Possible Indian Military Scenarios - XII

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
Ghatotkacha

Re: Possible Indian Military Scenarios - XII

Post by Ghatotkacha »

India vs. China action (in light of current build-up)
Anyone? Please?

nitinr wrote:Any members in touch with Vivek Ahuja. Remember he having said of some health problems. Hope all is ok with him. If anybody knows him or can contact him. thanks.
I have just received answer from Vivek to my mail, his health is fine. Let's see he may start writing again.
vila

Post by vila »

Hope he completes one of his earlier scenarios instead of starting another new one. Eagerly waiting for the Arjuns to reach Ladakh :D
rohankumaon

Post by rohankumaon »

Manish_Sharma wrote:
Thanks for the message Manish. Will it be possible for you to ask to him about his book whether it is published or not?

rohan,
Last heard, the book was still not published but work was going on in trying to publish.

Bala Vignesh wrote:rohan,
Last heard, the book was still not published but work was going on in trying to publish.
I am still trying to finalize a publisher but busy updating the book which is now, frankly, a bit dated by current events. If necessary, I will publish the book on my own expense to save time. I believe the readers here will like what I have been doing to it. Will keep you guys posted.

In the meantime, if I may be allowed, I would like to continue my remaining scenario here...

-Vivek

Welcome back. Everyone here has been waiting for your posts.

You can be assured of at least a few hundred bookings for your book whenever it's released.

vivek_ahuja wrote:
I am still trying to finalize a publisher but busy updating the book which is now, frankly, a bit dated by current events. If necessary, I will publish the book on my own expense to save time. I believe the readers here will like what I have been doing to it. Will keep you guys posted.

In the meantime, if I may be allowed, I would like to continue my remaining scenario here...

-Vivek
Just a thought. Why not release it in e-Book format first and use those funds to go for printed version for extended audience (in placed like India)...

^^ Amen to that..
And pleae, the Rhinos have been waiting for the roads to be cleared for quite sometime.
member_20344

Post by member_20344 »

Hello Gurus, am a newbie here, been lurking for a year and now felt like posting, don't know if this has already been asked, couldn't find it in the threads. Given the present scenario in south china sea and the threats that china is wielding every now and then, want to understand what if china sends its navy to stop exploration by Indian ships or what if Chinese navy destroys one of the ship in as response to oil drilling in the south china sea ? What kind of response can be expected from India ?

Excuse if this has already been asked.
Mohit A

Post by Mohit A »

RamaY wrote: Just a thought. Why not release it in e-Book format first and use those funds to go for printed version for extended audience (in placed like India)...
its a great idea that u could consider..

btw eagerly waiting for ur updates on the previous scenario..

vivek_ahuja wrote:

-Vivek
vivek, the current bestseller in India (immortals of meluha/amish tripathi) started off as a self published book in an entirely new genre (for India). go ahead and self publish, at least a few thousand will buy from BRFites alone.

vivek_ahuja wrote:

-Vivek
Vivek_Ahuja ji, if you're looking for capital to get started, you could publish online with very high quality for the dollar-paying demographic and get some early capital to self-publish in India.

http://www.blurb.com/make/

Gentlemen,

I appreciate the feedback and support. I hope to have an update on the book in the coming few days.

-Vivek

3RD INFANTRY DIVISION HQ
SHYOK, LADDAKH
DAY 6 + 1044 HRS

“This ought to be interesting.” Maj-Gen Mohanty noted dryly as he stepped outside of his command trailer near the DIV-MSR, along with his Ops Commander. Both men jumped down from the door of the trailer and onto the rocky mud near the frozen riverbed and began walking over towards a line of freshly painted tanks parked along the road headed northeast towards Saser. Mohanty scowled as he saw the weather above turn grayish cloudy as it always did in Laddakh in that time of the year. The glisten of the new snow camouflage on the hull of the tanks did not go away, however…
Well. Half hour of combat will change that…Mohanty thought as he saw a Major from the lead tank jump off from his command hatch and onto the ground to meet the two senior officers headed towards him.

“Major Kulkarni. I see you got your unit here in good order!” Mohanty said as he returned the salute from the young officer.
“43RD Armored reporting for combat, sir!” the RHINO commander responded.

“Kulkarni, 43RD Armored is now part of the 3RD Infantry FEBA. Your orders are now updated. Get your unit to the DBO sector via Saser and report to Colonel Sudarshan, who is in charge of all mechanized operations in that sector. He can use all the help he can get. The Chinese have Brigadier Adesara’s AO by the balls over there. He’s giving them hell, and getting some in return. Let’s see if 43RD AR can change the odds somewhat. Get moving son. We will coordinate ASC support for your unit from here when your CO gets here with his advance C3I staff. I want 43RD AR minus one troop headed to Saser. Divert the remaining troop to Tsogstsalu east of here. The Chinese are attempting to drive here from the Kongka-La region. I need to establish some security for this MSR. Understood?”

“Yes sir! RHINO Force will give them hell.” Kulkarni responded as he saluted and then ran back to his tank, signaling the other commanders behind him to rev-up their engines. Mohanty took out a cigarette pack from one of his uniform breast pockets and lit it up, blowing the smoke away as he saw the first Arjun tank bellow smoke and roar forward along the road. Since the first day of the ground war in Laddakh, when Mohanty had seen his miniscule T-72 force decimated in short order, it had taken a good five days to get the next, fresh set of armor into the theater.

Five days. Mohanty scowled again and shook his head as he threw away his smoke and walked back to his command trailer. Behind him, a massive dust cloud now rose into the gray cloudy skies above Shyok as the 43RD Armored began its final push into the rapidly deteriorating ground war in Laddakh…
Aaryan

Post by Aaryan »

Vivek sir.. welcome back... Sir do let us know about your book.. I hope i will be among the 1st batch to buy it..
ovein

Post by ovein »

I am glad to to see you back Vivek Sir
sarabpal.s

Post by sarabpal.s »

nice see u again vivek. good writing again 8)

43rd armoured is engaging.. Awesome.. Do let us know of the book I have 2-3 guys waiting along with me..
Ajit.C

Post by Ajit.C »

Welcome back vivek.
trushant

Post by trushant »

Vivek Saar .... In your absence on the forum had been reading and re-reading your posts right from "The Pathfinders" till the point where Major Kulkarni was driving up his sqn of Arjuns to DBO .... aur kar bhi kya sakte the?

Welcome back...we are dying to see the chinese driven out of Aksai Chin
vila

Post by vila »

Vivek Welcome back.

My two pice suggestion: If you want to publish the book on your own why dont you launch a advance pre booking after initial talks with the printer. This will help you on two counts i) give you a better estimate of the number of copies you target to print ii) help you with working capital.
aniket

Post by aniket »

Vivek sir can you incorporate a naval element in these scenarios.I would love to see the Navy taking on naval threats,like warships,submarines etc.

THE WANG-CHU BRIDGE
NORTH OF THIMPU
BHUTAN
DAY 6 + 1420 HRS

The white clouds moved below the tips of the mountains in the region, obscuring the view of the top. Not much visibility anyway. The trees covered the hillsides wherever the clouds didn’t. The chilly wind driving up the valley along the riverbed was whipping across the top of the bridge now. Other than the wind, though, there was the silence. No birds, animals or humans to be seen or heard. Captain Pathanya and his men were at the eastern edge of the bridge now and he was leading a team of three men across it to access the other side. Every man in the group was taking extremely cautious and deliberately slow steps on the bridge while their eyes scanned their green tree-covered hills across it. Their rifles were up at shoulder level and pulled in tight, expecting a firefight to break out at any time from the Chinese soldiers supposed to be in the hills west and north of the bridge...

Pathanya raised a balled fist in a slow manner to indicate the others behind him to stop where they were. He then kneeled down on the concrete of the bridge and turned over the body of a dead RBA soldier, his face down in a pool of blood from a rifle shot. There were other bodies on the bridge as well, similarly shot and their weapons nowhere to be seen. Pathanya got back on his feet and activated his UHF comms link to the others behind him who were covering his advance:
“These guys got shot trying to run across the bridge. Wound patterns all indicate fire from the horizontal plane. The Chinese forces that picked off these guys were on the other side of the bridge and not in the hills above.”

“You thinking they were spec-ops, boss? Killed these Bhutanese guys and then rolled south, scouting for the main force?” the Para team’s XO said over the comms from his overwatch position.
“Maybe. Okay: let’s keep moving.” Pathanya said and began walking forward. The three men reached the other side of the bridge and took up positions near the entrance.

“Movement! One O-Clock position!” the team’s sniper said from his position on the comms.
“Roger!” Pathanya said and pulled in his rifle closer and aimed down the sight, hearing Bhutanese chatter and rustling noises near a demolished house further up the road. “Steady, boys. No rash actions. Sounds like civvies to me…”

A second later a woman burst across from near the walls of the house and ran over with her three small kids. Pathanya immediately lowered his weapon and stared in amazement as the woman ignored the armed Indian soldiers around the bridge and attempted to run across to the other side, heading for Thimpu. Pathanya waved to one of his men and they caught her before she could get on the bridge. The kids grew hysteric and so did the mother. The noise was reverberating around. Pathanya decided to intervene and got up from his defilade position and ran over to the woman to calm her down.

“Soldiers! Chinese soldiers! Over there! Coming fast!” The woman said in broken Hindi words once she realized she was speaking to friendly troops. Pathanya grabbed her by her shoulders to get her to focus:
“How many?”

“Scores! I need to go to Thimpu and the King. His Highness will defend us! Let me go! Please!” the woman shouted hysterically. Pathanya nodded to his men and they let her across, running past the charred remains of the RBA truck on the eastern side of the bridge along the road and ran south. Pathanya looked back at his men and switched his R/T on:
“Warlord-Central. This is Spear-One. Red force advance on Thimpu is imminent. Civilian movement across Winchester-Charlie Bridge is negligible. Suggest we demolish and delay. Over.”

“Spear-One. This is Warlord-Actual. Roger that. RPV recon confirms observations. Prepare for imminent contact. Hotel-Six is on standby and available and dedicated for fire missions. Hold your ground as best as you can. We are trying to get support out to you now. Over and out.” The line clicked off.

“You believe these people?” Pathanya looked around to see his Lieutenant Vikram Sharma, the team’s demolition specialist, staring at the receding view of the woman and her kids running down the road to the south beyond the bridge and the river.
“What’s on your mind, Vik?” Pathanya said as he adjusted the rifle sling around his neck.

“Boss, you heard what that woman said? His highness will protect them? What the hell is wrong with these people? They believe in this King of theirs even when he hightailed it to the south hours after his country was invaded. Now with a technologically advanced adversary destroying their country, and their own forces defeated in battle, the locals here still believe their King will deliver them from this mess? How can anyone be so stupid?” Everybody on Spear-One comms had different reactions ranging from bemusement to suppressed grunts on that. Pathanya noticed the responses as well, delivering his own with a smile:
“Vik, when we are done here, go write a book about this stuff or something. Make yourself a name. Who knows, we might even get to meet his Highness and you can ask him this stuff directly. For now, I need your head in Spear-One. Get this bridge wired up.”

“Right. Sure thing boss.” Vikram trotted off with his UBGL-INSAS hanging around his neck and got to work removing the explosives from his backpack. Pathanya looked around at the others as he spoke:

“Okay people. Looks like the commies are on the way here. Here’s the plan: we rig up the bridge and fall to the eastern side. We will mine the roads east of the bridge to delay vehicular movement. Expect the frozen riverbed to offer no resistance to infantry movement. As a result, expect to be flanked easy and quickly if you stay at any given location for too long. We will fight a retreating battle from here to the outskirts of Thimpu. Hotel-Six is our primary shotgun as per Warlord’s directives. We might even get some air support. I want to retain our cover as long as possible. Don’t let the enemy see you. We are not equipped to fight a prolonged firefight. We sting and we move. Understand?”

Pathanya received nods from everybody around him, and moments later the team got down to work. Pathanya ran over across the bridge and climbed up the steep hill overlooking the bridge on the eastern side where Spear-One had set up its sniper crow nest, being at an elevated position and offering clear line of sights to the nearby hills. Once there, he removed his backpack and set up his SATCOM links which included a small dish receiver that snapped open from its web and the CNR set and the batteries. He looked around and saw the white clouds around him obscuring visibility. He wondered how the RPVs from Haa Dzong were seeing anything through this mess from high altitude but gave up trying to answer that question. He then picked up his SATCOM R/T set and checked it out:
“Spear-One to Hotel-Six; Over”

Lt-Col Fernandes’s voice came over the line a few seconds later: “Spear-One, this is Hotel-Six. Six-Actual speaking: what would you like to order?” that caused Pathanya to break into a chuckle despite the gravity of the situation around him. He responded a few seconds later:
“Six-Actual, this is a link check. Good to see you guys ready to go. Nothing to order yet; Over”

“Roger that son. Keep your head low and give us a call when the commies show up. I have a welcome package all loaded up over here. Hotel-Six out” and the link clicked off. Pathanya felt good to talk to other friendlies in the sector. It made him feel a little better knowing he wasn’t alone out here. He picked up his binoculars and checked out the bridge below his position: Vikram had finished rigging the bridge and the others were now pulling back across the bridge after booby-trapping the other side…

“Boss, I got movement on the ridge north of the bridge: the one that looks like a cup shaped hill. Do you see it?” Ganesh said. He was the team sniper, lying down with his Dragunov scoped rifle next to Pathanya at the top of their small hill. Pathanya looked over with his own binoculars and confirmed what looked like a mass of Chinese soldiers descending down from the hill towards the road that headed south to the bridge…

“Spear-One. We got movements on the ridgeline north of the bridge. Our friends are approaching. Take cover. This shit is about to start.” He then changed frequencies: “Hotel-Six, Hotel-Six. Fire mission request…” and checked his map screen on the battlefield computer hooked up to the Hotel-Six C3I systems and selected the grid zone before continuing: “We have mass of infantry descending on Winchester-Charlie from the north. Over.”

“Hotel-Six to Spear-One. Roger. Confirmed request; Fire-Mission three-one-one-two-five, Fragmentation HE, Saturation; Three Launchers, Six round fire, five-second delay; Stand-by for BDA! Over”

“Standing by!” Pathanya said as he picked up his binoculars and awaited the steel rain…

HOTEL-SIX PINAKA BATTERY
NORTH OF PARU DZONG
BHUTAN
DAY 6 + 1450 HRS

Lt-Colonel Fernandes chewed out his last cigar about the same time as the officers inside his command trailer finished punching in the coordinates for the Battery’s three launcher vehicles. The latter were already deployed outside on their hydraulic stabilizers into the wet mud of the hilly clearing with their launchers pointed northwards at a high elevation. The single DIGICORA metrological radar unit outside had already auto-calibrated the launch trajectories with the weather conditions while the ballistic computers on board the launch platforms had pre-adjusted for the terrain. The frag-warheads were loaded and on standby.

The controls officer looked over his shoulder at Fernandes to indicate Battery Launch Readiness. Fernandes had a smile on his face and around the cigar in his mouth:
“Hit it, boy!”

Three seconds later the hills around Paru town reverberated with a low thundering noise and the citizens inside the town looked up to the north to see successive streaks of white lines rising from the ground and disappearing into the low cloud cover above their town…

Really good to have you back Vivek. Look forward to your book being published. I will certainly add the number of BR people who will buy that.
manish.rastogi

Post by manish.rastogi »

I stilll can't believe Ahuja sir is back!! Back with a bang actually sir!! Desperately waiting for more!!

Vivek,
great writing. Very realistic, informative and gripping. Please do complete the scenario.

Guys, could someone kindly post the doc or pdf form of the scenario so far to download?

How much capital you need Ahujaji? email me at rlnarayanarao@gmail.com
abhinavjo

Post by abhinavjo »

I have it. mail me at ****@gmail.com and I'll forward it to you.
ashthor

Post by ashthor »

Welcome back Vivek...this thread finally gets moving

THE BATTLE FOR WINCHESTER-CHARLIE

THE WANG-CHU BRIDGE
NORTH OF THIMPU
BHUTAN
DAY 6 + 1452 HRS

Several thunderclaps reverberated in the valley amidst brief orange fireballs as the entire ridgeline west and north of the bridge disappeared under a carpet of dust and smoke. All movement was terminated, at least as far was visible from Spear-One positions. The humongous mountain of smoke descended into the valley and covered up the village west of the bridge even as the shockwaves rocked the trees all around the valley…

“Oh shit! That was lovely!” Vikram shouted over the comms as Pathanya peered through the binoculars and spoke to Fernandes at Hotel-Six: “Good effect on target, Hotel-Six! Preliminary BDA suggests massive enemy KIA on ridgeline west of Winchester-Charlie! Hold second salvo. Will advise; Over”

“Roger. Standing by. Out” the link chimed out.

“Okay boys…” Pathanya said, lowering his binoculars and staring at the settling cloud of dust in the valley, a couple of kilometres from his positions east of the bridge: “…No time to relax. That strike was good, but now the enemy will spread out and manoeuvre. He knows somebody out here is watching his movements. Expect flanking moves to our northeast and southwest. Keep your eyes…”

Incoming fire!” Ganesh shouted as a field artillery round slammed into the hillside just below their positions, followed by the screeching howl of more rounds…

“Go! Go! Go! Get to cover. Spread out!” Pathanya shouted as he quickly grabbed his comms set and SATCOM equipment and prepared to get into a rocky defilade position he had identified for just this kind of situations. The artillery rounds were slamming into the hillside east of the bridge, and the Chinese commander was walking his fire upwards, naturally expecting his opponents to be occupying the hill in force. His artillery barrage was saturation and HE area coverage, obviously hoping to suppress the Indian forces while he moved more of his men down from the ridgeline and into the village west of the bridge…

“Spear-One, this is Warlord-Central! What’s the hell is going on over there?!” the radio squawked amidst the roar of the explosions and the shrapnel flying overhead now. Pathanya grabbed the set lying in the dirt next to his rocky cover and brought it close to his mouth and covered the speaker with his hands to be able to get his words across over the background explosions around him:
“This is Spear-One, One-Actual! We are taking enemy suppression barrage east of Winchester-Charlie from high calibre enemy field Arty! Enemy attempting manoeuvre towards us! Requesting counter-battery fire from Hotel-Six on my location!”

“Say again! Spear-One! I don’t read you! Comms is One-By-Five! Over!”

“Damn it!” Pathanya shouted over the explosions before he calmed down. But before he could speak again, the Warlord chimed in: “Stand by, Spear-One!”
“Warlord-Central to Hotel-Six. Can you suppress enemy tube Arty fire on Spear-One? Over”
“Hotel-Six here to Warlord-Central! That’s a big negative. We have no country-battery eyes on Winchester-Charlie! Hotel-Six WLR has not been airlifted into Paru yet! We need to get eyes on Red-Arty before we do anything! I don’t have enough replenishment for my launchers to go around scatter shelling in the mountains of Bhutan! Over” Lt-Col Fernandes shouted back to General Potgam over at IMTRAT-COM at Haa Dzong. Pathanya was stuck amidst all this with his R/T to his ears and his eyes squinting at every near miss explosion rocking his hillside. And then there was that dreaded scream of a friend being injured...

“Oh shit! Ganesh is hit!” Vikram shouted from where he was, loud enough to be heard by pretty much everyone in the team above the sounds of the explosions.

“Medic!” Ganesh shouted with the pain clear in his voice. Pathanya dropped the comms set and ran out into the explosions over to the source of the call for help even as the team’s medic did the same. He had to run over the shredded tree trunks and the smoking craters created into the wet mud before he reached a cluster of rocks where Ganesh had taken cover. He lay on the ground between the rocks now, he leg covered in blood and the rocks nearby stained as well. His moans of pain sent shudders down Pathanya’s spine even as another explosion rocked the hillside and sent moulds of dirt flying all around them. The medic slid into the same position to avoid another incoming round and got down to work with Pathanya helping keep Ganesh down…

“Easy buddy! Hold on! Ravi is taking care of it.” Ganesh could only reply with a suppressed moan. Pathanya looked over to Ravi who shook his head and shouted over the explosions:
“We need to get him out of here now! I can’t do much for him other than killing the pain.”
“Do what you can. Stabilize him. I am going to go get some help!” Pathanya shouted as he got to his feet and ran across the ravaged hillside to his own position. He got there in time to see the R/T speaker half covered in mud and foliage but still working: the other line on the comms was desperately trying to get somebody to pick up the call…

“Warlord-Central to Spear-One! Do you read?! I say again: do you read?!”
“This is Spear-One! I read you five-by-five! I am taking casualties over here! I need that damn Red-Arty taken out! Over!” Pathanya shouted back into the speaker.
“Roger that, Spear-One! Hold Five. Warlord has redirected RPV coverage north of Winchester-Charlie. We are getting eyes on Red-Arty now. Hotel-Six will suppress. Over” Finally some good news…

Pathanya looked up but could only see the dark haze from the dust clouds enveloping the sky around him. But above his head, one of the Nishant UAVs under General Potgam’s command at IMTRAT-COM was now attempting to do the seeker role in a hunter-killer mission along with Hotel-Six Battery Control at Paru. The UAV was equipped with thermal imaging and showed the glowing white balls of fire exploding on the hillside at Winchester-Charlie and then further north the flashes of white emanating from the field guns of the Chinese commander. It didn’t take long for the latter location to be calibrated and projected back to the screens of the controllers inside Fernandes Battery Control trailer at Paru. The three launchers under the command of Hotel-Six quickly swivelled their launch tubes and adjusted for range, elevation, warhead settings and weather conditions before sending another streak of eighteen 214 mm rockets into the skies above Bhutan…

At IMTRAT-COM, Lt-Gen Potgam was watching the battle unfold from his own command trailers. The UAV feed was patched in to his trailer similar to the RPV-COM trailer with the latter having Ops control and the former having the Thermal EOP feed. Potgam watched in satisfaction as the a bunch of white tubes, showing up because of the residual structural heat from the launch, peppered the valley being used by the Chinese commander as his field Arty position north of the bridge. The smattering of white-black balls terminated the view and the EOP readjusted the optics. When it did so, the white balls of fire on Winchester-Charlie had stopped, and the northern Red-Arty Battery was dead…

“Good. Send my regards to Fernandes and his boys. Job well done. Now let’s see if we can get Spear-One some medevac support. Who’s on point?” Potgam asked his Ops officer next to him as they stepped outside of the command trailer at Haa Dzong.

“Flight of three ALHs and the one Lancer as before. They have returned from evacuating the Indian civvies from Paru to the Indian border and are being fuelled now. But the ALHs are pre-allocated for movement of personnel to secure Hotel-Six positions north of Paru. I suppose we could divert one helo from there to go to Winchester-Charlie and evac Pathanya’s casualties…” the Ops officer offered.

“That’s not going to be enough. That village west of the bridge is crawling with Commies by now. Any bird going in is going to take heavy fire. Besides, I doubt Pathanya is going to be able to find a decent spot to land on that hillside. Tell him to get his men to advance down to the bridge and set up a base of fire. We are sending in the evac bird. Send in the Lancer to provide security and draw fire during the rescue. Questions?” General “Warlord” Potgam said authoritatively.

“No sir!” The Ops officer said and ran off back into the C2 Trailer to divert the helos already heading over to Fernandes north of Che-La. Potgam turned around and saw the massive snow covered peaks of the great Himalayas north of his location. He hoped to see something, but all he saw was a pair of IAF Mi-17s from the barely operationalized airfield at Paru bringing in some under-slung load towards his converted FARP at the golf course.

New age of battle... He pondered in silence as the sounds of the distant thunder from the Chumbi Valley to the west and the Hotel-Six battery fire from the north reverberated in the background. I get to stand here and give orders while young boys like Pathanya and his team are taking fire on some goddamned peak. What the hell am I even doing in Bhutan anyway while Operation Chimera is kicking Commie ass in the Chumbi Valley FEBA?

Potgam walked back into his C2 trailer and picked up his personal comms R/T speaker to speak to his boss at Eastern Army HQ:
“Yeah. This is Warlord at IMTRAT-COM. Are you guys at Army HQ serious about saving Bhutan or not? I can end the commie threat to Thimpu in a matter of hours if you get me the reinforcements I need over here. I was promised Paras to help me hold on to Bhutan. I still have no clue where the hell they are or how long will it take them to get here, damn it!”

“We are working on it Warlord. Paru took a beating at the hands of the CAF bombers. Only a trickle of the planned force-reconstitution of IMTRAT-COM is taking place. We are looking at alternative MSRs. Will advise later. Give me a sitrep!”

“Holding on. General Dhillon is making do with whatever RBA forces he can muster in eastern Bhutan. I am supervising the Northern and Western Bhutanese Ops. The Chinese haven’t devoted that many troops to this particular theatre. I suppose they can’t spare to given the scale of operations in Laddakh and the Chumbi valley sectors. We get in the men I had been promised and I will end this battle here and now and move on to support Chimera Ops to my west. By the way: don’t bother looking at alternative MSRs around here. There are none. How about airlifting the Paras directly to Thimpu using the pads there near the Royal Palace and what not?” Potgam offered, running his hand through his balding white hair as he spoke.

“Is Thimpu secure?” was the Eastern Army Commander’s question.
“No idea. But we can do RPV recon real quick. I also have the main route to Thimpu from the north bottled up at the moment near a bridge called Wang-Chu. That is Winchester Charlie. Team of SF boys are providing my Arty with targets. Don’t know how much longer they can hold, though.”

“Your risk assessment?”

“I say we go, sir. Things are not going to get any better than what they are. Those SF boys could really use some backup over there.” Potgam said, nodding to his Ops officer listening in on the conversation to get the RPV redirected south from the bridge over to Thimpu…

“Your call, Warlord. I am redirecting the Paras over to IMTRAT-COM Ops control. Get them into Thimpu and secure that city. Those media ******** over there are spreading the panic by calling our absence in Thimpu as a sign of defeat. HQ in Delhi has been on my ass to ensure Bhutan’s safety. Maybe a fleet of helicopters descending with Special Forces will change their perspective. Get it done, Warlord. Over and out” and the link clicked off. Potgam turned to his Ops officer:
“Huh. Funny how that works. I bet they would have been sitting on their asses if I hadn’t called them. Now they want me to get it done.” Potgam finished off that sentence with a grunt.

“About time too, if you ask me, sir.” The Ops Officer said. Potgam was already walking back out from his C2 Trailer to get a breath of the fresh, cold air. As he opened the door, the whisk of cold air and the bustling noise of activity poured in. The two Mi-17s were hovering over the golf course now, releasing their precious cargo under the guidance of the ground crews there. Potgam stared in silence for a second before turning back in to face his staff:

“Yeah. The Paras wanted to get into this war. Now they are going to have their chance. That Chinese Divisional commander won’t know what hit him.”

Damn straight!

vivek_ahuja wrote:

-Vivek
Its great news . You were the reason I was here in the first place.

Try Rupa Publications.

Rupa Publications Pvt Ltd
161-B/4 Gulmohar House,
Yusuf Sarai Community Centre,
New Delhi – 110 049
Ajit.C

Post by Ajit.C »

Anymore incoming? Have been refreshing this page the whole day. :D :P

THE INDIAN AEROSPACE NODE (IASN)
BANGALORE, INDIA
DAY 6 + 1512 HRS

“Please tell me that’s not what I think it is!” The Group-Captain said to his subordinate as they pored over the latest satellite imagery on the giant screen in front of them.

“Sure is, sir. WS-2400 high mobility transporters, on the road and everything” the Squadron-Leader replied back dryly before continuing: “Let’s see if we can overlay a grid reference on this image…” he pressed some keys on his keyboard and the image changed to show latitude and longitude grids on the image with a small inset map of the region. The Squadron-Leader continued: “…Yeah, I thought so. Heading down on 204-Provincial Road towards Dochen Tso. Looks like our friends in the 2ND Artillery don’t fool around. That’s twelve autonomous DF-11A launchers heading toward the Sikkim-Bhutan theatre…”

The Group-Captain had heard enough. He knew the Chinese were taking a beating in the Chumbi Valley. So now it looked like they were deciding to up the ante. He walked over to the nearest phone and called up the Strategic Forces Command watch officer:

“Be advised: we are detecting battery of twelve, I say again: twelve, DF-11A Tactical Ballistic Missiles headed south towards the Sikkim-Bhutan front near Dochen Tso. Suggest you send out the warning immediately. Vehicles currently not deployed for launch. Will update…yeah, Okay” the Group-Captain put down the phone and walked back to the screen with the imagery on it. By now, SFC intelligence experts were already poring over the same data to determine earliest launch status on the missiles. The Group-Captain approached the Imagery Analysis officer working with him:

“SFC wants to know the status of that single S-300 system in Sagher north of Bhutan. If the Chinese attempt to use Ballistic Missiles in this war, the first thing they will lose in return at the hand of our Prithvi Missiles is that lone S-300 battery protecting precious airspace between Bhutan and Lhasa…”

333 MISSILE GROUP
SILIGURI, INDIA
DAY 6 + 1525 HRS

The first Prithvi Missile TEL vehicles rolled out of their camouflage locations north of Siliguri shortly after the warning order went out from the Indian SFC HQ to all Indian Missile Forces. For the 333RD Group, that warning order was superseded with an alert order for imminent launch. The 333RD was the only Group with the Prithvi SS-150 missiles deployed in a conventional, Battlefield Support and TBM role. Other Groups were already operating a mix of SS-150/250 in the nuclear role. For now, the Chinese missile threat was classified as Conventional by the SFC. Chinese satellites also detected the deployment of the SS-150s south of the Chumbi valley region in near real time and the game of nerves began…

I was under the impression that SS-150s were exclusively deployed near Indo-Pak border

well being truck mounted, the entire group got on a rail of flatbed cars and moved east..

Without getting detected by Chinese and paki intel!!! That's one helluva movement across such a long distance..

In last post, Chinese had indeed noticed the deployment through satellites, but it'll also give Pakis a cause for mischief. Wouldn't Brahmos be more suitable due to it's better accuracy, launcher mobility and longer range ?

Of course all of this is based on my initial assumption that SS-150 are deployed on western border only.