The awareness is because the LeT/JuD began to spread worldwide and began to attack the US. They got embedded within AQAM and began attacking the US/NATO forces in Af-Pak.ManuT wrote:from the dawn mullen interview ...The top US military official’s interview indicated that in his meetings with Joint Chiefs of Staff Committee Chairman Gen Khalid Shameem Wynne and Chief of Army Staff Gen Ashfaq Parvez Kayani, he would discuss US concerns about the Haqqani network as well as the growing outreach of terror networks allegedly operating from Pakistan, including the Lashkar-e-Taiba, Jamaatud Dawah {some awareness here, this much we know} and Tehrik-i-Taliban.
Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan (TSP): Mar. 29, 2011
Re: Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan (TSP): Mar. 29, 2
I hope BRfites clearly understand 'which aspects of TSP's terror policy that the US agrees with and which it doesn't'. I am simply amazed at how some Indians believe that the US will solve India's problems. Some people like Ms. C. Fair say openly why the US will *NOT* solve India's problems while Adm. Mullen et al cloak it but still deliver the message to us Indians. Yet, we repose faith in US intervention.arun wrote:Dawn’s version of US Joint Chiefs of Staff Chairman, Admiral Michael Mullen’s comment“The ISI has a rich history of how they operated in this part of the world, to protect their own country; I understand that some of the aspects of that we strongly disagree with and that is something that we continue to address.” …………………
A busy calendar of Indo-Pak talks
While cricket matches are not on the immediate agenda, India and Pakistan have chalked out a busy month ahead to pick up the threads of the comprehensive dialogue that was suspended after the late-2008 Mumbai attacks.
The Commerce Secretary-level talks in Islamabad next week will be followed by a meeting between the Water Resources Secretaries on the Wullar Barrage\Tulbul navigation project in May.
Next, the Surveyors General of the two countries will resume discussions on resolving the Sir Creek dispute. Although the Science and Technology Secretary is yet to confirm the dates, the meeting will be held in Islamabad.
A meeting on Siachen between the Defence Secretaries is likely to be the fourth in the series . And, as a follow-up to the Home Secretaries' meeting, the Director General of the Narcotics Control Board will meet his Pakistani counterpart next month.
The two sides have tentatively decided to schedule a meeting between the Foreign Secretaries in early June.
India is still unhappy with Pakistan's slow pace in prosecuting those held for their involvement in the 2008 Mumbai attacks.
New Delhi hopes this would change with the recent agreement to allow a Pakistani judicial commission to visit India.![]()
SS, Do babus in South Block seriously believe in TSP changing tracks or is it for Public consumption or DDM working with creative mind ?
I mean even a foolish kid understands the nature of this viper..
Vikas, if one looks at some of the diplomats like SK Singh, GP, Kanwal Sibal et al, one can only marvel at their fantastic understanding of Pakistan, its society, Army and all the paraphernalia that go to make up that country. On the other hand, there are others like Mani Shankar Aiyar, or Salman Haider et al who think Pakistan can be turned around and India is also to be somewhat blamed for the Pakistani attitude etc. But, even they understand the Pakistani perfidy. Ultimately, these people are babus who may only give inputs and await Mantri ji's decisions (in our case, it has been the PMs who have almost entirely handled the India-Pakistan relationship). The blame or the praise therefore rests entirely with our Prime Ministers, I suppose.VikasRaina wrote:SS, Do babus in South Block seriously believe in TSP changing tracks or is it for Public consumption or DDM working with creative mind ?
Specifically, with reference to the hope by the babus that the 26/11 court case in Pakistan would now move forward, one has to see the chronology of how it has moved so far (maintained by BRf) to understand the folly of their hope. I am sure they know it very well. But, they have a super boss who thinks otherwise.
It could also be that our PM knows perfectly well that Pakistan was a lost cause but he pretends to have a facade of talks to await a suitable time to bury the knife deep inside and give it a few turns too. Nothing would gladden us were it to be true. But, alas !
SSridhar garu and sum-ji, +1. The argument about waiting for an XX trillion $ economy before deciding to take on TSP is weak. I can argue that the stakes for peace will be much higher if we are a giant economy. Must more to be lost in the event of a war. Even more responsibility on us to ensure there is no escalation. More pressure from foreign and domestic business interests to not rock the boat.SSridhar wrote:Oh. . wait for another decade by which time we would have clocked a scorching GDP so that the economic and military disparities between India & Pakistan would be so enormous and Indian clout among world powers would be so dominating that we can deliver the jhapad.sum wrote:Why is that every new outrageous attack in Desh by Pakis causes the red-line to be shifted and we start looking towards Unkil to deliver the jhapad on our behalf
These seem to be excuses for inaction and pretending and praying that the problem will solve itself. Or hoping the don will take out the local goonda who violates me at will - because I for whatever reasons, am unable or unwilling to fight my own battle.
I think when we say we are waiting for something that will force Unkil to fix TSP, it is bringing out our helplessness and hopelessness over the inaction of GoI and hoping for divine or Unkil intervention.
With the current 'A stable Pakistan is in India's interest', if and when this hope materializes i.e. if and when TSP disintegrates or is consumed by its own poisonous stew, India risks finding itself on the wrong side of history. The future generations are likely to see India as having shied away from playing its part...as unable or unwilling to act in their national interest and in not only doing, but also seen to be doing its utmost to deter and protect itself from an enemy that openly aims to destroy its existence.
^^^ As Abhishek Ji said a few posts ago, the game is cute doggy, sweet doggy, till we find a stone...
The Indians are in prarthna modus, and one is in prarthna modus, when one sees oneself as impotent to change the situation. We are praying that the Americans would solve our problems, and that is not going to happen. We fall prey to praying, because our strategic community simply has not put forth any plan, any course of action, any road map which ensures an end to Pakistani terrorism under the umbrella of nuclear threat! We are taking the geopolitical environment around India as a given, immune to our manipulation, immune to resolution! Why?SSridhar wrote:I hope BRfites clearly understand 'which aspects of TSP's terro policy that the US agrees with'. I am simply amazed at how some Indians believe that the US will solve India's problems. Some people like Ms. C. Fair say openly why the US will *NOT* solve India's problems while Adm. Mullen et al cloak it but still deliver the message to us Indians. Yet, we repose faith in US intervention.arun wrote:Dawn’s version of US Joint Chiefs of Staff Chairman, Admiral Michael Mullen’s comment
“The ISI has a rich history of how they operated in this part of the world, to protect their own country; I understand that some of the aspects of that we strongly disagree with and that is something that we continue to address.” …………………
Today we live under the threat of several tens of nuclear bombs going off in our cities, set off by mad dogs who in their collapse have nothing to lose and all satisfaction to gain from seeing India going down with them. With every year, the difference between India and Pakistan would grow, and so too would the jalan, the envy from Indian progress. The threat of some nuclear strike on India only increases with time!
Does the Indian establishment have no ideas how to resolve this, other than with prarthna and pappi-jhaphi!
There have always been huge events in world history which have wiped away established political structures, so why is such a tide not being considered!
If the powers that be in Delhi, are willing to share power, than Pakistan can be unraveled within 3 years. I had proposed an India-Bangladesh merger in the context of "Peaceful Consolidation of the Indian Subcontinent". How long can Pakjabis hold on to the various other provinces in the backdrop of something like that?
One can unravel and disarm Pakistan without firing even a single bullet, without any bloodshed! But one requires some very bold decisions from the top!
Sri, I hope that is true because there is no other way to explain otherwise our present behaviour. We have to maintain our H&D too by attributing our behaviour to such chanakianness. But, history doesn't inspire confidence. Our enemy has been very wily too. He took measures and then countercountemeasures to keep us in check. He exploited every crack, clung to everything to escape drowning and stay alive to torment us. Therefore, we simply cannot remain complacent that somehow our growth would take care of him in the future.
S Sridhar Wrote
Sir with all due respects, we will knock out all Pakistani terror related sites next time something like 26/11 occur. It might cost us a war, a lot of money, a lot of people, and not to mention, the heavy toll on our economy, ...having done that ,do you think, the ideology of extremism that fuels such acts can be stopped?I hope BRfites clearly understand 'which aspects of TSP's terro policy that the US agrees with'. I am simply amazed at how some Indians believe that the US will solve India's problems. Some people like Ms. C. Fair say openly why the US will *NOT* solve India's problems while Adm. Mullen et al cloak it but still deliver the message to us Indians. Yet, we repose faith in US intervention.
Sir, That implies we are waiting to find a stone since 'death through a thousand cuts using Topaz stainless blade' was launched almost a quarter of a century ago. Patience is a virtue, but somehow I am unable to find that convincing.
To my limited understanding, the inaction or holding back is due to lack of ability or lack of will. I will be happy to stand corrected.
As for the need to even think about helping TSP by doing things like providing electricity or resurrecting their cricket hosting reputation, it is indeed unprecendented thinking. Two possibilities - Either more Chankian than Acharya Vishnugupt or simply unrealistic muddled thinking.
To my limited understanding, the inaction or holding back is due to lack of ability or lack of will. I will be happy to stand corrected.
As for the need to even think about helping TSP by doing things like providing electricity or resurrecting their cricket hosting reputation, it is indeed unprecendented thinking. Two possibilities - Either more Chankian than Acharya Vishnugupt or simply unrealistic muddled thinking.
Pakistanis happier than Indians: Gallup survey.
Wonder how many in Def & Dumb are mast********* seeing this.
^^^ Boot up buddy lets go in for a nuclear war, prepared for the worst outcomes , in the worst case scenario, millions will die, Pakistan, will be exterminated and there will be 500 mn Indians left. We will have to re invent the wheel and start off again in India, at the mercy of the Chinese. Come on and be prepared.
Pakistan SC acquits 5 of 6 accused in Mukhtaran Mai gangrape case
Why am I not suprised with the verdict, since each require 4 PAK(Urdu for Beliving men), 5 accused disposed as witness against the 1 guy, to convict all of them you would need 24 witnesses to despose before the court.. Zimble Only..
Time for Ms. Mai to apply for Canadian Visa.
Why am I not suprised with the verdict, since each require 4 PAK(Urdu for Beliving men), 5 accused disposed as witness against the 1 guy, to convict all of them you would need 24 witnesses to despose before the court.. Zimble Only..
Time for Ms. Mai to apply for Canadian Visa.
Precisely.The US right now is in a very vulnerable situation considering its debt and its economic woes. The whole economic fabric is under threat. One attack on US at this moment will be catastrophic. For India this presents an opportunity of a lifetime.If we pressurize Pakistan enough in Afghanistan and contain US pressure on us(India) at the same time,that pressure on Pakistan might be released on US(India is obvious target but it can be negated with proper carrot delivered). It all depends on how well we play it.SSridhar wrote:Sri, I hope that is true because there is no other way to explain otherwise our present behaviour. We have to maintain our H&D too by attributing our behaviour to such chanakianness. But, history doesn't inspire confidence. Our enemy has been very wily too. He took measures and then countercountemeasures to keep us in check. He exploited every crack, clung to everything to escape drowning and stay alive to torment us. Therefore, we simply cannot remain complacent that somehow our growth would take care of him in the future.
US reaction to any terrorist attack on its soil emanating from Pakistan will be biblical.
Hmmm. . . you stumped me there, menon.menon s wrote:Sir with all due respects, we will knock out all Pakistani terror related sites next time something like 26/11 occur. It might cost us a war, a lot of money, a lot of people, and not to mention, the heavy toll on our economy, ...having done that ,do you think, the ideology of extremism that fuels such acts can be stopped?
BRFites see chankianness when there is none just like Poaks at DeafnDumb see Yindoos where there are none. The simple fact why no leader/party will ever get down in the gutter & clean it up is due to the lack of will/balls at the highest level of leadership. One party is happy with playing internal divide & rule and filling its coffers with hard earned money of the people of this country, caring two hoots about internal & external security of the country in the process. The other party, if & when it ever comes to power again, is too naive & insecure to attempt to do anything of the scale that we require, fearing that any ******-up in the process will destine their leaders & every related organization to the dustbin of history. Add to the mix, a huge majority of people with severe memory problems who do not demand any punishment to Pakistan as long as they sit tight & pretty in their homes, wave flags & abuse politicians when bunch of Paki terrorist run riot on the streets of their city instead of demanding to bomb Pakis to stone age & then vote the same set of mofos back in power. I see no chankianness at all, I see only some kind of twisted Gandhianness - keep on absorbing blows with the hope the enemy will either tire, change heart or get bored.
Playing the Devil's advocate here so pls bear with me...........
I sometimes wonder if the action plan that we are proposing or talking about and are almost dying to implement is even doable, b@lls be damned. I mean if you know you can't finish the war, why start it. Maybe GoI understands this better than us or maybe they are really led by naive heartless cowards.
I mean I post based upon my little experience and absolutely no knowledge of warfare and How a war would somehow heal bleeding by TOPAZ.
I mean lets for a moment assume that we had a 15-20 days war in which TSP is defeated. IA dismantles the terror infrastructure (Actually few huts and
goats), arrests LeT chief/couple of other wanted terrorists and then 'The moment of 71-deux' passes away.
What is next? In few years, TSP rebuilds the terror network with more availability of Mujhaideen charged with fervor of Avenging so many deaths and the cycle repeats itself.
Other option is that India divides TSP into 3-4 independent countries. What stops one component of it e.g. Sindh to continue terror activities against India via non-state actors. Are we going to offer 2 Jhapad daily to Sindh?
As much as I oppose GoI's policy of Sweet doggy,cute doggy with no stone in hand, I know we still don't have any rope to entangle this Dog or like a game of chess, we still are working on this game.
Sure there are things that can be done and one of them is to provide targets to Pakistani terrorists within Pakistan and let them have Diwali everyday.
Turn the turret of this terror monster towards western world and let Unkill/Aunty find a solution. Our problem is now their headache.
Somehow Unleash this TSP murder machine on KSA/China and see how it is buried 6 feet under even before we can scream "One more dossier".
We will have great leaders, ordinary rulers, Pak loving Ministers, Brilliant security chiefs,'Declare war now' Jingoes, ex-Raw chief going WKK, DDM, long lost brother brigade, Hate TSP crowd and as an old nation, it comes with the territory.
To believe that IK Gujral or MMS would not happen in future is flippant. Similarly to say that once we are few trillion dollar economy in next 10 years, 3.5 friends will start jumping out of Paki boat singing Hallelujah is not likely to happen. Pakistan will find some other underwear to crawl into.
Like it or not, We are in this game of Murder,deceit,perfidy, blood, blasts ,empty words, friend against foe, moralistic preaching and if we don't play the game, We still remain in the game and history is not going to look kindly at us favorably just because we refuse to play this Game.
Some of the options that are thrown up always include the Mushy like assumption that Pakistan will not dare to declare war because IA grabbed 20 Km of its territory near IB or that we just bombed $hit out of Muridke and that Unkill is doing the same and no Paki General raises even a squeak.
RajeshA: Your idea of India-BD merger would somehow trigger giant tsunami of Pakis trying to divestiture the country known as Pakistan somehow doesn't inspire confidence in me. We are trying to hit a six and cricket and hoping for a Gold in hockey. Still you have some original idea. At least you can't be called a arm chair critic.
I sometimes wonder if the action plan that we are proposing or talking about and are almost dying to implement is even doable, b@lls be damned. I mean if you know you can't finish the war, why start it. Maybe GoI understands this better than us or maybe they are really led by naive heartless cowards.
I mean I post based upon my little experience and absolutely no knowledge of warfare and How a war would somehow heal bleeding by TOPAZ.
I mean lets for a moment assume that we had a 15-20 days war in which TSP is defeated. IA dismantles the terror infrastructure (Actually few huts and
goats), arrests LeT chief/couple of other wanted terrorists and then 'The moment of 71-deux' passes away.
What is next? In few years, TSP rebuilds the terror network with more availability of Mujhaideen charged with fervor of Avenging so many deaths and the cycle repeats itself.
Other option is that India divides TSP into 3-4 independent countries. What stops one component of it e.g. Sindh to continue terror activities against India via non-state actors. Are we going to offer 2 Jhapad daily to Sindh?
As much as I oppose GoI's policy of Sweet doggy,cute doggy with no stone in hand, I know we still don't have any rope to entangle this Dog or like a game of chess, we still are working on this game.
Sure there are things that can be done and one of them is to provide targets to Pakistani terrorists within Pakistan and let them have Diwali everyday.
Turn the turret of this terror monster towards western world and let Unkill/Aunty find a solution. Our problem is now their headache.
Somehow Unleash this TSP murder machine on KSA/China and see how it is buried 6 feet under even before we can scream "One more dossier".
We will have great leaders, ordinary rulers, Pak loving Ministers, Brilliant security chiefs,'Declare war now' Jingoes, ex-Raw chief going WKK, DDM, long lost brother brigade, Hate TSP crowd and as an old nation, it comes with the territory.
To believe that IK Gujral or MMS would not happen in future is flippant. Similarly to say that once we are few trillion dollar economy in next 10 years, 3.5 friends will start jumping out of Paki boat singing Hallelujah is not likely to happen. Pakistan will find some other underwear to crawl into.
Like it or not, We are in this game of Murder,deceit,perfidy, blood, blasts ,empty words, friend against foe, moralistic preaching and if we don't play the game, We still remain in the game and history is not going to look kindly at us favorably just because we refuse to play this Game.
Some of the options that are thrown up always include the Mushy like assumption that Pakistan will not dare to declare war because IA grabbed 20 Km of its territory near IB or that we just bombed $hit out of Muridke and that Unkill is doing the same and no Paki General raises even a squeak.
RajeshA: Your idea of India-BD merger would somehow trigger giant tsunami of Pakis trying to divestiture the country known as Pakistan somehow doesn't inspire confidence in me. We are trying to hit a six and cricket and hoping for a Gold in hockey. Still you have some original idea. At least you can't be called a arm chair critic.
Last edited by Vikas on 21 Apr 2011 16:01, edited 1 time in total.
Defeat by a thousand Pappi-Jhappis indeed.Chandragupta wrote:I see no chankianness at all, I see only some kind of twisted Gandhianness - keep on absorbing blows with the hope the enemy will either tire, change heart or get bored.
A busy calendar of talks ahead for India, Pakistan
Pakistan-trained terrorist killedThe Commerce Secretary-level talks in Islamabad next week will be followed by a meeting between the Water Resources Secretaries on the Wullar Barrage\Tulbul navigation project in May.
Next, the Surveyors General of the two countries will resume discussions on resolving the Sir Creek dispute. Although the Science and Technology Secretary is yet to confirm the dates, the meeting will be held in Islamabad.
A meeting on Siachen between the Defence Secretaries is likely to be the fourth in the series . And, as a follow-up to the Home Secretaries' meeting, the Director General of the Narcotics Control Board will meet his Pakistani counterpart next month.
The two sides have tentatively decided to schedule a meeting between the Foreign Secretaries in early June.
But with the Defence Secretary meeting having to be shifted and no confirmation on the Sir Creek dates, this wrap-up meeting, which will also discuss Jammu and Kashmir and confidence-building measures, might be pushed back by a few days, said sources in the government.
Wherever Pakistani trainees go, terror network follows.A Pakistan-trained terrorist, believed to be behind scores of attacks on police and terror blasts in the Caucasus region, was killed on Wednesday in Daghestan's capital Makhachkala. "Sabitbi Amanov, a resident of Kazakhstan, was the chief explosives expert of the terrorist groups active in the Cauca
sus. He had undergone training in Pakistan," state-run Rossiya 24 TV channel.
Well Opossum's have developed a mechanism to escape being eaten - they play dead. India has supineness as strategy, and when terror strikes we play dead. Dead people don't react remember? And if a dead man is hit he won't recall anything - so friendly relations with Pakistan are always on the cards.
Like I said - I am always looking for explanations that will fit all facts as we see them and I think what I have said above allows all observations to slot in perfectly. We do not need to do anything about Pakistan. We need to play dead. That's all.Get hit? Don't react? Deny. Stonewall. And then get up. Smile. Invite Pakistanis into India and tell them we love them.
Well, isn't that pretty much what we've done over 2,500 years...?shiv wrote:Well Opossum's have developed a mechanism to escape being eaten - they play dead. India has supineness as strategy, and when terror strikes we play dead. Dead people don't react remember? And if a dead man is hit he won't recall anything - so friendly relations with Pakistan are always on the cards.
To contain Pakistan at least three steps are needed:
1. Divide Pakistan
2. De nuke the constituents
3. Cut off any direct land border with China.
One can add several other things to this list as I've enumerated some of these below, but the three main ones are the most important.
i) Ensure that the constituent states have very small armies, politicians run the countries.
ii) Ensure that there is economic development, and emphasis on western education.
iii) One can try to keep them busy amongst themselves by 'allowing' them to have border disputes, specially Pakistani punjab.
iv) The unreformable religious zealots need to be tried and punished by each of these countries, under a close watch by us & others. Religious parties banned like in bangladesh.
v) Terrorists who have indulged in crimes need to be extradited to the nations where they committed their crimes and punished as per the law of the land.
As we can see not easy to do at all.
It will need an unusual agreement between its 3.5 boyfriends to let it sink. Two of them China and KSA will want to hold onto Pakistan in its present form for their own reasons.
1. Divide Pakistan
One can add several other things to this list as I've enumerated some of these below, but the three main ones are the most important.
i) Ensure that the constituent states have very small armies, politicians run the countries.
ii) Ensure that there is economic development, and emphasis on western education.
iii) One can try to keep them busy amongst themselves by 'allowing' them to have border disputes, specially Pakistani punjab.
iv) The unreformable religious zealots need to be tried and punished by each of these countries, under a close watch by us & others. Religious parties banned like in bangladesh.
v) Terrorists who have indulged in crimes need to be extradited to the nations where they committed their crimes and punished as per the law of the land.
As we can see not easy to do at all.
It will need an unusual agreement between its 3.5 boyfriends to let it sink. Two of them China and KSA will want to hold onto Pakistan in its present form for their own reasons.
@VikasRaina^^^: "Like it or not, We are in this game of Murder,deceit,perfidy, blood, blasts ,empty words, friend against foe, moralistic preaching and if we don't play the game, We still remain in the game and history is not going to look kindly at us favorably just because we refuse to play this Game."
I vote for 3-4 independent states: Baluchistan, Sindh, Pakhtunistan, WPunjab, Gilgit-Baltistan by whatever covert and proactive means.
Let them fight with each other along their fault lines. Covertly support all of them. India gains nothing by a united Pakistan that cements the same fault lines by using India as the enemy.
Plausible deniability through bazaar purchases of NATO and PRC weapons into the right hands. It's all about using money to fuel ancient and enduring grudges.
Those who would argue that in the long term it will blow back, I say the same is happening now at little cost to the PA. As to the nukes, the moment the disintegration starts to take shape, unkil and aunty will rush in to 'secure' them.
I vote for 3-4 independent states: Baluchistan, Sindh, Pakhtunistan, WPunjab, Gilgit-Baltistan by whatever covert and proactive means.
Let them fight with each other along their fault lines. Covertly support all of them. India gains nothing by a united Pakistan that cements the same fault lines by using India as the enemy.
Plausible deniability through bazaar purchases of NATO and PRC weapons into the right hands. It's all about using money to fuel ancient and enduring grudges.
Those who would argue that in the long term it will blow back, I say the same is happening now at little cost to the PA. As to the nukes, the moment the disintegration starts to take shape, unkil and aunty will rush in to 'secure' them.
Let us see who these 3½ Friends are and what are their interests in Pakistan. Let us also see what leverages does India hold with these. Let us also see the likely trajectory of events in the region that will shape the course in the next five years or so. This analysis will then give an idea of what will happen to Pakistan. It would be an interesting project that would need a group of people to attempt.Gagan wrote:It will need an unusual agreement between its 3.5 boyfriends to let it sink. Two of them China and KSA will want to hold onto Pakistan in its present form for their own reasons.
As far as I see it,VikasRaina wrote:RajeshA: Your idea of India-BD merger would somehow trigger giant tsunami of Pakis trying to divestiture the country known as Pakistan somehow doesn't inspire confidence in me. We are trying to hit a six and cricket and hoping for a Gold in hockey. Still you have some original idea. At least you can't be called a arm chair critic.
- Pakjabis with a sprinkling of Pushtun and Mohajirs thrown in, are the ones flying the Pakistani flag.
- Non-Pakjabi ethnicities are kept in by showing them Hindu India as bogey man and for saving Islam.
- And then there is a vast population, who are simply fed up of a non-performing Pakistani State, including in Pakjab.
Pakistan is being kept together by having forced the other ethnicities to swear on Islam itself. It is not necessarily any loyalty to Pakistan that keeps the other provinces tied to Pakjab, but rather their loyalty to Islam, and Pakjabis have successfully equated Pakistan with Islam. You be disloyal to one, you are disloyal to the other.
With Indo-BD merger, the whole Hindu bogey-man and "Islam in danger" falls flat on its face. Pakistanis would see that 1947 is not written in stone. They are free to rethink the Two-Nation Theory. They are free to rethink Partition, and this time with the benefit of hindsight.
There is a knot which has frozen Pakistani attitude towards India in time. Indo-BD merger would open that knot, and let the thoughts of non-Pakjabis in Pakistan flow freely again.
The giant tsunami would come from the Sindhis, the Mohajirs, the Baluchis, the Gilgitians, the Baltistanis, and Pakjabis would not be able to keep this urge back. We need not take in any. We just need to get them out of Pakistan first. We can do the cherry picking later if we wish.
To be frank, Indians have not been able to solve Pakistan, because of complicated thinking amongst the Indian leadership and their calculations regarding Muslim sentiments in India and rest of the world. In this regard, Bangladeshis at the helm of MEA's Pakistan Desk can do better! No more Muslim sentiments to think weigh in!
IMHO, it is difficult for Indians to comprehend the enormous change we will go through in looking at ourselves and at India's opportunities in the that post-merger New World! We will be much much more than the sum of our parts!
Looking through a prism, one would see two "MUSLIM" nations in the Indian Subcontinent, one almost twice as big as the other, both nuclear powers, but one successful, prosperous with a double-digit GDP growth, the other going down the drain! To which "Muslim" nation in the Indian Subcontinent, would the Sindhis, the Baluch, the Gilgitians, the Baltistanis want to belong to! Can the Pakjabis really deny the others that right? Aren't Muslims supposed to join the bigger Ummah (as India could be considered through that prism)?
Let's not forget what we have here at stake! The Indo-BD merger is definitely preferable to a nuclear war! At the moment, all GoI has done is to put wool on our eyes and pretend that there is no nuclear threat from Pakistan! More than that, there is no preparedness drive for the population on the part of GoI either!
http://criticalppp.com/archives/46708
Last night (Tue, 19 April 2011) Najam Sethi’s show, Aapas Ki Baat, on Geo-News went off the air when Sethi was talking about agencies propping up Imran Khan. It returned after almost 10 minutes of ads. Its host said that there was a technical fault. This is the second time a ‘technical fault’ has occurred on the show. The first time it occurred a month ago when Sethi was taking SC to task.
Mods, I apologize if this is taking the discussion OT. Please advice appropriate thread to post to if OT.
The state that TSP finds itself now is in no way related to any actions taken by India. We are passive observers. Because we are their primary targets and most affected by their actions, we must do something - overt or covert. And equally importantly, be seen to be doing something. Not just for history, but also for the present and the future. Currently what is visible is inaction and appeasement of the aggressors. This is the worst option to choose. If overt actions are taken, they will be visible. If covert actions, then the least we can do is not make statements that lead everyone to believe that Indians do not care for their countrymen.
3. It is in India's interests - for its own citizens, for the world and for TSP to verifiably and visibly see that India can and will do everything to safeguard its interests.
The impression an outsider gets of India when it blinks first against its hostile neighbours is for all to see. We do not want other countries drawing the wrong lessons about how to deal with us.
I am just saying that we need a course correction. It should be known without doubt that Indians will back their words with action to safeguard themselves (feel free to issue dossiers and chai-biskoot sessions in addition)
IMO, when we talk about 500M Indians killed, we are falling for the Paki policy hook, line and sinker. We are thinking what they want us to think with their irrational behaviour. Even if we assume the worst that we are held hostage to a nuclear holocaust, surely GoI should have or should be working to have enough approaches and options to get the situation back in our favour.^^^ Boot up buddy lets go in for a nuclear war, prepared for the worst outcomes , in the worst case scenario, millions will die, Pakistan, will be exterminated and there will be 500 mn Indians left.
Short of war, we can be sure there are many options available with GoI. And if there aren't, then we need to please start thinking about them.I sometimes wonder if the action plan that we are proposing or talking about and are almost dying to implement is even doable, b@lls be damned. I mean if you know you can't finish the war, why start it.
The state that TSP finds itself now is in no way related to any actions taken by India. We are passive observers. Because we are their primary targets and most affected by their actions, we must do something - overt or covert. And equally importantly, be seen to be doing something. Not just for history, but also for the present and the future. Currently what is visible is inaction and appeasement of the aggressors. This is the worst option to choose. If overt actions are taken, they will be visible. If covert actions, then the least we can do is not make statements that lead everyone to believe that Indians do not care for their countrymen.
3. It is in India's interests - for its own citizens, for the world and for TSP to verifiably and visibly see that India can and will do everything to safeguard its interests.
The impression an outsider gets of India when it blinks first against its hostile neighbours is for all to see. We do not want other countries drawing the wrong lessons about how to deal with us.
I am just saying that we need a course correction. It should be known without doubt that Indians will back their words with action to safeguard themselves (feel free to issue dossiers and chai-biskoot sessions in addition)
As for uprooting the extremist ideology - this is a longer term more widespread problem and much more. I confess I do not have end to end solutions to propose. But the argument that without having a solution for the bigger problem, we should sit tight or even appease is a wrong option to choose. I would even dare to say that continuously and demonstrably foiling TSPs plans for India will at the very least make religious extremists think again about dreaming and planning to overrun India back to the Mughal days.Sir with all due respects, we will knock out all Pakistani terror related sites next time something like 26/11 occur. It might cost us a war, a lot of money, a lot of people, and not to mention, the heavy toll on our economy, ...having done that ,do you think, the ideology of extremism that fuels such acts can be stopped?
We will always be facing challenges and there will always be enemies. Same as life. Permanant peace / Ramrajya is utopia. If the Mujahideen will rise again, we will need to rise to defend ourselves again. We are not the aggressors. But at the same time, we have to choose to refuse to be the oppressed. We have to keep doing this to survive.What is next? In few years, TSP rebuilds the terror network with more availability of Mujhaideen charged with fervor of Avenging so many deaths and the cycle repeats itself.
Amerikhan gives assurance to the Pakis that Kayani's musharraf will still be plenty within range of Predators and Reapers, no matter what.
U.S. still has options for drones if denied use of Pakistani bases
Col. Dean Bushey, deputy director of the Army’s Joint Unmanned Aircraft Systems Center of Excellence, told an international-relations conference Wednesday that U.S. Reaper and Predator aircraft could still reach the “mountainous regions” of Pakistan without being based in that country.
American officials said Pakistan’s leadership has not denied the U.S. the right to use the country’s airspace, though if airspace is denied, Col. Bushey said, the U.S. has other means of surveillance.
“If we were politically unable to fly over their airspace, then we would have to come up with other means of surveillance. Obviously, aircraft is not the only means of surveillance,” he said at the conference.
One very important step would be to cut off Pakistan access to sea. A division of Pakistan which leaves Pakjab with no access to sea, would more or less cripple it. A cut off of direct land border to China would cripple it completely. By crippling, I mean, Pakistan's ability to pose a credible threat to India.Gagan wrote:To contain Pakistan at least three steps are needed:
1. Divide Pakistan
Pakjab isolated with no access to sea or China, surrounded by some very angry Pushtuns to the West would have to look for some comfort in the East, and the East would demand complete and verifiable disarmament!
I am of the view that the best possible way to achieve a break up of Pakistan is through the India-Bangladesh merger.
Folks, short of either party becoming suicidal, this war will have a significant mental dimension. Just like East Germany collapsed when its model was no longer credible. So what is needed is that the ideological basis of Pak lose all credibility.
However, for that to happen, economic clout, military superiority, intelligence capabilities, shaping public perceptions, relations with 3.5 sponsors, relations with various factions within Pak - all of these will be needed.
saudi arabia needs to be like sudan or somalia internal ferment to cut down the whole money + fanaticism export thing.
else faithfools elsewhere always have a mental crutch to fall back on.
I think a economic merger of India-BD-Bhutan-Nepal-SL into a south asian free trade zone is both a necessity and strategic point to counter chinese plans. being a much large economy we can afford to give more than we receive and not fight over each point. let them benefit from the size of our markets and hunger for resources. our NE for instance will definitely benefit from open trade borders with BD - esp tripura, mizoram and meghalaya. road and rail corridors through BD would be great for these long suffering areas.
else faithfools elsewhere always have a mental crutch to fall back on.
I think a economic merger of India-BD-Bhutan-Nepal-SL into a south asian free trade zone is both a necessity and strategic point to counter chinese plans. being a much large economy we can afford to give more than we receive and not fight over each point. let them benefit from the size of our markets and hunger for resources. our NE for instance will definitely benefit from open trade borders with BD - esp tripura, mizoram and meghalaya. road and rail corridors through BD would be great for these long suffering areas.
Last edited by Singha on 21 Apr 2011 18:03, edited 1 time in total.
Zaheer Abbas suggests building a shared stadium on the Wagah border
Only from the mind of a paki.
a new stadium should be erected right in the center of Pak-India border at Wagah
And, to quote an Indian Wit on the paki deaf and dumb show:"Build a stadium at Wagah border so that there are no problems of India not coming to Pakistan, and Pakistan not going to India."
And, what happens when you really need to go to pakhanistan? Get a visa!!" Umar gul is bowling from Indian end...Sehwag edged and ball is going towards Pakistan.....Umar Akmal chasing.... but the ball reaches Pakistan first... "
sir you can open it in acrobat reader, move the mouse outside outside to desktop, press Alt-Prtscrn key combo, then open microsoft paint, paste the entire desktop image there, mark just the map for cropping and cut it, open a 'new' paint file and paste it there, save as jpeg.
Sure the pakis are a happier "thriving" lot (whatever that "thriving" term means). That's because they have to be "thriving" under the present circumstances since they have nothing better to look forward to. As against, 83% of the Indians who want something better than where they are today, hence they consider themselves "not thriving". Simple, onlee.Aditya_V wrote:Pakistanis happier than Indians: Gallup survey.
If ever Pakistan is broken in multiple regions or countries, few more things India needs to do (and this is irrespective of any role India plays in the break up or not)...
1. Make sure there remains a conflict on sharing of Sindhu between the constituents. Water wars will get nasty as time passes by and we can side with whichever side we choose to. We should make Brits' proud.
2. We have at least one of the components under our Tutelage preferably Baluchistan due to Iran,Sea and Afghan proximity and atleast one other component should become semi-Indic in the long run
3. Pakjabi's are squeezed as much as possible with absolutely no help or P-J's
4. Remember our natural borders should extend all the way upto the point that was ruled by Ranjit Singh ignoring Pakjab as "Makhmal mein taat ka paiband"
1. Make sure there remains a conflict on sharing of Sindhu between the constituents. Water wars will get nasty as time passes by and we can side with whichever side we choose to. We should make Brits' proud.
2. We have at least one of the components under our Tutelage preferably Baluchistan due to Iran,Sea and Afghan proximity and atleast one other component should become semi-Indic in the long run
3. Pakjabi's are squeezed as much as possible with absolutely no help or P-J's
4. Remember our natural borders should extend all the way upto the point that was ruled by Ranjit Singh ignoring Pakjab as "Makhmal mein taat ka paiband"
SSridhar garu,
When the pdf is open in the Acrobat Reader, it is possible to right click an image and copy it to the clipboard. Then you can paste the image in Word, and probably save the object as jpeg. Or one can also take a snapshot of some area in the pdf document using the Acrobat Reader. It think it is Edit->Take a snapshot.
One can also convert pdf files to something else (e.g. jpeg) using an online portal - Zamzar.com, etc.!
When the pdf is open in the Acrobat Reader, it is possible to right click an image and copy it to the clipboard. Then you can paste the image in Word, and probably save the object as jpeg. Or one can also take a snapshot of some area in the pdf document using the Acrobat Reader. It think it is Edit->Take a snapshot.
One can also convert pdf files to something else (e.g. jpeg) using an online portal - Zamzar.com, etc.!
Duffer Zab doesn't get it. We don't want to play Pakistan, Not in India, Not In Pakistan,Not in Wagah, Not in Londonistan, Not in Fixistan called Sharjah...Nowhere..anupmisra wrote:Zaheer Abbas suggests building a shared stadium on the Wagah border
Just stay away from us..
Lets bear all the pain and wait for another 10 years. By the time our economy will be more than 10 trillion $ (GDP PPP wise). Also economists are predicting another slowdown in coming couple of years. If that happens (and I wish that to happen) then pakistan will not be able to stand. Indian economy is strong enough to take another recession. Irrespective of that, 10 years and the gap between us and pakis will be so damn huge that we can squeeze this b@st@rds like grape.
na kabhi bhule the
na kabhi bhulenge
pakistani bh@dvo
tumhe chun chun ke marenge
na kabhi bhule the
na kabhi bhulenge
pakistani bh@dvo
tumhe chun chun ke marenge
I am waiting for another dimwitted paki to ask for a tertiary care surgical hospital on the border where pakis can get free treatment from Indian doctors without the need for medical visas.VikasRaina wrote:Duffer Zab doesn't get it. We don't want to play Pakistan, Not in India, Not In Pakistan,Not in Wagah, Not in Londonistan, Not in Fixistan called Sharjah...Nowhere..anupmisra wrote:Zaheer Abbas suggests building a shared stadium on the Wagah border
Just stay away from us..