Miscellaneous Pictures - Indian Armed Forces

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
keshavchandra

Re: Miscellaneous Pictures - Indian Military

Post by keshavchandra »

If you see the LSP-7 test video starting, there is a bucket with a female DRDO ground staff on tow tractor. Now I get the point why they carried the bucket at test range.
IAF test pilot and DRDO workforce after flight love and engagement... :lol:
Water work
Images @- Tarmak

Came across this pic of a school kid visiting INS Hansa:

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_GRaFR3q7gTA/T ... edited.jpg

> Cockpit of IN SHAR or possibly its simulator

> Charts displaying "Missiles of Indian Navy" - of the 5 described only "Klub" is clear

GOC, VAJR DIVISION inaugurates Computer Training Centre at Trahagam

Very interesting photo. Check how the soldier is scanning the neighborhood building. Another is also looking at the other side to see if there is an activity.

chackojoseph wrote:GOC, VAJR DIVISION inaugurates Computer Training Centre at Trahagam

Very interesting photo. Check how the soldier is scanning the neighborhood building. Another is also looking at the other side to see if there is an activity.
A lot of such lessons were learnt during IPKF deployments in SL. Depinder Singh mentions one such incident in his book.

^^^^ Cool. His pataka + vest should give him protection from a fatal incident. He is wearing glove and boot which is different.

Can some one explain the pink paint on the wall here? Its a very bright pink. Could be some camo to go with the ice?
aniket

Post by aniket »

I can't view the picture.Is t just me or do i need to login or register to see the pics ?

:oops: I corrected it. Login is not needed. Images are visible to everyone now.

Not for camo purpose. Why'd the doors be brown then ?

Indian Army treats an injured in J&K

This is interior of the mobile medical unit. Looks like a mini operation theater.

chackojoseph wrote: Can some one explain the pink paint on the wall here? Its a very bright pink. Could be some camo to go with the ice?
This area is occupied by the rare pink elephant and poachers will kill them unless they are given some place to blend into the background. The paint is an environment friendly gesture. :P

shiv wrote:The paint is an environment friendly gesture. :P
There are other colors too. Why pink?

Chacko ji, they are most likely pink foam thermal insulation boards

http://i01.i.aliimg.com/photo/v0/296141769/XPS_Foam_Board.jpg

For a permanent construction those boards would not be left exposed to the elements.

chackojoseph wrote:
shiv wrote:The paint is an environment friendly gesture. :P
There are other colors too. Why pink?
For the brown elephants of the region?

Chacko - I am joking. I think those buildings have been rented out to the army and are not meant for combat use. They have probably been painted by the owners. That is why there is this big ceremony handing a cheque to the landlord showing how the army is aiding the economy of the region as a good tenant.

PratikDas,

The paint on bottom of the extreme right (left of your screen) house in one of two photo is chipped.

Shivji,

Raised platform with that tin roof and thin window is an army construction. It is not a typical rental agreement as I understand. It was taken over first, then rent was negotiated after years of bickering.

Anyway, couldn't find anything to tie pink with camo on net. Must be some color blind painter.

Chacko sahab,

May be you are looking in the wrong direction ... May be it not supposed to be camouflaged in. It is rather common to have a pink or orange distress colours as they are visible from very far amongst the snow.
aniket

Post by aniket »

I think shiv sir is right and it is indeed a normal house that has been painted pink by it's owners.
member_20067

Post by member_20067 »

Bright color is helpful in avalanche prone zones
Bob V

Post by Bob V »

IMO, Indranil and Prithwiraj replies come close. They have painted it light pink so that it is distinguishable in snow from the 'close,' and not made it too bright.

the camel and elephant on the wall suggests that this might be a school? nice child-friendly bright colours?
keshavchandra

Post by keshavchandra »

indranilroy wrote:Chacko sahab,

May be you are looking in the wrong direction ... May be it not supposed to be camouflaged in. It is rather common to have a pink or orange distress colours as they are visible from very far amongst the snow.
Or may be the procurement(commercial) officer's wife's favourite colour...(bad joke) :P

GOC, Dagger Division inspects a painting by a Kashmiri Girl Look at the chest for medals and other patches.

More pics and story at Dagger Division organises Awami mela, Uri

BRADMIN Rahul M,

I tried to edit my post to add the link. The feature is disabled. I guess, you will have to give more time for posters to edit their post. So I am adding the new link in this new post. Please do the needful for me to edit my posts.

Chinar Corps Museum – ‘Ibadat e Shadat’

Added 8.00 PM .....

Coast Guard station Dahanu innaguration

Chetak Helicopter display onboard IMS Vikrant

You can see the Ships lift system on sidewalls. The helio is actually kept on the lift.
tejas

Post by tejas »

That chopper looks like it was obsolete in 1960. It is maddening to me how the IN is starved of funds despite being the most forward looking of the three services.

Ajit.C

Post by Ajit.C »

tejas wrote: Subject:
Tejas -that is IMS Vikrant the Museum, you donot expect operations aircrafts to be put on display in musuems, do you?.
To the Guru's' the nose wheel seems to be protruding outwards, I thought the chetak's had their nose wheel facing inwards, please clarify.
tejas

Post by tejas »

Oops! :oops: :oops: :oops:
anjan

Post by anjan »

tejas wrote:That chopper looks like it was obsolete in 1960. It is maddening to me how the IN is starved of funds despite being the most forward looking of the three services.
I don't know what your point is. The Chetak & Cheetah are still flown by the IAF and usually for casevac and OP in lousy terrain.
soutikghosh

Post by soutikghosh »

PRAHAAR on TATA Trailer

Uploaded with ImageShack.us
SKrishna

Post by SKrishna »

soutikghosh wrote:PRAHAAR on TATA Trailer

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Is it lens aberration that makes the missile bend in funny way or bad flimsy model that didn't hold itself up?

Looks like a photoshop

Aditya G wrote:Looks like a photoshop
And a bad job at that too.
tejas

Post by tejas »

I don't know what your point is. The Chetak & Cheetah are still flown by the IAF and usually for casevac and OP in lousy terrain.
My point is the Indian armed forces should probably be using helicopters designed/built after the 1962 war with China.

tejas wrote:
My point is the Indian armed forces should probably be using helicopters designed/built after the 1962 war with China.
Well if it serves the purpose, why not keep using them? Age of the technology has nothing to do with its utility. Even TFTA Khans with a defence budget larger than the rest of the world's put together use Vietnam era and Korean War era aircraft.