Telangana Monitor

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Telangana Monitor

Muppalla wrote:
Everyone recognizes that Andhra (the delta portions) are developed a 100 years ago. To make Telangana look better than the delta region we have to first nuke the delta region. If Telangana grows consistently the way it is growing, it will reach Andhra. It may be not in agriculture but from overall sectors. SKC says that Rayalaseema is more backward that Telangana.

That kind of slogans if used in campaign will discredit the movements even if the movements are genuine. Very easy fodder for the opposition.
list.
That is right. That puts the blame of Telangana backwardness squarely on '00s years of Nijam rule. But the dhimmified Telangana intellect can't see it.

Looks like telangana people want to blame seemandhra folks for not liberating Telangana from Nijam rule long before.
joshvajohn

Post by joshvajohn »

After reading recent news about Telangana issue, I have got a few assumptions about Indian politics

1. how powerful are Bengalis in influencing against the Telangana issue with a fear that this could lead to a statehood in Gorkhaland dividing their own state - they put a lot of pressure in various ways on Pranab who is also acting as a mediator in this issue

2. how powerful Coastal Andhrite people are in putting pressure for a united Andhra on the state and central government both in parties of Congress, Telugu desam from Coastal areas and others

3. how much central government is going to hold on to this - letting time to run and watch the Telangana folks and Andhrites fight - Once the congress is gone then telangana comes anyway

4. No one in the central congress committee has courage to ask the state congress to unanimously pass the resolution in favour of Telangana as Reddy's son is gone and also encourage th Coastal Andhra MLAs and MPs to explain to their own constituencies why Telangana is now needed and is not going to affect their livelihood in anyway and even none is going to loose anything in the formation of new states

It is good to divide states with more than 5 crore people into two! Many language states can be divided into two so that linguistic chauvinism will decrease in India! Possibly this would increase decentralising the country with a bit more power to local people!

Some views on the states reorganisation

http://www.gnucash.org/mirrors/www.saag ... er142.html

It is good to divide states with more than 5 crore people into two! Many language states can be divided into two so that linguistic chauvinism will decrease in India! Possibly this would increase decentralising the country with a bit more power to local people!
if it is good to divide states with more than 5 crore, please divide uttar pradesh, bihar, maharashtra, west bengal and then give this advice to andhra.

Linguistic chauvinism in Andhra against other languages??? Please pass on whatever you are smoking.

There may not be much opposition if there is a uniform principle for the creation of the fresh states or creation of the new states. But can any one apply such rule with utter disregard to political interests of the parties?

But the problem with the present efforts to divide AP is an adhoc one without any basis other than one set of politicos want it and a section of the public which are a minority in a existing state support it.

NDA did divided 3 states more smoothly because there was by and large consenses on those divisions. On division of AP there is no such thing. If INC wants it can bulldozar the division at the threat of losing 22 MP's immediately and losing power at Delhi which it will not going to regain. BJP is also playing interesting game here. If AP is divided it may gain some support in Telangana and kill any chances of Congress winning seat in rest of the AP ( INC has 22 seats there now) and if Jagan consolidates there INC will be wipped out for a long long time in those areas. So a win win situation for BJP in a state which it got no stakes at all and no chance of gaining anything in near future.

joshvajohn wrote:3. how much central government is going to hold on to this - letting time to run and watch the Telangana folks and Andhrites fight - Once the congress is gone then telangana comes anyway

Care to explain how Congress going away brings Telangana. You mean to say Congress will be gone in Center and BJP will come and they'll give Telangana?

Don't you think same powerful Andhra lobby you alluded can sponsor defeatng BJP from coming at Center?
joshvajohn wrote:4. No one in the central congress committee has courage to ask the state congress to unanimously pass the resolution in favour of Telangana as Reddy's son is gone and also encourage th Coastal Andhra MLAs and MPs to explain to their own constituencies why Telangana is now needed and is not going to affect their livelihood in anyway and even none is going to loose anything in the formation of new states
With respect to SKC report, this needs to be in reverse to save Telangana people from from those crooks who brainwashed with lies.
joshvajohn wrote:It is good to divide states with more than 5 crore people into two! M
Let's give a state with Adilabad, karimnagar, Warangal, maybe Nizamabad districts. Your criteria will be satisfied. Lal Salaam!
joshvajohn wrote:Many language states can be divided into two so that linguistic chauvinism will decrease in India!
If you take out essence of regional cultures, you get Pakis. As I mentioned Telugus are most Nationalists while being regionalists. Same is true in other regions.

Do you want Indians or Pakis? take a pick!

ravi_ku wrote:
if it is good to divide states with more than 5 crore, please divide uttar pradesh, bihar, maharashtra, west bengal and then give this advice to andhra.

Linguistic chauvinism in Andhra against other languages??? Please pass on whatever you are smoking.
False advices are given.
Without knowing the history of the people and heritage and identity all advices will sound like imperialistic rule.

Dividing people and causing deep damages to society like how partition was done is the work of imperialistic powers who look at people as objects and pawns in the game. Andhra nadu and the land and the people are a common heritage of the entire region in the nearby states.

I thnk the way out is to make a serious effort to have a concenses building efforts so that some united decision soon. Once it is reached we have have a unanimous resolution of the Assembly and can proceed further. But without concenses there is no way we get any assembly resolution in near future. some 170+ seats are from non telangana areas and all of the will vote against the Telnagana and there is no guarantee that some 20 + Hyderabad and Sec bad MLA (who include 8 of MIM who said they are against division) will support division. So you are looking are total opposition to the division in any opinion sought by the President as of today. No serious efforts are made to change this equation till date. Pro division people are only busy hurling obuses at united people. When they need something they could have been more inteligent to get it in a more positive manner. But the TRS and naxal eliments are not interested in that. Later BJP, INC and TDP leaders of Telangana joined and it became a free for all match. So the mess created is qute bad.

But we can always say that negative opinion of the assmebly is not binding on the Parliament. But do we really want a situation wherein Delhi decide the nature and size of the states for no logical, administrative reasons and at its wims and fancy of Delhi irrespective of the local views? If it allowed where it is going to end.

One request to all Telugu speaking people: Andhra, Telangana and Rayalaseema sajjanulu.
Now that SKC has given its report no more fratricidal remarks.
That means no calling names to each other including leadership.
dsreedhar

Post by dsreedhar »

It is sad to see the situation in AP. 5-7 yrs back AP was seen as the progressive state with the development agenda under CBN. He and the state was a role model. Alas not any more. Taking the development cue, other states are surging ahead especially gujarat, bihar etc, but AP is lagging behind now and the current crisis is causing a setback of about at least 10yrs, undoing all the gains and advantages.

If the decision to continue with united AP prevails(I hope) , I think a few things need to happen - 1) Work on big irrigation projects and address water issues to support the farmers and promote rural economy in telengana. This will help arrest the massive migration from rural areas to hyderabad for a living. How about some kind of a river linking project at a state level? 2) Setup industry bases and govt institutions in other regions as well, which create mass employment. That way people from telangana region move to andhra/rayalseema for employment that will ensure integration of people of all regions and relieve overburden on Hyderabad. How about bring about sort of second capital city? 3) Take up anti-corruption agenda seriously in the state as it is the focus and hot item in the country currently. This may discourage state politicians playing dirty politics for power to loot.

However unfortunately if state split decision prevails, we need to ensure the politicians do not plunder the new states. Promote and ensure clean political affairs in the newly formed states.
milindc

Post by milindc »

Muppalla wrote:
Everyone recognizes that Andhra (the delta portions) are developed a 100 years ago. To make Telangana look better than the delta region we have to first nuke the delta region. If Telangana grows consistently the way it is growing, it will reach Andhra. It may be not in agriculture but from overall sectors. SKC says that Rayalaseema is more backward that Telangana.

That kind of slogans if used in campaign will discredit the movements even if the movements are genuine. Very easy fodder for the opposition.
list.
That is right. That puts the blame of Telangana backwardness squarely on '00s years of Nijam rule. But the dhimmified Telangana intellect can't see it.

Looks like telangana people want to blame seemandhra folks for not liberating Telangana from Nijam rule long before.
It is not even Nizam; lets face the economic facts 'the land is on evaluated (1200 ft) plateau and is arid'. The Andhra is a delta and had natural downstream flow of the land.
If Telangana is backward, then it because of this obvious fact and the only way for this region to move forward is industry based growth which is happening due to proximity with Hyderabad.

The proposed Lift Irrigation of Telangana lands is an extremely costly and per my opinion waste of public money. The water needs to be pumped up to 1200 ft, and the ongoing operational costs will be a huge burden on the state.

MilindC Garu,

Yes, all those points have been discussed before. Now that SKC report demonstrated that

- Telangana region gained the most after it joined Andhra, the next logical step is to compare it's growth with other erstwhile Hyderabad state regions in Maha and KTaka. That will prove the boon of Andhra to Telangana people once and for all.

- TRS, BJP, INC-T, TDP-T politicians demonstrated their leadership skills in extortion, fund collections, RE danda, instigating passions and stalling state growth. In these aspects they are no less than a lalloo or Mulayam or many congress CMs. How can they claim lack of political influence now?

- if one digs cultural similarities of various andhra regions and reads a little bit of history, the cultural identity if Telangana is no different to that of say East Godavari for a Srikakulam Telugu.

- that brings us to the last resort of any t-vadi; Aatma Gauravam. I truly do not understand how I can ask another person for my self-respect; as I have to develop it on my own. Telangana is no different from any part of andhra and they are no more under islamic rule.

We must thank KCR to kickstart this debate. This fact finding exersise will help the state citizenry to feel reconnected to their Andhra identity.

Every penance will yield good results; eventhough it is not the objective.

The great divide: Muslims split on Telangana state
It is not just the rest of the country which is divided on the issue of a separate Telangana state. The Justice B N Srikrishna Committee found that while the Muslims in Hyderabad, represented by the powerful All India Majlis e Ittahadel Muslimeen (AIMIM), favoured a united Andhra Pradesh, their community members in other parts of Telangana supported the demand for a separate state.

While Muslims form 41 per cent of the population in Hyderabad, they account for just 8.4 per cent of the population in the rest of Telangana. However, Muslims in both the regions are unsure about their security in a separate state.

“Muslims in Telangana are looking at higher reservation quotas which are being promised. On the other hand, they worry about communal conflict in a smaller state. The uncertainties over new political configurations have a bearing on the psychology of the Muslims, especially in the context of their safety and security,” observes the Srikrishna report.

The AIMIM, led by Hyderabad MP Assaduddin Owaisi, told the Srikrishna Committee that a united Andhra Pradesh was in the overall interest of Muslims. His main contention was that Muslims would be safer in a united Andhra than in a separate Telangana. “We would rather prefer a united state than a separate Telangana. There are social, economical and security issues. If division is inevitable, then a Greater Telangana should be created which combines Telangana and Rayalaseema,” he says.

But Muslim groups in Telangana feel that they are neglected and have remained backward, but are likely to get more benefits in a separate state. “Muslims have been neglected by all the parties including the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS). The Muslim Minority Front will fight for a separate state as well as for the rights of the Muslim community after the statehood is achieved,” says Telangana Muslims Minority Front’s Shahbaz Ali Khan.

The reasons for the conflicting stands are many, including cultural and social differences. Urdu-speaking Hyderabadi Muslims have maintained the Nawabi culture and traditions. On the other hand, Telangana’s Muslims speak a mixed dialect of Telugu, Urdu and Hindi, and even Marathi in the border areas of Nizamabad and Adilabad.

“Hyderabadi Muslims identify primarily with the city and not necessarily with the region of Telangana. Most of them reside in the old city and do not speak Telugu. Residents of Muslim mohallas were found to be the most disengaged from the Telangana issue,” says the Srikrishna report.

Politically, Hyderabad’s Muslims have aligned themselves with AIMIM for over half a century now. The AIMIM has won the Hyderabad Lok Sabha seat since1984. Of the 15 Assembly constituencies in Hyderabad district, AIMIM holds seven. In Telangana, Muslims prefer the Congress but have occasionally voted for the TRS.

The economics of the regions are also different. Hyderabadi Muslims, who are into traditional services like cloth trade, transport, catering, hotels and restaurants, have close business links with coastal Andhra. They also provide a majority of the ancillary services like lighting, set decoration, audio equipment etc required by the Hyderabad-based Telugu film industry which is dominated by people from coastal Andhra.

“Being largely a business/ small trader/ artisan community with urban concentration, Muslims of Hyderabad look towards a larger market as being more beneficial to them than a divided state,” says the Srikrishna report.

On the other hand, a large number of Telangana Muslims migrate to Gulf countries, often working as labourers at construction sites. “Muslims of Telangana have stressed the need for a separate Telangana to access educational and employment opportunities since they feel they have remained backward in a united state. Expectation of an increase in reservation benefits from 4 to 12 per cent in the new state is one of the major reasons for their demand for separation. At present, they receive four per cent reservation benefits under the OBC(E) category,” says the report.

Muslim leaders feel the existing distribution of Muslim population in all three regions of the state prevents them from becoming vulnerable. However, in the event of a separate Telangana state, “they fear they could be exposed to communally sensitive Hyderabad and Hindu-biased rural population of the region,” says the Srikrishna report.

“The Muslim representations from Telangana, outside of Hyderabad, argue that there is no communal or cultural divide between the Hindus and Muslims in Telangana. According to them, Telangana will not be unsafe for minorities. During field visits, however, a more nuanced viewpoint came out with people being unsure of the benefits of a separate state and articulating some apprehensions about their security in a separate state,” it adds.

If division of state becomes inevitable, Muslims are looking at a Greater Telangana or Rayala-Telangana state which will ensure that their strength remains around 12.5 per cent.
Don't confuse telangana muslims with hyd muslims.

After independence of 47, many muslims(urdu speaking) in nizam state did not leave the country. After telangana was freed from nizam rule, communal violence followed with t-hindus hunting down the muslims. Urdu muslims from various nizam regions converged to a ghetto in hyderabad to escape from the t-hindus. Their ancestors still reside in old hyd and they still hold allegiance to pakistan.

^Ooops!

Hmm...and a big Hmm..on the SKC report.
I just returned from desh but my entire trip was a horrible experience. I had planned to get more insight into all this during my Dec vacation trip to India but my in-laws aling with my wife and kid met with a road accident and my trip was limited to communiting between Appolo Hospital and in-laws place in Hyd. Luckily the accident was not fatal to anyone but major facial injuries to my inlaws. Wife and kid re relatively fine with minor injuries and recovering.

After hearing to all the similar (and often fatal) road incidents in the new highways involving my relatives and sheer amount of loss of life I am wondering about the true cost of "progress" especially vis-a-vis highways. More on this later in appropriate thread.

I haven't had a chance to read the report completely yet and will comment upon it as soon as I am done. But based on some headlines my thoughts are that:
- Report seems to have added to confusion and definitely did not serve the purpose of "maximum justice to maximum people"
- scope creep away from Telangana (the main issue and what should have been the focus) and heavy focus on Rayalaseema;
- Telangana apparently claimed more developed relative to other parts defeating total common sense and visible reality
- I wonder how the data availability issue was resolved but if you recall my earlier posts on this thread, this was a major challenge; Hopefully will get required from the report. This is critically important because if this is suspect and entire edifice will crumble.
- I want to understand which specific issues/complaints that T-folks made was addressed/debunked by the report and how that addresses the problem. (will post in a day or two after reading the report).

in other comment, I note that approach taken by the worthies in the committee is similar to what was discussed on this thread 8) especially around the geographic segmentation and incl/excl Hyd etc. Hope some of the members who agitated about it on this thread also find it an issue with the report.

Wecome back Satyanveshi garu. Hope everything is alright with your family and they recover fast. Hoping to see your input and contribution once you settle down.

Sorry to know this thing. Look after your family guruji. That is more important now that all this. We all pray that they recover fully soon.
vnadendla

Post by vnadendla »

Satya_anveshi wrote:......

I haven't had a chance to read the report completely yet and will comment upon it as soon as I am done. But based on some headlines my thoughts are that:
- Report seems to have added to confusion and definitely did not serve the purpose of "maximum justice to maximum people" .
Assertion without evidence.
- scope creep away from Telangana (the main issue and what should have been the focus) and heavy focus on Rayalaseema;.
Nope. Do you mean to say the focus should be on Telangana vs E,W Godavari and Krishna Districts?

- Telangana apparently claimed more developed relative to other parts defeating total common sense and visible reality
;.
Visible? How? Can you explain? Srikakulam Per Capita GDP is visibly higher than average Telangana? Oh You want to compare with the deltas?
- I wonder how the data availability issue was resolved but if you recall my earlier posts on this thread, this was a major challenge; Hopefully will get required from the report. This is critically important because if this is suspect and entire edifice will crumble.
- I want to understand which specific issues/complaints that T-folks made was addressed/debunked by the report and how that addresses the problem. (will post in a day or two after reading the report).
Please do. I read through the report and think its sound. I am not commenting on conclusions / politics but the methodology. If you difer you need to provide evidence.
in other comment, I note that approach taken by the worthies in the committee is similar to what was discussed on this thread 8) especially around the geographic segmentation and incl/excl Hyd etc. Hope some of the members who agitated about it on this thread also find it an issue with the report.

Here's my take... T-state will probably form by 2014!!

A strong anti-congress wave has swept t-state. Driven by intense emotions. There is no way congress can win back t-state unless it delivers "substance" - not offer promises.

Run-up to 2014
The congress's only focus in 2014 will be the general elections. This time, the congress will need to work over time to stay in power. A series of corruption scams has changed public opinion to a noticeable degree. And with jagan and co in rayalaseema, congress votes are destined to get divided. It will have to try its hand elsewhere to win power in andhra pradesh - like satisfying telangana.

I think "telangana" is inevitable. But now it looks like the TRS and BJP wants to cash in on the formation. They want telangana "immediately" - and not as a gift in 2014.

This move below is probably the right step to achieve a statehood
TRS wants Centre to introduce Bill on T

And i can bet the t-congress will have no choice but to force the centre to try passing the bill. The t-congress will continue to loose ground as long as they keep postponing. They cannot play both sides any more. Last year, in the by-elections, when congress played both sides, it lost every single seat.

So, do i think telangana will form before 2014? Probably yes. At least, things are heading in the right direction for T.

Reminds me of a confucius saying... It does not matter how slowly you go so long as you do not stop. Though, i don't think T is going slow. Whoever heads T knows politics very well and knows which buttons to push

RamaY wrote:Yes, all those points have been discussed before. Now that SKC report demonstrated that...
The SKC report is irrelevant. The data was provided by the same regime that favours a "united andhra". But that's not the argument. The report was supposed to act as a "leverage" to change "public opinion" that helps make possible "the final decision". That can only be possible if the report is accepted by "everyone", which-it-is-not. The T side has called the bluff. They are not engaging themselves busy with the arbitrary findings of the report. Instead, they are forcing their MLA's to force the centre to pass the bill. Do you understand what's happening? The SKC helped you buy time. The report findings was supposed to buy you more time. But that has not happened. The dormant period has ended. The truce has most certainly been ended. Things are moving forward.

T has figured out how to hurt the congress and the congress knows. Every party in T-state is in rebellion against their respective high commands and it is just a matter of time before they get absorbed by TRS or await to get defeated. Congress stands to become the biggest loser unless it acts!! Do your people understand that? or are they going to fill 5 more pages worth of discussion on the SKC report?
Last edited by nvishal on 10 Jan 2011 20:48, edited 1 time in total.

nvishal,

Fair enough!

* SKC is irrelevant, and cooked up data.
* Telangana history prior to Islamic invasions is irrelevant
* Fact that TRS won only 20 MLA seats even when it contested in >40 seats is irrelevant.

What is relevant in your opinion? Please elaborate.

TRS's ability to hurt INC. Do you really think TRS can contest and win all Telangana MLA/MP seats? What is your guestimate 70% or 60%?

nvishal wrote:T has figured out how to hurt the congress and the congress knows. Every party in T-state is in rebellion against their respective high commands and it is just a matter of time before they get absorbed by TRS or await to get defeated. Congress stands to become the biggest loser unless it acts!!
nvishal gaaru here is a set of queries from the perspective of a non-AP person. While it is accepted that the demand for Telangana has a lot to do with political empowerment and carving a fiefdom for the region, why do you think SKC did not address that part sufficiently? The gorilla in the room is the crony capitalist class that originated in the power politics of kosta and is mostly off records. How does SKC deal with it? (from my limited reading of it there is little reference to ownership of means of production, capitalist class control and mining rights etc etc). Willing to be enlightened on that! My view is that dominant factions of the ruling party have ensured a stalemate whereby INC thinks that at least for now (no guarantee for future)

T-state>>>> loss in Kosta is worse than United AP>>>> loss in T region.

So unless 42-25-17 gets resolved in INC favor the state may not come about for now or maybe future. However the T-state cannot be completely discounted now since they have definitely found traction and political heft to fight it out.
Last edited by munna on 10 Jan 2011 20:57, edited 1 time in total.

By friend, the parties in t-state won on the basis of a promise that they will deliver t-state. How hard is that for you to understand?

Look at the things from the perspective where they actually matter. Whether the events hold any "substance"?

Even if the SKC report had said, "create t-state", it cannot be done because the congress would face backlash from the MLA's in the rayalaseema region.

Look at the future of congress in t-state and rayalaseema and there lies your answer whether t-state is a possibility or not. Hence, the SKC report is bloody useless. The t-people have already figured that part out.
RamaY wrote:TRS's ability to hurt INC. Do you really think TRS can contest and win all Telangana MLA/MP seats? What is your guestimate 70% or 60%?
Do not worry about the weight of TRS in t-state. It will most probably be a majority. Ask yourself, who will gain a majority in rayalaseema - congress? TDP? Jagan? And would jagan and congress be willing to get back together after all that has happened?
Last edited by nvishal on 10 Jan 2011 21:08, edited 1 time in total.

it is just a matter of time before they get absorbed by TRS
LOL...KCR said he is ready to *sell* his party off to INC if T is formed...these parties are a JOKE...TRS, INC, BJP etc...nothing is going to happen Vishal bro...its in the INC's interest that T should be on paper and not materialize....you can blame anyone you want..SKC..Andhras..Seemas..Bengalis etc....but INC will delay it indefinitely as long as they are in Power...let me tell you what's going to happen....more innocent people of T region will die of committing/Conspired suicides..some desperate leader like Chidu makes a false statement....uproar and violent agitations in Coastal and Seema regions...more innocent/conspired suicides in seemandhra region....but this time certain heads will roll from political circles of both the regions....the entire T area will go up in flames and Seemandhra folks becoming violent...Presidents Rule<Period> ....what happens after that? TBD at that instant....till then be free of emotions...its healthy.

But logically....SKC report can be used by Rayalaseema and Andhra folks for more attention on development projects....as the stats show us that Seema and Andhra region is behind Telangana region with or without Hyderabad....again SKC report is a blasphemy...right?

nvishal,

I have two specific questions.

1. If every data point that points against T-state is cooked up, what data you would like to use to make a debate. The data including economic, political, demographic vagairah should the basis for a separate T-state demand; not the fortunes of INC/BJP/TDP/TRS and so on.

2. I am not talking about what TDP/INC said. I am asking why TRS lost.

@munna
The congress is in power in AP at the moment. The focus for the congress is to continue staying in power - planning for the future. The congress is not an amateur party. They will not jeopardise their relationships with their current or future alliances unless they are unavoidable(jagan). The vote share is going to be divided in rayalasema among various parties while it is going to converge in telangana for one party. TRS has already offered to support congress. I will bet my money on separate telangana.

Satya Garu, Hope your family is recovering fast. Please accept our sympathies.

^ That is a possibility and that is why it is a political issue; and has nothing to do with economic progress, regional identity, "dochukunnaru", political space and so on. That also means the data presented in SKC report is many times accurate than the rubbish put out by TRS and T-JAC.

That is the realization everyone has come to after SKC report - That Telangana issue is a political issue.

That makes the simulation we ran (posted in previous pages) more accurate. INC might have political compulsions in state and that may push them to offer separate Telangana (as you said above).

But INC is more about national politics, when it comes to real decision making. And as the game predicts, the national players will have more say than TRS in INC equations at any point of time.
Dasari

Post by Dasari »

nvishal wrote:
RamaY wrote:Yes, all those points have been discussed before. Now that SKC report demonstrated that...
The SKC report is irrelevant. The data was provided by the same regime that favours a "united andhra".
After 100,000 petitions, 2000+ meetings and 11 monhs of research by some eminent scholars across the country, it is too late for that bluff. This kind of murkhatwam don't get us anywhere.

The dialogue should be what if option 5 is considered, what should be the compensation to Andhra and Rayalaseema. First address the later part, before the former is addressed.

Similarly if option 4 has to be considered, what is the practicality of it. How can the people of Nalgonda and mahabub nagar participate in the electoral system.

Remember, the rights of 5 crore people will not be sacrificed for the demands of 3 crore people. We can slice and dice in any way, with alliance to any party but finally it will down to this simple truth. I hope this is recognized by both sdes and come to a compromise.

The system in AP is not a unique one. It is the same story with many states across india. All districts do not develop at par with each other. Some prosper and some stay behind. Look at the situation in maharashtra - the place with the financial capital of india, yet has a vibarbha in it's fold. Im totally in favour of small states. If vidarbha is not gaining from maharashtra's prosperity then surely the epic centre of prosperity is too far away from it.

I won't call the uprising as mere "political" in nature. Calling it "political" doesn't make sense. Im not sure what happened between telangana and andhra but an entire mass of crowd has been mobilized and it keeps getting bigger. Surely, something is not right.
Dasari

Post by Dasari »

The reason why vidarbha didn't became another Telangana, even though it has the 10 poorest districts of India (* source PACS report by EAS Sarma), it doesn't have Mumbai, the most developed area of the state. Of course, if it had Mumbai, it would not be backward, just like what is happening to Telangana.

So this a political battle is to usurp Hyderabad and profit it. The rest of the population are mere pawns.

* It would interesting to see Vidarbha's progress since its unification in Maha and compare it with Telangana post 1956. Since this myth has been busted already, this has lesser and lesser value as we go.

* Telangana issue is no upraising. It is carefully orchestrated goondaism, similar to JK stone pelting episodes; and the media presented it as if the whole state was burning. Same with Telangana. Once the political class is controlled (especially TRS, and INC-T) and OU is contained, we are not seeing much "uprising" past few days.

More and more it looks like the "uprising" of political + Govt employee + Student uprising in Telangana-state demand. This is due to more competitive/professional nature of seemandhra people mainly due to the head start they got before AP unification. There is very little, if any, mal-intentions in that. The corruption and nepotism exists even in T-circles, so it is not just seemandhra trait.

Dasari garu - Excellent point!

How long are you going to hold on to this "it is all a TRS conspiracy" card? What are you telling me? That TRS is so talented and godly that it commanded the entire region to cause an uprising? Rubbish!! Something is genuinely not right.

Is it so?

What is rubbish?

That TRS with help from INC-T and T-JAC violently harassing TDP, PRP or anyone against T-state demand? Do you really think the common public is responsible for stoning Konda-Surekha group in train station when they were awaiting for YSJ?

The antics of so-called OU student organizations?

What is genuinely not right? The extortion business of KCR family? or the political games of INC-T leaders who couldn't offer a reasonable alternative for state leadership after YSR's death? Why cant they force a T-leader to be INC's CM candidate?

If they can't influence INC for a state CMship in this situation, how could they influence SG/RG for a separate state?

nivishal, If you see the first post on top of this page I requested each and very Telugu speaking person to eschew recrimination now that the SKC report is out. Lets study and see whats the real problem. I agree its not TRS and KCR. They are symptoms and not causes of the angst.

SKC says Telanagana districts developed as much as Coastal Andhra districts. Rayalaseema lagged much behind.

However in Telangana districts i.e, intra-Telanagana the gains were not evenly distributed even in the districts that prospered.

The message of some politicians to those how didn't benefit, is that the gains went to Andhra folks. This is the "stealing" argument.

Whats going on?
unarayanadas

Post by unarayanadas »

Chandrababu Naidu willy-nilly gave an impetus to the movement for separate Telangana. It was his political chicanery and impatience to occupy the Gaddi that made him change his stance in 2009 and be a party to the Assembly resolution in the same year. K. Rosaih's naivety, incompetence and perhaps insouciance in governance - probably because he saw himself as a temporary incumbent in the CM's chair - mislead P Chidambaram and the so called "high command" into issuing the (in)famous December 9 proclamation in 2009.

Regional television channels, with their voracious appetite for sound bytes and competition for eyeballs were the ‘game-changer’ this time around. Their 24x7 telecasts have helped in creating a climate of mistrust between the two regions. The middle classes which are the real engines of any mass movement caught the virus this time around and the feeling of mistrust seems to have percolated deep down. Under the circumstances it is perhaps difficult to keep the state together however much one wishes for the contrary.

Again, CBN etc are symptoms. Politicians take advantage of ground opinion. What do the numbers say?

nvishal wrote:@munna
The congress is in power in AP at the moment. The focus for the congress is to continue staying in power - planning for the future. The congress is not an amateur party. They will not jeopardise their relationships with their current or future alliances unless they are unavoidable(jagan). The vote share is going to be divided in rayalasema among various parties while it is going to converge in telangana for one party. TRS has already offered to support congress. I will bet my money on separate telangana.
Telangana is more divided Congress, TRS, BJP, TDP, CPx and all of them claim credit. Jagan won't be factor if Congress keeps United AP. Jagan will be accommodated some other way or absorbed into Congress for that United AP stake. Then it is mostly Congress and TDP, both can claim credit for keeping AP intact. Politically it is deadlock situation favoring status-quo

Best thing that can happen to Telangana is (Telangana - Hyderbad and surrondings).

One thing SKC did is to kick doubtful in non-T areas out. No one can talk them out in non-T in light of SKC report. It becomes a Dharmic fight for non-T to be in the side of truth. People will be less accommodative than before for Hyderabad and water share.

@RamaY
Enough. I don't think that anything can change you outlook on the current situation in AP. Im sure you had an "opinion" on this situation when this thing started and i think it remained unchanged throughout. Dimmified populaton, maoist hands, tambi interference, Congress chanakyaisms, KCR trickeries, conspiracy suicide(what?) OMG. Seriously, enough!!

@ramana
I'll withdraw for the moment. But yes. It is the significant question. "what is really going on?"

Thanks nvishal. I ll handle the others also. We had enough bad blood spilled on this.