Bharat Rakshak

Consortium of Indian Defence Websites
It is currently 19 Jun 2013 10:40

All times are UTC + 5:30 hours

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 217 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
PostPosted: 28 Oct 2011 01:28 

Surya wrote:
Mi 35s have been used in other places before - but they are rare and far away from urban\semi urban areas.

there is a fleeting mention of it somewhere :)

I know they were used in Doda when LeT began to expand its operations base there circa 1996.

Also-- I remember reading somewhere that an unsavory "understanding" exists between Indian security forces and ISI... we promise not to use air power (beyond a defined limited extent) against the pigs they infiltrate, and in return ISI promises not to supply MANPADs to the pigs. Not sure if this is still (if ever) the case but I remember the Stinger shootdown of our Mi 17 in Kargil was considered to have crossed some unspoken redline.

Anyone have more (or more reliable) info on this? Or was the "understanding" some bogus DDM reportage?

PostPosted: 28 Oct 2011 01:58 

Singha wrote:
one has to recall the Apache failed to make any impact in Serbian war. a bunch were deployed but 2 crashed in training and thereafter withdrawn. thick wooded hills with manpad shooters lurking in the foliage might not be a good playing field.

well, the new Longbow suites have better IR tracking, so if it comes to a woody-area engagement, I think the helis will still have the upper hand.

PostPosted: 28 Oct 2011 02:54 

http://www.defenseindustrydaily.com/apa ... ned-02480/

64D Block III
India picks it, but not a customer yet. (Oct 25/11)

- JAGM (JCM)?
http://www.defenseindustrydaily.com/joi ... tten-0229/

- Skyfire replacement?
http://www.defenseindustrydaily.com/312 ... ted-01783/

“Level IV” control of UAVs from inside the helicopter; enhanced -701D engines with improved digital electronic control (DEC); upgraded drive systems including a a split-torque face gear transmission, which increases power throughput by more than 20% without taking up more room; and a new composite rotor blade

PostPosted: 28 Oct 2011 03:39 

Victor wrote:
If any country is stupid enough to piss India off now, it's days are truly numbered.

LOL... yeah ok.

PostPosted: 28 Oct 2011 05:36 

Rudradev wrote:
Anyone have more (or more reliable) info on this? Or was the "understanding" some bogus DDM reportage?

The last time I heard such a yarn was the story from 1965 where the Pakis alleged that their Air Chief had an "understanding" with Air Marshal Arjan Singh not to use air power. This may have been in connection with the Kutch operations in 1965.

I think the LeT/ISI could not be expected to honor such a commitment - so I would not believe it.

PostPosted: 28 Oct 2011 05:42 

Er folks. Pardon me for butting in. I doubt if the Apaches are being bought to deal with mere infiltrators whom we have dealt with effectively for over a decade. The Apache is about taking on serious opposition - not lightly armed men crawling in the bush. This is about the tarrest and deepest fliend China. For infiltrators - even a Lancer will do.

PostPosted: 28 Oct 2011 06:14 

Any possibility of local production deal to increase numbers then?

PostPosted: 28 Oct 2011 08:44 

For infiltrators - even a Lancer will do.

True, true. But until we have a tussle with the tarrel and deepel, the Apaches should'nt just sit around twiddling their rotors. We were fantasizing about their awesome sausage making capacity based on those videos.

PostPosted: 28 Oct 2011 08:48 

Er folks. Pardon me for butting in. I doubt if the Apaches are being bought to deal with mere infiltrators whom we have dealt with effectively for over a decade. The Apache is about taking on serious opposition - not lightly armed men crawling in the bush. This is about the tarrest and deepest fliend China. For infiltrators - even a Lancer will do.

saar but I would _love_ to see videos (like the youtube ones linked on previous pages showing the best apache operations) when the jehadi pigs crossing over to our land get blown apart amreekan ishtyle. 8)

PostPosted: 28 Oct 2011 08:52 

I agree, there is a larger p!sskological advantage of using khan weapons on jehadistan. The impact will be worse than the one against the khans after the secrete Geronimo ops. The loss for them is a multiplier of 10s, where just 1s against Russian weapons. It is after paki minds that we have to be asymmetric with.

PostPosted: 28 Oct 2011 09:11 

People - I get the feeling that the Apache weapons suite is overkill for individual humans. Just look at the specs. The Yanquis do it in Af Pak because they have no men on the ground and hope that Paquis will stop the men on their side. The Paquis don't do that and the Yanquis have to use Apacheese with 30 mm cannon for men.

Aksai Chin is where we need to see them.

PostPosted: 28 Oct 2011 09:36 

For the pigs, IA is setting up a 3 tier security grid, and if you see, the plan is to intercept them near the LAC, and if they manage to sneak in, then the 2nd and 3rd tier grid will take care including house to house search which is more difficult. The terrain is a very difficult one, visibility is low with dense forest covers, ridges, there are enough hiding places like caves to store weapons cache et all and they even can rest there, and moreover the pigs keep on shifting strategies. So in any case, a human team is required for search and destroy based on credible intel, mostly they are ambushes. Choppers can't be taken all way to the border for various reasons, I guess.

Well, Chini human waves, please do send them in, we would love a good show!

PostPosted: 28 Oct 2011 09:47 

Ivanev wrote:

Alright... let's wait for the first Apache to arrive before the bloodlust party, shall we? This isn't 1962 for India or China. There could just as well be missile waves instead of human waves. China produces so much of the earth's minerals, they'll have no shortage of steel or propellant to make missiles, misguided or not. To think that the Apache will on its own beat the Chinese into submission is as silly as partying like we had no defence whatsoever before the Apache and we've been liberated from a fate of supposed doom all of a sudden.

PostPosted: 28 Oct 2011 10:20 

the psyops value of a night video taken from LCH/Apache of a LOC infiltration party tracked slowly across dense forest and intermittent clearings before being cut to pieces with a cannon burst shown on prime time TV (and archived on youtube) would be truly priceless.

they can have NDTV , timesnow and co make a big deal of it, with "exclusive footage" and "viewer discretion advised" to keep minors away before airing it.

for the khan, the kiowa warrior which is their LOH could do the taliban pork sausage thing too. it has no integral cannon but has rocket and gun pods. has a optronic ball on the rotor mast.

but is endurance, protection level, sensor pkg, weapons payload would be certainly way below the apache level. the apache is the big dog and since the khan has a lot of them, they are used.

we can use LCH, WSI Dhruv to creep around too. the dhruv is a very quiet platform...hard to hear it overhead.

we need mashallah around 250 WSI Dhruv and 250 LCH to solve the vertical attack problem once and for all.

Last edited by Singha on 28 Oct 2011 10:29, edited 1 time in total.

PostPosted: 28 Oct 2011 10:24 

Ivanev wrote:

Actually the single child soldiers will come in vehicles. Apacheese should be good for that.

PostPosted: 28 Oct 2011 10:33 

PLA uses a mix of wheeled IFVs, tata ace type small trucks towing trailers and proper 4x4 type trucks in tibet. I would not underestimate their mobility and armour capabilities. instead of infantry tactics, they could use light wheeled vehicles where suitable to penetrate on multiple prongs and target key chokepoints in our rear.

not sure what IFV this is seems to have a remote control cannon weapon station.
http://wareye.com/wp-content/uploads/20 ... 084826.jpg

PostPosted: 28 Oct 2011 15:06 

Singha wrote:

not sure what IFV this is seems to have a remote control cannon weapon station.
http://wareye.com/wp-content/uploads/20 ... 084826.jpg

It is a WZ-551 APC a variant of the Type 90/92 IFV with a 25 mm Auto cannon.

PostPosted: 28 Oct 2011 19:01 

Future versions of LCH perhaps a Medium variant could also think of learning from Apache and comanches, and apply for aksai chin beyond. We need endurance, and long range puppies on board.. lean-mean techs is needed against the chips, and in good integrated numbers.

PostPosted: 28 Oct 2011 19:23 

LO (IR, noise, rcs), good speed & endurance and long range weapons/sensors are a must in tibet. the stark nature of the terrain offers no shelter behind tree canopies and clear fields of fire for AAA/SAMs. we must not rest of LCH and WSI-Dhruv but evolve them with LO mods to enhance survivability.

PostPosted: 28 Oct 2011 19:46 

AH-64's may seem like overkill for policing the Kashmir border, but it's really the sensors and avionics that make this platform. The ability to hone in on individual human targets crossing rough terrain at night, track them from a safe distance with stabilized optics, and pick them off with long-range cannon fire... well to be honest I don't think we have any helo with such capability.

The rest of the AH-64's capabilities (like being able to launch a salvo of milimeter-rader guided missiles and hit a dozen tanks in a single volley) will almost certainly never be used in real combat, but we can sure take advantage of its excellent night vision & thermal capabilities in policing the border. I'm not sure that's worth $27 million per helicopter, though. Too bad we can't just mate the AH-64's sensors & avionics to a cheaper domestic platform like Dhruv or LCH.

PostPosted: 28 Oct 2011 20:14 

The Apache is a force multiplier not a chowkidar. All that needs to be done is to break out of the mental stereotypes imposed on us by images of Apaches taking out individual men or a flight of 5 or 6 Apaches hovering and taking out Iraqi tanks in the desert.

In a massed Indian tank attack with maybe 40 or 50 tanks attacking over a front that is a few km wide - all that is needed are one or two Apaches to take out key defensive positions like ant-tank missile teams or hidden anti-armor weapons. In the opposite scenario of a massed attack by enemy armor (Paksitan not China) or fast moving enemy armored vehicles (China) - even one or two Apaches could tilt the balance by being devastating in taking out the lead vehicles. One Apache flying in tandem with 2 Mi 35 or 2 LCH for 30 minutes along such a frontline could do sufficient damage to blunt a massive attack, and if those are replaced by another 2-3 of a similar mix of helos in rotation you don't need the US style/Discovery /YouTube paradigms that we talk about here.

Apaches for infiltrators? LOL No way.

PostPosted: 28 Oct 2011 20:45 

Below article about the Apache...maybe the yanks didn't use them right. Hopefully our usage as shiv suggested above, will yield better results. But Apaches becoming 'non-mission capable' after being hit small arms and rpg fire is definitely scary. I had read another article on the Mil-28 or KA-50? somewhere on this forum where it is claimed to be more hardy due to the use of composites.

http://www.defenceaviation.com/2011/09/attack-helicopters-losing-their-touch.html

The Apache was built with increased firepower, range, and maneuverability in mind to cover the AH-1′s shortcomings. First deployed for Operation Just Cause (US Invasion of Panama, 1989), the Apache was praised for its precision, namely with its rocketry and chain gun. After Panama, the Apache saw extensive use in the First Persian Gulf War. In spite of its low mission-capable rate, it participated in thousands of sorties against Iraqi radar sites and armored vehicles. Apache losses in the Gulf War were few, and the damage they inflicted was extensive, especially in the famed “Highway of Death”, where American artillery and aircraft decimated the elite Iraqi Republican Guard.

The Apache’s troubles don’t begin until the 1999 Kosovo Air War, when 24 Apaches bringing American troops had to be grounded due to the crashing of two during training exercises. American Analysts determined that the Apache was too vulnerable to Serbian SAMs, even though they didn’t have difficulties with Iraqi SAMs in the Persian Gulf War, and did not use the Apache extensively in the Balkans as a result.

Apache’s troubles don’t stop there. While proving somewhat useful in Afghanistan, Apache’s proved useless in the Second Persian Gulf War. On March 24th, 33 Apaches were dispatched to attack an infantry division of the Republican Guard. In a fairly unsuccessful strike, one was shot down and 30 were severely damaged by rifle and RPG fire, with some becoming non-mission capable. After the incident, Apaches were used more cautiously, and less often in attack against enemy ground forces, which was one of the key roles the aircraft was built to perform. Apaches were mostly used for recon after the engagement, and several more were lost or extensively damaged in Iraq in both the recon and attack roles. The only notable incident released to the public in Afghanistan was several years back when, as part of Operation Anaconda, seven Apaches attacked a Taliban positions and returned full of holes. Five were declared non-mission capable. While their ability to return to base in such conditions speaks well of their survivability and crew safety, the fact that they consistently get shot up so badly in the few large engagements they’re in, and that they are incapable of fighting for long periods of time after said engagements downgrades their reliability. Another part of their low reliability is their inability to function in all environments. In the First Persian Gulf War, Apaches had a mission capable rate of 30% due to problems with sand, a downgrade from the average 80% (AH-64A) to 84% (AH-64D).

PostPosted: 28 Oct 2011 21:44 

Y. Kanan wrote:
AH-64's may seem like overkill for policing the Kashmir border, but it's really the sensors and avionics that make this platform. The ability to hone in on individual human targets crossing rough terrain at night, track them from a safe distance with stabilized optics, and pick them off with long-range cannon fire... well to be honest I don't think we have any helo with such capability.

The rest of the AH-64's capabilities (like being able to launch a salvo of milimeter-rader guided missiles and hit a dozen tanks in a single volley) will almost certainly never be used in real combat, but we can sure take advantage of its excellent night vision & thermal capabilities in policing the border. I'm not sure that's worth $27 million per helicopter, though. Too bad we can't just mate the AH-64's sensors & avionics to a cheaper domestic platform like Dhruv or LCH.

even though the Apache may seem like O-kill, it'd be much more prudent to send in radar-enabled helicopters instead of ground troops to take care of infiltrators. Why? that way, no border incursion-based firefights (due to some jawans accidentaly entering Paki space) and less casualties.

PostPosted: 28 Oct 2011 22:35 

I am certain the army will not impose any arbitrary taboos on the Apache. It's job is to make porki keema and how it does that doesn't matter. The psyops value of an Indian-operated American weapon system making porki kebabs is priceless.

PostPosted: 29 Oct 2011 00:45 

Apache pilots don't get HAPE 8) and hence can help out any Tibetans who are calmly pointing out the bad guys for us....

PostPosted: 29 Oct 2011 01:30 

http://www.spacewar.com/reports/India_r ... e_999.html
dated jan 6 '11
The Apache can operate up to 21,000 feet and has a maximum speed of 182 miles per hour with a cruising speed of 165 mph. Its operating range is 295 miles

AH-64D Block III
T700-GE-701D engines
AN/APG-78 fire control radars
12 of the AN/APR-48A radar frequency interferometers.
812 of the AGM-114L-3 Hellfire Longbow missiles
542 AGM-114R-3 Hellfire II missiles and
245 Stinger Block I-92H missiles

PostPosted: 29 Oct 2011 05:31 

param.karandikar wrote:

even though the Apache may seem like O-kill, it'd be much more prudent to send in radar-enabled helicopters instead of ground troops to take care of infiltrators. Why? that way, no border incursion-based firefights (due to some jawans accidentaly entering Paki space) and less casualties.

Sir. That is the theory. In practice humans have a nasty way of hiding from helicopters in mountainous, forested terrain by getting behind rocks, inside caves and in thick undergrowth. Infiltrators who have received some training in commando type survival will survive for days or weeks in such areas whereas a helicopter can merely search or hover around an area for a matter of a few hours.

That is why the Indian army has to send troops on the ground, in large numbers to surround and cut off all escape routes. These Apaches have definitely NOT been bought for the IAF to deal with infiltrators.

PostPosted: 29 Oct 2011 05:38 

Victor wrote:
I am certain the army will not impose any arbitrary taboos on the Apache. It's job is to make porki keema and how it does that doesn't matter. The psyops value of an Indian-operated American weapon system making porki kebabs is priceless.

I am certain the Air Force will impose some restrictions and ask the army why it should need a force of attack helicopters for itself while they have to ask for the IAF to bring on one of its most potent hot combat force multiplier helo assets for the problem of infiltration that the army needs to handle 24x7 with firefights on 60-90 days a year and has been handling for decades without asking for Apaches. teh army could have said "Let us have Apaches, not LCH because we are unable to cope with inflitration"

It's not that the Apache cannot be used, but it is not going to be the most optimal usage and I invite forum members to come and curse me and tell me I am a complete idiot if the Apache is used for even one infiltration attempt in the first two years after they are inducted. I will humbly bow my head and accept that.

PostPosted: 29 Oct 2011 05:53 

I think this Apache's ability to see individual men is being touted on here as something new and unique for India, as if that capability has been unavailable so far. Fact is - right from 2001 we have seen on display man portable systems that are used by the army that show individual humans -. these are both radars (I think that is called BFR-SR - Battlefield Surveillance Radar Short range) as well as a slew of NVGs and thermal imagers which are displayed on post Aero India photos on BR year after year.

I think the Army can buy 270,000 such radars for the price of one Apache and employ 27,000 men to man those radars for the price of a second Apache. Videos have been posted on BR to show how those radars and equipment are actually used to detect individual men and take them out.

Battlefield Surveillance Radar with hermal Imager
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:BFSR- ... imager.JPG
Caption
BEL Battlefield Surveillance Radar-Short Range (BFSR-SR) on display at Aero India-2007. the BFSR is a man-portable, battlefield and perimeter surveillance radar developed by LRDE, Bangalore and BEL for the Indian Army. Costing Rs 40 lakhs (USD 100,000) each, there are currently 1176 units being manufactured for use in border areas. Units have also been sold to foreign countries. This BFSR unit has an integrated Thermal imaging camera on top of the Radar Array. The power battery is suspended from the tripod for added stability. The Display unit is a 10" LCD display, working on Windows NT platform is seen in the background.

PostPosted: 29 Oct 2011 06:49 

I have to fully agree with Shiv here. I feel that people get too enamored with the "cool" Hollywood scenes of Apaches strafing while firing their machine guns and people being torn to shreds. Using Apaches to shoot down infiltrating pigs is not only a waste of money and resources, it is an irresponsible act of putting limited and expensive war equipment in path of unnecessary danger.

US may be able to afford it, but US has the $$$ to do preposterous things. I had recently seen actual footage on youtube where US troops requested firing of "Ballistic Missile" on a building from which they were small arms fire(yes, you read it right). :shock: Unfortunately enough, the missile hit an adjacent building compound and killed numerous civilians including many children. There was a TV journalist travelling with the troops who captured the incident.

So, Apaches can indeed be used to shoot down infiltrators. But so can Prithvi and Brahmos be used in many CT situation. But all this would be wasting of precious war resources.

PS: Also, as Shiv has already pointed out, numerous news programs have been posted showing the border surveillance equipment in action. After seeing that, it is amply clear that Apache's are not needed for picking up infiltrators.

PostPosted: 29 Oct 2011 13:10 

they can swiftly end an engagement on our terms and pursue retreating/evading groups of terrorists across hostile terrain in bad weather though. some set piece action like Sarp Vinash might be where they fine use.

PostPosted: 29 Oct 2011 13:41 

I don't see what the problem is with equipping our own LCHs,armed Dhruv's and other light helos we have with the equiv./same night-fighting sensors for "policing the border"? To me the true value of the Apache is its weaponry that comes with it,8km anti-tank missiles,etc. and ability fight night and day in real time scenarios.Less expensive helos,UAVs and even turbo-prop light attack aircraft ,which are rapdily being rediscovered, can do the job at a fraction of the cost.The Apaches are primarily needed to blunt and destroy Paki armoured columns and Paki attack helos too.A combination of attack helos with AAMs and MANPADS are both needed for the latter task.

PostPosted: 29 Oct 2011 16:51 

IMO, the better idea will be adapt such sensors for UAV application and then deploy them.

Anyway, I am against the AH 64 purchase. When the LCH can enter service on the next 3 to 4 years. Also in combat, I fail to see the difference between a heavy and light attack chopper.

PostPosted: 29 Oct 2011 17:08 

http://www.lockheedmartin.com/products/ ... index.html

the APR48 is not a radar but radar a HADF type system to detect radar emitters. so I guess it warns the apache about hostile search and SAM radars sweeping the airspace.

PostPosted: 29 Oct 2011 19:41 

Requesting the Gurus patience on these noob questions - Given that the Apache is primarily an offensive platform, will the EUMA be a pinprick? Secondly how will we be able to keep the US from giving/gifting a few Apaches to our friendly western neighbours to fight the bad talibunnies?

PostPosted: 29 Oct 2011 21:19 

I think this Apache's ability to see individual men is being touted on here as something new and unique for India, as if that capability has been unavailable so far. Fact is - right from 2001 we have seen on display man portable systems that are used by the army that show individual humans -

Shiv, thats a very short range system with a limited Line of Sight (of course they can & have, put it on masts). However, the MMW radar/TI system on the Apache offers it flexibility - it can be rapidly repositioned to search out intruders in areas where there are no sensors.
Will have to disagree with you on one thing - the Apache (and hopefully more UAVs) can indeed be very helpful in combating infiltrators.

PostPosted: 29 Oct 2011 21:27 

IMO, the better idea will be adapt such sensors for UAV application and then deploy them.

Anyway, I am against the AH 64 purchase. When the LCH can enter service on the next 3 to 4 years. Also in combat, I fail to see the difference between a heavy and light attack chopper.

The huge thing about the Longbow is its Longbow radar and targeting system. Nothing comparable exists anywhere else in the world (a Russian system is still WIP). Its a huge force multiplier and IMO, the IAF/MOD are being penny wise (but pound foolish) in not asking for all 22 Ah-64s to be radar equipped. They can work with the US firms to datalink that sensor fused info to LCHs etc.

http://www.ausairpower.net/longbow-aa.html

Note it can now track upto 256 targets. This gives the chopper significant reconn even in defilade, which a nose mounted TI/EO system cannot.

Boeing's statements concerning the ability of the Longbow to find targets hidden behind foliage is not an overstatement. The treeline along the freeway obscured much of the traffic, which could in some places not be seen through the TADS. The Longbow locked them up in a single sweep.

Point is the integration of sensors is what gives US equipment the edge & the Apache is one such.

Ideal would have been the Apache avionics & weapons system in a Mi-28 airframe, which is phenomenally tough if statements about its tests are anything to go by. But then we don't live in an ideal world. :-)

Last edited by Karan M on 29 Oct 2011 21:28, edited 1 time in total.

PostPosted: 29 Oct 2011 21:28 

I think the Army can buy 270,000 such radars for the price of one Apache and employ 27,000 men to man those radars for the price of a second Apache. Videos have been posted on BR to show how those radars and equipment are actually used to detect individual men and take them out.

Wrong math. Each radar costs $100K. So we are looking at 270 (assuming an apache costs $27M) radars per the price of Apache.

Nothing wrong in getting more radars but comparing them to Apache value proposition may not be right...

PostPosted: 30 Oct 2011 01:26 

Expecting 44 Apaches to help in border infiltrations across thousands of kilometers is highly optimistic.

Like Shiv said, these are not going to be used for checking infiltration. Instead they are meant for defeating the traditional army forces and also for special missions (destruction of radar & other high value targets).

PostPosted: 30 Oct 2011 01:35 

There is nothing optimistic about expecting Apaches or any other platforms to be inducted or used in situations which require their particular capabilities. Do some reading if it helps & you'll realize these are tools which can be exploited in a manner of ways and the lack of usage of heavy firepower in Indian COIN appears to be dictated partly by political reasons and not just doctrinal. That can be changed if the powers that be decide. There is also the equipment aspect. Current Indian attack helicopter assets - eg Mi-35s - dont have the sensor capabilities or even the airframe performance in hot & high conditions either. If using Apaches or Rudras saves valuable Indian lives, the more their usage, the better.

Su-30 MKIs were inducted for wartime usage, not peacetime. But their recce capabilities with both optics and radar pods have been used for a variety of peacetime SAR efforts. Of course, its not a 1-1 comparison, but the point remains that India is acquiring capabilities which it hitherto never had, and the Indian Armed Forces could use these tools in a variety of ways, if they choose to, and if they have political clearance to do so.

Lastly, you seem to be confused about what folks are saying about their usage. If the Indian borders are for 1000's of km, that does not mean we need an Apache on patrol every few km. The point is they can be used for precision strikes or surveillance given some pre-existing information, the same way IA units lay ambushes, based on some intel or in some cases where they are on search and destroy missions or even surveillance with a firm objective in mind. More tools, more options.

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 217 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next