. Unfortunately major reason of this unwelcome fact is the majority community (Hindus) in India who gets no formal training or collective guidance in these matters. I will elaborate more in some other appropriate thread to avoid derailing this thread.
Dhiman

Post by Dhiman »

From CAG report of 2G spectrum scam executive summary( http://saiindia.gov.in/cag/union-audit/ ... tment-tele ):
Instead of attempting to come to a specific value of 2G spectrum which could have been possible only through an efficient market discovery process, we have looked at the various indicators to assess a possible (presumptive) value, from the records made available to Audit rather than going for any mathematical/econometric models.

1. On 5th November 2007 through a letter addressed to the Hon'ble Prime Minister, S Tel limited who was a prospective licencee, having applied for UAS licences in July/ September 2007, had offered to pay a higher price in the shape of additional revenue share for next ten years. The offer was enhanced by the firm with a stipulation to further revise it upwards, in case of any counter bid. At the prices offered by the Company, value of 122 new licenses and 35 Dual Technology licenses after discounting for the receivables in future years works out to ` 65,909 crores as against ` 12,386 crores actually received.

2. Auction of 3G spectrum was recommended by TRAI in its Report submitted to Government in September 2006. In its Report of 2010, they have observed that it was fair to compare 2G with 3G and recommended 3G prices to be adopted as current price of 2G spectrum in 1800 Mhz band. If these recommendations, which have not so far been accepted by the Government are taken into account, then the value of 2G spectrum allotted to the 122 new licensees and 35 Dual Technology licences would be much higher at about ` 1,52,038 crores as against the amount actually received.

3. Many of the new UAS licensees of 2008 have been able to attract substantial amount of Foreign Direct Investment (FDI). Value of a new company with no experience in the Telecom sector can primarily be taken as that of the license and access to spectrum. This would have been the prime consideration for foreign companies while infusing large amount of capital in the form of equity in these companies shortly after award of license. Based on this indicator, value of a pan India license works out between 7,758 crores and ` 9,100 crores as against ` 1,658 crores priced by DoT. The total value for 122 new licences and 35 Dual Technology licences would be between 58,000 to ` 68,000 crores as against the actual revenue of ` 12,386 crores realized.
Point 1 above looks to be the most reliable estimate, so I would put the actual loss to the exchequer at 60,000 crores (53,000 crores loss based on actual bid amount + say 7,000 crores becuase the bidder was willing to increase the bid amount). This is also validated by Point 3 above.

PM writes to PAC chairman, says ready to appear before panel

If MMS is ready to appear before the PAC. Why is he not prepared to face the JPC? That is the question that needs to be asked from him.