LCH and other Helicopters Discussion Thread

Re: LCH and other Helicopters Discussion Thread

This is exactly the point HAL/PSUs did nothing in 1962s and we are on the same track. Now for the absurd point of fuel, India is one of the largest manufacturers and exporters of diesel, petrol, aviation fuel and other similar products, so it is indigenous. Had it not been for ONGC sitting on its ass, our import dependance on Crude would also have been much lesser.

Whinning is about failure to accept "unchangeble facts". So is the import of pilot seats is unchangeble? It should continue? ALH is not a HAL product, they neither designed it nor test piloted it. They are doing their best to encash it by keeping import content at 90%

HAL is indulging in propaganda to improve the general acceptability of its import mania. It is much easier to take 32 pieces of silver and import ready made products than to set up a supply chain which is thankless, back breaking, bribeless job.

vic wrote: Now for the absurd point of fuel, India is one of the largest manufacturers and exporters of diesel, petrol, aviation fuel and other similar products, so it is indigenous. Had it not been for ONGC sitting on its ass, our import dependance on Crude would also have been much lesser.
ALH is not a HAL product, they neither designed it nor test piloted it. They are doing their best to encash it by keeping import content at 90%

India imports 90% of its crude and makes finished products that you call indigenous.

But when India imports 90% of items for ALH and makes a finished product you are not happy?

I choose to whine about oil, You choose to whine about HAL.

Please explain why the point about oil is not absurd? The problem is in your viewpoint which may or may not be absurd depending on the observer.

Vic,

I also belong to the bunch of guys that believe that HAL/DPSUs could have definitely worked faster.

But your point on the seats doesn't make sense to me. This is a missed chance for private operators. I guess the order books didn't quite make sense to start an endeavor and ofcourse HAL couldn't wait for seats.

However with the HAL chairman himself saying that the order books for helicopters in the coming years is in thousands (don't remember whether he said 2500 or 1500), it is probably a good chance for some firm to come up and make some money. I mean we are speaking of 5000 odd seats straight up (counting just pilots) . Also I don't think the seats won't last the heli's lifetime (Hari sir can give us a better figure). Taking around 3 seats for the heli's lifetime, that is 15000 seats.

Hari sir, how is the seat on a heli, different from a car seat. The seat on small aircrafts atleast are not very different.
UBanerjee

Post by UBanerjee »

vic wrote:Did anybody notice Ajai Shukla article giving an interesting fact that even the pilot seats for 'indigenous' ALH are still imported?
Yes the pilot seats are crucial to be made domestically instead of leveraging the whole concept of trade efficiencies for making things (you know, things, any things).

Brings whole new meaning to "missing forest for the trees" when thinking about indigenous production

Its in the design, not the nuts and bolts
indranilroy wrote:Vic,

I also belong to the bunch of guys that believe that HAL/DPSUs could have definitely worked faster.

But your point on the seats doesn't make sense to me. This is a missed chance for private operators. I guess the order books didn't quite make sense to start an endeavor and ofcourse HAL couldn't wait for seats.
You realize how incredibly inefficient it is to duplicate all the manufacture of every single component used in any defense equipment, no matter how petty? Hardly anyone does that anymore.

Maybe we should design helicopter seats that is a different issue.

Damn,
Even the Sony LED TV that I am thinking of buying doesn't have all parts made by Sony.
The LED panel is made in S Korea or in malaysia.

Sony is a failed company onlee.

Rest assured now that Shukla ji has mentioned the fact that the seats are still imported, HAL will take steps to get in touch with some Indian chair manufacturer and get localized versions of the same.

HAL is busy getting the choppers in service, improving things like engines, getting rid of vibrations. Our media and some forum posters are cribbing about some screw in the nose wheel, seats. Next if we hear that the door hinges are imported or that the windscreen is videshi, all hell will break loose.

UBanerjee wrote:
indranilroy wrote:Vic,

You realize how incredibly inefficient it is to duplicate all the manufacture of every single component used in any defense equipment, no matter how petty? Hardly anyone does that anymore.

Maybe we should design helicopter seats that is a different issue.
I understand very well that making every nut and bolt in house is being fool hardy.

However, I don't think you read my post properly or you arrived at a foregone conclusion. I said it didn't make sense when the numbers were in the hundreds. However, it might make sense (not for HAL but by some company which makes seats) to produce them.

I am not drumming the indigenous band wagon ... I am speaking of an opportunity for an Indian company. 15000 seats at 33,000 a piece (an estimate, most probably a conservative one) is 50 crores worth of business. Nobody sets up a factory for that, but a company already into making seats might see it as a business opportunity to diversify. Given that making seats is (still) labour intensive, a company in India might be able to sell to other global players at unmatched prices.

One can see a situation as an opportunity or a debacle. I will draw some flak for saying this but China is turning into a low-cost defense manufacturing major partly because the worlds doors were closed to them. Debacle/QA, lots of questions might arise but they are surely making money and definitely learning on the way.
Hari Nair

Post by Hari Nair »

indranilroy wrote:Paging Hari Nair .....

Will be very thankful if you would reply.
@ Indranil,
Sorry for the late response, details as under:
You are right about the stub wings – while its lift adds to the lifting component of rotor thrust in forward flight, there is a penalty to pay in hover by way of download – the rotor wake impinging on it during hover. The point is to minimise the penalty by keeping it to manageable levels and also keeping the wing span largely within the rotor root cut-out area, which generally has an up-flow.
As far as I know, the Black Hawk UH-60L’s pylons are not wings – they are just faired pylons (although they look otherwise). I am not sure that they contribute by way of lift at all, at forward speeds.
Incidentally, some helicopters resort to use of wings to help in manoeuvrability. The ALH rotor is powerful enough on its own to generate the required load factor on its own and does not need a wing for that.
The WSI ALH is a utility helicopter configured to undertake armed roles also, in addition to its other roles. The LCH is a dedicated attack helicopter, which means its systems are optimised for its specified missions. The WSI ALH therefore keeps it simple with its braced weapons pylons – its okay for its specified missions. The LCH stub wing design has evolved into a lifting wing to cater for its missions, which are different from those of the WSI ALH.

@Shiv – re the “imported fuel” for the ALH
Hey Shiv, for a change we are extremely waaay off the mark here!!! The ALH & the LCH uses (always has and will) ATF K-50 or Jet A-1 fuel, which is the common Aviation Jet turbine fuel. That stuff is refined locally and is also used by most other aircraft. No question of it being imported unless you are referring to the crude oil from which its derived !!! Drop in the next time you are in Bangalore and I will show you the IOC fuel bowser from which we tank up.
Hari Nair

Post by Hari Nair »

This is regarding the "100% indigenous" comment by some members-
Check out my response at Page 22, reproduced here again as under:-
Yes, most of the avionics and quite a few systems are imported but then, consider this:-
The critical high-tech main & tail rotor blades are made locally.
The entire transmission systems are made locally – all the gear boxes including the Main Gear Box (that holds the helicopter up and provides the drive from the engines to the rotors. All these essentially amount to the very core of the helicopter. Worldwide, there are just a handful of countries making these components & we are actually one of them.
The fuselage & undercarriage are all made locally – including the very critical crashworthy sections.
The ALH has been made to a very exacting Air Staff Requirement of the IAF & Indian Army and to meet all the stated objectives, it may not be possible to use everything indigenously made. In any case, a whole lot of systems & avionics are just simply NOT available locally.
Barring the US of A (and erstwhile Soviet Union), most countries do NOT make the A to Z of an aircraft. Consider this – open up a BAE (British Aerospace) navigation system LRU and don’t be surprised to find cards & chips made in Taiwan! Check out the European helicopters – all of them are multi-country projects!
It’s a globalised economy and its just plain stupid in these times to try to make every single thing at home.
The game really is to make a reliable and maintainable helicopter – that meets the performance requirements of the Services & also has a reasonable indigenous content at its core (which I believe the ALH already has).

Hari sir,

thanks you for your reply. My questions are answered. I had one more question ... it is petty, but let me indulge your valuable time for this. I have very limited experience in helping people build planes in their small little hangars rented out on airfields. People mostly use a light little seat which is comfortable enough on those planes. How are the seats on dhruv very different from ones that we can make in house.

I mean I don't expect HAL to build them. But may be it can be business for another Indian firm. I understand that being able to fabricate a seat in house is probably a low priority thing and it might actually be monetarily be useful to get import it.
paultd

Post by paultd »

In Siachen, HAL Dhruv proves a world-beater
http://iafnews.nuvodev.com/posts/in-sia ... ld-beater/
babbupandey

Post by babbupandey »

paultd wrote:In Siachen, HAL Dhruv proves a world-beater
http://iafnews.nuvodev.com/posts/in-sia ... ld-beater/
This is old news.

Question for Mr. Nair: I agree that we can't have everything indigenous, it's not cost effective. But, are there any components in the current configuration which you would like to see being manufactured indigenously because in the future they might become choking points (sanctions, suppliers backing out etc)?
Misraji

Post by Misraji »

Hari Nair wrote:...

@Shiv – re the “imported fuel” for the ALH
Hey Shiv, for a change we are extremely waaay off the mark here!!! The ALH & the LCH uses (always has and will) ATF K-50 or Jet A-1 fuel, which is the common Aviation Jet turbine fuel. That stuff is refined locally and is also used by most other aircraft. No question of it being imported unless you are referring to the crude oil from which its derived !!! Drop in the next time you are in Bangalore and I will show you the IOC fuel bowser from which we tank up.
:rotfl: .. Dr Shiv was just being sarcastic, Nair Saar...
One of his more (less?) endearing qualities ...

~Ashish.

PS: Thanks for the answers.

Hari Nair wrote: Hey Shiv, for a change we are extremely waaay off the mark here!!! The ALH & the LCH uses (always has and will) ATF K-50 or Jet A-1 fuel, which is the common Aviation Jet turbine fuel. That stuff is refined locally and is also used by most other aircraft. No question of it being imported unless you are referring to the crude oil from which its derived !!! Drop in the next time you are in Bangalore and I will show you the IOC fuel bowser from which we tank up.
Hari Nair - thanks for the offer. :D It was a sarcastic comment. I was only making a rhetorical point - it was meant as an example of how far one can go if one wants 100% "indigenous" - and in fact I guess I am going to stop eating tomatoes and chillies because they originally came from abroad. So no timatar murgh for me tonight an I will refuel myself with toddy only - no Scotch or even Vijay Mallya's IMFL
Hari Nair

Post by Hari Nair »

@ Indranil
The seat in the ALH is hardly a “non-critical’ item – in fact it’s a very critical item indeed . The seat is crashworthy and is mounted on two vertical rails using Vertical Linear Energy Absorbers (VLEA) to stroke downwards and also attenuate crash energy. It’s the last link in the crashworthy chain – the undercarriage attenuates some energy, followed by the crashworthy under-floor sections, the fuel tanks and finally the seat. At the end, the overall design is such, that all of it is expected to reduce the initial crash loads to less than 14 G for the pilot – to hopefully avoid spinal injuries.
On a light aircraft – if its civil registered, DGCA (in conformity with international standards) may be expecting certain minimum standards (quality of restraint, floor mounting, ability to withstand minimum loads, etc) and perhaps even some amount of crashworthy standards. The DGCA broadly follows the civil US FAR or European JAR standards. So you will need to check up on that. Even if it is an ultra-light, it’s preferable to check up prevailing industry standards worldwide for the same and try and follow that. The seat is not exactly a low-tech last priority item, not even on a kit aircraft. In fact, nothing about an aircraft is low-tech!
@babupandey –
The problem is the very stringent process of certification that pushes up the cost of items, requires a lot of technology and long-term investments. Each item is now so highly optimised that it would have gone through years and years of evolution and each OEM invariably has some proprietary technology tricks up his sleeve-trade secrets. In certain areas you are looking at something like 30-40 years of progressive specialisation in the same line of items. No quick gains here for a new entrant and all the chances of falling flat on one’s face! Also, the volumes for the Indian market are low, in terms of investments required.
@Shiv –
Well a (large) toddy then it is! Cheers!

Hari sir, thank you for the explanation on the Dhruv seats. I should have thought about it.

Regarding some of the kit planes here, ofcourse there are certified. Some of them are not kit planes. They are built almost from scratch barring the engine. However the seats on some of them are quiet simple, somewhat like that on microlights. Infact one of them had a cane seat in order to pay homage to Charles Lindberg's Spirit of St. Louis plane. Ofcourse there are lots of regulations about pilot safety regarding the mounting, placement of the seat, structural layout of the seat, visibility etc. However the crash-worthyness requirement is obviously not as high as on a military heli like the ALH/LCH. I have heard a lot of it around the structure, landing gear but not the seat.

However, I agree that my knowledge is limited to wandering into the hangars of these guys at a small airport where I skydive. They generally let me help them tighten some screws for an hour or two. I will find out more about the seats next time. Between, the seats on my skydiving plane is like a bench with padding as found on the berths of Indian railways coaches :).
Hari Nair

Post by Hari Nair »

Indranil,
Good to know that you are a skydiver!

There are some new civil regulations that have kicked in, applying to civil aircraft that have been designed and produced recently.

For example, for civil helicopters, all passenger seats now need to be crashworthy. Whereas it’s a welcome change that enhances safety, there are also some contradictions - helicopters of older design (but built recently) are exempt from this rule. This means that a new build helicopter of an older design, such as Dauphin need not have such seats. However, the ALH needs to be fitted with these (each seat is fairly expensive and adds to the weight). In the end, the civil ALH, which is actually the already rugged military version with some civil avionics requires the added precaution of lugging around crashworthy seats, whereas the rather delicate Dauphin gets away without it all.

On the subject of seats, you are right, some older types have downright rudimentary seats. An infamous example is the Alouette-III, with its extremely un-ergonomic seats becoming the cause of backaches in aircrew. In fact, some of our aviation-medicine specialists even carried out several studies on the subject.

Hari Nair I need to ask you if the issue that cropped up with the LCH during Aero India has been solved and the machine back up in the air?

What steps has HAL taken in last 10-20-30 years or so of Dhruv development for developing Indian vendors for crash worthy chairs? Does any other Indian helo has it? Will the imported Mi- series have it?

Transmission:- Who designed it? HAL? Are the castings imported? Are the components of transmission imported? Does HAL semi finishes the imported castings and then sends them back abroad or does it do the whole work in India? What is value of indigenous components in HAL transmission? What effort has HAL made in last 30 years to deveop vendor base?

Words like uneconomical, high tech, long learning curve is just rhetoric. It same with any incompetent babu who does not want to do work.

I hear that the PHPBB software used to run BRF is videshi? Is it true?

Vic's handle is 'inspired' from the videshi penchant for shortening their names.
I protest, this is an imported inspiration.

What to do onlee.
Hari Nair

Post by Hari Nair »

@Shiv- yes, the focus is now on TD-2 to get it up for its first flight
paultd

Post by paultd »

In a massive multi billion dollar acquisition programme, the Indian Armed Forces plan to induct more than 1,000 indigenous and foreign helicopters
http://iafnews.nuvodev.com/posts/indian ... s-by-2020/

Hari sir ... thanks a lot for all the explanation.

I know that people don't want to hear what they don't like. So I will try to make my point by contrasting the approach of DRDO with HAL. See below:-

IAF fighter aircraft to be equipped with special gadgets
PTI

Developed by Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO), the On Board Oxygen Generation System (OBOGS) produces oxygen inside the aircraft, allowing the pilots to fly without the help of heavy oxygen cylinders they carry for high altitudes and long duration sorties.

“Aeronautical Development Agency (ADA) has started the ground integration process of OBOGS in the Technology Demonstrator (TD) version of the LCA Mark-II. After LCA it will be integrated in all the frontline aircrafts of the IAF,” W Selvamurthy, Chief Controller, Life Science, DRDO, told PTI here.

LCA Mark-II is expected to join the IAF by 2015. DRDO has approved Larsen and Toubro (L&T) as the industrial partner in further development of the technology and its production.

So far only three countries- United States, Russia and France- have successfully integrated the OBOGS technology in its air force.

After successfully developing the two-bed OBOGS, DRDO has started working on the three-bed system, which would make India the first country to possess its most advanced version.

“We plan to prepare our aircraft for non-stop intercontinental sorties. Once developed the three-bed system would be integrated on all the frontline fighters of the IAF.

It would also enable the aircraft to carry extra payload,” Selvamurthy said.

After acquiring other force multipliers like mid-air refuellers and early warning radars which give an extra edge to the fighter planes, IAF is looking at state-of-the-art technology to aid the pilots and DRDO has chalked out a number of projects for the purpose.
Off course now the apologists will come up with the argument that HAL does not do research it only assembles unlike DRDO which does research, or something like that !

Pandyan garu apart from Jingo, there should be one MSM reporter say Vishnu Some or even Shiv Aroor in the LCH. That way the video gets wide acceptance and simultaneously satiates our thirst for finer details. We need wider acceptance for our indigenization efforts and crown jewels. A small number of people(the rest dont even know the difference between assault or transport helicopter) after being shown the LCH/ALH video ask which country did we buy this from? That sad state has to go. Also a poster like that ecuadorian alh one :wink: will help a lot

suryag wrote:Pandyan garu apart from Jingo, there should be one MSM reporter say Vishnu Some or even Shiv Aroor in the LCH.
They will have to put a third seat in the LCH for that. Maybe we can get jingos to sit on the stub wings just like Amrikis on Apache no? Or sling naysayers off the pylons?

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: Sorry I meant one sortie with the MSM journalist and one with jingo

BREAKING NEWS: Weaponized Dhruv to be "inducted" in Army Aviation Corps by this year itself.

Watch from 0:55 onwards.

I am very happy to hear this. Its a big news. :D
This also means that LCH will have much shorter and easier path towards weaponization.

Just before the Officer is cut off he was saying something about induction of other variants of some helicopter, presumably Dhruv..
Now what other variants of Dhruv are in the offing, except for LCH???

Was recently confirmed that that IA is looking to induct 110 LCHs.

http://eenadu.net/panelhtml.asp?qrystr=htm/panel3.htm

link in telugu will change tomorrow.

HAL sends proposals to Andhra Pradesh Govt asking for 600 acres near an airport for building light 3 ton and heavy 12 ton helicopters with an investment of around 4000 crores. land expected near chittoor, anantapur or rangareddy districts.

Since the nuclear threads are locked. Putting the info here. The same link says

Proposals sent to AP govt to build a nuclear processing centre on the lines of nuclear fuel complex in hyderabad. Propose to process the uranium ore found in districts of cudapah, kurnool, anantapur at that location. asking for 250 hectares near Adoni town in Kurnool district with an investment of 1500 crores.

A high level conference to look into both proposals for the land will be soon held.
Juggi G
Location: Martyr Bhagat Singh Nagar District, Doaba, Punjab, Bharat. De Ghuma ke :)

Post by Juggi G »

Cross - Post

Attack Choppers to Add Teeth to Indian Army's Strike Corps
IANS
Attack Choppers to Add Teeth to Indian Army's Strike Corps
By N.C. Bipindra
New Delhi
May 18

With the rapid evolution of battlefield concepts, the Indian Army is preparing to shore up its aviation wing with attack and tactical-lift capabilities to increase the punch of its three potent strike corps, a concept fine-tuned during a just-concluded war game in the Rajasthan desert close to the Pakistan border, defence analysts say.With the strike corps tasked to slice through the enemy's defences, the helicopters will supplement this by the quick insertion of fully-armed soldiers and their heavy weaponry, as also provide close air support to the troops and the armoured elements, a senior officer of the army's Ambala-based 2 Kharga Corps explained.

It was this transformational doctrine that was validated during the month-long exercise Vijayee Bhava (Be Victorious), even though the army does not operate any attack helicopters in its aviation wing at present and has to depend on the Indian Air Force (IAF) for them, the officer added.

"The strike corps trains for rapid mobilisation and resolute application. Mechanised (battle tanks and armoured personnel carriers) manoeuvres are the essence of offensive operations. In the future battlefield, air assets will play a decisive role. With the exponential increase in the air assets with the army and the air force, these will be employed in an integrated manner to gain a decisive edge in combat. This is the first time we have used the combat air assets in such an exercise," the officer told IANS, but speaking strictly on condition of anonymity as he was not supposed to speak to the media directly.

As per the army's plans for its aviation wing -- mooted in 2007 and to be implemented over a 15-year period ending 2022 -- the three strike corps would be beefed up with an aviation brigade comprising two squadrons of 12 attack helicopters each, apart from two squadrons with 15 choppers each for tactical battle reconnaissance and casualty evacuation, top army sources said.

Apart from the 1, 2 and 21 strike Corps, the army will also provide aviation brigades to each of its 10 pivot or defensive corps, but these would essentially be in the nature of tactical lift capabilities, with some offensive elements.

At present, the army relies on two squadrons of Mi-25 and Mi-35 attack helicopters and Mi-17 medium-lift choppers of the IAF for testing its transformational concepts.

Defence ministry officials, when asked about the army's aviation plans, said the IAF would continue to play a "strategic" role while the army would acquire its air assets for a "tactical" role.

The army, obviously, wants to have "full command and control" over the "tactical" operations of air assets so that it could meet its rapid deployment needs and for combat air support.

The army is already looking at procuring 114 of the indigenously-developed light combat helicopter (LCH), which took to the skies for the first time in March 2010, and 64 of which IAF is buying.

This apart, the army is in the process of acquiring 133 light utility helicopters for USD 1.9 billion, along with the IAF's 64 for USD 960 million, as part of a 197-chopper deal for which Eurocopter's AS550-C3 Fennec and Russia's Kamov Ka-226 are in the race. These would replace the 150 Cheetah and Chetak helicopters of 1970s vintage in the army aviation fleet which are extensively used for transportation in high-altitude areas, including the Siachen Glacier.

(N.C. Bipindra can be contacted at nc.bipindra@ians.in)
--IANS

Gaur wrote:BREAKING NEWS: Weaponized Dhruv to be "inducted" in Army Aviation Corps by this year itself.

I am very happy to hear this. Its a big news. :D
This also means that LCH will have much shorter and easier path towards weaponization.
As per Hari Nair's last posts on the topic, no ATGM had been selected yet for the LCH (unless HELINA comes online in time). So what missile will the WSI Dhruv's be armed with? I think they'll have to make do with the chin-gun and Rocket pods for the time being.
saje

Post by saje »

Heard a chopper flying over my whitefield company campus an hour ago. Distinctively different (less) rotor noise than the ALH and a whitish/brightish tail boom. Anyone saw the same bird and know what it was?

the HAL heli training school has a small heli thats painted white with a tall mast for the main rotor.

^^^ Robinson. At one point during Reagon-Bush Sr era, they wanted to start off a line in India.
Juggi G
Location: Martyr Bhagat Singh Nagar District, Doaba, Punjab, Bharat. De Ghuma ke :)

Post by Juggi G »