Bharat Rakshak

Consortium of Indian Defence Websites
It is currently 23 May 2013 21:34

All times are UTC + 5:30 hours

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 970 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22 ... 25  Next
 Post subject: Re: BR Forum Feedback
PostPosted: 20 Oct 2011 09:30 

I hate you guys. Why don't you go *deleted* yourself?

:rotfl: That's funny!

I can imagine someone typing this:
During World War II the *deleted* invaded China and the *deleted* were unable to resist and promptly *deleted* in their pants. Later, the *deleted* invaded South East Asia where they tried to build a bridge using prisoners of war from a *deleted* imperialist nation's army. Anyhow the sonofa *deleted* *deleted* had a couple of nukes dropped on them in 1945. Good riddance.

that is funny :)

PostPosted: 22 Oct 2011 23:47 

BR is a huge cache of information. So huge, that I am so very afraid of even posting here amongst the coveted posters. I feel kinda lost.

Pieces of information are very neatly organized and backed up with links. Rants and idiotic perceptions are frowned upon (which I think makes BR unique).

Mods are pro-active. How can I say that? Well I have been a lurker for sometime now.

Threads have a singular direction and are not let loose to the point of being hijacked, just for the sake of adding posts, inorder to get revenues to run the forum, which is not the case with most Indian Defense Forums.

Also, Anti-Nationals are screwed real tight and fast in here, unlike other forums where Anti-Nationals are being seen as the Golden Goose.

Nuff' said.

Cheers!!!

PostPosted: 23 Oct 2011 09:39 

Would a mod kindly moderate saptarishi's capital and comma infested drive-by phyring?

PostPosted: 23 Oct 2011 23:46 

Troll Alert - Military Flight Safety Forum

saps wrote:
UAV's crash when they are out of data link...not because they dont know where or what they are doing.... they are pre programmed to get home....in case of loss of data links..

PostPosted: 23 Oct 2011 23:57 

why has this been added.....

elaborate....pls........

PostPosted: 24 Oct 2011 00:08 

....saps==,,,,saptarishi????

PostPosted: 25 Oct 2011 00:26 

Removed

Last edited by Jagan on 25 Oct 2011 00:56, edited 1 time in total.
Enough - You can use the feedback link for your complaints - this is not a complaint thread..

PostPosted: 27 Oct 2011 11:00 
Can mods lock my account please or delete it may be? I went to user control panel could not find the delete account option.

PostPosted: 27 Oct 2011 16:07 

prithvi wrote:
Can mods lock my account please or delete it may be? I went to user control panel could not find the delete account option.

Account deleted but posts retained.

PostPosted: 28 Oct 2011 23:10 

Mods

I have had a email from Rahul Mehta asking for re-instatement.... Can anyone please comment on his status?

PostPosted: 31 Oct 2011 00:27 

So many BRFites are engaged in the IT sector, is possible for some of you guys to develop a BR forum Android app? That could make mobile browsing of the forum so much better and free us of in office restrictions. Cues may be taken from the team-bhp app.

PostPosted: 31 Oct 2011 08:53 

aditp wrote:
So many BRFites are engaged in the IT sector, is possible for some of you guys to develop a BR forum Android app? That could make mobile browsing of the forum so much better and free us of in office restrictions. Cues may be taken from the team-bhp app.

^^^^second that.....

PostPosted: 01 Nov 2011 04:22 

To Ramana ji and other mods here....

1. I would like to suggest a thread named Understanding India, wherein we can discuss our ethos, our culture, our civilization, our understanding of world, our strategies, our goals, etc. similar to the Understanding US thread. Or if there is a thread on the said topic, please lead me to it.

2. In our country, the press is filled with a lot of pessimism and self-defeatist news and articles which almost all the time portrays India as another somalia or alike. We can see a lot of newbies warning us against China and it's developments saying that we shouldn't take them lightly, but without understanding our strengths. This is because our media is either intentionally or habitually is filled with pessimistic info with corruption, terrorism, bomb blast, robbery, rapes as headlines and only in the 3-4th page we find some good news, that too portrayed in negative light. This leaves a negative impression on the impressionable minds. Hence, I thought of a thread which is a singular point of reference to find as many positive news about us as possible, which can be referred to others for them to know what are the positives going on in the country. I know it would be a bit difficult to find such news in our media, but we can all post things whenever and wherever we can find some. The content may be related to defence, strategic, economic, agri etc....whichever is seen as a positive for us and which can raise the morale of our countrymen in whatever small way possible...

We can name the the thread as maybe INDIA'S ARISE or RISING INDIA etc.,

Just a suggestion.....

Thanks all....

PostPosted: 01 Nov 2011 06:47 

GopiD, there are various threads in the Technology & GD Fora. In what way would your proposed thread(s) be different ?

PostPosted: 01 Nov 2011 19:29 

GopiD, there are various threads in the Technology & GD Fora. In what way would your proposed thread(s) be different ?

Sridharji...

1. Regarding my first suggestion of creating UNDERSTANDING INDIA thread. I thought a thread can be created wherein we can discuss the thought process of an Indian, the evolution of that thought process, the role of religion, history and our culture in shaping that thought process. We can also discuss our ethics and values, its relevance in today's global scenario or it's nonrelevance etc. Something similar to Understanding the US-2 thread. Yes some of these can be found in the history thread, Indian interests thread etc., but in bits and pieces. We get to discuss a lot about Pak, China, US and other countries, but there is no place to discuss us, our policies, our thought process etc. Whatever small we discuss on other threads, it's mostly pessimism or self-loathing. I think it is essential that we understand ourselves much clearly, though we simultaneously try to understand others. Just a thought. Let me know if this idea can be developed further or if there are other places to discuss these.

2. Regarding my second suggestion of creating RISING INDIA thread, I thought of posting newsfeeds and sources which depict india and it's achievements in good light. That can be historical, financial, scientific, defence related, strategy, culture etc. I think there shouldn't be any discussion on this thread and only news, otherwise someone or the other will start goaling self goals and the very essence of this thread will be lost. If someone feels to put in an argument with the news posted in this thread, then that should be done in the relevant threads, which I guess is many in our forum. The whole idea of this thread should be depicting India, it's past and present achievements in a positive light, which is seldom done in our DDMs. Me still being someone in his late 20s and with my interaction with many of my friends, colleagues etc., I find that though they are all doing good in their own profession and private life, they all have a very negative view of us and our nation. This can be attributed largely to the negative media where the local joe can't and won't have the time to analyze each and every negative news. Hence, this thread can be an alternative to such negative propaganda against us by our own and this thread can also be referred to others for some positive news about our country. Just a thought....

Hope I am making myself clear........ open to suggestions and corrections...

ThanQ

PostPosted: 01 Nov 2011 23:27 
BiG Boss - BR Site

Hi Guys,

I have implement SSL connection on the forums server its available for those wishing to use it. Just amend the URL from http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com to https://forums.bharat-rakshak.com. Please report back any issues in this thread.

Seetal

PostPosted: 01 Nov 2011 23:31 

^^^ Awesome, thank you!

This is TFTA :mrgreen:

PostPosted: 02 Nov 2011 01:14 

webmaster wrote:
Hi Guys,

I have implement SSL connection on the forums server its available for those wishing to use it. Just amend the URL from http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com to https://forums.bharat-rakshak.com. Please report back any issues in this thread.

Seetal

Seetal Gaaru -- If I am not mistaken, I requested https quiet recently and I have hearty gratitude for you and BR webmasters for making this feature available.

Nukavarapu

PostPosted: 02 Nov 2011 12:13 

Libyan War Dhaga requires urgent Admin attention

PostPosted: 02 Nov 2011 15:01 

Yes, noob with naam ayomallod has posted a few crappy links in the dhaga

PostPosted: 02 Nov 2011 15:42 

webmaster wrote:
Hi Guys,

Seetal

Wow ! Is it possible to make this the default protocol for BR ? Or is sever load too much ?

PostPosted: 02 Nov 2011 16:39 

Libya thread suitably handled. Thanks.

PostPosted: 02 Nov 2011 17:03 

GopiD,

'Understanding India' would be very complex and a single thread may not do justice. What you are speaking of is spread over several threads, some in Strategy and some in other fora. To unify all that into a single thread is IMO an impossible task.

Rising India, as simply a news source without discussion, is not there today though there are threads like 'A Nation on the March' and others which discuss various developments. You may try this one out in the GDF. If the thread is not patronized, let us close it after some time.

PostPosted: 02 Nov 2011 17:21 

webmaster wrote:
Hi Guys,

Seetal

Outstanding! My secret desire is finally fulfilled! Many thanks.

PostPosted: 03 Nov 2011 00:32 

Webmaster pls creation an Android app for the forum as well

PostPosted: 03 Nov 2011 03:30 

:(( The forum does not have SEOed urls, plus the design is obsolete and table based :((

I tried creating a TFTA custom style in http://userstyles.org/stylish, but couldn't because of the tables !

Have admins considered moving to Simple Machines Forum or a paid software like Invision Power Board ?

PostPosted: 03 Nov 2011 10:48 

aditp wrote:

What is wrong with using the web browser in your Android phone?

Sorry, I'm not an admin or Webmaster, but I'm just asking to understand how an app would be useful. The best part about a multi-touch capable Android smartphone is that you can pinch to resize tall forum pages to quickly jump to any corner. Most apps are limited in viewing options while the browser is unrestricted.

PostPosted: 04 Nov 2011 00:06 

@Mods.

Please do note that some posters have made it a specific point to run attacks against me, both here on BRF and elsewhere, very little to do with topic, mostly to do with me as the poster. They discuss at a particular site and elsewhere and gang up here based on that discussion.

Almost deliberate attacks to provoke me into doing something stupid, which after all is not difficult since a normal response to offensive behavior is to "give it back" and when it goes on and on and on. Sigh.....

PostPosted: 04 Nov 2011 09:23 

Sanku ji, FWIW, I just want to let you know that I thoroughly enjoy your posts and IMO your opinions represent Indian interest in their own right.

Just so you are aware that some here value your opinions no matter what others say.

PostPosted: 04 Nov 2011 12:02 

Thank you Satya-ji, much appreciated.

PostPosted: 04 Nov 2011 14:26 

@Mods.
Please do note that some posters have made it a specific point to run attacks against me, both here on BRF and elsewhere, very little to do with topic, mostly to do with me as the poster. They discuss at a particular site and elsewhere and gang up here based on that discussion.

:shock: Jeez!
Sanku ji, please do not let that effect you in the least, thus effectively putting a spanner in the works. Image

PostPosted: 04 Nov 2011 14:57 

Thank you Satya-ji, much appreciated.

^^I very much second "Truth Seekerjee" here :)

Though one gripe, waiting for your story in full flow since May is a torture I hope you find time to start writing it now :(

PostPosted: 05 Nov 2011 23:26 

PratikDas wrote:
aditp wrote:

What is wrong with using the web browser in your Android phone?

Sorry, I'm not an admin or Webmaster, but I'm just asking to understand how an app would be useful. The best part about a multi-touch capable Android smartphone is that you can pinch to resize tall forum pages to quickly jump to any corner. Most apps are limited in viewing options while the browser is unrestricted.

Greater convenience . Simple. Ofcourse the definition would vary from person to person.

Additionally, lower bandwith usage on expensive 3G connections. In any case a dedicated app can only do the forum some good. No harm atleast.-

PostPosted: 06 Nov 2011 20:40 

MODS: I'm having trouble with the scroll bar of the full editor. After I've exhausted the default writing space in the window, evertime I press enter, the cursor moves down but the scroll bar reverts back to previous line and I'm able to see text only to the extent of the size of default window. Please to help. Thanks.

PostPosted: 07 Nov 2011 03:55 

aditp wrote:
-----
Greater convenience . Simple. Ofcourse the definition would vary from person to person.

Additionally, lower bandwith usage on expensive 3G connections. In any case a dedicated app can only do the forum some good. No harm atleast.-

Since no one pays for BR compulsorily, at least I've never paid a cent, who is going to pay for development of an app?

Also, an app can download small versions of large images to save "bandwidth usage on expensive 3G connections" only if those smaller versions exist in the first place. This is achieved by some telecom operators for mobile web browsers through dedicated "web to mobile adaptation" servers like this one. If something doesn't reduce the bandwidth upstream then your app is going to have to download all the data anyway. It might only intelligently resize what it shows on the screen for you. Who will pay for such a server, that too to handle the kind of traffic BR serves?

PostPosted: 07 Nov 2011 17:07 

BRF needs to improve its counter spam techniques. With the recent spurt in the SPAM threads on the forum and all that. :P

The best counted may be to make the moniters of the Spammers Explode. :P

PostPosted: 07 Nov 2011 21:20 

PratikDas wrote:
aditp wrote:
-----

Since no one pays for BR compulsorily, at least I've never paid a cent, who is going to pay for development of an app?

Also, an app can download small versions of large images to save "bandwidth usage on expensive 3G connections" only if those smaller versions exist in the first place. This is achieved by some telecom operators for mobile web browsers through dedicated "web to mobile adaptation" servers like this one. If something doesn't reduce the bandwidth upstream then your app is going to have to download all the data anyway. It might only intelligently resize what it shows on the screen for you. Who will pay for such a server, that too to handle the kind of traffic BR serves?

My request is only for enthusiast hobbyists who may be motivated enough to write a free app. Jagan has supported this idea, I am sure many others would also benefit from this. Not being an IT professional, I do not know the technicalities, but just find forum apps better on smartphones than the websites!

PostPosted: 08 Nov 2011 03:58 

Katare wrote:

If that was the case than you could have shown little more curtsey instead of telling me to "update my knowledge" I am all "rah-rah" and a troll. All this in your very first post to me, without specifying that you speak as a moderator to me.

(Page 66 in the "India selects Typhoon & Rafale for MMRCA shortlist - Part 2" thread.)

Speaking about courtesy: I clearly remember how you made quite personal and aggresive remarks to Gilles in the thread for Transport Aircraft for the IAF. This was uncalled-for and I didn't like it as I have never seen Gilles use such agressive language.

PostPosted: 08 Nov 2011 12:25 

Webmasters, IMHO we are not at all using the social media to BRF's advantage.

Could we do anything in this end like a "Like" or "+1" feature for our site?

PostPosted: 14 Nov 2011 20:21 

I find myself unable to venture into the "India-China" thread. IMO, it has the feel of a sandbox and gives a lurker an impression that a pi***ng match is about to start at any instant. Unlike the PRC thread of yore, this one is not even news-heavy.

How is a reasonably serious lurker/poster to contribute or understand PRC?

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 970 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22 ... 25  Next