Miscellaneous Pictures - Indian Armed Forces

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Miscellaneous Pictures - Indian Military

Hiten wrote: people with access to MOD/IAF PR Cell, a proper soft copy of this poster would be nice :)
The requested URL /-o03paevwrnM/T1Nnz3nK-4I/AAAAAAAAElE/KKc0GX2NHNo/s1600-h/India-Air-Force-Recruitment-Poster-S.jpg was not found on this server. That’s all we know.

krishnan wrote:
Hiten wrote: people with access to MOD/IAF PR Cell, a proper soft copy of this poster would be nice :)
The requested URL /-o03paevwrnM/T1Nnz3nK-4I/AAAAAAAAElE/KKc0GX2NHNo/s1600-h/India-Air-Force-Recruitment-Poster-S.jpg was not found on this server. That’s all we know.
http://lh5.ggpht.com/-o03paevwrnM/T1Nnz2nK-4I/AAAAAAAAElE/KKc0GX2NHNo/s1600/India-Air-Force-Recruitment-Poster-S.jpg

T-50 PAK-FA fighter aircraft in Jane's Advanced Strike Fighters
larger-sized picture can be accessed by clicking on the thumbnail, above
--------------------------------------------------------------------
@krishnan
the correct link has been put up by PratikDas. Can't seem to edit that post to change its URL anymore

SagarAg

Post by SagarAg »

Dhruv 8)
Naidu

Post by Naidu »

^ Interesting that they're using a bird in Air Show colors for what seems to be an operational deployment. Sagar: any idea where this picture was taken and under what circumstances?

Note the avalanche in the foreground

Hakim sahab, IMO, that is not a post avalanche ground effect but most likely vertical side wall of the ledge on which this post is situated. In the back ground, you can see the 'depression' between the smooth ice surface and the bridge over the same to go across this depression. This to me looks like a crevice to me.

BTW, as the last entry in the name of the pic suggests, this Sonam Post - the highest in Siachen at 21K feet. The pic is from Ajai Shukla's website from here: http://ajaishukla.blogspot.in/2011/03/i ... eater.html.

An excerpt:
It was a brutal test of helicopter and pilot. As the Dhruv Advanced Light Helicopter (ALH) shuddered towards the icy helipad on a 21,000-foot ledge overlooking the Siachen Glacier, the pilots could see wreckage from earlier helicopter crashes dotting the base of the vertical ice walls on either side. Ahead lay the Indian army’s infamous Sonam Post, the highest inhabited spot on earth, and an extreme example of why the military so urgently wants the Dhruv, which has been customised by Hindustan Aeronautics Limited (HAL) for high altitude operations.
Definition of Ledge:
A cut or projection forming a shelf on a cliff or rock wall
A larger version of the pic can be seen here:
http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-ERXc3vXgR7E/T ... Sonam3.JPG

to be fair, there is one narrow line towards the centre right of the ledge which could technically be called an avalanche - but the ice (compacted snow) is on the side of the ledge and there is snow on top - and you can see how deep it is from the tracks. this spot is quite flat and not in itself avalanche generating. for that you need a particular type of slope and particular types of snow - at the right temperature and density it will start to move

(out of interest, the inuit have 200 different words to describe types of snow, the swedes around 50 - i am sure that cultures from hot climates have relatively few) - meaning that snow =/= snow =/= snow under different circumstances

member_20067

Post by member_20067 »

There is no avalanche here Sir
Gaurav_S

Post by Gaurav_S »

Indian and Amrikan soldiers celebrating Holi somewhere in Rajasthan.

mukul_chou

Post by mukul_chou »

chackojoseph wrote:I understand most have seen this :lol:

LCA Tejas LSP-7 on tarmac
^^ What has happened to APU intake?
keshavchandra

Post by keshavchandra »

@chackojoseph Sir,
what is the main pourpose of costal batteries now a days?

keshavchandra wrote:
@chackojoseph Sir,
what is the main pourpose of costal batteries now a days?
Its very much Ack Ack, ceremonial, saluting etc. The issue with the island is that it cannot be handed over to someone owing to its nearness to the Naval base. The museum is shifted to IMS Vikrant.

Last edited by chackojoseph on 13 Mar 2012 07:44, edited 1 time in total.

chacko, would it be possible to put the links in the same post by editing the last one and not in new posts every time ?

Rahul,

You mean, I should go back on my old post every time and edit and post it there? Or when no one has posted after me, then edit and post in the old one?

the later. there have been some complaints that people are getting KLPD'ed thinking lots of new posts in this thread. :mrgreen:

p.s. thanks.

With respect Chacko the real KLPD is in clicking on a photograph in Frontier India and getting another image the size of a postage stamp rather than a larger image that one expects from 99% of clickable image links on the internet. Please do away with clickable images or post larger ones. Thanks.

Added later....

ROFL Shiv, I just discovered what you said. It actually goes to a smaller pic when clicked. Will work on a solution :lol:

Rahul, OK.

Ps: I am actually trying to bring out facets of Indian Army's commendable work in J&K via images (sort of redoing bringing out good work of DRDO on projects, which i used to bring out some time back). Most time they send very small pics. For viewers, the subject may not be interesting, however, they seem to have interesting uniforms, weapons, facilities etc (else i don't post). I get news too, but most cannot be accommodated hence it goes to forum (you can read them there if interested). I will add the images too, as I have seen even USPACOM doing it on their website like Basket ball tournament, etc. For some jingos it will be interesting and some KLPD (as you put it).
keshavchandra

Post by keshavchandra »

Abdul Kalam FB profile's recent update...
In his words..
Vice air marshall Deo mini aero Laboratory
"Just landed in the historic city of Allahabad... Met old friend vice air Marshall Deo... He took me to his house nearby and showed me some wonderful aero models.... His passion has enabled him to convert a large part of his house into a mini aero laboratory... Lovely sight...."

Title: Vice Air Marshall Deo's UAV model
Source: APJ Abdul Kalam @ Facebook

Click to enlarge
keshavchandra

Post by keshavchandra »

Indo-US army exercise "yudh Abhyas" images...

chacko

they are interesting and thanks for that

but one post a day might be better with as many links in that one post

VishalJ

Post by VishalJ »

My Latest Photo:
Capitaine Cédric "Rût" Ruet getting back in his office > http://www.airliners.net/photo/2079587/L/

Click here to rate & remark on it Image
adityadange

Post by adityadange »

keshavchandra wrote:Indo-US army exercise "yudh Abhyas" images...
what is the need of painting "desi sharab ki dukan?" "meat ki dukan?"
aniket

Post by aniket »

Can anyone identify the two mounted weapons on the jeep ?My best guesses are the gun in the back is a NSV and one the one mounted in the front is either the FN MAG or PK machine gun.Also notice the camo and gear of the soldier in the back,he's Indian isn't he ?
aniket

Post by aniket »

[quote="aniket"]Image
Can anyone identify the two mounted weapons on the jeep ?My best guesses are the gun in the back is a NSV and one the one mounted in the front is either the FN MAG or PK machine gun.Also notice the camo and gear of the soldier in the back,he's Indian isn't he ?
Pic credits to Livefist blogspot.