India should realistically recognise that the Americans are not going to expend time and effort to eliminate India-centric groups such as the Lashkar-e-Taiba. The American end-game in Afghanistan is just starting and we need to be proactive in seizing diplomatic opportunities.
Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan (TSP): May 30, 2011
Re: Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan (TSP): May 30, 20
Pakistan losing global sympathy - G.Parthasarathy
JEM I feel only sadness watching that video. I have collected all the most gruesome videos starting from the shooting of a Viet Cong soldier, the self immolation of a Buddhist monk, the decapitation of a Russian soldier, hanging of Saddam, shooting of that Paki ISI prisoner (what was his name), shooting of those boys by Paki soldiers and others. This one makes me feel deeply sorry.JE Menon wrote:That footage in which the poor fellow is shot in the thigh should be spread far and wide... Guys with the capability, pls do the needful. The fellow who shot him is the same guy who puts the gun in his face at the beginning of the video...
I have, from time to time considered putting up the Pakistan soldier excesses videos as a separate file but ther is no point. It will soon be flagged as gruesome and may get deleted. No one really wants to watch such stuff. I suggest video grabbed still images to be uploaded on some site with a text description of the event and a link to the video.
I think I am a heartless guy when it comes to seeing Pakis die but this one pained me. The bullet can be seen blasting out of the guy's thigh at the back and his dying moments are like a surgical textbook description of a man dying of blood loss. I can describe stages of what is happening and explain them in lay terms and it pains me to note that this boy, shot needlessly could have been saved by a shirt wrapped into a ball pressed on the thigh wound. I often want to see revenge on Pakis but this is one video that makes me ask if a god is there the bugger needs to show up and do something about Pakistan.
On a slightly different note - Pakistan has all these young armed men in and out of uniform. I am certain that many Paki army officers cannot give orders to these men to do some things. They will get shot. Perhaps the biggest cruelty to the Paki army leadership is not giving them a chance to order their men to start a shooting war with India. I am sure the men would do that with gusto. And I am sure the frustration and anger ios building up.
Let me make a prediction. We need to look out for assassinations of Paki army officers by their men. I believe this is likely to start sooner or later. Someone tell me that I was talking rubbish in a year's time if that does not happen. These soldiers are indisciplined. And some of them (like Qadri) are not even being disciplned.
Shivshiv wrote: On a slightly different note - Pakistan has all these young armed men in and out of uniform. I am certain that many Paki army officers cannot give orders to these men to do some things. They will get shot. Perhaps the biggest cruelty to the Paki army leadership is not giving them a chance to order their men to start a shooting war with India. I am sure the men would do that with gusto. And I am sure the frustration and anger ios building up.
Let me make a prediction. We need to look out for assassinations of Paki army officers by their men. I believe this is likely to start sooner or later. Someone tell me that I was talking rubbish in a year's time if that does not happen. These soldiers are indisciplined. And some of them (like Qadri) are not even being disciplned.
Please remember what happened in Bangladesh. The gruesome mutiny was really an eye opener to the capability of Islamist s and their blood thirst to kill less pure. I am really hoping to see such mutiny in Pakistan esp in GHQ Rawalpindi. If it can happen in Bangladesh under the guidance of ISI, it can very much happen in Pakistan.If the not so pure military brass gets wasted, I am sure the split will be even more wide open.
Thoak=wholesale, in large numberscheenum wrote:What is THOAK, couldn't find anything in BRF Dictionary toooPrem wrote:Rajesh ji,
Lets hope so, might be a pick and choose oppertunity when Poak go human in Thoak= wholesale.
Thoak=****
I too believe that Quadrification of the Pakjabi armed forces, including the army, is the next course on the menu. In fact this may already have happened at random intervals in all the reported mutinies in the FC over the past few years.shiv wrote:...................Let me make a prediction. We need to look out for assassinations of Paki army officers by their men. I believe this is likely to start sooner or later. Someone tell me that I was talking rubbish in a year's time if that does not happen. These soldiers are indisciplined. And some of them (like Qadri) are not even being disciplned.
But now it will spread to the PA and that too at the senior officer levels, and not just in theaters of war, but back in Isloo and other Peace Stations, with a Havildar Teerandaz or a Jawan Mohamedzai leading the way, but sometimes ably assisted by Lieutenant Siddiqui or Captain Bugti or Major Cheema or Colonel Rizvi.
No disagreement with what you say at all doc. That video is extremely sad. To see a life taken so casually by someone who is supposed to be protecting such people. The man is clearly some poor fellow caught by chance in some round-up. He is begging desperately, and that young clean-shaven fellow just steps up and shoots him - and what is truly revolting and stomach-churning is that none of the others took one step to help that fellow, at least to ease his final moments. They just let him lie there and drain out. Beyond tragic. If this is how they treat their own people, imagine how they would be with our soldiers - no wonder they get into a frenzy of bloodlust, torture, mutilation and such horror.
Pakisatan has truly become the heart of darkness.
I have been brought up to believe that a "state structure" usually means a supreme authority at the top. It could be an elected civilian leadership, a dictator or whoever. But that leadership imposes its will on the people via an armed force. usually that armed force is a civil police - but it could be paramilitary or army. the "army" is the ultimate heavy duty coercive power retained by the supreme authority of the state.
Now if the army turns around and claims that it cannot impose its will or give orders to a particular group such as the Lashkar e Toiba in Pakistan - it means that the authority if the army has been diluted or eroded to the extent that the Lashkar's authority and the army's authority are on par. It also means that the LeT is not under General Assphuck Kiyani's control. As long as the groups (army and LeT) see eye to eye and cooperate - you get an appearance of peace and order. But it sis a three legged race where there are two people who have one leg tied. They must move in perfect synchrony or else it falls apart. What does "falling apart" mean? That remains to be seen.
In hsi last interview Saleem Shezad did not deny that there may be mutiny. "Mutiny" can mean a lot of things. Another article suggested that Paki army morale is at a 40 year low.
Interesting times.
Now if the army turns around and claims that it cannot impose its will or give orders to a particular group such as the Lashkar e Toiba in Pakistan - it means that the authority if the army has been diluted or eroded to the extent that the Lashkar's authority and the army's authority are on par. It also means that the LeT is not under General Assphuck Kiyani's control. As long as the groups (army and LeT) see eye to eye and cooperate - you get an appearance of peace and order. But it sis a three legged race where there are two people who have one leg tied. They must move in perfect synchrony or else it falls apart. What does "falling apart" mean? That remains to be seen.
In hsi last interview Saleem Shezad did not deny that there may be mutiny. "Mutiny" can mean a lot of things. Another article suggested that Paki army morale is at a 40 year low.
Interesting times.
JE Menon wrote:No disagreement with what you say at all doc. That video is extremely sad. To see a life taken so casually by someone who is supposed to be protecting such people. The man is clearly some poor fellow caught by chance in some round-up. He is begging desperately, and that young clean-shaven fellow just steps up and shoots him - and what is truly revolting and stomach-churning is that none of the others took one step to help that fellow, at least to ease his final moments. They just let him lie there and drain out. Beyond tragic. If this is how they treat their own people, imagine how they would be with our soldiers - no wonder they get into a frenzy of bloodlust, torture, mutilation and such horror.
JEM - the nonchalant attitude of the others there is exactly the same as the scene in which a South Vietnamese officer shoots a Viet Cong suspect in the head. The man who shoots him just puts his revolver in his holster and walks away without a second glance as the man's blood spurts in a 6 inch high fountain from the side of his head and the other soldiers stroll about. We all know what happened to the South Vietnamese forces. And they were supported by the USA.
That gives me an idea. Maybe I will dig up that old video and join it up to this one and post it with a warning that there is graphic content while I draw the comparison.
Hmmm... great idea doc. This video of this poor man will strike right at the hearts of any non-Pakisatanic human being who watches it. How these chaps could just stand by and let him die totally unattended is beyond me. These are not soldiers, they are not even men. These are monsters spawned by an evil ideology but with human shells.
Of topic but, how do you "un-flag (as inappropriate)" a you tube video?
Click "like" and get 20 others to do the same. Unless you have flagged it yourself. Maybe you can unflag.abhik wrote:Of topic but, how do you "un-flag (as inappropriate)" a you tube video?
Quite an Interesting article ........ surprised to see it in a Paki paper ..
From Lahore to Wana
http://www.dawn.com/2011/06/06/from-lahore-to-wana.html
Religious extremism did not grow in Wana. Rather its origins can be traced to Punjab. The dagger which drew the first blood in the name of faith was used in Lahore and not in Miranshah. The wind of fanaticism had already swept through the land of five rivers before it shook the mighty Hindukush.
There are two truths. Firstly, in the cultural parlance of the sub-continent, the word ‘Punjab’ evokes a sense of festivity. For centuries, the Punjabi soil has been nurturing the lavish crops of liberalism .By tradition, the Punjabis are known for their tolerance and open –mindedness. Music, jest, pluralism and women are the staples of the Punjabi culture.
Yet another truth is that in this land of saints, communal hatred devoured a million lives in 1947. Six years later, it was again Punjab where houses of Ahmedis were torched. Also, Punjab staged the initial enactments of the gory drama of sectarian carnage in 1980s.
What a tragic irony! But there is nothing illogical about it. The fall of Punjab from lofty liberalism to lowly fanaticism is perfectly explainable in terms of 3 factors: post-partition sentiments, bureaucratic opportunism and the Zia-ul-Haq factor.
The killings, rape and plunder which ravaged the united Punjab in 1947 left an indelible imprint on the collective Punjabi psyche. First, the scramble for the wealth and women of infidels which ensued in the wake of partition re-defined opportunism. Most heinous of the crimes were justified in the name of religion. Those who indulged in these crimes took pride in this savagery. It was a trend-setter. As the smoke billowing out of the then Hindu mohallah of Shahalmi marred the skyline of Lahore, the ominous clouds of religious violence also gathered on the horizon of Pakistan.
Secondly, Hindus emerged as a perennial foe. Battle-lines were loud and clear. Every bad thing that happened to the new country was swiftly declared as Hindu handiwork. Gradually, Jews, Communists and Christians also took their seats in the Hall of Paranoia. From Liaquat Ali Khan to Osama bin Laden, all misfortunes have conveniently been imputed to the ‘foreign’ hand.
Thirdly, once the Hindus were gone, the next step was cultural cleansing. It was preached that if socio-cultural basis of the society was not to be re-oriented in religious terms than what was the point in creating a new country. The epithet “Hindu tradition” emerged as a fearsome prohibition and with the passage of time besakhi, basant, bindi and saree got equated with Hinduism and were denounced.
While the public had emotionally weakened, the bureaucracy cool headedly exploited the situation for its own good. As the country passed from a vice-regal age into an independent democracy, the bureaucracy suddenly found itself in a vulnerable position. Since its creation in 1792 as Covenanted Civil Service, the bureaucracy had been specifically designed to serve the interests of foreign rulers. With the Deputy Commissioner as linchpin of a repressive law and order apparatus it had always taken pride in being in-accessible to the natives. It was thus natural that it feared and resisted democracy at a local as well as national level.
Democracy meant local government was in the hands of elected representatives but the local government has always been a nightmare for Pakistani bureaucracy. In order to subvert it an alliance emerged at the district level. Bureaucracy needed feudals for support. The latter derived sanctity from the local pulpit .In short, democracy was declared un-Islamic by the trio. The common man was denied justice and the flames of his deprivation ultimately exploded into a conflagration which tends to jeopardise our very existence.
Like all other areas, the education system was also in the hands of the bureaucracy rather than educationists. The CSP Secretaries of Education sidelined the genuine educationists and devised syllabi which deliberately distorted facts .Fiction was valued more than facts and doubt was equated with heresy. The love for land was a sin and invaders were presented as crusaders. If education had been in control of Urdu medium “masters” we could have condoned this lapse, but an unpardonable sin was committed by CSPs who prided on their Oxbridge grooming.
Though impeccably westernised in their personal lives, these bureaucrats patronised reactionaries and formulated foreign and domestic policies which labeled liberal forces as security concern. This was the dawn of national hypocrisy. It should not be forgotten that the worst opponents to the progressive and the populist Bhutto regime were the bureaucrats .His sin of empowering the people at the expense of Mullah-Choudhary-DC triangle was never forgiven.
Next enters Zia, the military dictator haunted by the ghost of Bhutto. A villain had to be created out of Bhutto. The only way was to condemn him as a bad Muslim. This was the only way to outbalance the Bhutto phenomenon. The doctrine of Divine Right was retrieved from the dustbin of history .An aggressive Islamisation began. The masses were weaned from Bhuttoism by pandering to their ideological weaknesses. Hudood, Zakat and Usher and blasphemy laws were designed to compensate people for the loss of democracy and fundamental rights.
Punjab was worst affected. First, it was the base of the PPP. While the fortress of Punjab could be conquered by floggings in Lahore Fort the hearts of Punjabis could be won only in the name of God. The public was brainwashed into believing that vote for liberal forces was an irreligious act. Zia did not fail. Since 1977 Punjab is the only province which has consistently been ruled by the rightist parties compared to PPP, ANP, BNP, MQM, etc in other provinces.
Secondly, as the military was fundamentally Punjabi so when the military machine was re-engineered on the Ziaist model, Punjab suffered the most .Army men are part of this society. When they rule, society imbibes their influence. As Punjab sent more sons to the Army it was more susceptible to conservatism. One example is that Potohar belt is more conservative than rest of Punjab .Contrary to the popular belief, while South Punjab might have been used as camping ground, yet these people have not traditionally elected rightist parties. In fact, is it a coincidence that in upper Punjab, the most prolific source of military recruitment, slogans like Lal Masjid and drone attacks decides the election results, as liberal forces are almost non-existent there.
The fate of sanity was sealed in 1979.The thunder of Soviet tanks in Kabul was music to Zia’s ears. The regime was provided with a much-needed raison d’ etre for its existence. The slogan of jihad was raised with much fanfare and it caught the fancy of the Punjabi youth. Punjab is a fertile land and seeds of fanaticism which had been lavishlythrown all over the province by Zia soon had a bumper crop of ‘tanzeems’ and ‘lashkars” .While they busied themselves in a jihad against infidels in Kabul, Srinagar and Amritsar, a parallel jihad got underway at campuses which manifested itself in victimisation of Ahmedi students, enforcement of dress codes for women and rumpus at social events.
Zia made an average Pakistani take patriotism as synonymous with Islamic fundamentalism. This thinking is getting stronger. No one is today bothered about the fact that Osama stayed in our land. We are only concerned as to why we failed to prevent his killing.
We, the Punjabis, always have deluded ourselves with a false complacence. Whenever confronted with the fact of extremism in Punjab, we console ourselves that Punjab will never fall to extremists as it has always cherished ‘moderates’. We should not live in history. It is time to face the reality. The shrines of Sufis who taught us tolerance are locked up in Punjab today. For 24 years, we kept telling ourselves that Bengalis will not leave us because the Muslim League was formed in Dhaka and the Lahore Resolution was moved by a Bengali Leader .We must not feign the same ignorance to reality this time.
This is somewhat OT, but it seems I am unable to help myself.
Personal opinion only, and IMHO onlee, but Shiv ji I would hesitate before putting what this Pakjabi Ranger did in the same category with the South Vietnamese/ Viet Cong incident that led to the famous picture.
Caveat - I am not justifying what the officer did, just outlining explaining the context, which was a great surprise to me when I went back to re-reading about it, a few years ago.
The executed Vietcong is believed to be part of a death squad and had been apprehended killing South Vietnamese officers and the families of South Vietnamese officers, some of whom were the family of the officer's deputy and close friend. I understand that the American photographer confirmed this. Also, there is the very reasonable stress of combat argument here.
No such reasoning can be offered by the Pakbarian.
The officer in the picture Nguyễn Ngọc Loan, was regarded as one of the better class of South Vietnamese officers and was later injured leading his men in combat.
I doubt the Pakbarian who killed the boy will ever gather the courage to do that. Look at the arrogance in that fellow's expression!
The photographer (Adams) stated at the death of the general (caveat again- wikipedia):
I sincerely doubt that the Pakbarian will have anyone say this at his funeral.
I now cower in my dhoti for a deliberate and possibly OT post.

Personal opinion only, and IMHO onlee, but Shiv ji I would hesitate before putting what this Pakjabi Ranger did in the same category with the South Vietnamese/ Viet Cong incident that led to the famous picture.
Caveat - I am not justifying what the officer did, just outlining explaining the context, which was a great surprise to me when I went back to re-reading about it, a few years ago.
The executed Vietcong is believed to be part of a death squad and had been apprehended killing South Vietnamese officers and the families of South Vietnamese officers, some of whom were the family of the officer's deputy and close friend. I understand that the American photographer confirmed this. Also, there is the very reasonable stress of combat argument here.
No such reasoning can be offered by the Pakbarian.
The officer in the picture Nguyễn Ngọc Loan, was regarded as one of the better class of South Vietnamese officers and was later injured leading his men in combat.
I doubt the Pakbarian who killed the boy will ever gather the courage to do that. Look at the arrogance in that fellow's expression!
The photographer (Adams) stated at the death of the general (caveat again- wikipedia):
Adams later apologized in person to General Nguyễn and his family for the damage it did to his reputation. When General Nguyễn died of cancer in his new home of Virginia, Adams praised him: "The guy was a hero. America should be crying. I just hate to see him go this way, without people knowing anything about him.
I sincerely doubt that the Pakbarian will have anyone say this at his funeral.
I now cower in my dhoti for a deliberate and possibly OT post.
Last edited by Baikul on 09 Jun 2011 19:46, edited 2 times in total.
The thing that strikes me is that two shots were fired. The first obviously missed at 3 foot range. To me it appears he fired for the belly area and missed again an hit an artery. He obviously acted on his own and the commander with a tiny 'Pistaul' did nothing to disarm him after.
if you look at the brutal carnage this same army brought upon the largely unarmed civilians of east bengal and the single minded focus on eliminating hindus and raping any woman they could find, we should not be at all surprised at the callous manner in which this killing occured.
this is the normality of pakistan and its genocidal army
always has been
this is the normality of pakistan and its genocidal army
always has been
Shivji - Eddie Adams' picture is very well known, it is credited for molding the world opinion. There was also a video, caught by NBC which became pretty famous then. (I remember the episode and its reaction in USA very well)
What is less known, is that General Loan was just told that Van Lem (the Vietcong "civilian" in the picture) killed Loan's best friend (an officer) *and* wiped out this officer's whole family.
I recall Eddie Adams telling this in later interviews that it made him (the photographer) very sad because he "knew that Loan was very well loved by the Vietnamese... He was a hero to them . . . and none of this has really come out."
What is less known, is that General Loan was just told that Van Lem (the Vietcong "civilian" in the picture) killed Loan's best friend (an officer) *and* wiped out this officer's whole family.
I recall Eddie Adams telling this in later interviews that it made him (the photographer) very sad because he "knew that Loan was very well loved by the Vietnamese... He was a hero to them . . . and none of this has really come out."
Altaf Hussain says Pak has gangrene and AIDS and needs to cut off some "organs".
http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.as ... 2011_pg1_6
why can't we use devnagari to emphasize on such phonetic nuances?Guddu wrote:Thoak=wholesale, in large numberscheenum wrote: What is THOAK, couldn't find anything in BRF Dictionary tooo
Thoak=****
थोक - wholesale, in large numbers
ठोक - literal "to beat". colloquial "to ****".
Let me add another one
टोक - ,(टोकना = बीच में पड़ना, हस्तक्षेप, अंतराक्षेपण) - Interject: Can we cut this out please. . TIA
The basic issue of PakJab/Sindh is that they are a product of rape, pillage and ravishing of their grandmothers by the foreigners. A lot of Pakjab are proud of their Central Asian heritage (sic).
When your entire society was under siege and stress, the actions of the stronger dominating power define what is desirable. So if the invading ghazis kidnapped your women, once you convert, you too entitled to do that. There is enough literature (sic) about Pindiliyon Ka Guuda out there to justify it on religious basis. Similarly if the invading ghazi did Qatal-e-Aam, you too will like to do that if you are in power. As noted by many, one unique feature of Islamists is once you accept its dominance, you too are entitled a share of the pillage as a ghazi. Very attractive indeed.
Kidnapping your opponent's women has been one of the most fundamental acts of subjugation, and the PakJabis are taking it into the 21st century. Pakjabi behavior is an expression of their utter and complete mental subjugation; of the Stockholm Syndrome ingrained over generations. Earlier on it was the minorities who bore the brunt; these days it is the less pure or the less pious or the less well armed.
Unless and until the last germ of this thought process is wiped out, there will never be peace in this area. India should build multiple layers of border fences, stocked with mines, snakes, scorpions, 12KV shock lines to keep this pestilence out of her borders. Any opening of the borders should only happen after a generation or two has spent life in re-education camps.
When your entire society was under siege and stress, the actions of the stronger dominating power define what is desirable. So if the invading ghazis kidnapped your women, once you convert, you too entitled to do that. There is enough literature (sic) about Pindiliyon Ka Guuda out there to justify it on religious basis. Similarly if the invading ghazi did Qatal-e-Aam, you too will like to do that if you are in power. As noted by many, one unique feature of Islamists is once you accept its dominance, you too are entitled a share of the pillage as a ghazi. Very attractive indeed.
Kidnapping your opponent's women has been one of the most fundamental acts of subjugation, and the PakJabis are taking it into the 21st century. Pakjabi behavior is an expression of their utter and complete mental subjugation; of the Stockholm Syndrome ingrained over generations. Earlier on it was the minorities who bore the brunt; these days it is the less pure or the less pious or the less well armed.
Unless and until the last germ of this thought process is wiped out, there will never be peace in this area. India should build multiple layers of border fences, stocked with mines, snakes, scorpions, 12KV shock lines to keep this pestilence out of her borders. Any opening of the borders should only happen after a generation or two has spent life in re-education camps.
Interesting.Nandu wrote:Altaf Hussain says Pak has gangrene and AIDS and needs to cut off some "organs".
Gangrene was what I had in mind when I wrote the following words in my ebook.
http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/EBOOKS/pfs.pdf
Although the purpose of this book is to present a study
of Pakistan after partition, it would not be out of place
to mention briefly the civilizational effect that
partition had on India. When studied over centuries,
civilizations can often be seen to behave like live
beings. In civilizational terms, the splitting up of
British India into modern India and Pakistan can be
compared to an act of auto-amputation. This is a
condition in which a live human body spontaneously
discards and casts off a dead or diseased part, such as a
toe or a fingertip so that the body itself can survive
and not be affected by the disease that damaged the toe
or finger. For India partition was akin to that - a
civilizational auto-amputation.
In one convulsive act, the people of the Indian
subcontinent agreed to place all the people who wanted to
live and work in a united India in one place, and and all
the people who did not wish to live and work in India
were placed in Pakistan.
Strange as it may sound, this tumultuous self-mutilating
act was a profoundly democratic one, in which those who
wanted to opt out of India were allowed to opt out, and
those who wanted to stay, stayed. The actual act of
partition was accompanied by horrifying suffering and
death, but after five decades the memories of the pain
are beginning to fade; more than two-thirds of the
population of India having been born after 1947, after the
painful events of partition. It is easier for these
younger Indians to see that for India, partition was not
so much an act of separation of all Hindus from all
Muslims, but it merely segregated a sub-group of Indians
who did not want to co-exist with other Indians. The vast
majority of Indians rooted for India and worked for
India.
OK, the killing of that poor fellow is now being shown at least partly on Al Jazeera...
Shiv, I am now reading books on the early Caliphs after Muhammad. I would like to draw some analogies after explaining what I learned.
One interesting phenomeon in Islamic society is along as the pure are invovled in external jihad (razza) or outward facing they are all happy. When they have to take on the inner jihad/struggle they turn extremely violent. The reason is they think the outward jihad is blunted as they are not adhering/following the book.
When Ali, the fourth Caliph, met the forces of Muwayyia in Syria and ended up in a parley (reasons are irrelevant here), he lost the support of his adherents led by Wahab called Kharjites or Rejectionists (not Wahaab of Riyadh, who came ~1000 years later with same idea). These Kharjites took up the law unto themsleves and would attack others claiming to be more Islamic then the rest. Their standard tactic was to declare the other as apostate and kill them.
Ali eventually defeated them but didn't eliminate them to his own disadvantage. He got murdered by a Kharjite who screamed the apostate charge while killing him with a poisoned sword.
Now come to TSP. In 1971, the Pak Army got a massive defeat but was not destroyed thanks to US intervention and lack of understanding.
Bhutto came to power and stabilised the TSP and prevented its fracture.
Zia ul Haq deposed him and called him a traitor and hanged him. Zia then let lose the Islamist/Rejectionist meme in the TSPA and larger society. In effect he started the Kharjitification of Pakistan. This was because they could not fight outwards ie the greater jihad got blunted and the inner jihad to better themsleves could not be tolerated.
Its the Kharjite meme that propels Zia ul Haq kind of Islamic leaders and
Qadri kind of killers/murderers.
One interesting phenomeon in Islamic society is along as the pure are invovled in external jihad (razza) or outward facing they are all happy. When they have to take on the inner jihad/struggle they turn extremely violent. The reason is they think the outward jihad is blunted as they are not adhering/following the book.
When Ali, the fourth Caliph, met the forces of Muwayyia in Syria and ended up in a parley (reasons are irrelevant here), he lost the support of his adherents led by Wahab called Kharjites or Rejectionists (not Wahaab of Riyadh, who came ~1000 years later with same idea). These Kharjites took up the law unto themsleves and would attack others claiming to be more Islamic then the rest. Their standard tactic was to declare the other as apostate and kill them.
Ali eventually defeated them but didn't eliminate them to his own disadvantage. He got murdered by a Kharjite who screamed the apostate charge while killing him with a poisoned sword.
Now come to TSP. In 1971, the Pak Army got a massive defeat but was not destroyed thanks to US intervention and lack of understanding.
Bhutto came to power and stabilised the TSP and prevented its fracture.
Zia ul Haq deposed him and called him a traitor and hanged him. Zia then let lose the Islamist/Rejectionist meme in the TSPA and larger society. In effect he started the Kharjitification of Pakistan. This was because they could not fight outwards ie the greater jihad got blunted and the inner jihad to better themsleves could not be tolerated.
Its the Kharjite meme that propels Zia ul Haq kind of Islamic leaders and
Qadri kind of killers/murderers.
The video is reminder of old saying "saanp ko saanp larre ,tho Zehar kisnu Charre"?
Roughly translated "if snake bite another snake then who is affected by the poison". The boy was most probaaly was a Muhajir visited by the sins of his forefathers .
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-south-asia-13707689
Deadly militant attack on Pakistan security checkpoint Continue reading the main story
More than 100 militants have stormed a security checkpoint in north-western Pakistan, killing at least eight soldiers, officials say.At least 12 insurgents were also reported killed in the overnight gun battle that lasted some hours.The attack happened near the town of Makeen in the tribal district of South Waziristan, near the Afghan border.
The area has seen a surge in missile strikes by US drone planes in recent days.Only a few days ago, locals and officials said a US drone attack in South Waziristan had killed a top al-Qaeda militant, Ilyas Kashmiri.Tension has been increasing across the whole border region because of a growing sense that Pakistan is preparing to carry out at least a limited offensive in North Waziristan, the BBC's Aleem Maqbool in Islamabad reports.
Just a small thought. Apart from consistent positions taken by Cowasjee and Parashcha this new wave of introspection is a tad baffling. I am sure it is a orchestrated effort to reign in the I will the we want peace gangs in Delhi; whose brief caricature is what has been made in different words before by others and myself, because there is a good chance the equal equal sauthekai brigade might be getting doubts with the green chutney that holds them together becoming a little thinner and start to think of alternative non-binary frames of reference. Mr.Shiv's analysis is very articulate with regard to Pakistan. It all comes back to the guru of power Foucault. Discipline and Punish by Focualt or the paperback on essays on power, Homo Acadimus by Peirre Bourdieu and Gadammer's Truth and Method are a must read for any student of strategy.
To hold the panopticon you need some room and ventilation to fool and to allow flexibility for it to recuperate and breathe. This might be a two pronged strategy to deceive and fool, whilst simultaneously opening up new fronts because for now terror needs to be frozen temporarily, old weaknesses of the Indian nation, past events, getting "democratic dissent mobilized against the rule of the powerful"; striking at the very heart of evolved sense of imagined community that has come to being against overwhelming odds and continues struggling in its ongoing process of being and becoming over attempts to break that idea, letting loose apparently liberal voices from the children of lenin and stalin, in kafila, guardian etc etc, talking in too good to believe language on one hand and on the other end of the spectrum; to retain control and consolidate the target audience[which will they would like to eat grass but not give up] that might be just about starting to doubt after so many years, conspiracy theories, famous battles which the brave fought and died, letting the monkeys do the talk of takmeel, iqbal, perhaps fund or support or get academics to start centre for conflict studies, talk of issues they have no business of putting their hands in such as maoists[oh yes there are those ghosh-nee johnsons[marriage route for visa?] in coalition with pakistani elites who write poetry dissecting the narratives of the oppressed by the imperialist Indian state sitting abroad and also form coalition of rights for conflict zones called cashmere etc blah blah , ] and never stopping the plot because there is not a shred of doubt that the dream of khilafat envisioned by Maulana Madoudi will one day be fulfilled. Only in the BR is the belief that a leopard does not change its spots that easily. One hopes the PM's heart does not melt and reach out to alfred park! Summary equal-equal-we have faults so does everyone, we are still evolving[fatima does a super job in that regard], we are poor dont you have a conscience about us poor people, have mercy on us, its time to become good pals, reform visa regimes[we will win trust perhaps allow our children including Mr.Nayyer, to create conditions, and make you crumble and melt from within as we seep slowly, surely surreptitiously inside, low cost high advantage strategy indeed], meanwhile give us time we need to think to come out with a new bag of tricks.
____________________________________________________________________________________________
A footnote here to add to already existing WKK definitions-
People like us have done our best to mount a spirited defense. If anyone cares for the idea of India which i am sure most younger BR folks and others do very passionately that is why we are here; must mount a counter attack by helping consolidate opinion where it matters and offering another narratives in these papers, forums and websites, instead of just posting it here such as links valuable as they might be, below.
By activists, delhi gangs, committed concerned citizens and other WKK's-we imply
By stop we want peace of activists, concerned citizens[what about many who die in the roadside, ordinary people dying but having no we the people to look at them and say its not fair and are away blown by bombs] claim to that this old-elite upper caste-class bhadralok group has had head start because of cultural and social capital, by going to St.Stephans or St.Xaviers Bombay etc and the other folks in the Jadavpur-JNU route and strata who want to catch up and spit on the same Indian ecosystem that provided the base and perhaps the space to view varying opinions the west that gave them become what they were. A segment of this elite has all that it takes it to swing scholarships etc.Dad is in the foreign service lay claim to the academic/opinion shaping habitus and calls itself marxist writes the lyrical stuff of the voices of the oppressed it does in the guardian in a top down manner in the lyrical prose termed as history or sauthasia [alva nanna raghavendra annaavure nodi?
Consider a poor or middle class or vernachular educated India, with whom as a liberal, my sympathies are for the underdog and the poor student who cant articulate himself or herself well] cannot and the only way up is a good engineering or any degree that will help you survive]] and sauth asia subaltern literature celebrated in orgy sessions]. Both these folks and the elites from the land of the pure who are endowed with beauty, eloquence,charm, etc. everything work in perfect synchrony and it is a foundational principle that both are needed to reinforce each other. All works like a charm in this package. The power elites from Pakistan will continue to charm the world. The poor might be well caricatured by Faiz in intesaab!
One evidence could be that kafila for example is buzzing with action nowadays. It is a useful in BR language WKK barometer of WKK thought in addition to the epw[arvind teltumbde's piece, pardon for not getting the name right] against evil america and imperialist to understand the thought. These guys cant even provide a job to feed one mouth.
I am talking of academia, the humanities, foreign policy and the social sciences, positions of power[they are so puffed up, write about the murderous Indian state, its atrocities, ugh lucky me[ not a bad idea before starting the next piece, pay back the subsidy of the taxpayer please] as they sigh, I ran away, on a 2000£ mac in the lap of luxury,still come back periodically, holidays in bengal and delhi with jhola and kurta and contradictory african nee now feminist symbols of motherhood cool we are feminists [a construction worker mother from afzalpur could put up a better show];attend sufi music, wow abuse spit the evil imperialist zulm, zalim and atrocity committing India a land of thousand ruptures,or what ever but hold on imperialist america must stop, india must break up and universal ummrah is fine in the land of the pure and in India why not.
The wkk's activists, concerned citizens, writers, poets, painters all of them[ poetry comes well with a full stomach],still return with Indian passport or visa if crossing has been accomplished to mobile republic stage; to have unpaid or contradictorily a retinue of servants paid in wads of inferior India rupee,to buy or help do attend the mundane.
To hold the panopticon you need some room and ventilation to fool and to allow flexibility for it to recuperate and breathe. This might be a two pronged strategy to deceive and fool, whilst simultaneously opening up new fronts because for now terror needs to be frozen temporarily, old weaknesses of the Indian nation, past events, getting "democratic dissent mobilized against the rule of the powerful"; striking at the very heart of evolved sense of imagined community that has come to being against overwhelming odds and continues struggling in its ongoing process of being and becoming over attempts to break that idea, letting loose apparently liberal voices from the children of lenin and stalin, in kafila, guardian etc etc, talking in too good to believe language on one hand and on the other end of the spectrum; to retain control and consolidate the target audience[which will they would like to eat grass but not give up] that might be just about starting to doubt after so many years, conspiracy theories, famous battles which the brave fought and died, letting the monkeys do the talk of takmeel, iqbal, perhaps fund or support or get academics to start centre for conflict studies, talk of issues they have no business of putting their hands in such as maoists[oh yes there are those ghosh-nee johnsons[marriage route for visa?] in coalition with pakistani elites who write poetry dissecting the narratives of the oppressed by the imperialist Indian state sitting abroad and also form coalition of rights for conflict zones called cashmere etc blah blah , ] and never stopping the plot because there is not a shred of doubt that the dream of khilafat envisioned by Maulana Madoudi will one day be fulfilled. Only in the BR is the belief that a leopard does not change its spots that easily. One hopes the PM's heart does not melt and reach out to alfred park! Summary equal-equal-we have faults so does everyone, we are still evolving[fatima does a super job in that regard], we are poor dont you have a conscience about us poor people, have mercy on us, its time to become good pals, reform visa regimes[we will win trust perhaps allow our children including Mr.Nayyer, to create conditions, and make you crumble and melt from within as we seep slowly, surely surreptitiously inside, low cost high advantage strategy indeed], meanwhile give us time we need to think to come out with a new bag of tricks.
____________________________________________________________________________________________
A footnote here to add to already existing WKK definitions-
People like us have done our best to mount a spirited defense. If anyone cares for the idea of India which i am sure most younger BR folks and others do very passionately that is why we are here; must mount a counter attack by helping consolidate opinion where it matters and offering another narratives in these papers, forums and websites, instead of just posting it here such as links valuable as they might be, below.
By activists, delhi gangs, committed concerned citizens and other WKK's-we imply
By stop we want peace of activists, concerned citizens[what about many who die in the roadside, ordinary people dying but having no we the people to look at them and say its not fair and are away blown by bombs] claim to that this old-elite upper caste-class bhadralok group has had head start because of cultural and social capital, by going to St.Stephans or St.Xaviers Bombay etc and the other folks in the Jadavpur-JNU route and strata who want to catch up and spit on the same Indian ecosystem that provided the base and perhaps the space to view varying opinions the west that gave them become what they were. A segment of this elite has all that it takes it to swing scholarships etc.Dad is in the foreign service lay claim to the academic/opinion shaping habitus and calls itself marxist writes the lyrical stuff of the voices of the oppressed it does in the guardian in a top down manner in the lyrical prose termed as history or sauthasia [alva nanna raghavendra annaavure nodi?
Consider a poor or middle class or vernachular educated India, with whom as a liberal, my sympathies are for the underdog and the poor student who cant articulate himself or herself well] cannot and the only way up is a good engineering or any degree that will help you survive]] and sauth asia subaltern literature celebrated in orgy sessions]. Both these folks and the elites from the land of the pure who are endowed with beauty, eloquence,charm, etc. everything work in perfect synchrony and it is a foundational principle that both are needed to reinforce each other. All works like a charm in this package. The power elites from Pakistan will continue to charm the world. The poor might be well caricatured by Faiz in intesaab!
One evidence could be that kafila for example is buzzing with action nowadays. It is a useful in BR language WKK barometer of WKK thought in addition to the epw[arvind teltumbde's piece, pardon for not getting the name right] against evil america and imperialist to understand the thought. These guys cant even provide a job to feed one mouth.
I am talking of academia, the humanities, foreign policy and the social sciences, positions of power[they are so puffed up, write about the murderous Indian state, its atrocities, ugh lucky me[ not a bad idea before starting the next piece, pay back the subsidy of the taxpayer please] as they sigh, I ran away, on a 2000£ mac in the lap of luxury,still come back periodically, holidays in bengal and delhi with jhola and kurta and contradictory african nee now feminist symbols of motherhood cool we are feminists [a construction worker mother from afzalpur could put up a better show];attend sufi music, wow abuse spit the evil imperialist zulm, zalim and atrocity committing India a land of thousand ruptures,or what ever but hold on imperialist america must stop, india must break up and universal ummrah is fine in the land of the pure and in India why not.
The wkk's activists, concerned citizens, writers, poets, painters all of them[ poetry comes well with a full stomach],still return with Indian passport or visa if crossing has been accomplished to mobile republic stage; to have unpaid or contradictorily a retinue of servants paid in wads of inferior India rupee,to buy or help do attend the mundane.
Last edited by jaibhim on 10 Jun 2011 00:59, edited 53 times in total.
- BR Mainsite Crew
Nesoj wrote:Quite an Interesting article ........ surprised to see it in a Paki paper ..
From Lahore to Wana
http://www.dawn.com/2011/06/06/from-lahore-to-wana.html
Yet another truth is that in this land of saints, communal hatred devoured a million lives in 1947. Six years later, it was again Punjab where houses of Ahmedis were torched. Also, Punjab staged the initial enactments of the gory drama of sectarian carnage in 1980s.
What a tragic irony! But there is nothing illogical about it. The fall of Punjab from lofty liberalism to lowly fanaticism is perfectly explainable in terms of 3 factors: post-partition sentiments, bureaucratic opportunism and the Zia-ul-Haq factor.

What an article. Couldnt even be consistent in two lines.
The neta talking in the longer video is an MQM man. He was criticizing the state (meaning Punjabi in coded language) for letting loose their murderers on the people of Sind and Karachi (meaning Mohajirs).Prem wrote:The video is reminder of old saying "saanp ko saanp larre ,tho Zehar kisnu Charre"?
So their battle lines are clearly drawn. The Mohajirs it seems blackmail the Punjabis all the time that they will secede from Pakjabistan and extract concessions. MQM's political stance is based on the repression of the Mohajirs by the Punjabis.
The nayyar report link about curricula and textbooks of pakistan which is cited at the first post of this dhaaga does not work. is it saved by some guru? can he upload the file and make it available. bliss to fix it...
Last edited by SSridhar on 10 Jun 2011 06:16, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: It is still available at the SDPI site, but the URL has changed. I have fixed the URL in the first post now. Thanks for pointing out.
http://paktribune.com/news/index.shtml?240229
First time I am reading him. Does anyone know about him? Would appreciate any comments about this article.
What is with this guy Shaukat Sajjad? Is he a comedian, or is the poor guy demented?Regarding the terror-attack on the Mehran base, some sources indicate the involvement of Indian intelligence agency, RAW which conducted this assault with the consent of American CIA and tactical support of Israeli spy agency, Mossad. In this respect, these agencies got the services of a group of Al Qaeda. Similarly, Al Qaeda-related Afghan Taliban who crossed over Pakistan, were also backed by these secret agencies.
First time I am reading him. Does anyone know about him? Would appreciate any comments about this article.
Minority Ahmadiyya community being openly targeted in Pakistani city
Faisalabad (Pakistan), June 9(ANI): Pamphlets inciting people to publicly attack members of the Ahmadiyya community, a religious minority group in Pakistan, are being openly and widely circulated in Punjab's textile industry hub, Faisalabad.
The pamphlets, which bear the name of the All-Pakistan Students Khatm-e-Nubuwat Federation, are being handed out at all main shopping plazas and important commercial centres in the city, The Express Tribune reports.
The pamphlet says: "To shoot such people is an act of jihad and to kill such people is an act of sawab."
The pamphlet contains a list of names of Ahmadi industrialists, doctors and business houses. The first name on the list is that of a cloth house, whose three owners were gunned down in a brazen attack last year.
In that execution video, the tone of the Rangers speaking seems to be Pakjabi. Anyone?
I don't agree one bit with this casualty figures... 100 militants attack, 12 of them die and only 8 soldiers are killed. what were these militants armed with STICKS? even in those days of Marauding Red-Indians attacking white settlers, the attackers armed with sickels would overwhelm the defenders (armed with muskets).Prem wrote:Deadly militant attack on Pakistan security checkpoint Continue reading the main story
Either Paki border posts are armed to the teeth and manned by Rambos or the militants are a bunch of bimbos. Neither seems plausible.
Tomorrow is Friday, June 10th. It is going to be a day of very deadly violence. There is going to be attack from Balochis, MQM, AQ etc. Expect Dronacharya also to shower their abundant love... Hope Indian Army / BSF /RR are manning the border.
Shortly we can expect refugees from Pakiland starting to cross over into India (or even Afghanistan).
Just on the video, the kid they shot is a cell-phone snatcher. Apparently this is a big menace in the largest city of the failed state. A google search on 'mobile phone snatching' throws up only Karachi results.
Pakistan army chief says US aid should be diverted. Is this guy serious? Is he now the paki economic minister? What does he think that the US will now say to this cockamanie pronouncement?
Pakistan’s army chief says billions of dollars in US aid meant for the military’s fight against militants should be diverted to bolster the economy and help ordinary Pakistanis.
The announcement could be seen as a snub to the US No shit, Sherlock!
Kayani reiterated that the army has ceased its training relationship with the US and has restricted the scope of intelligence sharing
OK. Kiyani janab, please return all those kevlar helmets, bullet proof jackets, knee pads, carbines, and those uniform fatigues that made your inept army look semi-professional in all those staged photo shoots.He .... declined US calls for an operation in the militant-infested North Waziristan tribal area.
Last edited by anupmisra on 09 Jun 2011 23:23, edited 1 time in total.
Hence, the need for strategic depth (to run to) in Afghanistan.cheenum wrote:Shortly we can expect refugees from Pakiland starting to cross over into ... even Afghanistan.
Altaf Hussain does not want any more Pushtuns to be migrating to his fiefdom Karachi, so at least he would be one non-Pushtun Pakistani politician who would favor an independent Pushtunistan. He needs to be brought over to the idea of partitioning Pakistan and be encouraged to contribute to it.Nandu wrote:Altaf Hussain says Pak has gangrene and AIDS and needs to cut off some "organs".
"Friday" is one of the Kuffar terms. Pakistan is islam and islam is what Pakistani do and in Pakistan it is called Fry-Day not Friday. The day is usually celebrate by making Poak Fries and Catch Up.cheenum wrote:Tomorrow is Friday, June 10th. It is going to be a day of very deadly violence. There is going to be attack from Balochis, MQM, AQ etc. Expect Dronacharya also to shower their abundant love... Hope Indian Army / BSF /RR are manning the border.