Indian Missiles and Munitions Discussion

Sidhant

Re: Indian Missiles and Munitions Discussion

Post by Sidhant »

Bharat Mata ki Jai, a hearty congrats and Salute to the DRDO scientists who made this day happen...

Feeling like am on cloud seven right now...
Roperia

Post by Roperia »

I hope they have a video of this.
The fireball that erupted when the dummy payload hit the waters of the Indian Ocean was recorded by the cameras on board the ships stationed around the impact point.
Agni-V successfully test-fired
Narad

Post by Narad »

No words to speak!!! :D

http://www.hindustantimes.com/world-new ... 42847.aspx
India may have missiles that can reach most parts of China but stands "no chance in an overall arms race" with the country, a Chinese daily said on Thursday, when India test-fired its 5,000 km range nuclear capable missile, and added that New Delhi would gain nothing by stirring "further
hostility".
Roperia

Post by Roperia »

"Building self reliance in defence": Video message from PM on Agni V

Text: PM congratulates DRDO scientists and technical personnel on Agni test launch success

'Our scientists were doing the traditional "V" after the successful launch, can't help but think if doing a "_|_" would have been more apt.

Agni V reminds me of a dialogue of a recently released hindi film which goes " Koi kamzor ye nahi keh sakta ki usne pehelwaan ko maaf kar diya, uske liye kamzor ka pehelwaan banna zaroori hain, to aaj se pehelwaan banne ki muhim shuru ho gayi" :twisted:

One Delhi-based Western diplomat dismissed comparisons with the international condemnation of North Korea's launch, saying that Pyongyang was violating U.N. Security Council resolutions requiring it to suspend its missile program, while India is not considered a global threat. The diplomat spoke on condition of anonymity because he was not authorized to comment on India's security affairs.

In Washington, State Department spokesman Mark Toner said the United States urges all nuclear-capable states to exercise restraint regarding nuclear capabilities.

"That said, India has a solid non-proliferation record," he told a news briefing. "They're engaged with the international community on non-proliferation issues."

Some reports characterized the Agni-V as an intercontinental ballistic missile — which would make India one of the few countries to have that capability — but Gupta and analysts said its range fell short of that category. 8)

India has no need for such sophisticated weapons, said Rajaram Nagappa, a missile expert and the head of the International Strategic and Security Studies Program at the National Institute of Advanced Studies in Bangalore.
"I don't think our threat perceptions are anything beyond this region," he said.

And just exactly where did the Brits, Portugese, French pop in from in the recent past?
dinesha

Post by dinesha »

Production of Agni-V to begin in a year: DRDO chief
http://www.thehindubusinessline.com/ind ... 331570.ece
NEW DELHI, APRIL 19: India has emerged as a major missile power with the successful launch of Agni-V ballistic missile and the production of the weapon system would start in a year’s time, DRDO chief, Dr V.K. Saraswat, has said.

“This launch has given a message to the entire world that India has the capability to design, develop, build and manufacture missiles of this class, and we are today a missile power,” Dr Saraswat said today after the launch of the 5,000 km range surface-to-surface Inter Continental Ballistic Missile (ICBM).

The Defence Research and Development Organisation chief said that the missile launch was a major milestone in the defence preparedness of the country.

We are going to conduct two more tests and that will be validation tests..., and then the production of this system will start. It is going to take a year maximum,” he said.

Dr Saraswat said that he expected the missile to be inducted into the armed forces in the next two years. He said the successful launch of Agni-V was just the beginning of a new series of missiles.

“We go from here to many other missiles which will have the capability for MIRV (Multiple Independently Targetable Re-entry Vehicle) for anti-satellite system, which will also be built using this technology for launching micro, mini and nano satellites to meet the requirement of the armed forces on very, very short notice,” he said.

Dr Saraswat said that barring some electronic components, the Agni-V was a completely indigenous product.

“More than 80 per cent of the missile is indigenous, except for the electronic components which we import...Everything has been designed, developed and produced in our industry and our laboratory,” he said.

these are all motherhood and apple pie statements for public consumption. it is also true at that present portugal , UK and France do not pose a threat ...its about keeping nato and khan and japan/korea in good humour - we need huge trade and technology flows with them in next decades.
Prabu

Post by Prabu »

Singha wrote:there were supposed to be 3 Agni tests in a launch window of 2 weeks. its likely in next few days we will see A1 and A2 user tests.
Yes. The closer look at the missle you will see AGNI 5 -1 ! :P
samverma

Post by samverma »

Lovely news on the successful launch...gladdens the heart that we have the strength and determination to tackle all obstacles to achieve technology advancements..

One question to all...i understand the need to have a few tests before bulk production of any weapon systems but in the case of the Agni series what should be the ideal number of missile systems that we indians should cater for ....50, 100, 500 ???? (in each category)

Chak De Phatte Nap De Killi

8 nu delhi 8.30 nu bijing

awesome news... made my day.. Jiyo DRDO... :)
BrijeshB

Post by BrijeshB »

Bade miya.. Chote miya... :wink:

I almost got the feeling while publicly presenting a neutral face, khan/nato/japan/asean were strongly egging us on for this test!
can we get the high mobility truck thing they used to pull Midgetman missiles ? :mrgreen:

Singha wrote:I almost got the feeling while publicly presenting a neutral face, khan/nato/japan/asean were strongly egging us on for this test!
can we get the high mobility truck thing they used to pull Midgetman missiles ? :mrgreen:
You mean Hard Mobile Launcher?
dinesha

Post by dinesha »

Ajai Shukla: Perfect launch for the 5,000-km range missile
http://business-standard.com/india/news ... /163319/on
In fact, the success of the Agni-5 was almost a foregone conclusion. Last November, several challenging new technologies that this missile incorporates were validated in an unannounced launch of the surprise Agni-4 missile. That new 3,500 kilometre range missile successfully tested a new composite rocket motor, made of lightweight composite materials instead of the heavier “maraging steel” that earlier rocket motors were fabricated from. The other brand-new technologies that the Agni-4 tested included: a highly accurate “ring-laser gyroscope based inertial navigation system (RINS)”; a “micro-navigation system (MINGS)”; and a powerful new onboard computer. By testing all these technologies in the Agni-4 the DRDO minimised the technology risks of today’s Agni-5 test.

The DRDO chief told Business Standard that the Agni-5 was not just a long-range rocket. “This missile incorporates unique technologies that will allow us to have multiple variants. We can achieve short ranges, higher ranges… all with the same missile,” he said.

Although the DRDO calls the Agni-5 an intercontinental ballistic missile (ICBM), its range of 5,000 kilometres puts it --- by most conventional measures --- in the class of intermediate range ballistic missiles (IRBMs), which have ranges of 3,000-5,500 kilometres. The Agni-5’s range is carefully calibrated; it can reach targets anywhere except for America and Australia. This would allow it to strike all India’s potential adversaries, even as friendly capitals in Western Europe and the US stay out of range. DRDO sources say that, in case of need, the Agni-5 could easily be ramped up into an intercontinental ballistic missile (ICBM), with a range of more than 5,500 kilometres.

For now, more testing lies ahead, says the DRDO chief. “We will have two more test launches of the Agni-5, and then productionise it for induction into field service with the Strategic Forces Command. We will also start working on different variants of the Agni-5, including MIRVs (multiple independently targetable re-entry vehicles), anti satellite systems, and on making the Agni-5 capable of launching military satellites on demand,” says Saraswat.

A distinctive feature of the Agni-5 is its “canisterisation”. Immediately after its manufacture, the missile is hermetically sealed into an airtight canister. Mounted on a flatbed truck, the missile can be easily transported to a launch site; and fired quickly by hydraulically raising the canister into the vertical firing position. The canister is made of maraging steel, allowing it to absorb the enormous stresses of firing, when 300-400 tonnes of thrust is generated to eject the 50-ton missile. The hermitically sealed atmosphere inside the canister allows the missile be stored safely for years.

The DRDO claims that the Agni-5’s advanced navigation system would permit the use of smaller nuclear weapons. Speaking earlier to Business Standard, Avinash Chander said, “Megaton warheads were used when accuracies were low. Now we talk of [accuracy of] a few hundred metres. That allows a smaller warhead, perhaps 150-250 kilotons, to cause substantial damage. We don’t want to cause wanton damage [with unnecessarily large warheads].

what we need next is a road mobile launcher along with MIRV etc.

BTW: any idea when A-IV will be produced and inducted, I still see it as useful w.r.t China.
jiteshn

Post by jiteshn »

New ground images of wheelers on hindu

Fountain park

Readying portable cameras. Notice the electricity board in the bottom image. Full to indian hai.

Launch site

Main control station
Last edited by jiteshn on 19 Apr 2012 14:44, edited 1 time in total.

Altair wrote:
Singha wrote:I almost got the feeling while publicly presenting a neutral face, khan/nato/japan/asean were strongly egging us on for this test!
You mean Hard Mobile Launcher?
Nope, today test was done from a rail mobile launcher, we need a ROAD mobile launcher.
SKrishna

Post by SKrishna »

VikramS wrote:
Sanku wrote:And I really miss Arun_S today.
Me too. Hope he is lurking somewhere. Hi there if you are ...
Me toooo. What will it take to bring him back??? :(( :(( :(( :((

Post by Klaus »

Need to find out if any khan navy/marines spotters were doing the rounds near the Oz north-west shelf over the last 3 days. They arrived in Darwin sometime ago.

And we did have the Los Angeles class sub near Malaysia tailing the Chakra, so was that a dual purpose mission too?

I meant this for A5
Last edited by Altair on 19 Apr 2012 14:50, edited 1 time in total.
koti

Post by koti »

Where are the control surfaces?

thats one approach. but the MAZ has a shorter length and more steerable axles...

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/c ... %9C%29.jpg
SagarAg

Post by SagarAg »

8)
vdutta

Post by vdutta »

First of all congrats for successful test of Agni V.

Now i am not a missile expert but i have few questions in mind which you experts can help me with.

1. when they say the test was successful then what exactly they mean by that? does it mean the missile took off with success and hit its target.

2. how do they determine if the missile is really of 5K km range. do they fly it for 5000 kms or they just do shorter run and do the calculations.

3. if they indeed fly to 5k kms then where exactly does it land? i am sure it lands in water but we never hear where exactly it goes. and how come we never see any video of it landing as well.

above may be silly questions for you as i am novice so plz bear with me on this.

thanks in advance :)

looking at way they are talking of cansister of maraging steel and having to withstand pressure of 300-400 tons, I feel hot launch system is the plan somewhat like most silo based ICBM are hot launch....while a few like topol-M are cold launch .... I wonder if any mobile ICBM is hot launch?

the Rus have a habit of reusing things...maybe their cold launch kit came from SSBNs...iirc they even use cold launch for SA-N-6 SAMs using sea water pumped into the missile tube :eek:

The Peacekeeper is the first U.S. ICBM to use "cold launch" technique. The missile is ejected from the silo by a cold gas generator which lofts the missile tens of meters into the air before the main engines ignite. This process, which the Soviets used extensively, reduces damage to the silo, allowing for swift refurbishment, and if, possible reloading

midgetman was also cold launch. SS18 was hot launched from silo.
Last edited by Singha on 19 Apr 2012 15:06, edited 2 times in total.

Singha wrote:thats one approach. but the MAZ has a shorter length and more steerable axles...
Wonder what is more suitable for our Strategic Force Command. Its our usability which is more important.

you know the condition and width of our roads. the Khan vehicle looks designed for the wide open spaces of the american southwest...

MAZ 547
Roperia

Post by Roperia »

Suman Sharma @ Chindits tweets
#Chinese #Foreign Ministry spokesman #Liu #Weimin said, "We hope Asian countries can contribute to peace and stability."

#China says "#Agni-V launch can give rise to another round of arms race in this part of the world."
The chinis have today dropped to the level of Pakis.
rgosain

Post by rgosain »

This test is really the end for the MTCR, and unless the US can find someway to accommodate India, what we have seen today is the final nail in the coffin for the MTCR and its 4-letter stable-mates whose role was to contain and corral India. Never before has a technology regime been so thrashed as today's demonstration has shown and if the US wants India to forego Iranian oil, then it's time time to wrap up the MTCR, Wassenaar and to return to the outlines of the original 2005 nuclear agreement which was diluted by the Hyde act.

rgosain wrote:This test is really the end for the MTCR, and unless the US can find someway to accommodate India, what we have seen today is the final nail in the coffin for the MTCR and its 4-letter stable-mates whose role was to contain and corral India. Never before has a technology regime been so thrashed as today's demonstration has shown and if the US wants India to forego Iranian oil, then it's time time to wrap up the MTCR, Wassenaar and to return to the outlines of the original 2005 nuclear agreement which was diluted by the Hyde act.
Interesting timing...

Agni-V Missile launch One more angle. I have few more, will post it and link.

India positions itself into ICBM trajectory with Agni V I have updated this with some more info from DRDO release.
sudhan

Post by sudhan »

Singha wrote: midgetman was also cold launch. SS18 was hot launched from silo.
Saar, IIRC almost all deployed variants of the SS-18 were cold launched from its Silos..

What is that bird thing on left side while missing is getting launched ?

protective casing for the flex nozzles getting discarded.

if A5 were cold launch, the steel tube would have a gas generator at bottom and not need to withstand 400t force. so for good or bad we are going the hot launch route I think.