Indo-UK News & Discussion 9th Aug 2011

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Indo-UK News & Discussion 9th Aug 2011

Yogi_g - also about chadwick movement. How people in london threw defecated material on the streets. How london became plague capital and later TB capital of the world.

And yes, about dirty rivers

http://www.guardian.co.uk/environment/2 ... cy-england

Pl quote Gandhiji talking about gutter inspection report. Katherine Mayo, gutter inspector, as Mahatma Gandhi called her because she wrote a book titled "Mother India' describing all these chi chi things of India.

Why ukstan is taking a role of Gutter Inspector at regular interval!!
Purush

Post by Purush »

Aditya_V wrote:
I think in these statistics one class of Vehicles is missing, 2 Wheelers. No way India has only 74 million Vehicles when you add 2 wheelers in the mix as quoted by Jermy Clarkson.

As per Road accident Stats released in TN. the largest no of accident fatalities are from two wheelers hitting pedestrians.

BTW: Having to suffer daily from the road sense of my fellow citizens, I do not justify the callous attitude of many of them.
Saar, please see data here
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 3#p1227703
Purush

Post by Purush »

abhishek_sharma wrote:
Well, a farm is a confined place...snip..
Sharma ji,
Reply here
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 2#p1227722

This discussion is a perfect example of Macaulized mindset I must say (not the issue, the discussion on the issue), comment on it here.

http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 0#p1227750

Bri,there is a fundamental Q here.Does corruption affect you in your daily life? In India absolutely yes.We have to bribe our way to get our basic utilities like water,telephones (much less now after the advent of pvt. cell-phone companies),electricity,etc.If you up the ladder for permissions for buildings,licences for hotels,etc.,unless you pay the price there is no go.Forget about the police,I can vouch from personal experience! This kind of corruption is not found in developed nations at all,barring the odd case.There would be public outrage if "baksheesh" demands were made of the public in western develeoped nations.Corruption here does exist,but is at a much higher invisible level,like the pay-offs to Tony Blair for his unstinted support for the invasion of Iraq,where he is raking in the millions on the lecture circuit giving talks at times to obscure organisations for fat fees.Other PMs like Major,etc. get lucrative directorships or consultancies with the most octopi-like entities like the Carlyle Group,just a few details below:

(According to a 2011 ranking called the PEI 300 based on capital raised over the last five years, Carlyle was ranked as the third largest private equity firm in the world, after TPG Capital and Goldman Sachs Principal Investment Area.[3] Carlyle had been ranked first in the 2007 listing.[4]
In 2010, the Financial Times announced that Carlyle Group is the private equity firm of the year.
Carlyle reported assets in excess of $150 billion under management diversified over 84 distinct funds.According to a 2011 ranking called the PEI 300 based on capital raised over the last five years, Carlyle was ranked as the third largest private equity firm in the world, after TPG Capital and Goldman Sachs Principal Investment Area.[3] Carlyle had been ranked first in the 2007 listing.[4]
In 2010, the Financial Times announced that Carlyle Group is the private equity firm of the year.)

Prominent personalities of the group.
Notable current and former employees and advisors

[edit] Business
G. Allen Andreas - Chairman of the Archer Daniels Midland Company, Carlyle European Advisory Board
Daniel Akerson -Board member at 7 companies, Managing director at Carlyle
Joaquin Avila - former managing director at Lehman Brothers, Managing director at Carlyle
Laurent Beaudoin - CEO of Bombardier (1979-), former member of Carlyle’s Canadian Advisory board
Peter Cornelius - Managing Director of Nielsen Australia.
Paul Desmarais - Chairman of the Power Corporation of Canada, former member of Carlyle’s Canadian Advisory board
David M. Moffett - CEO of Freddie Mac, Former Senior advisor to the Carlyle
Karl Otto Pöhl - former President of the Bundesbank, Former Senior advisor to the Carlyle Group
Olivier Sarkozy (half-brother of Nicolas Sarkozy, President of France) - co-head and managing director of its recently launched global financial services division, since March 2008.[41]

[edit] Political figures

[edit] North America
James Baker III, former United States Secretary of State under George H. W. Bush, Staff member under Ronald Reagan and George W. Bush, Carlyle Senior Counselor, served in this capacity from 1993 to 2005.
George H. W. Bush, former U.S. President, Senior Advisor to the Carlyle Asia Advisory Board from April 1998 to October 2003.
Frank C. Carlucci, former United States Secretary of Defense from 1987 to 1989; Carlyle Chairman and Chairman Emeritus from 1989 to 2005.
Arthur Levitt, Chairman of the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) under President Bill Clinton, Carlyle Senior Advisor from 2001 to the present
Luis Téllez Kuenzler, Mexican economist, former Secretary of Communications and Transportation under the Felipe Calderón administration and former Secretary of Energy under the Zedillo administration.
Frank McKenna, former Premier of New Brunswick, Canadian Ambassador to the United States between 2005 and 2006 and current Deputee Chairman of Toronto-Dominion Bank; served on Carlyle's Canadian advisory board.
Mack McLarty, Carlyle Group Senior Advisor (from 2003), White House Chief of Staff to President Bill Clinton from 1993 to 1994.
Randal K. Quarles, former Under Secretary of the U.S. Treasury under President George W. Bush, now a Carlyle managing director

[edit] Europe
John Major, former British Prime Minister, Chairman, Carlyle Europe from 2001 - 2004

[edit] Asia
Anand Panyarachun, former Prime Minister of Thailand (twice), former member of the Carlyle Asia Advisory Board until the board was disbanded in 2004
Fidel V. Ramos, former president of the Philippines, Carlyle Asia Advisor Board Member until the board was disbanded in 2004
Peter Chung, former associate at Carlyle Group Korea, who resigned in 2001 after 2 weeks on the job after his infamous email scandal
Thaksin Shinawatra, former Prime Minister of Thailand (twice), former member of the Carlyle Asia Advisory Board until 2001 when he resigned upon being elected Prime Minister.[42]

[edit] Media
Norman Pearlstine - editor-in-chief of Time magazine from (1995–2005), senior advisor telecommunications and media group 2006-

http://www.informationclearinghouse.inf ... le3995.htm

This program was broadcast on VPRO Netherlands TV:

Exposed: The Carlyle Group
Shocking documentary uncovers the subversion of Americas democracy.
I defy you to watch this 48 minute documentary and not be outraged about the depth of corruption and deceit within the highest ranks of our government.

Today is the 3rd day of Sankranthi, or "maatu pongal" in Tamil Nadu
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Makar_Sankranti
The third day of festival is Maattu Pongal. It is for offering thanks to cattle, as they help farmer in different ways for agriculture. On this day the cattle are decorated with paint, flowers and bells. They are allowed to roam free and fed sweet rice and sugar cane. Some people decorate the horns with gold or other metallic covers. In some places, Jallikattu, or taming the wild bull contest, is the main event of this day and this is mostly seen in the villages.
What do they do to cattle on this day in Britain? :D

shiv wrote:Today is the 3rd day of Sankranthi, or "maatu pongal" in Tamil Nadu
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Makar_Sankranti
The third day of festival is Maattu Pongal. It is for offering thanks to cattle, as they help farmer in different ways for agriculture. On this day the cattle are decorated with paint, flowers and bells. They are allowed to roam free and fed sweet rice and sugar cane. Some people decorate the horns with gold or other metallic covers. In some places, Jallikattu, or taming the wild bull contest, is the main event of this day and this is mostly seen in the villages.
What do they do to cattle on this day in Britain? :D
They are left overnight in the barn with Jeremy Clarkson for some "smooth riding".

Philip ji,
that is exactly the line I indicated - whether that "upper level" corruption is transparent. In volume terms, even if "lower" level broad-spectrum corruptiuon is not visible - the total quantum of the corruptiuon flow may well over exceed all that happens in India. Ultimately, it is the people of those lands who are paying for it too. Just because it is indirect or apparently invisible does not do away with the balancing of accounts.

link Some tidbits about recent controversy suggests how hollow the global free speech bastions are and the undercurrents that effect outlook in India.
Relying on a House of Lords’ decision of 1979, Muslims in the UK fervently pleaded for an extension of the law of blasphemy to non-Christian religions. But it was turned down because Whitehall (the seat of England’s government), even with the influx of millions of immigrants to England, was still — at least in outlook — an exclusively Christian country!

If by innuendo, the distinguished and popular author, who could not attend/ did not attend/ was not permitted to attend the Jaipur Literature Festival (take your pick!), had linked the names of the four women in his book instead to Jesus Christ, he would have been guilty of the criminal offence of blasphemy in England — the bastion of free speech.
(the last para)
My response to some recent comments by a few members of the distinguished literati — Indian and foreign — in Jaipur over the last weekend is that intentional vilification of the Christian religion is still as much a criminal offence in the UK (a land of hope and glory for free speech) as it is in India — except that in India it is not restricted to one religion alone.
In other words, the freedom of speech is not a principle but convenience only for a few and for the rest freedom of speech it is punishable. I am not sure if the clergy class is silent on free speech debate for Pope himself has opined against secularism in Spain, Australia. But then it may happen that the Church will own up anything that looks better even if it is a lie in UK and a reality in India, a land of heathen and pagans.

Such shallow & double standards by those who speak of high & modern values.

Why don't we send some human rights people to address partial blasphemy laws? I am sure the good people of global village who are not bigoted, not dishonest and not unfair with any amount of courage and understanding of justice & peace will consider universal blasphemy laws as civilized.

Or that those who take false pride should be left to their own karma. Karma is more of a bull who serves than a bitch who hits back. Should I trust karma more than the bigoted dishonest and unfair.

By the way, the Wiki entry for Fali S. Nariman is mind boggling. Such titans in India is matter of pride & wisdom.
Last edited by vishvak on 23 Jan 2012 19:22, edited 1 time in total.

Purush wrote:
Aditya_V wrote:
I think in these statistics one class of Vehicles is missing, 2 Wheelers. No way India has only 74 million Vehicles when you add 2 wheelers in the mix as quoted by Jermy Clarkson.

As per Road accident Stats released in TN. the largest no of accident fatalities are from two wheelers hitting pedestrians.

BTW: Having to suffer daily from the road sense of my fellow citizens, I do not justify the callous attitude of many of them.
Saar, please see data here
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 3#p1227703
That link says nearly 90 million vehicles as of March 31, 2006. In the last 5.75 years. with nearly 10 million 2 wheelers per year plus cars plus trucks and buses Clarkson right number should have been close to 150 million vehicles in India with 100 million 2 wheelers. Having ridden 2 Wheelers in India and driving a car now. my risk of accidents in 2 wheeler accidents is much higher. Remember we are talking of 2 wheelers not only in relatively slower city but Highway fatalities as well.

4 lakh died in accidents in 2010 in India; majority 2 wheeler victims
joshvajohn

Post by joshvajohn »

David Cameron urges European leaders to 'be bolder'
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-16736260

What many Europeans have become like pessimits and hopeless. I think it is time for Europe to have strong hope that they are not going to go down and other economies are going to grow at their costs. Rather if they go down other growing economies too will also have serious problems.

In this sense Cameron is right to call EU leaders to be bolder and grow with strong hope. It is difficult to turn arond from spending culture to working and earning culture. But those richest fools who are trying to manipulate and ac umulate and abuse the present market system make huge money and run away without responsibilities should be punished and their wealth should be nationalised. Without much trust and hope in the present market system, the economy cannot grow and the system should also become transparent and fair in all possible ways.

http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/new ... 645339.cms
World Economic Forum Davos 2012: Garib UK focused on trade ties with India, says David Cameron
DAVOS: European leaders seem to be edging closer to a consensus on finding a solution to the Euro zone crisis, UK prime minister David Cameron told ET on the sidelines of a British Tea party. "From what Ms Merkel said on Wednesday, and from my sense, our message for the rest of the world is that we seem closer to a solution," Cameron said before he dropped in to the India Adda, chatting with visiting Indian CEOs sipping Darjeeling tea and eating dhoklas. He also said that he's expecting to host Prime Minister Manmohan Singh in London later this year, which will be the first visit by the Indian premier to the UK since Mr Cameron came to power. India was one of the first countries Cameron visited after taking over as UK prime minister. "India is growing, while Europe is not - but in Britain we are very focused on the India trade relationship," Cameron said. Earlier, in his keynote address, David Cameron highlighted the fact that Britain is "open for business" and committed to promoting business and enterprise, despite the austerity cuts. His focus on India came through as he skipped out of the British Tea party, an event meant to launch London's Olympics later this year, and dropped in to the India Adda for a few minutes. The UK event had no shortage of the strong India presence either - LN Mittal, his wife Usha and son Aditya attended as did top investment banker Jitesh Gadhia among others, along with UK chancellor George Osborne

The UK is in "top gear"...pardon the pun,in engaging with India at the moment.Last year William Hague made a front page speech about the importance of Indo-Brit engagement and that his govt. would give it special momentum.This should give both countries a lot of mutual benefit.The enormous (peaceful) Indian diaspora in the UK is a goldmine for improving relations across the board.Indian buyouts of companies,distllleries, football clubs,etc.,is only cementing ties fruther.In complete contrast to ties with outr nieghbour,whose chief export to the UK is terror!

"4 lakh" deaths due to two wheelers?! Astonishing stats.The poor Pakis do not realise that if they want to kill more Indians,all they have to do is to sell us more two-wheelers.I can't understand why we are so blase about this shameful fact and do not usher in the most stringent of traffic and transport laws and enforce them .It is only when a family member or friend is killed or injured in a traffic accident that we start yelling in protest.The absence of public mass transportation in large cities is one main fact of the rise in the 2-wheeler population.In the UK,almost all citizens use public transport which by Indian stds, is exceptionally convenient.One never feels the need for owning a vehicle as even car hires and taxis are a call away.We are being seduced by the auto lobby which has ruined western democracies .If the GOI just transfers a small % of its focus upon national public transport ,and use the seas and waterways more effectively for transport too,a revolution in the way we travel and better safety would emerge.The UK is an example wher ewe acn learn a lot about public transport and high volumes carried.

Earlier, it probably was the time to rape, pillage, steal, starve and butcher India. :evil:

For Publicity purposes it was always study, invest and to work with India while the private intent was to make as much profit as possible from the relationship.

"4 lakh" deaths due to two wheelers?! Astonishing stats.The poor Pakis do not realise that if they want to kill more Indians,all they have to do is to sell us more two-wheelers.I can't understand why we are so blase about this shameful fact "

I've always felt that, given the conditions and constraints of driving in India, with a huge variety of vehicles, plus people, plus animals sharing the roads, and the roads themselves being smaller generally, the kind of politeness and consideration you see in the West would be very difficult to imbibe or express. Still, even with the limitations in India, there is room for more courtesy, restraint and orderliness. And that would lead to more safety.

When I come to India shortly, I'm going to do my tiny, negligible bit ;-) to slow people down and implore them to be more respectful/considerate. Stuff like, "Hey man, slow down for a pedestrian, don't speed up and expect him to move" or "it's not the end of the world if you don't overtake the fellow in front of you" or " let the other car go, he's been waiting a while, so gesture to him". And "don't honk unless absolutely necessary".

Let's see the result of this ;-)

When I come to India shortly, I'm going to do my tiny, negligible bit ;-) to slow people down and implore them to be more respectful/considerate. Stuff like, "Hey man, slow down for a pedestrian, don't speed up and expect him to move" or "it's not the end of the world if you don't overtake the fellow in front of you" or " let the other car go, he's been waiting a while, so gesture to him". And "don't honk unless absolutely necessary".
Ha ha...would love to hear how your experiment went ( if you are still alive at the end of it).

Had started off in this way but have given up and just try to follow all these things myself instead of bothering to tell others.

"Had started off in this way but have given up and just try to follow all these things myself instead of bothering to tell others."

That's great, every little bit helps. You never know, someone could be influenced by your example somewhere, and adjust their behaviour accordingly. Or another individual may have noticed what you were doing, and reflected later, "I saw something interesting today, maybe more of us should follow that"

Varoon Shekhar wrote:

Let's see the result of this ;-)
Do what your heart tells you and I wish you luck. May you learn about India and have peace of mind. No sarcasm intended.

Varoon Shekhar wrote:"Had started off in this way but have given up and just try to follow all these things myself instead of bothering to tell others."

That's great, every little bit helps. You never know, someone could be influenced by your example somewhere, and adjust their behaviour accordingly. Or another individual may have noticed what you were doing, and reflected later, "I saw something interesting today, maybe more of us should follow that"
Will be very glad if that has happened!!

All the best to you too in your noble endevour, saar.

Varoon Shekhar wrote:
When I come to India shortly, I'm going to do my tiny, negligible bit ;-) to slow people down and implore them to be more respectful/considerate. Stuff like, "Hey man, slow down for a pedestrian, don't speed up and expect him to move" or "it's not the end of the world if you don't overtake the fellow in front of you" or " let the other car go, he's been waiting a while, so gesture to him". And "don't honk unless absolutely necessary". Let's see the result of this ;-)
Do what your heart tells you and I wish you luck. May you learn about India and have peace of mind. No sarcasm intended.
Dont forget to say Hey Man to an old Pa in front of his sons !!
Shame will work not the argument in India.

Wasn't this the Indo-UK dhaga?? Jus' wondering...

Hari Seldon wrote:Wasn't this the Indo-UK dhaga?? Jus' wondering...
+116

Ajatshatru wrote:

While driving my car some years back, on a pretty congested road, I gave way to an ambulance and within seconds 2-3 autorickshawwallas immediately tried to occupy that vacant space, causing a traffic jam….
Irrespective of what happened, do give way to Ambulance, Fire Brigade , always.
Kanishka

Post by Kanishka »

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article ... tract.html
France swoops to rob UK of £13bn Indian jet contract despite Government promises aid package would secure deal.

India has snubbed British industry and awarded a £13billion deal to supply fighter jets to France.

The contract was lost despite Government claims that the UK’s £1billion aid package to India would help secure the order.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article ... z1l5C2QJDE
I am so glad we selected Rafale. :P

The UK seems to have some really lofty ambitions fuelled by crumbs :eek:. India is supposed to ecstatically swoon over the GBP 280 Million the UK has offered India as aid :lol: :

AID ROW AS INDIA SNUBS UK OVER £7BN JET ORDER

Rob ?? er, the english know that definition of Rob means that you take away something which belongs to another forcefully against their will. Now, who had told UK that Eurofighter would be selected?
Kanishka

Post by Kanishka »

In many ways the Brits are just like Pakis. The sense of entitlement is just mind boggling.

Brits of all people should know what rob means. However this has more to do with Anglo- Gallic rivalry than India.

Too bad the Brits do not have the breadth of wares and the strategic autonomy to offer India what the French have. $30 billion dollars of high technology deals would have been very significant for Britain, a nation with which India has a little more in common than France.
member_21708

Post by member_21708 »

UK says will urge India to reconsider warplane decision
London, Feb 1, 2012, (Reuters): British Prime Minister David Cameron said on Wednesday that India's decision to choose France's Dassault Aviation over Eurofighter as preferred bidder for a $15 billion war plane contract was disappointing and he would urge India to reconsider.

"Of course I will do everything I can, as I have already, to encourage the Indians to look at Typhoon (Eurofighter) because I think it is such a good aircraft," Cameron told parliament.

"The decision is obviously disappointing but it is about who the Indians have assessed as making the lowest bid and therefore asked to enter into further negotiations. They have not yet awarded the contract," he added.

He said he did not expect any job losses in Britain as a result of the decision and said "it doesn't rule out Typhoon for India."

"We must go on making the case. This (Eurofighter) is a superb aircraft with far better capabilities than Rafale and we will try and encourage the Indians to take that view," he added.

Rafale, made by Dassault, emerged on Tuesday as preferred bidder in the contest to supply India with 126 warplanes.

While exclusive talks are not a guarantee of sale, they deal a probable knockout blow to Rafale's chief rival in India, the Eurofighter Typhoon, a fighter plane developed by a consortium of four European aviation companies --the German and Spanish branches of EADS (EAD.PA), Britain's BAE Systems (BAES.L) and Italy's Finmeccanica (SIFI.MI).

considering the reactions of britpakis-
see this
"Why is England in India at all?" Old article in 1908
In order to find answers to these questions we must first of all get clearly in mind the fact that India is a subject land. She is a dependency of Great Britain, not a colony. Britain has both colonies and dependencies. Many persons suppose them to be identical; but they are not. Britain's free colonies, like Canada and Australia, though nominally governed by the mother country, are really self-ruling in everything except their relations to foreign powers. Not so with dependencies like India. These are granted no self-government, no representation; they are ruled absolutely by Great Britain, which is not their "mother" country, but their conqueror and master.
Why is England in India at all? Why did she go there at first, and why does she remain? If India had been a comparatively empty land, as America was when it was discovered, so that Englishmen had wanted to settle there and make homes, the reason would have been plain. But it was a full land; and, as a fact, no British emigrants have ever gone to India to settle and make homes. If the Indian people had been savages or barbarians, there might have seemed more reason for England's conquering and ruling them. But they were peoples with highly organized governments far older than that of Great Britain, and with a civilization that had risen to a splendid height before England's was born. Said Lord Curzon, the late Viceroy of India, in an address delivered at the great Delhi Durbar in 1901: "Powerful Empires existed and flourished here [in India] while Englishmen were still wandering painted in the woods, and while the British Colonies were a wilderness and a jungle. India has left a deeper mark upon the history, the philosophy, and the religion of mankind, than any other terrestrial unit in the universe." It is such a land that England has conquered and is holding as a dependency. It is such a people that she is ruling without giving them any voice whatever in the shaping of their own destiny. The honored Canadian Premier, Sir Wilfred Laurier, at the Colonial Conference held in London in connection with the coronation of King Edward, declared, "The Empire of Rome was composed of slave states; the British Empire is a galaxy of free nations." But is India a free nation? At that London Colonial Conference which was called together for consultation about the interests of the entire Empire, was any representative invited to be present from India ? Not one. Yet Lord Curzon declared in his Durbar address in Delhi, that the "principal condition of the strength of the British throne is the possession of the Indian Empire, and the faithful attachment and service of the Indian people." British statesmen never tire of boasting of "our Indian Empire," and of speaking of India as "the brightest jewel in the British crown." Do they reflect that it is virtually a slave empire of which they are so proud; and that this so-called brightest jewel reflects no light of political freedom?
Read all.

David Cameron pays price in India for poor links with Gandhi dynasty

http://www.guardian.co.uk/politics/wint ... nia-gandhi

btw - the lithuanian burglary suspect who was arrested for the murder of the indian man and his english wife - was found hanged in his police cell last week
an enquiry is underway

Just noticed that DailyMail has an India section on its homepage mast , beating even Unkil in precedence.
And as expected that section is a repository of all the negative news coming out of india.

What gives?
Is this focussed india flogging the usual penile pump kind of stratagem for the increasingly senile britturds or is this a directed effort by the albion to modify aam whitepaki opinion for something else.

but either way at this rate next they will be wailing at the world (read Unkil) to treat India UK as == onlee :rotfl:
nawabs

Post by nawabs »

krisna wrote:^^^^
considering the reactions of britpakis-
see this
"Why is England in India at all?" Old article in 1908
In order to find answers to these questions we must first of all get clearly in mind the fact that India is a subject land. She is a dependency of Great Britain, not a colony. Britain has both colonies and dependencies. Many persons suppose them to be identical; but they are not. Britain's free colonies, like Canada and Australia, though nominally governed by the mother country, are really self-ruling in everything except their relations to foreign powers. Not so with dependencies like India. These are granted no self-government, no representation; they are ruled absolutely by Great Britain, which is not their "mother" country, but their conqueror and master.
Why is England in India at all? Why did she go there at first, and why does she remain? If India had been a comparatively empty land, as America was when it was discovered, so that Englishmen had wanted to settle there and make homes, the reason would have been plain. But it was a full land; and, as a fact, no British emigrants have ever gone to India to settle and make homes. If the Indian people had been savages or barbarians, there might have seemed more reason for England's conquering and ruling them. But they were peoples with highly organized governments far older than that of Great Britain, and with a civilization that had risen to a splendid height before England's was born. Said Lord Curzon, the late Viceroy of India, in an address delivered at the great Delhi Durbar in 1901: "Powerful Empires existed and flourished here [in India] while Englishmen were still wandering painted in the woods, and while the British Colonies were a wilderness and a jungle. India has left a deeper mark upon the history, the philosophy, and the religion of mankind, than any other terrestrial unit in the universe." It is such a land that England has conquered and is holding as a dependency. It is such a people that she is ruling without giving them any voice whatever in the shaping of their own destiny. The honored Canadian Premier, Sir Wilfred Laurier, at the Colonial Conference held in London in connection with the coronation of King Edward, declared, "The Empire of Rome was composed of slave states; the British Empire is a galaxy of free nations." But is India a free nation? At that London Colonial Conference which was called together for consultation about the interests of the entire Empire, was any representative invited to be present from India ? Not one. Yet Lord Curzon declared in his Durbar address in Delhi, that the "principal condition of the strength of the British throne is the possession of the Indian Empire, and the faithful attachment and service of the Indian people." British statesmen never tire of boasting of "our Indian Empire," and of speaking of India as "the brightest jewel in the British crown." Do they reflect that it is virtually a slave empire of which they are so proud; and that this so-called brightest jewel reflects no light of political freedom?
Read all.
Thanks for the link.
A nice read.
nawabs

Post by nawabs »

UK Delegation coming to India
http://www.dnaindia.com/world/report_br ... ia_1645616
Seeking to form a strong partnership with Indian defence industry, a UK trade mission comprising over 20 defence firms -- the largest since the David Cameron government assumed power -- will undertake a 5-day visit to India from Monday to meet key decision-makers and potential partners in the crucial sector.

The high-profile delegation's visit comes days after UK-backed Eurofighter Typhoon lost out to French firm Dassault Rafale in bagging the 126 fighter jet deal worth $10 billion from India.

The mission is organised by the UK's Trade and Investment Defence and Security Organisation (UKTI DSO) in cooperation with UK trade association Aerospace Defence Security (ADS).

It will be led by Parliamentary Undersecretary of State Gerald Howarth, MP, who is also UK's Minister for International Security Strategy.

The mission has the full support of the Indian Ministry of Defence, a statement here said.

The trade mission will visit three Indian cities, each with a particular focus: Delhi for the overarching Indian government perspective; Bangalore for aerospace, electronics and land systems; and Mumbai for maritime systems.

Each hub will provide an opportunity for real business to business interaction identifying opportunities and potential partnerships as well as providing UK companies a better understanding of how to do business in India. A range of private sector and government speakers will provide an overview of the defence market place and environment in India.

Face-to-face discussions between UK missioners and Indian defence companies will be facilitated in each hub by the Indian defence trade associations Confederation of Indian Industry (CII), Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FICCI) and the Associated Chambers of Commerce and Industry of India (ASSOCHAM).

Gerald Howarth said "I am proud and excited to be leading this Defence Trade Mission. This mission is not just simply about securing defence exports for the UK companies—it is about forming long-lived partnerships with Indian companies—both public and private—as India emerges as a leading nation in the world and pursues its policy of self reliance and indigenisation of the defence market."

UK companies have a great deal to offer—cutting edge technology, modern work practices and an open approach to collaboration and innovation, he said.

"We also have a long, deep and common cultural history which I believe provides a superb platform for really working together and forging a strong defence as well as business alliances," the minister said.

"This defence trade mission to India is historic. Over 20 major UK defence companies are going to India this week to both learn about how to do business in India but also seek opportunities to work with Indian businesses and the Ministry of Defence."

This is the largest UK defence trade mission since this government came into power in may 2010 and reinforces the importance the UK government places on relationship with India, he said.

Richard Paniguian, Head of UKTI DSO said: "India is a truly exciting defence and security market for UK companies to be in. It is an emerging global power of immense importance.

"It is also at a real point of evolution in its defence industry as it looks to turn around from importing some 70% of its defence equipment to designing, developing, manufacturing and supporting some 70 per cent indigenously."

"I want UK companies to be part of that journey, forming strong partnerships with the Indian defence industry along the way. There is an immense breadth of defence and security opportunities in the Indian market, as the one billion pounds of business done here by UK defence companies in 2010 demonstrates."
http://www.lep.co.uk/news/lep-business/ ... _1_4208375
A leading defence minister has been told to go and fight for Lancashire as he jets into India this weekend.

Gerald Howarth, the minister for international security strategy, is due to meet with his counterparts in New Delhi, just days after it handed the initiative in a battle for a £10bn fighter jet deal to a French firm.

The Rafale jet, built by French firm Dassault, was named as the lowest-priced bidder for the deal to sell 126 aircraft to the Indian air force, ahead of the Eurofighter Typhoon.

But, officials at BAE Systems, which is part of the Typhoon jet-building consortium, has insisted the deal is not lost, with months of talks over the details of the work share yet to take place.

Fylde MP Mark Menzies, whose constituency includes BAE’s factory at Warton, near Preston, said Mr Howarth would be raising the matter during his visit.

He said: “I think the Indian government has a duty to reflect on the fact the UK taxpayer has been a generous supporter of it, both in terms of international aid, and as a commercial partner, over the years. :lol:

“It is very important it takes that relationship seriously, and is prepared to be open about the process it is following for this contract.

“The Prime Minister has already committed himself to delivering this message to India, and I have no doubt Gerald Howarth will do the same.

“Now is not the time to write this contract off, now is the time to redouble our efforts.”

Chorley MP Lindsay Hoyle said it was “the absolute duty” of all ministers to step up its efforts to ensure the Typhoon was still in the running for the work.

He warned that thousands of jobs at BAE Systems’ plants at Warton and Samlesbury, near Preston, could be at risk if the order is lost.

The Labour MP said: “This is a two-way relationship with India, the Prime Minister and the whole Government needs not just to be telling them this – they need to believe it.”

Talks are still under way with regards 1,300 proposed job losses as part of the slow-down in existing Typhoon orders announced last year.

Union officials are seeking talks with BAE management about the possible impact on jobs, although a BAE spokesman has said there will be “no immediate impact.”

http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... p1236380-- The article is still relevant for these britpakis.
They still think India should bankroll them. :twisted: :evil:
look at the gall in making those statements. :(( :((

All this rhona dhona shows that Briturds are not over their colonial instincts. In his book "Indian economic model' Subrahmanyam Swamy quotes US and UK senators and MPs quoting "foreign aid is the means that we keep a foreign economy low and control it's policies" or something like that (will post the real quotes in a couple of days).

It is high time india kicks out the western influence that comes to india under the guise of foreign-aid.