Indo-UK News & Discussion 9th Aug 2011

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Indo-UK News & Discussion 9th Aug 2011

no visa is required if you are changing flights within the same airport

Dunno lal mullah. One of my relatives who was in the IAD/ Parole period got into this transit visa mess. She was flying BA (serves her right!) and when flying out from US , there was no problem, she transited through Heathrow, but while going back, BA in Bangalore did not allow her boarding because she didn't have a transit visa! There was no time for her to apply for one in the UK consulate in Chennai, so she flew back to the US in another airline after forfeiting the return leg on BA!

Moral of the story . If you are not on a tourist visa, US Green Card/Citizen , but on any other status such as H1, L1 or IAD etc, avoid UK stan like the plague. The think you are a walking piggy bank that can be shaken down at will.

In anycase, avoid UQ altogether. No point putting money in their pockets. Those guys deserve the Pakis and are made for each other. Recommend sending plane loads more of such welfare mooching freeboarders from Lahore, Peshawer and Mirpur in particular.

potentially your relative had a ticket which required a change of airports, thats the only thing i can think of, and possible for flights to the US. normally if you are changing flights you wont come anywhere near an immigration counter. She should sue BA because they missold her a ticket and then denied her access. To be honest BA staff in India - desis for the most part - are overzealous in their duties and annoy me. BA staff in heathrow are far more courteous and accomodating. that said in matters of visas, most check in staff anywhere in the world are pretty ignorant and will default to worst case assumptions

Prof, something is wrong with the training of BA staff then - shows how incompetent British airways is and speaks very poorly of border agency and cordination. How come despite so many 1000s living in UK, thousands transiting via London, they get this wrong. surely this is not something new.
Heard recently that because of improper communication from ministers, border control in UK stopped checking visas or let people in with poor checks. Compare this with Mumbai immigration - Landed at 12 midnight yesterday - yet the person manning the station did a full minute of checks, before stsmping my passport

UK visa is a racket. So far, I have spent close to 30k on it for personal travel. A 4 year visa as spouse of uk citizen will set me back 300 pounds - all for what? Land of yellow malformed teeth ?
Last edited by Neela on 02 Mar 2012 14:36, edited 1 time in total.

potentially your relative had a ticket which required a change of airports, thats the only thing i can think of, and possible for flights to the US. normally if you are changing flights you wont come anywhere near an immigration counter.
Mullah, the UQ shylocks have something called Direct Airside Transit Visa, which covers just what you talked about, changing planes and not clearing immigration at all.

UK Border Agency
You transit the UK airside if you arrive here on a flight, remain in the arrival lounge of the airport without passing through UK immigration control, and then depart on another flight from the same airport.

The UK government operates a DATV system for some countries. These countries are listed under 'More information' below.
She should sue BA because they missold her a ticket and then denied her access. To be honest BA staff in India - desis for the most part - are overzealous in their duties and annoy me.

Nah. The BA staff in Bangalore were just doing their job correctly. She did need an airside transit visa. It is good they stopped her from boarding or she could have got into trouble in Heathrow.

I advised her to fly out in any other airline at the earliest (she had to be back soon after) and forget this BA rubbish and never fly them again.

Looks like Las Malvinas aka Falklands seem to have hit the headlines once again. Roger
Waters making some very uncomfortable statements for the queen's government.

Aid Charade: UK wants 'peanuts' back: RT

Sorry the local red-faced monkeys ate them (the peanuts)

look at the smooth road, the well fed people, the good quality clothes...there's plenty more fat to burn before they can ask for the money back offer. same for any of the PIIGS...not until cosmetics, clothing and eating out expenses have plunged 90% from the peak can be they called poor.

RajeshA wrote:Aid Charade: UK wants 'peanuts' back: RT

Once again, astounding that India's space programme finds mention on the subject of British aid. If the British are so concerned about what they feel is wastage or misuse of money, why not criticise luxury imports( including from the UK!), corruption, project delays, and money in Swiss banks? This is at least the 4th time I've heard some Brit refer to the space programme. Why don't they ask "When is India going to get back all that cash in Swiss accounts, which could be put to productive use in India"? If they're really concerned.

they're concerned that they are being overtaken by little brown underlings

Usleless / Ultraforge Kidds= UK

paquis up to their usual underage drugs and rape antics in ukistan
Rochdale child-sex trial: 'Victim woke up being raped'

Lalmohan wrote:they're concerned that they are being overtaken by little brown underlings
The usual chatter against space program of little brown people means that something is going well with the space program of little brown people. Though chatter is secondary, primary concern should be well done space program of little brown people.

Seriously, who chatters against space programs?

x-postng from the psy-ops dhaga in the burqa forum

Singha wrote:in service of birtish masters...might be useful to r&d the other contributors

http://www.moneycontrol.com/news/econom ... 77812.html

Despite "impressive" achievements in various sectors in recent years, India is unlikely to be a superpower and in fact, should not aspire to become one, a study by the London School of Economics (LSE) has concluded.

The study, titled 'India: The Next Superpower?', recalls and dismisses US Secretary of State Hillary Clinton's statement made during her visit to India in 2009 that "I consider India not just a regional power, but a global power".

The LSE study comprising essays by nine experts in the areas of India's economy, defence, government, culture, environment and society advises "caution in assessing India's claim to superpower status".

Ramachandra Guha, currently the Philippe Roman Chair in History and International Affairs at the LSE, argues that it is doubtful whether India should seek to become a superpower.
He cites seven reasons why India will not become a superpower.

These are: "The challenge of the Naxalites; the insidious presence of the Hindutvawadis; the degradation of the once liberal and upright Centre; :rotfl: the increasing gap between the rich and the poor; the trivialisation of the media; :rotfl: the unsustainability, in an environmental sense, of present patterns of resource consumption; the instability and policy incoherence caused by multi-party coalition governments", he writes.

Listing India's several achievements that prompted predictions and ambitions in some quarters about India being the next superpower, the study goes on to discuss several challenges that are likely to prevent India from realising such ambitions.

It says: "Still, for all India's success, its undoubted importance and despite its undisputed potential, there is cause for caution in assessing India's claim to superpower status.
"India still faces major developmental challenges. The still-entrenched divisions of caste structure are being compounded by the emergence of new inequalities of wealth stemming from India's economic success".

The study adds: "India's democracy may have thrived in a manner that few ever expected, but its institutions face profound challenges from embedded nepotism and corruption.
"India's economic success continues to come with an environmental cost that is unsustainable".

Moreover, the study says that India has pressing security preoccupations, but sees the country continuing to play a constructive international role in, among other things, the financial diplomacy of the G20.

"(It) certainly has a soft-power story to tell as a model of liberal political and economic development.
"Perhaps even more significantly, the cultural impact of Indian cuisine, literature, films, music and sporting events will increasingly be felt globally through and beyond India's vast diaspora", the study says.

It adds: "Yet the hopes of those in the West who would build up India as a democratic counterweight to Chinese superpower are unlikely to be realised anytime soon".
Besides Guha, other contributors to the study are Rajeev Sibal, Iskander Rehman, Nicolas Blarel, Oliver Stuenkel, Harish Wankhede, Mukulika Banerjee, Andrew Sanchez and Sandeep Sengupta.

^^^So, we can safely infer that India has a very realistic chance of becoming a superpower and that thought is making the britistanis(or perhaps, the Anglo-saxons) and their lackeys tizzy?
the unsustainability, in an environmental sense, of present patterns of resource consumption
"India's economic success continues to come with an environmental cost that is unsustainable".
The above quotes are interesting especially since India is being compared to China by these 'eminent' analysts. So, according to these analysts, is China's economy sustainable, 'in an environmental sense'?

I would have been surprised if there would have been no reference to Hindutva. :twisted:

What an argument though! Hindutva in a Hindu majority country will hinder the progress! WoW! BTW, do these worthies remember the comment of Brit PM who declared(or perhaps, re-emphasized) that Britistan is a christian nation. What do these guys have to say about that hindering the Britistan progress?

I sometimes wonder why they hold such hatred towards Hindus and Hinduism. I really would like to know what is their real problem. Is it just money? Is it something about family background? What is it? These people with Hindu sounding names hating everything remotely related to Hinduism offering their services(of bashing Hindus) to every Tom, Abdul and Harry.

johneeG wrote: I would have been surprised if there would have been no reference to Hindutva. :twisted:

What an argument though! Hindutva in a Hindu majority country will hinder the progress! WoW! BTW, do these worthies remember the comment of Brit PM who declared(or perhaps, re-emphasized) that Britistan is a christian nation. What do these guys have to say about that hindering the Britistan progress?

I sometimes wonder why they hold such hatred towards Hindus and Hinduism. I really would like to know what is their real problem. Is it just money? Is it something about family background? What is it? These people with Hindu sounding names hating everything remotely related to Hinduism offering their services(of bashing Hindus) to every Tom, Abdul and Harry.
One should be very careful, these guys are no uneducated bystanders. Now there is a chatter against Hindutva- then what else- just so that some straw-men could be set up later when needed the most. All one has to be is create a biased look and then put some lies to make that person look neutral at the best in a biased set up = put Hindus away from hierarchy without reason. Voila, entire nations is structured well for lackys to do their job.

A reverse argument is that the British set up is full of some biased(loose/organized with atmost neutral thinking in biased set-up) individuals and therefore tolerated at the most etc.

Perhaps Jews are mistreated in this manner all over.

Just a strawman theory, no proof et al.

vishvak wrote:
Lalmohan wrote:they're concerned that they are being overtaken by little brown underlings
The usual chatter against space program of little brown people means that something is going well with the space program of little brown people. Though chatter is secondary, primary concern should be well done space program of little brown people.

Seriously, who chatters against space programs?
The interesting thing is that they never mention other areas of Indian technological advancement, like the nuclear programme, the missile programme, the warship building programme, the supercomputer programme, alternative energy et al. India is quite developed, in a few select technologies, more developed, than the UK in all these categories. But it is the space programme alone that is the focus of their censure. They must be deeply( though secretly) affected by India's impressive success on a shoestring budget.The multiple launches of foreign satellites and the first time success of the moon mission must have astonished them. They really do feel India is unreservedly ahead of them in this one industry. Hence the non-stop whining.

BRICS are now in agreement to have their own World Bank and soon will provide loan to each others in local currency. BRICS have also invited Gulf countries for coordination and participation in the new financial set up. IMHO, Dollar will survive and so will Euro but the value of Pound will definitely diminsh as international currency. How long can UQ hold on pretending to be power till the tide turn and sweep them away in ignominy?Ultra Konstipation is about to smell the Rose of Realism.Sooner they change, longer they survive and remain relevant .

Within about half a century after they were weaned off the t1t$ of mother India, the briturds are going to be in a position where they might be begging their former colony for aid....Tsk Tsk :twisted:

I have only flown BA once, while going to massa for the 1st time. After that I have never flown it and never will.

vina mullah, the BA staff in India can be pretty over-zealous. I remember one desi chick at the BA check-in counter tried to open my sealed I-20 envelope even though it clearly stated that it needs to be opened by a US immigration officer at the 1st US port of entry. Despite my warning her not to open it, she tried to claim that without opening it, she could not give me a boarding pass. :roll: Had to make a scene and loudly tell her to go eff off and called her supervisor for a dressing down before sanity prevailed on them.

The interesting thing is that they never mention other areas of Indian technological advancement, like the nuclear programme, the missile programme, the warship building programme, the supercomputer programme, alternative energy et al. India is quite developed, in a few select technologies, more developed, than the UK in all these categories. But it is the space programme alone that is the focus of their censure. They must be deeply( though secretly) affected by India's impressive success on a shoestring budget.The multiple launches of foreign satellites and the first time success of the moon mission must have astonished them. They really do feel India is unreservedly ahead of them in this one industry. Hence the non-stop whining.
They would need to

After Germany, Britan was the first country in the world to delve on rockets although they were later overtaken by soviets and americans. Also it is important to remember that brtishers took Tipu sultan's rockets and didnt do much. Had they did some better research, they would have been number 1

Their space programme misreably failed in the Australia's Woomera launching facility in 1960's. They could never revive it back. Indians started from where they left literally

Yes, grapes are sour

Varoon Shekhar wrote:
Saar,
I think Nuke prog. and Space prog. have a lot of propaganda value for a nation. Even a layman would be impressed by these two prog.s. I think, this is the reason for the takleef towards these two prog.s.

The thing with Space prog. is that it is presented as epitome of development. You know, how fictions written about a day when Mars would be colonised by the futuristic human race. So, it is like you master Space prog., then pretty much you are at the epitome of development. That is the impression given out. This is, perhaps, why there was such fierce space rivalry between US and USSR during cold war. 'Man on Moon' was used by US for lots of propaganda value to 'prove' that capitalism has beaten communism in terms of achievement. Infact, it seems the whole space prog.s of both these countries was a costly affair whose aim was to project the grandeur of their respective nations.

This history reveals what is the takleef of people when they look at a country like India having a successful Space prog. They assume that India is also wanting to make grand statements by having a Space Prog.(which is assumed to be costly). They 'know' that India is poor. So, that really causes itching. Perhaps, they look at India as a country, which is actually poor, but trying to project fake richness through these Prog.s. I think the reason for this outlook is that Space Prog. has lots of propaganda value and, to see a former colony outdoing you is something few can bear. So, they develop this alternative outlook and then bash the prog. based on that outlook.

has UK ever designed a IRBM or ICBM from cold war era till date or just shopped for american polaris and trident missiles? i read the launch orders for tridents and tomahawks need some american operator intervention in a scottish base because khan prefers to black box that from its client.

i think the last british strategic missile was the blue steel from the mid 60's, around the time of the TSR2 strategic bomber and the lightining - all of which were technologically advanced for their time

my belief is that khan slowly but surely strangled this capability out of the brits, only the french defied khan and kept pumping money into this sector to build up some strategic independence

johneeG wrote: Saar,
I think Nuke prog. and Space prog. have a lot of propaganda value for a nation. Even a layman would be impressed by these two prog.s. I think, this is the reason for the takleef towards these two prog.s.

True, and they are working hard to ensure they get their claws in these programs, in one they did make significant headway before being stalled again.
Marut

Post by Marut »

Sriman wrote:
putnanja wrote: That is the catch. You need to have a valid US visa to transit at Heathrow. If you are a H1b holder, with a valid H1b but with say no stamp in passport(F1->H1 conversion, common case), or if your previous H1b stamp in passport has expired, or if you using Advance Parole(with no stamp in PP), then you can't transit through Heathrow.
Correct. Ditto with Frankfurt and Paris. Brussels has no issues.
Frankfurt & Paris will let you transit from US to India even if you have no US visa stamp without transit visa. Heathrow is the height of pakiness here. Friend in univ needed transit visa(55 pounds) when he flew during summer break, with a valid F1 stamped on his passport.

my assumption is that since US (and others) apply high punitive charges to airlines carrying non-visa passengers to the US and the numbers transiting via UK to US were high, BA was hit with large charges in the past - i have been told so by check in staff before. to avoid that cost they have gone paqui with transit visa issues

however, if you are uk based and a regular traveller then BA do look after you quite well. their economy class though has gradually deteriorated over time, trying to cut costs. a lot depends on the crew on a particular flight though. airline economics is roughly - economy class is breakeven, all the profit comes from business and first. therefore BA had a conscious choice to focus on business class to give preferential service. they were hoping to milk the india-uk-us market but it is largely economy so for sure it suffered.

"They assume that India is also wanting to make grand statements by having a Space Prog.(which is assumed to be costly). They 'know' that India is poor. So, that really causes itching. Perhaps, they look at India as a country, which is actually poor, but trying to project fake richness through these Prog.s. I think the reason for this outlook is that Space Prog. has lots of propaganda value and, to see a former colony outdoing you is something few can bear. So, they develop this alternative outlook and then bash the prog. based on that outlook."

Well said! The fact that India's space programme is NOT a statement or a showing off( unlike China's for example) does not occur to their parochial minds. It's very much civilian, developmental, infrastructural and scientific oriented, with a minimum of symbolism.

Varoon Shekhar wrote: Well said! The fact that India's space programme is NOT a statement or a showing off( unlike China's for example) does not occur to their parochial minds. It's very much civilian, developmental, infrastructural and scientific oriented, with a minimum of symbolism.
Am reminded of a statement by Cameron in the floor of their parliament - something to the effect of saying Britain has always punched above its weight and will continue to do so - this was followed by a resounding hear hear . So it does look like a national trait these lot have - haughtiness and showing off.

I have a feeling the first slap will be administered by Brazil not India against the UK. unlike india, the brazilian elites and media are not in thrall of the UK.

p.s. if you dont count brazil banning vessels from the malvinas as a slap.

Singha wrote:I have a feeling the first slap will be administered by Brazil not India against the UK. unlike india, the brazilian elites and media are not in thrall of the UK.

p.s. if you dont count brazil banning vessels from the malvinas as a slap.
I think India will administer last and final punch. dher aaye, dhurust aaye... 8)

That is the catch. You need to have a valid US visa to transit at Heathrow. If you are a H1b holder, with a valid H1b but with say no stamp in passport(F1->H1 conversion, common case), or if your previous H1b stamp in passport has expired, or if you using Advance Parole(with no stamp in PP), then you can't transit through Heathrow.Correct. Ditto with Frankfurt and Paris. Brussels has no issues.[rankfurt & Paris will let you transit from US to India even if you have no US visa stamp without transit visa. Heathrow is the height of pakiness here. Friend in univ needed transit visa(55 pounds) when he flew during summer break, with a valid F1 stamped on his passport.

I Know of an smart Indian who was in position to make the decision and concluded not to invest 33 Million Dollars in uk precisely to avoid such hassle for the employees. :) May Almighty increase his tribe.

Lalmohan wrote:my assumption is that since US (and others) apply high punitive charges to airlines carrying non-visa passengers to the US and the numbers transiting via UK to US were high, BA was hit with large charges in the past - i have been told so by check in staff before. to avoid that cost they have gone paqui with transit visa issues

It is not BA's decision but UK government's. And it applies to passengers of any airline transiting through London.

As far as I know, France is similar to UK in requiring transit visas if you don't have valid US/Canada visas. However, Frankfurt, Amsterdam, Brussels don't have that requirement.

Hari Seldon wrote:x-postng from the psy-ops dhaga in the burqa forum
Singha wrote:in service of birtish masters...might be useful to r&d the other contributors

http://www.moneycontrol.com/news/econom ... 77812.html
Not everyone are convinced by those psudo-analysis
The paper’s list of why-nots goes on, but there’s no mention of an important factor, one that is unquestionably skewed in India’s favour and will, by contrast, bog down China: demography.
And even if one disregards population, the argument that India’s domestic headaches will keep it from soon reaching its superpower potential remains unconvincing. “Those are obstacles that other nations have experienced during their concomitant rise on the world stage,” Nilanthi Samaranayake, an analyst at Center for Naval Analyses, told me in an quick email exchange about the LSE paper. She added: “I see little reason for India to be held back strategically while it addresses the internal challenges that all nations have.”

David Cameron unveils plan to sell off the roads
David Cameron will clear the way for a multibillion-pound semi-privatisation of trunk roads and motorways as he announces plans to allow sovereign wealth funds from countries such as China to lease roads in England.

Just 48 hours before the budget, the prime minister will give a speech calling for radical action to improve Britain's infrastructure, which is falling behind those of key competitors in Europe.

In his most eye-catching proposal, Cameron will announce that the Treasury and Department for Transport are to carry out a feasibility study looking at using private-sector funds to improve and maintain trunk roads and motorways.
Haresh

Post by Haresh »

Hinduja brothers criticise David Cameron's campaign to boost trade with India

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldne ... India.html
ashish raval

Post by ashish raval »

Finally, we can show middle finger to any britard and tell how poor ukstan is. These chaps reports start of the aid with band Baja barat so that every Tom dick and Harry knows in their country, when they stop it they make it lika a death pushing under the carpet.
Good that these guys have realised that they cannot influence governments in name of aid anymore.
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article ... ds-newsxml
gunjur

Post by gunjur »

Unfit, overweight UK cops could be sacked, have pay docked
a survey found that 53 percent were overweight and one in 100 was morbidly obese
The government-commissioned report into police pay and conditions suggested that officers who failed a fitness test three times should be disciplined and could lose 8 percent of their salary.
The proposals, while generally welcomed by chief constables, have not gone down well with ordinary officers who are facing pay freezes, higher pension contributions and a cut in numbers

The secret Falklands 'suicide mission'

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldne ... ssion.html